Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 27, 2015
We come every year at the same time and we see people we've met from all over because they come at the same time also. we love the people at the Townson koa, they are so helpful and friendly its like one big family. See you next year..
Sep 27, 2015
Quiet nice place to stay with quick access to the national park .
Sep 27, 2015
a little tight in areas but very nice
Sep 26, 2015
Great time.
Sep 26, 2015
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night. Next trip we hope to stay longer. Everyone was cordial and helpful. Even the rain didn't "dampen" our stay!!
Sep 26, 2015
Great employees, very helpful and friendly, sites are nice, wifi and cable work well. Great proximity to Smoky Mountain National Park.
Sep 26, 2015
Had a great experience. The restrooms and shower facility's were clean well lit and plenty of hot water. The campsite was clean and roomy the staff was cordial and helpful. If this is representative of KOA'S across the country my trip in July of 2016 will be spent at KOA'S
Sep 26, 2015
We had planned to move on to the Asheville area after visiting the Great Smoky Mts. National Park but with it and this campground both being so beautiful we stayed the entire 10 days here. This KOA is lovely and serene and with the staff being so courteous and friendly, it is everything a traveler could want in a campground. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Sep 25, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very well maintained and friendly staff. My favorite place to stay.
Sep 25, 2015
What a beautiful campground! Peaceful, relaxing, everything you needed right there on site. Will definitely be back!
Sep 24, 2015
we have stayed 3 times this year and everytime it gets better and better wonderful staff to assist any time and its great for kids and family tried Cherokee koa it was awful dirty and no fishing but one call to townsend and the day was saved thanks townsend koa you guys are great
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Great location away from town but close enough if you wanted to venture out! Friendly attentive staff! Campground was very clean and well taken care of! Lots of activities!
Sep 22, 2015
Love being by the river
Sep 22, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Your campground and 'amenities' are nice, the scenery is beautiful. Only drawback was the giant camper next to my tent; I wanted to hear the water but could only hear their air conditioner.
Sep 21, 2015
We had a great time and as always was impressed with the staff and the campground as a whole.
Sep 21, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at KOA, we have stayed at Townsend, Cape Hatteras and Cherokee. We highly recommend KOA to all our friends and family.
Sep 21, 2015
We have been staying at this campground (thru 30 years, sporadically)back when it was Little River Campground. In June we stayed in a DC, this time we brought our camper. We would not even consider staying anywhere else in The Smokies. Koa is our home away from home. The (whole) staff are wonderful, helpful and so friendly. We love Townsend/KOA!P.S. the cleanest shower house/restrooms.
Sep 21, 2015
Very helpful staff, always enjoy staying here.
Sep 21, 2015
Even though we left a day early we had a nice time now that I know to ask for the larger Cabins
Sep 21, 2015
I absolutely LOVE the Townsend KOA. It is located in one of the most peaceful, serene locations I've ever been. The small river that runs through it is a great place to relax and catch your breath away from life's reality. I have been several times and will be here again!
Sep 21, 2015
Great location, friendly & helpful staff. Plan on staying here in the future. It is on our short list.
Sep 20, 2015
Very friendly people. Well manicured grounds. WiFi could be better. RVs packed in pretty close to each other.
Sep 20, 2015
Poor customer service by the manager and rude. Noise policy past ten was unenforced. Heard very loud music coming from further away until 11. Very loud campground overall. Will not stay here again. Facilities were nice and very clean. Also, need recycling bins.
Sep 19, 2015
Great experience! The deluxe cabins are nice but the bulky table and chairs are way too big to store if you don't need all that seating.
Sep 19, 2015
employees very courteous and professional. Eager to help with issues.
Sep 19, 2015
A great campground just got better, refreshed sites, more Wifi coverage, more full hook ups and when you see many of the same employees year after year that tells you there is something special about the ownership, work environment and how people are treated and that tranlates into a great camping experience time and again! Keep it up Team Townsend/Great Smokies KOA!
Sep 19, 2015
Great Campground! This was the first time I was escorted to our site and helped backing onto it. Guided past a tree and lined up perfectly on the first try. I think my wife missed fighting though. Nice pool and great bath house and rest rooms. Beautiful natural setting next to a river. We will be back.
Sep 19, 2015
absolutely gorgeous campground and so very clean and really nice people to deal with we will be returning
Sep 19, 2015
Sep 19, 2015
site #61 was well appointed. However, we felt we were camping in a "fish bowl"--too much constant KOA traffic & campers' traffic. Next visit we will request a site in the back of the campground. Is it necessary to have a garbage pick-up at 4 AM?
Sep 18, 2015
We love this campground, but, this time we requested and paid for a riverfront site. #100 is a terrible spot, have to back in, which puts camper door on side opposite river, + there's a public playground/dog walk between site & river.
Sep 17, 2015
The staff goes above and beyond to make campers feel welcomed. The grounds are well taken care of and the bathhouse is immaculate. Wonderful campground on the best side of the Smoky Mountains!
Sep 17, 2015
It was Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sep 17, 2015
We had great weather and a lot of fun in the river. Movie night on Saturday was a nice addition.
Sep 17, 2015
I wish you had a regular coffee pot in stead of the Kruger coffee machine.
Sep 17, 2015
had a great time; helpful, friendly staff; great, convenient facilities. I have stayed at this campground many times, never a problem.
Sep 16, 2015
Clean, friendly, efficient campground. Already have reservations for next year.
Sep 16, 2015
Very clean. Friendly staff. Great pool.
Sep 16, 2015
Sep 16, 2015
everything is perfect here! you might want to make the number that should be called in case of and issue at odd hours in the morning more known but other then that everything is always great when I come every year!
Sep 16, 2015
Sep 16, 2015
I love this campground I wish I could book a week.
Sep 16, 2015
We stayed at the KOA in sweetwater the week before it would be hard to match that group of people they were great. Still I have no complaints they are very nice and have a great facility
Sep 15, 2015
Very friendly staff, very clean, beautiful area. Will recommend this campsite.
Sep 15, 2015
We had such a wonderful time at Townsend/Great Smokies KOA. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and the facilities were beautiful and clean.My children wanted to stay forever.
Sep 15, 2015
Sep 15, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Clean campgrounds. I really did not want to leave! :(
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps