Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 10, 2016
This place is a gem in the GSM!!
Jul 10, 2016
Wonderful campground the staff are very efficient and the cabin was perfect.
Jul 10, 2016
Have stayed here a few times. Always a great vacation.
Jul 10, 2016
Postive: Location, Plenty of kid's activities. Negative: We had a barking bloodhound in cabin next to us. The dog barked at every person that walked by or if you went out on your porch. It was frustrating. Pool was closed for cleaning on the one sunny day we were there.
Jul 09, 2016
We liked our cabin and location. But honestly the people working front desk were not very friendly. We've been to this KOA 3 years in a row. It's usually very friendly when you walk in. But the ladies at front desk made my husband and I feel like an inconvenience more than a customer. I'm sure they are busy and tired...but I think they need to smile, make eye contact and make you feel welcome.
Jul 08, 2016
Stayed in a Deluxe Cabin this time; and, it was clean and wonderful. Wood bench on the porch could use some cushion, but love sitting there for morning coffee.
Jul 08, 2016
Great location. Close to Gatlinburg & other shopping. Had fun tubing down the Little River. Quite at night. Pool a little congested, could be bigger. But overall a great stay.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
They are like family and everyone is very nice.
Jul 06, 2016
We stayed and camping cabin number three and the AC could not handle the heat. We notified the front desk and they could not fix it. Also the bathroom the Philippines is too far away and not enough to accommodate the size of the KOA.
Jul 05, 2016
My husband and I along with our three young children thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay in your deluxe cabin. Everything was clean and neatly kept and the staff was very friendly. We will be back!
Jul 05, 2016
Facilities are very nice and clean and cabin was cool great a/c in rustic cabins. Staff was really nice, pretty awesome the deliver firewood. The beer in their store was all reasonably priced. Porta johns were the cleanest I have ever seen anywhere. The only thing I disliked was noticing many unattended campfire. This location obviously is on the river and is a safe place to enter the water
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly staff. Kid friendly and dog friendly.
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
The only thing that I would love more about cabin 15, is a bathroom! Perfect site other than that!!
Jul 02, 2016
Have been staying at this campground long before it was KOA,Will not stay at this KOA nor renew my membership,because i spend over $1300.00 it is not good to charge $24.50 for second car,I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE SECOND CAR CHARGE UNTIL I LOOKED AT MY MAIL RECEIPT! all the years parking has not been a problem ,I can see charging for three cars.
Jul 02, 2016
This was our second stay at this KOA, and we will definitely be back for a third trip. We always enjoy every aspect of this family-friendly campground.
Jul 02, 2016
Very nice and clean KOA. The beauty of this KOA just adds more splendor to the Great Smoky Mountains. The staff works hard to make your stay a great one. Lots of activities to do while visiting the KOA.
Jul 01, 2016
Great hosts, clean restrooms, cabins on the river were comfy and clean
Jul 01, 2016
We so enjoyed are stay! Great place, great staff...just wonderful!
Jun 30, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Wonderful adventure. Bath house clean. Would do this again.
Jun 29, 2016
To expensive and the extra fees...person fee,pet fee, extra car fee. For what you charge that should have been included.
Jun 28, 2016
Best KOA out of the 14 in which we have stayed. Wonderful people behind the desk and on the phones. Cleanest bathrooms and best kept facilities. Thank-you so much for a fabulous stay. We will stay longer next time.
Jun 28, 2016
So impressed with the Deluxe Cabin! Access to the National Park and Little River was awesome!
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice people and nice place to stay.
Jun 26, 2016
We have stayed at Townsend Tn campground for years, we love our little home (cabin) away from home. The staff/grounds keepers are polite helpful and friendly. We plann on staying again next year at this time. The Ormans David & Regina
Jun 24, 2016
We had our three grandsons with us. They enjoyed the deluxe cabin, pool, and playground! Thank you for a delightful stay. It would not have been the same in a hotel room.
Jun 24, 2016
Been coming for years, back when the Chipperfields owned it. We love the cleanliness, the staff, the peacefulness and the amount of things to do within the KOA. First time we stayed in cabin and were very pleased.
Jun 24, 2016
Enjoyed another great stay here. Such wonderful employees here. We love the river and the pool. The deluxe studio cabins are great for those without campers or tents. Extremely clean facilities. Very shady and pleasant.
Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful site!! The pool is always clean and a nice big size. I really appreciated the wood delivery. The staff was very nice. My kids had a blast. Very nice location, close to the Natural Bridge park and great breakfast at the Pink Cadillac Cafe. Can't wait to return!!
Jun 22, 2016
I want to thank everyone at the KOA for giving us such great service., especially when problems occured
Jun 21, 2016
Great experience and lots of fun. Will be back many times.
Jun 21, 2016
We had such an amazing stay at your campground. Everyone we encountered was super nice and friendly. We can't wait to come back and visit every year! Thank you so much!
Jun 18, 2016
Wonderful setting!
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Very active campground. Friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a cabin. Cabin and campground were very clean. Location is nice along the river. Great opportunity for tubing. Cons: Prices high in camp store. (Suggest using IGA). Wifi is not dependable so don't count on getting access.
Jun 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay-everything was clean and perfect for our stay! Thank you very much!
Jun 17, 2016
Best stay ever! Every employee I came in contact with acted like they just won the lottery. So happy and helpful. Can hardly wait to visit again!
Jun 17, 2016
Very nice time. I wish there was shade for the patio.
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay at Townsend KOA. The staff was wonderful and the facilities were extremely clean. We will absolutely go back soon!
Jun 13, 2016
Wonderful cabins, very clean. The entire grounds are very clean, kids had a blast!
Jun 13, 2016
We LOVE this KOA!! The people are so friendly the location is perfect!! We enjoyed a deluxe cabin for the first time and it fit our group perfectly!
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time in DC7. We missed having a space to wash our dishes though! our shower drain is clogged and didn't drain sufficiently as well. Rest was great thanks.
Jun 13, 2016
Loved the cabin
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time, the accommodations, activities, and friendly and helpful staff made this a memorable visit! My daughters rated the trip a 10, and that's all I could have asked for!
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
We stayed in a camping cabin. It was clean and comfortable. It was a spacious site and had a beautiful view. Some of the staff was not particularly helpful or pleasant. A restroom or bathhouse needs to be added to service the camping cabins instead of portable toilets.
Jun 12, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
Always great at this location!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award