Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: (800) 562-3428

Info: (865) 448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2013
Clean, peaceful and super friendly staff.
Sep 12, 2013
Beautiful area, super staff clean large cabin, can't say enough nice things about the place. Would definately stay again. Best one yet, and we hit the road again soon and will be using more KOA's.
Sep 11, 2013
Camping at the Townsend KOA has become a family tradition. We had another great visit this year! This year in addition to fishing, tubing, playing at the playground,swimming, biking and hiking our son's participated in Bingo and the movie night. So much fun! Great family time!
Sep 11, 2013
It was a great cabin. We will be staying in KOA next time we are in the area.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
We had a great time. The facility was very clean and offered lots of activities if you wanted to participate. Our only negatives would be that it was very busy around our campsite and some campers let their dogs wander.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Had a great stay during Labor Day week.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
We loved the staff and all the activities for the kids!, keep up the good work.
Sep 10, 2013
Your cabins are awesome and I thought they were brand new! Thank you for keeping them sooo clean and well maintained....I will be back!
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
The staff was excellent. Gave some great tips on places to see out there. Clean and neat. Would definitely stay here again.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Nice place and convenient to the Park. Lots of campers with fires so it stayed pretty smokey most of the time. Very well stocked camp store. Kid's playground looked really nice and was being used a lot.
Sep 09, 2013
The stay was nice. The only issue was the A/C stopped working and the only window I could open was broke. So it was a little warm in there. When I told the lady at the front desk, she appeared not to care., Other than that, great place and would stay again and will .
Sep 09, 2013
I was disappointed that the showers were just warm and not hot two days out of three. I was also disappointed that there was no hot water in the bathroom sinks. Other than that, we had a great stay.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
My family had a wonderful time, the kids activities were great. We really the playground, pool, and river. The campground was very well maintained and the employees very helpful and a delight to talk with. This is our favorite campground, thanks to KOA Townsend, TN staff!!
Sep 09, 2013
The campsite is very clean, up-to-date and well kept.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Had wonderful staff, great location, lots to do and our site(85) was very good! Love the new landscaping! We are already planning our next visit!
Sep 09, 2013
All around great camping.
Sep 09, 2013
Townsend KOA is a really great place. We have stayed there 3 or 4 times now. The area we were in is very close to adjacent sites. Nice pool, game area, store, excellent bath house, super staff. We enjoyed movie night Saturday evening. Had a water issue and they fixed it immediately! Had two new adult camper with us. I believe they are hooked. Had a blast...... again! Thank you!
Sep 09, 2013
Weliked it so much we rebooked another stay while there and friends who visited us booked a stay. The staff is great! Al was extremely helpful to me as we are new to camping and he escorted us to our site and went beyond expectations is assisting with setup. We loved it!
Sep 09, 2013
The staff was unbelievable nice and helpful
Sep 09, 2013
AWESOME! Great staff. Great area. Great Kampground! Will DEFINITELY be back!
Sep 09, 2013
Overall our stay was great, a little pricey for a tent site, but ok we made some new friends also oh the showers there was not hot water.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Excellent stay, friendly crew and fantastic setting....
Sep 07, 2013
We had a great time. Our site was roomy. We have one suggestion, a warning system for bad weather.
Sep 07, 2013
Nice facility especially with the restaurant and store close by. Very nice newer shower & washroom facility. We enjoyed the pool several times during our stay. The fire rings in some sites were in difficult locations for use and parking around.
Sep 06, 2013
Very clean, well-kept grounds. Efficient staff. Good family-fun planning. Thank you for a wonderful family get-together.
Sep 05, 2013
No indoor kitchen, and it rained every day. Slight inconvenience. The shower is tiny too. Everything around this site is breathtaking. Nice and quiet location with great neighbors. Would definitely stay here again.
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
We have been coming to that same campground for around 28 years for Labor Day.You have made several large improvements to the facilities that we really noticed.The sewer system was impressive and some of the other upgrades were also.Thank you for keeping the feeling of the old Little River.We love the family, out in the woods feeling we can get there. We'll be there next year, if not before.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
My family had such a fun relaxing time that I booked our next trip Two months from now from the comfort of my kampig kabin before we left.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
our family had a wonderful time, the KOA is wonderful.
Sep 03, 2013
We are usually state and county park campers. We have a 5th wheel. We could not find anything near Townsend TN that would fit that. So we stayed at the KOA there. It was a great experience and we would go back. A staffer guided me into our spot. The place was very clean and the staff very nice. Our spot was right on the river.
Sep 03, 2013
We were very disappointed with this campground. I stayed there many years ago as a child with my parents and loved it. I was looking toward to taking my children there. The campsites were extremely way to small. Campers were touching each other. I was in my bathroom and could here the people beside of us conversation. They could lean up against our camper while sitting on their picnic table.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great time thank you! The families around us were friendly, our site was beautiful. The service was great. Only draw back was that our wi fi connection never worked and the firewood from the camp store was wet or to green to burn. We loved our visit and will be back if we get the chance.
Sep 03, 2013
As always, stay was excellent. Facilities are clean, staff is friendly, plenty of activities for kids and adults alike.
Sep 03, 2013
Great customer service, friendly, good activities, and location for things to do. Some campsites very small and close to next camper. Bathrooms nice and clean but had to wait even for mens almost every time.
Sep 03, 2013
A great weekend as always at this KOA.
Sep 03, 2013
I believe this was the cleanest and best kept campground I have ever stayed in. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the price, its a little high but worth the extra money.
Sep 03, 2013
Pricy, pricy

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.