Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Mar 23, 2016
We have made several visits to this local KOA and have always been pleased. This visit was not the best; it started with no remote in the cabin. But more importantly, the shower in the Deluxe Cabin would not stay hot more than 2 minutes. It's tough to stay in a cabin for 3 nights and not be able to take a warm shower during the stay. We reported the issue to the unfriendly staff at the front desk.
Mar 22, 2016
Beautiful and clean. Close to great hikes. Loved the local IGA and Pizza Hut!
Mar 20, 2016
The best cabin I have ever stayed in! Everything was very clean and nice in the cabin and throughout the whole KOA. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely come back for another stay!
Mar 20, 2016
My husband and I stayed at the Townsan KOA in a camping cabin for one night. We were incredibly impressed with the cleanliness, the quality of services offered, and the helpfulness of the staff on site. I would stay in this campground again in a heartbeat and intend to this summer!
Mar 18, 2016
Very clean and quality facilities (stayed in the cabins) staff was very curteous and accommodating. Went with my family two young boys for spring break and had a great time
Mar 17, 2016
Very enjoyable stay and quality Cabins. Shower was strong and hot.
Mar 14, 2016
We loved the new cabins and the way you remodeled the campsites in the center of the park. It feels much less crowded. We have stayed at many KOAs over the years and the Townsend TN KOA is our favorite.
Mar 14, 2016
Micky and her staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly reccommend staying at this campground.
Mar 13, 2016
Lovely cabin. Everything was clean outside and in. We had everything we needed and felt very safe. We will come back for sure.
Mar 08, 2016
Cute little cabin. Just right being next to the river. Everyone was great, friendly and helpful. We will do this again. Thanks for a neat weekend.
Mar 07, 2016
We loved our stay as always. We booked another visit for next month.
Mar 06, 2016
The only negative that I have is, for the price we paid, there should be a better quality mattress. Other than that, we absolutely love the Townsend KOA!! Probably our favorite!
Mar 01, 2016
We love this place!
Feb 16, 2016
Iv been there a couple of times and also with my parents as a child and have always loved it and the cabins are nice I will definitely feedback
Feb 16, 2016
We did not had a good experience, water heater was not working correctly I had to wait 35 minutes after my husband to a quick shower also the water didn't drain fast enough. The firewood bundle was very small with a couple of pieces were rotted. TV angle was impossible to watch TV from bed.
Feb 09, 2016
Feb 02, 2016
Needs more bathrooms located around the campground.
Jan 19, 2016
We could have used a heads up about water spickets being off for the winter, we were u sure if the blue ones were safe to drink from. The wifi worked on one side of the cabin, at least that side worked well. Other than that, the staff were friendly and helpful, had a pleasant stay.
Jan 14, 2016
What a wonderful campground. We stayed in a deluxe cabin and we had much more than expected. Even watched some wildcard NFL games on ESPN. Cooked some steaks on the grill and had a fire outside. Firewood was even delivered after purchasing it at the local store. Can't say enough about your place. Very pleased.
Jan 09, 2016
Wonderful place. Friendly staff. Very clean and beautiful location. Can't wait to go back and stay. One of my favorite KOAs.
Jan 07, 2016
Very friendly staff. Clean and roomy cabins.
Jan 07, 2016
We are already planning our next trip. The campground was wonderful and right on the river!!! It is just seconds from the Smoky Mountain National Park and in a quiet, laid back town. We LOVED it!!
Jan 07, 2016
Loved the location & the staff was great.
Jan 06, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
The deluxe cabin was great. Only suggestion would be to include a sponge mop and a deck broom as it was hard to keep floors clean with the rain etc.
Jan 04, 2016
We have always stayed here multiple times in the past and always had a great experience. This time they mixed up our reservation and didn't give us the cabin ee reserved they gave us a smaller one where we were very cramped. the shampoo dispensers were empty and our bed linens were dirty. We always bring our own no prob. told us we could leave we had nowhere to go all full new years.
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
Beautiful location and close enough to the major attractions but still feels like you're out in the wild a beautiful river runs right next to the campsite and you're surrounded by mountains we loved it
Dec 31, 2015
Everything was GREAT, except the fold out couch mattress was molded and just disgusting in general. It was full of stains and smelled.
Dec 24, 2015
We have been camping here for 15 years and it gets better and better with each visit. It feels like home to us. Thank you, for being such a family friendly place! We are already looking forward to our next visit!
Dec 21, 2015
Dec 21, 2015
Very clean, staff extremely helpful and friendly...
Dec 16, 2015
Awesome cabin great location I will be coming back
Dec 15, 2015
I've tent camped here many times ~ this was my first time in a cabin. It was absolutely delightful. Very clean, staff was incredibly friendly!! This remains the best KOA I've stayed in!
Dec 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time! Love staying in the cabins in the winter !
Dec 07, 2015
Always enjoy staying on the "quiet" side of the smokies, also the bonus is KOA is located perfectly just outside of the park.. And it helps that the sites are great on the river and staff is very friendly!
Dec 03, 2015
Dec 02, 2015
It was perfect!
Dec 02, 2015
We loved our little camping cabin on the river. So nice to sit on the porch looking out at the river with our morning coffee and have a warm dry place to sleep.
Dec 01, 2015
The layout is tight and not well marked. The check in process was excellent and all of the staff were super friendly.
Dec 01, 2015
There needs to be instructions on how/when to turn on the wall heating/AC unit when the one connected to the thermostat is not able to keep the cabin warm. Otherwise, an excellent experience!
Dec 01, 2015
A fantastic place to go.
Nov 30, 2015
Great place to stay, especially if you have a pet. The cabin was roomy, and I enjoyed being so close to the river!
Nov 30, 2015
Excellent service in unusual circumstances. When I initially set up my reservation I was in great health but a week before my visit I broke my foot. The people there made every accommodation to help me with my broken foot by allowing me to change to a cabin that would more accommodate my injury. Thanks
Nov 30, 2015
Nov 30, 2015
Great location and wonderful staff!
Nov 18, 2015
Cabin was nice and very clean. Everyone that worked there was super nice an very helpful!'
Nov 09, 2015
Nov 09, 2015
Cabin was very clean and the staff were the best. Very friendly! They should be commended for their outstanding service!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps