Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2014
I found the women, who work in the office/store to be so very friendly & helpful. There was a problem with our motorhome's propane and had a very helpful gentleman help us. He got down & dirty trying to find the problem and worked on it till it was safe for us to go back to our site. Would have given a perfect score, if the kids where offered more things to do, (group activities)
Jul 02, 2014
We didn't have time to enjoy many of the amenities due to sightseeing, but everything we saw looked enjoyable.
Jul 02, 2014
Shuttle to DC was the way to go, nice campground, ladies in the office were fun to talk with, Don was very helpful
Jul 01, 2014
this campground is way over priced and can't hold a candle to some of the best in the west. sorry folks but just because it is in the area of the Nation Capital doesn't make it best ..
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Curtious and helpful staff Great for kids
Jul 01, 2014
Had a great time! Very well kept site and the scenery was beautiful. It was nice and quiet at night and everyone was extremely helpful! Thanks, we will always camp at a KOA
Jul 01, 2014
Nice campground, however our site (136) was extremely uneven. Even with our leveling jacks, we could not get our RV level.
Jul 01, 2014
We were especially happy with the condition of the shower/bathrooms. No matter the time of day it seemed like they were always freshly cleaned. We stayed at a KOA in Virginia Beach last year and the restroom/shower rooms were terrible. Much better experience this time!
Jul 01, 2014
too expensive, no cable for the price and no sewer hook up for 70..something a night!!!!
Jul 01, 2014
It was a nice camping facility except the bathrooms could have used more attention. There are some tent spots that people should not be put in even if there is a CHANCE of rain/heavy rain! We, unfortunately, were in one of those! Very helpful and informative staff though!
Jul 01, 2014
I wish my site had a little more gravel or grass as it became a little messy when it rained but aside from that, my stay was great.
Jul 01, 2014
Good place for a stop over while traveling north or south along I-95. Only complaint I have is that it is pricey. About twice as much as other campgrounds. But you get what you pay for.
Jun 30, 2014
We rented the delux cabin and couldn't have been happier. The shuttle into dc for the day was great. Would stay there again if in the area. Staff was very polite and helpful.
Jun 30, 2014
The camp has many amenities, which my kids really enjoyed. I would prefer a camp in which the campsites were more spread out.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Depends on what your goals are...this is not traditional camping. Having said this, if you don't mind being close to your fellow campers there are lots of ways to entertain your children while there. The staff was great! Some of the younger staff (high school/college aged workers) were not consistent in following the rules. Other kids were doing flips and were not told to stop.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Very nice service , thanks
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
It is a beautiful, spacious and well maintained KOA.
Jun 28, 2014
The staff and facilities at Washington DC KOA were great! I stayed for 4 nights during a recent business trip - a way to escape the city after a long day. It was comfortable, convenient, and a nice alternative to hotels. Highly recommended!
Jun 27, 2014
Very nice stay.
Jun 27, 2014
We only stayed overnight but everything was great and the staff very helpful.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Appreciated the cleanliness, kids activities, keeping the "quiet hours" actually quiet and the great staff.
Jun 27, 2014
We arrived late and the staff was very helpful! Good access to DC and Baltimore, so glad we spent the last day in Annapolis.
Jun 27, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff...pleasant atmosphere
Jun 25, 2014
The campground was very pretty and well taken care of!The staff were very friendly and very helpful with any questions we had. We had only two concerns-the WIFI was very weak,coulndn't download anything! And, they really need to at least have a porta potty back by the cabins! It was very inconvenient for us all(ages 11 to 67) to walk that far to restroom at night and first thing in morning.
Jun 25, 2014
Very nice people
Jun 25, 2014
Everything was great, except that the Wi-Fi connection was very bad. Very nice staff.
Jun 24, 2014
we had a great time and everything was perfect. I would suggest you take care of your equipment, such as getting the basketball goal fixed.
Jun 24, 2014
Great check in assistance, great escort to the site, guiet guests around the park and wonderfully clean bathrooms.
Jun 24, 2014
It was wonderful, except the pool wouldn't let water wings be used in the swimming pool! And didn't sell or rent the lifejackets that the lifeguard required. Kids did love the air pillow and other games.
Jun 24, 2014
We had a great time! Plenty of things for the kids to do, and our cabin and site were beautiful.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Our 3 night stay was enjoyable. The staff were very welcoming and knowledgable. The location is a little complicated but our GPS got us there every time. Our 5 and 7 year olds enjoyed the playground and activities. The shuttle into DC worked out great. We would definitely stay at this location again.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
The staff is amazing, friendly, and helpful. The only ONLY complaint I would have is that we got in the pool for about 1 minute before the lifeguard went on break. I wish she would have given us a heads up before we got wet only to be told to get out. We didn't know she took a break at the top of the hour. It was hard to explain that to a toddler that just got in the water.
Jun 23, 2014
Had problems with the reservation. The sites under at the bottom of the hill are a mess when it rains!
Jun 23, 2014
Good stay. Well-staffed, clean facility, friendly folks. Only minor critique is the wi-fi connection is a bit spotty.
Jun 23, 2014
My daughter's first camping trip and she had a blast! Thanks for being a part of some great memories.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a nice time. Wi-Fi connection was down most of the weekend, but that's another good reason to enjoy the outdoors.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Amazingly friendly staff: they even escorted me to my spot! Tile wall/floor bathrooms which are kept cleaner than I keep my own. Cabin I stayed in was well maintained, clean, and exactly what I needed. I have already recommended this KOA to others.
Jun 21, 2014
We took the shuttle 2 times. Greg simply let us stay and we had to run with a wheel-chair to catch him. We were at the wrong roundabout, that's all. We phoned him, but got an answering machine. He said he doesn't take calls when driving! Whatfore he gave us his mobile phone number. Then he almost ruined our wheel-chair by trying to fold it without unblocking. He did not apologize. We did not tip!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.