Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
This is the third summer we have rented one of the two room cabins. We love everything about this place. The pool is clean and we enjoy the hayride and movie on Saturday night. My grandson told me this was the best place to be other than a Disney Cruise! :)
Jul 20, 2015
We stayed one night in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean! Next time would like to get one of the cabins close to the river.
Jul 19, 2015
Reserved site #59 was relocated to another location due to park site improvements. KOA should have notified me prior to arrival. New location was not what I wanted. However, site upgrades are excellent.
Jul 19, 2015
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and greated by friendly staff. They were very helpful when the AC unit in my parents cabin was not working and gave us great advice about visiting the local area. We had a lovely deluxe cabin and completely enjoyed our stay. The only bad part was having to leave and return home to real life.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our second stay at this KOA. Seven years ago it was a great place, this year was even better. They did a lot of upgrades to the newly remodel campsites with nice table and chairs, paver patio, stone fire pits. We love the river out back for tubing and the location of this KOA in Townsend gives you a more natural stay, no hussle of a big city. The city is only 15 miles away and has it all.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time! The staff members were super friendly and always eager to accommodate the needs of the visitors! They were very proactive. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one!
Jul 19, 2015
great koa, clean and very friendly
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great time, air unit was out the first day. The 2nd day they spent 8 hours swapping it out. Thankful they did but with us only staying 2 days that was half our trip we were hot! I ask for a discount and was told they would call me but never did. I would like to return here next year but I feel they should make us whole again. Again, staff and campground was great and we did have fun.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time. Plan on staying there next time we go to the Smokies.
Jul 18, 2015
Campground is beautiful & clean. People are friendly. I have 1 concern. I was walking 2 small dogs. There were campers checking in and 1 pulled out & 1 behind pulled down. I saw the man who had been helping campers back in on a golfcart so I stepped into empty campsite to get out of way. As I did, dogs peed on grass. The man nicely said to contain the dogs to the dog area. That is far to take them
Jul 18, 2015
Upgrades were so nice; bigger sites, paver patio, and fire pit. Very nice workers and very clean campground. We would stay here again! Downsides; the wood sold to most people didn't burn and the garbage man came to empty the dumpster at 5:30 in the morning! : (
Jul 17, 2015
We absolutely LOVE your KOA!! This was our second time staying with you guys. We would definitely stay with you again if we come back to Tennessee. We will also tell all of our friends about you traveling this away. Your employees are so nice also! Nikki was wonderful to us!!
Jul 16, 2015
We left our site for the day and the staff took items from our campsite. We told the office but nothing was done. So we had to replace these items on the road. Also cleaning bathrooms from 1:00 to 3:00 PM was very inconvenient. Also price was too high in our opinion, even more than Pigeon Forge KOA.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Need better wifi. Suggestion to put wifi extenders around campground.
Jul 15, 2015
I think it would be great if wifi was available at all campsites. We appreciate the nice upkeep of the grounds and friendliness of the staff.
Jul 14, 2015
When my family goes camping at the KOA in Townsend it always feels like we are being welcomed back home. Everyone feels like family to us and it's because the people are so wonderful. Thank you KOA for giving my family wonderful memories that we will cherish forever.
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground!
Jul 14, 2015
Great campground with friendly hosts. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 14, 2015
Everything would have been great if I had not had my billfold stolen, by one of your employees
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground! Clean, well maintained, shady campsites nestled among mature trees along the Little Pigeon River. Lots of activities. Love the dog yard. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's home away from home!
Jul 14, 2015
you need to regulate noise after quiet time. Otherwise we loved your facilities and staff. Clean and hot showers are not often found.
Jul 13, 2015
Exceptional in every way. The location could not be better. The management and staff are really great people. We consider it a home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was extremely friendly. Cabin was immaculate and grounds beautifully kept.
Jul 13, 2015
Campground is one of the nicest we have stayed at . Clean , well taken care of , updated and plenty of helpful staff. Would definately stay again .
Jul 13, 2015
Great site on the river and the people working there were very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We were very inpressed with all the helpers, groundskeepers. Very family friendly. Will be back. The Music's
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Crowded, but to be expected. Excellent staff, great location.
Jul 13, 2015
The showers could use a little more upkeep. The campground is GREAT! Staff friendly and helpful. Deluxe patio sites and really nice.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff were the best I've ever met! Our experience was extraordinary!
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed it it was the 1st time my children camped! Your staff was really nice too they made us feel really welcomed! I will be def come back next time we camp thank u all so much!
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. Woke up at 12:30am by somebody playing their radio. I heard the music until 1 or 1:30am. I couldn't find a number to call and report the music on any of the documentation given to me upon check-in. KOA should do a better job to inform the campers of who and how to contact someone when something happens through the night. Should also do a better job of enforcing quiet time.
Jul 12, 2015
Loved it! We will stay here the next time we visit.
Jul 12, 2015
Excellent facility!! We already booked our next visit. Highly recommend this campground!
Jul 12, 2015
Clean beautiful setting friendly staff lots to do. My grandson 8 loved it too. Thanks for offering the programs and convenient tubing. Will be back
Jul 12, 2015
.
Jul 12, 2015
Our family had a wonderful time. We plan on going back in the fall. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2015
wonderful see you all next year
Jul 11, 2015
Portable restrooms got very full over the holiday. Sanitizer ran out very early and was not replaced in 4 days. Primary showers are awesome.
Jul 11, 2015
This was the cleanest and most friendly KOA we have ever stayed at. Our site was great. The only thing that bothered us is the restaurant hours. We never got to eat there in 3 days. We got up too early for breakfast and ate too late for dinner. The hours open were terrible
Jul 11, 2015
this is a very friendly KOA. It is our second year to stay here. 1 mile from the Smokies Park entrance but 30-40 mins from Gatlinburg. Townsend has a great BBQ place called Smoking Joes we found on this last trip.
Jul 11, 2015
I host a camp for children each year and this was my 2nd year using Townsend KOA. I had five children ranging in ages from 6-10 and this campground is perfect! The staff are wonderful and so helpful. CAMPGigi2015 was a huge success! Thank you KOA and North Cleveland Baptist Church for your backyard bible school.
Jul 11, 2015
Had a great two night stay on our way to see our son in SC. The staff was incredible and the park was beautiful. Having a gas station right next to the campground was a real convenience. I already have recommended this campground to my son and my wife and I hope to visit again soon.
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We were very pleased with the kampground and will definitely stay at other KOA kamps.
Jul 10, 2015
Awsome stay as always didnt want to leave very friendly people and good people be back in the fall of 2016
Jul 10, 2015
Desperately need another bathhouse, closer to cabins. Two too close together. A bit pricey. Excellent cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Very much on top of things.
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was really clean. And the staff was helpful and answered all of our questions.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.