Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

May 31, 2014
This was our 2nd time staying with KOA Townsend & we LOVE it there! The only complaint that we would ever have is having to walk to the bath house! Which is always super clean! Just wish there was one closer to the cabins. We love staying on the river & we love the dog park area. I suggested when we were checking out that you should get an Instagram acct! We love this Kampground & will be back!!!
May 30, 2014
Our family had a blast at KOA. The kids loved the pool, hayride, playground and outdoor movie. They also made new friends. Service was wonderful.
May 30, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 27, 2014
Loved loved it everyone was super had a awesome stay with family and friends!
May 25, 2014
Our first experience in the Cabins, we enjoyed it very much, always enjoy the Townsend area and look forward to our next visit. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
May 24, 2014
Queen bed is not really a queen but needs to be. Mattress needs replacing, bed uncomfortable. Cabin could use a sink. Bunk bed mattresses too thin. Cabin was nice and provided the essentials but a few improvements would make them better. Great staff on site, clean area. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks.
May 24, 2014
Great staff. Plenty to do or not do. We love it there.
May 23, 2014
May 22, 2014
We had a great stay. Thanks to all the friendly staff for making our vacation so much fun.
May 22, 2014
great !
May 20, 2014
I had a wonderful time again. We will stay again, and again
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
Loved it! Had a really great time. We will return soon!
May 19, 2014
great place will go again
May 18, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is warm and welcoming. We will definitely stay here again.
May 17, 2014
Loved every minute! My boys had a great time fishing in the Little River and we loved the cabin next to the river. We will definately be back. Only wish was that store and other local businesses stayed open later in the evening and some ground lighting for nighttime walks. Very dark to navigate. Especially the cabin steps. Maybe some low voltage lighting landscape lighting??? Will be back!!
May 17, 2014
Everything was great except the bed was not very comfortable. Great staff
May 17, 2014
May 15, 2014
Nice place. Needs maintenance and better cleaning in deluxe cabins. Had to clean when we arrived at 6:30pm. Grill dirty also.
May 14, 2014
It was great except the steps outside of two of our cabins were slick. My husband fell 2 times and my sis n law once. I am 9 months pregnant and a friend staying in a cabin next to ours is 8 months pregnant as well. So as you can imagine what could have happened if we had fell. They finally did come put strips down after my brother raised Cain. But it was still slick and should have been washed.
May 14, 2014
We had a very raining weekend but still Iots of fun. We stayed in a cabin so that worked out great .
May 13, 2014
We have been coming for about 10 years now. This trip it seemed not as busy. Several of our group fell on the cabin steps they were green and slippery we told the staff after 2 falls they put some towels down. But there were more To follow. Finally it was fixed. It was very painful and embarassing. The pool closed to early also. 7:00 we were also told our rv site didn't move but there was a caBi
May 13, 2014
Great place to stay very relaxing looking forward to my next stay in september
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
This was our 3rd time and we will be back in September. I bring my 4 grandchildren and we love it and are making lasting memories. Thanks for a great place to stay and for the friendly service.
May 12, 2014
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
Great location in Townsend. One of the cleanest KOA's I have ever been to. Great friendly staff. They were very accomadating. Super clean laundry with new units. Nice pool. Clean campgrounds. The riverfront location is absolutely amazing!! Saw people tubing down the river which was very fun to watch. Super quiet nights! Lots of fish in the river. Beautiful butterflies everywhere!Great stay!
May 08, 2014
Best KOA Kampground around!
May 07, 2014
We love this KOA & camp here often in our camper and in the Deluxe Cabins. Stayed in a regular Camping Cabin this time & it was nice. Ours was a 2 rm, on the river. Bed was comfty despite what I'd heard, but having tent camped in my past, I was prepared! Cabins have TV, dorm fridge & AC. A ceiling fan in main room would be nice; had 1 in back room.
May 07, 2014
My family & I would like to say Thank you to the entire Townsend KOA staff! Our second night I was rushed to the hospital for a kidney stone,the staff at KOA went above & beyond to ensure I was ok & had everything I needed. They comforted my wife & made certain she was ok. I was in excruciating pain for our whole stay but the KOA staff let me use a lounge chair at the cabin 2 sit by th fire & relx
May 06, 2014
A very well maintained campground. Clean cabibs, grounds and bathrooms/showers. Friendly helpful staff are visible and approachable.
May 06, 2014
The cabins on the river had lots of activity so hard to rest at night. Also needed a sink in bathroom and somewhere to store clothes. Bed very difficult to make as there was not enough room to get behind it.
May 04, 2014
I have been visiting this campground on and off for 10 years, as always it was a delight and the staff is always friendly and inviting. This was the first time staying in one of the cabins, beautiful and accommodating. I love all the new features and changes to the park, had a wonderful stay and will be back next year for sure.
May 04, 2014
May 02, 2014
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean cabin facing the river. The only suggestion I would give is please leave extra trash bags in the cabin. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
May 01, 2014
We love staying in Cabin 15 on the river. it's a nice cabin with frig and tv, but the best part is, of course, the river! We just keep coming back
May 01, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The cabin was clean, and the staff was very nice and helpful upon checkin.
Apr 30, 2014
Other than a couple ants we had a great time. Very nice cabin and the employees were very polite and accommodating. I hope to be staying there again April of next year.
Apr 30, 2014
as usual everything was wonderful. campground clean nice up to date. employees always kind and helpful. will be back soon.
Apr 30, 2014
Apr 30, 2014
The cabin was nice. The outside needed to have spider webs and wasp nest cleaned out and we did'nt know we had a water site on the side. Need to have bathrooms in cabin area.
Apr 30, 2014
we have stayed here for last few years. i look forward to next year! we will be there next year.
Apr 30, 2014
Cabin small but adequate. Very clean and well- maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Security visible and readily available. Beautiful river. Overall good experience. The cabin was a bit pricey for the size.
Apr 29, 2014
It was a wonderful weekend getaway. All of your staff we talked to where extremely nice and helpful. We will definitely be back!!
Apr 29, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.