Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
We stayed in the tent campsites and had a good time. Our neighbors did not abide by the quiet time curfew but we didn't feel the need to complain. We will be going back and staying in the Teepee's. They looked like fun.
Aug 18, 2014
Too bad the pool was closed. It was a real shame.
Aug 18, 2014
My 2nd visit & this time we brought all our friends. It's a great location for family & friends to have fun. Only issue is that the pool wasn't done the 1st wk of Aug when it was due in May.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Our stay was nice. Won't say excellent. We had problems with the power shutting off every time we tried to run the air and no one was on site to look at it.
Aug 18, 2014
Great accommodations. Loved the Sunday pancake breakfast.
Aug 17, 2014
Loved this place, family did not want to leave. It was so relaxing.
Aug 17, 2014
The first two nights a noisy college group kept us up till midnight then three in the morning. After every other camper complained at the office KOA staff responded, security removed their alcohol and stayed on their site the entire night. We didn't hear a peep!! While I feel that should have been their response the first night & second night we were all impressed with how it was finally handled.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
This is an up and coming great KOA. This was our 2nd time here and saw many improvements with more to come. The staff was very friendly. The store could use a refrigerated section and the sites need to be routinely leveled. Other than that, It's a great campground with something for everyone. We stayed here in a 37" 5th wheel.
Aug 16, 2014
Nice cosy familie cabin in a beautiful environment.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
The stay over all was okay. I thought the campground could have more restrooms. When we first arrived, there is one restroom for the whole tent area and three of the four toilets were not working. Our tent site was a little hard to find during the day, so when people were driving in at 9pm trying to find there sites in the dark...it was a little frustrating.
Aug 15, 2014
First time I went here a few years ago was during the off season, so I expected things to be closed. This time was the middle of summer and it was all closed again. Not a good experience.
Aug 15, 2014
From the first moment I called to get info on availability each one of the staff members were friendly. Upon arriving I checked in and the ladies in the front office gave me a brief info on each site. They had activities for the kids all week which my grandchildren loved . Although, the prices for some activities were a little high. You must try the zip line!! It was fun!! Overall, fun fun fun .
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
We loved all of the activities, but the traffic noise and the the campers that stayed up until 3 am, pretty much ruined our stay. We called security, but as soon as they left, the partiers were back at it. The lack of sleep made it really tough to be happy the next day. I read on Yelp that it was noisy-I'd like to believe it was a one time thing, but from the reviews, it looks this happen a lot.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
It was awesome! I had a great time. Plenty of outdoor things to do.
Aug 13, 2014
We enjoyed our vacation immensely, from the glamour tent to all the amenities. The family loved the zipline, and the girls at fun climbing the rock wall. The restrooms, showers, and camp were clean. The staff members that we encountered were nice and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised and delighted! We will definitely be back!
Aug 12, 2014
We had a great time! My only issue is the fact that the pool was not open and it was hot. Also, given the size of the campground, the pool is still inadequate in size. Otherwise, the activities were fun and the teepee was awesome!
Aug 12, 2014
We had a very nice time. Our grandkids had lots to do! We were disappointed the pool wasn't ready. We stayed in #1 full hookups. The site was great with table and patio. Didn't like being right at the entrance. Maybe a fence is needed between site #1 and entrance. More speed bumps, cars were very fast through campground.
Aug 12, 2014
This was our first time camping as a family and at a KOA. The staff was very helpful and we had a great time. We would definitely return to this location again.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
I would like to thank Chandra and staff for accomodating us and my family. The kids loved the Big Foot Hike. We were hoping to use the pool, but hopefully next time we'll be able to. We always feel safe staying here and will only stay at KOA properties for our camping needs. Have a blessed day all and keep it up!
Aug 12, 2014
My 5 and 6 year old children loved our stay. We watched the Friday night movie, did the rockwall and peddle carts, all the crafts, and the bigfoot hike. We ended it all by doing the zipline before checking out! Great family time!
Aug 12, 2014
Had a Great Time. Kids had tons of fun and all the neighbors were friendly. Wish your reservations online were more specific about camp sites. I would prefer to select a site myself.
