Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Depends on what your goals are...this is not traditional camping. Having said this, if you don't mind being close to your fellow campers there are lots of ways to entertain your children while there. The staff was great! Some of the younger staff (high school/college aged workers) were not consistent in following the rules. Other kids were doing flips and were not told to stop.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Very nice service , thanks
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
It is a beautiful, spacious and well maintained KOA.
Jun 28, 2014
The staff and facilities at Washington DC KOA were great! I stayed for 4 nights during a recent business trip - a way to escape the city after a long day. It was comfortable, convenient, and a nice alternative to hotels. Highly recommended!
Jun 27, 2014
Very nice stay.
Jun 27, 2014
We only stayed overnight but everything was great and the staff very helpful.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Appreciated the cleanliness, kids activities, keeping the "quiet hours" actually quiet and the great staff.
Jun 27, 2014
We arrived late and the staff was very helpful! Good access to DC and Baltimore, so glad we spent the last day in Annapolis.
Jun 27, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff...pleasant atmosphere
Jun 25, 2014
The campground was very pretty and well taken care of!The staff were very friendly and very helpful with any questions we had. We had only two concerns-the WIFI was very weak,coulndn't download anything! And, they really need to at least have a porta potty back by the cabins! It was very inconvenient for us all(ages 11 to 67) to walk that far to restroom at night and first thing in morning.
Jun 25, 2014
Very nice people
Jun 25, 2014
Everything was great, except that the Wi-Fi connection was very bad. Very nice staff.
Jun 24, 2014
we had a great time and everything was perfect. I would suggest you take care of your equipment, such as getting the basketball goal fixed.
Jun 24, 2014
Great check in assistance, great escort to the site, guiet guests around the park and wonderfully clean bathrooms.
Jun 24, 2014
It was wonderful, except the pool wouldn't let water wings be used in the swimming pool! And didn't sell or rent the lifejackets that the lifeguard required. Kids did love the air pillow and other games.
Jun 24, 2014
We had a great time! Plenty of things for the kids to do, and our cabin and site were beautiful.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Our 3 night stay was enjoyable. The staff were very welcoming and knowledgable. The location is a little complicated but our GPS got us there every time. Our 5 and 7 year olds enjoyed the playground and activities. The shuttle into DC worked out great. We would definitely stay at this location again.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
The staff is amazing, friendly, and helpful. The only ONLY complaint I would have is that we got in the pool for about 1 minute before the lifeguard went on break. I wish she would have given us a heads up before we got wet only to be told to get out. We didn't know she took a break at the top of the hour. It was hard to explain that to a toddler that just got in the water.
Jun 23, 2014
Had problems with the reservation. The sites under at the bottom of the hill are a mess when it rains!
Jun 23, 2014
Good stay. Well-staffed, clean facility, friendly folks. Only minor critique is the wi-fi connection is a bit spotty.
Jun 23, 2014
My daughter's first camping trip and she had a blast! Thanks for being a part of some great memories.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a nice time. Wi-Fi connection was down most of the weekend, but that's another good reason to enjoy the outdoors.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Amazingly friendly staff: they even escorted me to my spot! Tile wall/floor bathrooms which are kept cleaner than I keep my own. Cabin I stayed in was well maintained, clean, and exactly what I needed. I have already recommended this KOA to others.
Jun 21, 2014
We took the shuttle 2 times. Greg simply let us stay and we had to run with a wheel-chair to catch him. We were at the wrong roundabout, that's all. We phoned him, but got an answering machine. He said he doesn't take calls when driving! Whatfore he gave us his mobile phone number. Then he almost ruined our wheel-chair by trying to fold it without unblocking. He did not apologize. We did not tip!
Jun 21, 2014
We loved this campground! Great playground, jumping pillow, and dog area. Wi-Fi worked really well to download information around the area.
Jun 21, 2014
Clean, friendly and conveniently located. Highly recommend.
Jun 21, 2014
What a great KOA! Friendly staff, clean facilities, and plenty of stuff to keep the kids (and the dog) occupied. It's also a great deal! We rented a 2 bedroom cabin near DC for about $100 a night - similar accommodations at a hotel would have cost twice as much. New Carrollton Metro station is an easy drive from the campground, and we were able to catch a train to the zoo for a fun day trip.
Jun 21, 2014
Grounds appearance and staff were very nice. Biggest problem was no water pressure. Could not take shower in RV because of it. Also other campers crossing across our site. We were able to tell them one time but they don't seem to realize that is one of the rules. Maybe there should be signs so they learn.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Nice cabin, very clean facilities. Site is very well staffed and courteous. Some of the cabin sites are cramped. Some site's fire pits are pretty close to where vehicles are parked. Nice walking trail.
Jun 19, 2014
been there several times before. well kept clean and friendly. best reason it is located perfectly for DC, Balt. and Annapolis
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Nicest employees and beautiful campground
Jun 18, 2014
Good, well managed site. Ideal for families. Pretty, wooded setting.
Jun 18, 2014
Very good park. Disadvantage is price, and people hanging laundry in the park in direct violation of park rules.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Fun place! Super clean! So many fun things for the kids to do. The nicest staff, too!
Jun 17, 2014
went for a 3 night stay and our only issue is the time for cleaning the restrooms. it seems to me that the restroom near the laundry being closed for cleaning should be a bit later than 9-10:30am. it was a bit inconvenient.
Jun 17, 2014
Probably the happiest weekend I've witnessed at a KOA was June 14-15. Families took advantage of the Kids Stay Free weekend, and KOA had plenty for them to do -- swim, go-karts, bouncy pillows, basketball, ice cream, etc. Nice, clean facilities, well-staffed office open later hours than I usually see. Great campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.