Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: (800) 562-3428

Info: (865) 448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Apr 11, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
Nice facility. We will be staying here a lot in the future.
Apr 09, 2014
Always excellent!
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
A little pricey for such a minimal need stay....but clean, great staff, friendly and fun!
Apr 07, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our Kabin by the stream, awesome playground, very clean restrooms, friendly staff, and easy accessibility to the park. We'll be back!
Apr 07, 2014
I was a little nervous about it, I have had bad experiences with "cabins". But this cabin was fabulous!!! Just perfect for a weekend getaway. Looking forward to the next time!!
Apr 06, 2014
The 2 room cabin they gave us was VERY old and small for 5 of us. It is overpriced and they have stacked the cabins right next to each other. The restrooms are a very long dark walk to get to in the middle of the night. The wifi doesn't reach the cabins. The best part about this KOA is their location. In the past we stayed in a 2 room cabin on the river and enjoyed it very much.
Apr 06, 2014
We stayed in a practically new deluxe cabin. It was not bad for an overnight stay, not sure I would want long term stay. Here is my complaint, there is a $21.85 clean up charge for pets for staying one day or two weeks. No big deal for two weeks but hefty for one night. It is not published on website either! They said I should have called, then shut down the website. Don't like deception!
Apr 06, 2014
Great location and great service!
Apr 06, 2014
There really should be a restroom closer to the cabins on the river. Next time we will get a cabin closer to the pool. It is not easy having to go so far to use the restroom with young children.
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
We had an amazing time. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.
Mar 31, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. I plan to return soon.
Mar 31, 2014
You guys are always great!! So helpful and thoughtful to my kids. I will always stay here with my family!!
Mar 31, 2014
Great location, clean and friendly staff.
Mar 30, 2014
We had an incredible time. Love the campground and staff!
Mar 28, 2014
Beautiful setting for the perfect mountain getaway! Love this KOA!
Mar 27, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
My whole family had a great time. They were actually depressed that we had to leave. We will be back this summer to stay a whole week. Thank you!
Mar 25, 2014
Would not recommend the deluxe cabins on the creek. Constant flow of kids going through site to the creek and parents through site fetching their kids. Noisy, busy site, not for relaxing or privacy.
Mar 24, 2014
Everyone is friendly and helpful. Thanks for another great time! See you all this summer!
Mar 23, 2014
We totally enjoyed our stay, as usual. Our only comment would be that we would never rent the deluxe cabins with the lofts. The reason being is there is no sink in the bathroom. The kitchen sink is used for dishes, washing hands, brushing teeth,shaving etc.. We found it unsanitary.
Mar 22, 2014
We enjoyed it. Everything was great. We wished there was an indoor pool but we would come back for sure. We LOVED the awesome kids playground and the horseshoes.
Mar 21, 2014
Mar 21, 2014
Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.
Mar 19, 2014
Great camp sites and cabins. Peaceful creek to hike and fish. So many activities for kids. A true family campground!
Mar 17, 2014
Great hospitality!
Mar 17, 2014
KOA has a lot to offer for the kids. I have a 2 & 7 year old and they LOVE it... from the creek to the playground. And also the dog park is awesome if you travel with your pets!
Mar 17, 2014
Lots to do for the kids. Very clean bathrooms and showers which is nice when camping with kids. Very friendly staff.
Mar 14, 2014
I absolutely love this campground site and we had a wonderful stay! Anyone asking for cabins or campsites I always recommend this place and I've only been twice! Thank you!!!
Mar 12, 2014
Wonderful stay. Very clean cabins and great staff. Will be returning this summer for sure.
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
First time for winter camping in sleep cabin. It was warm and cozy. Bath house was warm and extemely clean. Loved the campsite and friendly employees. My new favorite place!
Feb 17, 2014
It was great! Thanks! I'll will be back that's for sure It was great! Thanks!!
Feb 17, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin by the river. It was small but perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. It was neat, nice and clean. I love love that it was pet friendly and had a dog play area fenced in. My only negatives are the hot water heater is extremely small, ran out 2 minutes into the shower and the cabin is very close to the river. Which is an A+ for adults and older kids.
Feb 13, 2014
I would give 5 stars if the WIFI were better! We were next to the office and still could not get a good signal!! One more thing during the off season would be nice to have a list of what's open near the campground. Places to eat, shop and sightseeing.We had a GREAT time.
Feb 11, 2014
Stayed in the larger two bedroom cabin for a cold weekend in February on a kayaking trip.. the two small heaters kept the cabin plenty warm and the inside was quaint and clean. Very friendly staff!
Feb 03, 2014
Cabin was great, everyone was very friendly. The only thing that was inconvenient was the extremely long distance to the bath house at the office. Other than that and winter storm Leon coming in that week, everything was great.
Jan 25, 2014
Jan 21, 2014
Very helpful and friendly
Jan 17, 2014
Loved our stay all the staff was very nice and helpful. Facilities were spotless, can't wa it to return !
Jan 14, 2014
Staff was friendly, as always, and very accomodating.
Jan 11, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
Cabin was perfect.Will be back with my our camper
Jan 04, 2014
Already counting days until i go back!!! My permanent winter vacation for many yrs to come.
Dec 31, 2013
We love staying here every chance we get! The staff is super friendly and helpful and the cabins are always welcoming! We especially appreciated our cabins being warm and cozy since we were late arriving on sat. and it was dreary and wet outside:)Thanks for always taking care of our family!
Dec 28, 2013
Enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The only complaint is the door needs cleaning or repainting. Also, driving and parking is very difficult due to the number of trees in this campground. Overall though, we enjoyed the cabin, the deck, firepit and grill. Upon checking in everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Dec 28, 2013
The deluxe cabin was great! We loved it! If I had only comment it would be that the bed was unlevel and the mattresses were not very comfortable.... But otherwise the place was awesome!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.