Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 09, 2015
Only a couple of complaints about the cabin we stayed in: the shower did not drain good at all and the TV is on wrong side of room, you cannot lay in bed and watch TV at all. Would be nice if it was moved to other wall so it could be watched in bed.
Apr 08, 2015
Love the area but the prices for this place especially during summer is ridiculous these sites are very narrow hardly any room between you and your neighbor.
Apr 08, 2015
Great cabins, great service, beautiful setting. Loved it!
Apr 07, 2015
Awesome
Apr 07, 2015
The campground is beautiful and the staff is great.
Apr 07, 2015
Absolutely fabulous! Loved it!
Apr 07, 2015
My granddaughter and I love staying up there! This has been my choice for camping for over 15 years. Very friendly and helpful management and ground crew are the best!
Apr 07, 2015
Our family has been coming to the campground every year for 5 years. It is not too big, not too small, and in a beautiful spot next to the Smokies alongside a mountain river. We've stayed in the cabins off river, on river, and the deluxe cabins. We just came back from Easter egg hunting there. We love to ride over to Cades Cove, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It's the best!
Apr 06, 2015
We loved the KOA in Townsend! Can't wait to return!!
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice campground. Well Kept. Dissappointed the cable was out and the central bath house was not open due to remodeling.
Apr 06, 2015
Great as always even though cable TV service was not available during our stay. We have been camping here multiple times a year for over 25 years and plan to continue to do so for many more years to come.
Apr 06, 2015
We had a wonderful Easter weekend and the egg hunt for the kids was great. The Easter bunny was an excellent addition to the whole weekend
Apr 06, 2015
It's a very nice campground! I have been going here since I was a child and now my husband and I go. The only negative for this particular stay was the water in the shower was cold. It was freezing outside and then the water in the shower was cold. I don't know what was wrong but that wasn't fun.
Apr 06, 2015
very nice place and very professionally run. We will definitely be back!
Apr 06, 2015
The best campground in the Townsend by area by far. Many new upgrades and an always extremely clean facility. Bathrooms are always squeaky clean. Price is a premium, but the value is there, and that makes it worth it for my family and i. I would recommend it to anyone. Last but not least, the staff is one of a kind awesome, and today that is the difference maker in any business.
Apr 05, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Great weather and very pet friendly. We will be back soon!
Apr 05, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and one employee even dug into storage to get some water shoes for my boys (it was suddenly warm over spring break), which we REALLY needed to buy. Thanks KOA, we will be back!
Apr 03, 2015
All in all great KOA. Improvements are being made (new landscaping & updated bathhouse) Only issues were 1) we called 2 weeks out to adjust stay and were told there were no spots available to arrive early while our whole stay there were spots available 2)we were placed next to the bathhouse that was under renovation. While work didn't start till 8:30 the constant noise of work/radio was offputting
Apr 03, 2015
By far the best campground! Have stayed numerous times throughout the years and it is always very clean and well kept. :))
Apr 03, 2015
Awesome KOA, we stayed in a site right in the river and my kids loved that. There isn't a bad site here. They were redoing bathrooms and showers so the only ones where a little father than I liked but once the other one is done it will be fine. Great playground too!!
Apr 03, 2015
Good stay, just they were working on the main bathrooms
Apr 02, 2015
Great place to stay on the quiet side
Apr 02, 2015
It is always a pleasure to stay at this KOA.
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Our stay was great. Our only complaint would be staff not enforcing the no dogs in playground rule and not asking parents to watch their children around office and playground on bikes etc.
Apr 02, 2015
Love this spot, a hidden gem, and will as before be back again
Apr 01, 2015
Very clean and comfortable cabins in a great location. Good for a quick weekend getaway or an extended stay. Hope to be back soon. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi wouldn't pick up in the cabin at all. We didn't spend too much time inside during the day but it would have been nice to have at night before bed as the cable was out during our stay
Apr 01, 2015
First time renting a cabin usually stay in rv, but was a quick trip with grandsons, they had a great time.
Apr 01, 2015
Newly renovated sites..nice people.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Our favorite campground in all of Tennessee! Beautiful sites & ├╝ber friendly staff...I highly recommend a week here!! (Literally right outside the gates of Smoky Mtn. National Park)
Mar 28, 2015
Mar 28, 2015
Beautiful campground in a great setting! Our site backed to the river (with our own little deck). The staff was awesome. The only (extremely minor) downside was that the sites were kind of close. This absolutely didn't affect our stay, though. We had a great time, and may find our way back if we have a few extra days in the summer.
Mar 27, 2015
Love it!!! We had an amazing vacation. The KOA Townsend is awesome. Very clean and well manicured. The employees are friendly and accomdating. Southern hospitality at its best.
Mar 27, 2015
The camp ground was great. The employees were very friendly and helpful. They even helped us back into our site! I gave it 4 stars because the showers were not Cleaned daily.
Mar 26, 2015
The studio cabin was beautiful. Nice location . Will be back when I can stay longer.
Mar 25, 2015
We had a wonderful stay and the entire staff were so helpful and kind! Beautiful improvements being made to the campground too!
Mar 25, 2015
We love Koa in Townsend! We tell everyone about it. We gave our kids the option of the beach for the weekend, or to camp at Koa. They chose camping! There is so much for them to do!
Mar 24, 2015
This was the first time we have stayed at a KOA. It was fantastic. Super clean, and the people we wonderful. We had forgotten some items and they were more than accommodating to us. We couldn't have aske for a better campground. Will recommend to family and friends.
Mar 24, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time and enjoyed the new updates. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Mar 23, 2015
My kids love the playground. Friendly staff. The dog park is a big hit. Safe campground were you feel safe to let kids have some freedom.
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 22, 2015
Our stay for the most part was great! The weather was awesome! We only had a couple of inconveniences that weren't really a problem....the main bath house was being remodeled so the entire camp had to use the small one behind the office and the cable TV was out.
Mar 21, 2015
Helpful, curtious.
Mar 21, 2015
Pour stay at KOA went really well. The campground was very clean and well kept. Staff there was extremely nice and very courteous . They go out of their way to make sure your stay is going well. We stayed in one of the small cabins at the site and it was nice and clean and everything was in working order. Our only complaint is the mattresses in our cabin were not comfortable at all.
Mar 21, 2015
Awesome! Kid friendly,clean, safe, staff extremely nice. Would recommend to everyone.
Mar 21, 2015
This was our 4th time staying at the KOA Townsend and we always love it! After staying in the deluxe cabins, it'll be hard to ever stay in a camping cabin again. :) Thank you all for being a wonderful campground and we always recommend you to our friends and family. Many blessings to you all!
Mar 20, 2015
Loved the friendly, helpful staff. Loved our site right on the river also next to a grassy area. Nice playground and bathhouse.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.