Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 03, 2014
good location, lot of activities including pool. kids enjoyed it. Little too crowded and sites are too close to each other. Little difficult to sleep at night if your neighbors are talking. Staff are kind of rude. We had a tent site booked and it says maximum 6 people. But they asked us to pay 6/nt for 5th and 6th person. i.e if 6 people stay i have to pay $36 for 3 nts.it isnt mentioned anywr
Sep 03, 2014
This kampground does not deserve the KOA brand. There are not enough basic facilities (such as showers and toilets) and the ones that are available are old and gross. They recently opened up a new pool, which is conceptually nice, but it is completely undersized for the amount of guests. Big rocks are in arbitrary places, making navigating your car risky (not safer) for the people walking around.
Sep 03, 2014
It was ok there's only a couple of things there was no mention that the creek was dry and the swimming pool was not mentioned on their website so we didm;t bring the kids any bathing suits and on our last night around 1 AM a big tree trunk fell on our neighbors SUV missing ours closely, it was scary and could have been worse if it fell on one of the tents.
Sep 02, 2014
El mejor campamento en el q hemos estado.
Sep 02, 2014
My family and I had a wonderful time at Ventura Ranch. It was more than we expected. Great shaded campsite and a beautiful evening/night sky. It was a six hour drive for us but well worthit.
Sep 02, 2014
Sophia, Chanda & Chelsea were incredibly helpful in our stay being amazing. The housekeeping & pool staff are always hustling & much appreciated. We'd have liked to be able to use the zipline on Labor Day but it was closed.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
We love it and definitely we'll recommend KOA to a family and friends, I want to thank Erika for all her help she really make us to feel welcome to the KOA campsite and for sure we are planning to come back next year.
Aug 31, 2014
The tent sights are a little out of the way. Great for some not so great on a motorcycle. The staff let us borrow a cooler and put a bag of ice in it and even delivered it to our sight. Very nice of them.
Aug 27, 2014
The place was ok, the kid's enjoyed the zip line and the swimming pool.The restroom always clog, too many bee's in our area, the people in the office are rude.if your planning To go as a group well too many restrictions, we have been to different campsite were kid's can be a kid.but this campsite is very limited.
Aug 27, 2014
Don't stay here Friday-Sunday. Not enough staff, filthy restrooms, unleashed dogs, unruly Sylmar Cub Scouts... or should I say Thug Scouts. Rudest bunch of kids I've ever encountered.
Aug 26, 2014
I've stayed at this KOA 3 years in a row now & I've never had a bad experience until now. On the 2nd day we were there, 2 of the peacocks started banging/jumping on my SUV-a brand new Lexus!!! It left multiple 'claw-like' scratches on the side of my car & more in the front of my car! I called the office & they said that there was nothing they can do?!?! Ridiculous! I left a vm but no calls back?!?
Aug 25, 2014
This was such a great experience and we are so lucky that the pool opened the same day we got there. Highly recommend!
Aug 25, 2014
We loved our stay. The site was large, the river had water in it, the bathrooms were clean and functional. Loved the free showers! The only drawback was the bouncy pillow was not inflated at some times when the schedule said it would be and my 3.5 yr old son was pretty disappointed about not being able to jump. It took almost an hour for someone to come start it up. =( Otherwise, great!
Aug 25, 2014
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Kenny. He went above and beyond to get us moved to another campsite with shade. The only downside was, our new campsite was directly by the playground so there were teenagers there past 10:00 on both Friday and Saturday nights using the swings and making a lot of noise, I tried looking up a # for security but could not find one on your site
Aug 24, 2014
We LOVED going to this KOA! Our first time camping with a 5-year old. Teepee was awesome and made it easy. Lots to do for kids. Pillow bounce was hot. Pool not ready. Creek dry but still a fun trip. We'd go again!
Aug 22, 2014
The staff was very rude, we booked two sites and we were placed on either sides of the park. When we asked to move closer together, the girl at the counter rolled her eyes.
Aug 20, 2014
The campground was clean and staff was helpful. We were disappointed the pool was not be available and the noise of the cars outside the camp woke us up each morning. Also, we paid for the extra activities and felt it was not worth it. There were only 5 peddle cars in operation and the line for the rock wall was long all the time. Plus everything is in the sun. No Shade!
Aug 20, 2014
Campsite was private. Nice shade. Amenities were great. Wished the pool was available for use. Bathrooms were clean. Nice showers.
