Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2013
NOUS AVONS PASSÉ UN EXCELLENT MOMENT EN VACANCE SUR LE CAMPING.LES GENS ÉTAIENT TRÈS ACCUEILLANT SUR PLACE. LA GENTILLESSE DU PERSONNEL SUR PLACE AINSI QUE LA PROPRETÉ DU CAMPING A ÉTÉ SANS CONTREDIT UN CHOIX A ENVISAGER POUR NOS PROCHAINES VACANCES. MERCI À TOUTES L'ÉQUIPE.
Aug 11, 2013
Probably the best campground I have ever stayed. Clean, friendly, welcoming, above and beyond helpful staff. Bravo for such a positive atmosphere!
Aug 11, 2013
Rather nice campground. Excellent campsites. The shuttle to D.C. is way too expensive for families.
Aug 11, 2013
Great location for visiting D.C. Staff is fantastic! This KOA provides a shuttle to DC for sightseeing. this is a great service and highly recommended.
Aug 10, 2013
Very disappointed. When a problem occurred, condescending management made it worse. We would never come back.
Aug 10, 2013
Tom's coaches clutch may need servicing as it was quite a jerky drive back from DC
Aug 10, 2013
Loved the shuttle to DC
Aug 10, 2013
We enjoyed our stay the camp ground was very nice and the staff went above and beyond.
Aug 10, 2013
When advertising WIFI there should be a signal strong enough to cover the complete grounds.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
We had a very enjoyable time. The staff was excellent and everything was exceptionally clean. We enjoyed our visit and will definitely be coming back!
Aug 09, 2013
My children and I enjoyed all of the family friendly activities at your campground.
Aug 09, 2013
The campground was nice and we enjoyed have a dog playground right there for our dog to enjoy. Everything was clean and the people were all friendly and helpful. The only downside was how cramped the actual sites were. We didn't have room on our site to open our awning, and to step out of the camper we needed to hop from the steps to a little hill/slope and grab a tree trunk....
Aug 09, 2013
We really enjoyed this campground! There were lots of trees. We had expected cable being so close to Washington DC but we actually learned to enjoy sitting around the campfire at night. I would take more of the curbs that exist in the middle of driveways out as they are difficult on RV's. The staff was friendly and helpful and I had never seen a large jumping pillow for kids before.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Your staff is excellent. We can tell they are enjoying what they do. We are aware that they are not there due to high compensation. They all have great work ethics.
Aug 08, 2013
Cabins were clean and the workers were very friendly. Thank you for a great stay!
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Excellent stay. Staff extremely friendly & helpful, especially Mary from Florida!
Aug 07, 2013
Had a great stay and the kids really enjoyed the activities that was there.
Aug 06, 2013
Great campground. Only concer is that the young man who filled our propane tank obviously did not know what he was doing and there is the risk that he could cause an explosion if he does not get better trained.
Aug 06, 2013
Was there a few years ago in a cabin for the first time and it was great. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. That's why we came back. Thank you very much for a pleasant stay again.
Aug 05, 2013
Great area, great people,great site.
Aug 05, 2013
Very helpful, friendly staff. Clean kampground. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We didn't get to take advantage of the shuttle but appreciated it being available.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
people friendly,clean and shuttle bus to city(big value)
Aug 05, 2013
Had a great time. A little bit of a hard time finding it with the GPS. The store replaced the wet wood that Very wonderful, helpful people working at the store. Looking forward to my next stay at the Washington KOA.
Aug 05, 2013
When we got there we were taken to the spot we had reserved. We felt that it wasn't big enough for our tent and asked if we could move. They moved us no problem. We paid extra for power/water but feel that next time we will go without as the ground was stone since it was a tent trailer site more than a pitch-tent. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The bus service was great also.
Aug 05, 2013
Poor Internet! Rest was pretty good and the staff very friendly!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We stayed in a 2 room cabin. The only thing I would recommend is to put strips on the steps so you can't slip. Because one night it was raining & even though I was holding on the rail, I slipped and hurt my ankle and knee. This KOA offers the shuttle to Washinton DC $12.50 pp r/t which we used for 2 days. That was great, didn't have to drive & look for parking.
Aug 04, 2013
This was our first stay at a KOA. we usually stay at state parks and this place was great. The kids enjoyed the ping pong and chess and swimming pool. if we can will we will visit another KOA in the future. hopefully the other will be just as great as this one.
Aug 04, 2013
The store was not well stocked with staples like bacon, half and half. Our water and electric sites were a distance from the rest rooms.
Aug 04, 2013
Our campsite was near the highway which could be loud at night when sleeping in a popup camper. The staff was a mixed bag. Some were extremely helpful and friendly but a few acted like they would rather not be working. The grounds were nicely kept.
Aug 04, 2013
Nice are and the shuttle into Washington DC is super for first timers. Pool has a life guard - this is the only one we have ever seen this at. Friendly people. Wifi is poor and hard to access at the best of times all over the camp ground.
Aug 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at KOA. We had booked at another campground first, spent one night there and wanted to get out immediately. KOA had most of the days open for us, one day short of our vacation stay, but we opted to take the days you had for the delux cabins. KOA you saved our well deserved and long awaited vacation. You have a beautiful campground. Great location for travel to D.C. Thank you!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Please don't represent yourself as "full hookups" and then not have cable tv. Also when a priority mail package comes in to the campground - it should be delivered to the site-if no one is at sight- a simple note can be left. Service is a key when charging higher than normal rates.
Aug 01, 2013
Great
Jul 31, 2013
Our reservation for 3 nights was in 2 parts for 2 different sites & had to be corrected upon arrival. The sites were very dissappointing & our 50amp site was small with roots in sitting area. Lack of grass, gravel, or concrete sites very dissappointing compared to other KOAs. The dirt streets & sites very disappointing. $72/nite was a very poor value for this site & didn't even include cable.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Just one night and the kids loved the Jump Pillow!
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Very clean. Courteous staff. So many things to do for the kids even a great dog playground. One complaint: people used my site as a pass through to the bathrooms because there is no path for the back sites to get to it. I'm talking MANY people all through the night. Some talking loudly. There needs to be a path for the back sites to get to the bathrooms.
Jul 30, 2013
Only disappointment was not knowing shuttloes limited to DC as website indicated otherwise. Also, time in DC different than last visit four years ago. Would have liked extra hour or so. Love staying here! Thank you

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.