Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2013
Very clean facility, friendly staff. Had a Great Time!
Aug 27, 2013
Great campground, was close to my home. Stayed here rather then stay at my house that night becuase my daughters were having a slumber party. Spacious sights and two hookups at the sites. Only con was a grumpy old guy that confronted me when my dog walked in his campsite grass. I basically told him to get over it and all was good. Would stay there again.
Aug 27, 2013
it was good.
Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Fenced dog park. Close enough to where we needed to be. Last-minute. Friendly. Cons: Asked to be AWAY from common areas but got put directly near entrance and next to commons... 'Movie night' was very loud. Pull-thru sites very close together. Expensive full hookup sites. Booked wooded back-in online but wasn't able to get one due to some kind of size problem with web booking.
Aug 26, 2013
The only real issue I had is that the dump station area is not level and actually leans away from the drain making it hard to dump the tanks.
Aug 26, 2013
We love the campground and have stayed a few times. Th esites in the back of the park could be more level. There was an awful sewer smell at my site (122) all weekend.
Aug 25, 2013
Nice campground, clean, good services, staff enjoyed. 25 minutes from Washington D.C. 8 minutes from Crofton (grocery,Giant, Weegman liquors, many stores, Target, RV parts...)
Aug 25, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers clean. Plenty of activities for the kids. My kids loved the giant chess board. We drove in to DC to use the metro because it offered us a little more flexibility as to when we can leave and come back. They do have a shuttle service that leaves at 9 and 11am but they won't pick you back up until 5 and 7 pm.
Aug 25, 2013
Wish there was more lights outdoors when going to the restrooms & showers when we walk over.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Best KOA we have visited in 25 states.
Aug 23, 2013
people were great!
Aug 22, 2013
the location was great. overall the campground, bathrooms, and laundry room were clean. our cabin had bugs in it when we arrived. the people in the campground store/office building were not helpful answering our questions and seemed to be bothered with our questions.
Aug 22, 2013
we had a great time at your campsite. thank you.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
We enjoyed our stay
Aug 22, 2013
My nephew and I had a great time camping here. All the people were very friendly. He especially liked the bounce pillow!
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Great facilities. We loved that they provided a shuttle to DC!
Aug 20, 2013
Clean bathrooms. Caring and efficient staff. Only regret is that we were only there one night. But we will return! Thanks!!!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
While we stayed here we saw numerous people walking through other campsites. Our last night here, we had a kid on a bike ride right behind us sitting at our fire. I believe that the staff could patrol the campground more and put a stop to people doing this! We saw very little of the staff coming around the campground. They showed people to their sites and that was it.
Aug 19, 2013
allergy friendly!!!! clean and well kept. safe for the kiddos. good internet service. they recycle:)
Aug 19, 2013
This facility is close to home for us and was intended as a kind of trial camping trip we took with kids who had never camped in a tent. Our experience was wonderful. Staff was helpful and kind to the newbies, our tent site was close to all the activities we wanted for the kids but never noisy at night. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. One of the kids wants to return just to use the bounce pillow!
Aug 19, 2013
We always have an enjoyable visit here. We visit family in the area, so we stayed 4 nights. The staff are exceptionally outstanding. This trip, we say special thanks to Sue, who went the extra "mile" to accommodate us. Capitol KOA is our very favorite, and we've stayed at over 40 different KOA's over a period of 5 years.
Aug 19, 2013
We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and my 3 children took to the bouncy tramp thing immediately and then to the pool, to an ice cream social and then to a movie. The best part, however, is the staff and a big thanks to Doc Bob for helping us get the parts we needed to fix the bus. Above and beyond. Thanks to all and highly recommend this KOA-even if your ride doesn't break down! Will be back.
Aug 18, 2013
Great park...great staff. Mary from Florida was extremely helpful and pleasant. About 25 minutes from the metro into DC, which was great. Life guard was a little rude.
Aug 18, 2013
I felt that some of the front desk staff members were unfriendly and seemed annoyed and rushed me when I asked questions. The other staff members and cleaning crew were extremely nice. I would recommend for one to two nights. Not more than that. Dissapointed that there were no daily activities for children. Cabin was damp. Grounds crowded.
Aug 18, 2013
Site 88 needs a tree trimming. I could not put the TV antenna up much at all.
Aug 18, 2013
The people were very friendly. The facility had many extra things for our kids to do. The restrooms and laundry rooms were very clean. The overall appearance and woods offered a very nice setting. The pool was very clean. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.
Aug 18, 2013
I love it here. this was our second trip here. The staff is friendly and the campground is clean. There is a lot of things for kids to do to keep them happy. the site was nice also.
Aug 18, 2013
Very well managed. A little pricey on the spots.
Aug 18, 2013
We traveled in from California to Washington D.C and we camped out at this KOA it was a wonderful experiance very beautiful everyone was very helpful and very clean. Make sure you take bug repelant so you can stay 100% comfortable
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Great stay and very helpful staff. Could not have asked for anything more! Only complaint is that the site was not very level and hookup was a challenge.
Aug 17, 2013
WAter should be provided on the bus on the way back.
Aug 17, 2013
Was very quiet and tucked away. Really enjoyed the stay.
Aug 17, 2013
Very clean. Great facilities and friendly staff. The site we had was fantastic - with privacy and tree cover. We definitely enjoyed our stay.
Aug 16, 2013
This is a great place to stay. The staff is very helpful. We loved taking the van into DC, the drivers are so nice. We were able to purchase the hop on hop off DC tour tickets at the KOA that was so easy. I loved the deck around our Kamping Kabin.
Aug 16, 2013
This place was great! Really friendly people and very accomodating. Its location allowed us easy access to the Metro, gas stations, and grocery stores. The only small issue we had was the location of our tent spot. The ground was very sandy, and we kept getting a small sewage smell wafting through our campsite. I am sure that if we had another site, I could have rated them a 5.
Aug 16, 2013
Had a great time, friendly staff, clean washrooms, nice pool, appreciated the shuttle.
Aug 16, 2013
Our stay was great. Only concern was with the internet service (inconsistent) Wish cable was available also.
Aug 16, 2013
Great showers, friendly, helpful staff. Shuttle to DC was perfect. Complimentary water on the way back a God send.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Oh My Goodness !!! It Was GREAT !!!!!
Aug 15, 2013
Always a great place to stay.
Aug 15, 2013
CLEAN, FRIENDLY, GREAT ACTIVITIESV FOR KIDS.
Aug 15, 2013
I've been here 4 times. very conveniant as a stop while traveling up and down the east coast. did D.C. from here also. Would stop again
Aug 14, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.