Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
everyone was very friendly! it was our second stay!
Oct 20, 2014
Our main complaint is the tightness of the campsites. We had a 40 foot camper beside us which completely obstructed our view. It made us feel very cramped. The vehicles also surrounded us to match.
Oct 20, 2014
We always enjoy staying at KOA Townsend
Oct 20, 2014
Prices keep going up and up. Lots of complaints from other campers. There are other options. I hope they realize that.
Oct 20, 2014
Sites too tight. Hard to get in and out. No here to park your truck once your camper is set up.
Oct 20, 2014
We reported to the office at least three times that the toilet was leaking around the seal and we had to keep cleaning it up. With no avail did we get it fixed. Also, the office check in staff was friendly except for one lady I did not get a name. She was very strick a firm with no hospitable welcoming at all.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Would like to see shelves in showers.Staff was very friendly and helpful
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
It was a short stay but I enjoyed it. Great time an place thanks
Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful stay with welcoming staff. This camp ground was well thought out and pet friendly. With dog run which was helpful and wonderful for my dog. First time here and will be returning
Oct 20, 2014
Seemed well taken care of. All staff were helpful and friendly. Impressed with the cleanliness of restrooms and showers.
Oct 20, 2014
The employees sat in a golf cart right next to our site and stared at us until we left. We hadn't even pulled out of the site all the way before they started blowing it off for the next people. I wasn't too happy about it.
Oct 20, 2014
Great campground. Extremely friendly and accomodating staff. Only complaint is that when it fills up wireless coverage gets terrible more because of signal blockage by the additional RV's than additional usage. You can walk up to the front and get on fine. Additional hotspots on the fringes would help!
Oct 20, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The campgrounds and cabins were in excellent condition and clean as well as the restrooms/showers. We had a blast as well as a perfect place to bring our grandkids! Thank you! Stephanie
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
Great clean campground with lots of stuff on site. However, wi-go signal that was advertised was non existent. Should not be able to to advertise wi-if when it NEVER works.
Oct 19, 2014
This was perfect. We booked this because we couldn't get a spot at the National Park camp area but this ended up being WAY better. Thank you! Welcoming staff and David Dalton are awesome!
Oct 18, 2014
We loved the grounds, location and facilities. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice and clean. However, the bed was horrible. The mattress was the worst I have ever slept on. I woke up in pain many times during the night. Not sure if I would chance ever staying there again.
Oct 18, 2014
This is a great place to get away and unwind. The camping grounds has friendly staff members, several different options for tents, 5th Wheels, trailers, RV's or renting cabins.
Oct 18, 2014
Oct 18, 2014
The cabin was clean and the heater work very well, our tv remote didn't work probably needed batteries. We had stayed at that same cabin before in the summer at a lower rate and wonder why the rate was higher at this time of the year?
Oct 17, 2014
Had an emergency Tuesday night when river was rising rapidly. Emergency phone number you posted was an answering machine, so we could not contact anyone with KOA and no one ever called me back. Spoke with general mgr the next day who did apologize, but we were very worried Tuesday night at being left on our own.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Had a wonderful time. All of the workers were friendly and helpful. Cabin was clean also the grounds were well kept.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Always have a great stay at Townsend KOA. Every time we go they have made upgrades! All staff always friendly and ready to help. Thanks for always making our stay enjoyable!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
EVERY SUMMER WE STAY AT KOA AND LIKE ALWAYS ITS WONDERFUL, THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND THE CABINS ARE NICE.LOVE THIS PLACE..
Oct 15, 2014
Soggy, but fun. We were glad to see the sun come out on Monday!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We stay here twice a year and LOVE it.
Oct 14, 2014
We had a fabulous time! Cabin was clean and perfect for our family! We will definitely be back.
Oct 14, 2014
We enjoyed the stay at the Townsend KOA. The sites were a little cramped, but well kept, which we always appreciate. Liked the individual showers, laundry facilities, game room, basketball court and playground! The cabins are nice to be able to include friends who don't want to camp.
Oct 14, 2014
Our favorite place to stay in the Smokies
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful family gathering. Thanks so much for all of the great southern hospitality! We will be back soon! Have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
A little on the expensive side but well maintained and the staff is very helpful. Overall a great stay ...
Oct 14, 2014
KOA was clean. Like the mural in restroom. Staff very helpful. Price was highest of our week's trip but guess the proxity to attractions caused this. Like the gravel sites - keeps our camp van cleaner than dirt or grass.
Oct 13, 2014
Are stay was great this was are second year. And we made res. again next year. Thank you to all the staff. And to Daisy for your super kindness. And for working with us when we had to come in a day late due to my husband having a heartattack your public relations is GREAT. Thanks KOA for great campgrounds and people . The White's Indiana.
Oct 13, 2014
It is always a very clean and great place to stay, I along with the family stay for about 6 days two times a year and always have good time.
Oct 13, 2014
Loved our cabin but the WiFi service didn't reach are area very well. The staff was very friendly other than a girl that works in the store. She was one of the most unfriendly people I have ever met. Felt like I was not good enough for her or something. At first I thought maybe she was just having a bad day but every time I came in she was working and was just as unfriendly as the last time.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in Townsend, it is indeed the "quiet side of the Smokies". The KOA was excellent.
Oct 13, 2014
sites way too close to each other, for 80.00 a night i would expect no mold in showers
Oct 13, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.