Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 03, 2016
Great place to go. the staff was very helpful in every way. "I'll be back".
Aug 03, 2016
This was our second visit to the Townsend KOA. Extremely clean, nice employees, very quiet, great camp sites. We will be back!
Aug 02, 2016
Great location and very friendly staff. The river and tubing was great. I would definitely recommend this KOA to everyone.
Aug 02, 2016
A bit too dense for our taste. It was clever to put the picnic table and fire pit behind the camper so that the sites can be more narrow but our awning was almost touching the next RV. Noise carries between RV's and we prefer a quieter camp ground.
Aug 02, 2016
We always like to stay at KOA Townsend
Aug 01, 2016
Stay was great! Lots for kids to do...all ages 6 - 60. Staff was always helpful and happy. Although it was not overly crowded during our stay, I would not want to be there when all sites were filled.
Aug 01, 2016
One of the best KOA campgrounds that we have ever stayed at. We will definitely stay here again.
Aug 01, 2016
The only negative was not understanding how I was charged for extra people. I had to call the office. She explained that was how they had to enter the charges. Still was very confusing! All else was great!
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
We brought our granddaughters , one from Fl, one from Ar with us. They had a blast. Your pool area was clean, and the bath house was as nice as we've seen! We will be back. Thank you for your hospitality! The Uzzel's
Jul 30, 2016
Tons of hornets!! 2 stung my grandbaby and the staff was on top of the problem right away! Thanks!
Jul 29, 2016
This a great KOA. I especially like the family-firendly atmosphere, including the activities for children at the pavilion in the mornings and evenings. The manager is on top of everything and makes sure things are working properly. The staff are very freindly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2016
The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Even the younger ones! Quite impressed with the staff. Campground was well taken care of and clean. Sites were a little tight but very nice. Campground is located very close to park. This is a get place to stay when you want to be away from the crowd of Gatlinburg/Pigeon forge but be close to the park. I will definitely be going back.
Jul 29, 2016
We loved our stay in the campgrounds. The grounds are nice and the river is the best! We will be back.
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Love love this campground!!!
Jul 27, 2016
You must have gotten new management. Was better before. No one patrolled in the evening like before. My neighbors had many visitors that were loud and stayed until 1 am for a few nights. My truck nearly got hit and I was blocked in my site and couldn't get anyone to move for me. Other than those few inconveniences I like this campground and have been going here for many years.Bring back how it was
Jul 27, 2016
Nice camp in wooded area. Very close to Cades Cove. Staff very helpful. Dump station in bad location
Jul 27, 2016
Clean, beautiful sites, & friendly helpful staff.
Jul 26, 2016
Loved our stay in Townsend. Everyone was very friendly and loved the campground. Having the river at our doorstep was amazing. Tubing was a big highlight. Liked being on the quiet side of the Smokies. Easy to drive over to the hustle and bustle when we wanted to. We will be back.
Jul 26, 2016
We enjoyed our visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We loved the river and access available to all campers not just riverfront campers. The pool and tube rentals was nice as well. We didn't participate in the planned activities but it was nice to know they were available.
Jul 26, 2016
Townsend is my absolute favorite campground. I have camped there for 8 years and during all seasons. Friendliness surrounds you as soon as you enter the park. The location of this park is most convenient for a day in the Smokies. Clean, friendly,and convenient, the perfect trifecta!
Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful place. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 25, 2016
The best part of this campground is the river! The campground is situated along the riverbank with several campsites and cabins overlooking the river. There are a few places you can get in the river with your tube, float or chair to relax or float. If you rent a tube at the campground through Cowboy Tubin' they will pick you up further down the river and shuttle you back to the KOA.
Jul 25, 2016
Excellent facilities and friendly staff
Jul 25, 2016
Great setting! Great people! We make a point to come here each summer to meet up with family and friends. Always a wonderful time!
Jul 25, 2016
We love the Townsend KOA!!! I can't say enough good things about the park and staff. They always go above and beyond to make sure everyone is happy and safe! We look forward to visiting again in the fall!!
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground and the location - needs more parking!!
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful campground. 4th year we have taken grandkids camping there and they love it!
Jul 23, 2016
Family gathering & perfect place!
Jul 23, 2016
Nice, clean campground with a float rivrr.
Jul 23, 2016
We enjoyed it very much. The staff was very accommodating. We'll probably be back next year
Jul 22, 2016
Had a great stay. Loved our spot on the river.The day camp is wonderful, the kids loved it. Everything about the place is wonderful!!!!!
Jul 22, 2016
fun fun fun
Jul 21, 2016
Great time but too pricy.
Jul 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was so helpful and friendly. First time campers and was amazed how attentive KOA staff was. We will definitately stay here again. The bath facilities were clean and close enough. We enjoyed the campground vibe. The pool, biking, the hay ride it made the trip great. Our family had three spots and we just had the best vacation. Very impressed!!!!!
Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful clean quiet park near the Smokies. Friendly office staff. Wonderful pool and river!!! Definitely coming back!
Jul 21, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helped us in or moved to another campsite. One huge disappointment was that the campers next to us, on 77, claimed that they were told that the river and beach in front of them was for their use only and blocked it from my 2 year old. The actual path lead from our site. We would love to know if that is the fact. They even blocked the river about 30'into the water
Jul 20, 2016
We just love staying with you guys. We really feel welcome and love how the staff treats us like family. Most important is we feel safe while we are there. Not only do we feel safe, we feel like we dont have to worry so much about our stuff when we leave. Thank you for the most absolute awesome time. We can't wait to go back.
Jul 20, 2016
Very friendly, family oriented park. Nicely situated along the Little River and close to Smokies Park
Jul 19, 2016
Mark runs a great campground! Had another great stay this year. Stayed on site 121, which was very nice! Adam was a great help and very polite! This was the eleventh time coming back, see ya soon!👍
Jul 19, 2016
Great people. We enjoyed the river and our time at the Townsend KOA.
Jul 19, 2016
Best campground we ever stayed at! The people that worked there were fantastic, the campground is in great shape and the kids had fun with the activities. We are looking forward to returning in the future.
Jul 19, 2016
My wife and I agree this is one of the nicest campgrounds we've been to in over ten years of camping. It is well kept with plenty of staff. I noticed two employees walking the grounds picking up trash, something you don't see much of. We also especially liked the stone patio and fire pit. We will definitely recommend and return.
Jul 19, 2016
Campground was very well maintained. Staff was very helpful and friendly . We were very happy. They had lots of activities for the children! That was very helpful!!!
Jul 18, 2016
VERY CLEAN AND WE HAD A GREAT SPOT!! ADAM IS THE BEST!! WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUND TO ANYONE!!
Jul 18, 2016
We had so much fun!! The camp ground was super clean and the facilities( restrooms and bath house) was unbelievably clean and the staff was super nice and accommodating. We would most definitely stay here again and really already have the next trip in plans. Wonderfully relaxing and beautiful!!!
Jul 17, 2016
We come every year!! We took our kids to Disney at the beginning of summer and came to Townsend at the end of summer and the kids said that this was a lot more fun than Disney! We have already made our reservations for next year...
Jul 17, 2016
Patio Site was very nice for 34' motorhome. Tubing in river was a fun experience for the teens and parents.
Jul 16, 2016
Had a great stay looking forward to coming back in September.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award