Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 12, 2017
It is a great place for kids. We were right by the river and the activities were nice for the kids. Plenty of shade and mature trees there. The front desk is very helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great week. This is the kids favorite place to camp. Couldn't ask for a better staff.
Jun 12, 2017
My friends and I went up to Townsend for The Crawl and the mini bikes. We had such a phenomenal experience! All of the employees went above and beyond for us the entire time, even when registering for the camp site. They stopped to chat with us about our bikes and we all really bonded. The site was beautiful and everything was clean and the showers are fantastic! We'll be back again next year!
Jun 12, 2017
I can't say enough how wonderful my family's KOA experience was! Beautifully run campground and cabins. We will definitely be back!
Jun 12, 2017
Have been to Townsend many times, but thought KOA was a little pricey. It is well worth it. Much nicer and a very relaxing atmosphere. Love the dog park! Excellent playground. Loved the middle sites with the brick patio and fire pits. Walking distance to some good sweet treats.
Jun 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great time, very close to Cades Cove. Campground family freindly, plenty for kids to do. Kids 12 and 17, on way home were already asking when we could come back. All staff was very freindly and helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Best campground we've stayed in. Everyone was super friendly and the campgrounds were immaculate. We were very comfortable and can't wait to return!
Jun 12, 2017
We visited this campground with 3 motorcycles and we were treated like children and watched our whole trip. Couldn't enjoy our stay with staff breathing down our neck the whole time.
Jun 11, 2017
Beautiful campground! We loved the landscaping around EVERY campsite and the dog playground was awesome for our little Yorkies. The people working were awesome in every way to help us with anything we needed. We truly enjoyed our stay. Best campground we have ever stayed in and we will be back in November!
Jun 11, 2017
Wonderful place for families
Jun 11, 2017
Great spot for families!
Jun 10, 2017
The weather was nice even when we got news of a bad wind storm. The actives for the kids and adults was "GREAT" we really enjoyed what they provide for us, they were the best!
Jun 10, 2017
Great campsite. Friendly staff, clean facilities, lots to do on campground
Jun 10, 2017
really meant for families with children
Jun 10, 2017
We stayed in a 2 room camping cabin. Wifi worked well, larger than expected refrigerator. Cabel tv picture was clear with many channels. Great location and surrounding area. Friendly staff, even after I had a portable potty tank accident in the bathroom. Clean showers and bath rooms. I can't really complain about anything. Maybe some new picnic tables but that's it.
Jun 09, 2017
Are stay was great, every thing was clean, and lots to do. Also just 25 min from pigeon forge/Gatlinburgh
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very clean. Lots of activities for kids. Ice cream was a huge plus!
Jun 09, 2017
Very clean,you need to spend the extra money to get the better site, we stayed in 47 some of the less expensive sites are small and tight
Jun 08, 2017
Been coming here for 22 years. I think that says it all!
Jun 08, 2017
floors little dirty, ants found, thanks for everything else was great, thanks for all help and attention to our stay. Great place
Jun 08, 2017
The management and staff are top notch. We had the misfortune of being in a car wreck during our stay and they were all very helpful.
Jun 08, 2017
All staff were so friendly, hard-working and accomadating. They handled all our needs quickly. I highly recommend KOA in Townsend.
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Excellent location, friendly and very helpful staff, bathrooms are clean, campground in excellent condition.
Jun 07, 2017
The staff that were there were just very rude when we arrived. Acting to be there. The bed was terrible. We were going to stay but bed was really bad..
Jun 06, 2017
Wow! What a nice, clean facility! We had a wonderful time enjoying the creek, tubing,bike riding, bingo, movie night and so much more. Can't wait to go back!
Jun 06, 2017
By far the best KOA that we have ever camped! We loved the staff, the clean park and clean sites/amenities. We appreciated the notification of a storm coming to put in our awnings. We loved, loved LOVED the Bingo game that was sponsored by the church group. One of the highlights of our stay. We all found Townsend rocks and kept them as souvenirs. We hope to come back again someday soon.
Jun 06, 2017
The Girl Scouts and I had a wonderful time while staying there. We visited Tuckaleechee Caverns, went tubing, saw the synchronous fireflies, and Cades Cove. Everyone was friendly.
Jun 06, 2017
I am not a KOA type of camper but I was pleasantly surprised with Townsend KOA. Definitely step up to the nicer spot it is worth the few dollars. They have the nicest table and chairs I have ever seen in a public space. They also help you get into your space. Whether you think you need it or not. Which actually is nice because they know exactly how to angle so put your pride aside and get in there
Jun 06, 2017
We've stayed at several KOA's, I can tell you that this campground has them all beat. The place was nice, clean , and had beautiful sites that weren't on top of each other. The thing that stood out to me was how many employees are here, and they ALL, were so nice, and freely gave there opinions on things to do, restaurants, etc. So far the best campground we've ever stayed at!
Jun 06, 2017
My wife and I only stayed for one night, but it was very enjoyable! The grounds were clean and the whole campground was very immaculate!
Jun 05, 2017
We have a wonderful time every year and always look forward to the next year. The activities around Memorial Day are awesome. The church group that comes in are wonderful dear people and we always have a blast. Keep up the good work. We love it here.
Jun 05, 2017
Love the riverfront site. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoy the family activities, wish they had more!
Jun 05, 2017
It's so beautiful. It's so clean and well-kept. We loved the activities. Enjoyed it.
Jun 05, 2017
Wonderful time at a clean and well run campground.
Jun 05, 2017
One of the nicest campgrounds we have been to! The patio sites are awesome. The staff is great! We will definitely be back!
Jun 05, 2017
Jun 05, 2017
The staff was extremely helpful! Our first time camping and it was a wonderful experience.
Jun 05, 2017
Place is the best place we have stayed at in the smokies since we have been visiting for 17 years.
Jun 05, 2017
Fantastic staff, well maintained grounds, and great sites
Jun 05, 2017
We tent camped here for 2 days on site 70 and 72. We had water/electric. We have been camping here before it was KOA and have always loved it here.
Jun 05, 2017
This is one of our favorite KOAs. This wasn't our first stay here, and it certainly won't be our last!!!
Jun 04, 2017
We love staying here. We have been going there for 26 years. The staff is great and love seeing them every year. We love the fact that they have family fun things. They let Charms come in and do a children's day camp and family events nightly.
Jun 04, 2017
Your staff is professional and friendly. The campground facilities were clean and well kept. The campsites are snug but the view of the river makes up for the space issue. We will be back! Ann Marie Insana
Jun 04, 2017
Our kids loved the playground and the pool. Facilities were nice and clean. Close to the Y in the Smokies, which was super convenient. Had a riverfront camping cabin, would definitely recommend as a place to stay while visiting the Smokies.
Jun 04, 2017
over priced we were in site 100 nothing but sunbusy spot lots of people cutting thru to get to the park on the river
Jun 04, 2017
Jun 03, 2017
Awesome as usual ....new bathrooms and dish washing area great addition
Jun 02, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 48 years. I love the changes that KOA has done. I am so thankful to have Mark and Samantha as my friends,but really family. Will continue staying with them for as long as I can.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award