Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Dirty restrooms and for way too much people, chaotic tent sites, containers overflooded with trash, no wifi on the place, no place for dish washing, not what we are used from koa, only the restrooms with the rv was ok
Aug 21, 2013
It is a nice place but it has been under construction for the last 2 years...I kinda thought that it would have been complete by now. We went with a group and some of our friends had issues with noise at night. I wish their security was around more at night to keep the noise down.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Loved the zip line. The tipi was great. We were disappointed that the club house wasn't open for us to hang out like other KOA's It was so hot it would have been nice to get out of the heat for a bit. We did really have a good time though. We will be back - when the pool opens.
Aug 20, 2013
I had stayed here before and was happy with my previous stay. This time though, i was disappointed as my site that i reserved ( oak meadows 10 and 11 were given to someone else without any notice given to me. the explanation given to me was the site was re-numbered. Too bad, i was planning on a big camping trip with the company, now i have to look for another campground.
Aug 20, 2013
Awesome but has some flaws. Positives: Activities! include zip line ($15), Rock painting ($2), Rock wall climb and push carts ($10), Tie Dye Tee Shirts ($10), a big bounce pillow, playground, hiking, swimming pool soon. Negatives include: camp sites are close together with not enough trees for shade, fine powdery dirt everywhere, lots of construction and poor info. Def coming back next year!
Aug 20, 2013
Went for the weekend with a group of friends. All the kids and adults had a really nice time. The grounds were nice and the staff was very helpful.
Aug 20, 2013
My boys and I loved our stay! First rock wall climb, zip lining and sleeping in a teepee! The bathrooms were horrible though. I heard it was because of the pool construction.
Aug 20, 2013
I liked the nature trail and the swimming hole in the creek. I did not like it that I had to walk all the way to the bathroom building for water. I am used to 1 spigot for each 4 campsites. This is serious enough that it should be noted on the web page.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This stay was comped because the last time we stayed there was a party that lasted all night and kept us up all night. This time was similar. Noise and partying all around us until around 1:00 A.M. - No security, no one to tell the people to quiet down, no "Lights Out / Quiet Time" rules enforced at all. Others in our group that stayed in different areas had a similar experience.
Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Peacocks, zip line, staff are great. Cons: Grounds under construction... The creek barely has water - not a place that you can cool off. A good 20 minute drive to the beach. Crowded and loud at night. Not much to do on grounds. Wouldn't return....
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
My boyfriend and I booked our tent site last minute as a final farewell before school starts and we had a amazing time at KOA. The facilities are wonderful and every staff member we met was incredibly helpful and friendly. Our only negative comment is the lack of upkeep on the nature trail; there were no signs or even a clear path to follow. Other than that, KOA is the perfect place to stay.
Aug 18, 2013
More instruction to campers is needed. KOA needs to enforce there is no preparing of meals in the bathrooms and no cleaning of dishes in the bathrooms. People left the sink counters full of water and water all over the floor. Bathroom and showers need to be cleaned more often.
Aug 18, 2013
loved the teepee.. The staff was the best. They were very helpful and friendly.
Aug 16, 2013
Great location for us, near family in Ventura, Ojai and Santa Barbara. Facilities were clean and well cared for. We very much liked the "glamour tent" that we stayed in. This KOA has some unique activities to offer (rock wall, zip line), but the zip line in particular was a bit pricey for us. Saw peacocks every day, raccoons almost every night.
Aug 15, 2013
The stalled pool construction was unsightly and the nearby restrooms were really smelly. Otherwise we enjoyed the site.
Aug 15, 2013
This place has declined!The bathroom was disgusting & big foot waterhole was covered in algae this year.The guy who was doing the daytime activities was rude and didn't fully secure our kids in while climbing the rock wall, my husband had to show him that our kids weren't fastened in tight!The zip line is too expensive! They also cancelled the big foot night walk, we were looking forward to it :(
Aug 15, 2013
Staff is very courteous and even helped me jump start my car. Restroom is clean and you can enjoy hot showers. My son had fun jumping on the jumping mat.
Aug 15, 2013
I expect more from what I paid for the tepee....it was poorly maintained, molds n stains present, tepee located at the end of the campground next to main road...it was a horrible experience...my 6yrs old daughter who was so excited at first for tepee...now she doesnt wanna go back at koa....its our first time to use koa...and its not a very good start...overall poor maintenance of place
Aug 15, 2013
I loved all the extra amenities that were offered at the Ventura Ca KOA. I was a bit disappointed in the layout of the "oak" campsites. Due to the placement of the firepits in each site I was rather close to each of my neighbors tents. I will however be staying here again and will happily recommend to my friends and family.
