Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
We love our camping cabin next to the Little River!! It is a place of peacefulness & relaxation with our family away from the demands of life. Our family has been coming to this camp ground for 23 years! All the updates are grat improvements! Thank you for regular cleanings of the porta- potties & convient location. Also, so nice to be able to rent the tubes from our own campsite! We will be back!
Aug 03, 2014
My whole family had a wonderful time!
Aug 02, 2014
There were a few minor things that had to be taken care of, but were completed quickly. Thank you so much for a great stay Mark and Samantha!
Aug 02, 2014
We arrived after the office closed, the front desk girl left a map to our cabin and turned the lights on for us. When we finally made it, it was pitch black out and we couldn't see much but we heard the water flowing on the river. Needless to say we woke up to a BEAUTIFUL view from our waterfront cabin. We can't wait to bring family back with us next year.
Aug 02, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Only issue was the fact that there were no restrooms close to the cabin, only port-a-potties.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This is the best KOA site we have ever stayed at. Thank you for everything. We cannot wait to return!!!!
Jul 28, 2014
It was great!
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
I stayed with my three grandchildren and held CAMP Gigi. It was the perfect location! We used the amphitheater for our play and awards ceremony when the parents came on the last day. Great space! The staff was fabulous. The grounds were clean. Everything was well attended. Thank you for helping make dreams come true for my grandchildren!
Jul 27, 2014
While on this trip we got some nice photos of a black bear in Cades Cove. We also had a fantastic tour of Tuckaleechee Cavern. The tubing was also fun - one learns to lift their behind out of the water when going down the rapids. Photos: http://www.ecjones.org/scenery/_Great_Smoky_Mtns_NP/ Ed
Jul 25, 2014
This was the first time my family had taken a trip with out two year old daughter. She loved everything about the campground and didn't want to leave. Thank you for a great experience!
Jul 24, 2014
Friendly staff and clean campground. I highly recommend it!
Jul 24, 2014
Bathrooms/showers very clean and nice. Clean campground. Nice cabins. Only thing were the beds were very uncomfortable, but understandable it's not home. Great activities for the kids and family. Convient to everything.
Jul 23, 2014
Great stay. We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin. The only thing that I would improve upon is the house keeping. Every window seal, ledge, light, anything up high had a thick layer of dust on it. Other than that it was great. We will be back. Brent & Kelly Robinson
Jul 21, 2014
We really loved the facilities and location, and will likely come back again. There was only one, big negative. Our non-smoking cabin smelled really strongly of cigarette smoke, and because they were fully booked, we couldn't be relocated. While we left the windows open the whole time, and it seemed to get better, I had to wash our laundry twice to get rid of the smell when we returned. Gross.
Jul 20, 2014
This was our second stay at Townsend and couldn't have been happier with Kabin, the site, and the staff. The location is beautiful and convenient to the national park without the crowds.
Jul 19, 2014
I have found TN to be so un-dog friendly I travel with a service dog and this was the only one in TN that allowed us knowing a service dog was in tow and when told it did not matter...it was the only one I found in TN "Dog Friendly",a fee for clean up ($20)when even told it was a service animal...airlines are not even allowed to do that...I will contact KOA HQ on this matter. I won't stay in TN.
Jul 17, 2014
While in the campground office, I overheard a conversation that concerned me: a woman with an Eastern Europe accent entered the office; she was told there were no sites available. The woman said, "I just saw on the website that there are sites available." She was asked, "Do you want one on the river?" She said yes. She was told none avail. on the river. River site 121 was avail.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We started our camping experience when our kids were young. This year our little blessing, our grandchild, came with us to experience the beauty and tranquility of this KOA campground. The cabin accommodations were spacious and the fellowship with our immediate neighbors and staff was refreshing. This KOA location will nurture family ties while appreciating the beauty that encapsulates each site
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The people at this facility were very helpful with all parts of our visit and made our familiy's stay in Townsend very memorable.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at cabin #15. We were only scheduled to stay Monday thru Friday, but had so much fun that we wanted to stay until Saturday. The office staff went above and beyond to make it possible for us to stay another night :)
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
We have stayed at the Townsend KOA for 5 straight years now. My children especially enjoy the summer camp and family night activities offered at the campground. The location is perfect for the outdoor activities we enjoy around the Cades Cove area.
Jul 09, 2014
Great location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful campground with excellent facilities. We'll definitely go back!
Jul 07, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the mattress on the bed in the Cabin is too hard.
Jul 06, 2014
The staff was friendly and the cabin was immaculate. Would visit the Townsend, TN KOA Kampground again and reccommend to others.
Jul 06, 2014
Awesome place to stay! We parked on Sunday night in front of our cabin and did not start the truck until we left. Plenty of things to do and great service. We will be back again.
Jul 06, 2014
Clean, friendly staff, beautiful site!
Jul 05, 2014
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN was a great vacation. The Deluxe cabin was just perfect for the 4 of us. Love the river stream just outside the cabin very relaxing and peaceful. Great staff, very clean camp grounds. Great family time and making memories that we will cherish a lifetime. Thanks KOA Townsend/Great Smokies you were apart of this vacation that we will never forget!....
Jul 04, 2014
Had great stay will be back.
Jul 02, 2014
The campground was very clean. We stayed in a cabin on the river. There was no lighting whatsoever to go to the showers. It was very long way to the bathroom/showers. Only Porta potties closer to the cabins. For the price of the cabin, more bathrooms should have been available closer.
Jul 02, 2014
This was our return visit from a 1 night stay a few weeks ago. We love the staff,love the pool, love the playground, felt very welcomed. We will be back next year. Love the day camp. We didn't get to participate this time, but we walked over and spoke with the group and loved what they are doing.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family love this KOA we stay there as often as we can . Growing up in that area it's our first choice it's always clean and kid friendly .
Jul 02, 2014
Awesome
Jul 01, 2014
always great, always friendly! Daisy up front really helped with the multiple reservations. Thanks for the fun weekend!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
In the future I will seek out a KOA with a campin' cabin....It's a great way to get the most out of visiting an area ! It sure beat sitting in a hotel looking at the Interstate in the evenings after a day of sightseeing !
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Clean cabin, shady balcony with great grill and fire pit, would have preferred a more unobstructed view of the main river for the price but it was still a very nice stay and loved the sound of the water! Very friendly staff and excellent customer service!
Jun 30, 2014
We had the best time! We definitely will come again. Just hoping to catch a cabin open along the river next time. I can understand why they are always booked LoL! Thank you for everything, especially a young lady named Laura who helped my daughter make her tye dye shirt.
Jun 30, 2014
Our stay was almost perfect. We got to relax and enjoy the beautiful campsite. There were many things to do there, like swim, fish, site see, river raft and shop. Those are just some of what campers can do at this K O A! My family highly recommends this experience for other families.
Jun 30, 2014
The activities (tie-dye t-shirts & movies at night)only take place on Saturdays. The website is not clear about this. My grandkids were disappointed that we were not able to do these activities.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.