Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 25, 2014
Loved everything about our stay. We were impressed with how clean the cabins were. Had a lot of fun with the different activities - our son said it was the best vacation ever!
Jun 25, 2014
One of our issues was the pool closing at 8pm and being kicked out at 7:45. There was not a maid service to replace towels and the excuse was they didn't have enough. Not my problem! The staff's presence was lacking and when they were around, they did not take an interest in any of their guests. They acted like we should be grateful for them! Will not stay there again.
Jun 23, 2014
Great time. 3-yr old loved the playground. Wish the pool had more shallow area for younger, or a separate baby pool. Otherwise it was great!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Very family friendly. Nobody wanted to leave.
Jun 23, 2014
I could not have been more pleased with our stay at the campground. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; the facilities were neat and clean; and the prices reasonable. Perfect!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
really enjoyed the whole experience staff was very helpful and eager to please
Jun 22, 2014
We love the location of the campground on the river. The staff was great from the first phone call through check out. Thanks!
Jun 20, 2014
We stayed at one of the cabins at the campground for only a few days, but it couldn't have been better. The cabin was well-constructed and immaculately kept, and the surroundings were beautiful. Although the campground felt secluded, there were plenty of amenities such as restaurants within a short distance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would love to visit again.
Jun 20, 2014
This was our 5th year to stay at KOA at Townsend. The staff is always wonderful! They are always very kind and considerate and willing to help and fix any kind of problems very quickly. The campground and all the facilities and pool are always extremely clean and well cared for. I can not say enough good things about this campground and the staff! we hope to be vacationing there every year!
Jun 20, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin. We stayed in dc12 and dc16. We liked having a sink and full length mirror in dc16. All staff were friendly and very helpful . Great place to bring our grandson! Thanks for a nice time!
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
WONDERFUL....staff was VERY helpful, friendly. Outstanding! Lovely setting along the water. Very clean. One of the nicer KOA'S (and we've stayed at many across the US)
Jun 17, 2014
We are very picky and loved the newer cabin- DC 11 a lot. It was clean and modern. The patio area was also very nice. Thank you.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
What a wonderful place. From the amazing customer service to the daily activities for the children. This place is truly one you don't want to miss.
Jun 15, 2014
The employees at the camp ground were very helpful and nice, we stayed in the deluxe cabins - very nice & well kept. Thank You we will stay again
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Not a serious complaint, but a suggestion: The last morning of our stay the garbage truck rolled through the campground at 6:12 a.m. emptying dumpsters. Quite noisy. Whether the waste management contract is through KOA or the city, I know from personal experience that the starting time can be negotiated to a little later in the morning. Thanks for listening.
Jun 12, 2014
This is the first time my family had been camping together. We absolutely loved the cabin, the grounds and the activities! The staff were so friendly and helpful and the campground was very clean! It was so peaceful and relaxing, and wonderful to spend quality time together as a family. Seeing the Bald Eagle swoop down the river was an extra bonus! We are planning to come back next year!
Jun 12, 2014
The cabin was very nice but we found mounds of dog hair on the sleeper sofa matress in what we had booked a no pet cabin. The campground was great all around. Staff were great also. We were a little dissappointed we thought the cabin had access to the river but we still had a good time.
Jun 12, 2014
My wife and I stayed in one of the Deluxe Cabins, it was perfect! The staff was friendly, helpful, and there was always someone around! Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
I was very pleased with the cabin. It was quiet, clean and everything worked, TV, AC, Heat, and plumbing. The cabin is small but I knew that going in. The outdoor layout was nice with a bit of privacy with small trees placed so you could sit outside without feeling like everyone was watching you. We will try to be back soon.
Jun 11, 2014
Deluxe cabin exceeded our expectations, filled with many well-thought-out amenities.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Great campground, wonderful playground and pool. I only gave it 4 stars because the bathrooms were dirty and the pool hours were too short, it opens from 10 am - 800 pm... TOO early to close in the summer
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time, but would love to have better mattresses. The beds are so uncomfortable, but the fun made up for it.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
We loved our quaint camping cabin right on the river!
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
It was great. I think you need more bathrooms and showers, they were always full.
Jun 03, 2014
We were in a deluxe cabin. It was fully furnished all the way down to the soap and shampoo in the shower. Had brand new grills. Lots of improvements had been made since my last stay. I thought it could not get any better but you did a wonderful job at the pool,river,and play area!!
Jun 03, 2014
We had an amazing time. It was relaxing and fun. We will be back.
Jun 02, 2014
This is the nicest KOA PERIOD! Located right next to the Little River, VERY CLEAN, nice pool, GREAT PLAYGROUND for the kids, activities and a mile from the Great Smokey Mountain National Park.
Jun 02, 2014
Even though my online registation did not show up the Ladies at the Townsend KOA foun a cabin for me and had me in it in a few minutes. It was new and clean. The place looked great! Will return as I have in the past!
Jun 01, 2014
Wonderful weekend getaway for the family! Will definitely visit again!
Jun 01, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin. It was very comfortable and clean. The unit was private and had a lovely stone outside patio with a high end grill and fire pit. The purpose of our trip was to watch wildlife in the Smokey Mountains. This park is closest to Cades Cove and is in a quiet area without the crowds of Gatlinburg. We will definitely be back. Great trip.
May 31, 2014
This was our 2nd time staying with KOA Townsend & we LOVE it there! The only complaint that we would ever have is having to walk to the bath house! Which is always super clean! Just wish there was one closer to the cabins. We love staying on the river & we love the dog park area. I suggested when we were checking out that you should get an Instagram acct! We love this Kampground & will be back!!!
May 30, 2014
Our family had a blast at KOA. The kids loved the pool, hayride, playground and outdoor movie. They also made new friends. Service was wonderful.
May 30, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 27, 2014
Loved loved it everyone was super had a awesome stay with family and friends!
May 25, 2014
Our first experience in the Cabins, we enjoyed it very much, always enjoy the Townsend area and look forward to our next visit. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
May 24, 2014
Queen bed is not really a queen but needs to be. Mattress needs replacing, bed uncomfortable. Cabin could use a sink. Bunk bed mattresses too thin. Cabin was nice and provided the essentials but a few improvements would make them better. Great staff on site, clean area. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks.
May 24, 2014
Great staff. Plenty to do or not do. We love it there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.