Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 19, 2015
The only thing we didn't like about our stay was where our site was. It was right behind dumpster and where the staff Gets together. There were lots of other spots open we were wondering why we would be put there. That should be the very last site to put someone.
Aug 18, 2015
WE HAVE STAYED AT THIS KOA SEVERAL TIMES AND I MUST SAY THAT IT HAD A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FEEL TO IT THIS TIME, OBVIOUSLY SOME PERSONEL CHANGES WHICH ARE NOT BENEFICIAL TO THIS PLACE. BATH HOUSES AND COMMON AREAS ARE NOT AS CLEAN AS WE HAVE SEEN IN PAST STAYS BUT PLEANTY OF STAFF SITTING AROUND ON GOLF CARTS THATS FOR SURE.
Aug 18, 2015
Warm welcoming people. Comfortable, clean. Lots to do on site or in Smokies. Love to stay here as it cuts one hour off travel time to Gatlinberg. Kid friendly. Thanks KOA.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is by far our favorite place to stay! Been coming here for years with our family and will continue to do so. ALL of the staff make you feel like family. The recently upgraded wifi tower is amazing. It reached our site with no issues. Thanks y'all for always making our stay fabulous! See ya in November!
Aug 17, 2015
Great place, very relaxing!!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent accommodations. Professional staff. Clean.
Aug 17, 2015
This is the nicest campground in the Smokies. Very clean and sights are very nice.
Aug 17, 2015
Always a great stay good wi fi upgrade
Aug 17, 2015
This campground was the best managed of any I have ever experienced. The staff was were professional and accommodated all of our needs.
Aug 17, 2015
I have normally had a great time at the KOA. But with all your price increases it is becoming more difficult to justify the extra money for your facilities. I had a electric and water site only and it was still around 72 dollars a night to stay. The first time i stayed at the one in townsend tennessee about 2 years ago it was only around 56 dollars a nigh.
Aug 17, 2015
This KOA has become somewhat overpriced. We have friends that we have camped with many years that are planning some 2016 functions at other locations due to some feeling they cannot afford the KOA any longer. With many other options in the area at 30% to 40% less. We stayed on a site without sewer priced at $72.00 a night. Seriously you should consider changing your name to The Marriott. VALUE???
Aug 17, 2015
One rude lady at front desk .i am going to cancel other res. unless she is relocated . If I owned koa she would not work for me .call joe at 865 719 7626
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This campground is beyond awesome. The entire camping areas were extremely clean as was the entire campground. The entire staff went above and beyond to be helpful. It is without a doubt the best KOA campground we have visited. It truly embraces the true spirit you expect to find at a KOA!!!!! Thank you for a terrific visit!!!
Aug 16, 2015
Incredible campground so close to the park. We have visited many times and will be back. IMO, the best place to camp in the Smokeys. Mark and the crew are top shelf people.
Aug 16, 2015
Very disappointed in our stay. We had a problem with a local wood seller and thought that KOA handled it poorly. We canceled the remainder of our stay and moved to another local campground. It also changed our minds about a two week stay next year with our son and his family.
Aug 16, 2015
Was very nice there was a little road noise sites were smaller then we're used to but the patio area and fireplace ring were very nice
Aug 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful, and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpfu. Our only complaint was the new stone fire pit ( we were on one of the lots with the new patios and fire pits). The pit was fairly deep and had no holes for ventilation so it was VERY difficult to get a campfire going. I hope this will be corrected before our next stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Absolutely beautiful spot. Close to the mountains if that is what you want to explore.
Aug 15, 2015
Very quiet and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Loved having laundry facilities
Aug 14, 2015
Great stay as usual! This was our 3rd one this year and we have 3 more coming up !
