Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
As always, we had another great stay this year! This year made fifteen years at this campground. Nice to see familiar faces year after year, as well as meeting new ones. Mark you are running a great campground with great friendly employees! CC7 was a good location, looking forward to next year. See ya then!
Aug 14, 2017
We've been coming to KOA for several years,we always have a great time. The only thing I could say is the couch bed was trouble for both our cabins. One wouldn't stay blown up and the other one had a mattress that was really to thin. But overall a great place!
Aug 13, 2017
Best place around!
Aug 13, 2017
The staff was totally amazing. We were on our 1st night of honeymoon it was terrible down pour with a tent. They gave us a free upgrade to a cabin and had no idea who or why we were there. Thank you from upstate NY
Aug 11, 2017
We rented 2 deluxe cabins and a campsite. The cabins were very nice, but it was stretching it to advertise a 6 person cabin that only slept 4 comfortably. When the sofas were open you could not open the front doors or pass by to get to the rest of the cabin. There was kitchenware for 4 instead of 6 (plates,cups,etc.)The well-groomed grounds and amenities were wonderful. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 09, 2017
I love this KOA. It's beautiful, family friendly, convenient for bike riding and a great atmosphere. The only small issue I had with our deluxe cabin stay were some supplies missing but the staff was quick to resolve. There was a pretty bad ant issue with the cabin which I didn't address directly with the staff since we were "camping" but I just tried to make sure open items were bagged tight.
Aug 09, 2017
When my family arrived we found our deluxe cabin more the week had hoped for and the staff was very helpful and the campground itself was very quite we have found our new tradition I do believe
Aug 09, 2017
We loved Townsend. Quiet compared to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge yet close enough to drive over. The campground is very small/tight so parking was limited/tight because they use every amount of space for tents. Even had a tent in front of our yard, making parking harder. The bathrooms/showers were clean/nice. Cabin was clean. Beds were soft compared to others. Will stay again but in deluxe by river.
Aug 04, 2017
Impressed with how nice the cabin was. Staff is fantastic
Aug 03, 2017
Stay was nice, just over rude staff that treat you like a problem for years on end. We used to feel like family, now we feel unwelcome. Never going back!
Aug 02, 2017
We have stayed here 3 summers in a row. My kids absolutely love it. They are always sad when it is time to leave.
Aug 01, 2017
Great staff wonderful location with nicely appointed cabins
Jul 31, 2017
We had a wondeful family reunion. The activities at the KOA along with our planned activities had something for everyone to do no matter the age. I personally had themost fun at the Bingo for all ages.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
The staff is super friendly. The place is very clean. The cabins are extremely nice. We had the best time. Enjoyed being right on the river. Definitely recommend!!!!
Jul 25, 2017
Awesome park Awesome facilities Awesome staff. What else can I say AWESOME. Paul Groves.
Jul 25, 2017
Beautiful campground. Very gracious staff. This is our second time staying and we've loved it both times.
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you for installing the new bathrooms and dish wash area by the pavilion. Beautiful addition to the campground. Been asking for you to remove the porta johns for years. Staff were very friendly and helpful as always. Will continue to return every year to our favorite campground in the Smokies!
Jul 25, 2017
Love this KOA. Been staying at this location for 28 years-since before it became a KOA. Beautiful location and well cared for property. Best spot on the planet.
Jul 24, 2017
Cabins are close together. Sites are close together to the point everything feels overcrowded. Cabins are overpriced.
Jul 24, 2017
We loved our stay in the deluxe cabin.
Jul 24, 2017
Amazing stay, friendly staff, and well kept facilities as far as we experienced. I grew up coming to this campground before it was a KOA, and they have done a wonderful job of maintaining such a beautiful property.
Jul 24, 2017
The floors of our cabin were incredibly dirty and there was ants on the table. The wifi was extremely slow too and the mattress was really uncomfortable. The deluxe cabins were much nicer and included a bathroom.
