Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
We had a site on the river and loved it! The staff is great and the campground is so clean. We didn't get to stay long enough. We will be back!
Aug 24, 2015
The campground was very clean and well kept. I loved how many mature trees there were. However, the tent spots were very small and our neighbors were extremely loud.
Aug 24, 2015
The Townsend/Great Smokies KOA rates among the best that I have ever stayed at. I am a return visitor and plan to keep returning. It is always clean as can be. The showers are better than mine at home and the staff is incredibly helpful. This doesn't even begin to cover how beautiful this area of the Country is - you couldn't stay in a prettier place - VERY peaceful!
Aug 17, 2015
Grandson loved the pool. We need water outlet for the camp sites near #125.
Aug 16, 2015
Gregreat campground. Possibles the best I've been too! Clean, spacious service fast and extremely friendly. Great pool, river and tubing. Awesome!
Aug 13, 2015
We loved the koa in Townsend we have 3 boys from the age of 13 to 6 there was something to do for every one. Bathrooms were always clean and the customer service was wonderful.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed the stay. It is right on the river and great fun for the kids. The only negative was the porta potty next to our campsite. Really smelly. Not Good. Really need to fix the problem.
Aug 11, 2015
we camp here at the koa in townsend at least twice a year and enjoy it greatly. Always clean and nice staff. We recently came over to the campground just for the day to enjoy the river and facilities. We were astonished that we were still charged full nightly rates just for day use. Park was not full and could understand if it was. we paid almost 100 hundred dollars for 6 of us. Wont do it again!!
Aug 10, 2015
What we liked most was that the campground was mostly families, quiet with just enough activities to keep kids entertained not so much stuff to overload the whole reason why you go camping anyway.
Aug 03, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground and showers/restrooms was beautiful and well maintained. Nice setting.
Aug 02, 2015
2 Day tent camping with the family. We had a blast. Nice campsite next to creek and the showers were the nicest I've seen. Will be back.
Aug 01, 2015
Great campground! Beautiful tent sites that are fully shaded. Bathrooms/showers clean and large. We will definitely be back!
Jul 28, 2015
This was an amazing campground! We tent camped on the river and our site was large/private/positioned above our neighbors/offered a great view of the rafters, which was actually fun to watch. Super nice showers! Awesome playground. Nice pool. Fun family activities like the outdoor movie Saturday night. Gas station on property! KOA never disappoints!
Jul 27, 2015
2 adults and 2 kids. Had a blast! Campsite was very large and also very shaded! The kids loved the movie that was played while we were there. Awesome time.
Jul 27, 2015
We loved the campground and the pool and the river ... while packing up to leave, we were screamed at by a very rude male worker to move our car ... he was an older gentleman with rounded or oval glasses. very rude. maybe come back?
Jul 21, 2015
Wonderful and accommodating customer service! Only negative was the long walk to the bathrooms unless you wanted the porta-potties which were very dirty.
Jul 21, 2015
The bathroom and showers need some kind of cooling system... love that they are roomy, but when you get out of the showers you are soaked with sweat before you can get dressed..
Jul 21, 2015
The employees were nice and courteous. The campsite was clean. The pool and playground was great for the kids. There were a few negatives. Our campsite was really cramped. Our neighbors were only 8 ft away. Not much for privacy. There was a sewer smell occasionally from somewhere. Possibly the septic tank lids that were behind our campsite.
Jul 20, 2015
Camping is good.I still think the price for tent camping is high.
Jul 14, 2015
you need to regulate noise after quiet time. Otherwise we loved your facilities and staff. Clean and hot showers are not often found.
Jul 13, 2015
Crowded, but to be expected. Excellent staff, great location.
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed it it was the 1st time my children camped! Your staff was really nice too they made us feel really welcomed! I will be def come back next time we camp thank u all so much!
