Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Basic expecations not met. Based on the premium summer rates, I would expect the central bathroom to be cleaned more often based on usage or condition. The showers needed a good deep cleaning. Many of the camping spots are on top of one another. Only a few employees acknowledged their guests. They are not focused on the customer.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
A great place to stay away from the high paced lifestyle close by. A diamond in the rough.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Everything was fantastic! We will be back with the family! Thanks KOA
Jul 21, 2014
would like for you to consider leaving the pool open later in the summer. by the time everyone gets back to the campground from doing activites it is always after 9pm so the kids don't get to enjoy the pool. may consider closing it around 11pm in warm summer months. thanks.
Jul 21, 2014
We really loved the facilities and location, and will likely come back again. There was only one, big negative. Our non-smoking cabin smelled really strongly of cigarette smoke, and because they were fully booked, we couldn't be relocated. While we left the windows open the whole time, and it seemed to get better, I had to wash our laundry twice to get rid of the smell when we returned. Gross.
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed during a horrible rain storm. Then had a rescue crew take over our camp site for two hours. Interesting to watch, but not very relaxing.
Jul 20, 2014
Gravel site was great considering the rainy weather.
Jul 20, 2014
This was our second stay at Townsend and couldn't have been happier with Kabin, the site, and the staff. The location is beautiful and convenient to the national park without the crowds.
Jul 20, 2014
Kampground in beautiful area (with lots to do) - plenty of staff to help with any problem. Bath & showers kept clean. Lots of small sites make for crowded campground. Bingo night turned out to be proselytizing bible thumpers - should have been warned. Overall though - pleasant.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
I have found TN to be so un-dog friendly I travel with a service dog and this was the only one in TN that allowed us knowing a service dog was in tow and when told it did not matter...it was the only one I found in TN "Dog Friendly",a fee for clean up ($20)when even told it was a service animal...airlines are not even allowed to do that...I will contact KOA HQ on this matter. I won't stay in TN.
Jul 19, 2014
Loved it! Will be back.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
My family loves to stay here! We love the clean bath houses and friendly employees. We've been numerous times and have loved every trip!
Jul 18, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed out stay in Space 86. Especially enjoyed the ministries that had Bible School for our kiddos. They were wonderful! Also enjoyed the improvements you have made to the area we were in....the privacy bushes, etc. it is really nice, and helped make our visit enjoyable. Thanks again!
Jul 17, 2014
While in the campground office, I overheard a conversation that concerned me: a woman with an Eastern Europe accent entered the office; she was told there were no sites available. The woman said, "I just saw on the website that there are sites available." She was asked, "Do you want one on the river?" She said yes. She was told none avail. on the river. River site 121 was avail.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We enjoyed camping close to the river! The grandchildren really enjoyed the day camp and we had a blast with Family nite activities. The camp site was clean and well laid out. I wish that there was a building with flush toilets where they had the portable toilets.Better than nothing for the tent campers.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We started our camping experience when our kids were young. This year our little blessing, our grandchild, came with us to experience the beauty and tranquility of this KOA campground. The cabin accommodations were spacious and the fellowship with our immediate neighbors and staff was refreshing. This KOA location will nurture family ties while appreciating the beauty that encapsulates each site
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The people at this facility were very helpful with all parts of our visit and made our familiy's stay in Townsend very memorable.
Jul 14, 2014
this park is not built for RV's 40' plus, great for short RV's and campers/tents. Thanks to Jimbo for watching our dog during a medical emergency.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at cabin #15. We were only scheduled to stay Monday thru Friday, but had so much fun that we wanted to stay until Saturday. The office staff went above and beyond to make it possible for us to stay another night :)
Jul 13, 2014
Always the best.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Campground staff always great, site 13 where we stayed had a sewer pipe up about 8 inches from ground which made it hard to empty waste water and other, all others I saw were level with ground and our site needed gravel, when it rained we were in the mud. And these sites were the most expensive on river, balcony, full hookup. Otherwise good camping.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We always have a great time at the KOA in Townsend and looking forward to many more...THANKS!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
It was just a little noisier than usual this time. Kids out running around being loud after dusk and the leaf blower early in the morning kind of took away the peaceful part of our stay.
Jul 11, 2014
Everything is great..The prices are getting so high that you can almost stay in a nice hotel for the same price...
Jul 11, 2014
We have stayed at the Townsend KOA for 5 straight years now. My children especially enjoy the summer camp and family night activities offered at the campground. The location is perfect for the outdoor activities we enjoy around the Cades Cove area.
Jul 09, 2014
It was a wonderful stay! I do wish the pool stayed open a little later for the kids. Most places we stay at the pool stays open until at least 10. Thank you! Awesome staff awesome stay!
Jul 09, 2014
Great location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful campground with excellent facilities. We'll definitely go back!
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
The campground is well maintained and very convenient to all of the Smoky Mountain attractions in the national park.
Jul 07, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the mattress on the bed in the Cabin is too hard.
Jul 06, 2014
The staff was friendly and the cabin was immaculate. Would visit the Townsend, TN KOA Kampground again and reccommend to others.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.