Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The cabin was just perfect, facing the woods and close to the shower/facilities. My kids enjoyed the ping pong table, pool and chess game. This KOA offers a bus to the Capital/Museums for a minimal daily fee, but we opted to travel via the metro (quicker and more cost effective for the four of us). The employees were all very nice!
Jul 13, 2015
Stayed at your campground for a long weekend. We found the camp to be very well maintained, organized and the staff was efficient and friendly. I would highly recommend your facility to fellow campers.
Jul 13, 2015
We love this KOA. Everyone is so nice. The campground is well maintained.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff at this location is amazing! I can't wait to come back! Our stay was perfect and peaceful!
Jul 13, 2015
This was our first time ever camping and the experience wasn't to bad. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. So we're the other campers... Because I needed help lol My only issue was the site we stayed at was not that great. A lot of tree roots sticking up and it was on a slight hill, so the kids and I kept sliding out of our sleeping bags. But over all had a wonderful time!
Jul 12, 2015
Not all employees are very friendly. Dumpster overflowing several times. Kids loved the pool and pillow. Please put up signs to not cut through campsites and keep dogs on leash. Store very overpriced.
Jul 12, 2015
Awesome KOA. Staff was great especially Brian Goddard. Very clean and well kept. Love it. Great access to DC.
Jul 12, 2015
Ask for and paid for a pull through site near restrooms and pool. Got a tiny muddy sandy site on the lower side of the campground. We could barely open the door on the pop up between it and the picnic table. Have stayed in the cabins previously but will not take a camper here ever again. Not happy.Way to much money for such a nasty site. Only good thing was the man that took us to the site.
Jul 12, 2015
We couldn't have asked for anything easier for our stay! Check in was so quick and our site was amazingly convenient for our family!
Jul 12, 2015
The grounds were unsat for the disabled. Asked for different site three times and was told none available,yet other sites were empty entire time of our stay. For amount charged should at least have cable. Wifi was neve available even though we were told it was there. Had a miserable 3 days and definitely will not recommend this KOA. A rip off!!!!
Jul 12, 2015
everything was great except the cabins smell like body odor. been coming there for 5 years and it doesn't matter which cabin they all stink. there must be a way to deodorize other than Lysol
Jul 12, 2015
Staff was nice. Campsite was okay as well. A little rocky but nothing unbearable. Bathhouses were very dirty. Floor was constantly wet and slippery. Was expecting more for the price of our stay.
Jul 11, 2015
We were 2 families staying in 2 cabins. Big deluxe cabin was great. The small 4 person was bad: 1 - spiders and webs. Our daughter was traumatized by the spiders and couldn't sleep. We cleaned them up ourselves... killed 8 and cleaned up webs that were everywhere. Easy for you to clean with a quick broom or vac. 2) smelled bad in the room 3) dark lighting too dingy 4) for $100/nt provide line
Jul 11, 2015
We stayed 2 nights in a kabin. It was our seventh stay at Capitol KOA. Enjoyed the shuttle to dc two different times. Always clean, always quiet.
Jul 11, 2015
Very expensive no cable TV not level sites
Jul 10, 2015
Lots of fun things for the kids to do! Would have liked more shaded woodsy areas but customer service great and had a wonderful time!
Jul 10, 2015
It is worth it!
Jul 10, 2015
Really liked site. Just the right size for our new 32Ft Travel Trailer. Had the Grand kids there and a great time.
Jul 10, 2015
Great KOA. I stayed here with my wife for 4-days and received the best treatment ever, traveling the last 3 months in a 5th wheel. Good showers, rest rooms, dog walk area, big open pull thru with no trees in my area for Sat. dish. Staff 5-star plus for clean friendly facility. Shuttle to DC only 13.50 per person was the best. My truck broke down and staff gave me a ride back to campground. Thanks
Jul 09, 2015
Great shaded sites. Helpful, friendly staff. Not too far from the metro to DC. Shuttle too expensive for families going in to DC several days.Campground gives metro directions and help to get in though.
