Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2014
Wonderful stay, Great Hosts, stores close for convience and running, biking sidewalks.
Oct 11, 2014
Our first time at koa. More than we were used to paying to camp but well worth it. Very nice bath house and well kept campground. Quiet, very peacefull.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Grandchildren enjoyed the playground, the showers and rest room were always clean. but the sites are to close together.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
All the staff is so helpful and friendly, I appreciate the help with getting our canopy out. Love the care of the trees and landscapng
Oct 11, 2014
love this campground, staff went above and beyond to make our stay a great experience
Oct 10, 2014
Staff was wonderful and were very helpful.Picnic tables were awful.. tripped over legs all the time
Oct 10, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Wanted something close to the Nat'l Park.
Oct 08, 2014
My husband wished the fishing in the river could have been better(dont think they stocked the river). Our campsite #52 was a little tight-wish campsites were further apart & had more space to park cars. Facilities were very clean.
Oct 08, 2014
I have been coming to the KOA for many years. The employees are always very friendly and nice however the sites need a little upkeep done. For the price we paid, I should never have to walk in mud around my camper. It should either be grass, rocks, or mulched.
Oct 08, 2014
staff all extremely friendly and helpful always are all of them
Oct 08, 2014
Our stay was fantastic the only concern that we have is for parking we were at site 129 and there was no place to park our vehicle except in the road that went around the campground other than that we had a fabulous time and thank you and yes we will recommend to family and friends the KOA thank you again
Oct 08, 2014
Clean bathrooms and showers, beautiful creek-side tent sites, convenient location with nearby camp stores but not too busy/noisy.
Oct 08, 2014
Nice quiet weekend away. Clean comfortable cabin with great amenities
Oct 08, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. We had a large sight by the water. Very nice.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
We had a very nice time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Justin. We appreciated his help so much especially since it was our first time out in a trailer
Oct 06, 2014
Had an easily accessed site, big enough for a 42 foot MH. Staff was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the CG was very pleasant with the fall colors beginning to appear, the abundant children and families, lots of campfires. We enjoyed our stay.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Best KOA ever! Awesome playground for kids, beautiful sites, and the friendliest most helpful staff! We will go there again.
Oct 06, 2014
Had a great time like always in Townsend. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Oct 06, 2014
We loved everything about our stay. This is our 3rd time staying in the Deluxe Cabins. The only complaint I have is the comfort of the beds. They are not comfortable at all. I am not a picky person at all and can deal with just about anything, but the bed was horrible. Very clean, very nice staff, loved the scenery, staff always willing to help, pet friendly. Please get better beds. Thank you
Oct 05, 2014
Deluxe Cabin was clean and office personal were efficient and friendly. Love the campsite. Returning in the spring.
Oct 05, 2014
very clean,quiet, and friendly campground...perfect for what my wife and I wanted to do...great location..Definitey a re-do
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Stayed there with my 2 buddies (3 motorcycles) on a recent motorcycle tour. We arrived late, picked a site and stayed 2 nights. Campground was great, our site was dynamite, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I am a KOA member and will stay at this site again if I'm in the area.
Oct 04, 2014
It was very nice campground but the sites are a little close together. The cabins are really a nice way to stay in the campground without having a camper. Wish they would make some of the cabins handicap accessible as this was an issue for a gentleman in our party and it was difficult for him to get in and out of the cabin.
Oct 04, 2014
What a beautiful place to camp! The employees were so kind and helpful. We didn't want to leave!
Oct 04, 2014
The best of the best. We come back every year and would not think of staying else where. Mark, Samantha and the staff are the very best. We have been coming every spring for many years and this was the first fall trip.
Oct 03, 2014
Beautiful location. Great people. Camp sites too close together.
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 03, 2014
don't like only one sink in deluxe cabin to wash dishes in and brush your teeth in not sanitary to me not handicap friendly in any way very friendly staff plenty of linens and pillows our first stay in deluxe cabin after selling our rv not sure if we will tackle this again may have to find other accomdations that are more suitable for us as my husband is disabled
Oct 03, 2014
The area is friendly, along with all of the employees of KOA. We wanted to stay longer---therefore we'll back. It's always great to vacation in the south, and we're only six hours from there, in Ga. Thank you very much, The Ragsrv family.
Oct 03, 2014
Not our first time here, won't be our last. Great campground! Had wonderful site on the river. Quiet, relaxing, picturesque.
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Loved the cabin, location and atmosphere. Will surely stay again!
Oct 01, 2014
road to bath house with it pot holds covered with water all seven days.hope the pool get finished draining before the first freeze.
Oct 01, 2014
On Sat night a gruop of campers were loud till around 12 am and sun night some capers who rented a cabin were loud till 2 am and started a truck which was loud and then turned his lights in our tents. Management has no way of controlling their rules of no noises after 10pm.
Sep 30, 2014
This KOA is not equipped for handicapped individuals. We had to carry my husband into the deluxe cabin and I had to block the entire women's restoom to assist my husband because there are no family facilities. This KOA is great if you have no physical health issues. We can't stay here again with the current facilities.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
The grounds are kept clean and neat. The workers are friendly, courteous, and helpful. I had a personal emergency situation and they went above and beyond to summon help.
Sep 30, 2014
Nice campground and friendly people!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.