Jul 23, 2017
Staff amazing, friendly, prompt taking care of all requests. Absolutely wonderful experience!!! We stayed in DC 4. Only negative was new neighbors in DC 3 on 7/21 who smoked constantly and used bad language while on their deck. Not suitable for our grandchildren so we were forced to be inside. Thankfully it was only one night but sadly it was our last night. Otherwise we had the greatest time!!!
Jul 23, 2017
The staff was super friendly. Our cabin upon arrival had not been swept and the freezer in our fridge was dirty. The view was amazing being on the river. Loved the porch swing. Could use a coffee maker in the cabin though.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
we have had great experiences in the past with KOA camping cabins and this one also did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and helpful, the ambience and upkeep of the camp was fantastic. I guess my only issue was the firewood we bought from them. We bought three bundles and none of it burned well at all. Lots of smoke and that's all.
Jul 22, 2017
Well kept facility , would highly recommend .
Jul 20, 2017
Campground was well staffed and very helpful.
Jul 16, 2017
KOA Townsend is an awesome camp ground. The bathrooms are super clean. The shower facilities are clean and safe. The cabins on the river are great for families with kids that want to play in the river. I would highly recommend staying here. We we here a week and didn't want to leave!!
Jul 15, 2017
Our cabin was very clean #9 and was cool when we entered. Everyone was very friendly and we love coming here.
Jul 13, 2017
I bring my four grandchildren every summer. It has become one of our fun annual times together. It is such a nice clean place and the kids love it! The pool, the craft time in the mornings, the family time each night, the hayride, and movie night make for happy memories. Of course the clean bathrooms with hot showers is an added bonus as well. We look forward to more happy times here at KOA.
Jul 13, 2017
I loved the activites for the kids and family..the cabins are nice. The service excellent
Jul 13, 2017
The campground is always in great shape and the staff is friendly and helpful! This was my fifth year hosting #CAMPGigi and my kids and I love it! Thank you again for the wonderful memories!
Jul 12, 2017
Deluxe cabins over priced
Jul 12, 2017
Great site! Very clean!
Jul 11, 2017
The staff here is very friendly. This is a wonderful campground!
Jul 10, 2017
Wonderful!! Very clean! Great activities! Helpful staff! Will be back!
Jul 08, 2017
Had a great stay.Clean camp ground and facilities.Great staff as well.
Jul 08, 2017
Very clean and fun place to stay! It's great for families with small children. So much for them to do without leaving the campground!
Jul 08, 2017
Everything was clean and the staff was wonderful! However, we do prefer a little bit more solitude than the KOA offered. This is a perfect place for families with small children though, something for everyone to do:)
Jul 08, 2017
Great place an great people
Jul 08, 2017
We stayed in a Deluxe cabin w/bathroom, which was very clean. The staff were courteous and present in and around the site all day. Linens and towels were provided, just make sure you bring utensils with you if you are doing your own cooking. They provide the very nice gas grills and the fire pit was very nice with its own hinged grill top. We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2017
Cabin was very nice and clean. A great place to be.
Jul 05, 2017
We stayed in DC12. Very comfortable. We enjoyed the water war, too. This is our annual family trip & we pick your campground every time. Will miss you 7/2018, but see you in 9/2017!
Jul 05, 2017
Clean facility with a friendly staff. We loved being right at the entrance to the National Park and only a few miles from Cades Cove.
Jul 04, 2017
This was perfect for an almost 3 year old, two adults, & our malamute. We spent one day completely in the campground tubing, swimming in the pool, & on the playground. It's close enough to the tourist attractions without all the traffic and noise. This campground was clean until our last night when some guests arrived that were just plain animals who peed all over & didn't clean after themselves.
Jul 02, 2017
This KOA is always clean and beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful!
Jul 02, 2017
Very clean. Friendly staff
Jul 01, 2017
Good location.But advertise activities for kids (wagon rides, tie dying shirts) the only take place on Saturday, After reading website, thought activities were an everyday thing. "Free" wifi is awful. Don't count on it.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award