Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 17, 2015
This was a very family friendly campground. I felt safe letting my kids go to the playground alone. (We were just a short walk away) It was extremely clean and had very nice amenities. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 16, 2015
The setting,grounds and cabins were beautiful and the service was exceptional
Jun 16, 2015
We love this campground. Between my family, friends, and I- we rented 4 camper lots and one cabin this week. We also visited last year and intend to visit next year. We all feel, however, that the rates are over priced. Therefor, all amenities offered and advertised should be available, including wifi- which was not available at any of the 5 sites.
Jun 15, 2015
Great vacation. Very picturesque campground. Loved our cabin DC1, which was on the riverbank. The cabin and grounds were well maintained.
Jun 15, 2015
They need bathrooms and showers closer to the cabins.
Jun 15, 2015
It was awesome. I had a very nice stay. The campground is very beautiful and the bathrooms were impressive. I took my dogs with and the leash-free area was very nice. Thank you.
Jun 15, 2015
Enjoyed it as always! Clean cabin, Friendly people. Will return!
Jun 15, 2015
Staff was friendly. Liked that there was a big campstore. Enjoyed movie night. Thanks for a enjoyable family vacation
Jun 15, 2015
clean well managed campground, pretty tightly packed but otherwise great
Jun 14, 2015
We had a great stay in the camping cabins on the river. Great location just outside the entrance to GSM National Park!
Jun 14, 2015
Brought our 5 year old grand daughter for a visit to the GSM and wanted her to stay where we stayed when her dad was a kid, we loved it back then, and we still do. It was definitely two thumbs up for her and of course the playground was her favorite.
Jun 13, 2015
We stayed in a DC cabins. We really liked cabin...a bit small for 4 adults. Seemed clean, but cabin needed instructions about what to do with dirty towels, trash, paper products. We had to ask each detail...needs to be provided to renters. Unable to complete showers due to hot water running out. The porch was fabulous and the location to the river. Wood provided on porch was a nice touch.
Jun 13, 2015
We have enjoyed staying at this campground since our children were small. It is a joy bringing our grandchildren now.
Jun 11, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Loved that it had lots for kids to do. Two "issues" that we had were the location of bathhouse so far from cabin..closest were porta potties and it seemed really really crowded. Still would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
Jun 10, 2015
The staff was extremely helpful and kins. The Cabin was beautiful and clean as were the bathrooms. There is a church group that does free activities for kids in the mornings and evenings and my kids really enjoyed participating. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park is gorgeous and right out the back door of the campground.
Jun 10, 2015
Campground was nice, cabin was clean, and the staff was friendly. I would definitely consider coming back here in the future.
Jun 09, 2015
Everything was great, parking was tight and close together but overall we had a great time
Jun 08, 2015
We loved your KOA! Had a cabin on the river. Beautiful area. The campground was well maintained and the restrooms and showers were the nicest we have ever encountered. The staff was amazing. We hope to visit again soon. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!
Jun 08, 2015
We rented a two-BR cabin with our 3 girls (12,10&4). Our cabin was equipped with a mini fridge and an air conditioner. It was very clean. We had a great location right on the river. Would have liked to have had a bathroom in our cabin, but the walk to the bath house wasn't too bad. There were also 2 surprisingly clean porta-potties even closer by for desperate times! We plan to return.
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great visit. No complaints!
Jun 07, 2015
Love this KOA. It is perfect for family vacations. I and my family will be returning as soon as possible. Great place and great staff!!! Thank You!!!
Jun 07, 2015
We stayed in a deuxe cabin. Everything was nicer than I expected.
Jun 06, 2015
The only problem i had with my stay was a mouse in my cabin. Other than that it was wonderful.
Jun 05, 2015
We were so pleasantly surprised and pleased not only with the accommodations but the overall atmosphere was great.
Jun 04, 2015
Our stay was great. The park is clean and the staff is friendly and great too. Can't wait until next year!!!
Jun 04, 2015
Great stay , very clean , well kept KOA. Will stay again
Jun 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in needed some repairs. Our accomodations were acceptable, but limited toilets were inconvenient.
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean cabin. Staff were all helpful and available. Will definitely be back.
Jun 01, 2015
As always, the staff was friendly and our cabin was clean/inviting. The grounds are always immaculate and family friendly. We will definitely stay with KOA/Townsend again!
Jun 01, 2015
Awesome as always we stay here often as far as koa goes we hv stayed at few and this is one if not the best we've stayed at the people r great and the grounds r well taken care of A+ rating as far as we feel and yes we will keep going back
May 31, 2015
Such beautiful setting, peaceful and friendly. The staff and services they provide is amazing and always with a smile....I think I could have stayed forever!!'
May 31, 2015
camp ground was very nice and they offered a lot of fun activities for people of all ages. the staff was very friendly as well. the cabin we stayed in was just like all the other KOA cabins we've stayed in in the past except it had a mini fridge which came in very handy. the bathhouse was very clean and had places for us to put all of our shower things as well as our cloths and towel.
May 30, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin. Perfect for that much needed get-away.
May 29, 2015
I would definitely go back again
May 28, 2015
We love this place! Amazing staff and beautiful grounds, really couldn't say a bad thing! Appreciate everything the staff did to make our Memorial Day weekend a great one! We will be back next year!!
May 28, 2015
The KOA in Townsend is awesome! We took 7 families this year (15 kids and 14 adults) and everyone had a fabulous time!
May 28, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The campground is kept clean, the staff friendly and it felt like a very safe family environment. We've stayed here twice and will be back next year!
May 27, 2015
Just amazing
May 27, 2015
I was great! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the campground was so clean and well maintained, and my kiss loved the activities available. I loved that there was a worship service available on Sunday morning. I love that we were able to take our little dog and that there was a fenced in area for him to play in. We will definitly stay there again!
May 27, 2015
We stayed in a delux cabin on the river for 2 nights. Cabin was clean and awesome. Great location to the Park. Enjoyed the bikes, playground, campfire area and hanging at the cabin. Staff was fantastic. Our gas grill had not been cleaned in a long time. Caked up grease caused a huge fire on first use. Notified office and they sent someone right over. Great time.
May 25, 2015
What a great weekend getaway. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and perfect for our family of five. The view was terrific and the location of the campground was perfect. In two days we hiked, biked, swam, paddled, and caught a movie. A simple great time for our family. Very friendly and polite staff, they always had time for a smile and a 'hello'.
May 20, 2015
The park was the best I have ever been in great for kids, but still quiet for adults. The cabins were the best I have ever been in I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
May 20, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which were great and nicely equipped with all you would need. A pleasant surprise was the beautiful patio with gas grill and nice stone fireplace ring. Even though the cabins are close to each other, they have landscaped between them beautifully so you feel like you have your own privacy. I definitely will be back!
May 20, 2015
Amazing place & very friendly staff. Have already made reservations for July.
May 19, 2015
Our stay was very nice, everyone friendly. It would be nice if the sweet shop could offer a light breakfast,deli sandwiches, fresh fruit, etc..
May 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful, well kept. The facilities are squeaky clean. Wonderful time over all. Two small complaints that were not the fault of the facility, Leaf blower at 8:30 both Sat and Sun mornings. Seemed to be an individual rather than the maintenence crew at the grounds. Noisy motorcycles at 8:30 Saturday morning!!!
May 16, 2015
Everything was awesome!
May 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and they made our stay great!
May 13, 2015
We love it and would stay more often if the price was cheaper. Love the area and scenery.
May 12, 2015
Absolutely love this campground, very peaceful even with a big crowd. Grounds were clean.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.