Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 07, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Has great potential, but they charge for everything. There's no pool (they're in the process of constructing it so I guess that excuses them for saying there was one...), no river, & in the women's bathroom (which were not very clean) by the teepee area none of the stalls were able to be locked... It may be something in a couple years but for our stay it was not impressive.
Jul 05, 2014
My only complaint was that our area was full of leaves at least 3-6 inches worth under the picnic table. Table was sticky. Zipline over priced Went to pancake breakfast flyer stated that it started at 8am and they were jsut setting up. Went into town for breakfast since check out is at 11:00 Am and I had packed everything expecting to eat breakfast in there center. Nonetheless will try again.
Jul 03, 2014
We've been telling everyone about our "glamping" experience in the glamour tents. We will definitely be back and are trying to coax all our friends to try it out.
Jul 03, 2014
Our group reserved 3 TeePees, 5 tent sites and 1 cabin. and everyone had a great time. the only disappointment was we thought the pool would have been done. when we came last year we saw them working on it and thought it would be ready to swim in, since creek water is not flowing due to the drought and we didnt want kids in it.
Jul 03, 2014
Our stay was amazing. The kids loved all the activities and independence. The campground is beautiful and very affordable. The tipi we stayed in was so comfortable. I plan on returning every summer with my family and friends:)
Jul 03, 2014
We had an amazing time!! We LOVE to camp and are big campers and this is our new favorite camp ground!!! Only one huge suggestion, our family did the zip line, and when it was my turn (mom) as I was coming in my back hit the step stool. It still aches a bit. MOVE THE STOOL OUT OF THE WAY, so that this doesn't EVER happen!!!!
Jul 03, 2014
Everyone was very kind and courteous. I wish the swimming pool was finished so I can go swimming but there are plenty more times to go in the future.
Jul 02, 2014
It was an amazing experience. There were times when my family felt a little uncomfortable when other campers would walk up the steps and literally stuck their heads inside our teepees with our belongings in there. But other than that, it was an memorable weekend with my family.
Jul 02, 2014
Very disappointed. We will not be coming back. Manager was rude and general manager was not much better. Everything is an extra charge at this campground. By the time you pay to stay, pay for kids to play on bikes and rock wall, kids crafts (each one a seperate charge) and all the other charges, it was a lot! This extra money was not being put back in the park by the look of the bathrooms!
Jul 02, 2014
Everything would of have been perfect, only that someone took my tent spot. So we had to share the Cabin, which that wasn't our plan. I would live to come back but hoping don't have the same experience.
Jul 02, 2014
It was alright, we came in the middle of a major construction project (constructing what "looks" to be an amazing pool), for the tent sights they could use more trees for shade, but we had an EZ-UP which made it much nicer, the showers in the tent camping area left VERY MUCH to be desired!! All in all on a scale of 1-10 I'd give it a 5-7
Jul 02, 2014
This was not our first time here but this last time was definitely not the best trip I've had. My complaints are: work on the new pool ALL weekend long from 8am - 5 pm. AND a large, VERY noisy family next to us. Had us up lit 1am. Nobody stopped them. The Ventura Ranch KOA is GREAT for young kids! They have so much fun!
Jul 02, 2014
Generally, I love this campsite as there is a ton for kids to do. However, this time around we were very much bothered by litter everywhere (especially cigarette butts near the bathroom & washing station), barking dogs, and it took two hours for us to get through the zip line because they were under-staffed. The bathrooms were also gross.
Jul 02, 2014
really enjoyed our stay. staff was great, facility clean. my only issue was the peacocks wake up wayyyyy to early. very noisy mornings
Jul 02, 2014
Loved it except for the peacocks... Really really loud ;) but all part of the camping experience :). The glamour tent was fabulous! Would stay there again ... Hope the pool is completed next time.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
It was our first time "camping" lol so we figure we would try sometime close. Just in case we were not too prepared! We made a list of what we would need next time(like coffee). But it was quiet and super nice. Every single employee was amazing! They were so helpful and very nice. Great attitude. We went on a day that was slow but we still got to do a lot of activities. We would def go back.
Jul 02, 2014
The campground spaces were not marked clearly and the parking space was poor. No swimming pool was available and the water faucet was too far away. There were only two shower stalls available. Bathroom was not clean as other KOA Kampgrounds. I would not visit this campground again.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Beautiful area ,friendly staff, loved the peacocks! Large shaded tent sites.bathrooms need a little work.hope the pool is completed soon. Very pleasant stay!
