Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
While we stayed here we saw numerous people walking through other campsites. Our last night here, we had a kid on a bike ride right behind us sitting at our fire. I believe that the staff could patrol the campground more and put a stop to people doing this! We saw very little of the staff coming around the campground. They showed people to their sites and that was it.
Aug 19, 2013
allergy friendly!!!! clean and well kept. safe for the kiddos. good internet service. they recycle:)
Aug 19, 2013
This facility is close to home for us and was intended as a kind of trial camping trip we took with kids who had never camped in a tent. Our experience was wonderful. Staff was helpful and kind to the newbies, our tent site was close to all the activities we wanted for the kids but never noisy at night. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. One of the kids wants to return just to use the bounce pillow!
Aug 19, 2013
We always have an enjoyable visit here. We visit family in the area, so we stayed 4 nights. The staff are exceptionally outstanding. This trip, we say special thanks to Sue, who went the extra "mile" to accommodate us. Capitol KOA is our very favorite, and we've stayed at over 40 different KOA's over a period of 5 years.
Aug 19, 2013
We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and my 3 children took to the bouncy tramp thing immediately and then to the pool, to an ice cream social and then to a movie. The best part, however, is the staff and a big thanks to Doc Bob for helping us get the parts we needed to fix the bus. Above and beyond. Thanks to all and highly recommend this KOA-even if your ride doesn't break down! Will be back.
Aug 18, 2013
Great park...great staff. Mary from Florida was extremely helpful and pleasant. About 25 minutes from the metro into DC, which was great. Life guard was a little rude.
Aug 18, 2013
I felt that some of the front desk staff members were unfriendly and seemed annoyed and rushed me when I asked questions. The other staff members and cleaning crew were extremely nice. I would recommend for one to two nights. Not more than that. Dissapointed that there were no daily activities for children. Cabin was damp. Grounds crowded.
Aug 18, 2013
Site 88 needs a tree trimming. I could not put the TV antenna up much at all.
Aug 18, 2013
The people were very friendly. The facility had many extra things for our kids to do. The restrooms and laundry rooms were very clean. The overall appearance and woods offered a very nice setting. The pool was very clean. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.
Aug 18, 2013
I love it here. this was our second trip here. The staff is friendly and the campground is clean. There is a lot of things for kids to do to keep them happy. the site was nice also.
Aug 18, 2013
Very well managed. A little pricey on the spots.
Aug 18, 2013
We traveled in from California to Washington D.C and we camped out at this KOA it was a wonderful experiance very beautiful everyone was very helpful and very clean. Make sure you take bug repelant so you can stay 100% comfortable
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Great stay and very helpful staff. Could not have asked for anything more! Only complaint is that the site was not very level and hookup was a challenge.
Aug 17, 2013
WAter should be provided on the bus on the way back.
Aug 17, 2013
Was very quiet and tucked away. Really enjoyed the stay.
Aug 17, 2013
Very clean. Great facilities and friendly staff. The site we had was fantastic - with privacy and tree cover. We definitely enjoyed our stay.
Aug 16, 2013
This is a great place to stay. The staff is very helpful. We loved taking the van into DC, the drivers are so nice. We were able to purchase the hop on hop off DC tour tickets at the KOA that was so easy. I loved the deck around our Kamping Kabin.
Aug 16, 2013
This place was great! Really friendly people and very accomodating. Its location allowed us easy access to the Metro, gas stations, and grocery stores. The only small issue we had was the location of our tent spot. The ground was very sandy, and we kept getting a small sewage smell wafting through our campsite. I am sure that if we had another site, I could have rated them a 5.
Aug 16, 2013
Had a great time, friendly staff, clean washrooms, nice pool, appreciated the shuttle.
Aug 16, 2013
Our stay was great. Only concern was with the internet service (inconsistent) Wish cable was available also.
Aug 16, 2013
Great showers, friendly, helpful staff. Shuttle to DC was perfect. Complimentary water on the way back a God send.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Oh My Goodness !!! It Was GREAT !!!!!
Aug 15, 2013
Always a great place to stay.
Aug 15, 2013
CLEAN, FRIENDLY, GREAT ACTIVITIESV FOR KIDS.
Aug 15, 2013
I've been here 4 times. very conveniant as a stop while traveling up and down the east coast. did D.C. from here also. Would stop again
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and we could not ask for more. Help with directions was the best. Will use that campground again.
Aug 14, 2013
Helped with all our trips to DC
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
it was great! WE were'nt happy about being so close to the dumpster and the fact that the day we put aside for pool day the pool was closed, but other than that we had a great time. The fee for the shuttle bus was a little pricey per person. The ice cream social was great though and we loved the outside chess set!
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
The sign at the entrance is not very easy to find at night. otherwise it is good.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Cabin clean. People always friendly. Wifi in cabins did not work.
Aug 13, 2013
Had a nice and enjoyable stay.The campground was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back. Only complaint for us was the cleaning schedule for the shwrs/restroom. Would be nice for a 3rd shift cleaning crew. The showers would be ready in the morning when most people take them and no one would have to wait.
Aug 13, 2013
all the staff was great. Very helpful
Aug 13, 2013
Clean washroom, personnel gentil terrain spacieux et propre bel endroit, bus shuttle greatly and safety ridé.we will see you next summer
Aug 13, 2013
Perfectly located near where my son and granddaughter live. Very convenient to visit them. Like the facilities.
Aug 12, 2013
We had a lovely stay at KOA Capitol. The a/c in our kabin was very welcome and the pool was great. We used the shuttle service to visit Washington, which was very convenient. A very good start of our camping trip in the US.
Aug 12, 2013
Everyone is very friendly. The only things I would suggest are the bathrooms be cleaned more than once a day and screen doors be put on the cabins (if possible) so you can leave the door open if you'd like.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
This is the 4th stay @ a KOA, & I don't think I'll return to this one. Always stay in Kamping Kabins, but this is the first time I have not had a way to cook on the fire, which the possibility of this was not mentioned in my reservation. Staff was very friendly w/the exception of one that helped us w/the peddle carts. She unlocked them & walked away. I had even asked for help w/the seat.
Aug 12, 2013
Pool and jumping pillow were good and well supervised. Rates and stor items and wood are a little expensive. Ladies in the office are very busy and could use more help.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Très beau camping, tranquille. Je recommande à tous pour quelques jours et pour une visite à Washington. Une navette vous transportera au centre ville à peu de frais
Aug 12, 2013
I had a great stay the camp sight was close to all my areas of interest Washington DC and Baltimore MD the camp ground was clean with a lot of activities going on and the staff was outstanding. Would stay there again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.