Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground!
Jul 14, 2015
Great campground with friendly hosts. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 14, 2015
Everything would have been great if I had not had my billfold stolen, by one of your employees
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground! Clean, well maintained, shady campsites nestled among mature trees along the Little Pigeon River. Lots of activities. Love the dog yard. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Exceptional in every way. The location could not be better. The management and staff are really great people. We consider it a home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Campground is one of the nicest we have stayed at . Clean , well taken care of , updated and plenty of helpful staff. Would definately stay again .
Jul 13, 2015
Great site on the river and the people working there were very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We were very inpressed with all the helpers, groundskeepers. Very family friendly. Will be back. The Music's
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
The showers could use a little more upkeep. The campground is GREAT! Staff friendly and helpful. Deluxe patio sites and really nice.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff were the best I've ever met! Our experience was extraordinary!
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. Woke up at 12:30am by somebody playing their radio. I heard the music until 1 or 1:30am. I couldn't find a number to call and report the music on any of the documentation given to me upon check-in. KOA should do a better job to inform the campers of who and how to contact someone when something happens through the night. Should also do a better job of enforcing quiet time.
Jul 12, 2015
Clean beautiful setting friendly staff lots to do. My grandson 8 loved it too. Thanks for offering the programs and convenient tubing. Will be back
Jul 11, 2015
Had a great two night stay on our way to see our son in SC. The staff was incredible and the park was beautiful. Having a gas station right next to the campground was a real convenience. I already have recommended this campground to my son and my wife and I hope to visit again soon.
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We were very pleased with the kampground and will definitely stay at other KOA kamps.
Jul 10, 2015
Awsome stay as always didnt want to leave very friendly people and good people be back in the fall of 2016
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was really clean. And the staff was helpful and answered all of our questions.
Jul 09, 2015
From the time we pulled in until the time we had to depart we felt like we were staying with friends! Great staff!Very clean. Fun kid activities! We made reservations for next summer!
Jul 08, 2015
Your prices are way to high we have been staying at this camp ground over 25 years before u ever bought it but your rates are out rageous and you are forcing our family and five others we camp woth to find another place Our daugheter and hisband and boys; our son and his wife and boy; our fried and his wife ; his son wife and three girls; our cousin and his family Other Koas are half this
Jul 08, 2015
Great place, clean, happy, and well managed! Minor issue: Would like to see the WiFi extend out further into the campground for a more stable connection as you can't get a cell signal in the campground.
Jul 07, 2015
Love the campground and the staff however prices have been raised quite a bit. Also a suggestion - make sites 14 and 15 into one site. Very difficult to park one vehicle on each site. We were delayed an hour when leaving because the people next to us were gone and we cannot get our camper out. Very frustrating.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time. We were a little disappointed in our site being very muddy with all the rain, but overall things were good. We've already made reservations for next July 4th.
Jul 07, 2015
Lovely lady at the front desk who was kind enough to take the time to help us extend our stay over the busy holiday weekend (Mickey/daisy) The pool area was clean and the restrooms were very nice. Loved the patios and fire pits. Somewhere we picked up poison ivy but not sure exactly where. Very quiet campground. Loved all the kid activities, the youth group there was fun to work with over the four
Jul 06, 2015
Nice clean place, a bit close together and pricey but lIke the new sewer and fire pits.
Jul 06, 2015
Great sites! Some of the staff is friendly!
Jul 06, 2015
Even with the rain!! We had an awesome time as always!
Jul 06, 2015
we had a perfect weekend the rain didn't ruin it and everybody that work there.were extra nice,also that our favorite camp ground it so peace there
Jul 06, 2015
I was impressed with the updates given to some of the spots. There was a storm one of the nights we were there, our awning broke and covered up the door. As we were finally getting out the KOA workers were right there to help us in any way. All through the day they asked if they could help us in any way. Really appreciated the way they took care of us.
Jul 06, 2015
great
Jul 06, 2015
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great amenities. The only negative is the campsites are so close together.
Jul 03, 2015
We've camped here numerous times. While I appreciate the new upgrades, I don't necessarily live them. The fire pits are now too deep to allow adequate oxygen for a good campfire. Also, the sites are much tighter. Our fire pit was 18" from our neighbor's septic hookup.
Jul 03, 2015
Enjoyed everyone was friendly staff and guests. Was clean and sites were attractive.
Jul 02, 2015
Very nice sites, and the staff was really attentive. Sites were far enough and wooded enough that it didn't seem crowded at all. We loved it!
Jun 30, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
All KOA employees were very friendly and helpful with every question or request that we had.
Jun 30, 2015
We loved it
Jun 29, 2015
Incredible as always,friendly staff and great facilities. We have already booked again.
Jun 29, 2015
As always, great staff and great campground. Always clean and lots to do. Thanks again for a great experience!
Jun 29, 2015
We love camping here, PLEASE make some improvements to the off leash dog area! Water for one, making sure poop bags are always full, better places to sit would be nice and trash empty. Love the new sites!
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful ,friendly staff! Clean park. Lots of fun things to do!
Jun 29, 2015
Great week. Extremely helpful staff.
Jun 29, 2015
Enjoyed the easy access to river and pool was great!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Disappointed that the bathrooms are so far from many campsites. Had to use port-o-johns, especially in the middle of the night. Campsites are close together and there is no central place for dishes. Also, gravel road and gravel campsites are difficult for riding bikes and uncomfortable for walking.
Jun 28, 2015
As always, staff very friendly and grounds in great shape. Pool was cloudy one day but didnt stop kids from a great swim. Thank you for a wonderful week camping with grand kids. Ps..showers look great and bathrooms Always well stocked!!
Jun 27, 2015
Had another great stay, just missed the shade from the large tree that was cut. Everyone was friendly and our stay enjoyable. Wil be back in July!
Jun 27, 2015
Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Location was just far enough away from the busy Gatlinburg area.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.