Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 15, 2016
Good campground in most respects. We however do not use KOA for most stops as it is always 50% to 100% higher in cost than other similar quality campgrounds.
Mar 15, 2016
We loved how the cabins were facing towards the woods instead of the road, and the little bark park was perfect for tiring our dogs out!
Mar 15, 2016
This used to be our favorite campground for many years but it isn't the same anymore. We have stayed several times a year for the past 10 years and always felt at home and comfortable. Staff is not as friendly. Our cabin door lock did not work and when we told the staff they said we know we will fix it when you leave don't worry about it. So we had to always leave a member of our party at the site

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper was contacted about the following comments. The door lock has been replaced. It is never any staff members intention to come off unfriendly at Capitol KOA. We hope this camper gives us another chance.
Mar 14, 2016
very nice area, great cabin, clean, well kept, great surroundings, stayed in "off-season" so price was a hot deal. I wouldn't be able to stay at regular price of $90+ a night (too expensive), especially without a bathroom and no micro or frig. But, our stay was great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the nice comments! Tip of the day. Stay May 13,14, 2016 on our Care Camps Big Weekend. Stay Friday night get Saturday night for 10.00! The ten dollars goes straight to Care Camps. Support children with cancer. Camp for a cause!
Mar 08, 2016
My stay was awesome, however quite time starts to early for us younger people. Also, there were no activities and the nature trail was a joke. Its just a pathway for people to walk and get a decent exercise. There are no animals.
Mar 07, 2016
We had a spectacular 7th birthday party campout with 6 kids and 2 adults! The hiking trail and playground nearby, and the sleeping set-up in the loft for 6 kids was perfect. It would be nice to have a photo of the cabin on the site so we could better plan for what kitchen/linen items to bring/leave bedhind, but otherwise a wonderful stay. Thanks!
Jan 13, 2016
Had a great stay, loved the shuttle bus into DC well worth the price to not worry about parking and getting lost.
Dec 06, 2015
4 stars because we didnt get to use much as we where off site and just slept there have told many about place and would definately return
Dec 04, 2015
New managers were really friendly and courteous.
Dec 02, 2015
A large group of us camped the week before Thanksgiving and 25 or so of us had a wonderful Thanksgiving in the pavilion.
Dec 02, 2015
Dec 01, 2015
very pleasant - clean, nice site, well run, thank you - and can't beat this location - we'll be back, thank you.
Dec 01, 2015
Enjoyed staying here very close to public transportation so it made it easy to travel into Washington DC Love the cabins very cozy and comfortable
Nov 30, 2015
Brian, Sam, dr bob sue and bob made our stay the best ever! The best customer service anyone could ask for- they truly care about their guest and Capitol Koa will never be the same without them- we r hoping they will come back so we can too!
Nov 30, 2015
It's clean, activities for kids, friendly staff.
Nov 09, 2015
The kids had a great time and the employees were very friendly and helpful.
Nov 09, 2015
Awesome location between Baltimoore and DC. Super helpful staff. Very well maintained facilities, and super clean bath/shower facilities.
Nov 09, 2015
Always a great place to camp.
Nov 09, 2015
Nice campground from what we could see, it was November & part of the CG was closed! Bath houses nice. Hosts were friendly & helpful.Only negatives, premium site, uneven & no cable [explained?].....$67/night!
Nov 08, 2015
Super fun Halloween weekend!!
Nov 08, 2015
Absolutely love this campground! Beautiful area, lots to do and accommodating to guests!
Nov 08, 2015
Very friendly staff, knowledgeable on area sights. Campground very clean and kept up.
Nov 08, 2015
Always a Great Stay!
Nov 08, 2015
The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. The CG was very clean. The only negotiate is the road noise. Pleasant stay.
Nov 08, 2015
The most Unlevel sight I've been to ever
Nov 05, 2015
What a friendly and family oriented environment. We stayed Halloween weekend and were delighted with all the activities for all ages.
Nov 05, 2015
Rates are very high to not have cable TV hookups.
Nov 05, 2015
Can't say enough good things about our experiences at this KOA!
Nov 04, 2015
We had a great stay. There were so many fun activities to keep the kids busy. The staff is always so nice.
Nov 04, 2015
We love the people who run this place, they are very hospitable and keep the place very clean. Only suggestion would be to include at check in, discuss not cutting through sites.
Nov 04, 2015
Very nice Campground, friendly staff, great Halloween-program and decorations, clean restrooms, nice shop.
Nov 04, 2015
Love Halloween weekends! One suggestion -because people cannot be honest consider having staff vote on best costumes and campsites. Way too chaotic and the contest should be judged fairly.
Nov 03, 2015
Nov 03, 2015
Nov 02, 2015
My wife and Daughter-in-law made a reservation on our Halloween trip last year and it didn't work out right. Our Daughter-in-law said she was bat fault. Was disappointed.
Nov 02, 2015
The only thing that disturbed us was the family across from us. They had 5 cars and blocked the roadway for long periods of time. Our firepit was almost in the road so a car almost hit me trying to get around the other vehicle. They had all kind of company and drinking, loud and cussing way past the quiet time. I was quite surprised that no staff took care of it even though they saw it.
Nov 02, 2015
Appreciated the clean bathroom/showers and the location.
Nov 02, 2015
Trick/treat should be in daylight for safety. No lights around. The 2 staff SUPPOSED to be supervising jump pillow were sitting on picnic table playing with there phones/eating candy with friends. Kids wrestling/throwing sand. Our daughter got injured because of that.
Nov 02, 2015
This is an annual thing we do with our grandchildren, and although we don't always stay at the same place each year you're campground was where it all began. Thank you we had a blast.
Oct 31, 2015
Oct 30, 2015
Oct 29, 2015
We were very impressed with the people who keep the property. We thought the signs to get to the KOA could be better. The park was completely full for a Halloween weekend and the smoke from all the fires made it tough to breathe and I think when that many people are in the park, there should be a large bonfire and limit the number of individual fires.
Oct 28, 2015
Campgrounds layout was well though out. Plus the activities looked like a lot of fun but could not do any of them since we were there in the area for a wedding. Still liked the campground.
Oct 28, 2015
The sites are larger than most KOAs
Oct 28, 2015
Perfect location if you are passing through, however the cost is a little high and the highway noise was pretty loud during the night. Staff was friendly. No cable, but the antenna picked up a lot f stations, WIFI seemed strong.
Oct 27, 2015
We absolutely love it there! We always have the best time and can't wait for next time!!!!
Oct 27, 2015
we've stayed here for years and camping combined with the Maryland Rennaisance Faire makes for an entertaining and relaxing weekend!
Oct 27, 2015
Very friendly staff who all seemed to enjoy their jobs and interacting with guests.
Oct 27, 2015
I would have appreciated being made aware before my stay that kids would be trick or treating around the campsites on Saturday night so I could have been prepared with candy. Also the toilets in the ladies restroom were not flushing well and seemed unclean in general.
Oct 27, 2015
Think of it as "Camp", not camping. Sure, we were in a tent and we camped, but Weeeeee the DC KOA was a blast and a half! What an awesome time we had! When we camp, we normally go the mountains, but this time we kept it close to home for a positive experience minus the hour & 1/2 drive. Our 4&1/2 year old had so much fun that she actually asked to go to bed!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps