Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 05, 2014
Wonderful!!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Beautiful campground! We had a blast while staying here....best place in town. The staff are the most caring and friendly people....amazing people!!
Jun 03, 2014
We were in a deluxe cabin. It was fully furnished all the way down to the soap and shampoo in the shower. Had brand new grills. Lots of improvements had been made since my last stay. I thought it could not get any better but you did a wonderful job at the pool,river,and play area!!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Pleasant stay. However, for a company owned KOA, doesn't seem to do anything to support kids care.
Jun 03, 2014
My wife and I both enjoyed our stay! The campground manager and his staff made our stay just great, after learning about us blowing a tire on our trip to the campground, the manager gave us a free night. This was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
We had an amazing time. It was relaxing and fun. We will be back.
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
This is the nicest KOA PERIOD! Located right next to the Little River, VERY CLEAN, nice pool, GREAT PLAYGROUND for the kids, activities and a mile from the Great Smokey Mountain National Park.
Jun 02, 2014
We just bought our camper and this was our first time out in it. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back.Very kid friendly.
Jun 02, 2014
the bathroom and showers were very clean and everyone was very friendly
Jun 02, 2014
The stay was wonderful. My only complaint would be the tent camp sites are VERY SMALL. You are right on top of other campers. Would like to have a little more space.
Jun 02, 2014
Even though my online registation did not show up the Ladies at the Townsend KOA foun a cabin for me and had me in it in a few minutes. It was new and clean. The place looked great! Will return as I have in the past!
Jun 01, 2014
Great stay the c.f. is very clean and staff is great
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Wonderful weekend getaway for the family! Will definitely visit again!
Jun 01, 2014
Loved it! Every staff member was outstanding! Bryan was always there and ready to provide to our every need! Outstanding camp ground, We will be back!!
Jun 01, 2014
We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin. It was very comfortable and clean. The unit was private and had a lovely stone outside patio with a high end grill and fire pit. The purpose of our trip was to watch wildlife in the Smokey Mountains. This park is closest to Cades Cove and is in a quiet area without the crowds of Gatlinburg. We will definitely be back. Great trip.
Jun 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time as usual. Always enjoy the great people that work and make the stay great. Thanks
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
We loved your campground. It was a beautiful, peaceful setting. We had a riversite and it was roomy. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would love to come back in the future and would definitely recommend it to others traveling to the area.
May 31, 2014
This was our 2nd time staying with KOA Townsend & we LOVE it there! The only complaint that we would ever have is having to walk to the bath house! Which is always super clean! Just wish there was one closer to the cabins. We love staying on the river & we love the dog park area. I suggested when we were checking out that you should get an Instagram acct! We love this Kampground & will be back!!!
May 30, 2014
Our family had a blast at KOA. The kids loved the pool, hayride, playground and outdoor movie. They also made new friends. Service was wonderful.
May 30, 2014
May 29, 2014
This is year 15 for me and the place is in very nice condition. I stay to the right side in the woods and I don't mind paying the price however the complaint I continue to hear from myself and my neighbors is no internet signal. With cable running to nearly every site I can't believe it is that diffuclut to put up a couple of antenna's on our side. Please Please do this for me.
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
Wonderful time. Great location and great staff. Enjoyed the day and evening camps for the kids.
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
great location, great staff, as always!
May 28, 2014
Wonderful campground great workers
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
We loved it! Very professional, personable, helpful staff . Clean facilities, lots to entertain our 7 kids!!! Our last night was very rudely interrupted by an obnoxious camper arriving at 10:30pm. The camper woke our sleeping 8 month old baby several times. The camper had zero respect for anyone else! Other than that our stay was great and we will be back!!! (The McGill's)
May 28, 2014
We realy enjoyed our stay in the wonderful Smokies Mts. the Park was wonderful, the River was clear and beautiful, definitely would stay again!!!
May 27, 2014
swimming pool should not close at 7:00 p.m. should be open later with adult swimming at least one hour.
May 27, 2014
Our families LOVE the Townsend KOA! With my two boys - now ages 14 and 12 - I have stayed here several times each year for the past 10 years!! Fellow campers say 'we have watched your kids grow up at this campground!' Great memories!!!
May 27, 2014
I am always well taken care of here! Like family.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Loved loved it everyone was super had a awesome stay with family and friends!
May 27, 2014
Jeremiah, Adam and everyone were awesome as usual.
May 27, 2014
We love, love, love the KOA Townsend. Clean. Family friendly. Well maintained. Great employees. Best KOA on the planet!!! Can not wait to go back!!!
May 25, 2014
The place was great. We enjoyed our stay there very much but wish we were still there. Office staff was friendli and very helpful. I caught a trout on my 3rd throw and no one else caugh a trout. The only draw back and It's minor Is thet the spaces are too close together. I am used to Natl or State campgrounds but they dont offer water, sewer or electric and we are at the age where we need these.
May 25, 2014
Thank you for making our camping trip great in every way! Staff is always so helpful! Sites on river are wonderful!
May 25, 2014
Our first experience in the Cabins, we enjoyed it very much, always enjoy the Townsend area and look forward to our next visit. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
May 24, 2014
Queen bed is not really a queen but needs to be. Mattress needs replacing, bed uncomfortable. Cabin could use a sink. Bunk bed mattresses too thin. Cabin was nice and provided the essentials but a few improvements would make them better. Great staff on site, clean area. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.