Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Nov 02, 2015
Cabins clean and warm, tons of kid activites. We will be back for sure!
Nov 02, 2015
Always friendly, clean, and economical. We love the Townsend KOA!!
Oct 30, 2015
Good facilites, well maintained, pleasant staff, a stone's throw from the park and a beautiful river
Oct 29, 2015
My stay was very pleasant
Oct 28, 2015
We love staying here. The people are so friendly and everything is always so clean.
Oct 28, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin on the river and it was just lovely! This is our favorite place to stay because it's full of gorgeous trees, it's quiet and the staff is wonderful!
Oct 28, 2015
For someone who has never stayed on a camp ground this was the perfect! "Glamping" (glam-camping) at its finest! Just the perfect dose of roughing it. The cabin and facilities were very clean!
Oct 27, 2015
I would not recomend the camping cabin because it was not worth 100$ a night with no bathroom, the floor was dirty, the curtain rods came out of their holders everytime you moved a curtain, and the curtain on the door was ripped i half. The view of the Little River was nice, however because the cabin was so close to the main hwy there was constant traffic noise. It is NOT worth the cost per night.
Oct 26, 2015
On our 1st night we encountered a problem when we pulled out the couch to put sheets on and there were rat droppings and urine on the mattress and on the floor behind the couch.We had contacted the office the next morning and told them them the problem and said they would take care of it and switch the mattress out.We came back to the cabin and same mattress was still there just sprayedwithfresher
Oct 26, 2015
Bath houses very clean. Cabin very clean and nice mini fridge and heater!
Oct 26, 2015
Staff friendly,nice amenities, nice Camper Cabin. Location convenient to the National Park. However, location not attractive and the sites are too close together. The nicest sites are by the river. We had a problem with noisy neighbors, but the staff did address that appropriately.
Oct 25, 2015
I enjoyed my five day stay @ Townsend KOA. The rustic cabin I stayed in along the river was very peaceful. Looking forward to returning in the future.
Oct 25, 2015
Oct 25, 2015
the grounds are beautiful and most of the staff friendly but there was a couple of the guys very arrogant,we have had that problem in the past but overall was a good experience.
Oct 25, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and beautiful park. Awesome camping in a primitive cabin on the river.
Oct 20, 2015
Neat and clean, like new little deluxe cabin. We spent 3 nights there and enjoyed it.Pet friendly complete with doggie dishes and treats. Lots nearby including Cade's Cove and beautiful scenery. Restaurants nearby.I hope to return.
Oct 19, 2015
Love this campground. Great location, fabulous and attentive staff. We love the cabins and camp fire areas. My only complaint was DC6 smelled of cat urine/ cat spray and the smell was insanely strong. We could air the cabin out during the day by opening all windows but at nt the smell was almost unbearable. Caused terrible headaches. We sprayed the vents w Lysol and febreeze repeatedly to no avai
Oct 19, 2015
The only thing that was wrong with my stay was the wood that was provided at 5.80 a bundle was very green ! Smoked bad and did not burn well. Other than that great stay, great cabins felt like I got my money's worth. Thank u
Oct 19, 2015
Had a great weekend! The facilities were very good.
Oct 19, 2015
One of the best Kamping experience that I had in a long time. KOA is a must camp site for all who love to camp,
Oct 19, 2015
We enjoyed a great stay at the Townsend KOA. Very clean restrooms and very friendly staff. We will definitely be back.
Oct 18, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. All linens, shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel were provided. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again!
Oct 18, 2015
Wonderful experience. Love the staff!!!! We are planning another trip next year.
Oct 17, 2015
Love this place and all who make our stay continually fantastic! Thank you!
Oct 17, 2015
Very helpful staff, clean facilities, very enjoyable stay
Oct 15, 2015
beautiful campgroundfriendly staff.peaceful
Oct 14, 2015
Front desk clerk, Mickey, rude!!! Porta potties not clean as usual. As a local I have referred many to this KOA. Disappointed
Oct 14, 2015
It was perfect - super kid friendly and very clean. Tamera was amazingly helpful.
Oct 13, 2015
The campground was great. Cabin was very nice. The only problem we had was the cabin 2 doors down had 2 unattended dogs and barked continually from about 9am until the owners came back about 9pm. The front desk tried to contact the owners but not not have any luck. I think that dogs should not be allowed. It definitely was not a relaxing day.
Oct 13, 2015
The staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. The cabin we rented was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again in a second.
Oct 13, 2015
very very nice cabin and grounds
Oct 13, 2015
I always love staying in Townsend at the KOA. Peaceful and beautiful. Our family really enjoyed the deluxe cabin.
Oct 12, 2015
It was great I will b comin back
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 11, 2015
We had a bad time due to the rainy weather. Also, it sucked not having a bathroom in the cabin. But, otherwise it was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly.
Oct 10, 2015
Cleanest bathrooms ever! Safe and beautiful place for families! Friend and I stayed right on the river! It was so peaceful and perfect for an overnight camping experience!
Oct 10, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay
Oct 07, 2015
We did not get the cabin that we were told we would be staying in. The cabin smelled like a wet dog. The mulch at the playground smelled like mildew. The women in the office were not very friendly. The nicest one there was Adam. He was super sweet and a big help. The only reason we didn't leave was because everything was booked. We looked. We will not go back.
Oct 04, 2015
The location is good. However the "deluxe" cabins are overprices for what you get. Not even a bathroom sink (must use the kitchen sink). Bathroom floor was dirty. For the price, a really bad value for the cabin. If you are camping it is OK.
Oct 02, 2015
Oct 01, 2015
Loved the campground. Right next to the Smokie Mountains. Great location for motorcycle riders like us.
Sep 30, 2015
Loved it there, very friendly and helpful!
Sep 30, 2015
We have a 5th wheel camper which was involved in a wreck. KOA traded us a site for a cabin which was a cancellation so we could be with our family for our annual visit for many years. Thanks KOA Townsend
Sep 29, 2015
Sep 29, 2015
We stayed in a camping cabin for 3 nights and were happy with our choice. Although it was inconvenient to not have a bathroom in our cabin, it sure beat a tent and sleeping bag!
Sep 27, 2015
Quiet nice place to stay with quick access to the national park .
Sep 26, 2015
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night. Next trip we hope to stay longer. Everyone was cordial and helpful. Even the rain didn't "dampen" our stay!!
Sep 24, 2015
we have stayed 3 times this year and everytime it gets better and better wonderful staff to assist any time and its great for kids and family tried Cherokee koa it was awful dirty and no fishing but one call to townsend and the day was saved thanks townsend koa you guys are great
Sep 22, 2015
Great location away from town but close enough if you wanted to venture out! Friendly attentive staff! Campground was very clean and well taken care of! Lots of activities!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps