Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Sep 16, 2014
DC10 was a great cabin. The facilities are always great. Staff is nice and helpful.
Sep 16, 2014
the cabin was very clean and the people were very friendly and helpfull.
Sep 15, 2014
Clean facilities and friendly staff! Most impressed!
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great time and the grandkids love it.
Sep 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time as always...We have stayed in several KOA Kampgrounds, but Townsend is the best one so far..Had a blast playing BINGO..Thanks
Sep 12, 2014
Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour en cabine au Koa de Townsend! Très propre et bel accueil. Prêt du parc et des services d'épicerie et autres. La réception du wifi serait grandement à améliorer toutefois.
Sep 12, 2014
The cabin was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Great Smokies.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
The cabin next to mine had Bed Bugs. I saw them and are very familiar with them. There were hundreds of them. The did refund the money to the couple and the family but tried to blame it on them bringing them to the cabin. They were not brought to the cabin. There were hundreds of them. This happens but could have been handled better.
Sep 09, 2014
This was the 5th time we have stayed here. We always come back because the park is clean, staff very friendly, & there is so much to do in the park!
Sep 08, 2014
We were in cabin 11, our friends in cabin #12 woke up covered in "textbook" bedbugs. The cabin is infested-coming out of the walls, bedding and wood furniture in the dark. Mgmt. refused to do anything but refund their $ and act as if it was no big deal, leaving us wondering who they will put in the cabin next. We know the cabin was full last weekend, Labor Day. There HAD to be previous complaints.
Sep 08, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was clean and well maintained. We loved everything about our trip and plan on returning as soon as we can. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Sep 08, 2014
Would suggest taking an eggcrete for the beds. Could use small night table and chair in cabins. Enjoyed our stay, staff was very friendly, facilities were clean and handy.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was perfect for us! We enjoyed the pool, the playground & also the dog run! The water was just a short walk away and my children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed playing in the water and on the banks! We loved the grill and patio area at our cabin- an unexpected treat! Staff were very helpful and obviously were there to serve the customers. We will definitely be returning!!
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
As always it was a great stay!
Sep 03, 2014
Great looking forward to staying there again
Sep 03, 2014
first time in a camping ground! good experience for us all. arrived late at night and staff left instructions on where our cabin is. very dark at night. i suggest that dim lights be installed on the grounds to guide campers at night. daytime we visited cades cove which is very near the camp (++). hiked to Abrams falls and ate dinner in Gatlinburg. Overall it was a great experience!
Sep 02, 2014
We have camped at KOA campgrounds many times in our travels and they were always courteous, friendly, very clean and a pleasure to camp in. Our top choice is KOA of Townsend in the Smokies. We will be back next year.
Sep 02, 2014
Responded quickly for a maintenance request. Cabin was great for young children.
Aug 30, 2014
The campground is minutes from Great Smokey Mtns. NP. We stayed in a camping cabin on the river. The view was amazing. My son was able to go fishing, and both my kids played in the water. It was the perfect alternative to tent camping.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Had a great time the employees was friendly and very helpful the beds was a little uncomfortable but we definitely will be back
Aug 27, 2014
We absolutely loved the deluxe cabin for our family. It was clean, the view was great and the staff were friendly. We can't wait to come back again!
Aug 27, 2014
It was wonderful! We loved both cabins, on the river and off. Lived the tubing access and pool and playground. Kids love all the activities:hay ride and movie!! I love the church meeting on Sunday morning. Thank you for having it all!!
Aug 26, 2014
We have stayed at this campground for many years and have enjoyed all of them. At our last stay the shower floor was very dirty and the shower curtain had mold on the bottom of it. This was not what we have come to expect from Little River.
Aug 26, 2014
Awesome as usual!
Aug 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay in a camping cabin! Very private and quiet with lots of trees. Also, very clean. We enjoyed the pool,they even let it stay open a little past the 8:00 closing time for our girls who didn't quite make it back for a swim until 8:00pm after a long hike! However, the icecream shop always closed before closing time of 8:00pm(even closed at 7:00 one night) so never had that.
Aug 25, 2014
Had great time. Would suggest to include added fees on your website such as charges for cars
Aug 25, 2014
Great location! Great staff. Made a wonderful birthday present for my son visiting from NY. He loved it!!!
Aug 25, 2014
Our stay exceeded expectations. Pros: hospitable employees, awesome playground & pool, location=perfect, safe for kids to roam, emmaculate bathhouse, quiet setting, beautiful landscaping, near grocery store and a coupl restaurants. disadvantage was no privacy, sites close together but everything else outweighed that one downfall. We will make this an annual stay going forward. Thank you Townsend K
Aug 25, 2014
Great location, easy access to surrounding activities. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 24, 2014
Absolutely beautiful campground close to Smoky Mountains National Park. Would highly recommend it to anyone traveling in this area!
Aug 24, 2014
Awesome staff!! Very accomadating!! Super clean!! Right on the river!! Mountain views!! Excellent restaurants very close by!! Great outside showers and bathrooms!! They are now offer tubing!!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
I was very impressed with the cleanliness. There's so much more than what is portrayed on the web. A leash free area for pets and secured individual private showers in the bathhouse. I was pleasantly surprised to find our camping cabin had electricity,AC, and cable TV. not as rustic afterall!
Aug 21, 2014
WE LOVED IT!! WAS VERY CLEAN AND RELAXING!!
Aug 20, 2014
Another great stay at Townsend KOA! Super clean, quiet, and beautiful campground with friendly staff always ready to help. Stayed in a riverfront cabin and loved every minute of it. So relaxing! Really like being able to rent tubes for the river right at the campground. This is our family's favorite vacation destination and we'll definitely be back!
Aug 20, 2014
We have camped here for years but this year we were questioned by staff before we could even get to our cabin. This was AFTER checking at the front desk but hadn't had time to get the tag on the mirror! We had just left the office. Then they told us we couldn't sit on the River bank even though it was one of our families sites. We are retirees and these eager beaver volunteers need to back off!
Aug 19, 2014
The campground was nice. The staff was very pleasant. It would have been nice to know that the cabin we chose was quite a distance from the bathhouse. The bathhouse was somewhat dated- newer campgrounds have combined the toilet area with the shower area to make individual bathrooms. This is a really nice family feature.
Aug 18, 2014
Staff and facilities were great. Stayed in 2 cabins and lovd them both.
Aug 18, 2014
We had a GREAT time at this KOA! We were a large group with 11 children. The proximity to the National Park and Cades Cove was perfect for our love of nature, hiking, biking and viewing wildlife. Wear Valley, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg were also close. The management and staff were so pleasant and accommodating; also very tolerant of our overactive, imaginative and loud kids. Everyone had FUN!
Aug 17, 2014
Had a great time and will return again. Planning on asking our friends to return with us next time. Thanks much.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We had a fantastic time! The KOA is very well maintained. It is in a great location, right next to the park entrance. It has also an access for tubing onsite.
Aug 11, 2014
It is a beautiful environment with lots of nice people.
Aug 11, 2014
Awesome place to stay!!! Staff was so friendly!!! Definitely will be back!!
Aug 11, 2014
I have camped all over the country and this was the cleanest and friendliest campground I have ever been to.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.