Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2015
I think it would be great if wifi was available at all campsites. We appreciate the nice upkeep of the grounds and friendliness of the staff.
Jul 14, 2015
When my family goes camping at the KOA in Townsend it always feels like we are being welcomed back home. Everyone feels like family to us and it's because the people are so wonderful. Thank you KOA for giving my family wonderful memories that we will cherish forever.
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground!
Jul 14, 2015
Great campground with friendly hosts. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 14, 2015
Everything would have been great if I had not had my billfold stolen, by one of your employees
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground! Clean, well maintained, shady campsites nestled among mature trees along the Little Pigeon River. Lots of activities. Love the dog yard. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's home away from home!
Jul 14, 2015
you need to regulate noise after quiet time. Otherwise we loved your facilities and staff. Clean and hot showers are not often found.
Jul 13, 2015
Exceptional in every way. The location could not be better. The management and staff are really great people. We consider it a home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was extremely friendly. Cabin was immaculate and grounds beautifully kept.
Jul 13, 2015
Campground is one of the nicest we have stayed at . Clean , well taken care of , updated and plenty of helpful staff. Would definately stay again .
Jul 13, 2015
Great site on the river and the people working there were very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We were very inpressed with all the helpers, groundskeepers. Very family friendly. Will be back. The Music's
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Crowded, but to be expected. Excellent staff, great location.
Jul 13, 2015
The showers could use a little more upkeep. The campground is GREAT! Staff friendly and helpful. Deluxe patio sites and really nice.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff were the best I've ever met! Our experience was extraordinary!
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed it it was the 1st time my children camped! Your staff was really nice too they made us feel really welcomed! I will be def come back next time we camp thank u all so much!
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. Woke up at 12:30am by somebody playing their radio. I heard the music until 1 or 1:30am. I couldn't find a number to call and report the music on any of the documentation given to me upon check-in. KOA should do a better job to inform the campers of who and how to contact someone when something happens through the night. Should also do a better job of enforcing quiet time.
Jul 12, 2015
Loved it! We will stay here the next time we visit.
Jul 12, 2015
Excellent facility!! We already booked our next visit. Highly recommend this campground!
Jul 12, 2015
Clean beautiful setting friendly staff lots to do. My grandson 8 loved it too. Thanks for offering the programs and convenient tubing. Will be back
Jul 12, 2015
.
Jul 12, 2015
Our family had a wonderful time. We plan on going back in the fall. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2015
wonderful see you all next year
Jul 11, 2015
Portable restrooms got very full over the holiday. Sanitizer ran out very early and was not replaced in 4 days. Primary showers are awesome.
Jul 11, 2015
This was the cleanest and most friendly KOA we have ever stayed at. Our site was great. The only thing that bothered us is the restaurant hours. We never got to eat there in 3 days. We got up too early for breakfast and ate too late for dinner. The hours open were terrible
Jul 11, 2015
this is a very friendly KOA. It is our second year to stay here. 1 mile from the Smokies Park entrance but 30-40 mins from Gatlinburg. Townsend has a great BBQ place called Smoking Joes we found on this last trip.
Jul 11, 2015
I host a camp for children each year and this was my 2nd year using Townsend KOA. I had five children ranging in ages from 6-10 and this campground is perfect! The staff are wonderful and so helpful. CAMPGigi2015 was a huge success! Thank you KOA and North Cleveland Baptist Church for your backyard bible school.
Jul 11, 2015
Had a great two night stay on our way to see our son in SC. The staff was incredible and the park was beautiful. Having a gas station right next to the campground was a real convenience. I already have recommended this campground to my son and my wife and I hope to visit again soon.
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We were very pleased with the kampground and will definitely stay at other KOA kamps.
Jul 10, 2015
Awsome stay as always didnt want to leave very friendly people and good people be back in the fall of 2016
Jul 10, 2015
Desperately need another bathhouse, closer to cabins. Two too close together. A bit pricey. Excellent cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Very much on top of things.
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was really clean. And the staff was helpful and answered all of our questions.
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful campground. Had a wonderful stay. Our sons 16,14, and 7 had a blast. So plenty to do for different ages. Our 7 year old really enjoyed the morning children's group activities. Our older boys enjoyed the kayaking, swimming, and fishing. And all of us loved the campground. We will be back.
Jul 09, 2015
Great location! Fast and friendly check in. Extremely clean facilities. We lived our little cabin. Very clean and well appointed for a campground. We wished we could've stayed longer!
Jul 09, 2015
From the time we pulled in until the time we had to depart we felt like we were staying with friends! Great staff!Very clean. Fun kid activities! We made reservations for next summer!
Jul 08, 2015
Your prices are way to high we have been staying at this camp ground over 25 years before u ever bought it but your rates are out rageous and you are forcing our family and five others we camp woth to find another place Our daugheter and hisband and boys; our son and his wife and boy; our fried and his wife ; his son wife and three girls; our cousin and his family Other Koas are half this
Jul 08, 2015
always a fun time. nice and clean. will be back
Jul 08, 2015
Great place, clean, happy, and well managed! Minor issue: Would like to see the WiFi extend out further into the campground for a more stable connection as you can't get a cell signal in the campground.
Jul 08, 2015
Always smiling faces, clean cabins, manicured grounds, and fun activities. Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
Will be back again!!
Jul 07, 2015
Love the campground and the staff however prices have been raised quite a bit. Also a suggestion - make sites 14 and 15 into one site. Very difficult to park one vehicle on each site. We were delayed an hour when leaving because the people next to us were gone and we cannot get our camper out. Very frustrating.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time. We were a little disappointed in our site being very muddy with all the rain, but overall things were good. We've already made reservations for next July 4th.
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome accommodations and very friendly staff. We are looking forward to our next camping trip.
Jul 07, 2015
Only complaint is the expense. For the price (160$), our family could have stayed at a much nicer place with more amenities. This KOA is a campground, not a resort.
Jul 07, 2015
The people and the location were great , however the deluxe cabin could use a better cleaning , the floors and mattresses were dirty and ants were a problem.
Jul 07, 2015
Lovely lady at the front desk who was kind enough to take the time to help us extend our stay over the busy holiday weekend (Mickey/daisy) The pool area was clean and the restrooms were very nice. Loved the patios and fire pits. Somewhere we picked up poison ivy but not sure exactly where. Very quiet campground. Loved all the kid activities, the youth group there was fun to work with over the four

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.