Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Nov 08, 2016
We love staying here not only for the campsite and amenities but also because of the proximity to the National Park.
Nov 07, 2016
Wonderful, well run campground! We really enjoyed the corn hole toss, the trick-or-treating, and beautiful grounds. Also, laundry was well maintained, and fudge at the attached sweet shop was wonderful! Only complaint was smoke from campfires tends to hang in the air due to campgrounds being below street level.
Nov 07, 2016
Campground is clean and well kept. It is close to the smokies for a good time.
Nov 07, 2016
This place is GREAT. I am trying to think of something not-so-positive and just about coming up dry. I guess I would say that I was disappointed the Fudge Shop Closed for the season the day that we got there. However, that is just policy so not really a complaint. Just be advised if camping off season. Other than that, it is by far the best KOA we have visited.
Nov 07, 2016
I would prefer a less crowded campground, though this one is great for it's location.
Nov 07, 2016
We appreciated the amenities of the park and the help in putting our camper in its parking place.
Nov 07, 2016
Love it here!
Nov 07, 2016
Nov 04, 2016
It was so peaceful we were right on the water. The staff kept it very clean, lots of leaves to blow in Oct-Nov. Can't wait to come back. Right by Cades Cove & that loop road,beautiful!!!
Nov 03, 2016
Perfect! Internet slow but very nice place.
Nov 02, 2016
My very first stay at a KOA and it was wonderful! The staff was awesome and the Halloween event was spectacular!
Nov 02, 2016
Very pleased with campground well updated clean showers enjoyed the river very close to Cade's cove we will camp there again well satisfied with the sizes of camping sites all around satisfied 100 percent
Nov 02, 2016
We stayed on Halloween weekend and enjoyed giving out candy to the trick-or-treaters, our teenagers enjoyed the scary hay ride. The showers are roomy and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff escorted us to our site and helped us back in. It's a great family campground ! It's close to Cades Cove and a short drive to Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge.
Nov 01, 2016
always great great people
Oct 31, 2016
Great campground! Just booked our trip for next year.
Oct 31, 2016
Great Staff!!!
Oct 31, 2016
We love this campground. The Halloween activities were great fun for our kids!
Oct 31, 2016
We stay here often, and will again. Clean facility and pleasant staff. Extremely crowded this stay, so we were in a very tight, noisy space. If wifi is important to you, ask for space near the front, as it is non-existant elsewhere.
Oct 31, 2016
Loved it!!!!! Made reservations for 2 times in Sept and 2 times in May!!!!
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 30, 2016
WF Internet to slow.
Oct 30, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay! The grounds are well maintained. The showers and restrooms nice. Great place for leisure and fun!
Oct 30, 2016
Oct 29, 2016
This was our first RV trip ever. Bought a 42" Class A. Wewere a little scared when we left home but KOA staff at Smokie Mts. made us expert campers in four days. This place is great and we feel like family after our first stay anywhere. If all KOA's are like this we are going to love the KOA camping world.
Oct 29, 2016
I stayed 5 nights. My site was on the river. The showers and restrooms were clean. The campground was very litter free. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be the price but this is peak season in the Smoky Mountains.
Oct 28, 2016
Beautiful, well maintained, and helpful friendly staff. Not the first or last time visit.
Oct 27, 2016
We love this campground so much we plan 2 long stays a year. The staff is second to none and Adam is the best.
Oct 26, 2016
It's the 2nd year in a row that we have stayed here in October. We book again for next October before we left. It's such a friendly, clean place to stay and it's so close to the cove. It's away from the tourist area for peace and quiet but close enough to check the tourist area out. I can't say enough on how friendly and extremely helpful the staff is at this KOA.
Oct 26, 2016
Excellent Campground, no issues, the shower facilitates are great. Toilets can get crowed at times.
Oct 26, 2016
The staff was friendly and very helpful. Will definitely come back again.
Oct 25, 2016
The site has a great " feel" and was very enjoyable . Next year we'll plan the stay in the new side ... Loved the deck/ fire pit set up . Only issue was when friends joined us ( 1 car 2-4 adults) , the staff GRILLED them .. Who , where to park, etc... I realize it's crowded , but it's a family type site , but that was very confusing vs the other good points .
Oct 25, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Oct 24, 2016
We had a great stay as usual!! We have been coming for 18-19 years.
Oct 24, 2016
Great Campground. Very clean.
Oct 24, 2016
The staff went out of their way to help us. Every thing was neat, clean and working.
Oct 24, 2016
Really enjoyed how the staff takes great pride in keeping the campground looking good and keeping the guests happy!
Oct 24, 2016
Oct 24, 2016
Staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. Campground was really nice. Will be coming back.
Oct 24, 2016
Space #80 is too small for a 28-ft trailer with slide. No room for our truck without parking in the driveway.
Oct 24, 2016
Staff was very helpful but not real friendly,didn't go for the staff though so I would definitely stay here again.
Oct 24, 2016
Great campground in a perfect location. The staff was great and the grounds well kept. Other than a low voltage issue at our site, we had a great time and plan on returning.
Oct 23, 2016
One of the, maybe the best KOA staff you'll find. I had a little health incident and the staff provide excellent help. Thanks to everyone and especially Traci!
Oct 23, 2016
My goodness the sites are close! I could hear the neighbor's furnace come on! Other than that, the staff was so friendly and accommodating. And you can't beat the location.
Oct 23, 2016
Oct 22, 2016
The campground facilites and staff were outstanding. The convenience of fantastic hiking trails 10-20 minutes away is amazing. I can see where a huge rig might be problematic, but i was most impressed when i saw as many as three staff members helping the big rigs. For a medium to small it's fine. I heard they are adding another bathhouse. That would make it a 5☆ I suspect/hope we
Oct 21, 2016
Oct 21, 2016
One of the best camps you will find. We've stay 3 times, and we will definitely return.
Oct 20, 2016
Nice campground with poor cable selection and quality of picture - only analog. High price will result that we camp elsewhere during our next visit.
Oct 18, 2016
The facilities are all clean and the employees are all very polite and helpful!
Oct 18, 2016
Sites were cramped and too small for most RV. Camper next to us from Louisiana said would never be back due to size of sites. Employees with the exception of one or two were rude. Hours posted for store were not followed.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award