Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay at Townsend KOA. The staff was wonderful and the facilities were extremely clean. We will absolutely go back soon!
Jun 14, 2016
This was our very first trip in our new pop up. From the moment we pulled in, we were treated like family. Our pull through site was beautiful and we had a great view of the river. We had a "deck" to sit on and enjoy the view. The bathrooms were clean and the showers hot. We will absolutely camp here again!
Jun 14, 2016
Great time. Friendly helpful staff. Only comment / complaint is add a path to get from non creek side site to the creek without having to walk through someone else's camp site.
Jun 13, 2016
Wonderful cabins, very clean. The entire grounds are very clean, kids had a blast!
Jun 13, 2016
LOVE this place! Got a site on the river and enjoyed every minute of our stay! Spectacular showers. Great location. Helpful staff helped make our stay pleasant. Can't wait to return. Thanks Townsend KOA
Jun 13, 2016
We LOVE this KOA!! The people are so friendly the location is perfect!! We enjoyed a deluxe cabin for the first time and it fit our group perfectly!
Jun 13, 2016
Love the camp our kids always have a blast here and its very close to the entrance of the Smoky Mountains. Everything is always clean and the employees are always helpful. The campers are very close together and that's the only thing I do not like about the site.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time in DC7. We missed having a space to wash our dishes though! our shower drain is clogged and didn't drain sufficiently as well. Rest was great thanks.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone is so friendly, helpful and kind. Beautiful campground, tons of fun for kids. Nicely spaced sites. Loved the river
Jun 13, 2016
Loved the cabin
Jun 13, 2016
Great service, friendly and helpful staff. Great campground for families with children. However, the campground is very noisy...partially due to close proximity to main highway with lots of motorcycle traffic. Nice shaded sites but at the expense of lots of dead tree limbs...2 of which fell during a thunder storm hitting our camper and denting the hood of our suburban. Overpriced at $80 per night.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time, the accommodations, activities, and friendly and helpful staff made this a memorable visit! My daughters rated the trip a 10, and that's all I could have asked for!
Jun 13, 2016
While some campgrounds have more amenities, KOA Townsend takes top marks for staff service.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone was so helpful and kind!! Was very convenient with the River Tubing bike riding fishing store showers swimming pool playground anything you could possibly need to have fun was right there and recommend it to everyone
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Wifi and cable did not work
Jun 12, 2016
GREAT! The staff was helpful and friendly; the grounds were well manicured and clean; the bathroom /shower areas well maintained.
Jun 12, 2016
All the staff was very helpful. The park and bathrooms/showers was cleaned. We enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to our future stays.
Jun 12, 2016
Most of the staff was friendly. Then on Thursday a new staff member showed up that would stop and watch small kids. Kind of worried me. Being a parent.
Jun 12, 2016
Great kampground and great staff, we, my wife and I had two girls6&7 year old and the staff had activities for the kids at the pavillion. Almost every day they did face painting a scavenger hunt and tie dye t-shirts all you needed was to purchase the shirt for$10 i think and a group of young adults did the tieing and the dyieing and was spectacular. We have been camping here for over 20 years anv
Jun 12, 2016
Very friendly staff and guests. A little tight getting into and out of spots with 35ft fifth wheel but manageable. Some sites a little too close.
Jun 12, 2016
We stayed in a camping cabin. It was clean and comfortable. It was a spacious site and had a beautiful view. Some of the staff was not particularly helpful or pleasant. A restroom or bathhouse needs to be added to service the camping cabins instead of portable toilets.
Jun 12, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
Always great at this location!!
Jun 12, 2016
Family, friendly atmosphere. Everything was great!
Jun 12, 2016
Wifi dosen't work!😢complicated to logg in and overloaded.
Jun 11, 2016
Good place to stay. Nothing negative to say about the location or the campground. Just wish that some campers were as nice as the place and respected rules.
Jun 11, 2016
quiet campground, unfortunately the NP visitor center recommended the winding road through the park instead of taking the route via Sevierville - the Young lady said we would get stuck in the Gaitlinburg traffic jam - she probably was not aware of the existence of the Gatlinburg bypass
Jun 11, 2016
The Koa was clean the bathrooms for very nice but the Wi-Fi was very poor
Jun 10, 2016
Wonderful site on the river!
Jun 10, 2016
Great week in Smoky Mtns! Thanks for the Sunday church service
Jun 09, 2016
Jun 09, 2016
Friendly staff - helpful - very clean and stick by their rules which makes the trip enjoyable for everyone. Pleasant and peaceful environment - almost any site you choose is a winner! We've been coming here for 22 years! The Chipperfields are a wonderful family!
Jun 09, 2016
Mark and his crew there run a first class operation. Everyone is very nice , efficient, and hard working. The campground, bath houses, and stores are always clean and well kept.
Jun 09, 2016
Good campground in a great area. Great place for kids.
Jun 09, 2016
Beautiful and clean. Very friendly staff. Pool was enjoyable. Playground was very nice. Cabin beds are NOT comfortable at all. The a/c made everything feel damp inside the cabin. We were meeting family that were in a motorhome, so it was convenient for us to stay here.
Jun 09, 2016
It was adequate for the need and price for one night.
Jun 08, 2016
This visit was my first at this campground. I stayed in a deluxe cabin for five nights.The accommodations were excellent. The amenities were everything that I expected.
Jun 08, 2016
The Townsend TN KOA is beautiful!! Kid friendly and pet friendly. I highly recommend the Townsend TN KOA for a fun family vacation!
Jun 08, 2016
We love the Townsend KOA because of the nice friendly people and the wonderful campground!
Jun 08, 2016
As always, we had a great time. The camp workers are some of the friendliest and most helpful but let you enjoy your relax time. Thanks for another great experience.
Jun 07, 2016
Very clean, nice bathrooms, very nice all around.
Jun 07, 2016
Everything was clean and staff was super friendly! It's a beautiful location too! We will be back!
Jun 07, 2016
This campground was extremely clean and well kept. The staff was super friendly and there was a lot to do.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
Very nice place to stay! We have visited twice and loved each stay.
Jun 05, 2016
Nice, peaceful place to stay. Great family place.
Jun 05, 2016
I love this campground. It has some of the best sites and bath houses that we have ever used. I would certainly stay here again. The only complaint I have is that two of the days we stayed here, the restrooms did not get cleaned. The same thing happened last year too. I understand things come up, but we pay too much for that to happen.
Jun 05, 2016
We really appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the Townsend KOA staff. We have come several times and it only gets better.
Jun 04, 2016
Beautiful setting, friendly and helpful staff.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award