Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
The location worked very well for our family. Our children enjoyed the many activities available to them during our stay.
Jul 17, 2016
Great camp ground. Well kept and well organized.
Jul 17, 2016
This is by far the worst KOA that I have stayed at.
Jul 16, 2016
There were only a couple of things that we wish we different. We rented a deluxe cabin and it was located in the camper section, and the bikes and other recreation were closed earlier in the evening than we had hoped for. Otherwise, we would give this KOA 5 stars.
Jul 16, 2016
Worst 30 amp service we ever had. Hard to back in space with numerous trees in the way and very hard to level RV.
Jul 16, 2016
Missed the shuttle to DC. Used Uber instead @ a cost of $130.00 round trip. Good for 2 Uber drivers 😊. Perhaps some flexibility on shuttles to DC.
Jul 16, 2016
The people were very nice and helpful. I loved that they have a shuttle bus into the city that was great and the bathrooms and laundry room were very well taken care of and my kids loved the playground and pool. The only thing I would do different is add a baby changing station in one of the bathrooms. It was hard to change the baby, other than that great people, great place
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Staff was great and great location with trolly
Jul 14, 2016
the only complaints is that Bus #2 needs some window tlc
Jul 14, 2016
We had a great time!
Jul 14, 2016
Was very nice very friendly and helpful people there very clean and beautiful place. I will come back to Capitol MD campground. Loved that the campground had a bus to Washington D.C. each day for everyone.
Jul 14, 2016
Stony campsite made it uncomfortable underfoot
Jul 14, 2016
Very quiet, clean, peaceful atmosphere. Great staff. Will be back again!!!
Jul 13, 2016
Nice guarded pool. Good facility Friendly staff. Still a little expensive for what you get.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
So So
Jul 12, 2016
Awesome location for visiting DC.
Jul 12, 2016
Its a great place.
Jul 12, 2016
We loved the location and the friendliness of the staff of this campground! Clean bathrooms and laundry area, trails well marked and pet park well taken care of.
Jul 12, 2016
On Sunday while enjoying the pool, I noticed that the lifeguard was more interested in her phone than watching the children in the pool. I was told that she is a contracted employee of a lifeguard company and there wasn't anything that the office could do about her inattention. KOA pays the bill for her to be there?!?! Right?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The lifeguard mentioned in this survey was reported by Capitol KOA and was fired. It is a outside company that lifeguards the pool. It was handled promptly. Capitol KOA does care about pool safety.
Jul 12, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves! We had a spot in the back where the trees gave great shade. The lifeguards were less than desirable but they would be the only compliant I have. First they wouldn't let my 12 year old swim without a parent but let another child smaller swim without a parent. They took a 10 min break every hour and even though I had to be there for my kid I couldn't take responsibility.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Lifeguards have our campers safety in mind. They follow Maryland law which does not allow 12 year olds to swim without a parent. The 10 minute break hourly mentioned is pool water testing. That is also a Maryland rule and lifeguards must abide by the rules. No child younger than 12 swims alone.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Sites are too small. Our next door neighbor was Ina rental and did not have the proper fittings to connect to the sewer leaving us with the stink. On the good side the staff was great, pool small but nice.
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. VERY clean. We were VERY pleased with the things available for the kids to do. Wish the sites were a little bigger. Wish the shuttle had a few more times and "stop" options.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of activities for kids. Wish the tent sites were a little more established. Hard to tell where one starts and ends.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice. A little pricey but it seems all KOA's have gotten expensive.
Jul 10, 2016
Our spot was reserved to be a shaded spot. upon arrival we were directly in front of the office without a tree at all! staff was friendly, park was clean & quiet. we were in md to visit family & wanted them to come to dinner & see our camper (they stayed 2 hrs) cost $15. didn't like that!
Jul 10, 2016
Took a few days break.
Jul 10, 2016
nice campground. I wish they had cable hookup since we had trouble getting much for TV stations via antennae.
Jul 10, 2016
Excellent service de navette Site très propre Gens acceuillants
Jul 10, 2016
Clean personnel helpful. Was not able to get a pull in like I had requested. Some pull in sites have patio areas which was very nice. The pillow bounce was great for children. All in all gear stay.
Jul 10, 2016
Not the best koa we've stayed at. The deluxe cabin was right next to the shower and parking lot and my children witnessed the manager fire and swear at an employee just before he threw the kid's keys into the locked pool area where he had to climb a fence to retrieve them. Would not go back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The manager did NOT swear at the employee or fire him in public. The EX employee is the one that got violent and was escorted off the property. This was an isolated incident.
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Very friendly staff, DC shuttle was great, excellent bathrooms/showers. Sites are a little small/close together, roads to sites a little too tight, sites have major level issues (both left tires were off the ground on the camper!)
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely stay.... Just a shame it's advertised as DC when it's clearly not.... I wish the distance has been advertised.... Stay was lovely though
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
It's camping. Staff and lifeguards not super friendly and even rude at times. Amenities were great for the kids. Movie was difficult to see and hear. Staff unsympathetic and even laughed when my son's sandals were taken by a neighbor camper. Again, it's camping....not a hotel stay.
Jul 07, 2016
even though it rained for most of our stay, we had a great time. Kids had the opportunity to freely enjoy themselves at the different stations without any problems.
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice and spacious camp sites. We had a concrete patio with a gas grill, table with 4 chairs and fire pit with 2 Adirondack chairs. The shuttle to Washington DC mall was great!
Jul 07, 2016
Campground was nice and clean. There were things that were not clean when scheduling our site. There was a misunderstanding on the days we were checking out which made the stay a little stressful. Also the fact that the shuttle was explained to be free and available when we needed it. But instead it cost money and only ran from 9-5.
Jul 07, 2016
Nice people. Wish campsites were more level and more rocks.
Jul 07, 2016
Nice and quiet!
Jul 06, 2016
absolutely fantastic VERY clean cabin great staff awesome place
Jul 06, 2016
Up sides: friendly staff, solid services and amenities. Down sides: right next to a highway (loud) and the sites were very narrow, with the fire pits at the tip of the site and the utilities were at the front of the camper so it was hard to reach lines. I would consider a stay again though based on the services and overall closeness to DC.
Jul 06, 2016
The amenities were very nice. The sites themselves were very small. Felt like we were all on top of each other.
Jul 06, 2016
Peaceful, quiet, relaxing.
Jul 05, 2016
Great space for a short layover. Would like to have more time there.
Jul 05, 2016
Great central location. Friendly staff, very clean. Challenging getting into due to poor signage. Confusing convergence of several major roads.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals