Van Horn KOA

South Highway 90 East

Van Horn, TX 79855

Reserve: 800-562-0798

Info: 432-283-2728

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Oct 31, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Nice place with very nice mgmt. Quite expensive for us folks on SS in an Obama economy. EH Fox
Oct 29, 2014
Good customer service and very friendly people.
Oct 27, 2014
great dog parks
Oct 27, 2014
Ok
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
We were treated well and given a beautiful place to stay. John went the extra mile to make our 5 year old granddaughter feel welcome. Thanks!!
Oct 26, 2014
Staff was friendly, and the cafe was a nice touch, with reasonably priced meals!
Oct 26, 2014
Super le petit restaurant qui vient livrer les commandes à la roulotte. Le personnel est gentil et courtois et le prix est tres raisonable. Je recommande ce camping pour un arrêt sur votre route au texas lorsque vous êtes fatigué de rouler sur la 10
Oct 25, 2014
the food in the cafe was great and the staff was very friendly
Oct 25, 2014
great stopping spot on long drives across country - I-10. Friendly staff.
Oct 25, 2014
Extremely friendly and helpful people. Had mechanical issues with our motorhome and the staff was great in getting us help. Great Cafe staff! Will be back.
Oct 25, 2014
The staff was very friendly and efficient. The site was nice and long, but the power seemed a little weak on 50 amp. Thank you for all you do!
Oct 24, 2014
great service
Oct 23, 2014
Always a great stay at Van Horn KOA. Friendly folks at a great location.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
I like to stay here because they have a small diner and we can get our dinner before we turn in. This trip the campground added some stakes to mark the site numbers. The stakes are more bad than good. They are kind of in the road and likely to get hit. I did not hit any this time, but in the dark several of these could have fallen victim to my motor home. Then me and the camp would both be mad.
Oct 21, 2014
Love the food. Need to keep all sites free of sand burrs. They were horrendous on the larger sites.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
The staff we met were awkward (one gentleman was aggressive and threatened to move us) and did not communicate well when we arrived and throughout the check-in process. I'm fairly certain that this KOA was in fact located within a state mental health facility, as the other campers around us were equally as bizarre. Avoid this carnival-atmosphered campground (unless you're into that sort of thing)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We believe you have confused our park with another, as our Staff are neither Awkward nor Aggressive. The fact you used a mental health facility to convey a point and suggested all are bizarre except you, speaks volumes of your own demeanor. Enough said!
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 18, 2014
Very friendly, clean park, great food for a normal fee, golf included, cable and wifi included, which is not like the KOA of yesterday and had propane. A very enjoyable experience for the wife and myself. Thank You.
Oct 17, 2014
Good for a short stay. There were 2 dog parks which was a big plus. Friendly staff. Would go back.
Oct 17, 2014
Very friendly and helpfull hosts. Enjoyed the stay!
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
The clerk when we arrived (I believe his name was John) was very friendly and helpful. There was a pervasive smell of natural gas near the main at the east end of the building, and when we reported it to the staff, we were told the gas company had already checked it and couldn't find anything wrong. I won't be there again amid a gas leak!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We brought the gas company out and did find an in-ground leak. The entire gas line has now been replaced; I assure you all is safe. Our entire Staff works very hard; John will appreciate your kind remarks! Thanks again! Happy Kamping!
Oct 16, 2014
We needed a convenient place near Rt10. This KOA is has easy access and generous space for maneuvering. Very friendly staff.
Oct 16, 2014
The desk attendant, George was most helpful aw we had a credit card problem. This is our third stay at this park and will stay again if the location works out for us. thank you, Dale
Oct 16, 2014
Very strong propane smell in the womens bathroom
Oct 15, 2014
Best KOA campground we have visited. Very nice, friendly people. Enjoyed available cafe.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
stay was great only problem was the burr plants that carry into the coach and hurt the pets feet.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
After driving all day, it was nice to pull into such a friendly campground. The food in the kafe was great. Recommend the German chicken, it was great.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
The grassy areas where full of stickers. Had to carry 2 dogs to a safe place to do their business. Other than that it was ok for an over nightwear.
Oct 11, 2014
Everyone was extremely and helpful. Breakfast was Great.
Oct 11, 2014
Very nice but the hot tub was too hot,also eatery was advertised on flyer but no place to eat on site.
Oct 11, 2014
Pool closed and needed a remodel in the heat of Texas. ( empty and not even sure if it was functional. ) Bathrooms dirty.
Oct 11, 2014
My Wife and I along with our dog have stayed at this FINE FINE campground each time we cross the country from Va. to Az. We could not be at a more friendly, customer caring park. The small restaurant is as good as it gets. We will always plan our trip to see that we are able to spend a night there. You got to try the great waffels.
Oct 10, 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay at Va Horn. I read good reviews before going there and was not disappointed. The couple that run the place are sweet and helpful! It was a very pleasant stay😄
Oct 07, 2014
We were in & out fast, but what little interaction I had with staff was great and I wished I'd had more time to get to know them better. Everything else was as expected.
Oct 04, 2014
Nice. Big sites. Mosquitoes were what drive us away. Scratching several right now as I'm typing this. Good at your little cafe--terrific!
Oct 04, 2014
Restroom needed updating. Stains on ceiling tiles. No lock on shower door. Had to unhook bench to lower and bar door. Restaurant offerings were appropriate and tasty and a convenient offering for guests.
Oct 04, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
OK, we just stayed overnight.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.