Aug 15, 2013
Peaceful and quite. Once again, the kids loved the jumping pillow and big foots water hole! My only complaint is the bathrooms/showers in the tipi village area are very smelly and gross.
Aug 13, 2013
Bathrooms close to us were pretty smelly but found that ones by office were great. Online map is not great for choosing a site. Actual pictures may help. Can't wait for the pool!!
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
High-standard quality. Very, very speedy delivery. Service was good. Thanks. A+++
Aug 10, 2013
They are doing a lot of remodeling, so somethings are not marked well, and the map is not completely accurate. After it's all done it will be great.
Aug 10, 2013
had fun hope the pool will be finish by next year
Aug 09, 2013
My 6 yr. old son really enjoyed the zip line, rock climb and paddle bikes. I would have rated the KOA higher if the bathrooms (our campsite was near the activity center) did not smell bad. Also, it would have been better if the activities started earlier than 2 pm. and the zip line was not so expensive.
Aug 08, 2013
We had a great stay (our 2nd stay), but the bathrooms by the Teepees were not well kept-it smelled very bad. There should be a staff member at the recreation area full time - we wanted to paint rocks, but there was no rock painting session until after we checked out. We were disappointed that the pool was not ready.
Aug 07, 2013
We got there at 7 pm and the office was closed. We were in need of things. Ice, firewood, etc....which meant we had to run back into town. This place is already so remote. Who knew. We enjoyed our TP but there were no bathrooms near. The office was still closed in the morning when we left at 8:30 in the morning.
Aug 07, 2013
staff was friendly and accomodating, bathrooms especially were clean and well kept. They try their best to rectify any problems that may arise, Jon's Bigfoot hike was the BEST! Will def return soon !
Aug 06, 2013
We wrote on our reservation we'd arrive late. But we still had to call & waited to for someone from the camp to 'register' us. The Teepee we were assigned to was not the closest to the parking space eventhough many were free. Our teepee's 'door' was all open, it had no netting on the top part to prevent bugs. The following morning we realized we were given the oldest/dirtiest, we canceled 2nd nit
Aug 06, 2013
shower & restrooms not enough for a camp site that crowded
Aug 05, 2013
We were placed right across from construction and not informed of it. Also, on the last night of our stay, the 10pm quiet time was NOT enforced and people were VERY loud until close to 3am. It would be higher if not for those things (and we will stay again)
Aug 05, 2013
The campgrounds are okay-- there are plenty of activities, hiking trails and features. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, the sites within the property are packed close together. There isn't much privacy. Other campers can be rude and loud. Noise lasts until midnight, and people will march right through site instead of around.
Aug 05, 2013
We stayed in a teepee. Tons of fun! Only recommendation is to have bathroom closer to teepee.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Stayed in tp3- kids loved it- noisy from pool construction- only 3 go carts worked- bathroom near future pool was closest but also stinky and door of shower got stuck on my son and also a fellow camper-zip line not running- we live close so it was a perfect camping experience for the kids- loved teepees, jump pillow, climbing wall, peacocks, playground, creek- friendly staff- be back for the pool
Aug 03, 2013
The bathroom had several overflows and the showers in the tent area were insufficient for the crowd of people there. But overall its a nice camp ground and will be nicer when they get the pool completed.
Aug 03, 2013
The tent sites are poorly arranged and the restroom/showerw are of the ame vein. to discover in one or two years maybe, after the work is completed.
Jul 31, 2013
our campsite location was nice, big and shady...but to close to a well travelled private road. The site below us had people coming and going and partying until 4am! so no sleep for anyone in our camp. bathrooms were clean, shower, could have been maintained better. RV area is plush and very nice. Hiking has good options. I would recommend a lights out policy
Jul 30, 2013
Reserving &trying to contact the office was extremely difficult& frustrating.The staff wasn't very helpful at all. I ended up having to driveup to the campground to get any of our questions answered. Our teepee site was extremely small, there was no shade trees on our site, pretty much the fun came from hosting my daughters bday party there& being together with friends& family..made the best of it
Jul 30, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay in the tipee, very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Did not lugging our belongings from the car to the tipee and also the tipees r very close to each other. No one regulates the day campers and the tipee next to us had more than six people and were very noisy that night. Campground needs more security in that respect. Very family orientated.
Jul 30, 2013
Great place to stay if you're doing the family thing.
Jul 30, 2013
Arrived early Friday assigned #43 a tiny space between 2 others with no parking. Many larger spaces empty which remained empty all weekend. Female at desk unable &unwilling to listen or to try moving us.Pricey $58 for a tiny campground spot. Disappointed with our space. and treatment from that encounter but later met some wonderful staff, a beautiful place & kid friendly doubt we will return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.