Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
I suggest you print your maps from MapQuest. Camp maps from and to various sites are very poor.
Sep 17, 2014
Great place, grandchildren love it, we rented a studio cabin, and were very disappointed that our air conditioner did not work, and the ceiling fan worked very poorly. We ended up buying a small table fan to set beside the bed. We did report the issue but the maintenance department could not get it to cool. Will stay again but must have air conditioning.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
DC10 was a great cabin. The facilities are always great. Staff is nice and helpful.
Sep 16, 2014
the cabin was very clean and the people were very friendly and helpfull.
Sep 16, 2014
What makes this campground the BEST campground besides being very clean is the Staff, they all are awesome and very friendly
Sep 16, 2014
Family friendly, clean, lots to do. Friendly staff. Jordan was very helpful when backing into site and also very energetic on hayride. Only drawback is the cost of the sites.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Everything was great, staff so helpful and friendly, like they enjoy their jobs, we needed help getting water unhooked and they were right there to help.
Sep 16, 2014
Very clean and safe Thank you KOA
Sep 16, 2014
my sister and her family was there also we had a great time just sitting around the campfire and just being lazy
Sep 15, 2014
Clean facilities and friendly staff! Most impressed!
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great time and the grandkids love it.
Sep 15, 2014
once again a great time was had by my family.
Sep 15, 2014
The staff was extra ordinary and we really liked the location. A few too many kids, but it was the weekend involved. Old people you know!
Sep 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time as always...We have stayed in several KOA Kampgrounds, but Townsend is the best one so far..Had a blast playing BINGO..Thanks
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Kids loved it! Beautiful campground with the river! Great location, very nice staff :)
Sep 12, 2014
Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour en cabine au Koa de Townsend! Très propre et bel accueil. Prêt du parc et des services d'épicerie et autres. La réception du wifi serait grandement à améliorer toutefois.
Sep 12, 2014
The cabin was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Great Smokies.
Sep 12, 2014
When we pulled in, my road-weary spirits lifted. Our full hookup die was right on the Little River, with a wooden deck overlooking it! The river was making soothing sounds, and we immediately booked two more nights. Aaaahhhh.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
My tent site was soggy and muddy. The 'drive' thru the camp is not clearly marked. I almost drove into a lot while I was leaving. Otherwise, it is a nice site.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
WE always enjoy each visit to your KOA. There are no surprises!! We know your staff will always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We have visited other campgrounds in the area, but ALWAYS come back to KAO. You provide great activities for our grand kids. WE appreciate the smiling faces of all the staff. We love KOA!!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. THANK YOU!
Sep 09, 2014
The cabin next to mine had Bed Bugs. I saw them and are very familiar with them. There were hundreds of them. The did refund the money to the couple and the family but tried to blame it on them bringing them to the cabin. They were not brought to the cabin. There were hundreds of them. This happens but could have been handled better.
Sep 09, 2014
This was the 5th time we have stayed here. We always come back because the park is clean, staff very friendly, & there is so much to do in the park!
Sep 08, 2014
The most wonderful place to stay.......
Sep 08, 2014
We were in cabin 11, our friends in cabin #12 woke up covered in "textbook" bedbugs. The cabin is infested-coming out of the walls, bedding and wood furniture in the dark. Mgmt. refused to do anything but refund their $ and act as if it was no big deal, leaving us wondering who they will put in the cabin next. We know the cabin was full last weekend, Labor Day. There HAD to be previous complaints.
Sep 08, 2014
Great hosts and service staff. Extremely clean facilities.
Sep 08, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was clean and well maintained. We loved everything about our trip and plan on returning as soon as we can. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Sep 08, 2014
We stayed at this campground when it was Little River Village. This time our grandchildren came with us for their first camping experience. It was great!
Sep 08, 2014
Nice location. Clean facilities. Employees were very helpful and kind. I will stay there again.
Sep 08, 2014
Would suggest taking an eggcrete for the beds. Could use small night table and chair in cabins. Enjoyed our stay, staff was very friendly, facilities were clean and handy.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
we LOVED our first stay in this campground! Loved our site (116) we will be back! staff was super helpful and very nice!
Sep 07, 2014
unfriendly employees,not enough stuff going on
Sep 06, 2014
The staff at the Townsend KOA were very responsive to an emergency situation with one of their campers. Thanks for a great staff!!!!
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was perfect for us! We enjoyed the pool, the playground & also the dog run! The water was just a short walk away and my children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed playing in the water and on the banks! We loved the grill and patio area at our cabin- an unexpected treat! Staff were very helpful and obviously were there to serve the customers. We will definitely be returning!!
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
As always it was a great stay!
Sep 03, 2014
Great looking forward to staying there again
Sep 03, 2014
This might the best campground of its type in the country. Clean and well maintained, with a friendly and genuinely concerned staff (and plenty of staff). We've come back, and will return again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.