Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 20, 2017
We loved our tent site right on the river. The campground was clean and staff were super We will definitely be staying here again
Jun 19, 2017
This KOA is very nice. We bring our boy scout troop here every year for the tubing. They have one of the best teams here. The showers our clean and very nice, and I do mean nice. Our boys really like the movie night. We will see you guys again next year. Keep up the good work.
Jun 13, 2017
Ladies in front office are angry and bitter. They are busy yet cant answer phone. We happened to arrive late and i have cancer i couldnt get up and out of cabin on time we were moving to a tent slipbut because of mean women we left koa. And i wasnot credited my tent spot of 40$. I will not recomend although sites are great front office lost you my fam8lys trips
Jun 12, 2017
My friends and I went up to Townsend for The Crawl and the mini bikes. We had such a phenomenal experience! All of the employees went above and beyond for us the entire time, even when registering for the camp site. They stopped to chat with us about our bikes and we all really bonded. The site was beautiful and everything was clean and the showers are fantastic! We'll be back again next year!
Jun 12, 2017
We visited this campground with 3 motorcycles and we were treated like children and watched our whole trip. Couldn't enjoy our stay with staff breathing down our neck the whole time.
Jun 05, 2017
Love the riverfront site. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoy the family activities, wish they had more!
Jun 05, 2017
The staff was extremely helpful! Our first time camping and it was a wonderful experience.
Jun 04, 2017
We love staying here. We have been going there for 26 years. The staff is great and love seeing them every year. We love the fact that they have family fun things. They let Charms come in and do a children's day camp and family events nightly.
Jun 04, 2017
Jun 02, 2017
Great staff! First time at a KOA campground and we had a tent site that was great. The facilities and showers were always clean. The store has everything you need. Great place!
May 30, 2017
May 22, 2017
This was our first family camping trip with our son and it was amazing. Very clean, beautiful views and the staff was wonderful.
May 22, 2017
Beautiful setting on a river, friendly and helpful staff, large clean showers, bike trails accessible from campground, near entrance to Smoky Mountains park and 10 minutes from Cade's Cove. I'll be staying here next time.
May 14, 2017
I believe it was the wrong time of the year for some quiet fishing. college students the first night partying until 3 am and then the following night a family with 5 children throwing rocks at everything. will I stay again yes but will pick my timing better
May 06, 2017
Beautiful campground and very clean. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint is they need another bathroom on the opposite side. We camped far from the entrance, where the only bathroom was located.
Apr 25, 2017
Very nice staff, clean showers, well kept tent sites. enjoyed my stay very much.
Apr 18, 2017
A little noisy but quiet after 10. Great service at store and registration. Firewood great. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Mulch made a nice pad for tents. Need a hot tub:) We really enjoy our KOA stays all over the country.
Apr 17, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your campground. Everyone was very nice, our spot was beautiful, and the facilities were well maintained. The only negative thing I have to say is for a primitive spot, it was extremely expensive. We would be able to come more if it wasn't so expensive!
Apr 11, 2017
Please keep the tent sites!
Apr 11, 2017
Good points: clean, clean, clean! Very nice tent site RIGHT ON THE RIVER! I enjoyed the easy access to the Smoky Mountains and Cades Cove. The Tuckaleechee Caverns were also great! Bad points: Very, very pricey for a tent site. $54? Ouch, in my book. It was the only negative.
Apr 03, 2017
Warm showers and bathrooms are a plus!
Feb 27, 2017
Great camp site. Very friendly and helpful staff. A beautiful campground.We love staying here and we will return.
Jan 17, 2017
We love this place! We had a tent site on the river and love to hear the water at night. Went hiking and horse-back riding nearby. Staff is always friendly, and the store is great for anything we forgot (we always do!)
Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful experience. Great amenities for tent campers. Fire wood cost was extremely high so we could only afford one nights worth ($21 + tax for 3 small bundles that lasted maybe 6 hours) and had to leave the next day due to cold temps, but the one night we stayed was great.
Nov 07, 2016
Campground was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely worth the the stay and we will stay again!!!
Oct 31, 2016
The facilities are great, however I stayed over Halloween weekend, and they decked the entire campground in scary decor and had people with chainsaws chasing children down to scare them. They gave no foresight this would happen during booking. Completely inappropriate. I will never bring my child to this place. Displayed a serious lack of consideration for those with small children. ZERO stars.
