Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 03, 2014
The sites were great right along the river. The wireless internet did not work and we were given a site we had to share parking space with another camper. Not enough room for the 2 campers and both trucks. Luckily the site next to us was open and we could park there. The staff was not very helpful.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
Wireless internet is way toooo slow. There could not have been 25 campers in the park either. Would hate to see it when park is full. Needs to work better and faster since there is no phone service then either.
Dec 31, 2013
We love staying here every chance we get! The staff is super friendly and helpful and the cabins are always welcoming! We especially appreciated our cabins being warm and cozy since we were late arriving on sat. and it was dreary and wet outside:)Thanks for always taking care of our family!
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 28, 2013
Enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The only complaint is the door needs cleaning or repainting. Also, driving and parking is very difficult due to the number of trees in this campground. Overall though, we enjoyed the cabin, the deck, firepit and grill. Upon checking in everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Dec 28, 2013
The deluxe cabin was great! We loved it! If I had only comment it would be that the bed was unlevel and the mattresses were not very comfortable.... But otherwise the place was awesome!!
Dec 27, 2013
Love this campground. This will be our only location to stay. It's beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Can't wait to camp there again!!!
Dec 24, 2013
Dec 13, 2013
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
Camping cabin was great! Nice and warm and clean. The staff is very friendly. I have to add another comment though. We frequently tent camp in the winter and I think the tent camping sites are priced too high. There is no convenient water and the only bathhouse open is on the other side of the campground. This rate is more than I pay for most campgrounds in the summer.
Dec 09, 2013
Great time. Thanks to our hosts.
Dec 08, 2013
Great time,weather not perfect but hey first week of Dec.Nice site overlooking river.Will be back in spring.
Dec 04, 2013
Always love our time in Townsend and at the KOA. Staff is great! Thanks!
Dec 04, 2013
We were there over Thanksgiving. It snowed and it was beautiful in Townsend. Employees and friendly and very helpful. A little tight for RV's. We stayed with ya'll 2 years ago and it was hard to maneuver our Motorcoach. Clean facility. Love the dog park. Thanks.
Dec 04, 2013
Excellent! Lovely cabin! Our favorite place!
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 02, 2013
Great place and experience in every way!
Dec 02, 2013
We alway s enjoy Townsend KOA Mark and all the people are very helpful and friendly.
Dec 02, 2013
Staff were friendly. Cabin was clean. Heater provided. Bathrooms very modern. Great playground. Dog area fenced off - and feces bag provided. Great time by all. Thanks!
Dec 02, 2013
Dec 02, 2013
We love this campground! Everything is clean and accessible and it is a great location for other activities. Folks were friendly and we are already planning our next trip there. Thanks
Dec 01, 2013
We went for Thanksgiving week and it snowed. We had a site by the river and listening to the currents was so peaceful. Thankful for the leash free dog area and the basketball goal was a hit with the kids. It is not far am from Cade's Cove. We spotted lots of deer. Also not too far from Pigeon Forge and Gatlingburg. Traffic was not bad at all. It has a store and they can refill your propane gas.
Dec 01, 2013
The staff very helpful. Awesome visit.
Dec 01, 2013
We stayed right on the river in our motor home in November, chilly weather, but sun was out. We loved the site, one of the best we've stayed in. EVER! The staff was very nice and we loved it there. We will be back.
Dec 01, 2013
Dec 01, 2013
Bathrooms and showers need to be added near the cabins.
Nov 28, 2013
Loved the water front RV sites.
Nov 26, 2013
I loved the little cabins!! the amenities were great!
Nov 25, 2013
We have had our group winter trip here for the last 4 years and we will continue in the future.We are planning to due a lot more camping because KOA makes it so easy and affordable.
Nov 24, 2013
We are so happy we chose to stay at the Townsend KOA! We arrived at night and Al helped us back in our travel trailer . All the staff were friendly and helpful. The spaces are close together but off season we noticed people were given their space by not assigning spaces right next to one another! Good job Townsend KOA !
Nov 24, 2013
Nov 22, 2013
We stayed in the Deluxe Cabin and it had all the amenities we needed, was clean, and quiet.
Nov 22, 2013
Nov 22, 2013
great
Nov 20, 2013
We have been staying at the Townsend KOA for since 2005. We love it and tell all our family and friends what a wonderful campground it is. The staff is fabulous and always available. Thanks Townsend KOA!
Nov 18, 2013
The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Restrooms were always in tip top shape. The new playground was the highlight for my two boys. Worst part about our visit was when we had to leave.
Nov 17, 2013
Nov 16, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. Campground is well maintained, great play area!
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
The only problem is wifi did not come in I was told that you had to be closer to the front for it to work? They should tell you this up front!
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 12, 2013
Friendly staff, like the dog run,
Nov 12, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.