Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 28, 2015
As always, everything was perfect!
Apr 28, 2015
staff are the best always friendly and helpful
Apr 28, 2015
Great Campground. Friendly staff. Will be going back.
Apr 28, 2015
Great stay. Nice and clean cabin. We will be back.
Apr 28, 2015
One of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at! Very friendly staff, perfect location, very clean bathrooms and showers.
Apr 28, 2015
Great stay. Friendly and close to the park.
Apr 27, 2015
This is our favorite KOA! The location is the best for a mountain vacation.
Apr 27, 2015
Awesome weekend-not having cable or wifi made camping that much better!
Apr 27, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. And as always the staff is very friendly. I brought my neighbors 8:year old son with me and he had a great time. I wish the activities that you offer for the kids were started already. I'm looking forward to my stay in may with my friends.
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 27, 2015
Having the flowing river as a back drop while drifting off to sleep was just what I needed after a stress week at work!!!
Apr 26, 2015
Best KOA in America!
Apr 26, 2015
Stay was good. Great location. Cabin was clean and comfortable. However, the cable for the TV was out, the WiFi was spotty at best and the port-a-potty could be cleaned more often. Also, cabin had no broom or mop for cleanup. Otherwise, a great place to stay close to the GSMNP.
Apr 26, 2015
This was our 5th time staying at the Townsend KOA and our first trip staying in our new travel trailer. As always everyone was so courteous and accommodating! Thank you and we can't wait to come back!
Apr 25, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. The site was beautiful and well kept. Just a mile or so from the Townsend entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Apr 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. We always meet great people each time we stay at this KOA. The staff is always very helpful and very friendly. We look forward to our next camping trip.
Apr 24, 2015
A very convenient place for visiting the Smoky Mountain National Park. First rate facilities.
Apr 23, 2015
Always impressed with this campground & the regular improvements they make. Our Deluxe Cabin had artwork, a headboard, & a Keurig coffee maker - all new since we last stayed about a year ago. Thank you!
Apr 23, 2015
Apr 23, 2015
Will stay again!!
Apr 23, 2015
I loved it so much. We have made reservations for next year.
Apr 23, 2015
Sites in 30s are really small! Concrete pad was nice. Water spigot is too close to the ground to connect filter there. Reserved a site in the 50s for next year.
Apr 22, 2015
The staff is super, the sites clean and good sized. Don't use the pool bathroom, smells like drain problems. Hopefully they will have the cable problem corrected soon. I will be back again
Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful campground I stayed here 20 years ago and had to stay again. the staff is very friendly the park is very clean.
Apr 22, 2015
This KOA would've gotten 5 stars if the advertised wifi had been accessible from our cabin. It wasn't, & that needs to be posted.
Apr 22, 2015
KOA Towsend,Tn. is our favorite family"GO TO PLACE" The new work and landscaping are beautiful. Every time we go we can see upgrades all over the campground.Every one works hard and so friendly and helpful.Thank you for a great stay!!!!! We love KOA. FRED & JUDY ALLEN
Apr 22, 2015
Top-end KOA. Attentive and helpful office staff. Busy and helpful grounds staff. Cable unavailable for many of the spots due to damage during re-vamp. Internet essentially non-existent--needs more coverage.
Apr 21, 2015
We appreciate all the hard work done by the staff during our fiberglass trailer rally. We were impressed with the new landscaping. Thanks to all who were involved.
Apr 21, 2015
staff very friendly and most helpful ,great sites.
Apr 21, 2015
Great campground. Loved the location and views. Nice clean bathhouse.
Apr 21, 2015
Friendly staff. Very well kept campground. Very nice bathrooms & showers.
Apr 21, 2015
Apr 21, 2015
Recent upgrades to this location were outstanding.
Apr 21, 2015
Great kind personnel very helpful
Apr 20, 2015
The sound of the river is relaxing, the staff is friendly, the bath house is modern and clean.
Apr 20, 2015
It was pleasant with no bad surprises.
Apr 20, 2015
Staff was friendly & attentive. Bathrooms and grounds clean & well maintained. Only negative was "rude and noisy" neighbors on one side of us!
Apr 20, 2015
I was on the water. What more can I say. Slept like a baby. Camp ground was quiet Close to everything. Thank you.
Apr 20, 2015
I didnt like my stay at all. We got there late and could not find our campground so we just pick a site and ask to.move that didnt bother me at all but the man was rude and yelled at us and we didnt understand why we calmly told him our situation but still he was rude. I called the night beofre we stay there if it was alright if we showed up late because we had prom and they said that it was ok
Apr 19, 2015
Great, clean campground w/ nice playground, facilities, store, and river view. Will def. stay here again!
Apr 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful. The sites are spacey. Everyone was SO nice, friendly and helpful. Thank you for making our stay that much better!
Apr 17, 2015
This is by far the best place to stay if you plan on visiting the Smoky's. Great campground, nice people. It's the only place I stay.
Apr 16, 2015
Apr 16, 2015
We had such a great time. Its so quiet and close to cades cove. We stayed in a little cabin by the river it was so relaxing and it was super clean. we will definetely be coming back@
Apr 16, 2015
Had a great campsite by the river. The campground is clean quiet and the staff is great.
Apr 15, 2015
few suggestions: 1. shelving and towel/clothing hooks in showers over seating. No where to put stuff to keep dry other than seat. 2. shelving on shower side for soap, etc (so not on floor) 3. different paper towel dispensers in restrooms. always jammed constantly had to fix the entire 4 days I was there. 4. port a potty way too full 5. need restrooms on tent camping side--RVs don't need the
Apr 15, 2015
The tent site on the river was awesome. Saw a bald eagle, river otters, geese and other of God's creation's.
Apr 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time the staff wasso friendly and helpful it was a truly great weekend
Apr 15, 2015
We loved it! The campgrounds were clean and we had an awesome tent sight. You can't beat sleeping with the sound of the river in the background.
Apr 15, 2015
Was my first camping experience, tho we did stay in a cabin, it was absolutely wonderful, relaxing and great to be able to have our puppies with us. The staff was was fantastic and so friendly...already booked for another stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.