Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
Clean and well maintained facility. There was a heavy sewer smell at main restrooms and dump station too near tube and bike rentals which could be a health concern.
Aug 03, 2015
This was the maiden voyage of our new camper and we had an awesome time! So many helpful KOA employees and campers with helpful tips and suggestions for a new camper. We love the Townsend KOA!
Aug 02, 2015
Awesome family campground with friendly staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Great site location on the river. Well staffed with friendly people. Awesome facilities, as far as, showers, restrooms and laundry. And shelter house, play areas, and amphitheater. Great stay in the smokies.
Aug 02, 2015
Only negative was very poor cell phone connectivity and very slow wi-Fi. Bathrooms and showers were the best
Aug 01, 2015
Great time. Very attentive staff. We love the security and the fact that there's so much emphasis on everyone having a good and safe time.
Jul 31, 2015
Put on site right beside restroom/bath house. The traffic was constant and the smell was unbearable. The honey wagon dump was right in our face and the lights from the vehicles coming at night was blinding. This site should be parking for the bath house not a camp site. I would be ashamed to charge for this site. Campground was full so had to grin & bear it!
Jul 28, 2015
The stay at this koa was wonderful. We are retired, and new to all this. The staff was pleasant, and most accommodating. We'll be back for sure.
Jul 28, 2015
What a fun family place to stay! Instead of the mountains, the kids wanted to play at the playground and in the pool. Our dog was welcomed and had a great time, too! Lots of rain during our stay has convinced me to get a cabin next time instead of staying in our tent! Very friendly staff!
Jul 28, 2015
Great family campground!
Jul 28, 2015
We loved everything about the campground! Our granddaughter had a wonderful time and the playground area is so nice to her it seemed like a "park". Everyday she asked "When are we going up to the park?"
Jul 27, 2015
We've been coming here for years. Great place for the kids and families!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great staff, Adam,Jordan,SARGE! Great new additions that have been added look great. Every where I looked Mark was working ! Great job by all. See ya next year!!!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Our first visit and it could not have gone better. Extremely friendly staff, clean grounds, great location and RV lot was perfect and spacious
Jul 27, 2015
We will be coming back. Grandkids enjoyed it .
Jul 27, 2015
very nice place and staff
Jul 27, 2015
Our family has stayed at KOA since before it even became KOA. This particular time it seemed that more sites had been added squeezing people on top of one another. On top of the closeness of the camp sites our family was told that walking in between campsites is not allowed when coming out of the river from swimming. We have decided that unfortunately we will not be staying here again.
Jul 27, 2015
Our weekend getaway!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Great amenities, great location, sites are a little closer together than i like , but had a great time camping in townsend on the river...
Jul 27, 2015
Very clean! Nice staff! I only wish they would have told us that they were going to have to do excavation on the site next to ours! Our dog was terrified and it was loud! Maybe we could of been moved to a different site???
Jul 27, 2015
Awesome campground at the doorstep of the smokies! Right on the river with helpful staff and upgraded amenities. Many activities for children. We were booked for 3 days and we stayed for 5. We would have stayed more if we could.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Fantastic place to camp! Great showers! Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly!
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean restrooms! Great place to stay!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Always a great stay!
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We love this campground. It has become an "annual retreat" for our entire family. The owners are making some great improvements.
Jul 21, 2015
Like the campground but not happy with busy area our lot was in. Too much traffic with site. Fires were too close for lot sizes.
Jul 21, 2015
great
Jul 21, 2015
Had a great time , kids had a blast , the Bible day camp and family night fun was awesome !! Pool and bathrooms super clean ,all staff very friendly ,Def would stay again :)
Jul 21, 2015
Amenities great. However too pricey for camping. Sites were extremely small. We had a hard time getting our trailer backed in and our truck still stuck out in the road. Plus they would let us camp near our friends because they were in a tent and we have a camper.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
It was very nice and the folks working there were nice and helpful
Jul 20, 2015
Great, family friendly campground!
Jul 20, 2015
A little cramped and the bathrooms could use a little more TLC. Other than that, nice place. Pool was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Seriously the best showers I have ever seen in a campground! Friendly people and accommodating to our late arrival. Nice pool, very clean, small but perfect for the kids, and warm! Right near the entrance to the Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain National Park.
Jul 20, 2015
We have camped here for many years always enjoy our stay
Jul 20, 2015
Townsend Koa is a very nice campground the people there are always very helpful. They have lots of activities for the children.
Jul 20, 2015
Great family oriented campground. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy. If your looking for a place with great views close to the mountains and lots of kids and friendly adults this is the place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground, but seems rather expensive.
Jul 19, 2015
Reserved site #59 was relocated to another location due to park site improvements. KOA should have notified me prior to arrival. New location was not what I wanted. However, site upgrades are excellent.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our second stay at this KOA. Seven years ago it was a great place, this year was even better. They did a lot of upgrades to the newly remodel campsites with nice table and chairs, paver patio, stone fire pits. We love the river out back for tubing and the location of this KOA in Townsend gives you a more natural stay, no hussle of a big city. The city is only 15 miles away and has it all.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time! The staff members were super friendly and always eager to accommodate the needs of the visitors! They were very proactive. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps