Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Aug 26, 2015
Wonderful staff and location. Cabins and shower/bathrooms very clean. Love it here!
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Second year we have stayed there. Very clean deluxe cabin and nice staff. Love the location to the park. The Sat. eve movie was great. Have made reservation for next year.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time and booked for next year!
Aug 23, 2015
This campground is excellent. Staff is fantastic. Very very clean. Deluxe cabins are great.the stars above should be great not poor. Best campground ever. I tell everyone about it. Location awesome.
Aug 22, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. The staff was very nice. The only issue we had was our A/C in the cabin leaked over our luggage, toiletries and my son's nebulizer machine. They were able to fix the A/C after a few hours. I was able to get my son's breathing machine running the next day.
Aug 19, 2015
We absolutely loved this KOA! We had the river essential in the campground & the Smokies are right next door. The weather was terrific & the sites magnificent. After the days out we would come back to our camp cabin and relax or swim.
Aug 19, 2015
This location is beautiful. We loved being right on the river. Loved the tubing. Cabins were nice and clean but a little on the cramped side.
Aug 19, 2015
We truely enjoyed staying here. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The kids loved playing in the little river, pool, and playground.
Aug 19, 2015
Super clean and lots of fun. The only suggestion would be to have more trash cans available.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
We had a great time. Only recommendation closer bathrooms.
Aug 12, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin and couldn't have asked for anything else
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and really enjoyed it. It was a last minute decision to go and well worth it. Clean.
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground next to the Smokies. The kabins were great with a mini fridge and TV. Water outside the kabin was a big plus.
Aug 10, 2015
Restrooms had been renovated since my last stay here....Very....very clean. Camping cabins also as comfortable as ever. All KOA employees very kind....Have been at Townsend many times and will continue to visit them!
Aug 09, 2015
Everything was really very good. We had a problem with an aggressive dog but the staff did everything they could to alleviate the problem.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful people, clean bathroom facility and very accommodating.
Aug 06, 2015
We have stayed there twice and will definitely stay there again. Friendly staff with clean acommadations!
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground with lots to at the site and nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. Camping cabin we stayed in was clean but a little worn. Camp sites near the highway suffered with traffic noise. Only frustration with staff was a leaf blower used to sweep a cabin porch at 9:30 on Sunday morning when a broom would have worked fine. Bathroom was clean and so were the porta-johns.
Aug 05, 2015
Townsend is probably the best KOA we have ever visited. There are activities everyday hosted by the KOA and they offer a great deal on rafting. The deal includes a shuttle back to the top of the river to raft as many times as you wish until 5pm. Saturday night they played a great family movie outside and offered popcorn and drinks for a small fee. A must visit site for sure. We will be back.
Aug 05, 2015
Very friendly staff
Aug 05, 2015
Great stay! Clean showers and restrooms! So much fun tubing!
Aug 03, 2015
Excellent stay. The only slight issue was the disrespectfulness of a group of other campers. I'd like to see better enforcement of situations like that. I will definitely be returning though!
Aug 02, 2015
Way overpriced!
Aug 01, 2015
The camp ground is nice. The staff could be nicer. We had to have our gas grill fixed 3 times and air conditioner fixed. We stayed in a deluxe cabin. The staff also did not want to give us fresh towels daily.
Aug 01, 2015
Came for a relaxing girls week and had a wonderful time! All the staff were kind and helpful. They never seemed bothered by our many questions and were willing to help. I brought my mom with me and she loved it to the point that her and my dad are making reservations for the fall! Thank you for our great trip!!!
Jul 31, 2015
Nice campground and great staff I just wish the bathrooms and showers didn't feel like the 90 degrees it was outside
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Clean cabins, very friendly staff and beautiful location on the river :)
Jul 26, 2015
delightful, well maintained park
Jul 26, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I have stayed here several times, and have recommended to many friends. I left very frustrated as did two friends Cause of frustration-paying $140?per night and when went to office to request replacement of k cups was informed only 4k cups supplied. I said, I understand, but we are staying another night. No additional k cups furnished. Ridiculous! Caused friend to not reserve for future outtin
Jul 26, 2015
The primitive cabin was very clean and cozy, and had running water just outside the door... Can't wait to stay there again
Jul 25, 2015
Had great time
Jul 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA.
Jul 21, 2015
Facility and cabins were great. Some stuff was great and appreciated us as Guests. Some staff acted as if we were lucky to be staying here and were generally rude.
Jul 21, 2015
Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is one of the best KOAs we have ever stayed at. The staff are all exceedingly friendly, the pool was always clean and the activities in the pavilion were wonderful.
Jul 21, 2015
I enjoyed my stay but I would rather there be more space between the campsites. The sites were not even big enough to park your vehicle. Showers were great the cabin was small but comfortable but you could at least put a dead bolt lock on the door.
Jul 21, 2015
Had a very nice stay. The campground was clean and the staff friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful location - great campground and employees, too! The most relaxing vacation we have experienced in a long time!!!
Jul 20, 2015
We stay there every year now for the last 5or6years its a birthday tradition my 6year old started and she want to go back every birthday she is now 12 any way we have never had any problems until this time our cabin had a very bad smell we finally found two piles of dog fecies under the bunk beds it was pretty bad but I didn't complain because my daughter didnt want tobe kicked out it was uncalled
Jul 20, 2015
Our first time ever camping was at the KOA - Great Smokies -definitely a relaxing, fun and enjoyable vacation! Our deluxe studio cabin was very clean and was presented in an excellent manor. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful to newcomers like us! We biked beautiful Cades Cove and tubed down the cool Little River. We ended our vacation celebrating a little girl being water baptized!
Jul 20, 2015
This is the third summer we have rented one of the two room cabins. We love everything about this place. The pool is clean and we enjoy the hayride and movie on Saturday night. My grandson told me this was the best place to be other than a Disney Cruise! :)
Jul 20, 2015
We stayed one night in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean! Next time would like to get one of the cabins close to the river.
Jul 19, 2015
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and greated by friendly staff. They were very helpful when the AC unit in my parents cabin was not working and gave us great advice about visiting the local area. We had a lovely deluxe cabin and completely enjoyed our stay. The only bad part was having to leave and return home to real life.
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great time, air unit was out the first day. The 2nd day they spent 8 hours swapping it out. Thankful they did but with us only staying 2 days that was half our trip we were hot! I ask for a discount and was told they would call me but never did. I would like to return here next year but I feel they should make us whole again. Again, staff and campground was great and we did have fun.
Jul 17, 2015
We absolutely LOVE your KOA!! This was our second time staying with you guys. We would definitely stay with you again if we come back to Tennessee. We will also tell all of our friends about you traveling this away. Your employees are so nice also! Nikki was wonderful to us!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.