Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2015
This KOA was very clean and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Jun 21, 2015
Beautiful area.
Jun 21, 2015
I had a most excellent time. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were clean and well kept. The shower houses were updated and clean. With all of this the stay was quite pricey!
Jun 20, 2015
Stayed 5 nights in a camping cabin...same cabin 2 years in a row. My kids really enjoy the excellent pool and playground. The river adds to a really nice setting. Great access to the park.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
The KOA in Townsend, TN has always been our little piece of Heaven that gives us the escape to go to our "Home Away From Home". Now that our daughter has married and our family is growing and they stayed in a cabin on the river so the memories can continue to live on! Thanks for allowing us to have another great vacation with our family. As always, it was over way too fast! Until next time...€
Jun 19, 2015
as usual all the staff go above and beyond to help extremely friendly !
Jun 19, 2015
First rate campground and great staff. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jun 18, 2015
Awesome
Jun 18, 2015
The tent sites were just too close together. We booked for two nights and only stayed one night. There were little kids in the camp site next to us that were up talking all night and we couldn't get any sleep. We had a cabin 10 feet bhind us, a tent ten feet to our left and another tent 40 feet to our right. It didn't feel like real camping. The bathrooms were so far away so we had to use outhouse
Jun 17, 2015
This was a very family friendly campground. I felt safe letting my kids go to the playground alone. (We were just a short walk away) It was extremely clean and had very nice amenities. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 17, 2015
Our 2nd visit and the wife and I are very comfortable here. We love the area and the sites are nice, we will be back.
Jun 17, 2015
Staff is exceptional,helpful & friendly.Sites are prepared but narrow. Parking space very scare.
Jun 16, 2015
We were not given the site we had reserved last June 2014 adjacent to other family's site. We had 2 vehicles (1 with car seats for 2 grandbabies and 1 for elderly, disabled grandfather). We were threatened with eviction and that authorities would be called if 1 vehicle was not moved. We complied, but our camping experience was ruined by Mr Chipperfield. We will not be back and would not recommend.
Jun 16, 2015
Without a doubt this is my favorite camp ground. The staff if very friendly and easy to work with. The grounds are a 10+ and the updated facilities are as nice if not nicer than my own home. I truly love staying at this campground. They have upgraded many of the sites as well as made the riverside sites full hookup, Mark, you and your staff have knocked it out of the park! Thank you.
Jun 16, 2015
My family had a wonderful stay. Love this KOA-my favorite campground! Only thing I would change is to make wifi stronger near the river sites w/the balconies. (It's good to unplug for a week, but sometimes it's good to be able to connect on a rainy day). This wouldn't prevent me from staying again, but it would be a nice addition. Also, love the upgrades you made over the winter!
Jun 16, 2015
The setting,grounds and cabins were beautiful and the service was exceptional
Jun 16, 2015
We love this campground. Between my family, friends, and I- we rented 4 camper lots and one cabin this week. We also visited last year and intend to visit next year. We all feel, however, that the rates are over priced. Therefor, all amenities offered and advertised should be available, including wifi- which was not available at any of the 5 sites.
Jun 16, 2015
The campsites are too close together. Whene sitting outside at our table we were right at our neighbors sewage connection. We were at a preferred site to. We will request a different site if we return. They have redone a few sites in the middle that were nice. Everything else was ok. People were nice.
Jun 16, 2015
We have stayed here for 6years in a row. The bath house is always clean and that means a lot to us.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
the staff was very nice and helpfull.
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was good except wifi reception at the tent camping area was non-existent.
Jun 15, 2015
Great vacation. Very picturesque campground. Loved our cabin DC1, which was on the riverbank. The cabin and grounds were well maintained.
Jun 15, 2015
They need bathrooms and showers closer to the cabins.
Jun 15, 2015
We found the river front campsites too small, to close to the firepits making us very uncomfortable when someone had a fire. We moved to the lower level deluxe sites and found them more relaxing. Your staff were all very friendly and helpful whenever we needed something. The location was within a half hour drive to most points of interest. The Smokey Mts. was awesome with all the wildlife.
Jun 15, 2015
Wifi at spot 99 was poor at best. Disappointing! Are the bath fans in the showers supposed to work? Shower #1 was not. A bits of a steam shower. Sweat a bunch after your shower, not fun!
Jun 15, 2015
Everything was wonderful except the people who let their dog start barking both mornings around 8am and it continued without trying to stop it for half an hour. This isn't acceptable.
Jun 15, 2015
It was awesome. I had a very nice stay. The campground is very beautiful and the bathrooms were impressive. I took my dogs with and the leash-free area was very nice. Thank you.
Jun 15, 2015
Great place for our scattered families to meet. We love the improvements. This koa gets better every time we visit
Jun 15, 2015
Site was nice but had a tree in the middle so we could not open our awning. Also the wifi is very hard to connect not a good signal.
Jun 15, 2015
Enjoyed it as always! Clean cabin, Friendly people. Will return!
Jun 15, 2015
Staff was friendly. Liked that there was a big campstore. Enjoyed movie night. Thanks for a enjoyable family vacation
Jun 15, 2015
Great sites and very helpful staff
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
The grounds were located in an awesome spot and were top notch. The staff were incredible. Great family spot!
Jun 15, 2015
We have been staying here for years & now starting a new generation with our grandkids. Mark & staff-Thanks for always making us feel welcome. mike & Dana Jones
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great staff and atmosphere
Jun 15, 2015
Clean! A lot of activities and extremely friendly staff! We will be back soon!
Jun 15, 2015
clean well managed campground, pretty tightly packed but otherwise great
Jun 14, 2015
We had a great stay in the camping cabins on the river. Great location just outside the entrance to GSM National Park!
Jun 14, 2015
No trees fell on us this year so it was a great year.
Jun 14, 2015
It was wonderful!
Jun 14, 2015
Everything went well until the last night. From 10 pm to 1 am there was children riding bicycles screaming cuss words and being obnoxious. Hard to sleep when children and their parents are screaming and lighting firecrackers. This only started happening on a Friday night. The rest of our stay was fairly uneventful except for one child riding through our campsite midday.
Jun 14, 2015
Awesome campground. Very family friendly. Great staff. Clean, neat, great pool, nice sites. All the Staff was helpful and didn't meet one that wasn't friendly. We will come again
Jun 14, 2015
Brought our 5 year old grand daughter for a visit to the GSM and wanted her to stay where we stayed when her dad was a kid, we loved it back then, and we still do. It was definitely two thumbs up for her and of course the playground was her favorite.
Jun 13, 2015
We stayed in a DC cabins. We really liked cabin...a bit small for 4 adults. Seemed clean, but cabin needed instructions about what to do with dirty towels, trash, paper products. We had to ask each detail...needs to be provided to renters. Unable to complete showers due to hot water running out. The porch was fabulous and the location to the river. Wood provided on porch was a nice touch.
Jun 13, 2015
Great stay. The campground is nice, clean, and the employees are very friendly. My only complaint was that a large raccoon got into/tried to get into our food several nights.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.