Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 07, 2016
Love it here!
Nov 07, 2016
Stayed in a delux cabin.Loved the cabin and the campground staff are always great there.
Nov 07, 2016
Nov 04, 2016
It was so peaceful we were right on the water. The staff kept it very clean, lots of leaves to blow in Oct-Nov. Can't wait to come back. Right by Cades Cove & that loop road,beautiful!!!
Nov 03, 2016
Perfect! Internet slow but very nice place.
Nov 02, 2016
My very first stay at a KOA and it was wonderful! The staff was awesome and the Halloween event was spectacular!
Nov 02, 2016
Love it!
Nov 02, 2016
Very pleased with campground well updated clean showers enjoyed the river very close to Cade's cove we will camp there again well satisfied with the sizes of camping sites all around satisfied 100 percent
Nov 02, 2016
We stayed on Halloween weekend and enjoyed giving out candy to the trick-or-treaters, our teenagers enjoyed the scary hay ride. The showers are roomy and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff escorted us to our site and helped us back in. It's a great family campground ! It's close to Cades Cove and a short drive to Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge.
Nov 01, 2016
always great great people
Nov 01, 2016
Clean facilities, friendly staff, excellent location. Couldn't ask for more!
Nov 01, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
We really enjoyed staying in the cabins and was able to participate in trick or treating. It is very family oriented and all the ladies at the front desk were very friendly. The only complaint we had was the full size bed in the cabins. Mattress defiantly needs an upgrade, other than that it was a very nice stay. We will be back and thank you for your great Smokey Mountain Hospitality :)
Oct 31, 2016
Great campground! Just booked our trip for next year.
Oct 31, 2016
Great Staff!!!
Oct 31, 2016
We love this campground. The Halloween activities were great fun for our kids!
Oct 31, 2016
We stay here often, and will again. Clean facility and pleasant staff. Extremely crowded this stay, so we were in a very tight, noisy space. If wifi is important to you, ask for space near the front, as it is non-existant elsewhere.
Oct 31, 2016
Great cabin location by the river. The staff was very friendly. Overall, it was a wonderful fall setting. We will be back soon!
Oct 31, 2016
Loved it!!!!! Made reservations for 2 times in Sept and 2 times in May!!!!
Oct 31, 2016
Oct 31, 2016
The facilities are great, however I stayed over Halloween weekend, and they decked the entire campground in scary decor and had people with chainsaws chasing children down to scare them. They gave no foresight this would happen during booking. Completely inappropriate. I will never bring my child to this place. Displayed a serious lack of consideration for those with small children. ZERO stars.
Oct 31, 2016
It was very nice and clean but overpriced otherwise I would have given 5 stars. 57.00 is to high for tent camping without Electric to charge your devices.
Oct 30, 2016
WF Internet to slow.
Oct 30, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay! The grounds are well maintained. The showers and restrooms nice. Great place for leisure and fun!
Oct 30, 2016
We love Townsend ,Tn KOAN WE HAVE DECIDED TO EXTEND OUR STAY NEXT YEAR.CLEAN,FRIENDLY, QUIET, WELL KEPT UP. THIS IS OUR 4TH STAY .
Oct 30, 2016
Great staff very helpful.
Oct 30, 2016
Overly aggressive older guys in golf carts fussing at my grown children about parking even though I paid EXTRA for parking one additional car in site. Stayed here for YEARS before KOA. Little River Campground which had property before knew how to take care of guest. Now aggressive retirees!!
Oct 30, 2016
Oct 29, 2016
This was our first RV trip ever. Bought a 42" Class A. Wewere a little scared when we left home but KOA staff at Smokie Mts. made us expert campers in four days. This place is great and we feel like family after our first stay anywhere. If all KOA's are like this we are going to love the KOA camping world.
Oct 29, 2016
I stayed 5 nights. My site was on the river. The showers and restrooms were clean. The campground was very litter free. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be the price but this is peak season in the Smoky Mountains.
Oct 29, 2016
We truly enjoyed our stay. Women in office and men who worked out on the golf carts could not have been nicer.
Oct 29, 2016
peaceful and quiet
Oct 28, 2016
Beautiful, well maintained, and helpful friendly staff. Not the first or last time visit.
Oct 28, 2016
Deluxe Kabin needs more clothes hooks. WiFi is very spotty. Keeps dropping in and out. Unreliable. Otherwise, Kabin is very nice and comfortable.
Oct 28, 2016
Friendly staff. Delux Cabins and grounds are clean & very well maintained. Shower is small but excellent. Nice comfy bed. Loft ceilings are only about 3 to 4 feet high. Way over priced! SHOULD be 120.00 max for 2 people. I would not tent camp here for 48.00 a night, sites are small and no privacy. If you have kids you may appreciate the pool. Cable and wifi worked fine. More space less $$ gets 5&
Oct 27, 2016
Mattress needs an upgrade
Oct 27, 2016
Great stay, staff helpful and friendly
Oct 27, 2016
We love this campground so much we plan 2 long stays a year. The staff is second to none and Adam is the best.
Oct 26, 2016
It's the 2nd year in a row that we have stayed here in October. We book again for next October before we left. It's such a friendly, clean place to stay and it's so close to the cove. It's away from the tourist area for peace and quiet but close enough to check the tourist area out. I can't say enough on how friendly and extremely helpful the staff is at this KOA.
Oct 26, 2016
Oct 26, 2016
Excellent Campground, no issues, the shower facilitates are great. Toilets can get crowed at times.
Oct 26, 2016
The staff was friendly and very helpful. Will definitely come back again.
Oct 26, 2016
My husband and I have been coming to this campground for 25 years and still love it. We came from Florida for a long weekend so we stayed in one of the cabins (instead of bringing our motorhome) which was perfect. We love the patios with the fire rings. Thanks Mark Chipperfield for hooking us up. Chuck and Mary Harmon
Oct 25, 2016
The site has a great " feel" and was very enjoyable . Next year we'll plan the stay in the new side ... Loved the deck/ fire pit set up . Only issue was when friends joined us ( 1 car 2-4 adults) , the staff GRILLED them .. Who , where to park, etc... I realize it's crowded , but it's a family type site , but that was very confusing vs the other good points .
Oct 25, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Oct 24, 2016
We had a great stay as usual!! We have been coming for 18-19 years.
Oct 24, 2016
Great Campground. Very clean.
Oct 24, 2016
The staff went out of their way to help us. Every thing was neat, clean and working.
Oct 24, 2016
Really enjoyed how the staff takes great pride in keeping the campground looking good and keeping the guests happy!
Oct 24, 2016
The deluxe cabins were awesome. Lots of room for our family of four. Well stocked we didn't need anything! Absolutely the most adorable cabin.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps