Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA and we had a great time. The sites were clean and the staff was friendly. The only suggestion I have is to improve the check-in process. We were not given a map, told anything about the facilities (such as trash pick-up or dumpster locations), or provided a list of rules.
Jun 09, 2015
love the upgrades!!!
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our4 days very much! Cleanliness, activities, friendliness of staff, showers, dog park, pool, and playground- all 5 stars! I think another restroom would be appreciated- as I do not care for using the porta-potties. But the bath house/restroom is really nice!
Jun 09, 2015
This is a very nice campground. Very pretty sites. Only downside for us is that campsites are a little too close to each other. Really like the ones with the patio, with the awesome firepit and table and chairs.
Jun 09, 2015
Everything was great, parking was tight and close together but overall we had a great time
Jun 08, 2015
Great campground. Very clean. The staff is very nice. All kinds of activities for the children. Nice drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Very close to the national park. Sites are decent on size. Very nicely landscaped. Grocery store and hardware store very close by. Fully stocked camp store with a lot of extra surprises. Gas station on site. Very well kept pool. Looking forward to going back.
Jun 08, 2015
This campground gets better and better! We stay here 3-4 times each year- we will definitely be back soon!
Jun 08, 2015
many thanks to a good weekend
Jun 08, 2015
I know it's not the fault of the KOA. It's just that time of year, but it is just too packed in where our campsite was. We were not there much to enjoy the campground, so it really did not matter, though.
Jun 08, 2015
We loved your KOA! Had a cabin on the river. Beautiful area. The campground was well maintained and the restrooms and showers were the nicest we have ever encountered. The staff was amazing. We hope to visit again soon. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!
Jun 08, 2015
We rented a two-BR cabin with our 3 girls (12,10&4). Our cabin was equipped with a mini fridge and an air conditioner. It was very clean. We had a great location right on the river. Would have liked to have had a bathroom in our cabin, but the walk to the bath house wasn't too bad. There were also 2 surprisingly clean porta-potties even closer by for desperate times! We plan to return.
Jun 08, 2015
We have stayed at this campground long before it was KOA. The quality and the improvements are stellar. There is no other place in the truly "quiet side of the Smoky's" to stay. The showers are completed redone; more campsites are full hook-ups. The owners are super friendly. If you truly want to experience the true Smoky Mountains, you owe it to yourself to experience the KOA in Townsend
Jun 08, 2015
My first stay at KOA and loved the hospitality and help provided by staff. Beautiful Campground!
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the stay. Campground was exceptional. Clean. Friendly. Great support from staff. Bathrooms and showers above expectation in order and cleanliness. Only negative was the movie Saturday night. It was loud and disturbing even at our camp site which was nearly on the other side of the campus. Can't imagine having camped right next to that area. Stop the movie. It's camping.
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great visit. No complaints!
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was very accommodating and courteous. The new sites are very nice with patios and furniture.
Jun 08, 2015
The campground itself was really nice. The bathrooms were VERY nice and clean and the staff was super friendly. The playground was a huge hit with our 6 year old. With all that said, the campsites are so close together that it wasn't really camping. The photos on the website made it look much more secluded than it really was. We were 10 feet from the next tent and the place was packed with trailer
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the new bathroom facility. Had an issue with a racoon that got into our food tote and chewed a hole in our lp gas line on our camp stove and grill.
Jun 08, 2015
I stayed this past weekend with my 22 year old son and 3 little 6 year old boys. All had an excellent time. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Fun was had for all.
Jun 08, 2015
Really great spot. Super clean.
Jun 07, 2015
Love this KOA. It is perfect for family vacations. I and my family will be returning as soon as possible. Great place and great staff!!! Thank You!!!
Jun 07, 2015
We stayed in a deuxe cabin. Everything was nicer than I expected.
Jun 07, 2015
We've camped in Townsend many times before and decided to try the KOA for the first time. It is now our absolute favorite place to stay. Thank you for making us feel welcome and comfortable.
Jun 07, 2015
This is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at! We are already planning a trip back in the fall. The staff was friendly and there were a lot of activities for the kids. We will be back!!!
Jun 06, 2015
The only problem i had with my stay was a mouse in my cabin. Other than that it was wonderful.
Jun 05, 2015
Campsites were very nice and clean and updated. All facilities and staff were top notch. Loved the activities at the pavilion. The staff were great and loved there Christian witness a+
Jun 05, 2015
We were so pleasantly surprised and pleased not only with the accommodations but the overall atmosphere was great.
Jun 05, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
Our stay was great. The park is clean and the staff is friendly and great too. Can't wait until next year!!!
Jun 04, 2015
Fabulous campground. We really enjoyed the family night activities by the group from CHARM. Conveniently located a short drive to Cade's Cove, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg. Great local restaurants and activities.
Jun 04, 2015
Possibly the best campground showers we've seen. The location of our tent site was great (right by the river) but the site was almost too long and narrow for our tent, and it was way too rocky. The cost for a tent site with no water or electric was a little high, but we still had a great stay. Very good campground overall, and we will be back again soon.
Jun 04, 2015
Great stay , very clean , well kept KOA. Will stay again
Jun 04, 2015
The new premium spot are absolutely beautiful. Love this campground.It is landscaped beautiful with lots of trees. The bath houses were always clean and very nice.
Jun 03, 2015
One of the highest compliments people can get is they are nice. The personnel at the Townsend KOA all were very nice. Thank You!
Jun 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in needed some repairs. Our accomodations were acceptable, but limited toilets were inconvenient.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean and very kid oriented! Love it! The movie was great!
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean cabin. Staff were all helpful and available. Will definitely be back.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much everyone was nice and courteous
Jun 02, 2015
The grounds are neat and clean, the staff is super friendly and willing to do anything u need-they even gave my battery a jump after I let it die. Great place for kids and pets!!
Jun 02, 2015
A wonderful family experience! Great amenities, fun activities and very friendly staff.
Jun 01, 2015
IT WAS A GREAT CAMPGROUND,CLEAN RESTROOMS AND BIG SITES.
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Great place. Friendly and helpful. Sites are roomy. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 01, 2015
I am so impressed with the hospitality and how they cater to kids. Hope to be back there soon!
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
As always, the staff was friendly and our cabin was clean/inviting. The grounds are always immaculate and family friendly. We will definitely stay with KOA/Townsend again!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.