Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2015
This is the most expensive KOA I have ever stayed at and yet, there is no cable TV, internet is very poor, no easy walk to the office or showers, and no trash pick up!! The main positives are the friendly staff and the proximity to Washington, D.C.
Jun 30, 2015
Close to Baltimore inner harbor. People were very nice but small campground. Site had view of store and back if neighbors camper. Sites too close. Good location for inner harbor tho.
Jun 30, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with the stay.
Jun 30, 2015
Excellent campground & service
Jun 30, 2015
Could not have been more accomadating to us! Thank you!
Jun 30, 2015
Awesome location and really nice park. Also really nice people. We needed to extend a day and they were happy to work with us. Can't say enough about this lovely camp ground!
Jun 29, 2015
The staff were super friendly and the place was clean. We all had a wonderful time.
Jun 29, 2015
friendly, clean, convenient. Staff was very nice but could not help me fit my standard sewer line to their short stand pipe. Also pull through will not work if the lane is too crowded to pull through and turn 40' rig.
Jun 29, 2015
This was out first KOA experience and it was great. We weren't able to get a pull thru as we did not reserve Until the day before. The escorts were great at helping us back a 34ft trailer into our spot. They had a shuttle that took us into DC and picked us at end of the day. This was great for us newcomers. Laundry room an shower areas very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend
Jun 28, 2015
Great cabin, nice camp ground. The kitchen could use a Little more utensils -- not least a regular kichen knife.
Jun 28, 2015
EXCELLENT!!!!!! Couldn't have been happier!!!
Jun 28, 2015
We had a great time - the campground was very conveniently located to local activities and was easy to find. The campground staff was wonderful and helpful. The site was nice and the facilities were very good.
Jun 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. Low water pressure, no cable. Good location for visiting DC.
Jun 28, 2015
Expensive, but a nice campground.
Jun 27, 2015
The staff was wonderful. The shuttle is great to take to DC. The cabins were nice, especially the weber grill that was outside. Will stay here again.
Jun 27, 2015
Compared to the other KOA campgrounds we have stayed at, this one is the poorest yet. The shuttle to DC is at least an hour drive. That's 2 hours out of your day on a van. The WiFi is horrible! Highly recommend you add cable! Obviously, if staying in a cabin or RV, people are expecting some of the amenities they have at home. Waiting in line in the store for 20 minutes is ridiculous.
Jun 27, 2015
This stay was an overnight late in- early out (5AM. We booked water and electricity only. Site had a slope on the site length (10-15degrees)not very practical for any stay!! This should be improved. At 2AM ..need to go to washroom - NO WATER. 4AM wake up and wanted a shower ..NO WATER. Would need a WHILE STAYING - FOR EMERGENCY Number on the reservation.
Jun 27, 2015
We stay at this KOA often, it is conveniently located for both Annapolis and Washington DC. The facilities are clean and there are a variety of activities. We have always been pleased. This time we were disappointed with our site identified as having a deck but in fact only a porch.
Jun 27, 2015
Welcoming and friendly from beginning to end. Clean restrooms. Level, clean, and roomy sites. Kampground personnel made it feel like home away from home. There was stormy weather which may have made wifi less consistent.
Jun 27, 2015
was great, staff was very friendly, but your showers and restrooms are too small!!
Jun 26, 2015
The minute we drove in sonme guy in a koa golf cart starts yelling at us for the way we pulled in and were approaching our site. Not excuse me could you not back up but screaming his fool head off "I dont want people doing it that way !!" If you have little ones they cant swim here only potty trained children so if the family wants to go swimming forget about it.This was the worst koa in 16 years
Jun 26, 2015
The a/c made everything wet inside the cabin. The floor was sticky and the deodorizer made me nauseous and I did not sleep well. Needless to say we won't be back to the Capitol KOA. The employees were very friendly and couldn't have be nicer.
Jun 26, 2015
loved this place and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again!!
Jun 26, 2015
Clean campground, nice dog area, and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2015
6 nights, 5 days. Clean and organized. Wish it had been a little closer to the metro. Only issue is the fire ring is badly placed, too close to neighbor's parking.
Jun 25, 2015
We had a terrible time each time we returned to the site trying to find it. Directions were terrible, signage was totally inadequate, and I would never recommend the place because of it. Signage on the trails was also inadequate. The site itself was well-managed, though the floor of the cabin could have been swept clear of sand before we arrived.
Jun 25, 2015
Clean, well-organized, friendly staff (especially young Shawn at registration), excellent shuttle to Washington (but the passenger windows needed to be cleaned), need more hooks on walls of showers stalls and shelf to put things on, the pool water looked cloudy. Those aren't major complaints. The campground was excellent overall.
Jun 24, 2015
Internet non-existant. 9 tries out of 10, request times out before a reply. Very poor water pressure whern park is bust - hard to shower.
Jun 24, 2015
Restrooms were far away from cabin and we were out of free wifi range. Crew members were friendly. Camp was kept very clean.
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Friendly staff
Jun 23, 2015
Only complaint is very low water pressure. Everything else was first rate.
Jun 23, 2015
All of the employees at the campground were very friendly and helpful. You can take a short drive to the train station or use the campground shuttle to DC...very convenient!
Jun 23, 2015
veryu nice. wish we could have stayed longer
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great time. Would prefer a new surface under the playground to minimize sand and dirt, but overall a very enjoyable experience.
Jun 23, 2015
Awesome campground awesome staff.
Jun 23, 2015
Very clean and friendly
Jun 23, 2015
It was a little hard to find because it is not very GPS friendly but once we found the campground it was all worth it it is beautiful and a great place for the kids it has a lot of activities that children will remember this experience the rest of their lives the employees are very nice and helpful I would definitely recommend this to anyone it was well worth the stay
Jun 23, 2015
It was brief but I was empressed with the facility. I will recommend it!
Jun 22, 2015
The staff was friendly and the facilities were always clean (which is difficult to say about a camp bathroom). The pool, playground, and jumping pillow were the kids favorites. I liked the wooded lots and the two picnic tables at our cabin. The nature trail was poorly marked & the wifi was so bad you might as well say they did not have had any...but they wouldn't keep me from staying again.
Jun 22, 2015
Amenities are very nice, pool, basketball court, bounce bubble, playground. The sites are very small and not very green. Also, bathrooms are not close to most sites and no pathways to make getting to the bathrooms easy.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
friendly staff, decent space, the only detraction was it is close to highways so you hear that noise, but that's it.
Jun 22, 2015
On Saturday the trash was overflowing and by Sunday trash was being left on the ground. Closing showers between 9:00 am and 10:30am is just plain Stupid. Campers trying to leave in the morning would appreciate having them open during this time.
Jun 22, 2015
Very clean and friendly. Sam was great from check-in to check-out.
Jun 22, 2015
My kids and I had such a great time and really enjoyed the camping cabin that we stayed in. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and the shuttle to DC was wonderful.
Jun 22, 2015
Please see my review on trip advisor under Jackie M. Outstanding campground. Amazing staff. We will be back for sure!!!
Jun 22, 2015
everyone is so friendly and kind! the bathrooms and facilities are the CLEANEST I've ever been to. nice grounds. you can't get lost or confused. cheap snacks and drinks. I really hope to visit again soon. they also are understanding of people who arrive really late (12 or 1 am!). you just pay in the morning and it's no big deal. thanks, KOA! :)
Jun 21, 2015
The facility is okay. For the price, you think the Wi-Fi would work. Other guest also commented there was no internet access. The office staff never admitted it was not working.
Jun 21, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.