Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2017
great location and very clean
Jul 24, 2017
Space's were tight as stated in other reviews. Over all very clean and nice employee's.
Jul 24, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The grounds were super clean and well cared for, plenty of activities.
Jul 24, 2017
The floors of our cabin were incredibly dirty and there was ants on the table. The wifi was extremely slow too and the mattress was really uncomfortable. The deluxe cabins were much nicer and included a bathroom.
Jul 23, 2017
The staff was GREAT,the BEST we've had the pleasure of meeting. Kudos to Jimbo and "Miss Daisy" they are the best!!
Jul 23, 2017
Staff amazing, friendly, prompt taking care of all requests. Absolutely wonderful experience!!! We stayed in DC 4. Only negative was new neighbors in DC 3 on 7/21 who smoked constantly and used bad language while on their deck. Not suitable for our grandchildren so we were forced to be inside. Thankfully it was only one night but sadly it was our last night. Otherwise we had the greatest time!!!
Jul 23, 2017
The staff was super friendly. Our cabin upon arrival had not been swept and the freezer in our fridge was dirty. The view was amazing being on the river. Loved the porch swing. Could use a coffee maker in the cabin though.
Jul 23, 2017
I became ill while staying at this KOA in Townsend TN . Me daughter's went to the office and told them I needed to leave. The staff was so professional in handeling our check-out, and gave back the money for the days we missed. So, I and my family Thank you! June Young
Jul 23, 2017
We can not say enough good about our stay! The staff was wonderful (especially Adam) and the campground was very clean and well taken care of! Such a beautiful place! We will be back for sure!!
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was not friendly...way too serious. Man/owner?? thin with gray hair and glasses looked ticked off all the time..Max, staff.. ALWAYS on your back!!
Jul 22, 2017
The only complaint I have was that the internet was hit and miss. My wife had homework for her online class, but we were unable to stay on the internet long enough to get any work done. Other than that, our stay was good.
Jul 22, 2017
The work and camp personnel are passionate and were friendly. The campground was very well maintained and had great amenities.
Jul 22, 2017
We love this campground & the staff is extremely friendly & helpful! Our only complaint this time was our river front site #78 did not have enough shade. It got pretty hot at times but thankfully we had the river right there to cool us off😉
Jul 22, 2017
we have had great experiences in the past with KOA camping cabins and this one also did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and helpful, the ambience and upkeep of the camp was fantastic. I guess my only issue was the firewood we bought from them. We bought three bundles and none of it burned well at all. Lots of smoke and that's all.
Jul 22, 2017
Very clean, quiet, nice spaces. Very friendly and helpful staff. Daily trash pickup. We didn't have children with us but noticed very nice playground and pool. There were activities for the kids. The river is directly behind campground with easy access for tubing or playing in river. Nice camp store too. Nice dog run area, small but room for dogs to be free.
Jul 22, 2017
This campsite is simply fantastic! The sites are roomy so you don't feel right on top of one another as it can be crowded due to demand for such a great campground! Staff was very attentive. Everything was clean & taken care of. Much for kids to do. River was outstanding! Highly recommend as a place to unwind and enjoy nature and loved ones.
Jul 22, 2017
Well kept facility , would highly recommend .
Jul 22, 2017
Beautifully maintained campground. Great location. Secluded, near the entrance of the National Park, but close to tons of activities for the whole family. River tubing was a blast. Can't wait to visit again.
Jul 21, 2017
We loved this KOA! Staff assist you to locate and get parked in the ideal place in your spot, then leave you alone to have fun! Temperature here on the creek was at least 10 degrees cooler than elsewhere---so nice for hot July times in Tennessee! Bathhouse very clean, pool well maintained, much better than average playground, excellent patio site. We loved it!
Jul 21, 2017
Site 61 was high traffic area next to basketball goal and dumpster. Worst site for traffic and noisy. Site and campground clean and well kept.
