Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 18, 2016
Great location on the water.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
I wish the main roads had been blacktopped, because coming in late at night it was difficult to tell where the road was and the campsites, since they all had the gravel bed. I know the cost is high for asphalt, but at least campers would know what is road & what is campsite. The park was extremely clean & well kept up. We loved the sound of the river. Thanks for a great time.
Aug 11, 2016
Extremely well run campground. Staff was outstanding. Deluxe cabin on river was clean and comfortable, not to mention the view. Stay here again. ABSOLUTELY!!
Aug 09, 2016
There is one particular staff member, that's goes out of her way, to make people feel like utter crap.... To talk down to them and be condescending...... Not sure we'll ever come back because of this one lady!!! Been coming for 30yrs now.... To this specific campground.... And this one lady has ruined my visits and my entire outlook on the state of Tennessee!
Aug 09, 2016
Our stay was incredible! We stayed in a cabin next to The Little River. We will be returning in a few months and will tent camp this time. Can't wait!
Aug 08, 2016
Although the weather was not as cooperative as we had hoped, we still found ways to have a great time. This is by far our favorite KOA and make an effort to travel there every year.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a wonderful weekend! Can't wait till Fall Break to come back!
Aug 07, 2016
Very nice, tranquil campground. It us full of trees and beautiful shrubs and flowers. Campground was very clean and looked like the employees worked at keeping it that way. We will come back with our family
Aug 07, 2016
This KOA was beautiful and every KOA worker was beyond helpful and kind!! Loved our stay!
Aug 06, 2016
The view was amazing, the accommodations were great, and I couldn't have asked for a better, more helpful staff!!! Thanks Great Smokies KOA!!!
Aug 04, 2016
Probably the friendliest and most helpful staff we have encountered in our travels.
Aug 03, 2016
Unbelievable!!!! I did not know places like this existed. You have invented Glamping...
Aug 03, 2016
My Husband and I, 21 year old and two grandson loved everything. Plan to return next year. Cant wait.
Aug 03, 2016
Great facilities with the nicest and kindest people
Aug 03, 2016
Our grandsons had a great time!
Aug 02, 2016
Enjoyed our stay as usual. The only complaint is that the pool wasn't open till later in the evening on Friday and it was HOT! There had been some pool issues but they were trying to get it cleared up. We were told the pool had to be drained the day before. We did swim in the river but was chilly.
Aug 01, 2016
We had a wonderful get-a-way! The last time we visited the Townsend KOA, my daughter was a baby. Now she is 8 and she had the best time swimming and meeting new friends. We loved all the kids' activities!
Aug 01, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Facility was very clean. The campground was clean. Enjoyed that they offered a gas grill with the cabin. Staff was friendly
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We are very pleased with our stay. We will definitely be back next year to stay longer and in a bigger cabin. We appreciate the hospitality. Family memories made.
Jul 30, 2016
We are return visitors and love how friendly the staff is and how clean and well kept the campground is!
Jul 30, 2016
The younger workers are very nice and friendly, but the older office workers and ground keepers are not friendly at all! Very disappointed with them!
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Fun events for the kids. Clean facilities. Loved everything about our stay!!!!
Jul 28, 2016
Clean, spread out, and beautifully placed on the river. Very nice facilities. Great staff. Outstanding location to access the Smokies without dealing with the throngs of people entering the park from Gatlinburg.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great weekend in a cabin on the river! We especially loved watching all the tubes go by. I can definitely say we will be back again soon.
Jul 28, 2016
Awesome
Jul 27, 2016
Rates are expensive for creek side cabins. Can't use multiple discounts.
Jul 26, 2016
Me and my family have been coming there for 16 years. We love it! It is awesome!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place to stay! Staff was friendly and cabins clean. Worth every penny! We always camped at Cades Cove, but will only camp at KOA now.
Jul 24, 2016
My kids love the pool area and river. The cabin spaces are way too small and not enough parking. We had told them had two vehicles and on our last night they made us move one across the street... we checked out a day early due to this issue not being resolved by management. We stay with koa usually 2 times a year. But probably not be back to Townsend due to this issue.
Jul 24, 2016
Cabin clean, staff helpful and friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Everyone was nice and helpful. The hours on the pool and playground were perfect since we arrived late.
Jul 19, 2016
We had such a wonderful weekend! I loved tubing down the river, tie-dying shirts, and all the wonderful nature trails!
Jul 18, 2016
love it up here in Townsend If I could afford the cabin I would be up here more often not just once a year
Jul 18, 2016
This is the friendliest KOA! They have lots of fun activities and the facilities are clean. Loved the day camp for kids. Our kids had a blast. We will return here again!
Jul 17, 2016
Always a fun and memorable experience!
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice stay in our cabin! They even made a tye dye shirt for my daughter who could not be there on the weekend, and would not be able to do it herself due to her disability. It was very thoughtful! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2016
This is our favorite KOA. A destination we look forward to each year and travel 900+ miles to visit a cabin on the river at the base of the smokies.
Jul 17, 2016
Our favorite place to stay. We invited our family this year and everyone loved it!! We already booked for next year. You can't go wrong with Townsend KOA!!!
Jul 17, 2016
Great grandkids had a great time
Jul 16, 2016
Great accommodations and friendly staff. The cabins were well maintained and cooled down when we arrived.
Jul 13, 2016
Love, love, love the location. We come back for the tubing and quick access to the national park and Gatlinburg.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a GREAT TIME!
Jul 13, 2016
The wifi was horrible and unreliable. Our site was extremely small and one of the few unpaved sites. Really disappointed in this KOA.
Jul 13, 2016
The owners were very rude.
Jul 11, 2016
This is our 5th year of staying at the KOA in Townsend. We love it and have already made our reservations for next year. Thanks for the memories......:)
Jul 11, 2016
Love this place. The staff are great with the kids. It is a kid friendly campground. They have activities for the kids. My son loves it.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful, relaxing , clean, friendly . We enjoyed ourselves so much, definitely will rebook the next time
Jul 10, 2016
This place is a gem in the GSM!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award