Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 16, 2014
What a wonderful place. From the amazing customer service to the daily activities for the children. This place is truly one you don't want to miss.
Jun 15, 2014
The employees at the camp ground were very helpful and nice, we stayed in the deluxe cabins - very nice & well kept. Thank You we will stay again
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Not a serious complaint, but a suggestion: The last morning of our stay the garbage truck rolled through the campground at 6:12 a.m. emptying dumpsters. Quite noisy. Whether the waste management contract is through KOA or the city, I know from personal experience that the starting time can be negotiated to a little later in the morning. Thanks for listening.
Jun 12, 2014
This is the first time my family had been camping together. We absolutely loved the cabin, the grounds and the activities! The staff were so friendly and helpful and the campground was very clean! It was so peaceful and relaxing, and wonderful to spend quality time together as a family. Seeing the Bald Eagle swoop down the river was an extra bonus! We are planning to come back next year!
Jun 12, 2014
The cabin was very nice but we found mounds of dog hair on the sleeper sofa matress in what we had booked a no pet cabin. The campground was great all around. Staff were great also. We were a little dissappointed we thought the cabin had access to the river but we still had a good time.
Jun 12, 2014
My wife and I stayed in one of the Deluxe Cabins, it was perfect! The staff was friendly, helpful, and there was always someone around! Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
I was very pleased with the cabin. It was quiet, clean and everything worked, TV, AC, Heat, and plumbing. The cabin is small but I knew that going in. The outdoor layout was nice with a bit of privacy with small trees placed so you could sit outside without feeling like everyone was watching you. We will try to be back soon.
Jun 11, 2014
Deluxe cabin exceeded our expectations, filled with many well-thought-out amenities.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Great campground, wonderful playground and pool. I only gave it 4 stars because the bathrooms were dirty and the pool hours were too short, it opens from 10 am - 800 pm... TOO early to close in the summer
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time, but would love to have better mattresses. The beds are so uncomfortable, but the fun made up for it.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
We loved our quaint camping cabin right on the river!
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
It was great. I think you need more bathrooms and showers, they were always full.
Jun 03, 2014
We were in a deluxe cabin. It was fully furnished all the way down to the soap and shampoo in the shower. Had brand new grills. Lots of improvements had been made since my last stay. I thought it could not get any better but you did a wonderful job at the pool,river,and play area!!
Jun 03, 2014
We had an amazing time. It was relaxing and fun. We will be back.
Jun 02, 2014
This is the nicest KOA PERIOD! Located right next to the Little River, VERY CLEAN, nice pool, GREAT PLAYGROUND for the kids, activities and a mile from the Great Smokey Mountain National Park.
Jun 02, 2014
Even though my online registation did not show up the Ladies at the Townsend KOA foun a cabin for me and had me in it in a few minutes. It was new and clean. The place looked great! Will return as I have in the past!
Jun 01, 2014
Wonderful weekend getaway for the family! Will definitely visit again!
Jun 01, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin. It was very comfortable and clean. The unit was private and had a lovely stone outside patio with a high end grill and fire pit. The purpose of our trip was to watch wildlife in the Smokey Mountains. This park is closest to Cades Cove and is in a quiet area without the crowds of Gatlinburg. We will definitely be back. Great trip.
May 31, 2014
This was our 2nd time staying with KOA Townsend & we LOVE it there! The only complaint that we would ever have is having to walk to the bath house! Which is always super clean! Just wish there was one closer to the cabins. We love staying on the river & we love the dog park area. I suggested when we were checking out that you should get an Instagram acct! We love this Kampground & will be back!!!
May 30, 2014
Our family had a blast at KOA. The kids loved the pool, hayride, playground and outdoor movie. They also made new friends. Service was wonderful.
May 30, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 27, 2014
Loved loved it everyone was super had a awesome stay with family and friends!
May 25, 2014
Our first experience in the Cabins, we enjoyed it very much, always enjoy the Townsend area and look forward to our next visit. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
May 24, 2014
Queen bed is not really a queen but needs to be. Mattress needs replacing, bed uncomfortable. Cabin could use a sink. Bunk bed mattresses too thin. Cabin was nice and provided the essentials but a few improvements would make them better. Great staff on site, clean area. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks.
May 24, 2014
Great staff. Plenty to do or not do. We love it there.
May 23, 2014
May 22, 2014
We had a great stay. Thanks to all the friendly staff for making our vacation so much fun.
May 22, 2014
great !
May 20, 2014
I had a wonderful time again. We will stay again, and again
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
Loved it! Had a really great time. We will return soon!
May 19, 2014
great place will go again
May 18, 2014
This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is warm and welcoming. We will definitely stay here again.
May 17, 2014
Loved every minute! My boys had a great time fishing in the Little River and we loved the cabin next to the river. We will definately be back. Only wish was that store and other local businesses stayed open later in the evening and some ground lighting for nighttime walks. Very dark to navigate. Especially the cabin steps. Maybe some low voltage lighting landscape lighting??? Will be back!!
May 17, 2014
Everything was great except the bed was not very comfortable. Great staff
May 17, 2014
May 15, 2014
Nice place. Needs maintenance and better cleaning in deluxe cabins. Had to clean when we arrived at 6:30pm. Grill dirty also.
May 14, 2014
It was great except the steps outside of two of our cabins were slick. My husband fell 2 times and my sis n law once. I am 9 months pregnant and a friend staying in a cabin next to ours is 8 months pregnant as well. So as you can imagine what could have happened if we had fell. They finally did come put strips down after my brother raised Cain. But it was still slick and should have been washed.
May 14, 2014
We had a very raining weekend but still Iots of fun. We stayed in a cabin so that worked out great .
May 13, 2014
We have been coming for about 10 years now. This trip it seemed not as busy. Several of our group fell on the cabin steps they were green and slippery we told the staff after 2 falls they put some towels down. But there were more To follow. Finally it was fixed. It was very painful and embarassing. The pool closed to early also. 7:00 we were also told our rv site didn't move but there was a caBi
May 13, 2014
Great place to stay very relaxing looking forward to my next stay in september
May 12, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.