Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
The showers could use a little more upkeep. The campground is GREAT! Staff friendly and helpful. Deluxe patio sites and really nice.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff were the best I've ever met! Our experience was extraordinary!
Jul 13, 2015
We really enjoyed it it was the 1st time my children camped! Your staff was really nice too they made us feel really welcomed! I will be def come back next time we camp thank u all so much!
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. Woke up at 12:30am by somebody playing their radio. I heard the music until 1 or 1:30am. I couldn't find a number to call and report the music on any of the documentation given to me upon check-in. KOA should do a better job to inform the campers of who and how to contact someone when something happens through the night. Should also do a better job of enforcing quiet time.
Jul 12, 2015
Loved it! We will stay here the next time we visit.
Jul 12, 2015
Excellent facility!! We already booked our next visit. Highly recommend this campground!
Jul 12, 2015
Clean beautiful setting friendly staff lots to do. My grandson 8 loved it too. Thanks for offering the programs and convenient tubing. Will be back
Jul 12, 2015
.
Jul 12, 2015
Our family had a wonderful time. We plan on going back in the fall. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2015
wonderful see you all next year
Jul 11, 2015
Portable restrooms got very full over the holiday. Sanitizer ran out very early and was not replaced in 4 days. Primary showers are awesome.
Jul 11, 2015
This was the cleanest and most friendly KOA we have ever stayed at. Our site was great. The only thing that bothered us is the restaurant hours. We never got to eat there in 3 days. We got up too early for breakfast and ate too late for dinner. The hours open were terrible
Jul 11, 2015
this is a very friendly KOA. It is our second year to stay here. 1 mile from the Smokies Park entrance but 30-40 mins from Gatlinburg. Townsend has a great BBQ place called Smoking Joes we found on this last trip.
Jul 11, 2015
I host a camp for children each year and this was my 2nd year using Townsend KOA. I had five children ranging in ages from 6-10 and this campground is perfect! The staff are wonderful and so helpful. CAMPGigi2015 was a huge success! Thank you KOA and North Cleveland Baptist Church for your backyard bible school.
Jul 11, 2015
Had a great two night stay on our way to see our son in SC. The staff was incredible and the park was beautiful. Having a gas station right next to the campground was a real convenience. I already have recommended this campground to my son and my wife and I hope to visit again soon.
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We were very pleased with the kampground and will definitely stay at other KOA kamps.
Jul 10, 2015
Awsome stay as always didnt want to leave very friendly people and good people be back in the fall of 2016
Jul 10, 2015
Desperately need another bathhouse, closer to cabins. Two too close together. A bit pricey. Excellent cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Very much on top of things.
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was really clean. And the staff was helpful and answered all of our questions.
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful campground. Had a wonderful stay. Our sons 16,14, and 7 had a blast. So plenty to do for different ages. Our 7 year old really enjoyed the morning children's group activities. Our older boys enjoyed the kayaking, swimming, and fishing. And all of us loved the campground. We will be back.
Jul 09, 2015
Great location! Fast and friendly check in. Extremely clean facilities. We lived our little cabin. Very clean and well appointed for a campground. We wished we could've stayed longer!
Jul 09, 2015
From the time we pulled in until the time we had to depart we felt like we were staying with friends! Great staff!Very clean. Fun kid activities! We made reservations for next summer!
Jul 08, 2015
Your prices are way to high we have been staying at this camp ground over 25 years before u ever bought it but your rates are out rageous and you are forcing our family and five others we camp woth to find another place Our daugheter and hisband and boys; our son and his wife and boy; our fried and his wife ; his son wife and three girls; our cousin and his family Other Koas are half this
Jul 08, 2015
always a fun time. nice and clean. will be back
Jul 08, 2015
Great place, clean, happy, and well managed! Minor issue: Would like to see the WiFi extend out further into the campground for a more stable connection as you can't get a cell signal in the campground.
Jul 08, 2015
Always smiling faces, clean cabins, manicured grounds, and fun activities. Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
Will be back again!!
Jul 07, 2015
Love the campground and the staff however prices have been raised quite a bit. Also a suggestion - make sites 14 and 15 into one site. Very difficult to park one vehicle on each site. We were delayed an hour when leaving because the people next to us were gone and we cannot get our camper out. Very frustrating.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time. We were a little disappointed in our site being very muddy with all the rain, but overall things were good. We've already made reservations for next July 4th.
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome accommodations and very friendly staff. We are looking forward to our next camping trip.
Jul 07, 2015
Only complaint is the expense. For the price (160$), our family could have stayed at a much nicer place with more amenities. This KOA is a campground, not a resort.
Jul 07, 2015
The people and the location were great , however the deluxe cabin could use a better cleaning , the floors and mattresses were dirty and ants were a problem.
Jul 07, 2015
Lovely lady at the front desk who was kind enough to take the time to help us extend our stay over the busy holiday weekend (Mickey/daisy) The pool area was clean and the restrooms were very nice. Loved the patios and fire pits. Somewhere we picked up poison ivy but not sure exactly where. Very quiet campground. Loved all the kid activities, the youth group there was fun to work with over the four
Jul 06, 2015
Nice clean place, a bit close together and pricey but lIke the new sewer and fire pits.
Jul 06, 2015
Great sites! Some of the staff is friendly!
Jul 06, 2015
Even with the rain!! We had an awesome time as always!
Jul 06, 2015
we had a perfect weekend the rain didn't ruin it and everybody that work there.were extra nice,also that our favorite camp ground it so peace there
Jul 06, 2015
The friendliness of staff was most appreciated.
Jul 06, 2015
I was impressed with the updates given to some of the spots. There was a storm one of the nights we were there, our awning broke and covered up the door. As we were finally getting out the KOA workers were right there to help us in any way. All through the day they asked if they could help us in any way. Really appreciated the way they took care of us.
Jul 06, 2015
great
Jul 06, 2015
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great amenities. The only negative is the campsites are so close together.
Jul 05, 2015
We look forward to our stay at this campground every year! BEAUTIFULLY maintained and in just the right location to access the Great Smokey Mountains. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly, highly recommend!
Jul 04, 2015
terrible
Jul 03, 2015
DC5 didn't have a burner on grill,family in DC6 let us use their burner when they wasn"t using.cabin is over priced with not having a cooktop of any kind
Jul 03, 2015
We had a great time!!! Thanks for the mirror in the cabin, and TV is helpful for those rainy nights!!
Jul 03, 2015
We've camped here numerous times. While I appreciate the new upgrades, I don't necessarily live them. The fire pits are now too deep to allow adequate oxygen for a good campfire. Also, the sites are much tighter. Our fire pit was 18" from our neighbor's septic hookup.
Jul 03, 2015
We loved the KOA first time ever staying in one ! Will go back,
Jul 03, 2015
Enjoyed everyone was friendly staff and guests. Was clean and sites were attractive.
Jul 02, 2015
Nowhere else as good to stay for the GSM experience!!! Wonderful staff, clean facilities, & natural beauty (yet close enough to the conveniences of restaurants & stores)! Love this place!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.