Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Oct 23, 2013
Will be back in November.
Oct 23, 2013
High prices for everything including the wet firewood. Very un-level campsite.
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
My only complaint with Townsend KOA is price, period!
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Me and my sister stayed for two nights in cabin. We loved the extras in ur camping cabin.....tv, good mattress, fridge. We've stayed at other Koa's and they did not compare to your camping cabin. The grounds and facilities were top notch and everyone very friendly. When we head to smokey mts again we will definitely be back.
Oct 21, 2013
We love staying at your campground. The only complaint, if I had one would be that the sites in the middle area or sooo close together. It would be nice to have more room. It is great if you are in a group, but otherwise too close.
Oct 21, 2013
Our Stay Was GREAT As Usual!! By Far One Of Our Favorite Places To Kamp!!!
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
this was our second time staying at this koa and we could not be any more pleased and satisfied. it is clean and quiet and the kabins are just right for us
Oct 21, 2013
You couldn't put together a more gracious and friendly staff! The new playground is awesome--my kids loved it! As always, we had a wonderful stay.
Oct 21, 2013
We have really enjoyed our (2) stays at the campground so much we have booked again for a third stay!
Oct 21, 2013
We love coming to the Townsend KOA!
Oct 21, 2013
We will be back.
Oct 21, 2013
Great place to stay with kids.My Grandson loved it.
Oct 21, 2013
Very nice people, very clean campground. Spaces are a bit tight and children's play area gets taken over by teens. Over all it is a very nice stay.
Oct 21, 2013
Really enjoyed the stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. The campground was very clean and neat.
Oct 21, 2013
We had to move around to get a weeks stay due to the Smokey closing. they went out of the way to fit us in. 4:30 AM trash pick up was an early morning wake up call. People are great and sites good to outstanding. too much smoke on my site from my neighbors fire pit. fire pits too close for an RV
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
Nice visit, very clean, and excellent customer attention
Oct 20, 2013
loved every moment
Oct 20, 2013
Great location to Great Smoky Mountain National Park, restaurants, recreational trail and Smoky Mountain Heritage Center. Right on the river. Great playground for kids. Nice campstore with groceries, souviners and t shirts. The also have a cute snack cafe with homemade fudge. Our one room cabin had a refrigator and TV and heater. Great place to stay if you want to hike in the Smoky Mountains!
Oct 20, 2013
Our stay at your campground was very pleasant. We have stayed there before and we would stay there again.
Oct 20, 2013
It's simple. Clean. Cozy. Tightly managed. But, fun. Our tent site was great @ 129. Next time, 126 right on the river it is! Townsend is our speed. So is this cool, little, well maintained kampground. We will be back & many other KOAs just opened up to this family. Thanks!
Oct 20, 2013
A quick two day stay in a cabin with a bathroom.. Very pleased. The grill was even clean.. The cabin was very clean and was very comfortable...
Oct 20, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
We were so excited about our stay, but sadly didn't get to stay. Our child got very sick and we had to leave that night to go get him from his grandma. The office had already closed so we just dropped off our cabin key and left. Lost $100 and some odd cents on a night we didn't get to have. We will def return to try it again sometime though. It seemed like an amazing place
Oct 19, 2013
Our favorite campground. They are always upgrading! The new playground is awesome! Friendly staff, and everything is always clean. Can't wait for next years visit! Thanks
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Friendly staff and very clean facilities, sites were well maintained
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
My whole family had an awesome time. I've been coming to this campground since I was a kid and I hope to bring my kids for many more!
Oct 18, 2013
It was fantastic, beautiful, clean, quiet,
Oct 18, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Campground and people are nice. Bathhouse is nice. way overpriced. Stay At River Plantation in Seiverville for have the price. People are very nice bathhouse just as nice and more activities for all campers.
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Good time and great staff. Didn't like how cramped sites are. We are used to government sites where there is more room between campers.
Oct 16, 2013
KOA staff at front desk were not friendly at all. Will be looking for other places to stay next year!
Oct 16, 2013
Making the reservation, The lady was hateful & to pushy on the discount card. Loved the new landscaping, but would have preferred the showers updated. They are almost to bad to shower in. And the bathroom was barely cleaned, not like it use to bE. We have always passed on how clean the bathrooms were, we just can't do that now. The trash was heaping over the whole time. Not worth the high charge!
Oct 15, 2013
We LOVE the KOA at Townsend, TN. We especially love the cleanliness, the helpfulness of the employees, and the great memories that we create there!
Oct 15, 2013
Had a great time again !
Oct 15, 2013
In all the campgrounds we've have the privilege of using, none have been better than the Townsend KOA! It's a repeat destination for us without exception.
Oct 15, 2013
We really enjoyed the experience! Perfect location for the entire family, and for all ages. There's something at the camp ground and nearby for everybody. We were welcomed by the staff the second we drove onto the camp grounds. Our cabin was great and like new,...very clean(!). Thank you! We'll be back!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
We had a family reunion and rented in total 2 deluxe cabins, one water/electric camper site and one tent site by the river. All was great but it was very crowded. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great weekend.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.