Jul 09, 2015
This is a superior KOA. The staff was extremely attentive & helpful. The trips into DC were well organized, inexpensive, convenient and so easy to arrange. The kampground offers many outside activities & best of all a 1 mile long nature trail--the perfect place to exercise our two McNab Shepherds! We very much enjoyed our stay here.
Jul 09, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. We were there to rest and regroup and that's exactly what we did. Great place and the staff is wonderful!
Jul 08, 2015
Would recommend highly.
Jul 07, 2015
Overall the location is great and convenient to all the sites and cities. The location is very clean, however all the water spigots pointed straight out & hard to use without a hose. Would be nice if they had a tv in the laundry room.
Jul 07, 2015
Very wonderful stay. Beautiful campground. When we arrived the weather was horrible and upon unloading our things in our cabin we noticed the wall was leaking due to the exceptionally heavy rain. Without hesitation we were moved to a new cabin and with a bigger deck. Thank you so much.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Wonderfully friendly staff and very accommodating.
Jul 06, 2015
Staff was friendly and very helpful. However, we felt that the camp sites were way to close together and very short (we were in the full hook up sites). Also, garbage was not picked up at curb side on a regular basis. And, there was no cable TV on the full hook up site, which is very odd for a KOA.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
not a lot of activities plus the cable TV has very few channels. Campground was very clean and personnel very friendly. Bath facility and laundry was very clean. Easy access to Annapolis.
Jul 06, 2015
The facilities were clean and well maintained. Wifi was lacking. Was not happy with no charcoal grill and no indoor game room. Like the facilities for pets. More wood chips needed behind cabin to cut down on mud.Staff helpful.Would prefer a copy of activites schedule in print.
Jul 06, 2015
My 4th of July weekend was great, the place was clean and everyone was very nice an helpful.
Jul 06, 2015
Thanks for a great time, friendly and relaxing.
Jul 06, 2015
We were disappoited that one of the shuttle buses to DC was unavailable and the other was filled by the time we got off the bus to reserve seats for the next day. We ended up scrambling for a rental car to get us to DC for two days of our three day stay.
Jul 06, 2015
Great clean facility in a convenient location.
Jul 06, 2015
Very clean grounds. Really friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location for a vacation. So much to do in the area you can't see it all in a week.
Jul 06, 2015
Very friendly staff, enjoyed our staff would recommend highly.
Jul 06, 2015
we had a great stay, staff was very nice! Our site could have used a little grass, but not bad.
Jul 06, 2015
Nice shaded spots. Bathrooms we're clean, staff was friendly. Complaint would be the sights could use some fresh gravel.
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Great Place & Service :) Thanks For Holding The Bus :)
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 04, 2015
Stayed in cabin. Nice, clean, great air conditioner. Plastic covered mattresses made it hard for me to sleep (felt clammy). Bring mattress pad and your own linens as theirs are polyester and uncomfortable. Nice place deep in the trees. Wonderful deck if you bring chairs.
Jul 02, 2015
We stayed in a cabin. It was very clean and so were the bathrooms and showers. There was lots to do for the kids. The staff was friendly!!!
Jul 01, 2015
Staff was so courteous and helpful. Campground was well maintained. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked. Our family had a terrific trip.
Jul 01, 2015
staff very friendly and helpful. sad thing about it this was our 1st time ever in a campground where we didn't inter act with other campers.not the friendly travelers we are used to meeting when we camp.
Jul 01, 2015
The campground was clean, well maintained, and the staff was so nice and helpful. The location was private, quiet, and seemed safe, even tho it was in a very populated area. We were visiting family in the area and will return!
Jul 01, 2015
Need cable tv and better wifi. Clean park and very helpful staff.
Jul 01, 2015
Excellent staff, very friendly atmosphere.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice people great location

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.