Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Sep 28, 2014
Nicest campground we've stayed in. Loved the enclosed pet area. Very friendly helpful staff!!!!
Sep 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay..it was so quite there. we went over to galtinburg and it is so nice to come back home to peace. The only thing I wished there was more shower houses closer to the cabins... but we did great.. thank you so much.. we will be back.
Sep 25, 2014
Very impressed with the clean well equiped cabin.All of the staff could not have been more helpful. Hope to come again.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
gs family camp weekend staff friendly and helpful
Sep 22, 2014
The cabin we stayed in had some mold growing by the top bunk that made my son sick. The trip to the bathroom was pretty far. The craft and activities were wonderful. It made for an action packed day.
Sep 22, 2014
The Good: nice clean bath house, store on site. The Bad: confusing campground layout, bath house too far from cabins/tenters, heavy balls falling from trees dented hood of truck, poor/no lighting on pathways. Not the worst, but needs some work.
Sep 22, 2014
Quiet even though family oriented. I swam in the pool; the river was too cold for me. The store had items I forgot to pack. I made some good friends. There was one magazine in the office that helped me plan my hike.
Sep 20, 2014
Very friendly employees and helpful!!
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
We loved the cabin but would have liked if someone would have told us that there was no stove or skillet to cook in
Sep 18, 2014
Hardly nothing worked in the cabin,way to crowded and noisy,Deck was not covered couldn't sit outside when it rained ,smelled inside,couldn't standup in the shower ,way to narrow roads getting into the cabins,worst stay ever
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
I suggest you print your maps from MapQuest. Camp maps from and to various sites are very poor.
Sep 17, 2014
Great place, grandchildren love it, we rented a studio cabin, and were very disappointed that our air conditioner did not work, and the ceiling fan worked very poorly. We ended up buying a small table fan to set beside the bed. We did report the issue but the maintenance department could not get it to cool. Will stay again but must have air conditioning.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
DC10 was a great cabin. The facilities are always great. Staff is nice and helpful.
Sep 16, 2014
the cabin was very clean and the people were very friendly and helpfull.
Sep 15, 2014
Clean facilities and friendly staff! Most impressed!
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great time and the grandkids love it.
Sep 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time as always...We have stayed in several KOA Kampgrounds, but Townsend is the best one so far..Had a blast playing BINGO..Thanks
Sep 12, 2014
Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour en cabine au Koa de Townsend! Très propre et bel accueil. Prêt du parc et des services d'épicerie et autres. La réception du wifi serait grandement à améliorer toutefois.
Sep 12, 2014
The cabin was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Great Smokies.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
The cabin next to mine had Bed Bugs. I saw them and are very familiar with them. There were hundreds of them. The did refund the money to the couple and the family but tried to blame it on them bringing them to the cabin. They were not brought to the cabin. There were hundreds of them. This happens but could have been handled better.
Sep 09, 2014
This was the 5th time we have stayed here. We always come back because the park is clean, staff very friendly, & there is so much to do in the park!
Sep 08, 2014
We were in cabin 11, our friends in cabin #12 woke up covered in "textbook" bedbugs. The cabin is infested-coming out of the walls, bedding and wood furniture in the dark. Mgmt. refused to do anything but refund their $ and act as if it was no big deal, leaving us wondering who they will put in the cabin next. We know the cabin was full last weekend, Labor Day. There HAD to be previous complaints.
Sep 08, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was clean and well maintained. We loved everything about our trip and plan on returning as soon as we can. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Sep 08, 2014
Would suggest taking an eggcrete for the beds. Could use small night table and chair in cabins. Enjoyed our stay, staff was very friendly, facilities were clean and handy.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was perfect for us! We enjoyed the pool, the playground & also the dog run! The water was just a short walk away and my children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed playing in the water and on the banks! We loved the grill and patio area at our cabin- an unexpected treat! Staff were very helpful and obviously were there to serve the customers. We will definitely be returning!!
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
As always it was a great stay!
Sep 03, 2014
Great looking forward to staying there again
Sep 03, 2014
first time in a camping ground! good experience for us all. arrived late at night and staff left instructions on where our cabin is. very dark at night. i suggest that dim lights be installed on the grounds to guide campers at night. daytime we visited cades cove which is very near the camp (++). hiked to Abrams falls and ate dinner in Gatlinburg. Overall it was a great experience!
Sep 02, 2014
We have camped at KOA campgrounds many times in our travels and they were always courteous, friendly, very clean and a pleasure to camp in. Our top choice is KOA of Townsend in the Smokies. We will be back next year.
Sep 02, 2014
Responded quickly for a maintenance request. Cabin was great for young children.
Aug 30, 2014
The campground is minutes from Great Smokey Mtns. NP. We stayed in a camping cabin on the river. The view was amazing. My son was able to go fishing, and both my kids played in the water. It was the perfect alternative to tent camping.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Had a great time the employees was friendly and very helpful the beds was a little uncomfortable but we definitely will be back
Aug 27, 2014
We absolutely loved the deluxe cabin for our family. It was clean, the view was great and the staff were friendly. We can't wait to come back again!
Aug 27, 2014
It was wonderful! We loved both cabins, on the river and off. Lived the tubing access and pool and playground. Kids love all the activities:hay ride and movie!! I love the church meeting on Sunday morning. Thank you for having it all!!
Aug 26, 2014
We have stayed at this campground for many years and have enjoyed all of them. At our last stay the shower floor was very dirty and the shower curtain had mold on the bottom of it. This was not what we have come to expect from Little River.
Aug 26, 2014
Awesome as usual!
Aug 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay in a camping cabin! Very private and quiet with lots of trees. Also, very clean. We enjoyed the pool,they even let it stay open a little past the 8:00 closing time for our girls who didn't quite make it back for a swim until 8:00pm after a long hike! However, the icecream shop always closed before closing time of 8:00pm(even closed at 7:00 one night) so never had that.
Aug 25, 2014
Had great time. Would suggest to include added fees on your website such as charges for cars
Aug 25, 2014
Great location! Great staff. Made a wonderful birthday present for my son visiting from NY. He loved it!!!
Aug 25, 2014
Our stay exceeded expectations. Pros: hospitable employees, awesome playground & pool, location=perfect, safe for kids to roam, emmaculate bathhouse, quiet setting, beautiful landscaping, near grocery store and a coupl restaurants. disadvantage was no privacy, sites close together but everything else outweighed that one downfall. We will make this an annual stay going forward. Thank you Townsend K
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.