Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
We reported to the office at least three times that the toilet was leaking around the seal and we had to keep cleaning it up. With no avail did we get it fixed. Also, the office check in staff was friendly except for one lady I did not get a name. She was very strick a firm with no hospitable welcoming at all.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The campgrounds and cabins were in excellent condition and clean as well as the restrooms/showers. We had a blast as well as a perfect place to bring our grandkids! Thank you! Stephanie
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
Great clean campground with lots of stuff on site. However, wi-go signal that was advertised was non existent. Should not be able to to advertise wi-if when it NEVER works.
Oct 18, 2014
We loved the grounds, location and facilities. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice and clean. However, the bed was horrible. The mattress was the worst I have ever slept on. I woke up in pain many times during the night. Not sure if I would chance ever staying there again.
Oct 18, 2014
This is a great place to get away and unwind. The camping grounds has friendly staff members, several different options for tents, 5th Wheels, trailers, RV's or renting cabins.
Oct 18, 2014
The cabin was clean and the heater work very well, our tv remote didn't work probably needed batteries. We had stayed at that same cabin before in the summer at a lower rate and wonder why the rate was higher at this time of the year?
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Had a wonderful time. All of the workers were friendly and helpful. Cabin was clean also the grounds were well kept.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
EVERY SUMMER WE STAY AT KOA AND LIKE ALWAYS ITS WONDERFUL, THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND THE CABINS ARE NICE.LOVE THIS PLACE..
Oct 15, 2014
Soggy, but fun. We were glad to see the sun come out on Monday!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We stay here twice a year and LOVE it.
Oct 14, 2014
We had a fabulous time! Cabin was clean and perfect for our family! We will definitely be back.
Oct 14, 2014
Our favorite place to stay in the Smokies
Oct 13, 2014
Loved our cabin but the WiFi service didn't reach are area very well. The staff was very friendly other than a girl that works in the store. She was one of the most unfriendly people I have ever met. Felt like I was not good enough for her or something. At first I thought maybe she was just having a bad day but every time I came in she was working and was just as unfriendly as the last time.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in Townsend, it is indeed the "quiet side of the Smokies". The KOA was excellent.
Oct 12, 2014
We love the cabins here, and they are always very clean!
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Nice quiet weekend away. Clean comfortable cabin with great amenities
Oct 06, 2014
We loved everything about our stay. This is our 3rd time staying in the Deluxe Cabins. The only complaint I have is the comfort of the beds. They are not comfortable at all. I am not a picky person at all and can deal with just about anything, but the bed was horrible. Very clean, very nice staff, loved the scenery, staff always willing to help, pet friendly. Please get better beds. Thank you
Oct 05, 2014
Deluxe Cabin was clean and office personal were efficient and friendly. Love the campsite. Returning in the spring.
Oct 04, 2014
It was very nice campground but the sites are a little close together. The cabins are really a nice way to stay in the campground without having a camper. Wish they would make some of the cabins handicap accessible as this was an issue for a gentleman in our party and it was difficult for him to get in and out of the cabin.
Oct 03, 2014
don't like only one sink in deluxe cabin to wash dishes in and brush your teeth in not sanitary to me not handicap friendly in any way very friendly staff plenty of linens and pillows our first stay in deluxe cabin after selling our rv not sure if we will tackle this again may have to find other accomdations that are more suitable for us as my husband is disabled
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Loved the cabin, location and atmosphere. Will surely stay again!
Sep 30, 2014
This KOA is not equipped for handicapped individuals. We had to carry my husband into the deluxe cabin and I had to block the entire women's restoom to assist my husband because there are no family facilities. This KOA is great if you have no physical health issues. We can't stay here again with the current facilities.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
We love this KOA. We have stayed here for years. We have camped many years but this last stay many of us got cabins due to my father being diagnosed with ALS "Lou Gehrig's" and unable to camp. We were sad to see none of the cabins at this KOA have handicap access. We would like to see some with ramps or unfortunately we will be forced to find somewhere to come every year.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Very nicely kept campground. Showers are great and family friendly. Our 4 year old loved our one room cabin.
Sep 28, 2014
Nicest campground we've stayed in. Loved the enclosed pet area. Very friendly helpful staff!!!!
Sep 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay..it was so quite there. we went over to galtinburg and it is so nice to come back home to peace. The only thing I wished there was more shower houses closer to the cabins... but we did great.. thank you so much.. we will be back.
Sep 25, 2014
Very impressed with the clean well equiped cabin.All of the staff could not have been more helpful. Hope to come again.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
gs family camp weekend staff friendly and helpful
Sep 22, 2014
The cabin we stayed in had some mold growing by the top bunk that made my son sick. The trip to the bathroom was pretty far. The craft and activities were wonderful. It made for an action packed day.
Sep 22, 2014
The Good: nice clean bath house, store on site. The Bad: confusing campground layout, bath house too far from cabins/tenters, heavy balls falling from trees dented hood of truck, poor/no lighting on pathways. Not the worst, but needs some work.
Sep 22, 2014
Quiet even though family oriented. I swam in the pool; the river was too cold for me. The store had items I forgot to pack. I made some good friends. There was one magazine in the office that helped me plan my hike.
Sep 20, 2014
Very friendly employees and helpful!!
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
We loved the cabin but would have liked if someone would have told us that there was no stove or skillet to cook in
Sep 18, 2014
Hardly nothing worked in the cabin,way to crowded and noisy,Deck was not covered couldn't sit outside when it rained ,smelled inside,couldn't standup in the shower ,way to narrow roads getting into the cabins,worst stay ever
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.