Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
Very helpful, friendly staff. Clean kampground. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We didn't get to take advantage of the shuttle but appreciated it being available.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
people friendly,clean and shuttle bus to city(big value)
Aug 05, 2013
Had a great time. A little bit of a hard time finding it with the GPS. The store replaced the wet wood that Very wonderful, helpful people working at the store. Looking forward to my next stay at the Washington KOA.
Aug 05, 2013
When we got there we were taken to the spot we had reserved. We felt that it wasn't big enough for our tent and asked if we could move. They moved us no problem. We paid extra for power/water but feel that next time we will go without as the ground was stone since it was a tent trailer site more than a pitch-tent. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The bus service was great also.
Aug 05, 2013
Poor Internet! Rest was pretty good and the staff very friendly!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We stayed in a 2 room cabin. The only thing I would recommend is to put strips on the steps so you can't slip. Because one night it was raining & even though I was holding on the rail, I slipped and hurt my ankle and knee. This KOA offers the shuttle to Washinton DC $12.50 pp r/t which we used for 2 days. That was great, didn't have to drive & look for parking.
Aug 04, 2013
This was our first stay at a KOA. we usually stay at state parks and this place was great. The kids enjoyed the ping pong and chess and swimming pool. if we can will we will visit another KOA in the future. hopefully the other will be just as great as this one.
Aug 04, 2013
The store was not well stocked with staples like bacon, half and half. Our water and electric sites were a distance from the rest rooms.
Aug 04, 2013
Our campsite was near the highway which could be loud at night when sleeping in a popup camper. The staff was a mixed bag. Some were extremely helpful and friendly but a few acted like they would rather not be working. The grounds were nicely kept.
Aug 04, 2013
Nice are and the shuttle into Washington DC is super for first timers. Pool has a life guard - this is the only one we have ever seen this at. Friendly people. Wifi is poor and hard to access at the best of times all over the camp ground.
Aug 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at KOA. We had booked at another campground first, spent one night there and wanted to get out immediately. KOA had most of the days open for us, one day short of our vacation stay, but we opted to take the days you had for the delux cabins. KOA you saved our well deserved and long awaited vacation. You have a beautiful campground. Great location for travel to D.C. Thank you!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Please don't represent yourself as "full hookups" and then not have cable tv. Also when a priority mail package comes in to the campground - it should be delivered to the site-if no one is at sight- a simple note can be left. Service is a key when charging higher than normal rates.
Aug 01, 2013
Great
Jul 31, 2013
Our reservation for 3 nights was in 2 parts for 2 different sites & had to be corrected upon arrival. The sites were very dissappointing & our 50amp site was small with roots in sitting area. Lack of grass, gravel, or concrete sites very dissappointing compared to other KOAs. The dirt streets & sites very disappointing. $72/nite was a very poor value for this site & didn't even include cable.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Just one night and the kids loved the Jump Pillow!
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Very clean. Courteous staff. So many things to do for the kids even a great dog playground. One complaint: people used my site as a pass through to the bathrooms because there is no path for the back sites to get to it. I'm talking MANY people all through the night. Some talking loudly. There needs to be a path for the back sites to get to the bathrooms.
Jul 30, 2013
Only disappointment was not knowing shuttloes limited to DC as website indicated otherwise. Also, time in DC different than last visit four years ago. Would have liked extra hour or so. Love staying here! Thank you
Jul 30, 2013
Everyone was extremely helpful. Our first time in the area. They helped us several times figure out our activities which saved us time and headaches (we had a small child with us). We appreciate everything.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
2 Night stay in a 2 room camping cabin. Very nice campground and cabins clean and well situated. Shuttle to DC a great service. Lack of small fridge in cabin only downside.
Jul 29, 2013
We took the shuttle to DC every day for 5 days. Dont drive into DC. Let the best drivers around to get you there and back. Had a great time
Jul 29, 2013
Nice location, friendly folks, nice park
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
I am local and was looking for a different thing to do for my 7 turning 8 year old sons birthday party. He invited 3 other friends and I rented a two bedroom cabin. It has a/c was clean and perfect! So much to do at the campground - the boys had a ball. The staff is soooo friendly and helpful. Free ice cream sundaes! was awesome at the end of the day!
Jul 29, 2013
Our children really enjoyed the jumping pillows and the swimming pool. There were so many children for them to play with that they seldom complained of "not having anything to do." The campground was kept clean and was a very relaxing place to spend the weekend.
Jul 28, 2013
Every one was very helpful and friendly Will come back
Jul 28, 2013
staff was great, electric and water to far forward, poor wifi, road bad spun trying to get in and out,
Jul 28, 2013
Campground was great, hats off to shuttle driver, because we were late, Thaqnks
Jul 28, 2013
only a one night getaway but worth it. Very friendly staff,clean bathrooms,comfortable area.
Jul 27, 2013
needs a game room the restrooms are very very cleans we had a great time
Jul 26, 2013
Very friendly and helpful people, clean facilities, kids loved the games and playground. Only thing lacking was cable TV.
Jul 26, 2013
Camping très propre. Gens accueillants. Tranquille. Accès à Baltimore et Washington faciles.
Jul 26, 2013
It was a a pleasant experience,beatifull location and lovely and professional staff make the perfect combination. Thank you
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
My husband and I have stayed at many KOA's but this one has been the best yet!! (I have to be honest, we were a little skeptical camping so close to the city.) Spotless facilities and restrooms, spacious and shaded sites, and of course, courteous and friendly staff! About a 45 min drive from the capital. If camping near DC, this is the place to stay!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.