Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Jul 03, 2015
DC5 didn't have a burner on grill,family in DC6 let us use their burner when they wasn"t using.cabin is over priced with not having a cooktop of any kind
Jul 03, 2015
We had a great time!!! Thanks for the mirror in the cabin, and TV is helpful for those rainy nights!!
Jul 03, 2015
We loved the KOA first time ever staying in one ! Will go back,
Jul 02, 2015
Nowhere else as good to stay for the GSM experience!!! Wonderful staff, clean facilities, & natural beauty (yet close enough to the conveniences of restaurants & stores)! Love this place!!
Jul 02, 2015
Nice Kabin by the river but shower facilities were crowded and not very clean
Jul 02, 2015
KOA Townsend is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the Great Smoky Mountains. As usual everyone was nice and the campground was well maintained. The Camping Cabins beside the river are awesome. We stayed in one of the recently remodeled sites and were very pleased. We were also impressed with the church youth group that was offering activities for the kids. It was a great stay. Thanks KOA!
Jul 02, 2015
Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean.
Jul 01, 2015
My stay at the KOA was first class I will definitely be back again I would like to thank mark Chipperfield for the great job that he and his staff does.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, clean cabin, very close to National Park, kids loved the pool and easy access to river, have stayed here multiple times and will definitely stay again.A head's up, if you stay in Deluxe Cabins 1-6, some campers use these sites as a walking path to take a short cut to other sites, which can be frustrating sometimes.Overall, still a great stay!
Jun 29, 2015
Great KOA. We really enjoyed our weekend there.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Very well run campground. Great staff. ONE SUGGESTION. Same as last year......the garbage truck entered the campground at 5:57 a.m. The noise surely woke up everyone. Having negotiated contracts with waste management companies, I can tell you that they will agree to start later. In my hometown we require pickups to begin no earlier than 7:00.
Jun 29, 2015
Our family took advantage of a full hook up on the river, a tent site and a cabin. The experience was great! Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the river and pool most of the day. Great location. Peaceful setting. Cabin was excellent! Bathhouse was clean and comfortable.
Jun 28, 2015
We loved it. If we're in the area again, we'll definitely stay again.
Jun 27, 2015
Love this place will definitely be back been coming for 30 years now
Jun 27, 2015
Everyone was very helpful and nice had a wonderful time thank you so much
Jun 27, 2015
Nice. Clean cabin. The grandkids and I enjoyed it very much!
Jun 26, 2015
Bathrooms clean, staff friendly, Trash dumpsters needed to be dumped for several days, but overall a nice place to stay.
Jun 26, 2015
Cabin was great. Staff was extremely friendly. We would love to come back and stay again.
Jun 26, 2015
We rented a "Deluxe Cabin" which turned out to be really nice. A little pricey but very clean and neat. The campground itself is one of the best we've seen.
Jun 25, 2015
It was a great place to stay The breaker flipped in bathroom lights went out. We called was the fastest service we have ever had. Everyone was super nice. Love the cabin was very peaceful place to stay.
Jun 24, 2015
The cabin was fine but the bathroom was dirty with splatters and need to clean so my girlfriend cleaned before we used it the mirror was dirty floors dirty toilet was dirty
Jun 24, 2015
This is the second time my family has been here. We had a wonderful time. Only disappointment was that I booked on line and thought I was getting a river front cabin, but did not. For future reference you need to confirm via phone if you want a river front cabin.
Jun 24, 2015
As always we were not disappointed. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well kept. All of the campground was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 24, 2015
Always fun each time we stay. Thanks!
Jun 23, 2015
The KOA in townsend is a great campground to stay at every one there is nice,and would help you with anything that you needed.Been staying at it for many years now,me & my wife love it!!!!!
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great time. The employees are friendly and helpful and the facilities are top notch. We will definately be staying here again.
Jun 22, 2015
Great staff. Very helpful and courteous. Daisy was outstanding.
Jun 22, 2015
We love townsend, the KOA is a perfect location to attractions and nature. The prefer the KOA over anywhere else to stay!
Jun 22, 2015
Nice campground, clean bathrooms and very friendly staff. We stayed in a 2 room cabin and it was nice and clean.
Jun 21, 2015
Beautiful area.
Jun 21, 2015
I had a most excellent time. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
Jun 20, 2015
Stayed 5 nights in a camping cabin...same cabin 2 years in a row. My kids really enjoy the excellent pool and playground. The river adds to a really nice setting. Great access to the park.
Jun 20, 2015
The KOA in Townsend, TN has always been our little piece of Heaven that gives us the escape to go to our "Home Away From Home". Now that our daughter has married and our family is growing and they stayed in a cabin on the river so the memories can continue to live on! Thanks for allowing us to have another great vacation with our family. As always, it was over way too fast! Until next time...€
Jun 19, 2015
First rate campground and great staff. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jun 17, 2015
This was a very family friendly campground. I felt safe letting my kids go to the playground alone. (We were just a short walk away) It was extremely clean and had very nice amenities. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 16, 2015
The setting,grounds and cabins were beautiful and the service was exceptional
Jun 16, 2015
We love this campground. Between my family, friends, and I- we rented 4 camper lots and one cabin this week. We also visited last year and intend to visit next year. We all feel, however, that the rates are over priced. Therefor, all amenities offered and advertised should be available, including wifi- which was not available at any of the 5 sites.
Jun 15, 2015
Great vacation. Very picturesque campground. Loved our cabin DC1, which was on the riverbank. The cabin and grounds were well maintained.
Jun 15, 2015
They need bathrooms and showers closer to the cabins.
Jun 15, 2015
It was awesome. I had a very nice stay. The campground is very beautiful and the bathrooms were impressive. I took my dogs with and the leash-free area was very nice. Thank you.
Jun 15, 2015
Enjoyed it as always! Clean cabin, Friendly people. Will return!
Jun 15, 2015
Staff was friendly. Liked that there was a big campstore. Enjoyed movie night. Thanks for a enjoyable family vacation
Jun 15, 2015
clean well managed campground, pretty tightly packed but otherwise great
Jun 14, 2015
We had a great stay in the camping cabins on the river. Great location just outside the entrance to GSM National Park!
Jun 14, 2015
Brought our 5 year old grand daughter for a visit to the GSM and wanted her to stay where we stayed when her dad was a kid, we loved it back then, and we still do. It was definitely two thumbs up for her and of course the playground was her favorite.
Jun 13, 2015
We stayed in a DC cabins. We really liked cabin...a bit small for 4 adults. Seemed clean, but cabin needed instructions about what to do with dirty towels, trash, paper products. We had to ask each detail...needs to be provided to renters. Unable to complete showers due to hot water running out. The porch was fabulous and the location to the river. Wood provided on porch was a nice touch.
Jun 13, 2015
We have enjoyed staying at this campground since our children were small. It is a joy bringing our grandchildren now.
Jun 11, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Loved that it had lots for kids to do. Two "issues" that we had were the location of bathhouse so far from cabin..closest were porta potties and it seemed really really crowded. Still would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.