Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
I think this is going to be a truly great KOA, someday. Sadly, it was still a work in progress when we arrived, with the pool still being built and nothing at all like a store. However, the area is beautiful, the campground is rustic (in a good way), and our hookups worked fine. WiFi was spotty, it worked the night of our arrival but not the next morning. We'll be back to check the progress.
Aug 07, 2013
We got there at 7 pm and the office was closed. We were in need of things. Ice, firewood, etc....which meant we had to run back into town. This place is already so remote. Who knew. We enjoyed our TP but there were no bathrooms near. The office was still closed in the morning when we left at 8:30 in the morning.
Aug 07, 2013
Only complaint is the sewer smell every time the wind blew the wrong direction. We will never camp in that full hookup site again. We love camping at the Santa Paula KOA, but the awful smell really put a damper on our weekend. Other than that one problem, everything else was great!
Aug 07, 2013
The all you can eat Belgium waffles were super! The kids at the front desk were rude and not pleasant at all.
Aug 07, 2013
staff was friendly and accomodating, bathrooms especially were clean and well kept. They try their best to rectify any problems that may arise, Jon's Bigfoot hike was the BEST! Will def return soon !
Aug 06, 2013
Staff was great! Unfortunately camped next to a cabin that had about 20 young adults. They only had 6 people that were registered in the cabin though. They were very loud til 3am. Did not sleep well with noise. Ruined our Saturday morning plans. Paid alot of money to get away from it all only to have to deal with it at the campground. The girl in the office dealt with it immediately Saturday
Aug 06, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. Campsites and cabins are too close together. The main issue is people in cabins walking through our campsite continuously. Layout is very confusing. Also will be better when swimming pool is open (sign states summer 2013 - I think you need to change the sign)
Aug 06, 2013
The bathroom were very clean and freshly painted and no leaks. We need to train the guests to learn to flush the toilets. Or the kids need to have an adult with them. The staff is great. I would like to help around there myself i enjoy people having a good time. Take care and keep up the good work. Doug :)
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
We had a great time, it was a last minute trip and we had wanted to try Ventura Ranch KOA. Good walking trails, nice people, wonderful weekend.
Aug 06, 2013
Had a great time, weather was great, facilities were clean. We were a little disappointed that the pool was not ready, but otherwise, it was an overall pleasant experience.
Aug 06, 2013
We loved our stay and can't wait to return. Everyone was friendly and the facility was very well kept.
Aug 06, 2013
We wrote on our reservation we'd arrive late. But we still had to call & waited to for someone from the camp to 'register' us. The Teepee we were assigned to was not the closest to the parking space eventhough many were free. Our teepee's 'door' was all open, it had no netting on the top part to prevent bugs. The following morning we realized we were given the oldest/dirtiest, we canceled 2nd nit
Aug 06, 2013
shower & restrooms not enough for a camp site that crowded
Aug 05, 2013
We were placed right across from construction and not informed of it. Also, on the last night of our stay, the 10pm quiet time was NOT enforced and people were VERY loud until close to 3am. It would be higher if not for those things (and we will stay again)
Aug 05, 2013
The campgrounds are okay-- there are plenty of activities, hiking trails and features. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, the sites within the property are packed close together. There isn't much privacy. Other campers can be rude and loud. Noise lasts until midnight, and people will march right through site instead of around.
Aug 05, 2013
We stayed in a teepee. Tons of fun! Only recommendation is to have bathroom closer to teepee.
Aug 05, 2013
The only problem was on Saturday night loud music coming what seemed to be Steckel park. I guess that the police department had to be called. So it was late.
Aug 05, 2013
The kids activity times are a little short.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Stayed in tp3- kids loved it- noisy from pool construction- only 3 go carts worked- bathroom near future pool was closest but also stinky and door of shower got stuck on my son and also a fellow camper-zip line not running- we live close so it was a perfect camping experience for the kids- loved teepees, jump pillow, climbing wall, peacocks, playground, creek- friendly staff- be back for the pool
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
The bathroom had several overflows and the showers in the tent area were insufficient for the crowd of people there. But overall its a nice camp ground and will be nicer when they get the pool completed.
Aug 03, 2013
Nice spots, friendly staff, construction on pool/activity area did not bother us, camped mid week so it was quieter, loved the peacocks!
