Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 08, 2017
Our entire stay will be 6-7 weeks and we have really enjoyed the entire campground, especially our various river sites. Quality park with attention to every detail. The staff has been very friendly and helpful. The location is so close to the Smokies which is very desirable, not to mention the great antique shops close by. Looking forward to our return in the fall!
Mar 08, 2017
Clean facilities and wonderful staff!! Plan on staying again!
Mar 07, 2017
Nice cabin, clean restrooms, well kept grounds! Will definitely stay here again!
Mar 06, 2017
One of the best locations that we have stayed. Friendly and helpful staff and great facilities.
Mar 06, 2017
We loved it!! Bath house was clean!! Staff was very helpful!!
Mar 06, 2017
Very friendly when checking in n explained times n where things were, very helpful staff parking, very clean.
Mar 06, 2017
Beautiful place. office closed before it was scheduled to and we couldn't get any help. That and the fact that the bathrooms aren't dewinterized and yet you are already charging premium rates????
Mar 01, 2017
Always love staying at this koa! So close to the national park and always nice and quiet when we are there. We will be back
Mar 01, 2017
Tracy and David in the office were very helpful. Cabin and bathhouse were clean. I had a wonderful time and would stay again
Feb 28, 2017
The Townesend KOA campground is amazing! They have all new grills, amazing picnic tables. The cabins are so well maintained and stocked! Our stay was amazing!
Feb 27, 2017
Stayed on the river Staff was very friendly and helpful Bath house and amenities were wonderful
Feb 27, 2017
Great camp site. Very friendly and helpful staff. A beautiful campground.We love staying here and we will return.
Feb 27, 2017
Feb 27, 2017
Wanted to test a new rig and some new bikes out and spent a very pleasant weekend. Staff was very pleasant and facilities clean.
Feb 26, 2017
Feb 23, 2017
Great place, friendly staff, convenient to gsmnp without the crowds
Feb 21, 2017
Right on the river. Firepit. Staff were very friendly.
Feb 16, 2017
Love this KOA. We live about 30 mins away so we go there as often as we can. CLEAN, updated, very friendly staff, nicely situated sites, convenient to many activities and lots for kids to do.
Feb 14, 2017
This is one of our favorite destinations. Just a lovely place. Staff go above and beyond to be helpful.
Feb 08, 2017
Absolutely beautiful campground! Everyone was super nice and accommodating! Definately will go again.
Feb 07, 2017
As usually, they knock it out of the park. Great facilities and a good value. It always feels familiar with each stay.
Feb 02, 2017
I had notated in my reservation that I would be a late arrival, but when I got there at around midnight no reservation package could be found. I had to look back into my email and find site # on confirmation and take a pic of map on office. Very cozy little campground and friendly staff. Beautiful site right on river.
Feb 01, 2017
Just a beautiful campground. Cabins are so well kept. My sister left her lights on and battery died. Your grounds staff was so helpful. Thank you,
Jan 24, 2017
Another great stay at the KOA Townsend. We stayed in a camping cabin on this trip and were very surprised on the cleanliness. Being on the river was great as well. Highly recommend.
Jan 24, 2017
Great place!
Jan 18, 2017
stayed in cabin and had a great time
Jan 17, 2017
It was WONDERFUL!!!!! Very quiet and satisfactory!!!!!
Jan 17, 2017
Facilities were beautiful! Trees peppered among the sites, new middle larger sites had cobblestone patio with raised fire pit and round table with 4 chairs (FANTASTIC), excellent playground area (we had children ages 8-11 that LOVED it), stream running through campsite, clean facilities, great staff!
Jan 17, 2017
This is by far the best KOA that my family has stayed in over the past few years!
Jan 17, 2017
We love this place! We had a tent site on the river and love to hear the water at night. Went hiking and horse-back riding nearby. Staff is always friendly, and the store is great for anything we forgot (we always do!)
Jan 16, 2017
Jan 16, 2017
These cabins are well maintained in a beautiful area. Would highly recommend.
Jan 16, 2017
Had a great site on the river #78. Sites are right on top of each other so don't go into it looking for peace and quite. They need another bathhouse at the back right of the campground. The only one closest to us was closed for renovation and for what you pay to stay here a Porta potty was not ideal for the whole weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jan 14, 2017
Enjoyed the beautiful location and the snow. Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Can't wait for my next adventure.
Jan 10, 2017
Another great vacation! The staff is amazing and the campgrounds are well kept. Great experience - Again!
Jan 07, 2017
For the third year in a row my wife and I enjoyed our deluxe cabin accommodations at the KOA Townsend TN. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly & obliging.
Jan 07, 2017
Except for some loud and rude campers, (AKA: Tail gating crowd) between Christmas and new years we enjoyed our stay for the month. The sites are too close together. When people build giant fires your RV and vehicle are loaded with ash.
Jan 06, 2017
The deluxe cabin was incredible - beyond my expectations. The cabin and the campground were clean, and the staff was very friendly. Definitely recommend this place!
Jan 06, 2017
Nice little cabins right on the creek. Beautiful view.
Jan 06, 2017
Loved your camp ground. Will. E back
Jan 05, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jan 04, 2017
Tight uneven spaces, noisey. The most expensive KOA in the East and not worth it.
Jan 04, 2017
Awesome campsites. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay great. We have stayed three times and plan many more.
Jan 04, 2017
Love this place we come here at least twice a year. We stay in the campground and in the cabins. The staff here is awesome. This is my favorite KOA.
Jan 04, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and it was great. We will be back!
Jan 04, 2017
Nice place. .but THEY had to move us from our original space we had reserved due to their upgrades. And charged us higher fees for site they moved us to.
Jan 04, 2017
First of all the cabin was very cold...it had two small heating strips that were not sufficient for the temperature outside...it had a HORRIBLE bed...I don't know where they got this bed, but it was VERY POOR QUALITY! And, one of the legs was broken...After driving 560 miles, we called the number to speak to someone to ck in and the lady was not friendly at all! We had drove around 11 hours!
Jan 04, 2017
Great stay as always!
Jan 03, 2017
We love the KOA in Townsend, TN We have been staying there for the last 6 years.
Jan 03, 2017
Great staff....friendly and helpful. Thank you for another great vacation.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award