Van Horn KOA

South Highway 90 East

Van Horn, TX 79855

Reserve: 800-562-0798

Info: 432-283-2728

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Sep 04, 2014
My second stay at this KOA was even better than the first time! Despite the mass amounts of bugs in the bathroom (Normal for camping, I know) we had a great nights stay in this safe and friendly environment! Will be back if passing through town again!
Sep 01, 2014
The staff was very friendly. I left a necklace behind and they had it waiting for me when I returned. Thanks bunches
Aug 25, 2014
We've stayed at this KOA a couple times, only for overnighters. The owners of are super nice, accommodating, very friendly -- which is why it's going to be one of our "regular" stops when traveling from CA to TX. There's even a fenced-in doggie run!
Aug 22, 2014
Our stay was OK, but the office was closed when we arrived at 2:45 so we had to find something to do until it opened at 3:00. The Kabin, pool, and bathrooms were great.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
We called at around 7pm (website says office stays open til 8pm) and spoke with someone regarding an upgrade from tent space to cabin because of a storm. We arrived at 7:30 and the office was closed and all the tent sites were all underwater. We had to knock on the resident's door in order to upgrade. It was unfortunate that we had to bother the owner's wife. Great kitchen staff though.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Most accurate weather station I've ever seen. The rock was cool and dry while we were there making the visit quite enjoyable. The camp host even cranked down the AC for our cabin so it was nice and cool when we got there. By far this is the most affordable way to travel the country and meet some new people. Thanks Van Horn KOA.
Jun 16, 2014
very, very friendly staff. THE cleanest bathrooms and grounds i have ever seen. Grounds we well groomed and pool was very well maintained. Just not a lot to do in Van Horn...
May 04, 2014
Cabin was clean. Bathroom well kept. People were great! Enjoyed eating in the cafe. Relaxed atmosphere.
Apr 20, 2014
For the money,it can not be beat. We have stayed there about three times now and have enjoyed it every time. The people are great, down to earth, and so friendly. really enjoyed the veteran and his wife they hired to help out. Thanx for trusting a vet. Our hearts and thoughts go out to Dennis and his wife. We made friends, and will never forget them. Thank you for being there........... Gibson
Apr 12, 2014
A great desert Oasis. The staff was very friendly and helpful. they even helped me get my Go Phone up and running! Also serve good food at the restaurant on site.
Mar 31, 2014
Excellent, friendly staff! Windy, windy town!
Mar 28, 2014
Very friendly like everyone was family! We were treated so nice it was sad we could only stay one night. Next vacation will be around Van Horn so we can stay longer!!
Mar 18, 2014
great cabin for the price. It did ne3ed some insulation or caulk to cover gaps in door frame and cabin frame.
Mar 09, 2014
Friendly service and easy access.
Mar 05, 2014
Second time there. New managers have been there since September and are doing a great job. Very helpful with a late arrival
Mar 04, 2014
The window in my cabin was broken. It was freezing in the cabin. Need a bigger heater as well.
Feb 21, 2014
Feb 04, 2014
Feb 02, 2014
This KOA has the biggest store among those I visited. It also has a little restaurant which is awesome. Beautiful sunrises/sunsets! Internet did not work at all with my Apple devices. :-(
Dec 28, 2013
you gyus are best clean and friendly love you gyus jared scranton
Dec 22, 2013
You just can't go wrong here. Service is superb!
Dec 18, 2013
No Complaint's.
Dec 17, 2013
it was cold they turned on heat for us, so we were cozy, we stayed in a cabin this trip, thank you KOA
Nov 25, 2013
Nov 07, 2013
What a great KOA !!! I had a cool little cabin. No TV, but I was so tired, I didn't miss it. The managers were very nice and helpful. I bought dinner at the little cafe, and it was very tasty. The bathrooms were clean and neat. Just enough night lights to see the bathroom at night, but not too bright. I liked it, a lot!
Oct 17, 2013
Nice people there and just off the highway. I would stay here anytime.
Sep 20, 2013
Everything was ready for our late arrival. Note with map on the door, a clean and welcoming cabin with a/c, clean bathrooms and a super friendly staff, it made our night after a long and tedious drive! Would recommend to anyone!
Sep 10, 2013
Staff was friendly, campground extremely clean, downside, no more putt putt golf on the campground, but Dennis did direct us to one in town. Overall had a great time, look forward to visiting this campground again.
Aug 24, 2013
Van Horn is one of our regular stops as we travel across Texas. The cabins are well maintained, and the AC is already on as we arrive with a reservation. Nice place!
Aug 11, 2013
Bathrooms need better ventilation and updating. Shower, toilets and sinks are great and clean. Nice to have a frig and TV, most cabins we stay in have nothing!
Aug 05, 2013
Easy access from Interstate, yet far enough to abate highway noise. Very kind and accommodating owner/operator: allowed us to move to another cabin with a better A/C unit. KOA Hospitality at its Best!
Aug 04, 2013
We were travelling from Corpus Christi, TX to Las Cruces, NM, over 800 miles. We decided to stop at this KOA to spend the night since we were all so tried from the trip. The owner was very polite; the ac and lights were on in the cabin. Bathrooms were clean. They had a nice pool. Only problem was at around 400 am, the power went off, but that's not the campground's fault. Overall great stay.
Jul 12, 2013
No WiFi, cable or breakfast served. Very little green space. My kids enjoyed the pool and it was great that they'd thought to turn on our AC before we arrived.
Jul 09, 2013
Great people and facility!
Jul 07, 2013
Clean, quiet, friendly. Everything I want in a KOA!
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Very relaxing.
May 28, 2013
Perfect!!
May 26, 2013
This is one of our favorite KOA's! Thanks for the great stay!
Apr 28, 2013
This facility is obviously intended as purely a stopover in this desert area
Apr 19, 2013
Apr 14, 2013
comfy cozy kab - super people -awesum breakfast
Apr 08, 2013
We were very disappointed by the fact that the website advertised a pool open from April 1 onwards (closed) and mini-golf (gone for years), plus the Kafe closed weekends, not advertised. However, nice staff and a cute Kabin.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.