Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 01, 2015
Awesome as always we stay here often as far as koa goes we hv stayed at few and this is one if not the best we've stayed at the people r great and the grounds r well taken care of A+ rating as far as we feel and yes we will keep going back
Jun 01, 2015
I have stayed at A LOT of KOAs around the country and this was by far the cleanest, nicest and well run from the time we pulled in to the time we left. We will come back and have already recommended to people.
May 31, 2015
Our third time at Koa in Townsend tn we love it. Kids love the river and also the pool. Nice bathhouses and real nice employees very helpful
May 31, 2015
Such beautiful setting, peaceful and friendly. The staff and services they provide is amazing and always with a smile....I think I could have stayed forever!!'
May 31, 2015
camp ground was very nice and they offered a lot of fun activities for people of all ages. the staff was very friendly as well. the cabin we stayed in was just like all the other KOA cabins we've stayed in in the past except it had a mini fridge which came in very handy. the bathhouse was very clean and had places for us to put all of our shower things as well as our cloths and towel.
May 30, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin. Perfect for that much needed get-away.
May 29, 2015
Very clean park, friendly staff, close to everything. The Grandkids had lots of fun in pool, at playground, playing bingo and LOVED the outdoor movies. We will be back!!
May 29, 2015
I would definitely go back again
May 28, 2015
We love this place! Amazing staff and beautiful grounds, really couldn't say a bad thing! Appreciate everything the staff did to make our Memorial Day weekend a great one! We will be back next year!!
May 28, 2015
The KOA in Townsend is awesome! We took 7 families this year (15 kids and 14 adults) and everyone had a fabulous time!
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The campground is kept clean, the staff friendly and it felt like a very safe family environment. We've stayed here twice and will be back next year!
May 28, 2015
May 27, 2015
The person next to us had a slide out that was right up to our fire pit which made us not be able to have a fire. The guys who help you back up should have had that camper over more towards the patio in order for the slide out to not be right up to our fire pit
May 27, 2015
This was my first time staying at a KOA. We camp in a group of 20-25 and we now find ourselves with a gaggle of little kids now! Koa had so many activities and ammenities like the pool and playground our little guys loved it. As a mom who camps by herself it was nice to have someone to help me navigate into my spot. My only negative was how close the sites were to each other.
May 27, 2015
We ❤️ KOA Townsend!!! Can't wait till our next visit😊
May 27, 2015
Great facility, visited over the memorial day weekend and it was far too crowded.
May 27, 2015
Just amazing
May 27, 2015
I was great! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the campground was so clean and well maintained, and my kiss loved the activities available. I loved that there was a worship service available on Sunday morning. I love that we were able to take our little dog and that there was a fenced in area for him to play in. We will definitly stay there again!
May 27, 2015
Our stay was nice
May 27, 2015
Love the new patio sites and bathhouse! You keep raising the bar. Best campground ever!!!!
May 27, 2015
We stayed in a delux cabin on the river for 2 nights. Cabin was clean and awesome. Great location to the Park. Enjoyed the bikes, playground, campfire area and hanging at the cabin. Staff was fantastic. Our gas grill had not been cleaned in a long time. Caked up grease caused a huge fire on first use. Notified office and they sent someone right over. Great time.
May 26, 2015
This is a fabulous place but overpriced since KOA took over.
May 26, 2015
Friendly staff. Kids love this place. We stayed on campsite 14 with full hookups.
May 26, 2015
We stayed in the new sites and they were great. I like the shade tress and the size of the site was very nice, the only thing that could be better is to enforce your quite time rule. All of your staff were very nice and helpful.We already have plans to come back and stay again.
May 26, 2015
Our stay was fantasic. I wish the bathrooms were a tiny bit closer to the tent sites rather than the rv sites but Everything else was great
May 26, 2015
best campground ever !
May 26, 2015
Loved the new upgrades in bath house and pool areas. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. Thanks.
May 26, 2015
AAA+++ Rated best stay ever in my opinion. Cleanest campground I have ever visited.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Clean campground, friendly helpful staff. Great place for a getaway!
May 25, 2015
The campground was very well maintained with beautiful surroundings. The staff was helpful and friendly. The best part was the location which was very close to the park.
May 25, 2015
What a great weekend getaway. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and perfect for our family of five. The view was terrific and the location of the campground was perfect. In two days we hiked, biked, swam, paddled, and caught a movie. A simple great time for our family. Very friendly and polite staff, they always had time for a smile and a 'hello'.
May 25, 2015
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
Love the tent site on the river!
May 23, 2015
Wonderful place to stay. Peaceful and beautiful. Hope to stay there again.
May 22, 2015
This was our first stay ever at a campground and we chose this KOA and was not disappointed! Beautiful campground and a great staff! We will be back for another stay!!
May 21, 2015
Couldn't be better. We have 5 more stays booked!
May 21, 2015
We love the newly remodeled section which we stayed in. The only thing is, they didn't have cable available which we were told up front. They said they'd give a $5/night discount but we didn't receive it.
May 21, 2015
Campground was very nice.I was disappointed with our spot but I made reservations online and did not choose well.We felt very crowded. Sites were very close to each other. The area around us was beautiful and all the people at this KOA were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back but would choose a nicer site.
May 20, 2015
The park was the best I have ever been in great for kids, but still quiet for adults. The cabins were the best I have ever been in I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
May 20, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which were great and nicely equipped with all you would need. A pleasant surprise was the beautiful patio with gas grill and nice stone fireplace ring. Even though the cabins are close to each other, they have landscaped between them beautifully so you feel like you have your own privacy. I definitely will be back!
May 20, 2015
Stayed here before always nice beautiful park in beautiful location
May 20, 2015
Amazing place & very friendly staff. Have already made reservations for July.
May 20, 2015
We loved it there. Jolene loved the dog park
May 19, 2015
May 19, 2015
best campground in the world !
May 19, 2015
Sites too small. Motorcycle and other campers way too noisy. Townsend horrible destination!!
May 19, 2015
My brother and I were very impressed with everything. They had everything we could possibly want, and the place is so clean!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.