Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Fantastic, great area, clean, and friendly
Jun 09, 2014
So good, my wife asked that we make another reservation ASAP!
Jun 09, 2014
Great stay. Couldn't ask for much better.
Jun 09, 2014
Beautiful and peaceful KOA nestled beside the river. Friendly staff that are quick to go above and beyond helping you out.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
The 1 is for the playground. The 0 is for lack of parking beside our camper, for the very crowded conditions and for the high cost of a site. Has some excellent features but it is all so bunched up that we were constantly watching so not to run into people, bikes and our neighbor's hookup and pullout!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
loved it.
Jun 07, 2014
Well kept up park. However, it is very tight for big rigs at the pull thru sites. We had considerable trouble getting out of our assigned (59) site to depart.
Jun 07, 2014
Wonderful location as well as staff - we couldn't be happier
Jun 06, 2014
Wonderfully helpful employees, clean facilities, nice sites and beautiful grounds.
Jun 05, 2014
Wonderful!!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Beautiful campground! We had a blast while staying here....best place in town. The staff are the most caring and friendly people....amazing people!!
Jun 03, 2014
Pleasant stay. However, for a company owned KOA, doesn't seem to do anything to support kids care.
Jun 03, 2014
My wife and I both enjoyed our stay! The campground manager and his staff made our stay just great, after learning about us blowing a tire on our trip to the campground, the manager gave us a free night. This was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
We just bought our camper and this was our first time out in it. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back.Very kid friendly.
Jun 02, 2014
the bathroom and showers were very clean and everyone was very friendly
Jun 01, 2014
Great stay the c.f. is very clean and staff is great
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Loved it! Every staff member was outstanding! Bryan was always there and ready to provide to our every need! Outstanding camp ground, We will be back!!
Jun 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time as usual. Always enjoy the great people that work and make the stay great. Thanks
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
We loved your campground. It was a beautiful, peaceful setting. We had a riversite and it was roomy. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would love to come back in the future and would definitely recommend it to others traveling to the area.
May 29, 2014
This is year 15 for me and the place is in very nice condition. I stay to the right side in the woods and I don't mind paying the price however the complaint I continue to hear from myself and my neighbors is no internet signal. With cable running to nearly every site I can't believe it is that diffuclut to put up a couple of antenna's on our side. Please Please do this for me.
May 29, 2014
Wonderful time. Great location and great staff. Enjoyed the day and evening camps for the kids.
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
great location, great staff, as always!
May 28, 2014
Wonderful campground great workers
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
We loved it! Very professional, personable, helpful staff . Clean facilities, lots to entertain our 7 kids!!! Our last night was very rudely interrupted by an obnoxious camper arriving at 10:30pm. The camper woke our sleeping 8 month old baby several times. The camper had zero respect for anyone else! Other than that our stay was great and we will be back!!! (The McGill's)
May 28, 2014
We realy enjoyed our stay in the wonderful Smokies Mts. the Park was wonderful, the River was clear and beautiful, definitely would stay again!!!
May 27, 2014
swimming pool should not close at 7:00 p.m. should be open later with adult swimming at least one hour.
May 27, 2014
Our families LOVE the Townsend KOA! With my two boys - now ages 14 and 12 - I have stayed here several times each year for the past 10 years!! Fellow campers say 'we have watched your kids grow up at this campground!' Great memories!!!
May 27, 2014
I am always well taken care of here! Like family.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Jeremiah, Adam and everyone were awesome as usual.
May 27, 2014
We love, love, love the KOA Townsend. Clean. Family friendly. Well maintained. Great employees. Best KOA on the planet!!! Can not wait to go back!!!
May 25, 2014
The place was great. We enjoyed our stay there very much but wish we were still there. Office staff was friendli and very helpful. I caught a trout on my 3rd throw and no one else caugh a trout. The only draw back and It's minor Is thet the spaces are too close together. I am used to Natl or State campgrounds but they dont offer water, sewer or electric and we are at the age where we need these.
May 25, 2014
Thank you for making our camping trip great in every way! Staff is always so helpful! Sites on river are wonderful!
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
May 24, 2014
Excellent campground. There are cheaper campgrounds but, the difference is clear to see.
May 23, 2014
May 23, 2014
Perfect weather! A relaxing time. Staff was great as usual!
May 22, 2014
Beautiful surroundings and very nice people. Seems to me though that you shouldn't have to charge for visitors. The fee to stay should cover an afternoon visitor. Excellent facilities.
May 22, 2014
Loved being right on the river, saw the rainbows rising as the sun set and caught some. Very nice place.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.