Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

May 18, 2015
Staff was not friendly at all. Couldn't get one of them to wave all weekend. The grounds were great though. Very nice. Better staff and it would be best place in smokies.
May 11, 2015
great
May 09, 2015
excellent
May 06, 2015
Nice peaceful . love listing to the river hope to return soon.
May 01, 2015
The Campsite we get every year is the best. In fact, this Campsite is one of the best. We have been coming for years since it was The Little River Campground before KOA purchased. My wife grew up camping here and introduced it to me. Now our two girls will have fond memories camping here too. It would be nice to have shelves in the showers to put soap/shampoo on as well hooks for towe
Apr 28, 2015
Great stay. Friendly and close to the park.
Apr 27, 2015
This is our favorite KOA! The location is the best for a mountain vacation.
Apr 27, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. And as always the staff is very friendly. I brought my neighbors 8:year old son with me and he had a great time. I wish the activities that you offer for the kids were started already. I'm looking forward to my stay in may with my friends.
Apr 20, 2015
I didnt like my stay at all. We got there late and could not find our campground so we just pick a site and ask to.move that didnt bother me at all but the man was rude and yelled at us and we didnt understand why we calmly told him our situation but still he was rude. I called the night beofre we stay there if it was alright if we showed up late because we had prom and they said that it was ok
Apr 15, 2015
The tent site on the river was awesome. Saw a bald eagle, river otters, geese and other of God's creation's.
Apr 15, 2015
We loved it! The campgrounds were clean and we had an awesome tent sight. You can't beat sleeping with the sound of the river in the background.
Apr 10, 2015
Apr 10, 2015
Staff was great and super friendly. Kids had a great time. Huge plus for clean nice bathrooms and showers!
Apr 09, 2015
Beautiful campground and extremely clean! The restrooms and showers were way better than I expected. Staff was friendly and the kids lo ed the playground, basketball goal and arcade. Will definitely be back. Thanks!
Apr 09, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean and beautiful kampground. Appreciated the brand new showers!
Apr 06, 2015
very nice place and very professionally run. We will definitely be back!
Mar 19, 2015
The stay was good except that the water was turned off at most of the spigots most of our stay. We also had to walk to the far bathroom because of renovations to the closer bathroom. Really, a bathroom even closer to our sight than the out of service one would be great. It is too far to get little ones to the potty!
Mar 17, 2015
The entire KOA staff was wonderful......!
Oct 31, 2014
Nice campground. Clean restrooms, friendly staff, close to the park
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
I chose this campground because of the location, and was actually worried because I thought it might be too commercial. Boy, was I wrong! It was a great, quiet, private spot right in the best location to explore the Smokies. We had a tent site on the river, and it was great. The staff was helpful and friendly, and facilities CLEAN. Our only issue was that the camp store closed at 6:00! Plan ahead!
Oct 22, 2014
What a great campground! Everyone is nice and helpful and the facilities are so clean! Must try the fudge at the sweet shoppe. We did tent camping by the river, can't wait to try a cabin.
Oct 21, 2014
My husband and I love the way there is privacy even with so many people around. The family atmosphere is wonderful. We are already planning our stay next year, as well as planning on bringing our family in the future!
Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful stay with welcoming staff. This camp ground was well thought out and pet friendly. With dog run which was helpful and wonderful for my dog. First time here and will be returning
Oct 19, 2014
This was perfect. We booked this because we couldn't get a spot at the National Park camp area but this ended up being WAY better. Thank you! Welcoming staff and David Dalton are awesome!
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Our stay was fantastic the only concern that we have is for parking we were at site 129 and there was no place to park our vehicle except in the road that went around the campground other than that we had a fabulous time and thank you and yes we will recommend to family and friends the KOA thank you again
Oct 08, 2014
Clean bathrooms and showers, beautiful creek-side tent sites, convenient location with nearby camp stores but not too busy/noisy.
Oct 05, 2014
Stayed there with my 2 buddies (3 motorcycles) on a recent motorcycle tour. We arrived late, picked a site and stayed 2 nights. Campground was great, our site was dynamite, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I am a KOA member and will stay at this site again if I'm in the area.
Oct 01, 2014
On Sat night a gruop of campers were loud till around 12 am and sun night some capers who rented a cabin were loud till 2 am and started a truck which was loud and then turned his lights in our tents. Management has no way of controlling their rules of no noises after 10pm.
Sep 30, 2014
it was great, the koa people were friendly and very helpfull.also the place was very clean.
Sep 30, 2014
We love staying here except for the noises of other campers at night. There is a lot of loud parties that happen way to late into the night. Their should be some kind of quite time enforcement after 10 p.m. and security should make sure it happens.
Sep 29, 2014
Great location and well-kept facilities. I'd suggest adding a smaller full bathroom on the far side of the campground.
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!! Great for kids!
Sep 22, 2014
The only reason I didn't give you 5 stars is because I did not agree with how an incident was handled Saturday night. I feel the campers should of been escorted out by the police. The final straw was when she screamed out she was going to blow their head off. I was very scared to even sleep in fear of hearing gun shots.
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Very clean and safe Thank you KOA
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
My tent site was soggy and muddy. The 'drive' thru the camp is not clearly marked. I almost drove into a lot while I was leaving. Otherwise, it is a nice site.
Sep 04, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Place was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Can't wait to come back!
Aug 23, 2014
Thanks for the help!
Aug 18, 2014
Location and facilities are very nice. Campsites are a little too close together but the downside for me was the customer service. I was charged an extra $20 over the price quoted that the two gentlemen at the desk could not explain to me. They simply said it was what the lady who made my reservation said they should charge me, and my records on my account did not match to what they said.
Aug 10, 2014
Great time great people
Aug 08, 2014
Nice campground if you stay on the river but a bit pricey.
Aug 02, 2014
Site right on the river was nice, unfortunately had to have mgmt remove several campers who decided to park themselves on the river bank in front of our site to watch the tubers coming down the rapids. Other campers cutting thru our site happened often in our 6 day stay.....perhaps mgmt should inform all campers to respect the other campers sites upon checkin. Kids loved the playground.
Jul 27, 2014
Great location, clean facility,and friendly staff. Loved the camps put on by the ministry.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Loved it! Will be back.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.