Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Fantastic place to camp! Great showers! Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly!
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean restrooms! Great place to stay!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Always a great stay!
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We love this campground. It has become an "annual retreat" for our entire family. The owners are making some great improvements.
Jul 21, 2015
Like the campground but not happy with busy area our lot was in. Too much traffic with site. Fires were too close for lot sizes.
Jul 21, 2015
great
Jul 21, 2015
Had a great time , kids had a blast , the Bible day camp and family night fun was awesome !! Pool and bathrooms super clean ,all staff very friendly ,Def would stay again :)
Jul 21, 2015
Amenities great. However too pricey for camping. Sites were extremely small. We had a hard time getting our trailer backed in and our truck still stuck out in the road. Plus they would let us camp near our friends because they were in a tent and we have a camper.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
It was very nice and the folks working there were nice and helpful
Jul 20, 2015
Great, family friendly campground!
Jul 20, 2015
A little cramped and the bathrooms could use a little more TLC. Other than that, nice place. Pool was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Seriously the best showers I have ever seen in a campground! Friendly people and accommodating to our late arrival. Nice pool, very clean, small but perfect for the kids, and warm! Right near the entrance to the Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain National Park.
Jul 20, 2015
We have camped here for many years always enjoy our stay
Jul 20, 2015
Townsend Koa is a very nice campground the people there are always very helpful. They have lots of activities for the children.
Jul 20, 2015
Great family oriented campground. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy. If your looking for a place with great views close to the mountains and lots of kids and friendly adults this is the place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground, but seems rather expensive.
Jul 19, 2015
Reserved site #59 was relocated to another location due to park site improvements. KOA should have notified me prior to arrival. New location was not what I wanted. However, site upgrades are excellent.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our second stay at this KOA. Seven years ago it was a great place, this year was even better. They did a lot of upgrades to the newly remodel campsites with nice table and chairs, paver patio, stone fire pits. We love the river out back for tubing and the location of this KOA in Townsend gives you a more natural stay, no hussle of a big city. The city is only 15 miles away and has it all.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time! The staff members were super friendly and always eager to accommodate the needs of the visitors! They were very proactive. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one!
Jul 19, 2015
great koa, clean and very friendly
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time. Plan on staying there next time we go to the Smokies.
Jul 18, 2015
Campground is beautiful & clean. People are friendly. I have 1 concern. I was walking 2 small dogs. There were campers checking in and 1 pulled out & 1 behind pulled down. I saw the man who had been helping campers back in on a golfcart so I stepped into empty campsite to get out of way. As I did, dogs peed on grass. The man nicely said to contain the dogs to the dog area. That is far to take them
Jul 18, 2015
Upgrades were so nice; bigger sites, paver patio, and fire pit. Very nice workers and very clean campground. We would stay here again! Downsides; the wood sold to most people didn't burn and the garbage man came to empty the dumpster at 5:30 in the morning! : (
Jul 16, 2015
We left our site for the day and the staff took items from our campsite. We told the office but nothing was done. So we had to replace these items on the road. Also cleaning bathrooms from 1:00 to 3:00 PM was very inconvenient. Also price was too high in our opinion, even more than Pigeon Forge KOA.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Need better wifi. Suggestion to put wifi extenders around campground.
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground!
Jul 14, 2015
Great campground with friendly hosts. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 14, 2015
Everything would have been great if I had not had my billfold stolen, by one of your employees
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground! Clean, well maintained, shady campsites nestled among mature trees along the Little Pigeon River. Lots of activities. Love the dog yard. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Exceptional in every way. The location could not be better. The management and staff are really great people. We consider it a home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Campground is one of the nicest we have stayed at . Clean , well taken care of , updated and plenty of helpful staff. Would definately stay again .
Jul 13, 2015
Great site on the river and the people working there were very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We were very inpressed with all the helpers, groundskeepers. Very family friendly. Will be back. The Music's
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
The showers could use a little more upkeep. The campground is GREAT! Staff friendly and helpful. Deluxe patio sites and really nice.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff were the best I've ever met! Our experience was extraordinary!
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. Woke up at 12:30am by somebody playing their radio. I heard the music until 1 or 1:30am. I couldn't find a number to call and report the music on any of the documentation given to me upon check-in. KOA should do a better job to inform the campers of who and how to contact someone when something happens through the night. Should also do a better job of enforcing quiet time.
Jul 12, 2015
Clean beautiful setting friendly staff lots to do. My grandson 8 loved it too. Thanks for offering the programs and convenient tubing. Will be back

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.