Oct 31, 2016
It was very nice and clean but overpriced otherwise I would have given 5 stars. 57.00 is to high for tent camping without Electric to charge your devices.
Oct 30, 2016
Great staff very helpful.
Oct 30, 2016
Overly aggressive older guys in golf carts fussing at my grown children about parking even though I paid EXTRA for parking one additional car in site. Stayed here for YEARS before KOA. Little River Campground which had property before knew how to take care of guest. Now aggressive retirees!!
Oct 24, 2016
My family and I love this campground! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The campsites are spacious and clean with great scenery. The bathrooms and showers are clean. We can't wait to come back again!
Oct 24, 2016
We loved this KOA!! Our only complaint is that our neighbors on either side of us were up very late both nights being pretty loud - until midnight and 1am. I understand staying up late to hang out and chat but it seemed they were drinking and had no care about the level of their volume.
Oct 24, 2016
This campground seemed to be run like a well-oiled machine. I would highly recommend this campsite and also plan on returning.
Oct 24, 2016
The best customer service ever! The campground and bathhouse were both very clean! Convenient to the beautiful Great Smoky Mountains!!
Oct 20, 2016
Stayed 2 nights in a tent site. This is a beautiful well kept campground. The staff is wonderful. This kids loved the playground. My only non likes for this stay were that it is quite cramped. The sites are very close and tight making privacy a little difficult. The other thing is the amount of kids (and teens) on bikes that gather at the entrance and around the playground blocking traffic.
Oct 12, 2016
We've stayed at this KOA about half a dozen times in the past few years and no matter where else we stay, none are as clean, peaceful, and relaxing as the Townsend KOA. We are tent campers, but have stayed in a deluxe cabin in the cold months. The tent sites are terrific and the deluxe cabins with a loft for kids are clean and really cool. I find myself recommending the campground regularly.
Oct 11, 2016
Bathrooms were beautiful and clean!!!
Oct 10, 2016
I'm almost afraid to say how much I love this KOA because I like to think of it as my little secret! We've been coming here for almost 10 years, and it never disappoints. With the Smokies and the amenities of Townsend within a short drive, you can't go wrong staying here.
Oct 05, 2016
The sites are too close together which reduces any privacy. The area is very pretty and well kept.
Sep 26, 2016
This place was wonderful. Very clean and quiet.The campsites are well took care of. We will forsure be returning
Sep 20, 2016
We really appreciated the cleanliness of the facilities, and helpfulness of the staff! We will will plan to come again, but probably on a weeknight. The weekend was very loud with many Tv's turned on late into the night and some roudy campers.
Sep 07, 2016
Campgrounds were very clean and well kept. Friendly staff and lots of amenities.
Sep 06, 2016
It was a nice stay. A busy weekend in the campground. Nice facilities. Thought it was a little pricey for a tent site though.
Sep 06, 2016
Overall a nice KOA with friendly staff but needs improvement for tent campers! There are no restroom/shower facilities near the tent sites (there are porta potties), and these facilities are not up to par. Also, while the RV sites are very nice and well maintained, the tent sites not so much!
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome place, we will return!!!😊
Sep 03, 2016
Beautiful and well maintained campground. We don't stay at KOA'S often but by far this has been the nicest. The river an added bonus. Keep up the good work!
Aug 29, 2016
I have stayed at this KOA many times and will continue to come back and to recommend it to friends and family. Always clean, always friendly staff and always a beautiful, peaceful place to camp.
Aug 29, 2016
This campground was AMAZING!!! Everything was perfect. We forgot our hammer and staff quickly brought us one to use and even offered to help set up our tent. Staff made every effort to ensure all of our needs were met and even anticipated our needs. Staff offered to deliver firewood and ice at anytime. My favorite...the showers!! Nice and clean tiled showers. No mold ANYWHERE!!!
Aug 29, 2016
Nice place..well maintained.. sites are very close together.. roads are confusing, pulled into some tent lots by accident thinking they were the road. Overall a great stay.
Aug 27, 2016
Beautiful clean campground. We stayed in tent site 124, which was next to the river. My 9 yr old daughter loved the river so much that she played in it for hours. Bathrooms were super clean and staff was very friendly.
Aug 10, 2016
Incredible family campground located right on the Little River and minutes from the entrance to the park. Very clean and very relaxing.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award