Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Nov 02, 2014
Nov 01, 2014
Great stay. Clean and neat. Site was hard to get in and out of parking wise. Enjoyed the color of fall.
Oct 31, 2014
The Townsend KOA is our home away from home. We especially enjoy this one because we know most of the folks who work there. Doug & Ann Williams
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
We were delighted with everything but the price. The staff were very helpful!!
Oct 31, 2014
Friendly staff,quiet place to enjoy your time away. Clean and close to whatever, or just sit back and watch The Little River!!
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
Beautiful, clean, quiet campground with an awesome, friendly staff.
Oct 29, 2014
Great stay as usual!
Oct 29, 2014
We were in Townsend to visit old friends, and our stay at the KOA was lovely. The front desk was especially helpful, over the phone and in person. Even the grounds keepers went out of their way to be nice and helpful.
Oct 29, 2014
Loved it...the staff was excellent and very helpful at all times. Will definitely return.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
It was excellent stay. The people and staff was nice and always ready to help . We will be back.
Oct 28, 2014
Thanks to two great young men at KOA, Jordan and Jeremiah, our trip was rescued when they worked to find the blown fuse in our power hitch. Friendly, helpful folks. And what a beautiful camp! It is like staying in the park! The only negative was the very poor wifi which kept us from sharing pictures and blog with family. I would DEFINITELY return to this KOA even without wifi!
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great campground, terrific staff. Best place to stay while visiting the great Smokey Mountains.
Oct 27, 2014
This KOA is for people with kids. If don't mind kids running through your campsite or all the screaming, then this is the campground for you. If not, recommend you go elsewhere. Also, the spacing between sites is very tight. Bathrooms were nice and clean. Workers and management are very friendly.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a great time - 1st time there and we will be back in the future. We needed a bigger site, but since we made last minute plans, it worked for us. Thanks to the friendly staff.
Oct 27, 2014
The staff was the best,and the place was very clean. Loved it and will return.
Oct 27, 2014
Nice campsite on the river!!! Very peaceful atmosphere and friendly staff. Will definitely come back to this site in the future.
Oct 27, 2014
For the price we paid, too far from bathhouse, no sewage hookup, somebody left at 5 am and were trying to wake everybody with noise and lights. All the people we dealt with were very friendly.
Oct 26, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
Second time staying here
Oct 26, 2014
We enjoyed our time and relaxed so much. The weather was great and the colors were awesome.
Oct 25, 2014
Mark thanks for all your travel advice. The fort was awesome
Oct 25, 2014
Very clean. Friendly staff, very helpful. We will be back.
Oct 24, 2014
Friendly staff, close to Cades Cove in the Smokies, Nice clean restrooms, stayed in a 30' 5th wheel. We will be back.
Oct 24, 2014
We stayed at site 87. Probably one of the prettiest site we had ever stay at. We have stayed here many times over the past ten years and have enjoyed our stay every time. We did however have a few downers. The first was the group getting loud directly across from us(west of site 87 across the grass area between us,way passed 10:00! Also,the dumping of sewage next to us during our breakfast!:(
Oct 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The campgrounds are very well taken care of, everyone was very friendly. Only downside is that the sites are just too close together.
Oct 24, 2014
The staff was super friendly and helpful.
Oct 23, 2014
Location was good. I reserved site over 2 months in advance only to be placed on a campsite barely big enough for 28 ft. RV with no place to park vehicle. The more spacious lots are given to larger RVs and ones with slides. Rates were too high for the experience I had. Won't camp there again.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Nice staff, neat location. Water leak at site made for messy unhook.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
everyone was very friendly! it was our second stay!
Oct 20, 2014
Our main complaint is the tightness of the campsites. We had a 40 foot camper beside us which completely obstructed our view. It made us feel very cramped. The vehicles also surrounded us to match.
Oct 20, 2014
We always enjoy staying at KOA Townsend
Oct 20, 2014
Prices keep going up and up. Lots of complaints from other campers. There are other options. I hope they realize that.
Oct 20, 2014
Sites too tight. Hard to get in and out. No here to park your truck once your camper is set up.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Would like to see shelves in showers.Staff was very friendly and helpful
Oct 20, 2014
It was a short stay but I enjoyed it. Great time an place thanks
Oct 20, 2014
Seemed well taken care of. All staff were helpful and friendly. Impressed with the cleanliness of restrooms and showers.
Oct 20, 2014
The employees sat in a golf cart right next to our site and stared at us until we left. We hadn't even pulled out of the site all the way before they started blowing it off for the next people. I wasn't too happy about it.
Oct 20, 2014
Great campground. Extremely friendly and accomodating staff. Only complaint is that when it fills up wireless coverage gets terrible more because of signal blockage by the additional RV's than additional usage. You can walk up to the front and get on fine. Additional hotspots on the fringes would help!
Oct 18, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.