Aug 20, 2014
The campgrounds were nice, activities were convenient. We were bummed that the pool was closed and the Big Foot Hike full. We were looking forward to both of them. Thank you.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
The campsite we were assigned was shady and pretty, on the other hand, the pool was closed, the restrooms near our site were dirty, the shower dripped when not in use (we are in a drought!), the toilets were not flushing properly. Trash was not emptied from Oaks area over the weekend. Poor signage and site designation in camp area- it took us 30 mins to find our site when we arrived at night.
Aug 19, 2014
I loved it all. It is very kid friendly which made it a relaxing time for me the parent.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
We stayed in the tent campsites and had a good time. Our neighbors did not abide by the quiet time curfew but we didn't feel the need to complain. We will be going back and staying in the Teepee's. They looked like fun.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Great accommodations. Loved the Sunday pancake breakfast.
Aug 17, 2014
The first two nights a noisy college group kept us up till midnight then three in the morning. After every other camper complained at the office KOA staff responded, security removed their alcohol and stayed on their site the entire night. We didn't hear a peep!! While I feel that should have been their response the first night & second night we were all impressed with how it was finally handled.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
The stay over all was okay. I thought the campground could have more restrooms. When we first arrived, there is one restroom for the whole tent area and three of the four toilets were not working. Our tent site was a little hard to find during the day, so when people were driving in at 9pm trying to find there sites in the dark...it was a little frustrating.
Aug 15, 2014
First time I went here a few years ago was during the off season, so I expected things to be closed. This time was the middle of summer and it was all closed again. Not a good experience.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
We loved all of the activities, but the traffic noise and the the campers that stayed up until 3 am, pretty much ruined our stay. We called security, but as soon as they left, the partiers were back at it. The lack of sleep made it really tough to be happy the next day. I read on Yelp that it was noisy-I'd like to believe it was a one time thing, but from the reviews, it looks this happen a lot.
Aug 13, 2014
It was awesome! I had a great time. Plenty of outdoor things to do.
Aug 13, 2014
We enjoyed our vacation immensely, from the glamour tent to all the amenities. The family loved the zipline, and the girls at fun climbing the rock wall. The restrooms, showers, and camp were clean. The staff members that we encountered were nice and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised and delighted! We will definitely be back!
Aug 12, 2014
This was our first time camping as a family and at a KOA. The staff was very helpful and we had a great time. We would definitely return to this location again.
Aug 12, 2014
I would like to thank Chandra and staff for accomodating us and my family. The kids loved the Big Foot Hike. We were hoping to use the pool, but hopefully next time we'll be able to. We always feel safe staying here and will only stay at KOA properties for our camping needs. Have a blessed day all and keep it up!
Aug 12, 2014
Had a Great Time. Kids had tons of fun and all the neighbors were friendly. Wish your reservations online were more specific about camp sites. I would prefer to select a site myself.
Aug 12, 2014
it was a great place to go to Ventura Ranch but it was cold shower
Aug 11, 2014
Bathrooms could of been cleaned more often. Overall good experience.Zip line guys could have said good morning - who was here first?
Aug 11, 2014
We had a very fun time. Lots to do and everyone was nice. We were disappointed that the pool was not completed. We stayed in campsite #7...very dusty and lots of dirt. Can we recommend some kind of mulch or pea gravel to the campsite?
Aug 11, 2014
At the beginning we had a camp site issue ( our two camp sites were seperated without our permission.) However after nemerous phone calls, Manager Frank fixed the problem by creating two new camp sites with us by the jump area. I still think there are issues with reservation system in computer, that needs to be reviewed. But actual stay was very pleasant. The staff was very helpful, friendly.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We had a great time the kids didn't want to leave. The zip line is a great attraction! The one thing we didn't like is that on the website it says the is a firepit and a table at ever campsite which was not the case. We got two spots and only one had a table and a firepit. The other one did not. But other than that we had a great time
Aug 11, 2014
It was an absolutely amazing time. A lot of things for the kids, the campgrounds were clean, the staff was beyond friendly and I can't wait to stay again.
Aug 11, 2014
Everything was awesome!!!! The best camping trip in a long time. I have two boys and a wife and all were satisfied. Thanks again KOA!!
Aug 08, 2014
Campsite partly in development, upper level very nice, lower level not yet. We rented a Teepee for 4 persons. Very basic, no electricity, no light, one person has to sleep on a mat on the floor. Washing rooms near Teepee very dirty, Teepee was in our opinion not cleaned very well upfront. If you don't stay in Teepee, very nice campsite

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.