Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time. There are a couple things that I noticed that were different that really didn't seem right to us. Why is the pool closing at 8:00? Some people can't swim during the heat of the day and they really look forward to swimming in the evening. Second, why do visitors have to pay when the cost of camping is high? We as a group feel that should be included in your price.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
the best!! need a hot tub please a nice one!!!
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
The park was clean and lovely near the river. Close to the Park Entrance. Staff was extremely friendly. Would definitely come back again
Jun 15, 2014
Restrooms could be cleaned more often for my taste. But otherwise it was a wonderful place to stay.. loved it
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
It was a great week till agree fell on our camper and after a week have still not heard anything from corp office as to whether they are going to help us recover lost camper and possessions. The people at campground were awesome, corp...not so much!
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
People were not friendly. Sights to close together to where slide outs are on next persons sight. Was not a pleasant experience at all
Jun 13, 2014
Staff was very helpful friendly. They alerted us to bad weather approaching. I will stay here the next time.
Jun 13, 2014
Another great stay even if it was rainy.
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Our second extended stay here. Met our needs. Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
Although the sites were a little small and close together, we had a great time. Our site backed up to the river. The campground had all the necessities and more!
Jun 12, 2014
Not up to par as other koa parks we have camped at,
Jun 11, 2014
Your campground and the scenery in and around it are stunningly beautiful! Yesterday morning, my husband and I were fortunate enough to see a bald eagle going up the river, and then later on, return back down the river. We had a river front site and truly could have just spent our time watching the river go by! You truly are on the "Peaceful Side of the Smokies." We'll be back!
Jun 11, 2014
Very noisy place to stay. The road noise and people seem to drive thru the campground all night. Beware of the church people harassing you to come to their stupid activities that they're allowed to have on site. Also cramped camper sites.
Jun 11, 2014
The Price is kind of high at $67+. Cable is a joke. Rainy days and nighttime campers do watch tv so more channels are needed.
Jun 10, 2014
staff gave out our name to campers wanting our future reservations. was treated like strangers and trespassers after checking out and returning to drop off registered guest to thier campsite.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Fantastic, great area, clean, and friendly
Jun 09, 2014
So good, my wife asked that we make another reservation ASAP!
Jun 09, 2014
Great stay. Couldn't ask for much better.
Jun 09, 2014
Beautiful and peaceful KOA nestled beside the river. Friendly staff that are quick to go above and beyond helping you out.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
The 1 is for the playground. The 0 is for lack of parking beside our camper, for the very crowded conditions and for the high cost of a site. Has some excellent features but it is all so bunched up that we were constantly watching so not to run into people, bikes and our neighbor's hookup and pullout!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
loved it.
Jun 07, 2014
Well kept up park. However, it is very tight for big rigs at the pull thru sites. We had considerable trouble getting out of our assigned (59) site to depart.
Jun 07, 2014
Wonderful location as well as staff - we couldn't be happier
Jun 06, 2014
Wonderfully helpful employees, clean facilities, nice sites and beautiful grounds.
Jun 05, 2014
Wonderful!!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Beautiful campground! We had a blast while staying here....best place in town. The staff are the most caring and friendly people....amazing people!!
Jun 03, 2014
Pleasant stay. However, for a company owned KOA, doesn't seem to do anything to support kids care.
Jun 03, 2014
My wife and I both enjoyed our stay! The campground manager and his staff made our stay just great, after learning about us blowing a tire on our trip to the campground, the manager gave us a free night. This was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
We just bought our camper and this was our first time out in it. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back.Very kid friendly.
Jun 02, 2014
the bathroom and showers were very clean and everyone was very friendly
Jun 01, 2014
Great stay the c.f. is very clean and staff is great
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Loved it! Every staff member was outstanding! Bryan was always there and ready to provide to our every need! Outstanding camp ground, We will be back!!
Jun 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time as usual. Always enjoy the great people that work and make the stay great. Thanks
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
We loved your campground. It was a beautiful, peaceful setting. We had a riversite and it was roomy. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would love to come back in the future and would definitely recommend it to others traveling to the area.
May 29, 2014
This is year 15 for me and the place is in very nice condition. I stay to the right side in the woods and I don't mind paying the price however the complaint I continue to hear from myself and my neighbors is no internet signal. With cable running to nearly every site I can't believe it is that diffuclut to put up a couple of antenna's on our side. Please Please do this for me.
May 29, 2014
Wonderful time. Great location and great staff. Enjoyed the day and evening camps for the kids.
May 29, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.