Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Great campground with nice people that run it and work there.
Jun 30, 2014
We had a blast! I would def stay there again. Lots of things to do for the kids!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
The site was too small for my 34 ft fifth wheel and could not run out the slides for the trees. Had to pull rig out into road some to get slides out. Was not offered another site. No place to park truck out of road. Site was too small and they were told size when reserv. was made. The sewer hookup was a foot above ground. Crap does not flow uphill.
Jun 29, 2014
Mowed site while was camping, hit camper with rocks and trimmer got grass all over our towels and clothes that was drying. The river is great tubing. Get season pass from River Rat.
Jun 29, 2014
We were on space 11. Bad news; On Saturday morning we had a foul septic smell enter our RV: some KOA folks were attempting to clean out a stopped septic feed on space 12. Wow it was a very bad odor as we prepared and ate breakfast. The septic overflow got on our concrete pad Hour later: problem fixed, pad hosed off, odor gone. Good news: welcome staff was 10+ assisting w/ my wife's hair n
Jun 28, 2014
Very clean and nicely landscaped campground. Good people there. We had a really nice stay. We will be back.
Jun 28, 2014
We had a very nice stay. The site was a little small, but the staff was wonderful. thank you for our great vacation.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
great location to see smokies.well away from the crowds of pigeon forge/gatlinburg. would get five stars except for numerous yapping dogs (little dogs) that owners would place outside while they were in their campers
Jun 27, 2014
Great location. Sites are tight but that's more and more common (unfortunately). Bathroom and showers were dirty whenever I used them. No hand soap available in mens room. NO AC in showers so you break out into a sweat immediately after showering. I expect more from a KOA.
Jun 26, 2014
Our family stayed in a deluxe cabin and a campsite. Everything was clean and ready. The pool was nice and well maintained. The KOA staff members were very efficient and friendly. We'll stay here again!
Jun 25, 2014
Overall a nice campground. Great location, clean, lots of trees. we have a 30'TT and were in the newer section adjacent to the tent camping. Backing into the site was a bit tricky but leaving was harrowing...between the trees and the rocks and narrow drive. we'd stay again but not in that section.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Great Place
Jun 23, 2014
We had a remarkable time. The camp ground was nice but VERY cramped in the section where we stayed,too close to use the pits. However this closeness made us meet our neighbors as outside privacy was nil. We still had a great time, due to the friends we made due to this closeness. One neighbor was a KOA employee who was a first class employee and became a friend, making the experience memorable.
Jun 23, 2014
Center part of the RV campground was a little more cramped than I like but the spot we had was great with lots of room on either side and that awesome view of the river.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time- nice place, friendly folks. Only complaint is this place really isn't big rig friendly.Had a devil of a time getting out!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Without a doubt my most favorite camp ground. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I compare all other campgrounds to Townsend KOA and so far none can compare. Mark and Daisey are the best staff members and I actually miss them when we have to leave. See you next year.
Jun 22, 2014
Generally a good experience. KOA needs to upgrade its wi-fi. More than an inconvenience, my wife and I need to keep in contact with both our jobs and our site did not have wifi. Sites are crowded. Movie advertised for an 8pm start, started at 8:45 and was way too kids-oriented for us. Staff is great. River is refreshing.
Jun 22, 2014
Campsite were very nice, not real happy with the porta potties and the wifi was very weak and slow. Otherwise happy with campgrounds.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
My family and I had such a wonderful time in Townsend. We just bought our first camper and had some struggles setting up. The KOA staff jumped right in and helped us. We couldn't thank them enough. Our three children loved the bible school and all the other activities they offer the kids. We plan on returning next month!
Jun 21, 2014
2nd year in a row we brought our grand daughters. We all had a great time. Kids camp sponsored By CHARM was great. Campsite and all facilities clean and beautiful.
Jun 21, 2014
it was good
Jun 21, 2014
Thank you Townsend KOA! What a great week of vacation. This was our first KOA stay and you have set a high standard! Looking forward to coming back.
Jun 20, 2014
Anhelpy and anfrendly stuff.
Jun 19, 2014
Always pleasant and friendly staff each and every time we stay, our favorite place to stay in townsend, tn.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Wonderful place to h ave a family get together! Our grandchildren are ready to stay there again. Nice and clean. Friendly & helpful staff. They went out of their way to make us welcome
Jun 18, 2014
We love staying at KOA in Townsend. Staff is very friendly, campsite are well maintained. I give them a 10!!!
Jun 18, 2014
Only complaint is that the popcorn should be free on movie night...as the ice cream, snow cones, watermelon...all snacks on other nights were free! We didn't have any cash so my kids were disappointed when we couldn't scrape up any money for the popcorn! Otherwise...great campground. Clean bathrooms, loved the tubing on the river!
Jun 17, 2014
As always very friendly staff, helpful, fun place to be these hot summer days. It is the best campground in Townsend, TN
Jun 16, 2014
Nice & clean. Very friendly staff
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool & playground areas were great. The only issue was driving access was a little difficult due to the need of campers to park vehicles in drive/pulling areas. Campers with more than 1 vehicle parked on the roadway & made maneuvering a bit of a problem. Also, guest parked their vehicles in front of the bathhouse when they used it & made that area very congested.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We had a great time. There were lots of activities for the kids and the playground was fantastic. Our only complaint would be that there was only one bathhouse.
Jun 16, 2014
Had a great time, everyone was wonderful and helpful. Clean and relaxing. Sites were nice and shady which we appreciated since our awning broke. The river was clean and clear (and cold..lol) but that did not stop us from standing in it! Looked into the cabins, so cute and clean! We are going to stay again next year.
Jun 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time. There are a couple things that I noticed that were different that really didn't seem right to us. Why is the pool closing at 8:00? Some people can't swim during the heat of the day and they really look forward to swimming in the evening. Second, why do visitors have to pay when the cost of camping is high? We as a group feel that should be included in your price.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
the best!! need a hot tub please a nice one!!!
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
The park was clean and lovely near the river. Close to the Park Entrance. Staff was extremely friendly. Would definitely come back again
Jun 15, 2014
Restrooms could be cleaned more often for my taste. But otherwise it was a wonderful place to stay.. loved it
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
It was a great week till agree fell on our camper and after a week have still not heard anything from corp office as to whether they are going to help us recover lost camper and possessions. The people at campground were awesome, corp...not so much!
Jun 14, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.