Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
The tent sites were very close together and the one we were at had no shade. The staff is wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 01, 2015
Expensive for a KOA, considering. Full hook up 50 amp service is right out in the sun. There is no cable service, and you're expected to haul your own trash to the dumpster. I had to take a hack saw to my sewer hoohup to get it to fit because it appears they've modded their flush to the ground connections into slightly above ground connections, and made the pipe too small in the process.
Aug 01, 2015
Staff was friendly, camp sites were decently sized, lots of nice amenities. The shuttle bus to DC worked out great. Toilets were often clogged, but for the most part things were clean.
Aug 01, 2015
Expensive but hey...it's near DC. Clean accommodations. About the neatest set up of any campsite I've ever been to. Very friendly people with great customer focus.
Jul 31, 2015
Site pas très adapté pour roulotte Trop en pente et très petit
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
We were only there for 8 hours - between 1 a.m. and 9 a.m. - but our key was left for us at the night check-in, clearly marked in an envelope, which was further attached to a map with directions to our cabin marked on it. The staff I interacted with in the morning was very friendly.
Jul 31, 2015
wifi and internet connections were intermittent. Do you think you will be getting cable tv for in the future? The staff was very friendly nd helpful.
Jul 30, 2015
DO NOT ADVERTISE FREE WIFI IF YOU CANNOT/WILL NOT PROVIDE IT!!! Not having it was not the big deal, but telling a paying customer that it is there and it is not is very frustrating.
Jul 30, 2015
To bad they don't have cable. At a place and location like this you would expect cable hook up
Jul 30, 2015
Everyone was SOOO kind and helpful!!! Everything was clean and we were close to dc! (We wish the showers were bigger...kinda clausterphobic) but that's not much! Everything was great thank you !!
Jul 29, 2015
Great staff - knowledgeable and friendly. Had everything we needed. Very clean and convenient to DC and surrounding area
Jul 29, 2015
The campground was very clean and the employees very nice. I would give it a much higher rating if it wasn't for the almost non-existant wifi. I work in IT and I am always on-call (even on vacation), so WIFI is a must in my situation. It is part of my search criteria when choosing a campground. If I knew that it didn't work 99% of the time, I would have went somewhere else.
Jul 29, 2015
Loved it
Jul 29, 2015
We brought a group to camp at KOA for my wife's birthday. The staff was great, the campsites clean and roomy, and many amenities for the kids. We had a great time and will be back soon!
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and traveled to DC for sight seeing for two days. Quiet and clean campground, lots of activities for kids, and appreciated having life guard at pool. Very easy to get to Metro station. Will come back!
Jul 28, 2015
Best camping trip ever
Jul 28, 2015
The staff were really nice but the other campers were awful! We have been camping for years and have never before encountered so many rude, obnoxious people in a campground before. Being thoughtful and courteous is not anything that these "campers" followed and if one more person cut through our site and sassed us I was ready to scream. Will never camp there again.
Jul 28, 2015
We've now stayed in deluxe cabin accommodations in Maine and DC. I recommend for your "glamping" clients that they clean small deck. Ours was filthy and tracked filth all through the cabin. Also, our neighbor cabin did not respect quiet hours. We called about it -- and it was not enforced until 10:20pm.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
My stay was very good until I went to visit our family members, at their camping lodge. Upon arriving, the management had approached and began yelling at my family members. I felt that that was inappropriate. When your in a management position, you should be able to handle a problem with the upmost respect and tactfulness. Yelling does not defuse a situation. It escalates a situation
Jul 27, 2015
The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions to DC. Our kids had fun on the jumping pillow too. The pool unfortunately was cloudy all three days we were there.
Jul 27, 2015
Wifi service was poor also for $82 you would think you would have cable hookup people cut thru the camp site constantly the one plus was lack of bugs when sitting outside
Jul 27, 2015
Trank you for the very nice welcome and perfect stay! We really enjoyed it. The Shuttle to Washington DC was well organised and the price very good. We will come back :)
Jul 27, 2015
It was so awesome the staff was friendly if you had any questions they were answering for you
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
I love to stay at the millersville campground. So much that I have booked almost every month. It is extremely clean. Staff are friendly and helpful
Jul 27, 2015
The campground is very nice but for what you are paying you don't get a lot of those things you do for the same price at other campgrounds including KOAs. Sites are fairly level and recent gravel has been placed, this helps to keep the dirt down, they have a really nice dog park. Some of the staff have been working too long and can get an attitude towards customers but most seem very nice.
Jul 27, 2015
Exellent Family camping
Jul 27, 2015
Was not close to the bathroom like I paid for. I have medical reason why I have to be close to the bathroom and I did not get that. There was also a disagreement with management to quiet down. Understood the need to quiet down did not understand why the manager came storming down with his arms crossed yelling and cursing to quiet down. Not a good stay this time in my opinion.
Jul 27, 2015
Very friendly and helpful nice clean bathrooms and showers they have a lot to offer
Jul 27, 2015
Very friendly staff and excellent, clean facilities. Tons of activities to do, or just sit by a fire and relax!
Jul 27, 2015
clean,quiet,curtious,helpful friendly
Jul 27, 2015
This was our first ever trip in an RV and to a KOA. Your staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. You made our first experience amazing and we will definitely be back.
Jul 26, 2015
Camping very clean, people always welcome you with a smile, very diligent to answer your request, great sites with a lot of threes so your camper stay on the shade
Jul 26, 2015
Nice camp with helpful staff. Shuttle to Washington very good.
Jul 26, 2015
Our site was extremely small and very dangerous for our children as it was on cliff that was built up with leaves giving the appearance that it was real ground where kids could walk
Jul 26, 2015
very friendly and clean camoground
Jul 26, 2015
Très bien comme camping.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
This was a great KOA! We stayed in one of the 2BR cabins which we have never done before. It was clean, dry and had A/C. :) The bathrooms were excellent. Very few bugs and very clean. Loved the showers. They were very private. We will definitely stay here again if we travel to the DC area.
Jul 25, 2015
We stayed a week and had a blast our children enjoyed them selves alot. I used to come as a child 12 years ago. The park keeps getting better and better. Sure to return soon:)
Jul 25, 2015
Our family had a great time. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Very clean and well cared for.
Jul 23, 2015
Great deluxe cabin
Jul 23, 2015
Everyone was very friendly and helpful, from the office people to the shuttle drivers. When they picked us up in DC they had coolers with water for us. We plan to return to the area in cooler weather and will stay at this KOA.
Jul 23, 2015
campground was clean but quite busy.staff were very helpful and worked hard to fix a situation that arose upon arrival that very mush helped save an important part of our trip working with a very tired and angry guest(me) and finding an excellent solution to the problem that arose.
Jul 23, 2015
1 hr away from Capitol , water was yellow, too expensive for just 30 amp and water... $68.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Nice and friendly staff. Very busy campground during the summer. There are constantly people coming in out. Bathrooms by the pool could use a major update, always a line to get in and take a shower. Good shuttle ride in maybe some stories for on the way in. Sites too close. Clean.(except bathrooms by pool) noise from highway. Plenty of activities for kids. Pet friendly. Overall good KOA.
Jul 22, 2015
We just love the shuttle to DC

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.