Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 15, 2015
Site was nice but had a tree in the middle so we could not open our awning. Also the wifi is very hard to connect not a good signal.
Jun 15, 2015
Great sites and very helpful staff
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
We have been staying here for years & now starting a new generation with our grandkids. Mark & staff-Thanks for always making us feel welcome. mike & Dana Jones
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great staff and atmosphere
Jun 15, 2015
Clean! A lot of activities and extremely friendly staff! We will be back soon!
Jun 14, 2015
No trees fell on us this year so it was a great year.
Jun 14, 2015
It was wonderful!
Jun 14, 2015
Awesome campground. Very family friendly. Great staff. Clean, neat, great pool, nice sites. All the Staff was helpful and didn't meet one that wasn't friendly. We will come again
Jun 13, 2015
Loved my site among small trailers since mine is only 16'. I would not want to be near ones with pull outs as they hog their site and the one next to it. You should plan for this and put them on very large sites away for others.
Jun 12, 2015
A beautifully, quiet setting. Have stayed here many times and will do in the future. A recycling program would be a welcomed addition to the campground.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Great staff! All very helpful
Jun 11, 2015
This particular campground is is the most enjoyable campground in the midwest. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The surroundings are gorgeous. Everything is clean yet part of nature. My family much prefers this campground to our condo in Gatlinburg. Can't wait to cone back!!
Jun 11, 2015
Great campground, very well run.
Jun 09, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA and we had a great time. The sites were clean and the staff was friendly. The only suggestion I have is to improve the check-in process. We were not given a map, told anything about the facilities (such as trash pick-up or dumpster locations), or provided a list of rules.
Jun 09, 2015
love the upgrades!!!
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our4 days very much! Cleanliness, activities, friendliness of staff, showers, dog park, pool, and playground- all 5 stars! I think another restroom would be appreciated- as I do not care for using the porta-potties. But the bath house/restroom is really nice!
Jun 09, 2015
This is a very nice campground. Very pretty sites. Only downside for us is that campsites are a little too close to each other. Really like the ones with the patio, with the awesome firepit and table and chairs.
Jun 08, 2015
Great campground. Very clean. The staff is very nice. All kinds of activities for the children. Nice drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Very close to the national park. Sites are decent on size. Very nicely landscaped. Grocery store and hardware store very close by. Fully stocked camp store with a lot of extra surprises. Gas station on site. Very well kept pool. Looking forward to going back.
Jun 08, 2015
many thanks to a good weekend
Jun 08, 2015
I know it's not the fault of the KOA. It's just that time of year, but it is just too packed in where our campsite was. We were not there much to enjoy the campground, so it really did not matter, though.
Jun 08, 2015
We have stayed at this campground long before it was KOA. The quality and the improvements are stellar. There is no other place in the truly "quiet side of the Smoky's" to stay. The showers are completed redone; more campsites are full hook-ups. The owners are super friendly. If you truly want to experience the true Smoky Mountains, you owe it to yourself to experience the KOA in Townsend
Jun 08, 2015
My first stay at KOA and loved the hospitality and help provided by staff. Beautiful Campground!
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the stay. Campground was exceptional. Clean. Friendly. Great support from staff. Bathrooms and showers above expectation in order and cleanliness. Only negative was the movie Saturday night. It was loud and disturbing even at our camp site which was nearly on the other side of the campus. Can't imagine having camped right next to that area. Stop the movie. It's camping.
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was very accommodating and courteous. The new sites are very nice with patios and furniture.
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the new bathroom facility. Had an issue with a racoon that got into our food tote and chewed a hole in our lp gas line on our camp stove and grill.
Jun 08, 2015
I stayed this past weekend with my 22 year old son and 3 little 6 year old boys. All had an excellent time. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Fun was had for all.
Jun 08, 2015
Really great spot. Super clean.
Jun 07, 2015
We've camped in Townsend many times before and decided to try the KOA for the first time. It is now our absolute favorite place to stay. Thank you for making us feel welcome and comfortable.
Jun 07, 2015
This is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at! We are already planning a trip back in the fall. The staff was friendly and there were a lot of activities for the kids. We will be back!!!
Jun 05, 2015
Campsites were very nice and clean and updated. All facilities and staff were top notch. Loved the activities at the pavilion. The staff were great and loved there Christian witness a+
Jun 05, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
Fabulous campground. We really enjoyed the family night activities by the group from CHARM. Conveniently located a short drive to Cade's Cove, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg. Great local restaurants and activities.
Jun 04, 2015
The new premium spot are absolutely beautiful. Love this campground.It is landscaped beautiful with lots of trees. The bath houses were always clean and very nice.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much everyone was nice and courteous
Jun 01, 2015
IT WAS A GREAT CAMPGROUND,CLEAN RESTROOMS AND BIG SITES.
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Great place. Friendly and helpful. Sites are roomy. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 01, 2015
I am so impressed with the hospitality and how they cater to kids. Hope to be back there soon!
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice, friendly, clean, beautiful, good value
Jun 01, 2015
I have stayed at A LOT of KOAs around the country and this was by far the cleanest, nicest and well run from the time we pulled in to the time we left. We will come back and have already recommended to people.
May 31, 2015
Our third time at Koa in Townsend tn we love it. Kids love the river and also the pool. Nice bathhouses and real nice employees very helpful
May 27, 2015
The person next to us had a slide out that was right up to our fire pit which made us not be able to have a fire. The guys who help you back up should have had that camper over more towards the patio in order for the slide out to not be right up to our fire pit
May 27, 2015
This was my first time staying at a KOA. We camp in a group of 20-25 and we now find ourselves with a gaggle of little kids now! Koa had so many activities and ammenities like the pool and playground our little guys loved it. As a mom who camps by herself it was nice to have someone to help me navigate into my spot. My only negative was how close the sites were to each other.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.