Jul 20, 2017
Campground was well staffed and very helpful.
Jul 20, 2017
Our favorite campground!
Jul 19, 2017
Great
Jul 19, 2017
very relaxing vacation. enjoyed church service.
Jul 19, 2017
Very disappointed, no posting anywhere about no golf carts allowed, dogs off leash across from us and barkers, noise from same site past 10:00, small little scooters (gas) running thru park, restrooms not cleaned or stocked as often as they should be having ample # of camp workers.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Great place. We stayed 6 days and really enjoyed it.
Jul 18, 2017
Everyone there was very helpful.
Jul 18, 2017
Plenty of staff and they are all wearing smiles and ready to help at anytime. They assist you in backing in your site and even deliver fire wood and ice. Extremely clean
Jul 17, 2017
Would have given a 10 and 5 stars if I felt good about the price, which keeps going up more each year.
Jul 17, 2017
Great stay again.Other than my 2 yr old grandson got stung by wasp on playground.Seems they're bad there a lot and needs constant attn. for the kids.And we had a yellow jacket nest in the holly at the base of the big tree at end of site 60.Maybe yellow jacket traps thru-out the grounds.
Jul 17, 2017
The staff were very attentive and always around if we needed something. The kids really enjoyed the campground and basketball area. Great campground.
Jul 17, 2017
Please improve the wifi Great staff Amazing facilities a
Jul 17, 2017
Fantastic stay! The campsite on the river was perfect! From exploring to the campfire to all the campground provided, my 5 year had a great time!
Jul 17, 2017
very nice, the staff are very friendly. I think it could use a little clean up. I wish there was more concrete for kids bikes
Jul 17, 2017
The staff is very helpful esp when you are arriving. Very good at assisting with positioning the RV. Campground is very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
Excellent campground, it was our 1st time and we throughly enjoyed it. So peaceful and the staff was super friendly!
Jul 17, 2017
We had a party of 11 people stay at the KOA Townsend and had an extremely amazing weekend. We were able to book tent sites right next to each other and had to leave a little later than the actual check-out time and were not charged for being late. They have amazing amenities and wonderful staff. They offered family friendly activities during the day and evenings. We will definitely be returning!!
Jul 17, 2017
Love it there wouldn't stay anywhere else. Now that they have church groups coming in for kids and adults it's even better.
Jul 17, 2017
Great campground especially if you have kids. Staff nice and helpful. Bathrooms and show ers could be better. Suggestion - check them couple times daily cause there's lots of people using them.
Jul 17, 2017
We had a wonderful time! The campground was so nice, updated, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We will definitely return!
Jul 16, 2017
KOA Townsend is an awesome camp ground. The bathrooms are super clean. The shower facilities are clean and safe. The cabins on the river are great for families with kids that want to play in the river. I would highly recommend staying here. We we here a week and didn't want to leave!!
Jul 16, 2017
Great experience! Would go back
Jul 16, 2017
It was our second stay in two years. So amazing once again we scheduled our third stay before we left. Fantastic staff!
Jul 15, 2017
Our cabin was very clean #9 and was cool when we entered. Everyone was very friendly and we love coming here.
Jul 14, 2017
Great campground, very clean! Some sites are close to highway and can be a bit noisier than back by the river. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the store up the hill. I would stay here again!
Jul 14, 2017
Staff wasn't really friendly at all. Got to the campsite and only to find out they put us between two families with barking dogs that barked all day & night and nothing was done. Than at 2 am a truck came through twice loud as can be still nothing. Only pretty clean restrooms.
Jul 13, 2017
I bring my four grandchildren every summer. It has become one of our fun annual times together. It is such a nice clean place and the kids love it! The pool, the craft time in the mornings, the family time each night, the hayride, and movie night make for happy memories. Of course the clean bathrooms with hot showers is an added bonus as well. We look forward to more happy times here at KOA.
Jul 13, 2017
It was great
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award