Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 20, 2014
PRO--roomy tent site. CONS--no grass; dirt, dead leaves, rocks. Noisy construction, including a generator that ran ALL NIGHT LONG, finally running out of gas at 3:30 am. Dirty restrooms. Costly activities. Finally, hideously loud peacocks day and night (don't expect uninterrupted sleep.)
Jul 19, 2014
We were very pleased, however, very disappointed that the pool was not functioning. I will return when the pool is completed.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
We were disappointed that the pool was not complete. Water being shut off in the bathroom was inconvenient. The grounds are beautiful and we liked our quiet site.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
The stay was great, other than the constirction timing, water failures, and the minor fibbs we were told, by some of the staff, over the inconveinces. But other than that, we had a nice time.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We planned for late check-in, but our info was not in the dropbox outside the office. Luckily people were still closing the office down, they forgot to leave our info in the box. If we had arrived any later, we wouldn't have had a place to stay, as the campground was booked. The bathrooms were not sufficient for the number of people. Pancake breakfast was amazing though!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We're already planning our next stay! This campground had the most amenities and activities we've ever seen! Had loads of fun and would highly suggest to another who has children. We took our 3yr old and he had a blast with the peacocks that roam the site. They also have a nice pool area in development plus a clubhouse. If you're looking for a one stop place for adventure go here.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Great facility, lots to do for kids. But bathrooms could be cleaner and it is noisy at night for a camp site.
Jul 15, 2014
My family & I enjoyed staying in a glamour tent. The staff was awsome & the premises better kept extremely clean throught out our stay there. We had a great time on the ZipLine & the Bigfoot Hike was a great adventure. We had an awesome time overall!
Jul 15, 2014
Campground itself was great. Restroom maintenance was horrible. Restrooms were trashed and of the two toilets in the Oaks one was clogged the entire time and by Sunday morning both were clogged. Restrooms should be cleaned two to three times daily. Also the quite time policy has no enforcement. People were outside of their tents until midnight.
Jul 15, 2014
Our stay was horrible! The bathroom were filthy and weren't cleaned all weekend. No toilet paper or paper towels. Trash overflowing in campgrounds. 2 men were smoking pot my the creek. Very disappointing! Told front desk person and she acted like she didn't care.
Jul 15, 2014
zip lines were overpriced. Hiking trails were poor condition or not available. bathrooms are good. front desk check in was not friendly.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Awesome! Great place to camp with the kids.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
The noisy peacock was not nice to wake up to every morning and it would've been a nicer stay if the pool was finished especially since it was so warm.
Jul 14, 2014
Thanks to AAA's recommendations, this place is great for people getting started with camping. Staff are helpful and friendly. Facilities and ammenities are great. We are coming back with the rest of our friends.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
The kids had a blast. There was alot to do!
Jul 12, 2014
We were asked by the camp director if we were guests while sitting at a bench by the go carts. It was very disrespectful to us and our children. We came last week, stayed in a Tipi, came back this weekend, because we had such a good experience the first time. After we were interrogated, we felt discriminated and upset.
Jul 12, 2014
We came in late at night and it was a very nice quick stay
Jul 10, 2014
We had a nice time. Thank you. General store staff excellent.
Jul 10, 2014
The camping site is great but showers and restrooms were ridiculous. Two showers for over 60 people? The building where the restrooms are is a junk. Also I was told the pool that is under contruction for about a year would be ready for July but no pool.
Jul 10, 2014
AT NIGHT SOME CAMPER MAKE A LOT OF NOISE. I COULDN'T SLEEP UNTIL 3AM. NO ONE CHECK UP DRUING THE NIGHT.
Jul 10, 2014
Great KOA, can't wait til the pool is finished
Jul 10, 2014
We liked the layout of the campground, it took me some time to accept the fact that there were no electrical outlets to recharge cell, but after a day I was actually happy that I didn't have to deal with it. The kid activities were great. I feel that the website should have the opening date for the pool. My kids were expecting to enjoy the pool and we arrived it was under construction.
