Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Oct 07, 2013
We had a great stay at the KOA!!!
Oct 07, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin, and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend. The cabin had all the amenities of home but was just a step outside away from all the other great parts of camping - cooking out, campfires, wading in the river, etc. We'll definitely be back!
Oct 03, 2013
I have always loved this campground even before it became koa but I do not like the way that some of the cabins are set up we stayed in #6 and they were on top of each other not to mention the campsites were in our front yard thank god we had good neighbors or I would have pitched a fit the campsites really need doing away with give that cabin a little privacy I will never stay in 6 again.
Oct 03, 2013
I have stayed in a lot of KOA camp grounds over the years. I always use the Kamping Kabins. I love them. I must say that this KK11 was one of the nicest ones that I have ever stayed in. I loved the fact that it had a small refrigerater and a t.v. Decorated very nice, LOVED IT!! Thank you!
Oct 02, 2013
Cabin was spotless! Great stay!
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
We had a wonderful time!! Staff very friendly and helpful. We rented camping cabin very nice, roomy and clean. Showers and bathroom very clean and supplies always filled. We can't wait to come again!!
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
My stay was great. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. I am already planning a return visit. The only drawback was the WiFi was spotty but that was not why I was camping anyhow so it was not a big factor.
Sep 30, 2013
It was pleasant and the staff was very accommodating.
Sep 29, 2013
nice and peaceful, very clean, and very dog freindly my bulldog enjoyed himself,just wish we were closer to bathrooms and showers other than that it was great..
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Even though it rained we still had a great time. Plan on returning.
Sep 25, 2013
We love this KOA; and our family stays there often! And, we noticed they've made improvements in the playground & some sites; Very nice! Too bad our son is now too old for that new playground @ 15. It's Beautiful.
Sep 24, 2013
People were very friendly and the amenities I were all clean and nice.
Sep 23, 2013
THE ROOM WAS NICE AND CLEAN AND EVERYONE WAS NICE. THE ONLY THING THAT WAS BAD WAS THE BED. IT MUST HAVE BEEN FROM NOAHS ARK. EVERY MOVE IT MADE A NOISE AND SAGGED IN THE MIDDLE. IT WAS TOO LATE AT NIGHT TO FIND ANOTHER PLACE SO I JUST TUFFED IT OUT. THE NEXT TIME I WILL SIT OR LAY ON THE BED FIRST.
Sep 22, 2013
great weather, cabin clean, comfortable. Playground great for kids. movie a little scary for younger kids. Had to take 2 year old back to cabin. Probably G rated movies would be better for families. Of all the KOA's we've stayed in we like this one the best. Love all the trees and the smell of campfires. We'll be back next year if all goes as planned.
Sep 19, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
The deluxe cabin was very clean. It was extremely small for the price, but we still enjoyed our stay there. We really enjoyed all of the activities for kids and adults on Saturday. We would definitely stay there again :D
Sep 18, 2013
There is nothing negative to say about the KOA in Townsend, Tn. Clean, lots of activities, and a friendly helpful staff. My grandchildren had a great time and already have reservations for two times next year. We loved everything about it and you won't be sorry for staying here.
Sep 17, 2013
Enjoyed another great camping weekend! Very nice place to go...will be back! Appreciated extended stay option on Sunday. Would like to see that available to stay till like 6pm to enjoy an extra day when the site is not reserved the following day. Shower system needs to have a reservoir installed to keep pressure when flushing toilets...annoying. Employees all very nice!
Sep 17, 2013
PERFECT! It will be hard for another camp ground to compare. The camp ground host(s) make it fun and friendly! Highly recommend this place!
Sep 17, 2013
Nice Cabins and nice restrooms/showers. Great activities for the kids.
Sep 16, 2013
We have stayed in the deluxe cabins 4-5 different times now and have loved it every single time! This KOA is awesome and I highly recommend it!
Sep 16, 2013
fun, family atmosphere!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Clean, peaceful and super friendly staff.
Sep 12, 2013
Beautiful area, super staff clean large cabin, can't say enough nice things about the place. Would definately stay again. Best one yet, and we hit the road again soon and will be using more KOA's.
Sep 11, 2013
Camping at the Townsend KOA has become a family tradition. We had another great visit this year! This year in addition to fishing, tubing, playing at the playground,swimming, biking and hiking our son's participated in Bingo and the movie night. So much fun! Great family time!
Sep 11, 2013
It was a great cabin. We will be staying in KOA next time we are in the area.
Sep 10, 2013
We loved the staff and all the activities for the kids!, keep up the good work.
Sep 10, 2013
Your cabins are awesome and I thought they were brand new! Thank you for keeping them sooo clean and well maintained....I will be back!
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
The stay was nice. The only issue was the A/C stopped working and the only window I could open was broke. So it was a little warm in there. When I told the lady at the front desk, she appeared not to care., Other than that, great place and would stay again and will .
Sep 09, 2013
The campsite is very clean, up-to-date and well kept.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
No indoor kitchen, and it rained every day. Slight inconvenience. The shower is tiny too. Everything around this site is breathtaking. Nice and quiet location with great neighbors. Would definitely stay here again.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
My family had such a fun relaxing time that I booked our next trip Two months from now from the comfort of my kampig kabin before we left.
Sep 03, 2013
our family had a wonderful time, the KOA is wonderful.
Sep 03, 2013
I believe this was the cleanest and best kept campground I have ever stayed in. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the price, its a little high but worth the extra money.
Aug 30, 2013
We went after the tubing season so it was nice and slow , peaceful. KOA employees were very friendly and helpful , grounds very well maintained. Had a wonderful time will be coming again.
Aug 29, 2013
We love coming here. Everybody is friendly and helpful.
Aug 27, 2013
We enjoy this campground very much but cabins are way to expensive and small. Would come again and stay in a camper but not a cabin. I will recommend campground which I already have but would not the cabins
Aug 27, 2013
Great on river site! Well maintained campground and very helpful staff!!
Aug 26, 2013
Great location!
Aug 25, 2013
Great time. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean & spacious campsites. Loved the little cabin. Already recommended it.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.