Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 12, 2015
Absolutely love this campground, very peaceful even with a big crowd. Grounds were clean.
May 12, 2015
I love the new sites!!! Staff was helpful and nice as always!!
May 12, 2015
A terrific campground in a wonderfully scenic area. Well staffed and everyone was welcoming. Would go back in a heartbeat! Maybe sooner! :)
May 12, 2015
this campground is close to where we live. It is very clean the sites are a good size. Many have paved patio areas which is very nice. They have planned activities and the staff are very nice and helpful. The campground is on the river which makes it so peaceful and beautiful. We love this campground!
May 12, 2015
great place, Great people very helpful!
May 12, 2015
The bath house is exceptional People were very friendly, available, and helpful.
May 11, 2015
Staff were very helpful and as always very pleasant.
May 11, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Grounds and facilities extremely clean. Lots of activities for the families, especially the kids. Quiet and restful.
May 11, 2015
Site #80 needs major work to make level to accommodate any size camper! Cable tv not working on this site either. Improvements to campground look great. We made reservations for next May. Tks
May 11, 2015
My granddaughters loved all the activities and the pool, playground, arcade, and the fudge and Ice cream shop so close. I love being on the river, so beautiful. All the staff are great.Lots of good places to eat nearby.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Love the changes they have made since last year.
May 11, 2015
great
May 11, 2015
We haven't been to this KOA for a few years, however, we can't wait to go back! They have made many numerous improvements to many of the sites, shower/bathroom facilities, playground equipment and pool! We had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great Time!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
My kids said this was their BEST camping trip ever. We all had a great time and will be back.
May 11, 2015
This is a great campground for kids. My entire family had a wonderful time. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2015
May 09, 2015
My wife stayed here for an extended time and hated to leave! Mark, Samantha, Jim, Mickey, Marshall, Marilyn,Jordan, Adam, Clint, and Dan all go above and beyond to make sure each camper has a great stay. They all will do everything possible to help resolve issues or concerns with an Rv, tent, or cabin. The grounds were always kept up & in order even after the severe storms brought down trees.
May 09, 2015
We had a w wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
May 09, 2015
excellent
May 08, 2015
Best KOA we have stayed at yet! very suprised to arrive and find a beautiful brick patio site and awesome stone fire pit! Very friendly staff! Very well maintained campground! Definitely going back!
May 08, 2015
We had one of the most relaxing, calming stay ever. The site we chose was kinda of private, with the view of a beautiful section of the river and it's sound. Plus we got to see a family of geese for 3 days which was just an added bonus. We will promote this KOA!
May 08, 2015
Small, quiet with very friendly and helpful staff. Our site was riverfront with a deck we could sit on and enjoy the view from. We will definately be back!
May 08, 2015
Not Townsend's fault but we misread and reserved a spot with another "Smoky Mtn.: site and lost our entire reservation amount when we fixed the error. Probably the end of our KOA relationship. As for the Townsend facility, it was a little tricky backing into the camp site but the grounds are very nice and a credit to the KOA network. Setup is very family friendly.
May 07, 2015
Greatest of all KOA'S. Place, people and all sites.
May 07, 2015
As usual, we had a great weekend at KOA Townsend. LOVE the improvements!! The larger sites are wonderful. Bathhouse is as nice as ever, but I assume you aren't finished yet, as there are no hooks for hanging items. No complaints, tho. Will be back soon! OH! Almost forgot - Maintenance guys were super helpful when our slide-out wouldn't slide IN! Thanks!
May 06, 2015
Nice peaceful . love listing to the river hope to return soon.
May 06, 2015
I came to visit my sister who was here from Texas in a 5th wheel with her husband. I stayed in a cabin for two nights. Cabin was very nice; campground was scenic & clean; the area is beautiful.
May 05, 2015
Enjoyed it greatly. Can't wait to come back!
May 05, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much; however, the deluxe cabin really needed a comfortable place to sit and a sink in the kitchen.
May 05, 2015
cabin was good. hot water good. everyone was nice. NO TV, NO TV, NO TV.
May 05, 2015
We had agood time staying with you.. Only one complain was that our TV wasn't working and they said it had been days still no one was able to fix it.. We like to watch the weather.We were there 5 days never seen any one around to fix it.. They just said sorry. They could have given us some sort of a adjustment.But that was the only thing. Thanks and we will probably stay again soon.
May 05, 2015
My family and I love the Townsend KOA. It is so clean, friendly, and quite. The national park is right next door and the whole town is bicycle friendly. It's one of our favorite getaway spots. We swim, hike, bike, and there is even a drive in movie theater just a short drive away.
May 05, 2015
Had a great time!!!
May 04, 2015
We've stayed there for years. Think it's one of the two best. Love the campground and the staff.
May 04, 2015
The employees are very friendly & helpful & campground is clean & well kept. Love it here. Would recommend KOA to everyone.
May 04, 2015
Wish we could have stayed longer - 1 night stop over. Will be back.
May 04, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean cabins. Well maintained grounds, and perfect weather!
May 04, 2015
Great view of the river clean and nice perfect for a weekend getaway
May 04, 2015
I was very disappointed in our site. I specifically asked if the sites were roomy. We were sandwiched in between two campers like a parking lot, when across the way there were beautiful roomy sites. The other sites did not have cable, which we didn't care, but we were not offered any of those site. They should of asked if we wanted cable. We were told we could move, but we had already unhooked
May 04, 2015
Loved this place, beautiful!! Will be back
May 04, 2015
Very great experience staff was great!
May 03, 2015
We came to this campground with 4 other couples. Three were in trailers, two were in a deluxe cabin. The staff was helpful when needed, the accommodations were 1st class. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
May 03, 2015
Excellent facility. Friendly staff. Quiet even on the busy weekend. Will delineate come back again. Only thing needed is a newer baby swing and stronger and faster wifi. Love the new sites!
May 03, 2015
Koa. Aok
May 03, 2015
No hot Water in the shower ?
May 02, 2015
Hate we had to leave early because my husbands back pain & was hoping the cable would've been back on, but we love the place & how super friendly y'all are :)
May 01, 2015
The Campsite we get every year is the best. In fact, this Campsite is one of the best. We have been coming for years since it was The Little River Campground before KOA purchased. My wife grew up camping here and introduced it to me. Now our two girls will have fond memories camping here too. It would be nice to have shelves in the showers to put soap/shampoo on as well hooks for towe
May 01, 2015
One of best campgrounds we have experienced. Recent upgrades put it in a class by itself in Townsend and elsewhere. Be back next year.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.