Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 03, 2016
Our grandsons had a great time!
Aug 02, 2016
Enjoyed our stay as usual. The only complaint is that the pool wasn't open till later in the evening on Friday and it was HOT! There had been some pool issues but they were trying to get it cleared up. We were told the pool had to be drained the day before. We did swim in the river but was chilly.
Aug 01, 2016
We had a wonderful get-a-way! The last time we visited the Townsend KOA, my daughter was a baby. Now she is 8 and she had the best time swimming and meeting new friends. We loved all the kids' activities!
Aug 01, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Facility was very clean. The campground was clean. Enjoyed that they offered a gas grill with the cabin. Staff was friendly
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We are very pleased with our stay. We will definitely be back next year to stay longer and in a bigger cabin. We appreciate the hospitality. Family memories made.
Jul 30, 2016
We are return visitors and love how friendly the staff is and how clean and well kept the campground is!
Jul 30, 2016
The younger workers are very nice and friendly, but the older office workers and ground keepers are not friendly at all! Very disappointed with them!
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Fun events for the kids. Clean facilities. Loved everything about our stay!!!!
Jul 28, 2016
Clean, spread out, and beautifully placed on the river. Very nice facilities. Great staff. Outstanding location to access the Smokies without dealing with the throngs of people entering the park from Gatlinburg.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great weekend in a cabin on the river! We especially loved watching all the tubes go by. I can definitely say we will be back again soon.
Jul 28, 2016
Awesome
Jul 27, 2016
Rates are expensive for creek side cabins. Can't use multiple discounts.
Jul 26, 2016
Me and my family have been coming there for 16 years. We love it! It is awesome!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place to stay! Staff was friendly and cabins clean. Worth every penny! We always camped at Cades Cove, but will only camp at KOA now.
Jul 24, 2016
My kids love the pool area and river. The cabin spaces are way too small and not enough parking. We had told them had two vehicles and on our last night they made us move one across the street... we checked out a day early due to this issue not being resolved by management. We stay with koa usually 2 times a year. But probably not be back to Townsend due to this issue.
Jul 24, 2016
Cabin clean, staff helpful and friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Everyone was nice and helpful. The hours on the pool and playground were perfect since we arrived late.
Jul 19, 2016
We had such a wonderful weekend! I loved tubing down the river, tie-dying shirts, and all the wonderful nature trails!
Jul 18, 2016
love it up here in Townsend If I could afford the cabin I would be up here more often not just once a year
Jul 18, 2016
This is the friendliest KOA! They have lots of fun activities and the facilities are clean. Loved the day camp for kids. Our kids had a blast. We will return here again!
Jul 17, 2016
Always a fun and memorable experience!
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice stay in our cabin! They even made a tye dye shirt for my daughter who could not be there on the weekend, and would not be able to do it herself due to her disability. It was very thoughtful! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2016
This is our favorite KOA. A destination we look forward to each year and travel 900+ miles to visit a cabin on the river at the base of the smokies.
Jul 17, 2016
Our favorite place to stay. We invited our family this year and everyone loved it!! We already booked for next year. You can't go wrong with Townsend KOA!!!
Jul 17, 2016
Great grandkids had a great time
Jul 16, 2016
Great accommodations and friendly staff. The cabins were well maintained and cooled down when we arrived.
Jul 13, 2016
Love, love, love the location. We come back for the tubing and quick access to the national park and Gatlinburg.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a GREAT TIME!
Jul 13, 2016
The wifi was horrible and unreliable. Our site was extremely small and one of the few unpaved sites. Really disappointed in this KOA.
Jul 13, 2016
The owners were very rude.
Jul 11, 2016
This is our 5th year of staying at the KOA in Townsend. We love it and have already made our reservations for next year. Thanks for the memories......:)
Jul 11, 2016
Love this place. The staff are great with the kids. It is a kid friendly campground. They have activities for the kids. My son loves it.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful, relaxing , clean, friendly . We enjoyed ourselves so much, definitely will rebook the next time
Jul 10, 2016
This place is a gem in the GSM!!
Jul 10, 2016
Wonderful campground the staff are very efficient and the cabin was perfect.
Jul 10, 2016
Have stayed here a few times. Always a great vacation.
Jul 10, 2016
Postive: Location, Plenty of kid's activities. Negative: We had a barking bloodhound in cabin next to us. The dog barked at every person that walked by or if you went out on your porch. It was frustrating. Pool was closed for cleaning on the one sunny day we were there.
Jul 09, 2016
We liked our cabin and location. But honestly the people working front desk were not very friendly. We've been to this KOA 3 years in a row. It's usually very friendly when you walk in. But the ladies at front desk made my husband and I feel like an inconvenience more than a customer. I'm sure they are busy and tired...but I think they need to smile, make eye contact and make you feel welcome.
Jul 08, 2016
Stayed in a Deluxe Cabin this time; and, it was clean and wonderful. Wood bench on the porch could use some cushion, but love sitting there for morning coffee.
Jul 08, 2016
Great location. Close to Gatlinburg & other shopping. Had fun tubing down the Little River. Quite at night. Pool a little congested, could be bigger. But overall a great stay.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
They are like family and everyone is very nice.
Jul 06, 2016
We stayed and camping cabin number three and the AC could not handle the heat. We notified the front desk and they could not fix it. Also the bathroom the Philippines is too far away and not enough to accommodate the size of the KOA.
Jul 05, 2016
My husband and I along with our three young children thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay in your deluxe cabin. Everything was clean and neatly kept and the staff was very friendly. We will be back!
Jul 05, 2016
Facilities are very nice and clean and cabin was cool great a/c in rustic cabins. Staff was really nice, pretty awesome the deliver firewood. The beer in their store was all reasonably priced. Porta johns were the cleanest I have ever seen anywhere. The only thing I disliked was noticing many unattended campfire. This location obviously is on the river and is a safe place to enter the water
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly staff. Kid friendly and dog friendly.
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
The only thing that I would love more about cabin 15, is a bathroom! Perfect site other than that!!
Jul 02, 2016
Have been staying at this campground long before it was KOA,Will not stay at this KOA nor renew my membership,because i spend over $1300.00 it is not good to charge $24.50 for second car,I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE SECOND CAR CHARGE UNTIL I LOOKED AT MY MAIL RECEIPT! all the years parking has not been a problem ,I can see charging for three cars.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award