Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great staff and atmosphere
Jun 15, 2015
Clean! A lot of activities and extremely friendly staff! We will be back soon!
Jun 15, 2015
clean well managed campground, pretty tightly packed but otherwise great
Jun 14, 2015
We had a great stay in the camping cabins on the river. Great location just outside the entrance to GSM National Park!
Jun 14, 2015
No trees fell on us this year so it was a great year.
Jun 14, 2015
It was wonderful!
Jun 14, 2015
Everything went well until the last night. From 10 pm to 1 am there was children riding bicycles screaming cuss words and being obnoxious. Hard to sleep when children and their parents are screaming and lighting firecrackers. This only started happening on a Friday night. The rest of our stay was fairly uneventful except for one child riding through our campsite midday.
Jun 14, 2015
Awesome campground. Very family friendly. Great staff. Clean, neat, great pool, nice sites. All the Staff was helpful and didn't meet one that wasn't friendly. We will come again
Jun 14, 2015
Brought our 5 year old grand daughter for a visit to the GSM and wanted her to stay where we stayed when her dad was a kid, we loved it back then, and we still do. It was definitely two thumbs up for her and of course the playground was her favorite.
Jun 13, 2015
We stayed in a DC cabins. We really liked cabin...a bit small for 4 adults. Seemed clean, but cabin needed instructions about what to do with dirty towels, trash, paper products. We had to ask each detail...needs to be provided to renters. Unable to complete showers due to hot water running out. The porch was fabulous and the location to the river. Wood provided on porch was a nice touch.
Jun 13, 2015
Great stay. The campground is nice, clean, and the employees are very friendly. My only complaint was that a large raccoon got into/tried to get into our food several nights.
Jun 13, 2015
We have enjoyed staying at this campground since our children were small. It is a joy bringing our grandchildren now.
Jun 13, 2015
Loved my site among small trailers since mine is only 16'. I would not want to be near ones with pull outs as they hog their site and the one next to it. You should plan for this and put them on very large sites away for others.
Jun 12, 2015
A beautifully, quiet setting. Have stayed here many times and will do in the future. A recycling program would be a welcomed addition to the campground.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Great staff! All very helpful
Jun 11, 2015
This particular campground is is the most enjoyable campground in the midwest. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The surroundings are gorgeous. Everything is clean yet part of nature. My family much prefers this campground to our condo in Gatlinburg. Can't wait to cone back!!
Jun 11, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Loved that it had lots for kids to do. Two "issues" that we had were the location of bathhouse so far from cabin..closest were porta potties and it seemed really really crowded. Still would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
Jun 11, 2015
Great campground, very well run.
Jun 10, 2015
The staff was extremely helpful and kins. The Cabin was beautiful and clean as were the bathrooms. There is a church group that does free activities for kids in the mornings and evenings and my kids really enjoyed participating. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park is gorgeous and right out the back door of the campground.
Jun 10, 2015
Campground was nice, cabin was clean, and the staff was friendly. I would definitely consider coming back here in the future.
Jun 09, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA and we had a great time. The sites were clean and the staff was friendly. The only suggestion I have is to improve the check-in process. We were not given a map, told anything about the facilities (such as trash pick-up or dumpster locations), or provided a list of rules.
Jun 09, 2015
love the upgrades!!!
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Enjoyed our4 days very much! Cleanliness, activities, friendliness of staff, showers, dog park, pool, and playground- all 5 stars! I think another restroom would be appreciated- as I do not care for using the porta-potties. But the bath house/restroom is really nice!
Jun 09, 2015
This is a very nice campground. Very pretty sites. Only downside for us is that campsites are a little too close to each other. Really like the ones with the patio, with the awesome firepit and table and chairs.
Jun 09, 2015
Everything was great, parking was tight and close together but overall we had a great time
Jun 08, 2015
Great campground. Very clean. The staff is very nice. All kinds of activities for the children. Nice drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Very close to the national park. Sites are decent on size. Very nicely landscaped. Grocery store and hardware store very close by. Fully stocked camp store with a lot of extra surprises. Gas station on site. Very well kept pool. Looking forward to going back.
Jun 08, 2015
This campground gets better and better! We stay here 3-4 times each year- we will definitely be back soon!
Jun 08, 2015
many thanks to a good weekend
Jun 08, 2015
I know it's not the fault of the KOA. It's just that time of year, but it is just too packed in where our campsite was. We were not there much to enjoy the campground, so it really did not matter, though.
Jun 08, 2015
We loved your KOA! Had a cabin on the river. Beautiful area. The campground was well maintained and the restrooms and showers were the nicest we have ever encountered. The staff was amazing. We hope to visit again soon. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!
Jun 08, 2015
We rented a two-BR cabin with our 3 girls (12,10&4). Our cabin was equipped with a mini fridge and an air conditioner. It was very clean. We had a great location right on the river. Would have liked to have had a bathroom in our cabin, but the walk to the bath house wasn't too bad. There were also 2 surprisingly clean porta-potties even closer by for desperate times! We plan to return.
Jun 08, 2015
We have stayed at this campground long before it was KOA. The quality and the improvements are stellar. There is no other place in the truly "quiet side of the Smoky's" to stay. The showers are completed redone; more campsites are full hook-ups. The owners are super friendly. If you truly want to experience the true Smoky Mountains, you owe it to yourself to experience the KOA in Townsend
Jun 08, 2015
My first stay at KOA and loved the hospitality and help provided by staff. Beautiful Campground!
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the stay. Campground was exceptional. Clean. Friendly. Great support from staff. Bathrooms and showers above expectation in order and cleanliness. Only negative was the movie Saturday night. It was loud and disturbing even at our camp site which was nearly on the other side of the campus. Can't imagine having camped right next to that area. Stop the movie. It's camping.
Jun 08, 2015
Had a great visit. No complaints!
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was very accommodating and courteous. The new sites are very nice with patios and furniture.
Jun 08, 2015
The campground itself was really nice. The bathrooms were VERY nice and clean and the staff was super friendly. The playground was a huge hit with our 6 year old. With all that said, the campsites are so close together that it wasn't really camping. The photos on the website made it look much more secluded than it really was. We were 10 feet from the next tent and the place was packed with trailer
Jun 08, 2015
Loved the new bathroom facility. Had an issue with a racoon that got into our food tote and chewed a hole in our lp gas line on our camp stove and grill.
Jun 08, 2015
I stayed this past weekend with my 22 year old son and 3 little 6 year old boys. All had an excellent time. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Fun was had for all.
Jun 08, 2015
Really great spot. Super clean.
Jun 07, 2015
Love this KOA. It is perfect for family vacations. I and my family will be returning as soon as possible. Great place and great staff!!! Thank You!!!
Jun 07, 2015
We stayed in a deuxe cabin. Everything was nicer than I expected.
Jun 07, 2015
We've camped in Townsend many times before and decided to try the KOA for the first time. It is now our absolute favorite place to stay. Thank you for making us feel welcome and comfortable.
Jun 07, 2015
This is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at! We are already planning a trip back in the fall. The staff was friendly and there were a lot of activities for the kids. We will be back!!!
Jun 06, 2015
The only problem i had with my stay was a mouse in my cabin. Other than that it was wonderful.
Jun 05, 2015
Campsites were very nice and clean and updated. All facilities and staff were top notch. Loved the activities at the pavilion. The staff were great and loved there Christian witness a+

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.