Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Apr 02, 2015
Love this spot, a hidden gem, and will as before be back again
Apr 01, 2015
Newly renovated sites..nice people.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Our favorite campground in all of Tennessee! Beautiful sites & ├╝ber friendly staff...I highly recommend a week here!! (Literally right outside the gates of Smoky Mtn. National Park)
Mar 28, 2015
Mar 28, 2015
Beautiful campground in a great setting! Our site backed to the river (with our own little deck). The staff was awesome. The only (extremely minor) downside was that the sites were kind of close. This absolutely didn't affect our stay, though. We had a great time, and may find our way back if we have a few extra days in the summer.
Mar 27, 2015
Love it!!! We had an amazing vacation. The KOA Townsend is awesome. Very clean and well manicured. The employees are friendly and accomdating. Southern hospitality at its best.
Mar 27, 2015
The camp ground was great. The employees were very friendly and helpful. They even helped us back into our site! I gave it 4 stars because the showers were not Cleaned daily.
Mar 25, 2015
We had a wonderful stay and the entire staff were so helpful and kind! Beautiful improvements being made to the campground too!
Mar 24, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time and enjoyed the new updates. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Mar 23, 2015
My kids love the playground. Friendly staff. The dog park is a big hit. Safe campground were you feel safe to let kids have some freedom.
Mar 22, 2015
Our stay for the most part was great! The weather was awesome! We only had a couple of inconveniences that weren't really a problem....the main bath house was being remodeled so the entire camp had to use the small one behind the office and the cable TV was out.
Mar 21, 2015
Helpful, curtious.
Mar 20, 2015
Loved the friendly, helpful staff. Loved our site right on the river also next to a grassy area. Nice playground and bathhouse.
Mar 19, 2015
Too expensive, not near enough restrooms and showers!
Mar 18, 2015
Mar 17, 2015
Awesome scenery.
Mar 16, 2015
Wonderful campground! Loved our site right beside the river. Great playground for kids of all ages. Easy to access bike trails. Friendly staff. I highly recommend this KOA!
Mar 16, 2015
Best campground I've stayed at in a long time. The employees were outstanding! They were so friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back
Mar 16, 2015
It was a great stay all but one night when a group of young adults came into the park (possibly for spring break?) and played music so loud next door to us, we couldn't sleep until 2am. It might be best to enforce quiet time.
Mar 15, 2015
Very nice campground. However, the gps tells you the address is someplace other than where it is. The people at the front desk are aware of this, so it should be on the website. Also, there needs to be more lighting by the front koa sign. Very hard to tell where it is at night.
Mar 09, 2015
My husband and I love camping here, we have been there many times and will absolutely continue to do so
Mar 09, 2015
This is worst stay we have experienced at this KOA. We were unfortunate enough to have a loud group next to us in lot 13 that stayed out to the wee hours drinking and partying. Had no respect for those around them. I tried to find a number to contact a KOA associate in which there was none. Only a recording with no after hours contact number. Very disappointed.
Feb 12, 2015
We loved this campground and have made plans to return. The staff are great and the location of the campground is perfect!
Feb 01, 2015
Had a really great stay, with the campground being very quiet and peaceful for a late January trip. The only wish would be for the wifi to be a little stronger.
Jan 20, 2015
This is a beautiful campsite, well maintained and good facilities. The playground for the kids was fantastic. We stayed on the stream and the sites were beautiful. I rated this campground only 3 stars only because the sites are so close together. We prefer to camp on larger sites that allow us to spread out .
Jan 07, 2015
Stayed Christmas week was great but got a little sloppy Christmas Eve and day when restrooms were not cleaned due to no workers present.
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
One of our favorite places to stay! Great campground, friendly helpful staff. Love it there.
Jan 04, 2015
Great place to stay on the "quiet" side of the Smokies!! Close to Cades Cove and many other attractions. Campground was very clean and staff was super friendly!! Can't wait to go back.
Jan 03, 2015
No WiFi, poor cell coverage. No events at Christmas holidays. Location great, entrance is very small, sites are average.
Jan 03, 2015
Bathroom keypads were not activated and passersby from the main road stopped to use the facilities frequently. The bathrooms were messy and not clean. Advertised Wi-Fi only available near main office. Sites were muddy and needed more gravel.
Dec 29, 2014
Great location and nice campground. We can't wait to come back.
Dec 23, 2014
Friendly staff and great facilities.
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 05, 2014
Dec 04, 2014
I would have given a 5 star rating except for the rest room facilities. While very clean, the showers had very little pressure and the shower heads were little more than 5 feet high. I am 6-4 and the water was hitting me in at arm height. Pricing for the camp site is pretty pricey as well. $50+ dollars a night is kinda steep. On the plus side the campground is beautiful, river is great, cle
Dec 02, 2014
we had the best time ever. cant wait until mothers day.< were going back...
Dec 02, 2014
Always a favorite!!!!!!!!!!
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Our number one "go to" campground. For us it's an A+ in every regard. The staff - Adam, Mark, Jeremy, etc - are exceptional.
Dec 01, 2014
love staying at koa cant wait to stay again next year my family stays also we try to stay at the sametime see you in the spring
Dec 01, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
Loved this KOA! Beautiful sites by the water. Can see why this place won an award. Fudge excellent! Will definitely be back. Excellent staff always willing to go the extra mile.
Nov 28, 2014
Allowed me to reserve site pull in site near big bath house but did not say anything about bath house being closed and did not put us in the area we requested. Over priced for the area and amenities.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 23, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since BEFORE it was a KOA. Love the place, the staff is excellent, especially Mickey. See ya next year
Nov 23, 2014
Park and staff were great. Only freezing weather took awayb from stay !
Nov 22, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.