Jul 11, 2015
This was the cleanest and most friendly KOA we have ever stayed at. Our site was great. The only thing that bothered us is the restaurant hours. We never got to eat there in 3 days. We got up too early for breakfast and ate too late for dinner. The hours open were terrible
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful campground. Had a wonderful stay. Our sons 16,14, and 7 had a blast. So plenty to do for different ages. Our 7 year old really enjoyed the morning children's group activities. Our older boys enjoyed the kayaking, swimming, and fishing. And all of us loved the campground. We will be back.
Jul 06, 2015
The friendliness of staff was most appreciated.
Jul 04, 2015
terrible
Jun 29, 2015
My son and I had a great weekend despite challenging weather. The KOA team really do all they can to make our stays highly enjoyable. Thanks!
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA! It was our first experience staying at a KOA and we will be back again. I am giving this review 5 stars because overall everything was great. I would recommend to the staff that the portable toilet facilities are cleaned out more often. I don't mind using one, but we had to walk to the bath facilities due to them being so full.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
We loved staying here! Our two small children had a blast on their first camping trip which really made our stay. The playground was great fun for them, although it is geared toward older children than my 1.5 and 2.5 year olds. The pool and close access to the river kept us cooled off. The bath houses were well maintained and clean despite the amount of people in the campground. We will be back!
Jun 25, 2015
The staff is friendly and grounds well kept. Facilities were on par with 4 star hotels.
Jun 18, 2015
The tent sites were just too close together. We booked for two nights and only stayed one night. There were little kids in the camp site next to us that were up talking all night and we couldn't get any sleep. We had a cabin 10 feet bhind us, a tent ten feet to our left and another tent 40 feet to our right. It didn't feel like real camping. The bathrooms were so far away so we had to use outhouse
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was good except wifi reception at the tent camping area was non-existent.
Jun 15, 2015
Wifi at spot 99 was poor at best. Disappointing! Are the bath fans in the showers supposed to work? Shower #1 was not. A bits of a steam shower. Sweat a bunch after your shower, not fun!
Jun 15, 2015
The grounds were located in an awesome spot and were top notch. The staff were incredible. Great family spot!
Jun 14, 2015
Everything went well until the last night. From 10 pm to 1 am there was children riding bicycles screaming cuss words and being obnoxious. Hard to sleep when children and their parents are screaming and lighting firecrackers. This only started happening on a Friday night. The rest of our stay was fairly uneventful except for one child riding through our campsite midday.
Jun 13, 2015
Great stay. The campground is nice, clean, and the employees are very friendly. My only complaint was that a large raccoon got into/tried to get into our food several nights.
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
This campground gets better and better! We stay here 3-4 times each year- we will definitely be back soon!
Jun 08, 2015
The campground itself was really nice. The bathrooms were VERY nice and clean and the staff was super friendly. The playground was a huge hit with our 6 year old. With all that said, the campsites are so close together that it wasn't really camping. The photos on the website made it look much more secluded than it really was. We were 10 feet from the next tent and the place was packed with trailer
Jun 04, 2015
Possibly the best campground showers we've seen. The location of our tent site was great (right by the river) but the site was almost too long and narrow for our tent, and it was way too rocky. The cost for a tent site with no water or electric was a little high, but we still had a great stay. Very good campground overall, and we will be back again soon.
Jun 03, 2015
One of the highest compliments people can get is they are nice. The personnel at the Townsend KOA all were very nice. Thank You!
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean and very kid oriented! Love it! The movie was great!
Jun 02, 2015
The grounds are neat and clean, the staff is super friendly and willing to do anything u need-they even gave my battery a jump after I let it die. Great place for kids and pets!!
Jun 02, 2015
A wonderful family experience! Great amenities, fun activities and very friendly staff.
May 29, 2015
Very clean park, friendly staff, close to everything. The Grandkids had lots of fun in pool, at playground, playing bingo and LOVED the outdoor movies. We will be back!!
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
May 26, 2015
Our stay was fantasic. I wish the bathrooms were a tiny bit closer to the tent sites rather than the rv sites but Everything else was great
May 26, 2015
AAA+++ Rated best stay ever in my opinion. Cleanest campground I have ever visited.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.