Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 20, 2014
This was our second stay at Townsend and couldn't have been happier with Kabin, the site, and the staff. The location is beautiful and convenient to the national park without the crowds.
Jul 19, 2014
I have found TN to be so un-dog friendly I travel with a service dog and this was the only one in TN that allowed us knowing a service dog was in tow and when told it did not matter...it was the only one I found in TN "Dog Friendly",a fee for clean up ($20)when even told it was a service animal...airlines are not even allowed to do that...I will contact KOA HQ on this matter. I won't stay in TN.
Jul 17, 2014
While in the campground office, I overheard a conversation that concerned me: a woman with an Eastern Europe accent entered the office; she was told there were no sites available. The woman said, "I just saw on the website that there are sites available." She was asked, "Do you want one on the river?" She said yes. She was told none avail. on the river. River site 121 was avail.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We started our camping experience when our kids were young. This year our little blessing, our grandchild, came with us to experience the beauty and tranquility of this KOA campground. The cabin accommodations were spacious and the fellowship with our immediate neighbors and staff was refreshing. This KOA location will nurture family ties while appreciating the beauty that encapsulates each site
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The people at this facility were very helpful with all parts of our visit and made our familiy's stay in Townsend very memorable.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at cabin #15. We were only scheduled to stay Monday thru Friday, but had so much fun that we wanted to stay until Saturday. The office staff went above and beyond to make it possible for us to stay another night :)
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
We have stayed at the Townsend KOA for 5 straight years now. My children especially enjoy the summer camp and family night activities offered at the campground. The location is perfect for the outdoor activities we enjoy around the Cades Cove area.
Jul 09, 2014
Great location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful campground with excellent facilities. We'll definitely go back!
Jul 07, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the mattress on the bed in the Cabin is too hard.
Jul 06, 2014
The staff was friendly and the cabin was immaculate. Would visit the Townsend, TN KOA Kampground again and reccommend to others.
Jul 06, 2014
Awesome place to stay! We parked on Sunday night in front of our cabin and did not start the truck until we left. Plenty of things to do and great service. We will be back again.
Jul 06, 2014
Clean, friendly staff, beautiful site!
Jul 05, 2014
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN was a great vacation. The Deluxe cabin was just perfect for the 4 of us. Love the river stream just outside the cabin very relaxing and peaceful. Great staff, very clean camp grounds. Great family time and making memories that we will cherish a lifetime. Thanks KOA Townsend/Great Smokies you were apart of this vacation that we will never forget!....
Jul 04, 2014
Had great stay will be back.
Jul 02, 2014
The campground was very clean. We stayed in a cabin on the river. There was no lighting whatsoever to go to the showers. It was very long way to the bathroom/showers. Only Porta potties closer to the cabins. For the price of the cabin, more bathrooms should have been available closer.
Jul 02, 2014
This was our return visit from a 1 night stay a few weeks ago. We love the staff,love the pool, love the playground, felt very welcomed. We will be back next year. Love the day camp. We didn't get to participate this time, but we walked over and spoke with the group and loved what they are doing.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family love this KOA we stay there as often as we can . Growing up in that area it's our first choice it's always clean and kid friendly .
Jul 02, 2014
Awesome
Jul 01, 2014
always great, always friendly! Daisy up front really helped with the multiple reservations. Thanks for the fun weekend!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
In the future I will seek out a KOA with a campin' cabin....It's a great way to get the most out of visiting an area ! It sure beat sitting in a hotel looking at the Interstate in the evenings after a day of sightseeing !
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Clean cabin, shady balcony with great grill and fire pit, would have preferred a more unobstructed view of the main river for the price but it was still a very nice stay and loved the sound of the water! Very friendly staff and excellent customer service!
Jun 30, 2014
We had the best time! We definitely will come again. Just hoping to catch a cabin open along the river next time. I can understand why they are always booked LoL! Thank you for everything, especially a young lady named Laura who helped my daughter make her tye dye shirt.
Jun 30, 2014
Our stay was almost perfect. We got to relax and enjoy the beautiful campsite. There were many things to do there, like swim, fish, site see, river raft and shop. Those are just some of what campers can do at this K O A! My family highly recommends this experience for other families.
Jun 30, 2014
The activities (tie-dye t-shirts & movies at night)only take place on Saturdays. The website is not clear about this. My grandkids were disappointed that we were not able to do these activities.
Jun 29, 2014
I didn't like beening questioned when we requested toilet paper and trash bags. Didn't see housekeeping employees but a couple of times during our entire stay and had to go to office when we needed something. Staff/employees were not as friendly as on our previous visits. We have 4 families that have stayed at the same time for the same amount of days, we have all booked again for next year.
Jun 29, 2014
Had a great time at KOA, although the price for the Deluxe Cabin was way to expensive, around 200.00 a day is very high, can rent a whole house or condo for less than that.
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facility. I thought it was a little on the expensive side for the deluxe cabin.
Jun 29, 2014
We had a great stay and we loved the camping cabins. The staff was friendly and campus was clean. Only problem we had was that the mattress was thin and uncomfortable. We will definitely be back.
Jun 28, 2014
Prime location - on the beat part of he river. Great staff!!! Book early for bigger spaces. Cabins are very efficient and cute. We stayed a week in our RV and met up with friends who booked the cabin. We had no complaints!!
Jun 27, 2014
Pure relaxation The grounds were immaculate and the staff was great!!!
Jun 25, 2014
Loved everything about our stay. We were impressed with how clean the cabins were. Had a lot of fun with the different activities - our son said it was the best vacation ever!
Jun 25, 2014
One of our issues was the pool closing at 8pm and being kicked out at 7:45. There was not a maid service to replace towels and the excuse was they didn't have enough. Not my problem! The staff's presence was lacking and when they were around, they did not take an interest in any of their guests. They acted like we should be grateful for them! Will not stay there again.
Jun 23, 2014
Great time. 3-yr old loved the playground. Wish the pool had more shallow area for younger, or a separate baby pool. Otherwise it was great!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Very family friendly. Nobody wanted to leave.
Jun 23, 2014
I could not have been more pleased with our stay at the campground. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; the facilities were neat and clean; and the prices reasonable. Perfect!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
really enjoyed the whole experience staff was very helpful and eager to please
Jun 22, 2014
We love the location of the campground on the river. The staff was great from the first phone call through check out. Thanks!
Jun 20, 2014
We stayed at one of the cabins at the campground for only a few days, but it couldn't have been better. The cabin was well-constructed and immaculately kept, and the surroundings were beautiful. Although the campground felt secluded, there were plenty of amenities such as restaurants within a short distance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would love to visit again.
Jun 20, 2014
This was our 5th year to stay at KOA at Townsend. The staff is always wonderful! They are always very kind and considerate and willing to help and fix any kind of problems very quickly. The campground and all the facilities and pool are always extremely clean and well cared for. I can not say enough good things about this campground and the staff! we hope to be vacationing there every year!
Jun 20, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin. We stayed in dc12 and dc16. We liked having a sink and full length mirror in dc16. All staff were friendly and very helpful . Great place to bring our grandson! Thanks for a nice time!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.