Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 17, 2016
Always a fun and memorable experience!
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice stay in our cabin! They even made a tye dye shirt for my daughter who could not be there on the weekend, and would not be able to do it herself due to her disability. It was very thoughtful! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2016
This is our favorite KOA. A destination we look forward to each year and travel 900+ miles to visit a cabin on the river at the base of the smokies.
Jul 17, 2016
Our favorite place to stay. We invited our family this year and everyone loved it!! We already booked for next year. You can't go wrong with Townsend KOA!!!
Jul 17, 2016
Great grandkids had a great time
Jul 16, 2016
Great accommodations and friendly staff. The cabins were well maintained and cooled down when we arrived.
Jul 13, 2016
Love, love, love the location. We come back for the tubing and quick access to the national park and Gatlinburg.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a GREAT TIME!
Jul 13, 2016
The wifi was horrible and unreliable. Our site was extremely small and one of the few unpaved sites. Really disappointed in this KOA.
Jul 13, 2016
The owners were very rude.
Jul 11, 2016
This is our 5th year of staying at the KOA in Townsend. We love it and have already made our reservations for next year. Thanks for the memories......:)
Jul 11, 2016
Love this place. The staff are great with the kids. It is a kid friendly campground. They have activities for the kids. My son loves it.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful, relaxing , clean, friendly . We enjoyed ourselves so much, definitely will rebook the next time
Jul 10, 2016
This place is a gem in the GSM!!
Jul 10, 2016
Wonderful campground the staff are very efficient and the cabin was perfect.
Jul 10, 2016
Have stayed here a few times. Always a great vacation.
Jul 10, 2016
Postive: Location, Plenty of kid's activities. Negative: We had a barking bloodhound in cabin next to us. The dog barked at every person that walked by or if you went out on your porch. It was frustrating. Pool was closed for cleaning on the one sunny day we were there.
Jul 09, 2016
We liked our cabin and location. But honestly the people working front desk were not very friendly. We've been to this KOA 3 years in a row. It's usually very friendly when you walk in. But the ladies at front desk made my husband and I feel like an inconvenience more than a customer. I'm sure they are busy and tired...but I think they need to smile, make eye contact and make you feel welcome.
Jul 08, 2016
Stayed in a Deluxe Cabin this time; and, it was clean and wonderful. Wood bench on the porch could use some cushion, but love sitting there for morning coffee.
Jul 08, 2016
Great location. Close to Gatlinburg & other shopping. Had fun tubing down the Little River. Quite at night. Pool a little congested, could be bigger. But overall a great stay.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
They are like family and everyone is very nice.
Jul 06, 2016
We stayed and camping cabin number three and the AC could not handle the heat. We notified the front desk and they could not fix it. Also the bathroom the Philippines is too far away and not enough to accommodate the size of the KOA.
Jul 05, 2016
My husband and I along with our three young children thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay in your deluxe cabin. Everything was clean and neatly kept and the staff was very friendly. We will be back!
Jul 05, 2016
Facilities are very nice and clean and cabin was cool great a/c in rustic cabins. Staff was really nice, pretty awesome the deliver firewood. The beer in their store was all reasonably priced. Porta johns were the cleanest I have ever seen anywhere. The only thing I disliked was noticing many unattended campfire. This location obviously is on the river and is a safe place to enter the water
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly staff. Kid friendly and dog friendly.
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
The only thing that I would love more about cabin 15, is a bathroom! Perfect site other than that!!
Jul 02, 2016
Have been staying at this campground long before it was KOA,Will not stay at this KOA nor renew my membership,because i spend over $1300.00 it is not good to charge $24.50 for second car,I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE SECOND CAR CHARGE UNTIL I LOOKED AT MY MAIL RECEIPT! all the years parking has not been a problem ,I can see charging for three cars.
Jul 02, 2016
This was our second stay at this KOA, and we will definitely be back for a third trip. We always enjoy every aspect of this family-friendly campground.
Jul 02, 2016
Very nice and clean KOA. The beauty of this KOA just adds more splendor to the Great Smoky Mountains. The staff works hard to make your stay a great one. Lots of activities to do while visiting the KOA.
Jul 01, 2016
Great hosts, clean restrooms, cabins on the river were comfy and clean
Jul 01, 2016
We so enjoyed are stay! Great place, great staff...just wonderful!
Jun 30, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Wonderful adventure. Bath house clean. Would do this again.
Jun 29, 2016
To expensive and the extra fees...person fee,pet fee, extra car fee. For what you charge that should have been included.
Jun 28, 2016
Best KOA out of the 14 in which we have stayed. Wonderful people behind the desk and on the phones. Cleanest bathrooms and best kept facilities. Thank-you so much for a fabulous stay. We will stay longer next time.
Jun 28, 2016
So impressed with the Deluxe Cabin! Access to the National Park and Little River was awesome!
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice people and nice place to stay.
Jun 26, 2016
We have stayed at Townsend Tn campground for years, we love our little home (cabin) away from home. The staff/grounds keepers are polite helpful and friendly. We plann on staying again next year at this time. The Ormans David & Regina
Jun 24, 2016
We had our three grandsons with us. They enjoyed the deluxe cabin, pool, and playground! Thank you for a delightful stay. It would not have been the same in a hotel room.
Jun 24, 2016
Been coming for years, back when the Chipperfields owned it. We love the cleanliness, the staff, the peacefulness and the amount of things to do within the KOA. First time we stayed in cabin and were very pleased.
Jun 24, 2016
Enjoyed another great stay here. Such wonderful employees here. We love the river and the pool. The deluxe studio cabins are great for those without campers or tents. Extremely clean facilities. Very shady and pleasant.
Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful site!! The pool is always clean and a nice big size. I really appreciated the wood delivery. The staff was very nice. My kids had a blast. Very nice location, close to the Natural Bridge park and great breakfast at the Pink Cadillac Cafe. Can't wait to return!!
Jun 22, 2016
I want to thank everyone at the KOA for giving us such great service., especially when problems occured
Jun 21, 2016
Great experience and lots of fun. Will be back many times.
Jun 21, 2016
We had such an amazing stay at your campground. Everyone we encountered was super nice and friendly. We can't wait to come back and visit every year! Thank you so much!
Jun 18, 2016
Wonderful setting!
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Very active campground. Friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a cabin. Cabin and campground were very clean. Location is nice along the river. Great opportunity for tubing. Cons: Prices high in camp store. (Suggest using IGA). Wifi is not dependable so don't count on getting access.
Jun 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay-everything was clean and perfect for our stay! Thank you very much!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award