Aug 12, 2014
it was a great place to go to Ventura Ranch but it was cold shower
Aug 11, 2014
Bathrooms could of been cleaned more often. Overall good experience.Zip line guys could have said good morning - who was here first?
Aug 11, 2014
We had a very fun time. Lots to do and everyone was nice. We were disappointed that the pool was not completed. We stayed in campsite #7...very dusty and lots of dirt. Can we recommend some kind of mulch or pea gravel to the campsite?
Aug 11, 2014
Restrooms and showers not as clean as I can normally expect from KOA. Camp store needs to carry milk, especially since it is so far to nearest store. Rocket ship on playground has MANY safety hazards, update with new equipment. Loved the zipline and activities for the kids.
Aug 11, 2014
Very poor management! If you change a policy regarding paying extra to reserve a site you must inform people instead of just moving them from the spot they reserved. Charging to reserve a site I feel is just a way to cover the cost of the new pool. If the prices keep going up we will not stay here again. Remember this is supposed to be fun camping not to kill your bank account!
Aug 11, 2014
At the beginning we had a camp site issue ( our two camp sites were seperated without our permission.) However after nemerous phone calls, Manager Frank fixed the problem by creating two new camp sites with us by the jump area. I still think there are issues with reservation system in computer, that needs to be reviewed. But actual stay was very pleasant. The staff was very helpful, friendly.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Overall, we loved our stay @ Ventura Ranch KOA. The only bad issue was the condition of the shower. I used the ones attached to the Clubhouse on the hill and they were terrible. There was "pink" stuff growing on the walls and "Green Mold" growing on the floor where the water has been sitting against the shower pan, not good!
Aug 11, 2014
We had a great time the kids didn't want to leave. The zip line is a great attraction! The one thing we didn't like is that on the website it says the is a firepit and a table at ever campsite which was not the case. We got two spots and only one had a table and a firepit. The other one did not. But other than that we had a great time
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I posted on Tripadvisor.
Aug 11, 2014
Very nice, the staff who work here are really helpful. They have big rocks on the grass areas that prohibit easy pull in and pull out. Took us an hour to get into a spot. Spots that say they can hold 40ft are smaller and really hard to get into. Staff was very helpful moving spots to help with the length issue.
Aug 11, 2014
It was an absolutely amazing time. A lot of things for the kids, the campgrounds were clean, the staff was beyond friendly and I can't wait to stay again.
Aug 11, 2014
Everything was awesome!!!! The best camping trip in a long time. I have two boys and a wife and all were satisfied. Thanks again KOA!!
Aug 11, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Though the park was full, we had plenty of space and privacy. We love the brick patio and the iron dining set at our site. The staff were very kind and very helpful. We love seeing all the upgrades that have been made and those that are in progress. The pool is impressive - very resort-like.
Aug 11, 2014
This is not an RV park, it's more a tent campground. Trees need trimming, I couldn't get into my site because of low hanging branches. 50 amp electric was wired wrong. WiFi didn't work. Management was no help, they all went home and left a kid in the office who couldn't do anything.
Aug 10, 2014
We had true camping experience at this kampground. Sites are spacious, facilities are clean, and location is perfect. It is far from civilization to truly enjoy nature sounds and smells but it is only 30 minutes from Ventura main beach. We also had close encounter with tarantula size of a kitten... Scary but fun. We enjoyed long walks/jogging on the property trails which are more than 2 mi long.
Aug 10, 2014
The ownership has really put some money into this place. The only thing that kept me from giving it five stars is if you are camping with other people and some have tents and some have RVs, they really can't camp together.
Aug 09, 2014
Unfortunately kids were disappointed on limited hours of operation of zip line. They were unable to enjoy that feature
Aug 08, 2014
Campsite partly in development, upper level very nice, lower level not yet. We rented a Teepee for 4 persons. Very basic, no electricity, no light, one person has to sleep on a mat on the floor. Washing rooms near Teepee very dirty, Teepee was in our opinion not cleaned very well upfront. If you don't stay in Teepee, very nice campsite

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.