Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 09, 2016
Wonderful place. Friendly staff. Very clean and beautiful location. Can't wait to go back and stay. One of my favorite KOAs.
Jan 07, 2016
Very friendly staff. Clean and roomy cabins.
Jan 07, 2016
We are already planning our next trip. The campground was wonderful and right on the river!!! It is just seconds from the Smoky Mountain National Park and in a quiet, laid back town. We LOVED it!!
Jan 07, 2016
Loved the location & the staff was great.
Jan 06, 2016
Jan 06, 2016
Wonderful place to stay.
Jan 05, 2016
Stayed a week for New Years 2015...fantastic in every way :)
Jan 05, 2016
Employees were very nice and helpful
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
The deluxe cabin was great. Only suggestion would be to include a sponge mop and a deck broom as it was hard to keep floors clean with the rain etc.
Jan 04, 2016
This is a beautiful campground with a great staff. The location is perfect. Great for both families and/or couples.
Jan 04, 2016
Our 1st winter RV camp! Other than the constant fog/mist/drizzle (not in your control!) we had a nice stay. Site was lovely.
Jan 04, 2016
Friendly staff, clean campground and beautiful setting!
Jan 04, 2016
We have always stayed here multiple times in the past and always had a great experience. This time they mixed up our reservation and didn't give us the cabin ee reserved they gave us a smaller one where we were very cramped. the shampoo dispensers were empty and our bed linens were dirty. We always bring our own no prob. told us we could leave we had nowhere to go all full new years.
Jan 04, 2016
Very clean, beautiful scenery, close to grocery store, fuel, hardware store, dollar store and restaurants.
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
Beautiful location and close enough to the major attractions but still feels like you're out in the wild a beautiful river runs right next to the campsite and you're surrounded by mountains we loved it
Jan 04, 2016
Stayed in lot 82 for 6 nights. Great staff. Beautiful spot. We loved our stay
Jan 04, 2016
The campground is very nice, very neat. If I was going to camp somewhere and sight see all around the site, this would be the place to go. My only "dislike" was that you're neighbors are really close! Most of the State parks are a bit more spread out. But a very nice campground!
Jan 03, 2016
It was wonderful
Dec 31, 2015
We LOVE this campground!! Very dog friendly, lots of things for the kids to do, laundry room on site and so close to all the hiking trails. We will definitely be back!!!
Dec 31, 2015
We loved this place!!! It's beautiful!!! We will definitely come back!
Dec 31, 2015
Everything was GREAT, except the fold out couch mattress was molded and just disgusting in general. It was full of stains and smelled.
Dec 30, 2015
Dec 28, 2015
I love this campground. You really feel like you are in the Smoky's. No hustle and bustle, just quite and peaceful camping.
Dec 28, 2015
Beautiful campground. The only thing I wish were different, is the early time that the game room closed. Should at least we 10 pm.
Dec 27, 2015
The help was great. Very nice area we had. Love the view of the river. Very clean park and friendly staff. We will be back to stay again.
Dec 27, 2015
Campground was clean, well kept, maintained and staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect close to Cades cove, Gatinburg, & Pigeon Forge but with more of a quiet laid-back atmosphere!
Dec 24, 2015
We have been camping here for 15 years and it gets better and better with each visit. It feels like home to us. Thank you, for being such a family friendly place! We are already looking forward to our next visit!
Dec 21, 2015
Dec 21, 2015
Very clean, staff extremely helpful and friendly...
Dec 21, 2015
Dec 16, 2015
Awesome cabin great location I will be coming back
Dec 15, 2015
I've tent camped here many times ~ this was my first time in a cabin. It was absolutely delightful. Very clean, staff was incredibly friendly!! This remains the best KOA I've stayed in!
Dec 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time! Love staying in the cabins in the winter !
Dec 14, 2015
Staff was outstanding....very courteous and friendly
Dec 11, 2015
Very Helpful and well keep.
Dec 08, 2015
Dec 07, 2015
Despite it being very cold during my stay the river was the best part!
Dec 07, 2015
Nice campground, great location and great playground.
Dec 07, 2015
Always enjoy staying on the "quiet" side of the smokies, also the bonus is KOA is located perfectly just outside of the park.. And it helps that the sites are great on the river and staff is very friendly!
Dec 03, 2015
Do not like the online registration because I could not select the site I wanted to be on. A site was assigned to me. If I had the opportunity to see what was available, I would have selected another site.
Dec 03, 2015
Dec 02, 2015
Dec 02, 2015
Great campground. Do not like the extra fee to guarantee a certain campsite. If someone books months in advance and asks for a site - they should not have to pay extra. We don't have to do that at other KOA's we frequent. We DO love the Townsend KOA!!!!
Dec 02, 2015
It was perfect!
Dec 02, 2015
We loved our little camping cabin on the river. So nice to sit on the porch looking out at the river with our morning coffee and have a warm dry place to sleep.
Dec 02, 2015
good people...great place
Dec 01, 2015
always great staff so helpful!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award