Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 03, 2014
Not our first time here, won't be our last. Great campground! Had wonderful site on the river. Quiet, relaxing, picturesque.
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Loved the cabin, location and atmosphere. Will surely stay again!
Oct 01, 2014
road to bath house with it pot holds covered with water all seven days.hope the pool get finished draining before the first freeze.
Oct 01, 2014
On Sat night a gruop of campers were loud till around 12 am and sun night some capers who rented a cabin were loud till 2 am and started a truck which was loud and then turned his lights in our tents. Management has no way of controlling their rules of no noises after 10pm.
Sep 30, 2014
This KOA is not equipped for handicapped individuals. We had to carry my husband into the deluxe cabin and I had to block the entire women's restoom to assist my husband because there are no family facilities. This KOA is great if you have no physical health issues. We can't stay here again with the current facilities.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
The grounds are kept clean and neat. The workers are friendly, courteous, and helpful. I had a personal emergency situation and they went above and beyond to summon help.
Sep 30, 2014
Nice campground and friendly people!
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
staff always extremely friendly and helpful love staying here
Sep 30, 2014
it was great, the koa people were friendly and very helpfull.also the place was very clean.
Sep 30, 2014
We love staying here except for the noises of other campers at night. There is a lot of loud parties that happen way to late into the night. Their should be some kind of quite time enforcement after 10 p.m. and security should make sure it happens.
Sep 29, 2014
We love this KOA. We have stayed here for years. We have camped many years but this last stay many of us got cabins due to my father being diagnosed with ALS "Lou Gehrig's" and unable to camp. We were sad to see none of the cabins at this KOA have handicap access. We would like to see some with ramps or unfortunately we will be forced to find somewhere to come every year.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
We stay at this KOA no less than twice a year and always enjoy our stay. We think it is one of the best KOA's anywhere.
Sep 29, 2014
Clean campgrounds. Liked the convenience of store and gas. Lots within walking distance. Very friendly staff.
Sep 29, 2014
The bath was very clean and lots of hot water everyone was friendly we loved walking by the stream and spending time in the swings
Sep 29, 2014
Great location and well-kept facilities. I'd suggest adding a smaller full bathroom on the far side of the campground.
Sep 29, 2014
The campground was well organized and easy to get into the slots. the grounds are kept clean and neat. the staff were very polite and helpful. the bath and shower facilities were great and accessible. this was my 14th time staying at this campground, and I hope to visit many more times.
Sep 29, 2014
We had a great time
Sep 29, 2014
Very pet friendly with even an enclosed run!!! Staff was so friendly and helpful. Everything so clean and well maintained.
Sep 29, 2014
Very nicely kept campground. Showers are great and family friendly. Our 4 year old loved our one room cabin.
Sep 29, 2014
My only wish is that it was cheaper to stay there. The campground was terrific with all that it offered, clean, and with friendly people.
Sep 29, 2014
close campsites beautiful location
Sep 29, 2014
My 1st impression was fantastic, check in smooth. The campground was very packed , rules were not followed or enforced. Namely Pet & Alcohol & Quiet time rules Staff members drove golf carts very fast &I felt it was dangerous & disrespectful . I had very high hopes & was excited to get a spot but will not be back or recommend thur campground to anyone
Sep 29, 2014
We had a great time during our stay at the KOA Kampground in Townsend. The people were very friendly and helpful. The campsite was very nice and roomy. Our 5 year old loved the playground. The bathhouse was clean and in good working order. We will definitely be back to stay again.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
We really enjoyed our camp site. My three year old granddaughter really enjoyed the playground. The only complaint I have is that a few of the dog owners didn't pick up their dog's waste, therefore we had to watch our step, and one night we didn't get any sleep due to the dog next door barking all night.
Sep 28, 2014
Nicest campground we've stayed in. Loved the enclosed pet area. Very friendly helpful staff!!!!
Sep 27, 2014
We had fun great location nice campground clean and really friendly employees,the only downside was wifi was sporadic other that that it was great.
Sep 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay..it was so quite there. we went over to galtinburg and it is so nice to come back home to peace. The only thing I wished there was more shower houses closer to the cabins... but we did great.. thank you so much.. we will be back.
Sep 25, 2014
Very impressed with the clean well equiped cabin.All of the staff could not have been more helpful. Hope to come again.
Sep 25, 2014
we enjoyed our stay and will come back and visit again sometime. The only thing I would suggest is putting more signs on the highway so we can find it. It was a little hard to find we got lost twice. The Google instruction are not correct.
Sep 24, 2014
The campground was hard to enter. The drive was blocked by RV's checking in several times we tried to enter the campground.Also the camping spots are very close together.
Sep 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay while at townsend KOA. The only problem we had was that a staff directed us to a campsite when we checked in and the following morning we were told we needed to move to the correct one. After discussing further they let us stay but it was quite frustrating. Other than that it was a great trip.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 24, 2014
staff very friendly & helpful. campground clean. quiet area. lots of things to do in area.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Rude lady in office said I could not rent two or three campsites , not someone I would want at my business. ,
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
gs family camp weekend staff friendly and helpful
Sep 22, 2014
We had a great trip. There was only one little issue that really does not matter to us but maybe your next guess. The cable connection was poor quality. We had our grand baby boy with us for the first and he had a blast. Your staff as always was really nice and helpful. Thanks for your hospitality looking forward to our next stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.