Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2016
We really appreciated the cleanliness of the facilities, and helpfulness of the staff! We will will plan to come again, but probably on a weeknight. The weekend was very loud with many Tv's turned on late into the night and some roudy campers.
Sep 07, 2016
Campgrounds were very clean and well kept. Friendly staff and lots of amenities.
Sep 06, 2016
It was a nice stay. A busy weekend in the campground. Nice facilities. Thought it was a little pricey for a tent site though.
Sep 06, 2016
Overall a nice KOA with friendly staff but needs improvement for tent campers! There are no restroom/shower facilities near the tent sites (there are porta potties), and these facilities are not up to par. Also, while the RV sites are very nice and well maintained, the tent sites not so much!
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome place, we will return!!!😊
Sep 03, 2016
Beautiful and well maintained campground. We don't stay at KOA'S often but by far this has been the nicest. The river an added bonus. Keep up the good work!
Aug 29, 2016
I have stayed at this KOA many times and will continue to come back and to recommend it to friends and family. Always clean, always friendly staff and always a beautiful, peaceful place to camp.
Aug 29, 2016
This campground was AMAZING!!! Everything was perfect. We forgot our hammer and staff quickly brought us one to use and even offered to help set up our tent. Staff made every effort to ensure all of our needs were met and even anticipated our needs. Staff offered to deliver firewood and ice at anytime. My favorite...the showers!! Nice and clean tiled showers. No mold ANYWHERE!!!
Aug 29, 2016
Nice place..well maintained.. sites are very close together.. roads are confusing, pulled into some tent lots by accident thinking they were the road. Overall a great stay.
Aug 27, 2016
Beautiful clean campground. We stayed in tent site 124, which was next to the river. My 9 yr old daughter loved the river so much that she played in it for hours. Bathrooms were super clean and staff was very friendly.
Aug 10, 2016
Incredible family campground located right on the Little River and minutes from the entrance to the park. Very clean and very relaxing.
Aug 07, 2016
It was expensive for camping: $75 per night plus additional fees for cars. The grounds were well maintained put the restroom area needs to be cleaned more than once a day. I would say that they should be cleaned at least 3 times a day considering how busy the grounds are there.
Aug 02, 2016
Awesome stay! Had a river view camp site that was great for sleeping at night.
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice area! Great scenery!maybe add some stepping stones & tiny dim lights for "barefoot" pathway to bathrooms. Everything was Clean and bathrooms / showers were "First Class!" The River and pool were Beautiful! O will be back!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Rework fire pits for tent sites,thought to be a non alcohol environment, otherwise fantastic stay.
Jul 17, 2016
We love camping here! We'll be back again ! Love the friendly staff, especially Adam!
Jul 11, 2016
Crowded campground with smelly portapotties and a long hike to the bathroom. You don't even feel like you are in the mountains.
Jul 08, 2016
clean, free stuff to do, the people working were nice and helpful
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 05, 2016
Staff needs to patrol around 10 pm to make sure radios are turned off and we had some loud neighbors.
Jul 03, 2016
The facilities are great for the majority of families. We however have a special needs child and the outhouses are nor accessible so the drive back n forth to the bath house was a bit much. We did however love the youth that were there working for Day camp, etc...
Jul 02, 2016
Excellent staff and facilities
Jul 01, 2016
We loved staying here! Our campsite was very shady, near the river, but not on it. We loved the patio and fire pit. It is a beautiful campground and we will camp here again! All the people were super helpful and kind.
Jun 30, 2016
We had a fabulous time. Great campground amenities and activities. Customer service was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. No one wanted to leave.
Jun 27, 2016
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Washer and dryers are very expensive. We were close to the road and you could hear the traffic but it was no bother to us! We'd go back in a heartbeat!
Jun 26, 2016
This was our 2nd year to stay at Townsend/Great Smokies KOA. We love it here-there is so many great activities that you never have to leave the campground if you don't want to.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a really nice time... Your sites were very clean and well-kept. You have a really courteous staff. We would like to suggest better ventilation in the shower rooms.b
Jun 20, 2016
Stay fine. Pretty grounds. Friendly staff. One bath house although very nice is no enough for this campground. Porta potty not a good alternative to extra bath house. Primarive sites are overpriced.
Jun 19, 2016
Peaceful,friendly,great for kids and big kids, has my heart!
Jun 18, 2016
Very nice campground!! The whole place was neat and clean!
Jun 15, 2016
The staff was very kind, especially Mark. They were attentive to any needs or questions that we had. We'd recommend it to others. We especially loved the TUBING :-)
Jun 15, 2016
The reason I chose your campground was bc you had riverfront tent sites.I thought it was a little pricey but campground was very nice.We only had one night due to a time constraint & did not get to do anything in the campground - perhaps next time. Absolutely loved the showers & the great up-to-date tile including the installation. I even took a picture I was so impressed.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone was so helpful and kind!! Was very convenient with the River Tubing bike riding fishing store showers swimming pool playground anything you could possibly need to have fun was right there and recommend it to everyone
Jun 11, 2016
Good place to stay. Nothing negative to say about the location or the campground. Just wish that some campers were as nice as the place and respected rules.
Jun 11, 2016
The Koa was clean the bathrooms for very nice but the Wi-Fi was very poor
Jun 07, 2016
Very clean, nice bathrooms, very nice all around.
Jun 05, 2016
I love this campground. It has some of the best sites and bath houses that we have ever used. I would certainly stay here again. The only complaint I have is that two of the days we stayed here, the restrooms did not get cleaned. The same thing happened last year too. I understand things come up, but we pay too much for that to happen.
Jun 03, 2016
Love this place! Staff is so nice, the campground/bath house/restrooms are always clean. We always look forward to our camping trips here!
Jun 01, 2016
Fantastic campground! We will be back!
May 31, 2016
Enjoyed my stay restrooms and showers were clean. Camping sites were shady, and workers were extremely nice. Thanks for all you did to make my stay great. RCF
May 31, 2016
It was awesome! It was my first time to ever tent camp and the experience was great! We are definitely going to camp again at KOA in Townsend!
May 26, 2016
Very family friendly quiet,peaceful.I was glad the showers and bathrooms were clean.Cleanest portapotty ever used.thanks.
May 16, 2016
I really enjoyed the camp ground and it was very peaceful.
May 05, 2016
Fantastic!
May 02, 2016
We loved it!
May 02, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
Have stayed their several times, as a tent camper or in deluxe cabin. Staff is always friendly and campground is kept super clean. Have recommended friends and family to stay there.
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 18, 2016
Everyone was very nice and the campground was quiet, very clean bathrooms
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award