Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
not a lot of activities plus the cable TV has very few channels. Campground was very clean and personnel very friendly. Bath facility and laundry was very clean. Easy access to Annapolis.
Jul 06, 2015
The facilities were clean and well maintained. Wifi was lacking. Was not happy with no charcoal grill and no indoor game room. Like the facilities for pets. More wood chips needed behind cabin to cut down on mud.Staff helpful.Would prefer a copy of activites schedule in print.
Jul 06, 2015
My 4th of July weekend was great, the place was clean and everyone was very nice an helpful.
Jul 06, 2015
Thanks for a great time, friendly and relaxing.
Jul 06, 2015
We were disappoited that one of the shuttle buses to DC was unavailable and the other was filled by the time we got off the bus to reserve seats for the next day. We ended up scrambling for a rental car to get us to DC for two days of our three day stay.
Jul 06, 2015
Great clean facility in a convenient location.
Jul 06, 2015
Very clean grounds. Really friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location for a vacation. So much to do in the area you can't see it all in a week.
Jul 06, 2015
Very friendly staff, enjoyed our staff would recommend highly.
Jul 06, 2015
we had a great stay, staff was very nice! Our site could have used a little grass, but not bad.
Jul 06, 2015
Nice shaded spots. Bathrooms we're clean, staff was friendly. Complaint would be the sights could use some fresh gravel.
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Great Place & Service :) Thanks For Holding The Bus :)
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 04, 2015
Stayed in cabin. Nice, clean, great air conditioner. Plastic covered mattresses made it hard for me to sleep (felt clammy). Bring mattress pad and your own linens as theirs are polyester and uncomfortable. Nice place deep in the trees. Wonderful deck if you bring chairs.
Jul 02, 2015
We stayed in a cabin. It was very clean and so were the bathrooms and showers. There was lots to do for the kids. The staff was friendly!!!
Jul 01, 2015
Staff was so courteous and helpful. Campground was well maintained. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked. Our family had a terrific trip.
Jul 01, 2015
staff very friendly and helpful. sad thing about it this was our 1st time ever in a campground where we didn't inter act with other campers.not the friendly travelers we are used to meeting when we camp.
Jul 01, 2015
The campground was clean, well maintained, and the staff was so nice and helpful. The location was private, quiet, and seemed safe, even tho it was in a very populated area. We were visiting family in the area and will return!
Jul 01, 2015
Need cable tv and better wifi. Clean park and very helpful staff.
Jul 01, 2015
Excellent staff, very friendly atmosphere.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice people great location
Jun 30, 2015
This is the most expensive KOA I have ever stayed at and yet, there is no cable TV, internet is very poor, no easy walk to the office or showers, and no trash pick up!! The main positives are the friendly staff and the proximity to Washington, D.C.
Jun 30, 2015
Close to Baltimore inner harbor. People were very nice but small campground. Site had view of store and back if neighbors camper. Sites too close. Good location for inner harbor tho.
Jun 30, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with the stay.
Jun 30, 2015
Excellent campground & service
Jun 30, 2015
Could not have been more accomadating to us! Thank you!
Jun 30, 2015
Awesome location and really nice park. Also really nice people. We needed to extend a day and they were happy to work with us. Can't say enough about this lovely camp ground!
Jun 29, 2015
The staff were super friendly and the place was clean. We all had a wonderful time.
Jun 29, 2015
friendly, clean, convenient. Staff was very nice but could not help me fit my standard sewer line to their short stand pipe. Also pull through will not work if the lane is too crowded to pull through and turn 40' rig.
Jun 29, 2015
This was out first KOA experience and it was great. We weren't able to get a pull thru as we did not reserve Until the day before. The escorts were great at helping us back a 34ft trailer into our spot. They had a shuttle that took us into DC and picked us at end of the day. This was great for us newcomers. Laundry room an shower areas very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend
Jun 28, 2015
Great cabin, nice camp ground. The kitchen could use a Little more utensils -- not least a regular kichen knife.
Jun 28, 2015
EXCELLENT!!!!!! Couldn't have been happier!!!
Jun 28, 2015
We had a great time - the campground was very conveniently located to local activities and was easy to find. The campground staff was wonderful and helpful. The site was nice and the facilities were very good.
Jun 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. Low water pressure, no cable. Good location for visiting DC.
Jun 28, 2015
Expensive, but a nice campground.
Jun 27, 2015
The staff was wonderful. The shuttle is great to take to DC. The cabins were nice, especially the weber grill that was outside. Will stay here again.
Jun 27, 2015
Compared to the other KOA campgrounds we have stayed at, this one is the poorest yet. The shuttle to DC is at least an hour drive. That's 2 hours out of your day on a van. The WiFi is horrible! Highly recommend you add cable! Obviously, if staying in a cabin or RV, people are expecting some of the amenities they have at home. Waiting in line in the store for 20 minutes is ridiculous.
Jun 27, 2015
This stay was an overnight late in- early out (5AM. We booked water and electricity only. Site had a slope on the site length (10-15degrees)not very practical for any stay!! This should be improved. At 2AM ..need to go to washroom - NO WATER. 4AM wake up and wanted a shower ..NO WATER. Would need a WHILE STAYING - FOR EMERGENCY Number on the reservation.
Jun 27, 2015
We stay at this KOA often, it is conveniently located for both Annapolis and Washington DC. The facilities are clean and there are a variety of activities. We have always been pleased. This time we were disappointed with our site identified as having a deck but in fact only a porch.
Jun 27, 2015
Welcoming and friendly from beginning to end. Clean restrooms. Level, clean, and roomy sites. Kampground personnel made it feel like home away from home. There was stormy weather which may have made wifi less consistent.
Jun 27, 2015
was great, staff was very friendly, but your showers and restrooms are too small!!
Jun 26, 2015
The minute we drove in sonme guy in a koa golf cart starts yelling at us for the way we pulled in and were approaching our site. Not excuse me could you not back up but screaming his fool head off "I dont want people doing it that way !!" If you have little ones they cant swim here only potty trained children so if the family wants to go swimming forget about it.This was the worst koa in 16 years
Jun 26, 2015
The a/c made everything wet inside the cabin. The floor was sticky and the deodorizer made me nauseous and I did not sleep well. Needless to say we won't be back to the Capitol KOA. The employees were very friendly and couldn't have be nicer.
Jun 26, 2015
loved this place and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again!!
Jun 26, 2015
Clean campground, nice dog area, and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2015
6 nights, 5 days. Clean and organized. Wish it had been a little closer to the metro. Only issue is the fire ring is badly placed, too close to neighbor's parking.
Jun 25, 2015
We had a terrible time each time we returned to the site trying to find it. Directions were terrible, signage was totally inadequate, and I would never recommend the place because of it. Signage on the trails was also inadequate. The site itself was well-managed, though the floor of the cabin could have been swept clear of sand before we arrived.
Jun 25, 2015
Clean, well-organized, friendly staff (especially young Shawn at registration), excellent shuttle to Washington (but the passenger windows needed to be cleaned), need more hooks on walls of showers stalls and shelf to put things on, the pool water looked cloudy. Those aren't major complaints. The campground was excellent overall.
Jun 24, 2015
Internet non-existant. 9 tries out of 10, request times out before a reply. Very poor water pressure whern park is bust - hard to shower.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.