Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2014
Awesome place to stay! We parked on Sunday night in front of our cabin and did not start the truck until we left. Plenty of things to do and great service. We will be back again.
Jul 06, 2014
Clean, friendly staff, beautiful site!
Jul 05, 2014
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN was a great vacation. The Deluxe cabin was just perfect for the 4 of us. Love the river stream just outside the cabin very relaxing and peaceful. Great staff, very clean camp grounds. Great family time and making memories that we will cherish a lifetime. Thanks KOA Townsend/Great Smokies you were apart of this vacation that we will never forget!....
Jul 04, 2014
Had another great stay. This is our 3rd trip to this Koa. Our family loves it. Great staff and facility
Jul 04, 2014
Had great stay will be back.
Jul 03, 2014
Our favorite place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
The campground was very clean. We stayed in a cabin on the river. There was no lighting whatsoever to go to the showers. It was very long way to the bathroom/showers. Only Porta potties closer to the cabins. For the price of the cabin, more bathrooms should have been available closer.
Jul 02, 2014
Great destination resort. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean, lots of fun activities, great area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jul 02, 2014
This was our return visit from a 1 night stay a few weeks ago. We love the staff,love the pool, love the playground, felt very welcomed. We will be back next year. Love the day camp. We didn't get to participate this time, but we walked over and spoke with the group and loved what they are doing.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family love this KOA we stay there as often as we can . Growing up in that area it's our first choice it's always clean and kid friendly .
Jul 02, 2014
Awesome
Jul 01, 2014
We love it here! Come and stay in Townsend at KOA one time a year for a entire week with a group of friends and our kids!! Camp on river and its a good relaxing week!!!
Jul 01, 2014
always great, always friendly! Daisy up front really helped with the multiple reservations. Thanks for the fun weekend!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
In the future I will seek out a KOA with a campin' cabin....It's a great way to get the most out of visiting an area ! It sure beat sitting in a hotel looking at the Interstate in the evenings after a day of sightseeing !
Jul 01, 2014
Campground was as always, very nice. Great activities. Time to tear down the bath house and start over. It's a disgrace.
Jul 01, 2014
Perfect setting, beautiful campsite, nice facilities. We loved it there and wish we had booked longer.
Jul 01, 2014
Very friendly KOA "helpers"! They assisted in numerous ways. Our first time camping with trailer we purchased donor was learning experience but these folks are great! The grounds are kept safe & clean! Two important factors for our family. We even had two cabins!
Jul 01, 2014
All was fantastic! Cannot wait to be back!
Jun 30, 2014
AS always the KOA at Townsend was great. The camp ground was clean, easy access to every facility, and the staff from check in to check out was very friendly and helpful. I plan on going back to this KOA again and would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys camping.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Clean cabin, shady balcony with great grill and fire pit, would have preferred a more unobstructed view of the main river for the price but it was still a very nice stay and loved the sound of the water! Very friendly staff and excellent customer service!
Jun 30, 2014
Great campground with nice people that run it and work there.
Jun 30, 2014
We had the best time! We definitely will come again. Just hoping to catch a cabin open along the river next time. I can understand why they are always booked LoL! Thank you for everything, especially a young lady named Laura who helped my daughter make her tye dye shirt.
Jun 30, 2014
Our stay was almost perfect. We got to relax and enjoy the beautiful campsite. There were many things to do there, like swim, fish, site see, river raft and shop. Those are just some of what campers can do at this K O A! My family highly recommends this experience for other families.
Jun 30, 2014
The activities (tie-dye t-shirts & movies at night)only take place on Saturdays. The website is not clear about this. My grandkids were disappointed that we were not able to do these activities.
Jun 30, 2014
We had a blast! I would def stay there again. Lots of things to do for the kids!
