Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 15, 2015
few suggestions: 1. shelving and towel/clothing hooks in showers over seating. No where to put stuff to keep dry other than seat. 2. shelving on shower side for soap, etc (so not on floor) 3. different paper towel dispensers in restrooms. always jammed constantly had to fix the entire 4 days I was there. 4. port a potty way too full 5. need restrooms on tent camping side--RVs don't need the
Apr 15, 2015
The tent site on the river was awesome. Saw a bald eagle, river otters, geese and other of God's creation's.
Apr 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time the staff wasso friendly and helpful it was a truly great weekend
Apr 15, 2015
We loved it! The campgrounds were clean and we had an awesome tent sight. You can't beat sleeping with the sound of the river in the background.
Apr 15, 2015
Was my first camping experience, tho we did stay in a cabin, it was absolutely wonderful, relaxing and great to be able to have our puppies with us. The staff was was fantastic and so friendly...already booked for another stay.
Apr 14, 2015
Canada to Townsend Koa. 800 miles to get there,8 days there,800 miles back at 11.5 mpgs!!Townsend Koa is PRICELESS! Great campground,river,sites,area! Mark, Clint and all my office girls were amazing! BTW I miss u Daisy! Thank You. Metz Family!
Apr 14, 2015
We always in joy our stay! We really wish you had a heated pool!! Or Enclosed heated pool!! And maybe bikes to rent!! Thanks
Apr 14, 2015
The campground is extremely well taken care of and the staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back!
Apr 14, 2015
Like all KOA's I have camped at, a great place where your rv loves to stay and you will too. We love the quiet side of the mountain!
Apr 14, 2015
We love the Great Smoky Mountains. And We love to stay at the Townsend KOA it is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. Everything is beautifully landscaped and the Cabins are very nice and clean. The cabins even include a gas grill with a very nice sitting area outside. We will definitely return! Thanks KOA!
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
Friendly,clean and relaxing. Great trip.
Apr 14, 2015
First time on a KOA campground. Loved our stay in the deluxe cabin. Never staying in a hotel again.
Apr 13, 2015
Enjoyed out stay but the only compliant is other guests that do not pay for river sites, seem to think its ok to cut through our river site that we paid for and hang out at it. There is a public access...it needs to be noted & very clear to other campers.
Apr 12, 2015
This is the most wonderful KOA. Our family loves to stay here because it is safe and the employees and owners are friendly, helpful, and a joy to be around. The new remodeling has really made this top notch KOA even better.
Apr 12, 2015
We enjoyed the campground. It was clean, well maintained and employees were helpful.
Apr 12, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We have stayed at many KOAs all over the USA, and find this one to be one of the cleanest and nicest of all. It is ever improving.
Apr 11, 2015
Once again our family had a great time at the Townsend KOA. Cabins we're comfortable and kids loved the fishing. We will be back again. The Deichelbohrer's
Apr 11, 2015
really nice helpful folks; great place to stay
Apr 10, 2015
Love all the new improvements. Staff excellent. Quiet.
Apr 10, 2015
Apr 10, 2015
Staff was great and super friendly. Kids had a great time. Huge plus for clean nice bathrooms and showers!
Apr 10, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins, very clean and just right for us, it was less staying here than in a hotel. Plus it was quite. The river is so relaxing to hear and see, next time we will bring our camper, if we can get a spot. It was pretty here, we looked at some campgrounds from the road and didn't look twice.
Apr 10, 2015
Great customer service from the minute we made our reservation with Marilyn! The deluxe cabin was very clean, and looked brand new. Beautiful! We stayed in cabin (#9), which is really close to the main road; the noise was a bit much for the mt. getaway we hoped for. We wanted a riverfront cabin, but they were all booked. The river front cabins had an ahhh-mazing view. Would def. stay here again!
Apr 09, 2015
Beautiful campground and extremely clean! The restrooms and showers were way better than I expected. Staff was friendly and the kids lo ed the playground, basketball goal and arcade. Will definitely be back. Thanks!
Apr 09, 2015
The campground is beautiful and wonderful if you don't need to do any work. I am a student and had some things I needed Internet for and the Internet was very unreliable. There was no TV either. We were Informed about this but were told there would be reliable internet. I love the campground but will not be able to come on a regular basis (we camp about every other weekend) unfirtunately.
Apr 09, 2015
Apr 09, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean and beautiful kampground. Appreciated the brand new showers!
Apr 09, 2015
Only a couple of complaints about the cabin we stayed in: the shower did not drain good at all and the TV is on wrong side of room, you cannot lay in bed and watch TV at all. Would be nice if it was moved to other wall so it could be watched in bed.
Apr 08, 2015
Love the area but the prices for this place especially during summer is ridiculous these sites are very narrow hardly any room between you and your neighbor.
Apr 08, 2015
Great cabins, great service, beautiful setting. Loved it!
Apr 07, 2015
Awesome
Apr 07, 2015
The campground is beautiful and the staff is great.
Apr 07, 2015
Absolutely fabulous! Loved it!
Apr 07, 2015
My granddaughter and I love staying up there! This has been my choice for camping for over 15 years. Very friendly and helpful management and ground crew are the best!
Apr 07, 2015
Our family has been coming to the campground every year for 5 years. It is not too big, not too small, and in a beautiful spot next to the Smokies alongside a mountain river. We've stayed in the cabins off river, on river, and the deluxe cabins. We just came back from Easter egg hunting there. We love to ride over to Cades Cove, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It's the best!
Apr 06, 2015
We loved the KOA in Townsend! Can't wait to return!!
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice campground. Well Kept. Dissappointed the cable was out and the central bath house was not open due to remodeling.
Apr 06, 2015
Great as always even though cable TV service was not available during our stay. We have been camping here multiple times a year for over 25 years and plan to continue to do so for many more years to come.
Apr 06, 2015
We had a wonderful Easter weekend and the egg hunt for the kids was great. The Easter bunny was an excellent addition to the whole weekend
Apr 06, 2015
It's a very nice campground! I have been going here since I was a child and now my husband and I go. The only negative for this particular stay was the water in the shower was cold. It was freezing outside and then the water in the shower was cold. I don't know what was wrong but that wasn't fun.
Apr 06, 2015
very nice place and very professionally run. We will definitely be back!
Apr 06, 2015
The best campground in the Townsend by area by far. Many new upgrades and an always extremely clean facility. Bathrooms are always squeaky clean. Price is a premium, but the value is there, and that makes it worth it for my family and i. I would recommend it to anyone. Last but not least, the staff is one of a kind awesome, and today that is the difference maker in any business.
Apr 05, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Great weather and very pet friendly. We will be back soon!
Apr 05, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and one employee even dug into storage to get some water shoes for my boys (it was suddenly warm over spring break), which we REALLY needed to buy. Thanks KOA, we will be back!
Apr 03, 2015
All in all great KOA. Improvements are being made (new landscaping & updated bathhouse) Only issues were 1) we called 2 weeks out to adjust stay and were told there were no spots available to arrive early while our whole stay there were spots available 2)we were placed next to the bathhouse that was under renovation. While work didn't start till 8:30 the constant noise of work/radio was offputting
Apr 03, 2015
By far the best campground! Have stayed numerous times throughout the years and it is always very clean and well kept. :))
Apr 03, 2015
Awesome KOA, we stayed in a site right in the river and my kids loved that. There isn't a bad site here. They were redoing bathrooms and showers so the only ones where a little father than I liked but once the other one is done it will be fine. Great playground too!!
Apr 03, 2015
Good stay, just they were working on the main bathrooms

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.