Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2016
Nice campground. Clean restrooms. Very high priced.
Sep 19, 2016
Upon arrival a gentleman in a golf cart came to our site and helped us back in. He even offer to bring us firewood! We enjoyed the beautiful scenery. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The front desk staff was very helpful and cheerful. We always stay here when in Townsend because we know the quality and care we will receive each and every time.
Sep 19, 2016
Neighbors had tv on and loud until 5am! Other than that, the weekend was awesome! I Love KOA! Please please put up a light at the basketball court!!
Sep 19, 2016
Nice cabin but needed more cleaning. Dusty in bedroom. Air conditioner in bedroom moldy. dead ants found on floors everyday and some spiders. still suggesting more lighting in areas of cabins and tenting. very dark walk at night. bathroom needed in back of campground not porta potties. air condition restrooms please. favorite campground on peaceful side of the smokies.
Sep 19, 2016
We loved camping in the woods under shade trees, next to a creek. The location is .2 miles from the west entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National park and the closest entrance to Cades Cove. The weekend proved to be very pleasant and relaxing. My wife stated it was the break she needed from our daily routine.
Sep 19, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
Fun family weekend! We'll be back!
Sep 19, 2016
The staff was super friendly!
Sep 18, 2016
We may have had the only pull through spot(thank you) Many lots had brick patios, table and chair sets and real brick fire pits. Very clean all over and so many lots butted up on the river. It was just a few miles from the great smokey mountain national park! Great park.
Sep 18, 2016
Excellent campground and friendly service! Loved our site! One suggestion..please put a light at the basketball court! Thanks!
Sep 18, 2016
Noisy neighbors until 5am in the morning! But campground is excellent! Please put up a light at the basketball goal so the kids can play until 9 or 10pm. Thanks!
Sep 17, 2016
Wonderful, clean,gorgeous campground!!! The hosts and all the employees were so friendly and helpful. Our site was a little small but we were right on the river and have no complaints. We hope to return. Thank you for helping make our vacation so pleasant.
Sep 17, 2016
This KOA campground is the most beautiful one I have been to so far in our travels! Staff was very helpful also. Thanks Greg & Sharon
Sep 16, 2016
first rate everything ,just a little too many campers for our taste
Sep 16, 2016
Amazing campground and beautiful scenery. The personnel were so helpful and friendly!! Definitely will be back!😊
Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful setting. Very clean facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Will be staying there again!
Sep 15, 2016
Cabin was nice and clean. KOA personal very friendly. Looking forward to staying here again next year.
Sep 15, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff, and a beautiful setting, make this campground a place to come back to often.
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
very accessible, very clean, very friendly. wish we could have stayed longer. would highly recommend, thank you KOA ♡
Sep 14, 2016
We had a good time. Enjoyed the pool. Would've rather stayed along the river in the forested area. The store/arcade is very dated.
Sep 14, 2016
This was the first time I've ever stayed at KOA. my cabin was so cute. Camp was pet friendly so I was able to bring my dog to travel with me. I love the camping environment, and, the river was beautiful. I forgot to make my tie dye KOA shirt, so next time I'll have to make 2.I will be staying there again. And I've told everyone I know. Thank you
Sep 14, 2016
Best campground we have ever stayed at. Loved being close to Cades Cove and the Park. The staff helping us place the camper on the site was very nice. Enjoyed the riverside site, and our dog was able to swim too. Very enjoyable stay.
Sep 13, 2016
always great staff and good atmosphere really love this place
Sep 13, 2016
Perfect location for what we wanted to experience in the Smokies. Comfortable, clean accommodations, super friendly staff, and gorgeous grounds. The kids LOVED every moment.
Sep 13, 2016
Very nice, clean, and friendly campground! Staff was extremely friendly!! Bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean and updated! Will definitely be back!!!
Sep 13, 2016
Great site, great people. What more could one ask for.
Sep 13, 2016
Loved our cabin on the river! Long walk to the bathhouse was no big deal thanks to VERY CLEAN porta-johns (and not smelly!!) great trip!
Sep 13, 2016
Great stay, best maintained and friendly helpful staff.
Sep 12, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed it!
Sep 12, 2016
Deluxe cabin was very clean, cozy and the amenities were very nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Wifi in cabin was very spotty so we had no service several times. Mattress on bed was very uncomfortable. Nevertheless, we will recommend as service, cleanliness and affordability were great!
Sep 12, 2016
We had a wonderful and relaxing week-end. The children had so much fun. Will plan soon to go back. Very friendly and nice Employee's
Sep 12, 2016
It is a beautiful campground but I feel the spaces are a little too close together.
Sep 11, 2016
A little expensive compared to other KOA,s but very well run.
Sep 10, 2016
Always a good time at the KOA can't wait to come back next year thanks 😊
Sep 09, 2016
Nice campground! Will be back!
Sep 09, 2016
The staff is wonderful there as always. My only complaint is that when it was privately owned, the cabins were more affordable. The prices seem to have increased up to 40%.
Sep 08, 2016
Signage could be a little better, but otherwise, loved our stay. Showers/bathrooms were clean, loved that it was dog-friendly.
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is superior!
Sep 07, 2016
Good place. Need to trim trees of dead wood and low branches. Fertilize and reseed grass between sites. Add gravel to graveled areas.
Sep 07, 2016
Beautiful campground, friendly staff. Cabin right on the river! Loved the playground, pool and we'll stocked store! Will be back
Sep 07, 2016
Sites very close together. Should not allow people to burn plastics in fire pits. Playground for kids is terrific!! Very convenient to GSMNP!! Well Equipped store.
Sep 07, 2016
My only complaint is there is not a kitchen sink which makes it hard to wash dishes. And I went to the front desk to ask for a extra garage bag and the woman at the front said "well I suggest you walk to the store next door, they sell them there." But there was a man that worked there that said oh I have plenty I'll give you one. For the price I paid to stay there I did not appreciate that.
Sep 07, 2016
We love this KOA! The only change we would enjoy is a better mattress in the particular cabin we stayed in - have stayed in other cabins and the mattress was fine but this one was in need of replacement.
Sep 07, 2016
Campgrounds were very clean and well kept. Friendly staff and lots of amenities.
Sep 06, 2016
We've come here for over a decade & it remains our favorite campground. This weekend, I discovered a flat on the trailer when preparing to depart. The staff were wonderful to help fix it. Staff are great. The manager Mark is great. Best river sites in Townsend. Always clean grounds and restrooms. After 2 months in the Western U.S. this summer, this KOA tops them all with its beauty and staff.
Sep 06, 2016
Great staff however the cost has gotten to high!
Sep 06, 2016
It was a nice stay. A busy weekend in the campground. Nice facilities. Thought it was a little pricey for a tent site though.
Sep 06, 2016
Staff is superb (especially Debbie😀). Facility is xtremely clean and well maintained.
Sep 06, 2016
Overall a nice KOA with friendly staff but needs improvement for tent campers! There are no restroom/shower facilities near the tent sites (there are porta potties), and these facilities are not up to par. Also, while the RV sites are very nice and well maintained, the tent sites not so much!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award