Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2015
Great facility, visited over the memorial day weekend and it was far too crowded.
May 27, 2015
Just amazing
May 27, 2015
I was great! The staff was so friendly and helpful, the campground was so clean and well maintained, and my kiss loved the activities available. I loved that there was a worship service available on Sunday morning. I love that we were able to take our little dog and that there was a fenced in area for him to play in. We will definitly stay there again!
May 27, 2015
Our stay was nice
May 27, 2015
Love the new patio sites and bathhouse! You keep raising the bar. Best campground ever!!!!
May 27, 2015
We stayed in a delux cabin on the river for 2 nights. Cabin was clean and awesome. Great location to the Park. Enjoyed the bikes, playground, campfire area and hanging at the cabin. Staff was fantastic. Our gas grill had not been cleaned in a long time. Caked up grease caused a huge fire on first use. Notified office and they sent someone right over. Great time.
May 26, 2015
This is a fabulous place but overpriced since KOA took over.
May 26, 2015
Friendly staff. Kids love this place. We stayed on campsite 14 with full hookups.
May 26, 2015
We stayed in the new sites and they were great. I like the shade tress and the size of the site was very nice, the only thing that could be better is to enforce your quite time rule. All of your staff were very nice and helpful.We already have plans to come back and stay again.
May 26, 2015
Our stay was fantasic. I wish the bathrooms were a tiny bit closer to the tent sites rather than the rv sites but Everything else was great
May 26, 2015
best campground ever !
May 26, 2015
Loved the new upgrades in bath house and pool areas. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. Thanks.
May 26, 2015
AAA+++ Rated best stay ever in my opinion. Cleanest campground I have ever visited.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Clean campground, friendly helpful staff. Great place for a getaway!
May 25, 2015
The campground was very well maintained with beautiful surroundings. The staff was helpful and friendly. The best part was the location which was very close to the park.
May 25, 2015
What a great weekend getaway. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and perfect for our family of five. The view was terrific and the location of the campground was perfect. In two days we hiked, biked, swam, paddled, and caught a movie. A simple great time for our family. Very friendly and polite staff, they always had time for a smile and a 'hello'.
May 25, 2015
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
Love the tent site on the river!
May 23, 2015
Wonderful place to stay. Peaceful and beautiful. Hope to stay there again.
May 22, 2015
This was our first stay ever at a campground and we chose this KOA and was not disappointed! Beautiful campground and a great staff! We will be back for another stay!!
May 21, 2015
Couldn't be better. We have 5 more stays booked!
May 21, 2015
We love the newly remodeled section which we stayed in. The only thing is, they didn't have cable available which we were told up front. They said they'd give a $5/night discount but we didn't receive it.
May 21, 2015
Campground was very nice.I was disappointed with our spot but I made reservations online and did not choose well.We felt very crowded. Sites were very close to each other. The area around us was beautiful and all the people at this KOA were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back but would choose a nicer site.
May 20, 2015
The park was the best I have ever been in great for kids, but still quiet for adults. The cabins were the best I have ever been in I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
May 20, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which were great and nicely equipped with all you would need. A pleasant surprise was the beautiful patio with gas grill and nice stone fireplace ring. Even though the cabins are close to each other, they have landscaped between them beautifully so you feel like you have your own privacy. I definitely will be back!
May 20, 2015
Stayed here before always nice beautiful park in beautiful location
May 20, 2015
Amazing place & very friendly staff. Have already made reservations for July.
May 20, 2015
We loved it there. Jolene loved the dog park
May 19, 2015
May 19, 2015
best campground in the world !
May 19, 2015
Sites too small. Motorcycle and other campers way too noisy. Townsend horrible destination!!
May 19, 2015
My brother and I were very impressed with everything. They had everything we could possibly want, and the place is so clean!
May 19, 2015
Our stay was very nice, everyone friendly. It would be nice if the sweet shop could offer a light breakfast,deli sandwiches, fresh fruit, etc..
May 18, 2015
The stay was fantastic.
May 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful, well kept. The facilities are squeaky clean. Wonderful time over all. Two small complaints that were not the fault of the facility, Leaf blower at 8:30 both Sat and Sun mornings. Seemed to be an individual rather than the maintenence crew at the grounds. Noisy motorcycles at 8:30 Saturday morning!!!
May 18, 2015
Had an excellent time! Will return!!
May 18, 2015
Staff was not friendly at all. Couldn't get one of them to wave all weekend. The grounds were great though. Very nice. Better staff and it would be best place in smokies.
May 18, 2015
I have stayed in a lot of KOA's over the years, from Montana all the way to Florida, and I will say that this KOA was the cleanest and best kept I've been in. The only downside is that the store leaves a little to be desired.
May 17, 2015
Our parking was limited for the length of trailer we had. The Internet reception was poor. Our view of the river was great, our lot was shaded and the shower area was excellent. We traveled with our pets and the fenced area for them was very nice.
May 17, 2015
Beautiful campsite!! Staff is very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again and absolutely recommend to family and friends.
May 17, 2015
ice at koa store was 2.78,1 mile down road same ice 1.80. my wide ask workers to allow her to look into new cabin, just wanted to see how it was layed out,was told she couldn't look in.Real friendly crowd, all must have been from up north.
May 17, 2015
WiFi Terrible But all else GREAT !
May 16, 2015
Everything was awesome!
May 15, 2015
Even tho it was a very busy weekend it was still quiet and peaceful. Renovated sites are excellent. Staff very good and friendly! Will be BACK!
May 14, 2015
The Townsend KOA is First Class campground. Best we have ever stayed in. The restroom/shower house has recently been remodeled. During our 2 week stay my only complaint was that there were no towel/clothes hooks inside the unisex shower stall. Midway of our two week stay each shower had a caddy to hold personal items and multi hook racks were being installed. The staff treated you like family.
May 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and they made our stay great!
May 14, 2015
AAA+
May 13, 2015
We love it and would stay more often if the price was cheaper. Love the area and scenery.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.