Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Aug 25, 2015
Staff was great and so were the amenities. I called and specifically requested to be close to the restrooms due to a handicap son - we were placed close to the restrooms but the terrain was awful ( we were placed in a Cabin that was on a hill and made it very difficult for my son to maneuver the camp site.
Aug 24, 2015
Great Family Oriented place to stay. Love it
Aug 23, 2015
Excellent experience for my family. Great proximity to DC and area sites. Campsite was clean and quiet. Could use a few more bathrooms and showers.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
We had a great time using the facilities at KOA. The staff were helpful. They made a mistake which wasn't at all a problem because they happily rectified it immediately. My only complaint is that the bathrooms were kinda far away from where we were camping but it was still doable.
Aug 15, 2015
It was clean, friendly workers. Amazing games and play for kids and awesome shuttle ride to they city
Aug 14, 2015
1. We were told there was no reserving seats allowed on the shuttle, but when we checked in all the seats had been reserved by other people. The lady checking us in thought this was funny and laughed at us. 2. Our cabin was damp and had not been swept. 3. The bathrooms were muddy. 4. I have received 5 emails saying my credit card has been run through. 5. Please contact me
Aug 14, 2015
Super friendly and courteous staff. Bathrooms and showers were by far the cleanest I have even encountered in 40 years of camping. Staff also directed me to a KOA membership saving me money straight away. Kids loved the outdoor chess game, pool and bounce platform.
Aug 13, 2015
My stay was very enjoyable. The staff were very accommodating and I will definetly be staying here again when I make my way to this area.
Aug 13, 2015
Great staff! Very welcoming!
Aug 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Good proximity to the Washington. The kids enjoyed the bouncy balloon and chess. The site was amazingly quiet, considering just how close it was to the highway. Very treed
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Loved the cabin!
Aug 10, 2015
Liked having the shuttle to DC. Campground was nice. Employees in the store were nice. Louis the shuttle driver was nice. Lifeguard at the pool looked bored / disinterested ... Accomodations were nice.
Aug 09, 2015
The cabin was very nice
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
We arrived with our tent but decided to get a cabin for the night as we'd been traveling for a while. We ended up having a great time meeting our neighbours on each side of the cabin.
Aug 07, 2015
Très bien accueil et service et très propre bravo et merci pour tous à la prochaine
Aug 05, 2015
We rented a deluxe cabin which was clean, included all the necessities, and the staff was helpful when we needed extra things to facilitate our stay.
Aug 03, 2015
We had a great time. This is our third visit. Wouldn't recommend the cabins, they had quite an odor (we stayed in two and the smell found in both). I would certainly return to tent camp. Great activities, great facilities, and great staff. I did come across one "Grumpy Gus" but I won't let one bad apple spoil the bunch. See you in the fall!
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful campground! From the cheerful greetig when we arrived (even though it was after 10 PM!) to the clean facilities to the easy checkout, we enjoyed every minute. The kids had a blast in the pool and on the jumping pillow and at the outdoor movies and on the playground...I could go on and on! The campground was the cleanest I've ever seen. Can't wait to go back!
Aug 03, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. Great location and the shuttle into DC was a super deal. No fuss trip to the sites. Pool was nice after a long day on the Mall. Will certainly visit again.
Aug 03, 2015
This was my first time camping. My family and I stayed in a cabin. The beds were very comfortable, and the cabin had a/c and wifi. The site had lots of activities for kids. I would definitely recommend this families.
Aug 02, 2015
We all had a wonderful time. The cabin and campgrounds were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Aug 02, 2015
Had ad wonderful time - Rented a two room cabin - with an extended deck - When we got there was told there were no more left? Not sure how I was able to reserve and pay for one two months in advance - I was credited the extra money but was a little thrown. The cabin was clean - the camp grounds are clean and lots of fun.
Aug 01, 2015
Expensive but hey...it's near DC. Clean accommodations. About the neatest set up of any campsite I've ever been to. Very friendly people with great customer focus.
Jul 31, 2015
We were only there for 8 hours - between 1 a.m. and 9 a.m. - but our key was left for us at the night check-in, clearly marked in an envelope, which was further attached to a map with directions to our cabin marked on it. The staff I interacted with in the morning was very friendly.
Jul 29, 2015
Loved it
Jul 29, 2015
We brought a group to camp at KOA for my wife's birthday. The staff was great, the campsites clean and roomy, and many amenities for the kids. We had a great time and will be back soon!
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and traveled to DC for sight seeing for two days. Quiet and clean campground, lots of activities for kids, and appreciated having life guard at pool. Very easy to get to Metro station. Will come back!
Jul 28, 2015
Best camping trip ever
Jul 28, 2015
We've now stayed in deluxe cabin accommodations in Maine and DC. I recommend for your "glamping" clients that they clean small deck. Ours was filthy and tracked filth all through the cabin. Also, our neighbor cabin did not respect quiet hours. We called about it -- and it was not enforced until 10:20pm.
Jul 27, 2015
My stay was very good until I went to visit our family members, at their camping lodge. Upon arriving, the management had approached and began yelling at my family members. I felt that that was inappropriate. When your in a management position, you should be able to handle a problem with the upmost respect and tactfulness. Yelling does not defuse a situation. It escalates a situation
Jul 27, 2015
It was so awesome the staff was friendly if you had any questions they were answering for you
Jul 27, 2015
Exellent Family camping
Jul 27, 2015
Was not close to the bathroom like I paid for. I have medical reason why I have to be close to the bathroom and I did not get that. There was also a disagreement with management to quiet down. Understood the need to quiet down did not understand why the manager came storming down with his arms crossed yelling and cursing to quiet down. Not a good stay this time in my opinion.
Jul 27, 2015
Very friendly staff and excellent, clean facilities. Tons of activities to do, or just sit by a fire and relax!
Jul 25, 2015
This was a great KOA! We stayed in one of the 2BR cabins which we have never done before. It was clean, dry and had A/C. :) The bathrooms were excellent. Very few bugs and very clean. Loved the showers. They were very private. We will definitely stay here again if we travel to the DC area.
Jul 23, 2015
Great deluxe cabin
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Very clean campground and facilities. Flexible and fortunately able to accommodate a last minute switch from a camping site to a cabin.
Jul 20, 2015
Very helpful staff. Took the shuttle to DC for the day, great driver.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Great experience staying in the KOA.
Jul 17, 2015
great cabin beautiful site but wifi was weak so i didnt do work but i was ok with that and loved our visit
Jul 15, 2015
Very clean & well kept. Staff very friendly.
Jul 14, 2015
Friendly service and efficient. Would have liked a note about the toilet not being fixed, but a great stay, overall.
Jul 13, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The cabin was just perfect, facing the woods and close to the shower/facilities. My kids enjoyed the ping pong table, pool and chess game. This KOA offers a bus to the Capital/Museums for a minimal daily fee, but we opted to travel via the metro (quicker and more cost effective for the four of us). The employees were all very nice!
Jul 13, 2015
The staff at this location is amazing! I can't wait to come back! Our stay was perfect and peaceful!
Jul 12, 2015
Awesome KOA. Staff was great especially Brian Goddard. Very clean and well kept. Love it. Great access to DC.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.