Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Jan 17, 2015
Very helpful off season stay
Jan 07, 2015
Jan 07, 2015
We love this quiet hideaway and will continue to visit when we need time away.
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
Awesome vacation.
Jan 04, 2015
I stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was beautiful! Love the scenery and the river. Staff was wonderful and very helpful! I will definitely be back!
Jan 03, 2015
Jan 03, 2015
I absolutely loved my time at KOA! The cabin was so tiny and cute. It was perfect for a getaway with my boyfriend. However, the tv was mounted in a weird spot and we couldn't really see it laying down on the bed. The picture quality looked "negative" so to speak when you were to the side of the TV or below it. But as a whole, our stay was perfect!
Jan 02, 2015
We had a great stay! The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a camping cabin on the river. It would have been nice if there was a bath house close to the cabin. The closest one was an extremely long walk away. Other than that, we had no complaints!! We will definitely stay here again.
Jan 01, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for four nights. It was very clean and comfortable, and a great price. We will be back soon!
Dec 30, 2014
Enjoyed very much!!
Dec 30, 2014
First the people at this KOA were great! The cabin too far from bath house and all water access too far away. After checking on rv prices to camp in summer $80 per nite too much. Dought we will come back.
Dec 30, 2014
I give it 4 instead of 5 stars for two reasons. 1. The bathhouses are located on the complete opposite side of the campground from the cambing cabins and tent sites. 2. The pet cleaning fee in the camping cabins seems a bit unfair at $20 flat fee. That means if you are only staying a night or two, it significantly increases the cost of your stay.
Dec 28, 2014
I would stay here again and again. Very nice and friendly host.
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 27, 2014
We were disappointed because our cabin didn't have running water the first night abs the 2nd cabin we rented didn't have tv.
Dec 23, 2014
Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Cabin was wonderful.
Dec 18, 2014
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
I love this campground it is very quiet and relaxing.We did have a problem with our gas grill and could not get in touch with anyone.We had to take one from another site.
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
The location to the park entrance is great! The park was clean with decent amenities. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout my stay.
Nov 24, 2014
we loved it there. the cabin was very comfortable and the overlook of the river made it really nice.
Nov 23, 2014
We enjoyed the cabin, warm and cozy after hiking along the beautiful river and the COOL outdoors. Thanks
Nov 23, 2014
This campground is absolutely beautiful. Our rustic cabin was about two blocks away from the bathroom facilities. Also, the water spigot near the cabin was either turned off or frozen. The nearest water was about one block away. On my way to the bathroom with toiletries, a lantern, and a teapot, I tripped over a fire ring . My legs were hurt, but I did not break anything. Closer bathrooms?
Nov 21, 2014
Nov 20, 2014
no problems everyone was nice and helpful. thank you.
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 18, 2014
Wonderful campground. Cozy clean little cabin. Cant wait to visit with family next summer
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Nov 15, 2014
We totally enjoyed our stay. Rain or shine we had a great time!
Nov 12, 2014
Nov 11, 2014
Everything from the staff to all the facilities at this campground are top notch. Townsend KOA is our favorite place to stay.
Nov 09, 2014
Nov 07, 2014
Heater in cabin too small to warm the cabin when it gets cold. Bathrooms and showers were clean and portable outhouses and garbage cans were plentiful for which I was grateful. Maintenance people blowing leaves off roads early am was distracting and noisy when trying to sleep in. All in all, satisfied with location and amenities but was pretty pricey for a camping cabin.
Nov 04, 2014
More than expected for staying at a campground. Staff was extemely friendly and helpful! Very clean bathrooms and showers. Grounds are right on the main road which has pros and cons. Traffic is rather steady on this road but on the other hand it is a very easy place to find and convenient to attractions. River is beautiful! Cabins are cozy. Will visit again.
Nov 02, 2014
cabin was very nice and well supplied..however the Wi-Fi is almost nonexistent.from a distance of maybe 40 yds. had to be outside cabin to get sufficient signal,, would only get 2 bars at times...otherwise accomadations were very adequate....
Nov 01, 2014
Absolutely loved it.
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
We recently sold our camper but wanted to camp before cold weather. We rented the 4 person cabin with bathroom. It has heat, air, hot water, bunk beds, a queen bed, small fridge, microwave, 2 seat table, included bed sheets and towels ! It was like new and clean. The campground is on the river, has a cute cabin playground, bike rentals, and basketball court. We were late and they left light on !!!
Oct 29, 2014
Minor problems with lighting in cabin. Quiet, restfully. Contact with employees very casual and professional. Good visit!
Oct 29, 2014
My stay was great. The cabin was clean and comfy. The only fly in the ointment was the WiFi, which does not work. I will be back.
Oct 29, 2014
The cabins are located near the river and provide an extremely relaxing atmosphere. The local area of Townsend is truly the "Quiet side of the Smokies".
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Cabins were clean and well kept. We were thrilled with our 2nd stay at this campground and will absolutely come back!
Oct 28, 2014
Office staff was rude and offensive
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
We had a fantastic stay. This KOA is very peaceful and relaxing. The camp ground is clean and well maintained. We already made our reservations for May and October of next year.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.