Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
delightful, well maintained park
Jul 26, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I have stayed here several times, and have recommended to many friends. I left very frustrated as did two friends Cause of frustration-paying $140?per night and when went to office to request replacement of k cups was informed only 4k cups supplied. I said, I understand, but we are staying another night. No additional k cups furnished. Ridiculous! Caused friend to not reserve for future outtin
Jul 26, 2015
The primitive cabin was very clean and cozy, and had running water just outside the door... Can't wait to stay there again
Jul 25, 2015
Had great time
Jul 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA.
Jul 21, 2015
Facility and cabins were great. Some stuff was great and appreciated us as Guests. Some staff acted as if we were lucky to be staying here and were generally rude.
Jul 21, 2015
Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is one of the best KOAs we have ever stayed at. The staff are all exceedingly friendly, the pool was always clean and the activities in the pavilion were wonderful.
Jul 21, 2015
I enjoyed my stay but I would rather there be more space between the campsites. The sites were not even big enough to park your vehicle. Showers were great the cabin was small but comfortable but you could at least put a dead bolt lock on the door.
Jul 21, 2015
Had a very nice stay. The campground was clean and the staff friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful location - great campground and employees, too! The most relaxing vacation we have experienced in a long time!!!
Jul 20, 2015
We stay there every year now for the last 5or6years its a birthday tradition my 6year old started and she want to go back every birthday she is now 12 any way we have never had any problems until this time our cabin had a very bad smell we finally found two piles of dog fecies under the bunk beds it was pretty bad but I didn't complain because my daughter didnt want tobe kicked out it was uncalled
Jul 20, 2015
Our first time ever camping was at the KOA - Great Smokies -definitely a relaxing, fun and enjoyable vacation! Our deluxe studio cabin was very clean and was presented in an excellent manor. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful to newcomers like us! We biked beautiful Cades Cove and tubed down the cool Little River. We ended our vacation celebrating a little girl being water baptized!
Jul 20, 2015
This is the third summer we have rented one of the two room cabins. We love everything about this place. The pool is clean and we enjoy the hayride and movie on Saturday night. My grandson told me this was the best place to be other than a Disney Cruise! :)
Jul 20, 2015
We stayed one night in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean! Next time would like to get one of the cabins close to the river.
Jul 19, 2015
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and greated by friendly staff. They were very helpful when the AC unit in my parents cabin was not working and gave us great advice about visiting the local area. We had a lovely deluxe cabin and completely enjoyed our stay. The only bad part was having to leave and return home to real life.
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great time, air unit was out the first day. The 2nd day they spent 8 hours swapping it out. Thankful they did but with us only staying 2 days that was half our trip we were hot! I ask for a discount and was told they would call me but never did. I would like to return here next year but I feel they should make us whole again. Again, staff and campground was great and we did have fun.
Jul 17, 2015
We absolutely LOVE your KOA!! This was our second time staying with you guys. We would definitely stay with you again if we come back to Tennessee. We will also tell all of our friends about you traveling this away. Your employees are so nice also! Nikki was wonderful to us!!
Jul 15, 2015
I think it would be great if wifi was available at all campsites. We appreciate the nice upkeep of the grounds and friendliness of the staff.
Jul 14, 2015
When my family goes camping at the KOA in Townsend it always feels like we are being welcomed back home. Everyone feels like family to us and it's because the people are so wonderful. Thank you KOA for giving my family wonderful memories that we will cherish forever.
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was extremely friendly. Cabin was immaculate and grounds beautifully kept.
Jul 12, 2015
Loved it! We will stay here the next time we visit.
Jul 12, 2015
Excellent facility!! We already booked our next visit. Highly recommend this campground!
Jul 12, 2015
.
Jul 12, 2015
Our family had a wonderful time. We plan on going back in the fall. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2015
wonderful see you all next year
Jul 11, 2015
Portable restrooms got very full over the holiday. Sanitizer ran out very early and was not replaced in 4 days. Primary showers are awesome.
Jul 11, 2015
this is a very friendly KOA. It is our second year to stay here. 1 mile from the Smokies Park entrance but 30-40 mins from Gatlinburg. Townsend has a great BBQ place called Smoking Joes we found on this last trip.
Jul 11, 2015
I host a camp for children each year and this was my 2nd year using Townsend KOA. I had five children ranging in ages from 6-10 and this campground is perfect! The staff are wonderful and so helpful. CAMPGigi2015 was a huge success! Thank you KOA and North Cleveland Baptist Church for your backyard bible school.
Jul 10, 2015
Desperately need another bathhouse, closer to cabins. Two too close together. A bit pricey. Excellent cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Very much on top of things.
Jul 09, 2015
Great location! Fast and friendly check in. Extremely clean facilities. We lived our little cabin. Very clean and well appointed for a campground. We wished we could've stayed longer!
Jul 08, 2015
always a fun time. nice and clean. will be back
Jul 08, 2015
Always smiling faces, clean cabins, manicured grounds, and fun activities. Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
Will be back again!!
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome accommodations and very friendly staff. We are looking forward to our next camping trip.
Jul 07, 2015
Only complaint is the expense. For the price (160$), our family could have stayed at a much nicer place with more amenities. This KOA is a campground, not a resort.
Jul 07, 2015
The people and the location were great , however the deluxe cabin could use a better cleaning , the floors and mattresses were dirty and ants were a problem.
Jul 05, 2015
We look forward to our stay at this campground every year! BEAUTIFULLY maintained and in just the right location to access the Great Smokey Mountains. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly, highly recommend!
Jul 03, 2015
DC5 didn't have a burner on grill,family in DC6 let us use their burner when they wasn"t using.cabin is over priced with not having a cooktop of any kind
Jul 03, 2015
We had a great time!!! Thanks for the mirror in the cabin, and TV is helpful for those rainy nights!!
Jul 03, 2015
We loved the KOA first time ever staying in one ! Will go back,
Jul 02, 2015
Nowhere else as good to stay for the GSM experience!!! Wonderful staff, clean facilities, & natural beauty (yet close enough to the conveniences of restaurants & stores)! Love this place!!
Jul 02, 2015
Nice Kabin by the river but shower facilities were crowded and not very clean
Jul 02, 2015
KOA Townsend is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the Great Smoky Mountains. As usual everyone was nice and the campground was well maintained. The Camping Cabins beside the river are awesome. We stayed in one of the recently remodeled sites and were very pleased. We were also impressed with the church youth group that was offering activities for the kids. It was a great stay. Thanks KOA!
Jul 02, 2015
Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean.
Jul 01, 2015
My stay at the KOA was first class I will definitely be back again I would like to thank mark Chipperfield for the great job that he and his staff does.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, clean cabin, very close to National Park, kids loved the pool and easy access to river, have stayed here multiple times and will definitely stay again.A head's up, if you stay in Deluxe Cabins 1-6, some campers use these sites as a walking path to take a short cut to other sites, which can be frustrating sometimes.Overall, still a great stay!
Jun 29, 2015
Great KOA. We really enjoyed our weekend there.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.