Ventura Ranch KOA

7400 Pine Grove Road

Santa Paula, CA 93060

Reserve: 800-562-1899

Info: 805-933-3200

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Peacocks, zip line, staff are great. Cons: Grounds under construction... The creek barely has water - not a place that you can cool off. A good 20 minute drive to the beach. Crowded and loud at night. Not much to do on grounds. Wouldn't return....
Aug 19, 2013
It is a great campground but was very understaffed at the time of our visit. We pd for wristbands and the equipment for the use of these was only open random hrs. When the zip line ran, the playground was closed (same emps ran both)and the kids that had wristbands sat around waiting for it to open. The counselors were very friendly & great w/the kids. We will come back.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
My boyfriend and I booked our tent site last minute as a final farewell before school starts and we had a amazing time at KOA. The facilities are wonderful and every staff member we met was incredibly helpful and friendly. Our only negative comment is the lack of upkeep on the nature trail; there were no signs or even a clear path to follow. Other than that, KOA is the perfect place to stay.
Aug 18, 2013
More instruction to campers is needed. KOA needs to enforce there is no preparing of meals in the bathrooms and no cleaning of dishes in the bathrooms. People left the sink counters full of water and water all over the floor. Bathroom and showers need to be cleaned more often.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
loved the teepee.. The staff was the best. They were very helpful and friendly.
Aug 18, 2013
Very nice campground with great landscape, spacious sites, friendly atmosphere, and clean restrooms.
Aug 16, 2013
Great location for us, near family in Ventura, Ojai and Santa Barbara. Facilities were clean and well cared for. We very much liked the "glamour tent" that we stayed in. This KOA has some unique activities to offer (rock wall, zip line), but the zip line in particular was a bit pricey for us. Saw peacocks every day, raccoons almost every night.
Aug 15, 2013
I made my reservations 7 months in advance and asked for 3 spots together and was told the I was getting them, when the day came to camp I got all separate spots, " not cool " . And u guys promote a swimming pool the Is not near to be ready
Aug 15, 2013
The stalled pool construction was unsightly and the nearby restrooms were really smelly. Otherwise we enjoyed the site.
Aug 15, 2013
Our group really enjoyed staying in tent sites 45-48. The sites, group fire ring and parking were perfect for our group. The only thing that would have made it better is if there were electrical plugs in the bathrooms for hair dryers.
Aug 15, 2013
This place has declined!The bathroom was disgusting & big foot waterhole was covered in algae this year.The guy who was doing the daytime activities was rude and didn't fully secure our kids in while climbing the rock wall, my husband had to show him that our kids weren't fastened in tight!The zip line is too expensive! They also cancelled the big foot night walk, we were looking forward to it :(
Aug 15, 2013
Kids had a great time
Aug 15, 2013
We stayed in Birch Grove, no one abided by the "quiet hours"; not enough restrooms, had to wait in line to use facilities; no hot water in showers or ran out while in use. Also, this is the only KOA that charges for the "all u can eat" breakfast....not good.
Aug 15, 2013
Loved it, perfect place to take kids. We can't wait till you get the pool finished. All the staff was amazing! Thank you
Aug 15, 2013
Staff is very courteous and even helped me jump start my car. Restroom is clean and you can enjoy hot showers. My son had fun jumping on the jumping mat.
Aug 15, 2013
I expect more from what I paid for the tepee....it was poorly maintained, molds n stains present, tepee located at the end of the campground next to main road...it was a horrible experience...my 6yrs old daughter who was so excited at first for tepee...now she doesnt wanna go back at koa....its our first time to use koa...and its not a very good start...overall poor maintenance of place
Aug 15, 2013
I loved all the extra amenities that were offered at the Ventura Ca KOA. I was a bit disappointed in the layout of the "oak" campsites. Due to the placement of the firepits in each site I was rather close to each of my neighbors tents. I will however be staying here again and will happily recommend to my friends and family.
Aug 15, 2013
Peaceful and quite. Once again, the kids loved the jumping pillow and big foots water hole! My only complaint is the bathrooms/showers in the tipi village area are very smelly and gross.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Great location for a Kabin and lots of room. Staff helpful, but need to work on the site, with no pool yet finished. Otherwise great place!!!
Aug 13, 2013
Loved it but I had 2 issues. Bathrooms near pool were AWFUL. the blinds in our room were broken and you could see inside.
Aug 13, 2013
Maintenance staff was highly responsive and helpful. The facility is undergoing construction of a pool, which has created some challenges such as dust and displacement of restroom facilities. Overall, a positive experience.
Aug 13, 2013
Bathrooms close to us were pretty smelly but found that ones by office were great. Online map is not great for choosing a site. Actual pictures may help. Can't wait for the pool!!
Aug 13, 2013
Cabin we stayed in had blinds missing and broken on front door. Didn't have much privacy since that is also the room where bed is. We had no hot water for 24 hours and water was then shut off for 2 hours with no notice or warning. Our complaints were made at main office but no compensation for inconvenience was ever made.
Aug 12, 2013
Koa staff we very friendly and helpful.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Young girls at check-in were civil but not as friendly as we found at other KOAs. This KOA is remotely located if you like that sort of thing. They ran out of hot water while we were there. No hot showers. We were told that it was due to a plumbing problem. Restrooms needed attention such as cleanliness & toilet paper supply.
Aug 12, 2013
Great location! The kids had a blast on the bounce pillow, and it will really be great once the pool is completed. Very nice staff & management. We look forward to going back to this location.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
It was awesome..!!!! I would recommend it to family and friends. I also purchased the membership ....
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Just good!
Aug 11, 2013
Beautiful campsite. Really enjoyed my time there. You are well located inland from the beach for warmer, mornings and evenings. I will be back!
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
High-standard quality. Very, very speedy delivery. Service was good. Thanks. A+++
Aug 10, 2013
beautiful setting, but staff really did not know how to manage the reservation system. construction, and dirt roads were a big bother.
Aug 10, 2013
Schitterende KOA camping met ruime plaatsen voor de RV. We kwamen laat aan maar het plattegrondje stond netjes voor ons klaar. Het zag er allemaal erg goed verzorgd uit! We waren er slecht 1 nachtje maar het is een absolute aanrader.
Aug 10, 2013
They are doing a lot of remodeling, so somethings are not marked well, and the map is not completely accurate. After it's all done it will be great.
Aug 10, 2013
had fun hope the pool will be finish by next year
Aug 10, 2013
We purposely visited this campground because it was featured on "Undercover Boss". Enjoyed our stay but had some serious safety concerns!! One being the fact that the lights were not lit on the stairs going to the bathrooms!! We have a handicapped son and I was really afraid of him falling on the concrete stairs at night!!
Aug 10, 2013
What a great campsite - one of the nicest we've experienced!
Aug 09, 2013
Amazing friendly staff. Great activities.
Aug 09, 2013
My 6 yr. old son really enjoyed the zip line, rock climb and paddle bikes. I would have rated the KOA higher if the bathrooms (our campsite was near the activity center) did not smell bad. Also, it would have been better if the activities started earlier than 2 pm. and the zip line was not so expensive.
Aug 09, 2013
Not big rig friendly
Aug 08, 2013
We had a great stay (our 2nd stay), but the bathrooms by the Teepees were not well kept-it smelled very bad. There should be a staff member at the recreation area full time - we wanted to paint rocks, but there was no rock painting session until after we checked out. We were disappointed that the pool was not ready.
Aug 08, 2013
love the zip line, can't wait to return
Aug 08, 2013
The noise from the freeway was really bad, but the entertainment is very nice. Could of had an outside coffee/rolls for the early risers.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.