Jun 29, 2014
I didn't like beening questioned when we requested toilet paper and trash bags. Didn't see housekeeping employees but a couple of times during our entire stay and had to go to office when we needed something. Staff/employees were not as friendly as on our previous visits. We have 4 families that have stayed at the same time for the same amount of days, we have all booked again for next year.
Jun 29, 2014
Had a great time at KOA, although the price for the Deluxe Cabin was way to expensive, around 200.00 a day is very high, can rent a whole house or condo for less than that.
Jun 29, 2014
We always enjoy staying at koa in Townsend.the site was great,the bath house was clean and showers were also.my family loves the family time at nite with charm, what a great ministry.
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facility. I thought it was a little on the expensive side for the deluxe cabin.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
The site was too small for my 34 ft fifth wheel and could not run out the slides for the trees. Had to pull rig out into road some to get slides out. Was not offered another site. No place to park truck out of road. Site was too small and they were told size when reserv. was made. The sewer hookup was a foot above ground. Crap does not flow uphill.
Jun 29, 2014
Mowed site while was camping, hit camper with rocks and trimmer got grass all over our towels and clothes that was drying. The river is great tubing. Get season pass from River Rat.
Jun 29, 2014
We had a great stay and we loved the camping cabins. The staff was friendly and campus was clean. Only problem we had was that the mattress was thin and uncomfortable. We will definitely be back.
Jun 29, 2014
We were on space 11. Bad news; On Saturday morning we had a foul septic smell enter our RV: some KOA folks were attempting to clean out a stopped septic feed on space 12. Wow it was a very bad odor as we prepared and ate breakfast. The septic overflow got on our concrete pad Hour later: problem fixed, pad hosed off, odor gone. Good news: welcome staff was 10+ assisting w/ my wife's hair n
Jun 28, 2014
Very clean and nicely landscaped campground. Good people there. We had a really nice stay. We will be back.
Jun 28, 2014
Prime location - on the beat part of he river. Great staff!!! Book early for bigger spaces. Cabins are very efficient and cute. We stayed a week in our RV and met up with friends who booked the cabin. We had no complaints!!
Jun 28, 2014
We had a very nice stay. The site was a little small, but the staff was wonderful. thank you for our great vacation.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
great location to see smokies.well away from the crowds of pigeon forge/gatlinburg. would get five stars except for numerous yapping dogs (little dogs) that owners would place outside while they were in their campers
Jun 27, 2014
Great location. Sites are tight but that's more and more common (unfortunately). Bathroom and showers were dirty whenever I used them. No hand soap available in mens room. NO AC in showers so you break out into a sweat immediately after showering. I expect more from a KOA.
Jun 27, 2014
Here are the comments from the boy scouts and adults. Fun pool, clean and roomy bathroom and showers, nice patio furniture on the electric site we had, a lot of room for the tents on the tent site, quite, and had fun at the evening activity (auction). The staff was very accommodating when I need to use an electric outlet in the office during the day so my battery pack for my CPAP would charge.
Jun 27, 2014
Pure relaxation The grounds were immaculate and the staff was great!!!
Jun 26, 2014
Our family stayed in a deluxe cabin and a campsite. Everything was clean and ready. The pool was nice and well maintained. The KOA staff members were very efficient and friendly. We'll stay here again!
Jun 25, 2014
Loved everything about our stay. We were impressed with how clean the cabins were. Had a lot of fun with the different activities - our son said it was the best vacation ever!
Jun 25, 2014
One of our issues was the pool closing at 8pm and being kicked out at 7:45. There was not a maid service to replace towels and the excuse was they didn't have enough. Not my problem! The staff's presence was lacking and when they were around, they did not take an interest in any of their guests. They acted like we should be grateful for them! Will not stay there again.
Jun 25, 2014
Overall a nice campground. Great location, clean, lots of trees. we have a 30'TT and were in the newer section adjacent to the tent camping. Backing into the site was a bit tricky but leaving was harrowing...between the trees and the rocks and narrow drive. we'd stay again but not in that section.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.