Aug 03, 2013
The tent sites are poorly arranged and the restroom/showerw are of the ame vein. to discover in one or two years maybe, after the work is completed.
Aug 02, 2013
We had a great time with our 2 granddaughters and they really enjoyed all the activities you had to offer. Looking forward to coming back soon. Thank you
Aug 02, 2013
believe you should tell you're customers before hand that you don't have sewer system for everyone. we where put in a small space with a travel trailer that was too big for that space, than I saw small rings in big spaces. the area was nice. a lot of the personal didn't know the local surrounds, to help you find things.
Aug 01, 2013
- There was no pool, supposted to be ready "summer 2013", but now "August 2013". We saw the construction boards, but do not think it will be finished before September or even October. - The smell of the rest rooms was horrible, like rotten fish - The personnel at the office was not friendly at all - We will not recommend the kampground for other RV-travellers, also because it was really far fro
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
had a great time. Zip line was fun. we are coming back in November!!
Jul 31, 2013
our campsite location was nice, big and shady...but to close to a well travelled private road. The site below us had people coming and going and partying until 4am! so no sleep for anyone in our camp. bathrooms were clean, shower, could have been maintained better. RV area is plush and very nice. Hiking has good options. I would recommend a lights out policy
Jul 31, 2013
peacocks very a nice surprise and were entertaining, if not a little too loud at times... wish the pool had been built already! bathrooms & showers were so clean; lots of families looked to be having fun; extra activities were a little pricey; overall, a good place to make fun family memories
Jul 30, 2013
Reserving &trying to contact the office was extremely difficult& frustrating.The staff wasn't very helpful at all. I ended up having to driveup to the campground to get any of our questions answered. Our teepee site was extremely small, there was no shade trees on our site, pretty much the fun came from hosting my daughters bday party there& being together with friends& family..made the best of it
Jul 30, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay in the tipee, very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Did not lugging our belongings from the car to the tipee and also the tipees r very close to each other. No one regulates the day campers and the tipee next to us had more than six people and were very noisy that night. Campground needs more security in that respect. Very family orientated.
Jul 30, 2013
Great place to stay if you're doing the family thing.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Best KOA ever. spacious camp site,clean facilaties,lots to see and do.Will come back
Jul 30, 2013
Arrived early Friday assigned #43 a tiny space between 2 others with no parking. Many larger spaces empty which remained empty all weekend. Female at desk unable &unwilling to listen or to try moving us.Pricey $58 for a tiny campground spot. Disappointed with our space. and treatment from that encounter but later met some wonderful staff, a beautiful place & kid friendly doubt we will return.
Jul 29, 2013
It was a great stay except we had no grill at our camp site. We had to use one across the way, and sometime other people were camping there. Disappointed the swimming pool wasn't finished. Camp store needs to have more things like wood and food items to buy.
Jul 29, 2013
We scheduled our family reunion at the park. The park was neat and clean. It will be nice when the pool is complete. Thank you very much we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
I wish they can make it clearly that sewer discharge is only offered to limited spaces.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
My family of 4 stayed in a deluxe studio cabin. We loved the cabin!It was very clean, modern,and my kids loved the loft....however other than our cabin, there was nothing else to do on site :( My kids enjoyed the jumping pillow and my son and husband enjoyed the zip line(extra fee applied), but there are no trails or water hole or much of anything else other than a whole lot of dirt and rocks!
Jul 29, 2013
Unfortunately, the site reservation was a mess. The spot we were supposed to stay in had someone in it,we spent an hour waiting for the mistake to be corrected and we were moved to another, the grounds were full, so we got stuck in a horrible spot by the public restrooms. people had to pass THROUGH our space all night to reach the restrooms... there was also a sewer backup smell all weekend. YU
Jul 28, 2013
the young lady at the front desk (not amber) had a very pleasant cheerful welcome. other than our cart needing to be charged and losing out in about an hour it was great
Jul 28, 2013
Very nice campground. Staff was very helpfull. Doing great things at VR KOA
Jul 28, 2013
We enjoyed our stay there very much. I have been telling friends about it since I came back. We do plan on going there again.
Jul 28, 2013
Campgrounds were great, friendly staff members . Also good kid activities thru out the day. My boy especially liked the BMX track.Cant wait to be back
Jul 28, 2013
Great camping ground

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.