Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241


8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am


Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Apr 10, 2016
Very clean and well kept camp ground. Staff was friendly and went out of their way to help.
Apr 10, 2016
Clean friendly
Apr 09, 2016
Wonderful Campground! Beautiful setting and friendly staff. We always have a very relaxing stay
Apr 07, 2016
Our family of four enjoyed our stay in the Camp Cabin so much! Our two toddlers LOVED the playground! While the bath house was a long way away from our site, the showers themselves were extremely clean and numerous. The hosts were very friendly, the grounds were beauitful, and we were a stones throw away from the National Park. Thank you for a great stay!
Apr 06, 2016
Loved it...we stayed 4 nights in cabin and wish we coulda stayed longer.
Apr 06, 2016
The cabin we stayed in was cleaned than most resorts we have been to. It was nice to have someone deliver wood to our cabin at purchase. The playground was a hit with our 6 year old granddaughter. The landscaped firepit area looked nice but was hard to sit around and move when the smoke did do to lack of space around pit, but it didnt stop us from enjoying our smores. VERY CLEAN!
Apr 05, 2016
Great location ,very pleased with our cabin,staff very friendly and helpful
Apr 04, 2016
Very clean campground. Took my dog their was not a lot of green area for him expect the no leash park which was great.But other campers was using it for pooping area not for a park.Then they didn't cleanup after their dog.No fault of the campground. We had a very good time.You can't fixed stupid people.
Apr 04, 2016
Wonderful staff! The cabin location was beautiful and the cabin itself was excellent. We will definitely be using KOA more for our trips in the future!
Apr 04, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
had great time everyone friendly
Apr 04, 2016
pleasant restful entertaining cold
Apr 03, 2016
Love this KOA. Very clean and well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We will be back!!!
Apr 03, 2016
Everything was very nice. The staff were helpful and courteous. Loved the playground for the kids.
Apr 01, 2016
My stay was extremely beautiful. The cabins were wonderful and very clean. I stayed at one that was by the river which was a great resource for fishing and walking along the rocks. Overall, I will definitely come back.
Apr 01, 2016
Friendly staff, clean campground, clean cabin, beautiful setting with riverfront access. Our first time here and we will be back. Great relaxing stay with our 4 year old and 7 year old.
Mar 30, 2016
Such a fun and relaxing time. I enjoyed it so much. It was a lot more than i expected.
Mar 29, 2016
The delux cabin was awesome. Very clean! We had a blast.
Mar 28, 2016
Best camp ever. Right at the smokey mountains. Very clean bathrooms and showers..
Mar 28, 2016
great location sights right along the creek. cabins are amazing
Mar 28, 2016
LOVED IT.. tHe cabin was cute, small, clean and very comfy...
Mar 27, 2016
Staying at KOA was one of the best camping experiences I have ever had. I enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, as well as the comfort of the great outdoors.
Mar 24, 2016
Enjoyed our stay,great staff friendly and helpful. Weather was awsome and deluxe cabin next to river was great. Would like to visit again. The Blumer Family Mt . Vernon, Wi.
Mar 23, 2016
We have made several visits to this local KOA and have always been pleased. This visit was not the best; it started with no remote in the cabin. But more importantly, the shower in the Deluxe Cabin would not stay hot more than 2 minutes. It's tough to stay in a cabin for 3 nights and not be able to take a warm shower during the stay. We reported the issue to the unfriendly staff at the front desk.
Mar 22, 2016
Beautiful and clean. Close to great hikes. Loved the local IGA and Pizza Hut!
Mar 20, 2016
The best cabin I have ever stayed in! Everything was very clean and nice in the cabin and throughout the whole KOA. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely come back for another stay!
Mar 20, 2016
My husband and I stayed at the Townsan KOA in a camping cabin for one night. We were incredibly impressed with the cleanliness, the quality of services offered, and the helpfulness of the staff on site. I would stay in this campground again in a heartbeat and intend to this summer!
Mar 18, 2016
Very clean and quality facilities (stayed in the cabins) staff was very curteous and accommodating. Went with my family two young boys for spring break and had a great time
Mar 17, 2016
Very enjoyable stay and quality Cabins. Shower was strong and hot.
Mar 14, 2016
We loved the new cabins and the way you remodeled the campsites in the center of the park. It feels much less crowded. We have stayed at many KOAs over the years and the Townsend TN KOA is our favorite.
Mar 14, 2016
Micky and her staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly reccommend staying at this campground.
Mar 13, 2016
Lovely cabin. Everything was clean outside and in. We had everything we needed and felt very safe. We will come back for sure.
Mar 08, 2016
Cute little cabin. Just right being next to the river. Everyone was great, friendly and helpful. We will do this again. Thanks for a neat weekend.
Mar 07, 2016
We loved our stay as always. We booked another visit for next month.
Mar 06, 2016
The only negative that I have is, for the price we paid, there should be a better quality mattress. Other than that, we absolutely love the Townsend KOA!! Probably our favorite!
Mar 01, 2016
We love this place!
Feb 16, 2016
Iv been there a couple of times and also with my parents as a child and have always loved it and the cabins are nice I will definitely feedback
Feb 16, 2016
We did not had a good experience, water heater was not working correctly I had to wait 35 minutes after my husband to a quick shower also the water didn't drain fast enough. The firewood bundle was very small with a couple of pieces were rotted. TV angle was impossible to watch TV from bed.
Feb 09, 2016
Feb 02, 2016
Needs more bathrooms located around the campground.
Jan 19, 2016
We could have used a heads up about water spickets being off for the winter, we were u sure if the blue ones were safe to drink from. The wifi worked on one side of the cabin, at least that side worked well. Other than that, the staff were friendly and helpful, had a pleasant stay.
Jan 14, 2016
What a wonderful campground. We stayed in a deluxe cabin and we had much more than expected. Even watched some wildcard NFL games on ESPN. Cooked some steaks on the grill and had a fire outside. Firewood was even delivered after purchasing it at the local store. Can't say enough about your place. Very pleased.
Jan 09, 2016
Wonderful place. Friendly staff. Very clean and beautiful location. Can't wait to go back and stay. One of my favorite KOAs.
Jan 07, 2016
Very friendly staff. Clean and roomy cabins.
Jan 07, 2016
We are already planning our next trip. The campground was wonderful and right on the river!!! It is just seconds from the Smoky Mountain National Park and in a quiet, laid back town. We LOVED it!!
Jan 07, 2016
Loved the location & the staff was great.
Jan 06, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
The deluxe cabin was great. Only suggestion would be to include a sponge mop and a deck broom as it was hard to keep floors clean with the rain etc.
Jan 04, 2016
We have always stayed here multiple times in the past and always had a great experience. This time they mixed up our reservation and didn't give us the cabin ee reserved they gave us a smaller one where we were very cramped. the shampoo dispensers were empty and our bed linens were dirty. We always bring our own no prob. told us we could leave we had nowhere to go all full new years.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award