Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed out stay in Space 86. Especially enjoyed the ministries that had Bible School for our kiddos. They were wonderful! Also enjoyed the improvements you have made to the area we were in....the privacy bushes, etc. it is really nice, and helped make our visit enjoyable. Thanks again!
Jul 17, 2014
We enjoyed camping close to the river! The grandchildren really enjoyed the day camp and we had a blast with Family nite activities. The camp site was clean and well laid out. I wish that there was a building with flush toilets where they had the portable toilets.Better than nothing for the tent campers.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
this park is not built for RV's 40' plus, great for short RV's and campers/tents. Thanks to Jimbo for watching our dog during a medical emergency.
Jul 13, 2014
Always the best.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Campground staff always great, site 13 where we stayed had a sewer pipe up about 8 inches from ground which made it hard to empty waste water and other, all others I saw were level with ground and our site needed gravel, when it rained we were in the mud. And these sites were the most expensive on river, balcony, full hookup. Otherwise good camping.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We always have a great time at the KOA in Townsend and looking forward to many more...THANKS!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Everything is great..The prices are getting so high that you can almost stay in a nice hotel for the same price...
Jul 09, 2014
It was a wonderful stay! I do wish the pool stayed open a little later for the kids. Most places we stay at the pool stays open until at least 10. Thank you! Awesome staff awesome stay!
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
The campground is well maintained and very convenient to all of the Smoky Mountain attractions in the national park.
Jul 04, 2014
Had another great stay. This is our 3rd trip to this Koa. Our family loves it. Great staff and facility
Jul 03, 2014
Our favorite place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great destination resort. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean, lots of fun activities, great area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jul 01, 2014
We love it here! Come and stay in Townsend at KOA one time a year for a entire week with a group of friends and our kids!! Camp on river and its a good relaxing week!!!
Jul 01, 2014
Campground was as always, very nice. Great activities. Time to tear down the bath house and start over. It's a disgrace.
Jul 01, 2014
Perfect setting, beautiful campsite, nice facilities. We loved it there and wish we had booked longer.
Jul 01, 2014
Very friendly KOA "helpers"! They assisted in numerous ways. Our first time camping with trailer we purchased donor was learning experience but these folks are great! The grounds are kept safe & clean! Two important factors for our family. We even had two cabins!
Jul 01, 2014
All was fantastic! Cannot wait to be back!
Jun 30, 2014
AS always the KOA at Townsend was great. The camp ground was clean, easy access to every facility, and the staff from check in to check out was very friendly and helpful. I plan on going back to this KOA again and would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys camping.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great campground with nice people that run it and work there.
Jun 30, 2014
We had a blast! I would def stay there again. Lots of things to do for the kids!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
The site was too small for my 34 ft fifth wheel and could not run out the slides for the trees. Had to pull rig out into road some to get slides out. Was not offered another site. No place to park truck out of road. Site was too small and they were told size when reserv. was made. The sewer hookup was a foot above ground. Crap does not flow uphill.
Jun 29, 2014
Mowed site while was camping, hit camper with rocks and trimmer got grass all over our towels and clothes that was drying. The river is great tubing. Get season pass from River Rat.
Jun 29, 2014
We were on space 11. Bad news; On Saturday morning we had a foul septic smell enter our RV: some KOA folks were attempting to clean out a stopped septic feed on space 12. Wow it was a very bad odor as we prepared and ate breakfast. The septic overflow got on our concrete pad Hour later: problem fixed, pad hosed off, odor gone. Good news: welcome staff was 10+ assisting w/ my wife's hair n
Jun 28, 2014
Very clean and nicely landscaped campground. Good people there. We had a really nice stay. We will be back.
Jun 28, 2014
We had a very nice stay. The site was a little small, but the staff was wonderful. thank you for our great vacation.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
great location to see smokies.well away from the crowds of pigeon forge/gatlinburg. would get five stars except for numerous yapping dogs (little dogs) that owners would place outside while they were in their campers
Jun 27, 2014
Great location. Sites are tight but that's more and more common (unfortunately). Bathroom and showers were dirty whenever I used them. No hand soap available in mens room. NO AC in showers so you break out into a sweat immediately after showering. I expect more from a KOA.
Jun 26, 2014
Our family stayed in a deluxe cabin and a campsite. Everything was clean and ready. The pool was nice and well maintained. The KOA staff members were very efficient and friendly. We'll stay here again!
Jun 25, 2014
Overall a nice campground. Great location, clean, lots of trees. we have a 30'TT and were in the newer section adjacent to the tent camping. Backing into the site was a bit tricky but leaving was harrowing...between the trees and the rocks and narrow drive. we'd stay again but not in that section.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Great Place
Jun 23, 2014
We had a remarkable time. The camp ground was nice but VERY cramped in the section where we stayed,too close to use the pits. However this closeness made us meet our neighbors as outside privacy was nil. We still had a great time, due to the friends we made due to this closeness. One neighbor was a KOA employee who was a first class employee and became a friend, making the experience memorable.
Jun 23, 2014
Center part of the RV campground was a little more cramped than I like but the spot we had was great with lots of room on either side and that awesome view of the river.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time- nice place, friendly folks. Only complaint is this place really isn't big rig friendly.Had a devil of a time getting out!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Without a doubt my most favorite camp ground. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I compare all other campgrounds to Townsend KOA and so far none can compare. Mark and Daisey are the best staff members and I actually miss them when we have to leave. See you next year.
Jun 22, 2014
Generally a good experience. KOA needs to upgrade its wi-fi. More than an inconvenience, my wife and I need to keep in contact with both our jobs and our site did not have wifi. Sites are crowded. Movie advertised for an 8pm start, started at 8:45 and was way too kids-oriented for us. Staff is great. River is refreshing.
Jun 22, 2014
Campsite were very nice, not real happy with the porta potties and the wifi was very weak and slow. Otherwise happy with campgrounds.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.