Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Jun 18, 2013
This campground needs to install a an internet tower so that all guest can recieve internet. We stayed in CC7 and noway to get on internet that far out. Campground was frindly and clean including showers and bathrooms but I rated a 4 start because of the internet.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
The only thing was the wifi service was slow or non-existent but could have been my phone service out of state.
Jun 16, 2013
We had a great time,the staff was very friendly and helpful and we loved the cabin it was clean and comfortable and the river view was amazing!
Jun 15, 2013
The Townsend camp ground is one of the cleanest and friendliest camp grou ds we have been to. The service was absolutely fantastic, we especially appreciated the visibility of the staff throughout the day! The grounds were well kept and clean. We are already planning our trip at the Townsend KOA for next year!
Jun 13, 2013
Super friendly staff, cabin was amazing, it was extremely clean and new,hope it stays that way. Location and scenery was great. Would definately go back.
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
I NEVER GIVE A PERFECT SCORE SO YOU WON'T STOP IMPROVING. ( VERY GOOD STAY )
Jun 10, 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff was very kind, friendly and it was eviedent that they enjoyed their job. We look forward to repeat visits in the future
Jun 10, 2013
Excellent KOA !!!! We will be back !
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
staff was awesome and the place was very well maintained. I probably would warn adult travelers it can be a bit busy with lots of families with children if they are looking for a more relaxed place this might not be what they would have in mind. I would and will return to this location was the perfect place to see all the smokey mountains have to offer.
Jun 09, 2013
I was truly blessed to be a part of CHARM for the week. It was a great camping experience and learning time. I would recommend this KOA to all far and wide. God Bless all involved in this KOA.
Jun 09, 2013
Have already recommended to others! Fantastic place. Clean and friendly.
Jun 08, 2013
My family has been coming here for 10 years and we love it however it is a little pricy so we only get to do the free night weekends. Thanks
Jun 07, 2013
Had a wonderful time!! Very clean, very nice campground! Super friendly staff!!!
Jun 07, 2013
Loved the cute deluxe cabin.
Jun 06, 2013
LOVED this KOA! clean and well maintained alot of little extras that made our stay wonderful!
Jun 05, 2013
Nice facilities but a little close to other campers for my liking. I like the christian ministry that is there.
Jun 04, 2013
Everything was wonderful!!! We love coming with our family & friends! The only little thing that we would mention is that I guess there were tons of dogs there this past weekend because the dog park was out of doggies bags 3 different times. No biggie! Just wanted to mention it. Thank you!
Jun 04, 2013
Well pleased with amenities; luxury camping for sure. River was beautiful. Very helpful staff.
Jun 03, 2013
We've stayed at this campground long before it was KOA and since then. In EVERY stay..it's been great..especially the staff..and on this trip was no exception ...great staff!! HOWEVER, THE VALUE FOR THE DOLLAR IS SIMPLY NOT THERE ANYMORE and it is very sad...to pay the rates that you are asking combined with the fact that our "restaurant" charges $5.99 for just 2 chicken strips is rediculous!
Jun 03, 2013
We really enjoyed staying in the camping cabins. They were clean and we loved having the AC. Our kids loved the pool and beach area on the river.
Jun 03, 2013
Beautiful and restful place -the little river is a great place to fish for the guys and tube for the kids as well.very family oriented
Jun 02, 2013
Campground was beautiful, neat, clean. Staff were so friendly and helpful.The kids loved the playground and swimming pool!
Jun 01, 2013
Awesome place. Cabin was clean, bathrooms were clean, entire campground was well manicured & clean! We will be back!
May 30, 2013
Suggestions for DC 12: screen door on front door, soap for bath sink, bug bomb after each guest, fresh daily linens. Excellent and friendly staff. Great pool and activities. We would stay again but bring a bug bomb prior to entering the cabin and reserve a cabin with a river view. Enjoyable.
May 30, 2013
Cabin was immaculate. Campground is in a great location. We love this KOA.
May 29, 2013
Already booked the same spot for next year. This KOA is awesome. The staff is friendly, the facilities are clean and the atmosphere is perfect.
May 29, 2013
I brought my Girl Scout troop for the weekend and had a blast! The camping cabins were perfect!
May 29, 2013
It was good, although the density of people was too great. I understand people want to stay connected, but having provided wi-fi, ac, and tvs in the room was a bit too much. I would rather stay in a Motel6 if I wanted those amenities.
May 29, 2013
Very relaxing. The staff was always friendly and helpful. It was a crowded weekend, but there was no real rowdiness. I stayed in one of the one room cabins near the river and was very impressed, would definitely recommend The Peaceful Side of the Smokies KOA
May 29, 2013
we enjoyed a quiet night by the river and all of the staff was friendly and smiling.
May 28, 2013
had a great time
May 28, 2013
This is a nice KOA however don't go during a holiday. It gets really crowded. The campground and cabins are nice. I stayed in a deluxe cabin. The only complaint I have is that on the back side of the cabin was someone elses yard. The do have cabins on the river so I would call them to make sure you get the one on the river.
May 28, 2013
Unbelievably peaceful and friendly!
May 27, 2013
Clean,comfortable, good service. Hot showers!!! Never have I stayed where we had hot showers all through our baths. Enjoyed thank you
May 24, 2013
Thanks for the great stay. Traveling by myself, i felt safe at your campground. Luv showers separate from restrooms. Some of the shower exhaust fans weren't working. Luckily i was able to always get a stall that had one working--it makes it sooo much more comfortable. Thx for the clean bath house--some of the koas are slipping on that-sad to see-koa has always been known for clean.Luv landscaping.
May 23, 2013
May 23, 2013
I lived the campground! Friendly workers. It was very clean. I loved our deluxe cabin, it was clean and comfortable. I lived the outside patio and firepit. It was nice having the camp store nearby. I wish I could have stayed longer.
May 22, 2013
I have come to this campground for several years and stayed in both cabins as well as in my camper. It is always clean, everyone is friendly, and always helpfull. It is the best place to stay in this area and has the best river campsites.
May 21, 2013
The cabins and rest rooms were so clean and I loved the family atmosphere.
May 21, 2013
May 20, 2013
Having 1 bath house so far away was a little troubling but everything was good. Cabins were accommodating. Enjoyed our stay.
May 20, 2013
i had such a terrific time , i made my reservations for next year while i was still there.the staff were friendly and helpfull, and the facilities were in great condition.there is lots of things close by to do , and couldt have asked for a better time. lastly , for those with small children , the play ground is absolutely awesome.
May 17, 2013
bathrooms were a big - not enough of them
May 15, 2013
May 15, 2013
The park was very clean and the staff was very friendly and was willing to help in any way they could!
May 13, 2013
Beautiful grounds, loved the upgrades this year. Loved that i did not have to bring linens! Friendly staff. Will Be Back Next Year :)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.