Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2014
People were not friendly. Sights to close together to where slide outs are on next persons sight. Was not a pleasant experience at all
Jun 13, 2014
Staff was very helpful friendly. They alerted us to bad weather approaching. I will stay here the next time.
Jun 13, 2014
Another great stay even if it was rainy.
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Our second extended stay here. Met our needs. Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
Although the sites were a little small and close together, we had a great time. Our site backed up to the river. The campground had all the necessities and more!
Jun 12, 2014
This is the first time my family had been camping together. We absolutely loved the cabin, the grounds and the activities! The staff were so friendly and helpful and the campground was very clean! It was so peaceful and relaxing, and wonderful to spend quality time together as a family. Seeing the Bald Eagle swoop down the river was an extra bonus! We are planning to come back next year!
Jun 12, 2014
The cabin was very nice but we found mounds of dog hair on the sleeper sofa matress in what we had booked a no pet cabin. The campground was great all around. Staff were great also. We were a little dissappointed we thought the cabin had access to the river but we still had a good time.
Jun 12, 2014
Not up to par as other koa parks we have camped at,
Jun 12, 2014
My wife and I stayed in one of the Deluxe Cabins, it was perfect! The staff was friendly, helpful, and there was always someone around! Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
I was very pleased with the cabin. It was quiet, clean and everything worked, TV, AC, Heat, and plumbing. The cabin is small but I knew that going in. The outdoor layout was nice with a bit of privacy with small trees placed so you could sit outside without feeling like everyone was watching you. We will try to be back soon.
Jun 11, 2014
Your campground and the scenery in and around it are stunningly beautiful! Yesterday morning, my husband and I were fortunate enough to see a bald eagle going up the river, and then later on, return back down the river. We had a river front site and truly could have just spent our time watching the river go by! You truly are on the "Peaceful Side of the Smokies." We'll be back!
Jun 11, 2014
Very noisy place to stay. The road noise and people seem to drive thru the campground all night. Beware of the church people harassing you to come to their stupid activities that they're allowed to have on site. Also cramped camper sites.
Jun 11, 2014
Deluxe cabin exceeded our expectations, filled with many well-thought-out amenities.
Jun 11, 2014
The Price is kind of high at $67+. Cable is a joke. Rainy days and nighttime campers do watch tv so more channels are needed.
Jun 10, 2014
staff gave out our name to campers wanting our future reservations. was treated like strangers and trespassers after checking out and returning to drop off registered guest to thier campsite.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Fantastic, great area, clean, and friendly
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Great campground, wonderful playground and pool. I only gave it 4 stars because the bathrooms were dirty and the pool hours were too short, it opens from 10 am - 800 pm... TOO early to close in the summer
Jun 09, 2014
So good, my wife asked that we make another reservation ASAP!
Jun 09, 2014
Great stay. Couldn't ask for much better.
Jun 09, 2014
Beautiful and peaceful KOA nestled beside the river. Friendly staff that are quick to go above and beyond helping you out.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time, but would love to have better mattresses. The beds are so uncomfortable, but the fun made up for it.
Jun 09, 2014
The 1 is for the playground. The 0 is for lack of parking beside our camper, for the very crowded conditions and for the high cost of a site. Has some excellent features but it is all so bunched up that we were constantly watching so not to run into people, bikes and our neighbor's hookup and pullout!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Very friendly staff. A safe and secure campground. Clean and well maintained.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
loved it.
Jun 07, 2014
Well kept up park. However, it is very tight for big rigs at the pull thru sites. We had considerable trouble getting out of our assigned (59) site to depart.
Jun 07, 2014
We loved our quaint camping cabin right on the river!
Jun 07, 2014
Wonderful location as well as staff - we couldn't be happier
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
Wonderfully helpful employees, clean facilities, nice sites and beautiful grounds.
Jun 05, 2014
It was great. I think you need more bathrooms and showers, they were always full.
Jun 05, 2014
Wonderful!!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Beautiful campground! We had a blast while staying here....best place in town. The staff are the most caring and friendly people....amazing people!!
Jun 03, 2014
We were in a deluxe cabin. It was fully furnished all the way down to the soap and shampoo in the shower. Had brand new grills. Lots of improvements had been made since my last stay. I thought it could not get any better but you did a wonderful job at the pool,river,and play area!!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Pleasant stay. However, for a company owned KOA, doesn't seem to do anything to support kids care.
Jun 03, 2014
My wife and I both enjoyed our stay! The campground manager and his staff made our stay just great, after learning about us blowing a tire on our trip to the campground, the manager gave us a free night. This was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated!
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
We had an amazing time. It was relaxing and fun. We will be back.
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
This is the nicest KOA PERIOD! Located right next to the Little River, VERY CLEAN, nice pool, GREAT PLAYGROUND for the kids, activities and a mile from the Great Smokey Mountain National Park.
Jun 02, 2014
We just bought our camper and this was our first time out in it. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back.Very kid friendly.
Jun 02, 2014
the bathroom and showers were very clean and everyone was very friendly

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.