Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
We love this KOA and we come here often. They are always doing things to improve the campground, so every time we come back they have upgraded something. We enjoy camping there just me and my husband or with all 5 kids. Everyone loves it!
Jun 22, 2015
Was very enjoyable. We will camp again here
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
This is the best campground. The grounds are kept clean and the workers are all very friendly and kind at all times. I highly recommend this campground to everyone I meet. Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to making our stay enjoyable.
Jun 21, 2015
Beautiful campground and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 21, 2015
This KOA was very clean and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were clean and well kept. The shower houses were updated and clean. With all of this the stay was quite pricey!
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 19, 2015
as usual all the staff go above and beyond to help extremely friendly !
Jun 18, 2015
Awesome
Jun 17, 2015
Our 2nd visit and the wife and I are very comfortable here. We love the area and the sites are nice, we will be back.
Jun 17, 2015
Staff is exceptional,helpful & friendly.Sites are prepared but narrow. Parking space very scare.
Jun 16, 2015
We were not given the site we had reserved last June 2014 adjacent to other family's site. We had 2 vehicles (1 with car seats for 2 grandbabies and 1 for elderly, disabled grandfather). We were threatened with eviction and that authorities would be called if 1 vehicle was not moved. We complied, but our camping experience was ruined by Mr Chipperfield. We will not be back and would not recommend.
Jun 16, 2015
Without a doubt this is my favorite camp ground. The staff if very friendly and easy to work with. The grounds are a 10+ and the updated facilities are as nice if not nicer than my own home. I truly love staying at this campground. They have upgraded many of the sites as well as made the riverside sites full hookup, Mark, you and your staff have knocked it out of the park! Thank you.
Jun 16, 2015
My family had a wonderful stay. Love this KOA-my favorite campground! Only thing I would change is to make wifi stronger near the river sites w/the balconies. (It's good to unplug for a week, but sometimes it's good to be able to connect on a rainy day). This wouldn't prevent me from staying again, but it would be a nice addition. Also, love the upgrades you made over the winter!
Jun 16, 2015
The campsites are too close together. Whene sitting outside at our table we were right at our neighbors sewage connection. We were at a preferred site to. We will request a different site if we return. They have redone a few sites in the middle that were nice. Everything else was ok. People were nice.
Jun 16, 2015
We have stayed here for 6years in a row. The bath house is always clean and that means a lot to us.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
the staff was very nice and helpfull.
Jun 15, 2015
We found the river front campsites too small, to close to the firepits making us very uncomfortable when someone had a fire. We moved to the lower level deluxe sites and found them more relaxing. Your staff were all very friendly and helpful whenever we needed something. The location was within a half hour drive to most points of interest. The Smokey Mts. was awesome with all the wildlife.
Jun 15, 2015
Everything was wonderful except the people who let their dog start barking both mornings around 8am and it continued without trying to stop it for half an hour. This isn't acceptable.
Jun 15, 2015
Great place for our scattered families to meet. We love the improvements. This koa gets better every time we visit
Jun 15, 2015
Site was nice but had a tree in the middle so we could not open our awning. Also the wifi is very hard to connect not a good signal.
Jun 15, 2015
Great sites and very helpful staff
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
We have been staying here for years & now starting a new generation with our grandkids. Mark & staff-Thanks for always making us feel welcome. mike & Dana Jones
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great staff and atmosphere
Jun 15, 2015
Clean! A lot of activities and extremely friendly staff! We will be back soon!
Jun 14, 2015
No trees fell on us this year so it was a great year.
Jun 14, 2015
It was wonderful!
Jun 14, 2015
Awesome campground. Very family friendly. Great staff. Clean, neat, great pool, nice sites. All the Staff was helpful and didn't meet one that wasn't friendly. We will come again
Jun 13, 2015
Loved my site among small trailers since mine is only 16'. I would not want to be near ones with pull outs as they hog their site and the one next to it. You should plan for this and put them on very large sites away for others.
Jun 12, 2015
A beautifully, quiet setting. Have stayed here many times and will do in the future. A recycling program would be a welcomed addition to the campground.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Great staff! All very helpful
Jun 11, 2015
This particular campground is is the most enjoyable campground in the midwest. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The surroundings are gorgeous. Everything is clean yet part of nature. My family much prefers this campground to our condo in Gatlinburg. Can't wait to cone back!!
Jun 11, 2015
Great campground, very well run.
Jun 09, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA and we had a great time. The sites were clean and the staff was friendly. The only suggestion I have is to improve the check-in process. We were not given a map, told anything about the facilities (such as trash pick-up or dumpster locations), or provided a list of rules.
Jun 09, 2015
love the upgrades!!!
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our4 days very much! Cleanliness, activities, friendliness of staff, showers, dog park, pool, and playground- all 5 stars! I think another restroom would be appreciated- as I do not care for using the porta-potties. But the bath house/restroom is really nice!
Jun 09, 2015
This is a very nice campground. Very pretty sites. Only downside for us is that campsites are a little too close to each other. Really like the ones with the patio, with the awesome firepit and table and chairs.
Jun 08, 2015
Great campground. Very clean. The staff is very nice. All kinds of activities for the children. Nice drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Very close to the national park. Sites are decent on size. Very nicely landscaped. Grocery store and hardware store very close by. Fully stocked camp store with a lot of extra surprises. Gas station on site. Very well kept pool. Looking forward to going back.
Jun 08, 2015
many thanks to a good weekend
Jun 08, 2015
I know it's not the fault of the KOA. It's just that time of year, but it is just too packed in where our campsite was. We were not there much to enjoy the campground, so it really did not matter, though.
Jun 08, 2015
We have stayed at this campground long before it was KOA. The quality and the improvements are stellar. There is no other place in the truly "quiet side of the Smoky's" to stay. The showers are completed redone; more campsites are full hook-ups. The owners are super friendly. If you truly want to experience the true Smoky Mountains, you owe it to yourself to experience the KOA in Townsend
Jun 08, 2015
My first stay at KOA and loved the hospitality and help provided by staff. Beautiful Campground!
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the stay. Campground was exceptional. Clean. Friendly. Great support from staff. Bathrooms and showers above expectation in order and cleanliness. Only negative was the movie Saturday night. It was loud and disturbing even at our camp site which was nearly on the other side of the campus. Can't imagine having camped right next to that area. Stop the movie. It's camping.
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was very accommodating and courteous. The new sites are very nice with patios and furniture.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.