Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241


8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am


Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 14, 2016
This was the first time I've ever stayed at KOA. my cabin was so cute. Camp was pet friendly so I was able to bring my dog to travel with me. I love the camping environment, and, the river was beautiful. I forgot to make my tie dye KOA shirt, so next time I'll have to make 2.I will be staying there again. And I've told everyone I know. Thank you
Sep 13, 2016
Perfect location for what we wanted to experience in the Smokies. Comfortable, clean accommodations, super friendly staff, and gorgeous grounds. The kids LOVED every moment.
Sep 13, 2016
Loved our cabin on the river! Long walk to the bathhouse was no big deal thanks to VERY CLEAN porta-johns (and not smelly!!) great trip!
Sep 12, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed it!
Sep 12, 2016
Deluxe cabin was very clean, cozy and the amenities were very nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Wifi in cabin was very spotty so we had no service several times. Mattress on bed was very uncomfortable. Nevertheless, we will recommend as service, cleanliness and affordability were great!
Sep 12, 2016
We had a wonderful and relaxing week-end. The children had so much fun. Will plan soon to go back. Very friendly and nice Employee's
Sep 10, 2016
Always a good time at the KOA can't wait to come back next year thanks 😊
Sep 09, 2016
Nice campground! Will be back!
Sep 09, 2016
The staff is wonderful there as always. My only complaint is that when it was privately owned, the cabins were more affordable. The prices seem to have increased up to 40%.
Sep 08, 2016
Signage could be a little better, but otherwise, loved our stay. Showers/bathrooms were clean, loved that it was dog-friendly.
Sep 07, 2016
Beautiful campground, friendly staff. Cabin right on the river! Loved the playground, pool and we'll stocked store! Will be back
Sep 07, 2016
My only complaint is there is not a kitchen sink which makes it hard to wash dishes. And I went to the front desk to ask for a extra garage bag and the woman at the front said "well I suggest you walk to the store next door, they sell them there." But there was a man that worked there that said oh I have plenty I'll give you one. For the price I paid to stay there I did not appreciate that.
Sep 07, 2016
We love this KOA! The only change we would enjoy is a better mattress in the particular cabin we stayed in - have stayed in other cabins and the mattress was fine but this one was in need of replacement.
Aug 28, 2016
Amazing location and clean camp site with great views.
Aug 26, 2016
not so good this time, there were bed bugs in our cabin on the river that we paid over $200 a night.
Aug 23, 2016
four of our youth got bed-bug bites. Cabin 12. if not for this would rate higer.
Aug 18, 2016
Great location on the water.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
I wish the main roads had been blacktopped, because coming in late at night it was difficult to tell where the road was and the campsites, since they all had the gravel bed. I know the cost is high for asphalt, but at least campers would know what is road & what is campsite. The park was extremely clean & well kept up. We loved the sound of the river. Thanks for a great time.
Aug 11, 2016
Extremely well run campground. Staff was outstanding. Deluxe cabin on river was clean and comfortable, not to mention the view. Stay here again. ABSOLUTELY!!
Aug 09, 2016
There is one particular staff member, that's goes out of her way, to make people feel like utter crap.... To talk down to them and be condescending...... Not sure we'll ever come back because of this one lady!!! Been coming for 30yrs now.... To this specific campground.... And this one lady has ruined my visits and my entire outlook on the state of Tennessee!
Aug 09, 2016
Our stay was incredible! We stayed in a cabin next to The Little River. We will be returning in a few months and will tent camp this time. Can't wait!
Aug 08, 2016
Although the weather was not as cooperative as we had hoped, we still found ways to have a great time. This is by far our favorite KOA and make an effort to travel there every year.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a wonderful weekend! Can't wait till Fall Break to come back!
Aug 07, 2016
Very nice, tranquil campground. It us full of trees and beautiful shrubs and flowers. Campground was very clean and looked like the employees worked at keeping it that way. We will come back with our family
Aug 07, 2016
This KOA was beautiful and every KOA worker was beyond helpful and kind!! Loved our stay!
Aug 06, 2016
The view was amazing, the accommodations were great, and I couldn't have asked for a better, more helpful staff!!! Thanks Great Smokies KOA!!!
Aug 04, 2016
Probably the friendliest and most helpful staff we have encountered in our travels.
Aug 03, 2016
Unbelievable!!!! I did not know places like this existed. You have invented Glamping...
Aug 03, 2016
My Husband and I, 21 year old and two grandson loved everything. Plan to return next year. Cant wait.
Aug 03, 2016
Great facilities with the nicest and kindest people
Aug 03, 2016
Our grandsons had a great time!
Aug 02, 2016
Enjoyed our stay as usual. The only complaint is that the pool wasn't open till later in the evening on Friday and it was HOT! There had been some pool issues but they were trying to get it cleared up. We were told the pool had to be drained the day before. We did swim in the river but was chilly.
Aug 01, 2016
We had a wonderful get-a-way! The last time we visited the Townsend KOA, my daughter was a baby. Now she is 8 and she had the best time swimming and meeting new friends. We loved all the kids' activities!
Aug 01, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Facility was very clean. The campground was clean. Enjoyed that they offered a gas grill with the cabin. Staff was friendly
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We are very pleased with our stay. We will definitely be back next year to stay longer and in a bigger cabin. We appreciate the hospitality. Family memories made.
Jul 30, 2016
We are return visitors and love how friendly the staff is and how clean and well kept the campground is!
Jul 30, 2016
The younger workers are very nice and friendly, but the older office workers and ground keepers are not friendly at all! Very disappointed with them!
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Fun events for the kids. Clean facilities. Loved everything about our stay!!!!
Jul 28, 2016
Clean, spread out, and beautifully placed on the river. Very nice facilities. Great staff. Outstanding location to access the Smokies without dealing with the throngs of people entering the park from Gatlinburg.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great weekend in a cabin on the river! We especially loved watching all the tubes go by. I can definitely say we will be back again soon.
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Rates are expensive for creek side cabins. Can't use multiple discounts.
Jul 26, 2016
Me and my family have been coming there for 16 years. We love it! It is awesome!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place to stay! Staff was friendly and cabins clean. Worth every penny! We always camped at Cades Cove, but will only camp at KOA now.
Jul 24, 2016
My kids love the pool area and river. The cabin spaces are way too small and not enough parking. We had told them had two vehicles and on our last night they made us move one across the street... we checked out a day early due to this issue not being resolved by management. We stay with koa usually 2 times a year. But probably not be back to Townsend due to this issue.
Jul 24, 2016
Cabin clean, staff helpful and friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Everyone was nice and helpful. The hours on the pool and playground were perfect since we arrived late.
Jul 19, 2016
We had such a wonderful weekend! I loved tubing down the river, tie-dying shirts, and all the wonderful nature trails!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award