Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
My family has stayed here for 6 days the past two summers and reserved our site for next summer before leaving last week. Sites can be a little tight in some areas but the overall experience is the best in the area!
Jun 24, 2013
Very nice! We plan on coming back soon! Thanks
Jun 24, 2013
We always have a great time in Townsend KOA
Jun 24, 2013
The only complaint I have is to extend wifi to back of campground.
Jun 24, 2013
Really like this KOA. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Really like that they help you get into your site. Only problem we had this time: we needed to move to a different site for the 2nd night of our stay; they rushed us to move and then no one ever showed up on the site that we vacated. Morning of our departure, we were rushed again and told we were late for check out. Otherwise good stay.
Jun 24, 2013
Excellent kampground. Many activities. Love the pool and especially the river
Jun 24, 2013
Site on river with deck was so nice! Peaceful campground with very friendly staff. Price for site was a bit high for camping, but pleasant experience nonetheless.
Jun 23, 2013
Staff was VERY attentive to the guests. You could always find a staff person around to ask a question. They went above and beyond what we expected in regard to customer service and friendliness. We had stayed at a KOA before and had a less pleasant experience, so we were very surprised at just how great the staff in Townsend was.
Jun 23, 2013
Another great weekend at Townsend KOA! Thanks guys!!!
Jun 22, 2013
Perfect as always! Everyone nice and friendly! A great big THANK YOU to Dasiy for all the extra help while we were there. Will see you soon!
Jun 21, 2013
was a wonderful stay. campground was clean and the staff was out of sight. I only wish we could stay longer. This was the only campground in the area we wanted . Anyone looking for campground in your area won't be disappointed. If I worked for anycampground, koa would be it
Jun 21, 2013
We really enjoyed tubing on the river, however the price was a little high for each nights stay when you have to pay additional charge for children.
Jun 21, 2013
Great as always.
Jun 19, 2013
It is a great family campground. We love the volunteer's who come and do activities with the families/kids. We will be back again!
Jun 19, 2013
Very clean & quiet, Nice bike path across street & right at the Great Smoky Mountain entrance.
Jun 19, 2013
Great
Jun 19, 2013
Why not have a flat rate for your family and not charge extra for your kids. If not for my kids I never would have went to koa to begin with. Also, I was told I could have two cars at my site but when we showed up, guess what.....another charge. I do have to say that the campground was very nice though. I had my mother stop by to see my camper for an hour and once again a $4.50 charge.
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Without a doubt, this is my favorite campground of all times. It is located at the base of the Smoky Mountains and right next to Pigeon River. It is well shaded which allows for the temp to remain mild. The staff are some of the most friendly people you will ever meet and the facilities are very well maintained and clean. have already reserved our stay for next year. Counting down the days!
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Very smokey at night as too many sites had campgires at once
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We are now regulars at the Townsend KOA. Great location, great staff, great amenities and a place where everyone has fun! In a word - awesome.
Jun 17, 2013
We stayed at the KOA in Townsend Tenn. If all KOA Kampgrounds are this nice then that's the only ones we will stay at from now on while traveling.
Jun 17, 2013
Awesome campground! Lots of activities for kids, clean & nice!
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time. The KOA was centrally located for our adventures.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
I LOVED the KOA in Townsend! The staff is GREAT, I loved the activities for the kids and the outdoor movie. The access to the river is great! The bathrooms are very clean. The pool is a good size and well kept. Our family can't wait to go back and stay longer!
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time, plenty for the kids to do.
Jun 17, 2013
Beautiful surrounds, especially by the river. Fun kids playground.
Jun 16, 2013
A truly wonderful place to camp! The new playground is awesome and my kids truly enjoyed it!! Looking forward to staying more in the summer and fall! Keep up the great work!!
Jun 16, 2013
wonderful experience beautiful campground and a terrific staff
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Beautiful by the river. The kids had a ball and asked to stay an extra night which we did. Would be good if the sites had trees in between for a little privacy as they are so close together
Jun 15, 2013
Nice shady spot, helpful staff, all our need met. Will probably vbacation there again.
Jun 15, 2013
Wonderful time, very clean and a friendly staff.
Jun 14, 2013
the only thing I wish is the internet service was better. I finally gave up
Jun 14, 2013
I stayed in 74B it was a little crowded ; I have enjoyed a previous stay, both times it was nice and quiet at night witch is most important to me. thank you
Jun 14, 2013
Great people, great place. Have stayed here before and has been a 5 star stay each time. Will always come back.
Jun 13, 2013
Always a pleasure!
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
All was great had a great location and staff was very friendly. Also very clean. The only problem their WiFi wasn't strong enough to reach our location and cell phone had no signal which is a problem when you need to keep in contact with home
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Had a great time. Loved the activities for the kids. Safe environment.
Jun 10, 2013
We love this campground. We stay 3 or 4 times a year. It's clean, friendly, and convenient to what we enjoy doing.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.