Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 08, 2016
Very nice park. The transportation to DC was very convenient and the tour bus hop and off was easy to use although tour buses made our day a little challenging because of street closures. Really enjoyed the experience and certainly would highly recommend this KOA.
Jun 08, 2016
Very nice with many amenities. Nice patio area on our site with grill, iron table, and fire bowl, and Adirondack chairs.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Everyone was very helpful, from directions to get us there to helping us back into our site. Would stay here again.
Jun 07, 2016
Thought it was extremely overpriced for gravel roads, not much security, and does not include the shuttle bus into Washington DC!
Jun 06, 2016
Clean bathrooms with wonderful showers!
Jun 06, 2016
All the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Perfect place to stay for families. Kids LOVED the pool and jumping pillow. Shuttle ride was worth it
Jun 06, 2016
Great campground for visiting Washington DC area. Great shuttle every morning until the capital.
Jun 06, 2016
Everyone was very helpful and nice.
Jun 06, 2016
My wife and I had a wonderful stay and experience at your KOA campground. The staff was quite friendly and helpful, especially after they became aware that we were newbies to the campground world. Great first experience! Thanks you!
Jun 06, 2016
Nice place to get away from the daily grind for a while. Well kept and lots of fun. The staff aims to please.
Jun 06, 2016
Clean facility, friendly staff who is willing to help you with just about anything. The only problem is they may need extra help at the register as it seemed the people at the front desk could get backed up quickly, and because when I was standing there waiting to check out a guy came from out back and said he was quitting.
Jun 05, 2016
Efficient check-in, nice tent-site, clean restrooms, friendly staff; can't ask for more.
Jun 05, 2016
Nice, clean facility. Great amenities for the kids. Sites weren't all level and we could hear the freeway throughout the park, buy it wasn't obnoxious or a deal breaker. Courteous staff.
Jun 05, 2016
Great place very helpful staff. Loved the dog park. Our pets got to run and play. All koa's should have a dog park. Easy to Baltimore or DC.
Jun 04, 2016
Seems overpriced compared to other KOA's but when there are no other campgrounds to stay it you have no choice but to pay the price. We've stayed at this KOA for the past 4 years and the new management didn't seem quite as friendly and cooperative as the past owners.
Jun 04, 2016
We stayed in tent site 46 with a large tent (holds 5 adult Coleman cots). The bathrooms were easy to access as well as the pool and play area. We used the shuttle 2 days and that was really great. The staff is fabulous and my kids said it was the best KOA they've ever stayed in. We had a great time. Showers were hot and bathrooms were clean.
Jun 04, 2016
GREAT AND THE BUS DRIVERS WERE GREAT THEY WERE VERY HELPFUL TO TOUR DC. THANKS
Jun 04, 2016
Stayed May 30 - June 2. It was nice to have the option of the shuttle into the city. It would be nice to have a shuttle that allowed people to stay in the city for dinner (1-9). Staff were friendly and helpful, grounds were beautiful, wiith lots of trees. Everything was clean and well maintained. Would stay again.
Jun 04, 2016
Really liked this KOA. Staff was friendly and facilities were nice. Really wish the campsites were a little bigger though.
Jun 04, 2016
Very friendly and convenient!
Jun 03, 2016
the campground was great. Thank You. It was very unfortunate about the tragic loss of life on the Friday. Could you please forward any info you may share in regards to the health of the gentleman and the funeral arrangements of the lady as we would like to forward our condolences. Thank you again, see you next year.
Jun 03, 2016
The bathrooms were very clean. I liked that the Barking Lot was fenced in so that we could let our labs run off leash. There was also a spigot to fill a dog bowl in the Barking Lot.
Jun 03, 2016
Very nice. Close to many things to do. Shuttle is a nice feature. Campsite We had was super, patio,grill,fire pit and a table with chairs and chairs for the fire. Bathroom and showers real nice. Store had basic supplies. Close to RV dealer if needed specialty things. Also close all other shopping if needed. Stayed six nights could have stayed more. Great KOA.
Jun 03, 2016
We especially loved the DC shuttle
Jun 03, 2016
Have stayed before, but truly got to see the heart of the staff in play in the wake of a tragedy that happened right in the campground with one of Rolling Thunders own there for the Memorial Day Celebration. Instead it turned into a moving Blessing of the Bikes Ceremony/Memorial Service for the life that was tragically lost that weekend. The staff although very upset handled it professionally.
