Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2016
Staff is superb (especially Debbie😀). Facility is xtremely clean and well maintained.
Sep 06, 2016
Overall a nice KOA with friendly staff but needs improvement for tent campers! There are no restroom/shower facilities near the tent sites (there are porta potties), and these facilities are not up to par. Also, while the RV sites are very nice and well maintained, the tent sites not so much!
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome staff. My kids especially love Adam. Can't wait for our next visit.
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome place, we will return!!!😊
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great stay in Townsend! This was the first time we've stayed at a KOA, but it will not be the last! We knew it was different from the moment we drove into the grounds. Smiling welcome, guidance into our site, asking regularly... How are things going and do we need anything? Thank you
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 03, 2016
Beautiful and well maintained campground. We don't stay at KOA'S often but by far this has been the nicest. The river an added bonus. Keep up the good work!
Sep 01, 2016
Best campground in the Smokies. We have been coming here for 30 years. We love being on the peaceful side of the Smokies with out all the commercialism. Also, you are right near Cade's Cove and you can be in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg in about 25 minutes.
Sep 01, 2016
Very Clean Facilities. In particular Marshall was very helpful and made our stay great.
Aug 30, 2016
We totally enjoyed our 10 days. The staff was attentive to everything. If you purchased firewood or ice, etc..they were eager to deliver. We stayed on site 61. The river was refreshing and the pool, restrooms, showers and grounds were spotless. We were very pleased.
Aug 30, 2016
Great location plus a wonderful and helpful staff makes this KOA an excellent getaway-thanks!
Aug 30, 2016
Wonderful time, awesome staff.
Aug 29, 2016
Every person in a yellow shirt were Wonderfull to deal. They couldn't be more helpful. You provided a wide range of activities, and your amenities were terrific. We will come back in the future. Thanks for hosting us! Kenn & Pat Farrell
Aug 29, 2016
We enjoy our stay every time we come. This is one on my favorite campgrounds!!! I tell everybody about it but wait maybe I shouldn't but I have to!!! It is the most expensive campground we stay in though.
Aug 29, 2016
I have stayed at this KOA many times and will continue to come back and to recommend it to friends and family. Always clean, always friendly staff and always a beautiful, peaceful place to camp.
Aug 29, 2016
This campground is The Best of The Best!
Aug 29, 2016
This campground was AMAZING!!! Everything was perfect. We forgot our hammer and staff quickly brought us one to use and even offered to help set up our tent. Staff made every effort to ensure all of our needs were met and even anticipated our needs. Staff offered to deliver firewood and ice at anytime. My favorite...the showers!! Nice and clean tiled showers. No mold ANYWHERE!!!
Aug 29, 2016
Nice place..well maintained.. sites are very close together.. roads are confusing, pulled into some tent lots by accident thinking they were the road. Overall a great stay.
Aug 28, 2016
Amazing location and clean camp site with great views.
Aug 27, 2016
Beautiful clean campground. We stayed in tent site 124, which was next to the river. My 9 yr old daughter loved the river so much that she played in it for hours. Bathrooms were super clean and staff was very friendly.
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
not so good this time, there were bed bugs in our cabin on the river that we paid over $200 a night.
Aug 24, 2016
This campground is beautiful, on the river and well maintained. However, their rate per night is higher than any campground in the area which is fine except on top of that they have other fees you have to pay. A per person fee and if you have more than one vehicle a few for that too. Just be prepared for that but very nice campground.
Aug 24, 2016
Great place to stay, convenient to Cade's Cove and Dollywood. Nice stream for kids and pets.
Aug 23, 2016
We love coming there, and do it very frequently.
Aug 23, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
four of our youth got bed-bug bites. Cabin 12. if not for this would rate higer.
Aug 22, 2016
This past week was one of the best vacations we have ever had. Everybody there is extremely helpful especially Adam, Jimmy, and Jimmy's wife. We always looked for Adam when we needed anything done.
Aug 22, 2016
The staff Mike and Adam were very nice to us! Thank you for a great stay!
Aug 22, 2016
Great campground. I have been coming for many years and will continue to come. The staff is beyond superb!
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Great campground but more expensive than camping at the beach.
Aug 22, 2016
We had three of our grandsons, ages 3, 4 and 5. There was plenty of things for all us to do, swimming, playing at the river, playground, hayride, tye dying " T " shirts. We had a blast!
Aug 22, 2016
Nice time on the river. I do think the tubers should not be directed to cut through occupied campsites to access the river.
Aug 21, 2016
wonderful campground, wonderful people, beautiful riverside location. only disappointment is very poor internet connection and very spotty cell coverage.
Aug 19, 2016
Another enjoyable stay. Three more scheduled for this year !
Aug 19, 2016
This campground is amazing!!! By far the best campground we've ever been to!!!
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
They could not do enough for us. Be going back next year with some friends.
Aug 18, 2016
Great location on the water.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
This is our favorite campground! We stay here at least a couple of times a year and always have a great time. In fact, it has us so spoiled that we have a hard time going anyplace else. We always seem to end up back at the Townsend KOA.My only complaint with this stay was that the grass was in desperate need of being mowed, which made it a little difficult to walk my little dog.5 stars otherwise
Aug 16, 2016
The only complaint I have about this campground is that the restrooms are so hot!! There is no air circulation!! I understand if there is no air conditioning but when it's 90 degrees outside, no one wants to sweat inside while using the toilet in 90 degrees either.
Aug 16, 2016
Love this place, shady, well maintained and best of all we love the tubing right on premises. They also have a very nice pool and clean bathhouses.
Aug 16, 2016
As always, we had a terrific stay. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. We love this campground and plan to keep coming here.
Aug 15, 2016
I have stayed at this KOA several times since this spring. The staff has gone from great to poor. The price now outweighs the service. In the future I will stay at one of the many comparable campgrounds in the Smokies for half the price that are individually/family owned. Those actually want my business and are happy to see me all season.
Aug 15, 2016
Ms. Daisy is the greatest👍
Aug 15, 2016
Great stay. Mike and his wife went out of their way to help when we had a problem with our 5th wheel
Aug 15, 2016
Great campgrounds!! We have stayed at many KOA's and they are all good, but this is the best one we have stayed at. Great views, great service. Everyone went out of their way to help out. Very friendly as well.
Aug 15, 2016
Absolutely the best!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award