Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 16, 2013
It was great as usual. Friendly staff
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Nice place. Great location on the river. Friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2013
We stayed in a lodge. The kids enjoyed the playground and pool. Our dog enjoyed the dog park. We all had a great time and will go back again. The only thing I didn't like was the small shower will ask for one with a tub the next time.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Such a great family place to stay. I have stayed here before and it is always wonderful and we will for sure be returning. :)
Aug 12, 2013
It has gotten a little pricey but the staff and location are great. Showers could use an update.
Aug 12, 2013
The one thing that could have made the stay better would be new mattresses in the cabins, they were not that comfortable. But other than that, we had a wonderful time. It's a place that's family friendly for sure. Thank you so much. Oh, live music would be nice too.
Aug 12, 2013
Everyone was very helpful. Facility was clean and well cared for. Activities were fun for family
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
best Campground we ever stayed at, truly a gem
Aug 08, 2013
The primitive cabin was great... except for the beds. They are extremely uncomfortable. My husband and I woke up prob 20 times each throughout the night. Besides that, the location is great, the activities are great. The kids had a blast.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Stayed in a Kamping Kabin and it was really nice n cozy but the beds are way to hard! Like sleeping on the floor. Other than that it was a good time. We were almost on the river, which was awesome! We will be going back but will bring air mattresses next time. :)
Aug 04, 2013
Dcc#8 very clean but needs drapes especially window that faces street light - too bright in room at night to sleep well after long day of traveling. Also it would be beneficial to tell customers at check in that they will now get replacement towels during their stay.
Aug 01, 2013
This was about our 5th time coming here. We had a great time this year as well. Everything is always clean and in great shape. I feel very safe there withmy children. I love all the improvements around the river as well as the new tree house area.
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Loved camping by the river . It was our 3rd time and plan to go back again !
Jul 29, 2013
we love this koa campground!! we have stayed four years in a row now with a group of friends and we always have the best time! all the staff is always so friendly, the cabins are always very clean as well as the entire campground and pool. we hope to come every year as long as we are living and able! thank you so much for helping to make great memories for us and our families!
Jul 29, 2013
Disappointed with the cleanliness of showers. Grounds in general were not well kept. Loved it when we stayed 9 years ago several times. Disappointed.
Jul 28, 2013
We loved this campground will be back!!
Jul 27, 2013
we stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was clean and nice. Pool was clean and it was overall a very quiet and nice Koa.
Jul 27, 2013
Deluxe cabin was great. Comfy for the non-camper who wants to camp.
Jul 27, 2013
We stayed in small cabin by the pool. Need another mirror in the cabin besides bathroom and no place to hang clothes. but the stay was good.
Jul 26, 2013
Very nice deluxe cabins. The older two room camping cabins that part of our reunion party stayed in were dark and not very comfortable. I would recommend this KOA and the staff was very friendly. The river was beautiful and very fast flowing outside the deluxe cabins (#1-#7). Lots of shade. Campsites a little crowded campsite but typical for most campgrounds. Nice playground & pool. Pretty
Jul 26, 2013
We have stayed at your campground three or four times. The staff is extremely nice and welcoming. The atmosphere is wonderful!!! And the family activities are always a blast. We love the outdoor movies and bingo nights! The campground is clean and the cabins are as well which is appreciated. What we love most is the location of the place. See you again soon!!!
Jul 26, 2013
cabin was very clean a little small but great otherwise. The children loved the banana bikes. Wish they were rented by day instead of hr. Tv signal was not that great.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Very clean, and the property was beautiful.
Jul 26, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the Townsend KOA & loved our cabin with the great riverfront view. The only complaint I had was when I called & made reservations I was not told there was a pet fee. I paid the balance of the cabin over the phone, but when I went to check in was told I needed to pay the $20+tax fee for our puppy. After telling her I wasn't told about the pet fee she waived it. Thank you!
Jul 25, 2013
Rent a cabin without a bathroom and you are stuck using a portable toilet.Poor wifi and lighting on back portion of the camp.
Jul 24, 2013
Loved the activities that the campground and local churches had for the kids. It's a good thing keep it up.
Jul 24, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was spotless and beautiful. Pool was clean and just the right temperature. Park was fun for the kids after the long trip. Service: Southern charm at its best! Loved it!
Jul 23, 2013
First time staying at this koa over July 4th & it was more busy than we prefer. Overall still a great experience! We will just come back @ a different time of year next time. Great facilities, friendly staff & beautiful scenery!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.