Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Oct 15, 2014
Soggy, but fun. We were glad to see the sun come out on Monday!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We stay here twice a year and LOVE it.
Oct 14, 2014
We had a fabulous time! Cabin was clean and perfect for our family! We will definitely be back.
Oct 14, 2014
Our favorite place to stay in the Smokies
Oct 13, 2014
Loved our cabin but the WiFi service didn't reach are area very well. The staff was very friendly other than a girl that works in the store. She was one of the most unfriendly people I have ever met. Felt like I was not good enough for her or something. At first I thought maybe she was just having a bad day but every time I came in she was working and was just as unfriendly as the last time.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in Townsend, it is indeed the "quiet side of the Smokies". The KOA was excellent.
Oct 12, 2014
We love the cabins here, and they are always very clean!
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Nice quiet weekend away. Clean comfortable cabin with great amenities
Oct 06, 2014
We loved everything about our stay. This is our 3rd time staying in the Deluxe Cabins. The only complaint I have is the comfort of the beds. They are not comfortable at all. I am not a picky person at all and can deal with just about anything, but the bed was horrible. Very clean, very nice staff, loved the scenery, staff always willing to help, pet friendly. Please get better beds. Thank you
Oct 05, 2014
Deluxe Cabin was clean and office personal were efficient and friendly. Love the campsite. Returning in the spring.
Oct 04, 2014
It was very nice campground but the sites are a little close together. The cabins are really a nice way to stay in the campground without having a camper. Wish they would make some of the cabins handicap accessible as this was an issue for a gentleman in our party and it was difficult for him to get in and out of the cabin.
Oct 03, 2014
don't like only one sink in deluxe cabin to wash dishes in and brush your teeth in not sanitary to me not handicap friendly in any way very friendly staff plenty of linens and pillows our first stay in deluxe cabin after selling our rv not sure if we will tackle this again may have to find other accomdations that are more suitable for us as my husband is disabled
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Loved the cabin, location and atmosphere. Will surely stay again!
Sep 30, 2014
This KOA is not equipped for handicapped individuals. We had to carry my husband into the deluxe cabin and I had to block the entire women's restoom to assist my husband because there are no family facilities. This KOA is great if you have no physical health issues. We can't stay here again with the current facilities.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
We love this KOA. We have stayed here for years. We have camped many years but this last stay many of us got cabins due to my father being diagnosed with ALS "Lou Gehrig's" and unable to camp. We were sad to see none of the cabins at this KOA have handicap access. We would like to see some with ramps or unfortunately we will be forced to find somewhere to come every year.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Very nicely kept campground. Showers are great and family friendly. Our 4 year old loved our one room cabin.
Sep 28, 2014
Nicest campground we've stayed in. Loved the enclosed pet area. Very friendly helpful staff!!!!
Sep 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay..it was so quite there. we went over to galtinburg and it is so nice to come back home to peace. The only thing I wished there was more shower houses closer to the cabins... but we did great.. thank you so much.. we will be back.
Sep 25, 2014
Very impressed with the clean well equiped cabin.All of the staff could not have been more helpful. Hope to come again.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
gs family camp weekend staff friendly and helpful
Sep 22, 2014
The cabin we stayed in had some mold growing by the top bunk that made my son sick. The trip to the bathroom was pretty far. The craft and activities were wonderful. It made for an action packed day.
Sep 22, 2014
The Good: nice clean bath house, store on site. The Bad: confusing campground layout, bath house too far from cabins/tenters, heavy balls falling from trees dented hood of truck, poor/no lighting on pathways. Not the worst, but needs some work.
Sep 22, 2014
Quiet even though family oriented. I swam in the pool; the river was too cold for me. The store had items I forgot to pack. I made some good friends. There was one magazine in the office that helped me plan my hike.
Sep 20, 2014
Very friendly employees and helpful!!
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
We loved the cabin but would have liked if someone would have told us that there was no stove or skillet to cook in
Sep 18, 2014
Hardly nothing worked in the cabin,way to crowded and noisy,Deck was not covered couldn't sit outside when it rained ,smelled inside,couldn't standup in the shower ,way to narrow roads getting into the cabins,worst stay ever
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
I suggest you print your maps from MapQuest. Camp maps from and to various sites are very poor.
Sep 17, 2014
Great place, grandchildren love it, we rented a studio cabin, and were very disappointed that our air conditioner did not work, and the ceiling fan worked very poorly. We ended up buying a small table fan to set beside the bed. We did report the issue but the maintenance department could not get it to cool. Will stay again but must have air conditioning.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
DC10 was a great cabin. The facilities are always great. Staff is nice and helpful.
Sep 16, 2014
the cabin was very clean and the people were very friendly and helpfull.
Sep 15, 2014
Clean facilities and friendly staff! Most impressed!
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great time and the grandkids love it.
Sep 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time as always...We have stayed in several KOA Kampgrounds, but Townsend is the best one so far..Had a blast playing BINGO..Thanks
Sep 12, 2014
Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour en cabine au Koa de Townsend! Très propre et bel accueil. Prêt du parc et des services d'épicerie et autres. La réception du wifi serait grandement à améliorer toutefois.
Sep 12, 2014
The cabin was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Great Smokies.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
The cabin next to mine had Bed Bugs. I saw them and are very familiar with them. There were hundreds of them. The did refund the money to the couple and the family but tried to blame it on them bringing them to the cabin. They were not brought to the cabin. There were hundreds of them. This happens but could have been handled better.
Sep 09, 2014
This was the 5th time we have stayed here. We always come back because the park is clean, staff very friendly, & there is so much to do in the park!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.