Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2016
Great staff
Jul 22, 2016
Very, very clean and well-maintained campground. Nice layout. Conveniently located. We will visit again!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
It was a fun time!
Jul 21, 2016
Great location, showers were clean, shuttle service was nice. Staff were friendly.
Jul 20, 2016
Great stay, clean campsites, clean bathrooms. Staff (Jennifer) wasn't the friendliest, I felt like I was a nuisance. Minor details though.
Jul 20, 2016
Nice campground, spacious spots so we didn't feel crowded like we have at other camping spots. Friendly staff and support for our needs.
Jul 20, 2016
Nice sites and convenient to fwys to the sites and people very helpful
Jul 20, 2016
We very much enjoyed our stay at Capital KOA. the pull through site with patio was flat and convenient. All the folks working there were very professional, pleasant and helpful. This KOA is great for getting into DC either by the "shuttle" or the Metro. Thanks for a very enjoyable experience.
Jul 19, 2016
Clean and efficient but camp sites are too small with fire rings only a couple of feet away from next camper. Also do not like being located in an open field w/o shade, even though I requested a shaded site.
Jul 19, 2016
What a great campsite to stay at. Great location and super people. This was our second time and we will be back!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
over priced for the area, no tv service,antenna only, no worth while stations, shuttle service great
Jul 18, 2016
The office staff have outstanding customer service skills. Their knowledge and helpfulness was so very much appreciated. The shuttle bus to DC was so valuable!!
Jul 18, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Washington DC/Capitol KOA campground. Everybody was very friendly. Also, the grounds were very clean which means alot to me. We will definitely be staying there again in the future.
Jul 18, 2016
The staff was very friendly and the pool and bike rental were great for kids. The camp store had a nice variety of items and the pet playground was clean. The hiking trail could be better marked. The sites were narrow and un-level (front to back).
Jul 18, 2016
Everyone was really helpful. The campground was clean and well-maintained and easy to manage our RV here.
Jul 18, 2016
Not one of the better KOAs we have ever stayed at. Seemed like there was a lot of confusion among staff. Sites are not all that appealing. Restrooms were messy. You have the location and that is what keeps folks coming. I have stayed here twice out of necessity what what else is available. Most of my many other KOA stays left us with fond memories of the KOA itself. Not so much this one.
Jul 18, 2016
The location worked very well for our family. Our children enjoyed the many activities available to them during our stay.
Jul 17, 2016
Great camp ground. Well kept and well organized.
Jul 17, 2016
This is by far the worst KOA that I have stayed at.
Jul 16, 2016
There were only a couple of things that we wish we different. We rented a deluxe cabin and it was located in the camper section, and the bikes and other recreation were closed earlier in the evening than we had hoped for. Otherwise, we would give this KOA 5 stars.
Jul 16, 2016
Worst 30 amp service we ever had. Hard to back in space with numerous trees in the way and very hard to level RV.
Jul 16, 2016
Missed the shuttle to DC. Used Uber instead @ a cost of $130.00 round trip. Good for 2 Uber drivers 😊. Perhaps some flexibility on shuttles to DC.
Jul 16, 2016
The people were very nice and helpful. I loved that they have a shuttle bus into the city that was great and the bathrooms and laundry room were very well taken care of and my kids loved the playground and pool. The only thing I would do different is add a baby changing station in one of the bathrooms. It was hard to change the baby, other than that great people, great place
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Staff was great and great location with trolly
Jul 14, 2016
the only complaints is that Bus #2 needs some window tlc
Jul 14, 2016
We had a great time!
Jul 14, 2016
Was very nice very friendly and helpful people there very clean and beautiful place. I will come back to Capitol MD campground. Loved that the campground had a bus to Washington D.C. each day for everyone.
Jul 14, 2016
Stony campsite made it uncomfortable underfoot
Jul 14, 2016
Very quiet, clean, peaceful atmosphere. Great staff. Will be back again!!!
Jul 13, 2016
Nice guarded pool. Good facility Friendly staff. Still a little expensive for what you get.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
So So
Jul 12, 2016
Awesome location for visiting DC.
Jul 12, 2016
Its a great place.
Jul 12, 2016
We loved the location and the friendliness of the staff of this campground! Clean bathrooms and laundry area, trails well marked and pet park well taken care of.
Jul 12, 2016
On Sunday while enjoying the pool, I noticed that the lifeguard was more interested in her phone than watching the children in the pool. I was told that she is a contracted employee of a lifeguard company and there wasn't anything that the office could do about her inattention. KOA pays the bill for her to be there?!?! Right?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The lifeguard mentioned in this survey was reported by Capitol KOA and was fired. It is a outside company that lifeguards the pool. It was handled promptly. Capitol KOA does care about pool safety.
Jul 12, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves! We had a spot in the back where the trees gave great shade. The lifeguards were less than desirable but they would be the only compliant I have. First they wouldn't let my 12 year old swim without a parent but let another child smaller swim without a parent. They took a 10 min break every hour and even though I had to be there for my kid I couldn't take responsibility.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Lifeguards have our campers safety in mind. They follow Maryland law which does not allow 12 year olds to swim without a parent. The 10 minute break hourly mentioned is pool water testing. That is also a Maryland rule and lifeguards must abide by the rules. No child younger than 12 swims alone.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Sites are too small. Our next door neighbor was Ina rental and did not have the proper fittings to connect to the sewer leaving us with the stink. On the good side the staff was great, pool small but nice.
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. VERY clean. We were VERY pleased with the things available for the kids to do. Wish the sites were a little bigger. Wish the shuttle had a few more times and "stop" options.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of activities for kids. Wish the tent sites were a little more established. Hard to tell where one starts and ends.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice. A little pricey but it seems all KOA's have gotten expensive.
Jul 10, 2016
Our spot was reserved to be a shaded spot. upon arrival we were directly in front of the office without a tree at all! staff was friendly, park was clean & quiet. we were in md to visit family & wanted them to come to dinner & see our camper (they stayed 2 hrs) cost $15. didn't like that!
Jul 10, 2016
Took a few days break.
Jul 10, 2016
nice campground. I wish they had cable hookup since we had trouble getting much for TV stations via antennae.
Jul 10, 2016
Excellent service de navette Site très propre Gens acceuillants
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals