Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Jun 07, 2013
Tipis are clean and easy! Kids love rock climbing wall and pedal bikes. Need more employees to make process faster. Zipline was great, though $$$ for 1 trip. Watering hole was a bust.
Jun 04, 2013
May 31, 2013
Friendly efficient staff. Beautiful natural setting with chorus of birds, frogs, peacocks, away from road noise. Four stars because bathroom under construction near tent sites, but temporary bathrooms and showers are fine.
May 31, 2013
It was clean and well organized campground. Especially, playground for kids is very impresive. My family was enjoy everything
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
I do have some issues: The tent camping by the zip line was all dirt and rocks. It would be nice if there was a grass covering or more trees for shade. I also wish you didn't have to charge for rock painting and rock climbing. The zip line is way too pricey also. Lastly, I love dogs, but people weren't cleaning up after them! We had 2 different droppings by our tent! Maybe offer some disposal bags
May 29, 2013
The first day we arrived, we were very unhappy. Another group took our spot. When we called the KOA office, they mentioned that everything was full and that they would create one for us in an undeveloped location - not good. We went to a few other sites and finally settled on a stay with our friends by the Tee Pees. They refunded us and we ended up enjoying the place.
May 29, 2013
Loved it.
May 29, 2013
Kids had a blast
May 29, 2013
Excellent Family fun oriented campground! Love this place as it gets better each time we stay there. New swimming pool is finally going in. More teepees available for camping. Big foot hike was a blast for us adults too! Gotta try this wonderful place soon...
May 29, 2013
We had a blast! Lots of activities for the kids. Can't wait until the pool is built! We will definitely be back soon!
May 29, 2013
My family and I had a good time camping at Ventura Ranch KOA. I wish you had spots for both trailers and tents. We had to walk a bit from our hook up site to my brothers tent site (which was much larger and shadier) so we could all be together. I also would have liked to see more restrooms available. They seem to be few and far between. We went on the Bigfoot walk Saturday night. That was great!
May 29, 2013
Great camp site! Our tent location was great, the kids loved exploring all over the place. The restrooms were being upgraded so were a mess but once that is sorted it will be a 5 star rating for me! Summary: Great for tent camping, big stands, nice activities for kids and some wonderful exploring to be had around the site.
May 29, 2013
Had a great time, friendly staff and campers!
May 29, 2013
very good sites, but extra activities such as zipline are a bit pricey... overall an awesome experience.
May 29, 2013
We had a great time here. I was surprised to see so many activities for kids and families. The staff were friendly and helpful. A few concerns were that our campsite was a little dirty and we stopped twice at the campstore (once for firewood and another time to check out) and both times it was closed. Otherwise, it was a great stay and we would recommend it to others.
May 29, 2013
May 28, 2013
It was the best camping ever!
May 28, 2013
May 22, 2013
We arrived late and found our campsite without any trouble. It was the only campsite without a TREE! Asked to change but they said no they were sold out but there was a site by us not occupied. We were 40 feet from the tetherball, climbing rock, and bounce thing. We have no kids :( Might want to ask clients in the future important questions like that? Liked campsites 27 & 28.
May 21, 2013
Loved the kid friendly environment the quadricycles are awesome and the zipline is a great add on. Hope the swimming pool is built and the bathrooms get refurbished soon as well.
May 17, 2013
The place was great but the worker at the counter was not too polite and also after paying for my camping date, they still try to collect more from me unless I have proof that I have a free night stay. That is for both of my other friends too.
May 17, 2013
Loved everything, the tee pee was adorable, the watering hole was refreshing. My kids played while my hubby and I got some alone time. It was just perfect. We look forward to our next visit
May 17, 2013
May 16, 2013
Bathroom needs locks on stall doors that work. The kids had an awesome time on the rock climbing wall and 4-wheel bikes. Excited to see the future upgrades to the bathrooms in the tent camping area and the future pool area this summer!
May 16, 2013
We had a really good time. We can't wait for the pool since the creek was pretty low and it was warm. The teepee was fantastic! So spacious and clean. I wish you had a package for birthday parties though. Between the rock climbing and zip line we paid a small fortune for seven kids.