Jun 03, 2016
We stayed in the cabins and it was absolutely amazing . There were plenty of activities to do for the kids and the campground itself was clean and well run. The staff was really friendly and willing to do anything in they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible .. The pool and big jumping pillow was a huge hit with the kids .. Also explored the nature trails. campgrpund pet friendly
Jun 03, 2016
We had an amazing time once again! We love the new staff! This time we took an hike on the nature trail with our two boys. So much fun.
Jun 02, 2016
As always we had a great stay at the Washington KOA. The new managers were very helpful. DR Bob is just the best. Looking forward to our return trip. This year was our 17th or 18th year staying at the DC KOA. Cheryl & Bob thank you for being there for us. Be back next year, if not before. Sincerely, Paula Wilson
Jun 02, 2016
This was my 11th year staying at Capitol KOA for Memorial Day weekend. I am overwhelmed by the support Capitol KOA gives to all of us Veterans who arrive to participate in the Rolling Thunder activities. The staff goes over and above the level of service that would be normally expected. Another truly memorable stay.
Jun 02, 2016
This campground is clean, pretty, and most convenient to DC, Balt, and Annapolis. The staff is so friendly! Trevor stopped by to chat when he saw on our tags that we were fellow South Dakota residents! See you guys next spring!!!
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
The campground is in a great location to visit Annapolis, Baltimore, or DC. The staff was extremely friendly however there wasn't any camping etiquette among them. Not only did other campers constantly walk through the sites but so did the employees. How can you expect campers to follow the rules if the employees dont? The speed limit was also not enforced.
Jun 02, 2016
Sites extremely unlevel, sand & dirt --No grassy area. showers were good
Jun 01, 2016
What a great place to stay. Have stayed at Capitol KOA for years for the Rolling Thunder Rally. Will not stay anywhere else. Staff were polite and courteous (especially Dr. Bob) and the new Manager and his wife are awesome. We love it there!!!
Jun 01, 2016
Love coming here
Jun 01, 2016
The past family warmth feeling was gone and things like ice cream are priced way to expensive. Was discouraged with our site that had been moved.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The ice cream social is 1.00 per scoop and 100 percent proceeds go to Care Camps for children with cancer. Reading the reviews above and below this survey Great staff is constantly mentioned. We are very proud of our awesome staff. This camper's site was not moved.
Jun 01, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean ground and nice environment.
Jun 01, 2016
Great location, nice people, clean facilities. One complaint (but it's big): the band Friday night was obscenely loud. Unable to hear our television set, unable to not have the baseline pulsing in your head. 10-12 police cars pulled in at 9 and thankfully ended it. Did not repeat Sat or Sun. At that point would have rated the park well below poor. Noise level hideously unfair to most guests. Dumb
Jun 01, 2016
Camp did a good job with shuttle to DC. Seems to be a popular park. Good staff.
May 31, 2016
For 81 per night and no hard surface roads rocks instead of black top or concrete. Very narrow turnaround for big rigs with rocks at the end of the aisle to damage her motorhome big deal in my motorhome now! For a K O A very poor.
May 31, 2016
Great place to stay. GREAT staff and awesome events
May 31, 2016
Campground staff was very friendly and accomadating. Campground was very clean. Bathrooms very clean.
May 31, 2016
The accident on Friday night put a real damper on the weekend. We stay at your KOA 2-3 times a year.
May 31, 2016
Great friendly staff, but back in sites very bad grade took a lot of blocks to get level. Trees were in the way of opening the canopy and hook up to camper. Also no good place to park car or truck.
May 31, 2016
Our stay was really great this year. We stayed last year and found a nice park. This year was a great improvement. The place is well run with fantastic staff and management. Activities and the shuttle to Washington were very good. Campground was clean and new patio sites are really nice. My wife and kids were very pleased. We are definitely coming back this year

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for responding to our survey. We are happy you enjoyed the new patio sites. They are sure popular with the guests. Thank you for the compliments on our staff yes we are proud of them! More great things to come!
May 31, 2016
Good location for DC. Great people running the KOA. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
May 31, 2016
Dr Bob was a big help. The site I was given was extremely un-level. It was at the head of a drainage ditch and was recently washed out. I asked for a different site but was denied. For $65.00 a night I was very disappointed.
May 31, 2016
Overall this is the worst campground we have been to yet, including the one who damaged out RV and still hasn't paid for repairs. There is not enough characters to voice our displeasure.
May 31, 2016
We had a wonderful time camping here for Memorial Day weekend. I wasn't sure what to expect with a bike rally the same weekend but everyone was very friendly and we had a great time, even in the rain!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes Rolling Thunder has come here every year since 1994. We are honored to have them. They ride in honor of all of veterans that gave the ultimate sacrifice for us to enjoy our freedom. We hope to continue to honor our past, present, future military.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy