Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 10, 2015
The staff was extremely helpful and kins. The Cabin was beautiful and clean as were the bathrooms. There is a church group that does free activities for kids in the mornings and evenings and my kids really enjoyed participating. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park is gorgeous and right out the back door of the campground.
Jun 10, 2015
Campground was nice, cabin was clean, and the staff was friendly. I would definitely consider coming back here in the future.
Jun 09, 2015
Everything was great, parking was tight and close together but overall we had a great time
Jun 08, 2015
We loved your KOA! Had a cabin on the river. Beautiful area. The campground was well maintained and the restrooms and showers were the nicest we have ever encountered. The staff was amazing. We hope to visit again soon. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!
Jun 08, 2015
We rented a two-BR cabin with our 3 girls (12,10&4). Our cabin was equipped with a mini fridge and an air conditioner. It was very clean. We had a great location right on the river. Would have liked to have had a bathroom in our cabin, but the walk to the bath house wasn't too bad. There were also 2 surprisingly clean porta-potties even closer by for desperate times! We plan to return.
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great visit. No complaints!
Jun 07, 2015
Love this KOA. It is perfect for family vacations. I and my family will be returning as soon as possible. Great place and great staff!!! Thank You!!!
Jun 07, 2015
We stayed in a deuxe cabin. Everything was nicer than I expected.
Jun 06, 2015
The only problem i had with my stay was a mouse in my cabin. Other than that it was wonderful.
Jun 05, 2015
We were so pleasantly surprised and pleased not only with the accommodations but the overall atmosphere was great.
Jun 04, 2015
Our stay was great. The park is clean and the staff is friendly and great too. Can't wait until next year!!!
Jun 04, 2015
Great stay , very clean , well kept KOA. Will stay again
Jun 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in needed some repairs. Our accomodations were acceptable, but limited toilets were inconvenient.
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean cabin. Staff were all helpful and available. Will definitely be back.
Jun 01, 2015
As always, the staff was friendly and our cabin was clean/inviting. The grounds are always immaculate and family friendly. We will definitely stay with KOA/Townsend again!
Jun 01, 2015
Awesome as always we stay here often as far as koa goes we hv stayed at few and this is one if not the best we've stayed at the people r great and the grounds r well taken care of A+ rating as far as we feel and yes we will keep going back
May 31, 2015
Such beautiful setting, peaceful and friendly. The staff and services they provide is amazing and always with a smile....I think I could have stayed forever!!'
May 31, 2015
camp ground was very nice and they offered a lot of fun activities for people of all ages. the staff was very friendly as well. the cabin we stayed in was just like all the other KOA cabins we've stayed in in the past except it had a mini fridge which came in very handy. the bathhouse was very clean and had places for us to put all of our shower things as well as our cloths and towel.
May 30, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin. Perfect for that much needed get-away.
May 29, 2015
I would definitely go back again
May 28, 2015
We love this place! Amazing staff and beautiful grounds, really couldn't say a bad thing! Appreciate everything the staff did to make our Memorial Day weekend a great one! We will be back next year!!
May 28, 2015
The KOA in Townsend is awesome! We took 7 families this year (15 kids and 14 adults) and everyone had a fabulous time!
May 28, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The campground is kept clean, the staff friendly and it felt like a very safe family environment. We've stayed here twice and will be back next year!
May 27, 2015
Just amazing
May 27, 2015
I was great! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the campground was so clean and well maintained, and my kiss loved the activities available. I loved that there was a worship service available on Sunday morning. I love that we were able to take our little dog and that there was a fenced in area for him to play in. We will definitly stay there again!
May 27, 2015
We stayed in a delux cabin on the river for 2 nights. Cabin was clean and awesome. Great location to the Park. Enjoyed the bikes, playground, campfire area and hanging at the cabin. Staff was fantastic. Our gas grill had not been cleaned in a long time. Caked up grease caused a huge fire on first use. Notified office and they sent someone right over. Great time.
May 25, 2015
What a great weekend getaway. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and perfect for our family of five. The view was terrific and the location of the campground was perfect. In two days we hiked, biked, swam, paddled, and caught a movie. A simple great time for our family. Very friendly and polite staff, they always had time for a smile and a 'hello'.
May 20, 2015
The park was the best I have ever been in great for kids, but still quiet for adults. The cabins were the best I have ever been in I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
May 20, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which were great and nicely equipped with all you would need. A pleasant surprise was the beautiful patio with gas grill and nice stone fireplace ring. Even though the cabins are close to each other, they have landscaped between them beautifully so you feel like you have your own privacy. I definitely will be back!
May 20, 2015
Amazing place & very friendly staff. Have already made reservations for July.
May 19, 2015
Our stay was very nice, everyone friendly. It would be nice if the sweet shop could offer a light breakfast,deli sandwiches, fresh fruit, etc..
May 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful, well kept. The facilities are squeaky clean. Wonderful time over all. Two small complaints that were not the fault of the facility, Leaf blower at 8:30 both Sat and Sun mornings. Seemed to be an individual rather than the maintenence crew at the grounds. Noisy motorcycles at 8:30 Saturday morning!!!
May 16, 2015
Everything was awesome!
May 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and they made our stay great!
May 13, 2015
We love it and would stay more often if the price was cheaper. Love the area and scenery.
May 12, 2015
Absolutely love this campground, very peaceful even with a big crowd. Grounds were clean.
May 11, 2015
May 09, 2015
We had a w wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
May 06, 2015
I came to visit my sister who was here from Texas in a 5th wheel with her husband. I stayed in a cabin for two nights. Cabin was very nice; campground was scenic & clean; the area is beautiful.
May 05, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much; however, the deluxe cabin really needed a comfortable place to sit and a sink in the kitchen.
May 05, 2015
cabin was good. hot water good. everyone was nice. NO TV, NO TV, NO TV.
May 05, 2015
We had agood time staying with you.. Only one complain was that our TV wasn't working and they said it had been days still no one was able to fix it.. We like to watch the weather.We were there 5 days never seen any one around to fix it.. They just said sorry. They could have given us some sort of a adjustment.But that was the only thing. Thanks and we will probably stay again soon.
May 05, 2015
My family and I love the Townsend KOA. It is so clean, friendly, and quite. The national park is right next door and the whole town is bicycle friendly. It's one of our favorite getaway spots. We swim, hike, bike, and there is even a drive in movie theater just a short drive away.
May 05, 2015
Had a great time!!!
May 04, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean cabins. Well maintained grounds, and perfect weather!
May 04, 2015
Great view of the river clean and nice perfect for a weekend getaway
May 03, 2015
We came to this campground with 4 other couples. Three were in trailers, two were in a deluxe cabin. The staff was helpful when needed, the accommodations were 1st class. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
May 02, 2015
Hate we had to leave early because my husbands back pain & was hoping the cable would've been back on, but we love the place & how super friendly y'all are :)
May 01, 2015
We always enjoy staying with KOA Townsend! Staff is helpful and pleasant, kabins are always klean and well stocked! We have never been disappointed! Keep up the great work!
Apr 30, 2015
Clean and modern showers and bathrooms. Landscaped grounds and an awesome fenced dog park. I don't have kids but the playground looked super nice as well. Great stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.