Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 04, 2015
Fabulous campground. We really enjoyed the family night activities by the group from CHARM. Conveniently located a short drive to Cade's Cove, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg. Great local restaurants and activities.
Jun 04, 2015
Possibly the best campground showers we've seen. The location of our tent site was great (right by the river) but the site was almost too long and narrow for our tent, and it was way too rocky. The cost for a tent site with no water or electric was a little high, but we still had a great stay. Very good campground overall, and we will be back again soon.
Jun 04, 2015
Great stay , very clean , well kept KOA. Will stay again
Jun 04, 2015
The new premium spot are absolutely beautiful. Love this campground.It is landscaped beautiful with lots of trees. The bath houses were always clean and very nice.
Jun 03, 2015
One of the highest compliments people can get is they are nice. The personnel at the Townsend KOA all were very nice. Thank You!
Jun 03, 2015
The cabin we stayed in needed some repairs. Our accomodations were acceptable, but limited toilets were inconvenient.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean and very kid oriented! Love it! The movie was great!
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean cabin. Staff were all helpful and available. Will definitely be back.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much everyone was nice and courteous
Jun 02, 2015
The grounds are neat and clean, the staff is super friendly and willing to do anything u need-they even gave my battery a jump after I let it die. Great place for kids and pets!!
Jun 02, 2015
A wonderful family experience! Great amenities, fun activities and very friendly staff.
Jun 01, 2015
IT WAS A GREAT CAMPGROUND,CLEAN RESTROOMS AND BIG SITES.
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Great place. Friendly and helpful. Sites are roomy. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 01, 2015
I am so impressed with the hospitality and how they cater to kids. Hope to be back there soon!
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
As always, the staff was friendly and our cabin was clean/inviting. The grounds are always immaculate and family friendly. We will definitely stay with KOA/Townsend again!
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice, friendly, clean, beautiful, good value
Jun 01, 2015
Awesome as always we stay here often as far as koa goes we hv stayed at few and this is one if not the best we've stayed at the people r great and the grounds r well taken care of A+ rating as far as we feel and yes we will keep going back
Jun 01, 2015
I have stayed at A LOT of KOAs around the country and this was by far the cleanest, nicest and well run from the time we pulled in to the time we left. We will come back and have already recommended to people.
May 31, 2015
Our third time at Koa in Townsend tn we love it. Kids love the river and also the pool. Nice bathhouses and real nice employees very helpful
May 31, 2015
Such beautiful setting, peaceful and friendly. The staff and services they provide is amazing and always with a smile....I think I could have stayed forever!!'
May 31, 2015
camp ground was very nice and they offered a lot of fun activities for people of all ages. the staff was very friendly as well. the cabin we stayed in was just like all the other KOA cabins we've stayed in in the past except it had a mini fridge which came in very handy. the bathhouse was very clean and had places for us to put all of our shower things as well as our cloths and towel.
May 30, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin. Perfect for that much needed get-away.
May 29, 2015
Very clean park, friendly staff, close to everything. The Grandkids had lots of fun in pool, at playground, playing bingo and LOVED the outdoor movies. We will be back!!
May 29, 2015
I would definitely go back again
May 28, 2015
We love this place! Amazing staff and beautiful grounds, really couldn't say a bad thing! Appreciate everything the staff did to make our Memorial Day weekend a great one! We will be back next year!!
May 28, 2015
The KOA in Townsend is awesome! We took 7 families this year (15 kids and 14 adults) and everyone had a fabulous time!
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The campground is kept clean, the staff friendly and it felt like a very safe family environment. We've stayed here twice and will be back next year!
May 28, 2015
May 27, 2015
The person next to us had a slide out that was right up to our fire pit which made us not be able to have a fire. The guys who help you back up should have had that camper over more towards the patio in order for the slide out to not be right up to our fire pit
May 27, 2015
This was my first time staying at a KOA. We camp in a group of 20-25 and we now find ourselves with a gaggle of little kids now! Koa had so many activities and ammenities like the pool and playground our little guys loved it. As a mom who camps by herself it was nice to have someone to help me navigate into my spot. My only negative was how close the sites were to each other.
May 27, 2015
We ❤️ KOA Townsend!!! Can't wait till our next visit😊
May 27, 2015
Great facility, visited over the memorial day weekend and it was far too crowded.
May 27, 2015
Just amazing
May 27, 2015
I was great! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the campground was so clean and well maintained, and my kiss loved the activities available. I loved that there was a worship service available on Sunday morning. I love that we were able to take our little dog and that there was a fenced in area for him to play in. We will definitly stay there again!
May 27, 2015
Our stay was nice
May 27, 2015
Love the new patio sites and bathhouse! You keep raising the bar. Best campground ever!!!!
May 27, 2015
We stayed in a delux cabin on the river for 2 nights. Cabin was clean and awesome. Great location to the Park. Enjoyed the bikes, playground, campfire area and hanging at the cabin. Staff was fantastic. Our gas grill had not been cleaned in a long time. Caked up grease caused a huge fire on first use. Notified office and they sent someone right over. Great time.
May 26, 2015
This is a fabulous place but overpriced since KOA took over.
May 26, 2015
Friendly staff. Kids love this place. We stayed on campsite 14 with full hookups.
May 26, 2015
We stayed in the new sites and they were great. I like the shade tress and the size of the site was very nice, the only thing that could be better is to enforce your quite time rule. All of your staff were very nice and helpful.We already have plans to come back and stay again.
May 26, 2015
Our stay was fantasic. I wish the bathrooms were a tiny bit closer to the tent sites rather than the rv sites but Everything else was great
May 26, 2015
best campground ever !
May 26, 2015
Loved the new upgrades in bath house and pool areas. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. Thanks.
May 26, 2015
AAA+++ Rated best stay ever in my opinion. Cleanest campground I have ever visited.
May 26, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.