May 15, 2013
No hot water out of bathroom faucets, totally wasn't happy about that.. And Shower heads were crap! a light mist no streams of water.. By the time your getting shampoo out the water turned cold :| big foot hike was a joke.. General store is barely stocked with anything useful for camping :| Plus side is tons of activities for the kids.. Only reason I would endure above comments again
May 15, 2013
Management has done a fantastic job in upgrading and improving the overall appearance and functionality of this campground! Kudos to them! We plan on visiting often as it is only 90 minutes away and offers a beautiful 'get-away' without traveling too far from home....
May 14, 2013
Wonderful koa! great organization , staff helpful Sunday breakfast was enjoyable.
May 14, 2013
Great first time glamping experience. Rented a Glamour Tent which was amazing! Staff was pleasant & the peacocks are beautiful. Creek nearby is small, campsite walkway/road is hilly, no shade or seating at playgrond. The store lacked in supplies if you forget something but close enough town market. Wish there was more inside hands on actities for kids. Overall a nice stay. pool coming soon
May 14, 2013
Loved it...was my first time and it was amazing. The staff was great...especially Chealsey. She made what would have been a terrible event an absolutely wonderful family weekend. Thank you...thank you...thank you!
May 13, 2013
Great campground - tons of activities for kids & adults alike. The staff is marvelous. They have great plans for this facility. Can't wait to camp here again.
May 13, 2013
clogged toilets, moldy bathrooms, trash and debris from construction all over the place, clubhouse never open, store has nothing in it, I'll not return or recommend it to anyone
May 13, 2013
It would be nice if there was a bit of grass on the tent sites. People in my area were VERY noisy. The bathrooms were okay.
May 13, 2013
Pluses: Nice location with great activities for kids and the beautiful view of the mountains is a plus. Minuses: bathrooms are awful with limited privacy between women & men stalls, showers are co-ed with short spurts of hot water, and the worst of it all, 1/2 of the toilets don't flush.
May 13, 2013
Pretty good stay. Very secluded, fun spot. However, they seemed disorganized. We reserved a spot with water and electric, but weren't given an electric spot. it was an extra $2 add on we didn't get. this disorganization is typical of all KOA though, sites in my experience. We were in the Oaks loop.
May 10, 2013
We rented the Playful Bear Tipi #14 and it was clean & neat. The rivers end bathroom was under construction but kept up very well. The staff did a great job. Overall the campground is great it is a work in progress and I will definitely come again.
May 10, 2013
May 01, 2013
Camped in tipis with our Girl Scout troop of 12. Girls had a fantastic time! From ziplining, rock climbing and wading in Bigfoots Watering Hole, they loved every minute. Can't wait to return!
May 01, 2013
May 01, 2013
I loved the way it felt like a secluded and somewhat intimate camping experience even though the place was packed with people. We felt like we had lots of privacy and space to explore and do our own thing. We stayed in a tipi and that is something I think every person should experience. The staff was nice and friendly. Overall I highly recommend!
Apr 30, 2013
This was are Girl Scouts second troop camp-out here.The only issue we have that happened last time as well is with the restrooms breaking down and flooding. But we will be back again.
Apr 22, 2013
We loved the trees, the friendly staff and the activities. We will definitely return!
Apr 22, 2013
Apr 19, 2013
Great family get together! The zip line was amazing! Bigfoot???
Apr 17, 2013
We LOVE coming to this KOA.Grounds & improvements are wonderful.We really appreciated the flexibility in the rules to allow us to move over to the cabin after we spent the 1st night in the glamour tent.My friend, Julie Goodrick,there that weekend,is very interested in helping spruce up your Frog Garden!Please email her!
Apr 17, 2013
Awesome! Will be back soon!
Apr 16, 2013
Great campsite. kids loved it. staff incredibly friendly, bathrooms very nice AND clean. looking forward to returning when the pool is in. would have rated 5 stars if there had been more hiking nearby... :)
Apr 16, 2013
Right off the bat, the most important thing for me was that the grounds were clean and taken care of. The next thing was the beautiful area and as a bonus the activities and bouncy pillow for the kids was fantastic. We had a great stay, thank you.
Apr 15, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.