Jul 08, 2014
The campsites were pretty small, and not well marked. Had difficulty locating our site, and found other campers had already occupied it. The roads inside the campground were pretty narrow, campers parking on the edge of their campsites contributed to the difficulty.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Has great potential, but they charge for everything. There's no pool (they're in the process of constructing it so I guess that excuses them for saying there was one...), no river, & in the women's bathroom (which were not very clean) by the teepee area none of the stalls were able to be locked... It may be something in a couple years but for our stay it was not impressive.
Jul 05, 2014
My only complaint was that our area was full of leaves at least 3-6 inches worth under the picnic table. Table was sticky. Zipline over priced Went to pancake breakfast flyer stated that it started at 8am and they were jsut setting up. Went into town for breakfast since check out is at 11:00 Am and I had packed everything expecting to eat breakfast in there center. Nonetheless will try again.
Jul 03, 2014
We've been telling everyone about our "glamping" experience in the glamour tents. We will definitely be back and are trying to coax all our friends to try it out.
Jul 03, 2014
Our group reserved 3 TeePees, 5 tent sites and 1 cabin. and everyone had a great time. the only disappointment was we thought the pool would have been done. when we came last year we saw them working on it and thought it would be ready to swim in, since creek water is not flowing due to the drought and we didnt want kids in it.
Jul 03, 2014
Our stay was amazing. The kids loved all the activities and independence. The campground is beautiful and very affordable. The tipi we stayed in was so comfortable. I plan on returning every summer with my family and friends:)
Jul 03, 2014
We had an amazing time!! We LOVE to camp and are big campers and this is our new favorite camp ground!!! Only one huge suggestion, our family did the zip line, and when it was my turn (mom) as I was coming in my back hit the step stool. It still aches a bit. MOVE THE STOOL OUT OF THE WAY, so that this doesn't EVER happen!!!!
Jul 03, 2014
Everyone was very kind and courteous. I wish the swimming pool was finished so I can go swimming but there are plenty more times to go in the future.
Jul 02, 2014
It was an amazing experience. There were times when my family felt a little uncomfortable when other campers would walk up the steps and literally stuck their heads inside our teepees with our belongings in there. But other than that, it was an memorable weekend with my family.
Jul 02, 2014
Very disappointed. We will not be coming back. Manager was rude and general manager was not much better. Everything is an extra charge at this campground. By the time you pay to stay, pay for kids to play on bikes and rock wall, kids crafts (each one a seperate charge) and all the other charges, it was a lot! This extra money was not being put back in the park by the look of the bathrooms!
Jul 02, 2014
Everything would of have been perfect, only that someone took my tent spot. So we had to share the Cabin, which that wasn't our plan. I would live to come back but hoping don't have the same experience.
Jul 02, 2014
It was alright, we came in the middle of a major construction project (constructing what "looks" to be an amazing pool), for the tent sights they could use more trees for shade, but we had an EZ-UP which made it much nicer, the showers in the tent camping area left VERY MUCH to be desired!! All in all on a scale of 1-10 I'd give it a 5-7
Jul 02, 2014
This was not our first time here but this last time was definitely not the best trip I've had. My complaints are: work on the new pool ALL weekend long from 8am - 5 pm. AND a large, VERY noisy family next to us. Had us up lit 1am. Nobody stopped them. The Ventura Ranch KOA is GREAT for young kids! They have so much fun!
Jul 02, 2014
Generally, I love this campsite as there is a ton for kids to do. However, this time around we were very much bothered by litter everywhere (especially cigarette butts near the bathroom & washing station), barking dogs, and it took two hours for us to get through the zip line because they were under-staffed. The bathrooms were also gross.
Jul 02, 2014
really enjoyed our stay. staff was great, facility clean. my only issue was the peacocks wake up wayyyyy to early. very noisy mornings
Jul 02, 2014
Loved it except for the peacocks... Really really loud ;) but all part of the camping experience :). The glamour tent was fabulous! Would stay there again ... Hope the pool is completed next time.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
It was our first time "camping" lol so we figure we would try sometime close. Just in case we were not too prepared! We made a list of what we would need next time(like coffee). But it was quiet and super nice. Every single employee was amazing! They were so helpful and very nice. Great attitude. We went on a day that was slow but we still got to do a lot of activities. We would def go back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.