Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 14, 2014
May 14, 2014
We had a very raining weekend but still Iots of fun. We stayed in a cabin so that worked out great .
May 13, 2014
We have been coming for about 10 years now. This trip it seemed not as busy. Several of our group fell on the cabin steps they were green and slippery we told the staff after 2 falls they put some towels down. But there were more To follow. Finally it was fixed. It was very painful and embarassing. The pool closed to early also. 7:00 we were also told our rv site didn't move but there was a caBi
May 13, 2014
Great place to stay very relaxing looking forward to my next stay in september
May 13, 2014
Love, Love, Love the KOA Townsend. Awesome location. Very clean. Very friendly. Campground hospitality at its best. Best campground ever!!!
May 13, 2014
We love KOA in Townsend. We wish we could stay there more often. They are so friendly and helpful and lots of things for kids to enjoy even though we don't have kids.
May 13, 2014
We had a great time despite the rain! The kids enjoyed the activities under the pavilion.
May 13, 2014
Our stay was very nice. Nice and clean facilites. Quiet surroundings. Only problem we had was someone had a large dog that was allowed to run loose and it used our campsite as it's bathroom. That was a little unpleasant.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Amazing staff!! They are so friendly! Best KOA
May 12, 2014
Very friendly staff. Have always had a great experience. One of my favorite campgrounds.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
This was our 3rd time and we will be back in September. I bring my 4 grandchildren and we love it and are making lasting memories. Thanks for a great place to stay and for the friendly service.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Awesome
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
My girls loved all the activities for kids!
May 12, 2014
Our 3 grandkid's love to go there! Especially playing by the river and the playground is Awesome!!
May 11, 2014
It was a Nice, Clean campground. We had a lot of trouble the first night with a crazy neighbor. He kept throwing rocks at our tent and shinning his light in it. I also do not like it that this campground allows dogs there. They bark all night long!! It is not very quiet and pleasant when dogs are barking! That was my complaint!!
May 10, 2014
Enjoyed it very much. Great staff and facilities. Campground was so well kept and the perfect spot for our Eggscursion gathering. Thank you and we'll be back!
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
camp site was very good except parking for that site. we were not able to get our car close. too steep for our small car. will bring jeep next time.!! Having a shower each night was wonderful. the weather was perfect.
May 10, 2014
nice park great staff
May 10, 2014
Great location in Townsend. One of the cleanest KOA's I have ever been to. Great friendly staff. They were very accomadating. Super clean laundry with new units. Nice pool. Clean campgrounds. The riverfront location is absolutely amazing!! Saw people tubing down the river which was very fun to watch. Super quiet nights! Lots of fish in the river. Beautiful butterflies everywhere!Great stay!
May 09, 2014
May 08, 2014
We have stayed here for many years and it just gets better. Mark, Samantha and the staff do a wonderful job.
May 08, 2014
A very well designed campground which is very close to the entrance to Smokey Mountain National Park as well as Cades Cove. The staff are exceptional in their to please and were very helpful to me when I needed a printer. A great place to sray.
May 08, 2014
Best KOA Kampground around!
May 07, 2014
KOA Townsend is our favorite place to camp! Wether you are repeat visitors or first timers, the staff makes you feel like you're family.
May 07, 2014
We love this KOA & camp here often in our camper and in the Deluxe Cabins. Stayed in a regular Camping Cabin this time & it was nice. Ours was a 2 rm, on the river. Bed was comfty despite what I'd heard, but having tent camped in my past, I was prepared! Cabins have TV, dorm fridge & AC. A ceiling fan in main room would be nice; had 1 in back room.
May 07, 2014
My family & I would like to say Thank you to the entire Townsend KOA staff! Our second night I was rushed to the hospital for a kidney stone,the staff at KOA went above & beyond to ensure I was ok & had everything I needed. They comforted my wife & made certain she was ok. I was in excruciating pain for our whole stay but the KOA staff let me use a lounge chair at the cabin 2 sit by th fire & relx
May 06, 2014
A very well maintained campground. Clean cabibs, grounds and bathrooms/showers. Friendly helpful staff are visible and approachable.
May 06, 2014
The cabins on the river had lots of activity so hard to rest at night. Also needed a sink in bathroom and somewhere to store clothes. Bed very difficult to make as there was not enough room to get behind it.
May 06, 2014
Great location, very pet friendly, good staff, would stay there again. Improve? Store closed too early (before 8), literature on local event provided was inaccurate re dates.
May 06, 2014
May 06, 2014
May 06, 2014
May 06, 2014
Great relaxing place with lots of places to visit nearby. Away from the noise of Gatlinburg
May 05, 2014
We were part of the Egg Rally in April, and the campground is lovely. They really made this the best of all the campgrounds we have held this rally. The sites are very close together compared to what we are used to on our usual camping trips, but the landscaping is fabulous, the staff really friendly. Clean facilities. Very nice campground.
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
We loved being right on the river, the kids loved the playground, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside is the spots are so close together, and there needs to be more strict enforcement of the quiet nighttime hours. We had some pretty noisy neighbors that were playing loud music and talking in loud voices and had bright lights on at 1 o'clock in the morning, making it very
May 05, 2014
Great Campground! Very helpfull staff.
May 05, 2014
May 04, 2014
We have stayed in a lot of KOA's and Smokey Mtn KOA is by far the best hands down! The staff care and it shows. We had bad weather and they got us all to safety
May 04, 2014
I have been visiting this campground on and off for 10 years, as always it was a delight and the staff is always friendly and inviting. This was the first time staying in one of the cabins, beautiful and accommodating. I love all the new features and changes to the park, had a wonderful stay and will be back next year for sure.
May 04, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.