Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 10, 2013
We stayed during July 4th this year and it rained and rained and rained, of course no fault of KOA. As always the staff was great we decided to leave early due to all the rain and they gladly gave us a refund. We love KOA!!!!!
Jul 10, 2013
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean facilities. Good location for Cade's Cove loop.
Jul 09, 2013
Wonderful, but wet
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Never a bad day at the KOA in Townsend even if it did rain off and on for 4 days.
Jul 08, 2013
We had a great weekend dispite the rain! Staff was very friendly and the kids program was great!!
Jul 08, 2013
We love this campground. The kids activities are awesome. Even though it rained everyday, we still has a ball! Cant wait to come back!!
Jul 08, 2013
this is my number one campground. Best group of people I have ever met.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Thank you we had a good time and we wjll be back George Andrews
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The management and staff at KOA in Townsend is so friendly and accomodating every time we have camped. They are always willing to assist in anything that we have needed and are always sincere.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Great campground on the banks of the Little and foot of the Smokeys - great access to the park. Tubing from the campground was fun. Clean facilities, courteous and helpful staff. Our original site would have been tricky for us to park in so they gave us an upgraded site at no added charge - thank you. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back.
Jul 05, 2013
This was the worst time I've ever had at your campground. The people beside us drank alcohol and were very loud and disrespectful. They never went to bed before 1 am. I could have handled all the rain but I did not go camping to listen to a bunch of drunks. I thought your campground was for family's and yes I did report it to the office.
Jul 05, 2013
I have enjoyed my stay at Townsend KOA for the last several years and hope to return for many more
Jul 05, 2013
Nice campground. One of the best. Wish I could visit more often.
Jul 05, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay at townsend koa. the staff and everyone at the campground were great.
Jul 05, 2013
Love it! Always a pleasure to stay here. The most well kept and friendliest KOA we have stayed at.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. Everything is always nice and well kept. Kids enjoyed all the activities. One stepping stone at our site was busted, we wish you still had the smaller 3 wheelers and we were disappointed that the ice cream shop was closed tues-wed....but that's the only thing I know that needed attention or we have comments about. Thanks!
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
I always enjoy staying at this campground. Everyone working there is always friendly and helpful. I am a senior and someone always helps me set up my camp site. A fellow there named Adam is a super employee. He rescued a tuber from little river, love it there. Marlyn
Jul 02, 2013
Couldn't have been better! Thanks for another wonderful stay.!
Jul 01, 2013
Very friendly staff. Nice set up for families and lots to do at the campground .
Jul 01, 2013
great for a quick weekend getaway. A little expensive but the location and amenities make it worth it!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Staff very polite, professional and helpful. Giving this campground a poor rating because sites are way too close together. Neighbor's slide was right in our face. No exaggeration, only two feet from our awning. No privacy at all and no appreciation for the scenery since you couldn't see beyond the trailers all packed in next to each other. Very disappointing.
Jul 01, 2013
The new playground is very nice. One issue we noticed this stay was how many extra vehicles were along the roadways. This made navigating large rigs in and out more difficult and presents a safety hazard for kids / pedestrians.
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Wonderful family campground. I love the fact that of the evening someone is still riding thru the campground. It makes you feel safe. Also there was a storm one night and someone was coming around the next morning checking on campers. River tubing, nice pool, awesome playground, basketball, firepits, riding bikes thru Townsend what more can I say great place for families to camp.
Jun 30, 2013
Everything was outstanding.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
This KOA is the best! Our first choice. Why? Location, Little River, river sites, and KOA staff. We camp alot and have never met a more gracious staff than Mark and his crew. They treat you like family. River sites are the best in Townsend. Not on the road and not on steep banks. The new kid's Tree Fort is unbelievable. Left yesterday and working on getting back asap. You wont be disappointed.
Jun 27, 2013
Would give a ten, but the full hook up 50 amp sites are close together.
Jun 27, 2013
We love this KOA. It's the 2nd time we've been there. The staff is very friendly, the campground is clean, and there is a lot to do!
Jun 26, 2013
Well maintained camground, friendly staff, great setting. Paradise.
Jun 26, 2013
We loved our stay. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Loved the activities for the kids.
Jun 26, 2013
Good people. Great facility. A Christian facility with great kids programs. Pricey at $70.00 a night. We moved to inside the Park for $20.00 We will be back. We need hook ups due to health reasons.Some beautiful RV sights.
Jun 25, 2013
it was great except for the rain and wind everyday. no fault of KOA
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
My family has stayed here for 6 days the past two summers and reserved our site for next summer before leaving last week. Sites can be a little tight in some areas but the overall experience is the best in the area!
Jun 24, 2013
Very nice! We plan on coming back soon! Thanks
Jun 24, 2013
We always have a great time in Townsend KOA
Jun 24, 2013
The only complaint I have is to extend wifi to back of campground.
Jun 24, 2013
Really like this KOA. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Really like that they help you get into your site. Only problem we had this time: we needed to move to a different site for the 2nd night of our stay; they rushed us to move and then no one ever showed up on the site that we vacated. Morning of our departure, we were rushed again and told we were late for check out. Otherwise good stay.
Jun 24, 2013
Excellent kampground. Many activities. Love the pool and especially the river

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.