Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2014
The staff was extra ordinary and we really liked the location. A few too many kids, but it was the weekend involved. Old people you know!
Sep 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time as always...We have stayed in several KOA Kampgrounds, but Townsend is the best one so far..Had a blast playing BINGO..Thanks
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Kids loved it! Beautiful campground with the river! Great location, very nice staff :)
Sep 12, 2014
Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour en cabine au Koa de Townsend! Très propre et bel accueil. Prêt du parc et des services d'épicerie et autres. La réception du wifi serait grandement à améliorer toutefois.
Sep 12, 2014
The cabin was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Great Smokies.
Sep 12, 2014
When we pulled in, my road-weary spirits lifted. Our full hookup die was right on the Little River, with a wooden deck overlooking it! The river was making soothing sounds, and we immediately booked two more nights. Aaaahhhh.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
My tent site was soggy and muddy. The 'drive' thru the camp is not clearly marked. I almost drove into a lot while I was leaving. Otherwise, it is a nice site.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
WE always enjoy each visit to your KOA. There are no surprises!! We know your staff will always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We have visited other campgrounds in the area, but ALWAYS come back to KAO. You provide great activities for our grand kids. WE appreciate the smiling faces of all the staff. We love KOA!!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. THANK YOU!
Sep 09, 2014
The cabin next to mine had Bed Bugs. I saw them and are very familiar with them. There were hundreds of them. The did refund the money to the couple and the family but tried to blame it on them bringing them to the cabin. They were not brought to the cabin. There were hundreds of them. This happens but could have been handled better.
Sep 09, 2014
This was the 5th time we have stayed here. We always come back because the park is clean, staff very friendly, & there is so much to do in the park!
Sep 08, 2014
The most wonderful place to stay.......
Sep 08, 2014
We were in cabin 11, our friends in cabin #12 woke up covered in "textbook" bedbugs. The cabin is infested-coming out of the walls, bedding and wood furniture in the dark. Mgmt. refused to do anything but refund their $ and act as if it was no big deal, leaving us wondering who they will put in the cabin next. We know the cabin was full last weekend, Labor Day. There HAD to be previous complaints.
Sep 08, 2014
Great hosts and service staff. Extremely clean facilities.
Sep 08, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was clean and well maintained. We loved everything about our trip and plan on returning as soon as we can. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Sep 08, 2014
We stayed at this campground when it was Little River Village. This time our grandchildren came with us for their first camping experience. It was great!
Sep 08, 2014
Nice location. Clean facilities. Employees were very helpful and kind. I will stay there again.
Sep 08, 2014
Would suggest taking an eggcrete for the beds. Could use small night table and chair in cabins. Enjoyed our stay, staff was very friendly, facilities were clean and handy.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
we LOVED our first stay in this campground! Loved our site (116) we will be back! staff was super helpful and very nice!
Sep 07, 2014
unfriendly employees,not enough stuff going on
Sep 06, 2014
The staff at the Townsend KOA were very responsive to an emergency situation with one of their campers. Thanks for a great staff!!!!
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
The cabin was perfect for us! We enjoyed the pool, the playground & also the dog run! The water was just a short walk away and my children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed playing in the water and on the banks! We loved the grill and patio area at our cabin- an unexpected treat! Staff were very helpful and obviously were there to serve the customers. We will definitely be returning!!
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
As always it was a great stay!
Sep 03, 2014
Great looking forward to staying there again
Sep 03, 2014
This might the best campground of its type in the country. Clean and well maintained, with a friendly and genuinely concerned staff (and plenty of staff). We've come back, and will return again.
Sep 03, 2014
most acomodating
Sep 03, 2014
first time in a camping ground! good experience for us all. arrived late at night and staff left instructions on where our cabin is. very dark at night. i suggest that dim lights be installed on the grounds to guide campers at night. daytime we visited cades cove which is very near the camp (++). hiked to Abrams falls and ate dinner in Gatlinburg. Overall it was a great experience!
Sep 03, 2014
We always have a great experience every time we go and always meet new people.
Sep 02, 2014
Love the campground and the staff. One major recommendation is to do away with one of the sites on the river. (13, 14, 15, 16) The sites are very crowded and it is difficult to park one vehicle. We had to wake up the person next to us so we could hook up our camper. Unfortunately, campers have gotten bigger and the sites have not changed in size.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
What a wonderful weekend with great hosts and team mates. Our AF Group will most likely keep coming back here Labor Day weekends for our reunion.
Sep 02, 2014
We always love coming to this KOA, the staff members are so friendly and the place is always clean. Thanks for a wonderful weekend
Sep 02, 2014
We have camped at KOA campgrounds many times in our travels and they were always courteous, friendly, very clean and a pleasure to camp in. Our top choice is KOA of Townsend in the Smokies. We will be back next year.
Sep 02, 2014
Responded quickly for a maintenance request. Cabin was great for young children.
Sep 02, 2014
It was great!
Sep 01, 2014
The best campground in townsend Tn. The best people. Very clean.
Aug 31, 2014
Great stay. Wonderful campground and so close to the National park it's almost like being in it!
Aug 31, 2014
A great location. Close to everything but far enough away to be relaxing. The staff was exceptional and so was the fudge.
Aug 31, 2014
Always have a great time at KOA Townsend! This was the 6th time this year.
Aug 31, 2014
We had a wonderful time camping on the river at the KOA in Townsend. The sites are awesome on the river!
Aug 30, 2014
We absolutely loved our stay at the Townsend KOA! A beautiful treed campground right on the river, quiet and so close to the park! We will be back!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.