Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2014
Great location. Sites are tight but that's more and more common (unfortunately). Bathroom and showers were dirty whenever I used them. No hand soap available in mens room. NO AC in showers so you break out into a sweat immediately after showering. I expect more from a KOA.
Jun 27, 2014
Here are the comments from the boy scouts and adults. Fun pool, clean and roomy bathroom and showers, nice patio furniture on the electric site we had, a lot of room for the tents on the tent site, quite, and had fun at the evening activity (auction). The staff was very accommodating when I need to use an electric outlet in the office during the day so my battery pack for my CPAP would charge.
Jun 27, 2014
Pure relaxation The grounds were immaculate and the staff was great!!!
Jun 26, 2014
Our family stayed in a deluxe cabin and a campsite. Everything was clean and ready. The pool was nice and well maintained. The KOA staff members were very efficient and friendly. We'll stay here again!
Jun 25, 2014
Loved everything about our stay. We were impressed with how clean the cabins were. Had a lot of fun with the different activities - our son said it was the best vacation ever!
Jun 25, 2014
One of our issues was the pool closing at 8pm and being kicked out at 7:45. There was not a maid service to replace towels and the excuse was they didn't have enough. Not my problem! The staff's presence was lacking and when they were around, they did not take an interest in any of their guests. They acted like we should be grateful for them! Will not stay there again.
Jun 25, 2014
Overall a nice campground. Great location, clean, lots of trees. we have a 30'TT and were in the newer section adjacent to the tent camping. Backing into the site was a bit tricky but leaving was harrowing...between the trees and the rocks and narrow drive. we'd stay again but not in that section.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Great Place
Jun 23, 2014
We had a remarkable time. The camp ground was nice but VERY cramped in the section where we stayed,too close to use the pits. However this closeness made us meet our neighbors as outside privacy was nil. We still had a great time, due to the friends we made due to this closeness. One neighbor was a KOA employee who was a first class employee and became a friend, making the experience memorable.
Jun 23, 2014
Great time. 3-yr old loved the playground. Wish the pool had more shallow area for younger, or a separate baby pool. Otherwise it was great!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Center part of the RV campground was a little more cramped than I like but the spot we had was great with lots of room on either side and that awesome view of the river.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time- nice place, friendly folks. Only complaint is this place really isn't big rig friendly.Had a devil of a time getting out!
Jun 23, 2014
Very family friendly. Nobody wanted to leave.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
I could not have been more pleased with our stay at the campground. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; the facilities were neat and clean; and the prices reasonable. Perfect!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Without a doubt my most favorite camp ground. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I compare all other campgrounds to Townsend KOA and so far none can compare. Mark and Daisey are the best staff members and I actually miss them when we have to leave. See you next year.
Jun 22, 2014
Generally a good experience. KOA needs to upgrade its wi-fi. More than an inconvenience, my wife and I need to keep in contact with both our jobs and our site did not have wifi. Sites are crowded. Movie advertised for an 8pm start, started at 8:45 and was way too kids-oriented for us. Staff is great. River is refreshing.
Jun 22, 2014
Campsite were very nice, not real happy with the porta potties and the wifi was very weak and slow. Otherwise happy with campgrounds.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
My family and I had such a wonderful time in Townsend. We just bought our first camper and had some struggles setting up. The KOA staff jumped right in and helped us. We couldn't thank them enough. Our three children loved the bible school and all the other activities they offer the kids. We plan on returning next month!
Jun 22, 2014
really enjoyed the whole experience staff was very helpful and eager to please
Jun 22, 2014
We love the location of the campground on the river. The staff was great from the first phone call through check out. Thanks!
Jun 21, 2014
2nd year in a row we brought our grand daughters. We all had a great time. Kids camp sponsored By CHARM was great. Campsite and all facilities clean and beautiful.
Jun 21, 2014
it was good
Jun 21, 2014
Thank you Townsend KOA! What a great week of vacation. This was our first KOA stay and you have set a high standard! Looking forward to coming back.
Jun 20, 2014
We stayed at one of the cabins at the campground for only a few days, but it couldn't have been better. The cabin was well-constructed and immaculately kept, and the surroundings were beautiful. Although the campground felt secluded, there were plenty of amenities such as restaurants within a short distance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would love to visit again.
Jun 20, 2014
This was our 5th year to stay at KOA at Townsend. The staff is always wonderful! They are always very kind and considerate and willing to help and fix any kind of problems very quickly. The campground and all the facilities and pool are always extremely clean and well cared for. I can not say enough good things about this campground and the staff! we hope to be vacationing there every year!
Jun 20, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin. We stayed in dc12 and dc16. We liked having a sink and full length mirror in dc16. All staff were friendly and very helpful . Great place to bring our grandson! Thanks for a nice time!
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Anhelpy and anfrendly stuff.
Jun 19, 2014
WONDERFUL....staff was VERY helpful, friendly. Outstanding! Lovely setting along the water. Very clean. One of the nicer KOA'S (and we've stayed at many across the US)
Jun 19, 2014
Always pleasant and friendly staff each and every time we stay, our favorite place to stay in townsend, tn.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Wonderful place to h ave a family get together! Our grandchildren are ready to stay there again. Nice and clean. Friendly & helpful staff. They went out of their way to make us welcome
Jun 18, 2014
We love staying at KOA in Townsend. Staff is very friendly, campsite are well maintained. I give them a 10!!!
Jun 18, 2014
Only complaint is that the popcorn should be free on movie night...as the ice cream, snow cones, watermelon...all snacks on other nights were free! We didn't have any cash so my kids were disappointed when we couldn't scrape up any money for the popcorn! Otherwise...great campground. Clean bathrooms, loved the tubing on the river!
Jun 17, 2014
We are very picky and loved the newer cabin- DC 11 a lot. It was clean and modern. The patio area was also very nice. Thank you.
Jun 17, 2014
As always very friendly staff, helpful, fun place to be these hot summer days. It is the best campground in Townsend, TN
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Nice & clean. Very friendly staff
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool & playground areas were great. The only issue was driving access was a little difficult due to the need of campers to park vehicles in drive/pulling areas. Campers with more than 1 vehicle parked on the roadway & made maneuvering a bit of a problem. Also, guest parked their vehicles in front of the bathhouse when they used it & made that area very congested.
Jun 16, 2014
What a wonderful place. From the amazing customer service to the daily activities for the children. This place is truly one you don't want to miss.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We had a great time. There were lots of activities for the kids and the playground was fantastic. Our only complaint would be that there was only one bathhouse.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.