Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Apr 26, 2015
Stay was good. Great location. Cabin was clean and comfortable. However, the cable for the TV was out, the WiFi was spotty at best and the port-a-potty could be cleaned more often. Also, cabin had no broom or mop for cleanup. Otherwise, a great place to stay close to the GSMNP.
Apr 23, 2015
Always impressed with this campground & the regular improvements they make. Our Deluxe Cabin had artwork, a headboard, & a Keurig coffee maker - all new since we last stayed about a year ago. Thank you!
Apr 23, 2015
I loved it so much. We have made reservations for next year.
Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful campground I stayed here 20 years ago and had to stay again. the staff is very friendly the park is very clean.
Apr 22, 2015
This KOA would've gotten 5 stars if the advertised wifi had been accessible from our cabin. It wasn't, & that needs to be posted.
Apr 21, 2015
Apr 19, 2015
Great, clean campground w/ nice playground, facilities, store, and river view. Will def. stay here again!
Apr 17, 2015
This is by far the best place to stay if you plan on visiting the Smoky's. Great campground, nice people. It's the only place I stay.
Apr 16, 2015
We had such a great time. Its so quiet and close to cades cove. We stayed in a little cabin by the river it was so relaxing and it was super clean. we will definetely be coming back@
Apr 15, 2015
few suggestions: 1. shelving and towel/clothing hooks in showers over seating. No where to put stuff to keep dry other than seat. 2. shelving on shower side for soap, etc (so not on floor) 3. different paper towel dispensers in restrooms. always jammed constantly had to fix the entire 4 days I was there. 4. port a potty way too full 5. need restrooms on tent camping side--RVs don't need the
Apr 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time the staff wasso friendly and helpful it was a truly great weekend
Apr 15, 2015
Was my first camping experience, tho we did stay in a cabin, it was absolutely wonderful, relaxing and great to be able to have our puppies with us. The staff was was fantastic and so friendly...already booked for another stay.
Apr 14, 2015
We love the Great Smoky Mountains. And We love to stay at the Townsend KOA it is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. Everything is beautifully landscaped and the Cabins are very nice and clean. The cabins even include a gas grill with a very nice sitting area outside. We will definitely return! Thanks KOA!
Apr 14, 2015
First time on a KOA campground. Loved our stay in the deluxe cabin. Never staying in a hotel again.
Apr 12, 2015
This is the most wonderful KOA. Our family loves to stay here because it is safe and the employees and owners are friendly, helpful, and a joy to be around. The new remodeling has really made this top notch KOA even better.
Apr 12, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We have stayed at many KOAs all over the USA, and find this one to be one of the cleanest and nicest of all. It is ever improving.
Apr 11, 2015
Once again our family had a great time at the Townsend KOA. Cabins we're comfortable and kids loved the fishing. We will be back again. The Deichelbohrer's
Apr 10, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins, very clean and just right for us, it was less staying here than in a hotel. Plus it was quite. The river is so relaxing to hear and see, next time we will bring our camper, if we can get a spot. It was pretty here, we looked at some campgrounds from the road and didn't look twice.
Apr 10, 2015
Great customer service from the minute we made our reservation with Marilyn! The deluxe cabin was very clean, and looked brand new. Beautiful! We stayed in cabin (#9), which is really close to the main road; the noise was a bit much for the mt. getaway we hoped for. We wanted a riverfront cabin, but they were all booked. The river front cabins had an ahhh-mazing view. Would def. stay here again!
Apr 09, 2015
Only a couple of complaints about the cabin we stayed in: the shower did not drain good at all and the TV is on wrong side of room, you cannot lay in bed and watch TV at all. Would be nice if it was moved to other wall so it could be watched in bed.
Apr 08, 2015
Great cabins, great service, beautiful setting. Loved it!
Apr 07, 2015
The campground is beautiful and the staff is great.
Apr 07, 2015
Absolutely fabulous! Loved it!
Apr 07, 2015
My granddaughter and I love staying up there! This has been my choice for camping for over 15 years. Very friendly and helpful management and ground crew are the best!
Apr 07, 2015
Our family has been coming to the campground every year for 5 years. It is not too big, not too small, and in a beautiful spot next to the Smokies alongside a mountain river. We've stayed in the cabins off river, on river, and the deluxe cabins. We just came back from Easter egg hunting there. We love to ride over to Cades Cove, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It's the best!
Apr 05, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Great weather and very pet friendly. We will be back soon!
Apr 03, 2015
Good stay, just they were working on the main bathrooms
Apr 01, 2015
Very clean and comfortable cabins in a great location. Good for a quick weekend getaway or an extended stay. Hope to be back soon. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi wouldn't pick up in the cabin at all. We didn't spend too much time inside during the day but it would have been nice to have at night before bed as the cable was out during our stay
Apr 01, 2015
First time renting a cabin usually stay in rv, but was a quick trip with grandsons, they had a great time.
Mar 26, 2015
The studio cabin was beautiful. Nice location . Will be back when I can stay longer.
Mar 25, 2015
We love Koa in Townsend! We tell everyone about it. We gave our kids the option of the beach for the weekend, or to camp at Koa. They chose camping! There is so much for them to do!
Mar 24, 2015
This was the first time we have stayed at a KOA. It was fantastic. Super clean, and the people we wonderful. We had forgotten some items and they were more than accommodating to us. We couldn't have aske for a better campground. Will recommend to family and friends.
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 21, 2015
Pour stay at KOA went really well. The campground was very clean and well kept. Staff there was extremely nice and very courteous . They go out of their way to make sure your stay is going well. We stayed in one of the small cabins at the site and it was nice and clean and everything was in working order. Our only complaint is the mattresses in our cabin were not comfortable at all.
Mar 21, 2015
Awesome! Kid friendly,clean, safe, staff extremely nice. Would recommend to everyone.
Mar 21, 2015
This was our 4th time staying at the KOA Townsend and we always love it! After staying in the deluxe cabins, it'll be hard to ever stay in a camping cabin again. :) Thank you all for being a wonderful campground and we always recommend you to our friends and family. Many blessings to you all!
Mar 19, 2015
stayed in cabin , enjoyed the setup with a patio , grill and fire pit , had my little dog with me and i was very glad i was able to have her with me thanks again and will be staying there again in the future
Mar 18, 2015
Office hours unusual for KOA. Off season. Wonderful stay.
Mar 18, 2015
It rained all my stay but the kids had a blast. That is all that counts!!!
Mar 18, 2015
Your staff were so accommodating, so helpful and willing to give of their time, and so concerned for the welfare of all of your guests. It seems like you have a very special family at this campsite!
Mar 14, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
all was well
Mar 03, 2015
The staff was very friendly. My son and I had a great stay. The cabins were very clean. We would love to return for future visits!
Feb 26, 2015
Feb 24, 2015
We have stayed here many times in our RV. This is the second time we have stayed in a cabin. Must have been a price increase from what we payed last Feb.2014?
Feb 23, 2015
Was a good weekend to get away for Valentines. The only thing I can complain about is the heater in our cabin DID NOT WORK was blowing cold air., I told the lady at the front desk as we were checking out Sunday morning and she told me I should have came told here but it was late when we came back in Saturday night.
Feb 21, 2015
Stayed at this KOA for over 20 years...no problems at all.
Feb 20, 2015
we had a good time. And the staff was very accommodating.
Feb 17, 2015
The Keurig is awesome. I love everything except the shower curtain had mold on it, and there was hair in the shower. Not as clean as it usually is.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.