Aug 14, 2015
The grounds are beautiful & the staff nice. Our only disappoint was the stench from the port a potties across from our site. They were cleaned on Monday.. but all weekend in the high heat the smell was awful at our site and tubers from the river kept cutting through our site to use them. They need to be cleaned more often especially at the hottest point on Summer & with campers and tubers using
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Campground was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful as always! Been coming here for over 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better.
Aug 13, 2015
great will do it again
Aug 12, 2015
The new campsites are great. More like home. Not so close to your neighbor. The only complaint is the water pressure in the evenings. At times it would almost go off. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Would give 5 stars but most of staff are not very pet friendly and say some nasty things about pets even though we clean up after ours. Some were nice but a few were not. Most campers bring their pets, that is why they camp. Need to be more pet friendly to the campers.
Aug 11, 2015
Always a great time at KOA Townsend. The campground is clean. The campsites are awesome and the staff is the best in the business. We can't wait to come back in a couple weeks
Aug 10, 2015
The Townsend KOA is a beautiful campground. However the nightly rate is way too high. This trip we were accosted by a female employee because we were not using the KOA rental tubes, we brought our own but apparently she thought we rented them elsewhere. Either way, she could use some soft skills training.
Aug 10, 2015
My wife and our little Silky Terror (lol) love staying at KOA's because they are all AOK! This has to be the best KOA we have stayed at. Thanks for the great time and the friendliest staff we have ever seen. Also thanks to Craig! Great Job Guys! Jeff and Catie "Camping with Vengeance!"
Aug 10, 2015
great camp ground , clean, nice patios the host were outstanding..
Aug 10, 2015
Lots of shade with a river to play in!
Aug 07, 2015
We where only there for one night but really liked the patio. We will be back when we can stay longer.
Aug 07, 2015
best campground ever!!!! will return over and over again. loved our campsite. customer service ok laundry need AC but it was a place that we will go again
Aug 06, 2015
It would be great to have a small bath house near the cabins and tent areas. Like the way you re did the middle section in the 50's area. Enjoyed the kid activities that we get to do while we stay there.
Aug 06, 2015
Family loved it. We are already planning next years trip!! Pleasant and helpful staff.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a wonderful experience and everyone was so helpful. We really appreciated the help backing in our camper since this was our first time using our camper. We liked it so much we booked an extra night.
Aug 06, 2015
Great campground. The staff are wonderful and are willing to help at any time.
Aug 05, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and the kids activities were great. Did not feel comfortable having a campfire due to limited space and being so near parked vehicles. That was a disappointment
Aug 05, 2015
LOVED it! Would definitely stay again
Aug 05, 2015
The sites were a little small for my liking.There was no where to hang my lantern.Other sites had hangers on the tables.I had to swap mine for one from another site.The raccoons were destructive. They got into my cooler and destroyed about $100 worth of food. There were two dead trees hanging over my tent.Rolled the dice on that one.Anyway, nice enough, I guess.Poor people can't afford to stay.
Aug 04, 2015
Overall problably the best option in Townsend. We stayed on site 14. Site was level. I like the upgrades they are making to some of the sites. Grass needed cutting and bath houses stunk and had no Ac in them. Was also disappointed that I couldn't bring my golf cart. If staying in Townsend will camp here again. To this day Koa Cherokee by far the best and is the benchmark for how I rate.
Aug 04, 2015
Too many sites crowded in. Nice looking area and we had a decent pull through site (probably the best in the park). Love the trees (shade) as well, but the place needs about 1/3 of the sites removed and the rest spaced out. Internal roads are very tight and confusing as well. The folks working here are nice and helpful. Just too many sites for the space. Also WiFi is weak and slow.
Aug 03, 2015
So very angry that you've taken away all but 1 or 2 of the good tent sites along the river. Those of us that love to tent camp are now relegated to the "low rent" areas by the port-a-pottys! THE ALMIGHTY DOLLAR WINS AGAIN!!! You should be ashamed!!! Many we talked to feel the same way...very angry!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Close to creek .... Playground was good... Camping area was updated and clean
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award