Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Great location, clean facility,and friendly staff. Loved the camps put on by the ministry.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Loved it! Will be back.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
It was just a little noisier than usual this time. Kids out running around being loud after dusk and the leaf blower early in the morning kind of took away the peaceful part of our stay.
Jun 29, 2014
We always enjoy staying at koa in Townsend.the site was great,the bath house was clean and showers were also.my family loves the family time at nite with charm, what a great ministry.
Jun 27, 2014
Here are the comments from the boy scouts and adults. Fun pool, clean and roomy bathroom and showers, nice patio furniture on the electric site we had, a lot of room for the tents on the tent site, quite, and had fun at the evening activity (auction). The staff was very accommodating when I need to use an electric outlet in the office during the day so my battery pack for my CPAP would charge.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay the only problem we had was we didn't have very much privacy at the spot we were placed at. Other than that we had a blast and will defiantly be back.
Jun 15, 2014
Super friendly. Super location. Clean and plentiful restrooms. Awesome activities and playground for the kids!!!! Looking forward to returning!!!!!!!
Jun 15, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. We plan on staying again next year!
Jun 09, 2014
Very friendly staff. A safe and secure campground. Clean and well maintained.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
The stay was wonderful. My only complaint would be the tent camp sites are VERY SMALL. You are right on top of other campers. Would like to have a little more space.
May 14, 2014
May 11, 2014
It was a Nice, Clean campground. We had a lot of trouble the first night with a crazy neighbor. He kept throwing rocks at our tent and shinning his light in it. I also do not like it that this campground allows dogs there. They bark all night long!! It is not very quiet and pleasant when dogs are barking! That was my complaint!!
May 10, 2014
camp site was very good except parking for that site. we were not able to get our car close. too steep for our small car. will bring jeep next time.!! Having a shower each night was wonderful. the weather was perfect.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Pleasant
Apr 28, 2014
I thought the campground was clean and well-run. But the 5-star rating shows that they go above and beyond. I had a problem with a noisy neighbor. They offered me an alternate site, which I declined because I was going to be there only one more night, So they gave me a bundle of firewood to make it up to me. They go out of their way to make you love your stay. Thanks all!
Apr 20, 2014
Too far to bathroom. Too few bathrooms. Otherwise great.
Apr 08, 2014
We had a wonderful time over the 4 days we stayed. Very clean and very friendly!! We can't wait to go back. We had some bad weather that moved in and the staff was very helpful in communicating where to go if we needed to and since the wi-if was hit or miss they made sure to keep everyone updated! Thankfully the weather didn't do much and we were able to continue our getaway Sonya and Daniel
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 22, 2014
Mar 18, 2014
Nov 11, 2013
great site,great service, clean,friendly. I will come back!
Nov 11, 2013
I loved it! 126 was the perfect spot for a tent right on the water it was so beautiful. It was nice and quiet and the showers were very hot. It's not as close to Gatlinburg as we thought but I'm glad we chose it because it was so beautiful and near the mountians. We don't have kids but it was very family friendly but also great for just us. We will definitely go back!
Nov 06, 2013
Nov 05, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
Nice, shaded spots. They are a bit close together but not as close as some other KOAs. It is odd that the flush toilets are all the way over in the full hookup/RV area and not near the tents...
Oct 27, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
It's simple. Clean. Cozy. Tightly managed. But, fun. Our tent site was great @ 129. Next time, 126 right on the river it is! Townsend is our speed. So is this cool, little, well maintained kampground. We will be back & many other KOAs just opened up to this family. Thanks!
Oct 15, 2013
It was great. The kids loved the hayride, movie, and the playground. I think it's awesome that the staff plans activities for the kids. It was a nice, relaxing weekend stay.
Oct 14, 2013
We loved it, Kids loved it, everyone loved it (despite the jerks that wouldn't let us in our national park)
Oct 14, 2013
The facilities were certainly not bad but the proximity of the tent sites to the cabins and other tents made for much less of a wooded camping experience than I expected. This was my 1st KOA trip and I will give it another shot.
Oct 14, 2013
There needs to be better restroom facilities near the tent sites. A full bathhouse is needed closer to the tent sites to help accommodate families with small children.
Oct 12, 2013
This is a wonderful property; the staff is friendly and caring as well as the grounds being lovingly taken care of throughout. This was our second stay in as many years and I have no doubt, we'll be back next year as well.
Oct 07, 2013
This is our favorite campground. It's quiet and it's nice to get away, but there are lots of things we can do if we want. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
Oct 06, 2013
Had a great time and the campground & showers are clean every year when we make our fall trip.
Oct 06, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Best Staff ever Very clean
Sep 30, 2013
great place for kids and families
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
Beautiful tent site on the river, very clean, friendly staff, quiet, family friendly, clean showers and bathrooms. :)
Sep 23, 2013
Everything good, except the bathrooms, which are very poor. We had to use porta potties. They were filthy.
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 21, 2013
We always enjoy our time in your campground. Its well maintained & the staff is always friendly. Can't wait to return in 2014!
Sep 09, 2013
I was disappointed that the showers were just warm and not hot two days out of three. I was also disappointed that there was no hot water in the bathroom sinks. Other than that, we had a great stay.
Sep 09, 2013
AWESOME! Great staff. Great area. Great Kampground! Will DEFINITELY be back!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.