Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

May 20, 2015
The park was the best I have ever been in great for kids, but still quiet for adults. The cabins were the best I have ever been in I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
May 20, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which were great and nicely equipped with all you would need. A pleasant surprise was the beautiful patio with gas grill and nice stone fireplace ring. Even though the cabins are close to each other, they have landscaped between them beautifully so you feel like you have your own privacy. I definitely will be back!
May 20, 2015
Amazing place & very friendly staff. Have already made reservations for July.
May 19, 2015
Our stay was very nice, everyone friendly. It would be nice if the sweet shop could offer a light breakfast,deli sandwiches, fresh fruit, etc..
May 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful, well kept. The facilities are squeaky clean. Wonderful time over all. Two small complaints that were not the fault of the facility, Leaf blower at 8:30 both Sat and Sun mornings. Seemed to be an individual rather than the maintenence crew at the grounds. Noisy motorcycles at 8:30 Saturday morning!!!
May 16, 2015
Everything was awesome!
May 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and they made our stay great!
May 13, 2015
We love it and would stay more often if the price was cheaper. Love the area and scenery.
May 12, 2015
Absolutely love this campground, very peaceful even with a big crowd. Grounds were clean.
May 11, 2015
May 09, 2015
We had a w wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
May 06, 2015
I came to visit my sister who was here from Texas in a 5th wheel with her husband. I stayed in a cabin for two nights. Cabin was very nice; campground was scenic & clean; the area is beautiful.
May 05, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much; however, the deluxe cabin really needed a comfortable place to sit and a sink in the kitchen.
May 05, 2015
cabin was good. hot water good. everyone was nice. NO TV, NO TV, NO TV.
May 05, 2015
We had agood time staying with you.. Only one complain was that our TV wasn't working and they said it had been days still no one was able to fix it.. We like to watch the weather.We were there 5 days never seen any one around to fix it.. They just said sorry. They could have given us some sort of a adjustment.But that was the only thing. Thanks and we will probably stay again soon.
May 05, 2015
My family and I love the Townsend KOA. It is so clean, friendly, and quite. The national park is right next door and the whole town is bicycle friendly. It's one of our favorite getaway spots. We swim, hike, bike, and there is even a drive in movie theater just a short drive away.
May 05, 2015
Had a great time!!!
May 04, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean cabins. Well maintained grounds, and perfect weather!
May 04, 2015
Great view of the river clean and nice perfect for a weekend getaway
May 03, 2015
We came to this campground with 4 other couples. Three were in trailers, two were in a deluxe cabin. The staff was helpful when needed, the accommodations were 1st class. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
May 02, 2015
Hate we had to leave early because my husbands back pain & was hoping the cable would've been back on, but we love the place & how super friendly y'all are :)
May 01, 2015
We always enjoy staying with KOA Townsend! Staff is helpful and pleasant, kabins are always klean and well stocked! We have never been disappointed! Keep up the great work!
Apr 30, 2015
Clean and modern showers and bathrooms. Landscaped grounds and an awesome fenced dog park. I don't have kids but the playground looked super nice as well. Great stay.
Apr 29, 2015
Beautiful, well kept campground. The entire staff was very friendly. We will definitely be back again!
Apr 28, 2015
Great Campground. Friendly staff. Will be going back.
Apr 28, 2015
Great stay. Nice and clean cabin. We will be back.
Apr 28, 2015
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at! Very friendly staff, perfect location, very clean bathrooms and showers.
Apr 27, 2015
Awesome weekend-not having cable or wifi made camping that much better!
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 26, 2015
Stay was good. Great location. Cabin was clean and comfortable. However, the cable for the TV was out, the WiFi was spotty at best and the port-a-potty could be cleaned more often. Also, cabin had no broom or mop for cleanup. Otherwise, a great place to stay close to the GSMNP.
Apr 23, 2015
Always impressed with this campground & the regular improvements they make. Our Deluxe Cabin had artwork, a headboard, & a Keurig coffee maker - all new since we last stayed about a year ago. Thank you!
Apr 23, 2015
I loved it so much. We have made reservations for next year.
Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful campground I stayed here 20 years ago and had to stay again. the staff is very friendly the park is very clean.
Apr 22, 2015
This KOA would've gotten 5 stars if the advertised wifi had been accessible from our cabin. It wasn't, & that needs to be posted.
Apr 21, 2015
Apr 19, 2015
Great, clean campground w/ nice playground, facilities, store, and river view. Will def. stay here again!
Apr 17, 2015
This is by far the best place to stay if you plan on visiting the Smoky's. Great campground, nice people. It's the only place I stay.
Apr 16, 2015
We had such a great time. Its so quiet and close to cades cove. We stayed in a little cabin by the river it was so relaxing and it was super clean. we will definetely be coming back@
Apr 15, 2015
few suggestions: 1. shelving and towel/clothing hooks in showers over seating. No where to put stuff to keep dry other than seat. 2. shelving on shower side for soap, etc (so not on floor) 3. different paper towel dispensers in restrooms. always jammed constantly had to fix the entire 4 days I was there. 4. port a potty way too full 5. need restrooms on tent camping side--RVs don't need the
Apr 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time the staff wasso friendly and helpful it was a truly great weekend
Apr 15, 2015
Was my first camping experience, tho we did stay in a cabin, it was absolutely wonderful, relaxing and great to be able to have our puppies with us. The staff was was fantastic and so friendly...already booked for another stay.
Apr 14, 2015
We love the Great Smoky Mountains. And We love to stay at the Townsend KOA it is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. Everything is beautifully landscaped and the Cabins are very nice and clean. The cabins even include a gas grill with a very nice sitting area outside. We will definitely return! Thanks KOA!
Apr 14, 2015
First time on a KOA campground. Loved our stay in the deluxe cabin. Never staying in a hotel again.
Apr 12, 2015
This is the most wonderful KOA. Our family loves to stay here because it is safe and the employees and owners are friendly, helpful, and a joy to be around. The new remodeling has really made this top notch KOA even better.
Apr 12, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We have stayed at many KOAs all over the USA, and find this one to be one of the cleanest and nicest of all. It is ever improving.
Apr 11, 2015
Once again our family had a great time at the Townsend KOA. Cabins we're comfortable and kids loved the fishing. We will be back again. The Deichelbohrer's
Apr 10, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins, very clean and just right for us, it was less staying here than in a hotel. Plus it was quite. The river is so relaxing to hear and see, next time we will bring our camper, if we can get a spot. It was pretty here, we looked at some campgrounds from the road and didn't look twice.
Apr 10, 2015
Great customer service from the minute we made our reservation with Marilyn! The deluxe cabin was very clean, and looked brand new. Beautiful! We stayed in cabin (#9), which is really close to the main road; the noise was a bit much for the mt. getaway we hoped for. We wanted a riverfront cabin, but they were all booked. The river front cabins had an ahhh-mazing view. Would def. stay here again!
Apr 09, 2015
Only a couple of complaints about the cabin we stayed in: the shower did not drain good at all and the TV is on wrong side of room, you cannot lay in bed and watch TV at all. Would be nice if it was moved to other wall so it could be watched in bed.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.