Jul 02, 2014
I had a wonderful experience. I plan on going back next year or sooner. Only if they get rid of the PEACOCKS! My truck's front bumper was clawed Saturday afternoon by a male PEACOCK. It left visible large scratches that now needs to be repaired and painter. Everything else was such an awesome experience from staff to accommodations. Until I had I had to experience this.
Jul 02, 2014
It's a neat place, we stayed in one of the tipi's. It just seems really overpriced for a dusty campground. I hope the price stays the same once the pool is done and there are nicer showers down below like up near entrance. Then it would not feel as overpriced. You even have to pay a good deal for the zipline. The girls working in the office/store are great, customer service is good overall.
Jul 02, 2014
Neighbor's didn't honor quiet time at 10 pm. They were loud and did not try to keep quiet at all.
Jul 02, 2014
the Pool wasn't done, the bathrooms wasn't clean
Jul 02, 2014
Loved the campground and staff. Can't wait to come back and try the new pool. Thank you!
Jul 02, 2014
Beautiful location, amazing staff, extremely family friendly. A fantastic beginner site for budding campers. Would highly recommend.
Jul 02, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
If the pool was ready, it would been perfect for kid! Really great place to camp with kids!
Jun 13, 2014
We stayed in one of your eight man teepee's. Awesome experience. Our kids had a blast and never were bored in anyway. We ziplined, AWESOME! Only complaint we had is that the pool was under construction and the website said that a pool was available. Aside from no pool great site, extremely friendly staff, and a great experience.
Jun 12, 2014
I liked this KOA a lot. It was very clean. It is good for families.
Jun 11, 2014
Bathrooms were always clogged and dirty. There were not enough for the number of campers and the place wasn't even full! Every activity is too expensive. If you bring your own crafts and activities the kids still have a blast. At least the jumping pillow is free.
Jun 11, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
Great family orientated campgrounds lots of things for the kids including some you can pay extra to do from arts an crafts to zip lines I would have been better if the pool was done while we were there maybe next time as we will return again we had 2 5 14 an 19 year old kids all had a good time they even had a movie outside
Jun 11, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
The peacocks on this property are so insanely loud. There should be a disclaimer. 3am screaming peacock = barking dogs = crying toddlers = no sleep for me.
Jun 11, 2014
great activities for the kids, but too many people stuffed into the campground.
Jun 11, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
We made our reservations on line for campstie TEEPEE when we got there they gave us site #5. which was on the map but when we went to look for it #4 thru #7 were no there. so we went back n forth with the office only to find out those sites did not exist. So we were put in site #8. Lovely Teepee but it looked like housekeepping had not been there. There was droppings, spider webs.
Jun 11, 2014
Ventura Park is an amazing campground! The staff was really friendly and helpful. Our site was clean and everyone around us was nice and respectful. The location is great! Close to six flags but still up in the secluded hills.
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first time here. Had a great time with small kids. Can't wait for the pool to open! We stayed in the Pines section along with approximately 14 million Boy and Girl Scouts. The bathrooms should be cleaned and stocked more often. They were a mess Saturday night.
Jun 07, 2014
I love this koa it will be fantastic and complete by the time they finish all the renovations. My four small children always have a wonderful time here
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
we had a great time and the campgrounds were kept very clean. Great setting
Jun 03, 2014
We had a good stay at site 31 in the Oaks. It was a nice size for us and would probably request it next time. I think that the restrooms should be check more often due to guest splashing all over, and I don't just mean water. The showers should have a better exhaust vents/fan because of the humidity that builds up from the hot water. I like that you guys are improving year after year. Keep it up
May 29, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA... we only wished there were more showers down by the Oaks... It was too hard with only 2 showers. Other than that I really liked all the activites that there were for the kids!!! :)
May 28, 2014
Was worried because of some reveiws but wonderful stay the bathrooms were clean the showers are okay towards the end of the weekend shower a bit dirty no sewer smell stayed oaks #15 little loud Friday nite from group site but staff must have spoke with them rest of the weekend was find no pool yet and all the activities cost except for the jump pillow friendly staff will be back
May 27, 2014
I know Memorial day weekend is a big camping holiday, but we were just surrounded by the most loud campers ever! A PA system for one group, blasting music from a few others. It was a bummer. Then, my mistake, I booked us the wrong nights and upon checking in, it wasn't brought to our attention. Come Sunday a very aggressive individual accused us for being in their spot. The could have been avoided
May 27, 2014
We had a nice tent sight, it was large and secluded but there a lot of construction going on. Also, the bathrooms doors don't close all the way and don't lock. Also, almost all the activities are an additional cost and the prices are kind of high for what you get.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.