Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2017
Great staff! First time at a KOA campground and we had a tent site that was great. The facilities and showers were always clean. The store has everything you need. Great place!
Jun 02, 2017
Probably the nicest campground we have stayed in Very nice Staff super clean unbelievable shower house and bathrooms. For sure worth the price. Level sites easy hook ups plenty of room to get in and out.
Jun 01, 2017
It was a fabulous weekend for all of my family, other than a tree falling on his truck and doing $11,500 worth of damage......I know, you can't make stuff like that up. lol The staff at the KOA were all so nice except for a lady named Mickey in the front office. Very rude to my husband. That was disappointing. We will be staying again next year, hopefully with no vehicle damage. lol
Jun 01, 2017
We always love staying here the staff is very knowable and friendly. They are always willing to stop what they are doing to assist us. The showers are always clean as if I am the first to use it. We always tell everybody if they are going to the Smoky Mountains to stay at Townsend KOA it the top.
May 31, 2017
We love the Townsend KOA! Every part of our trip was awesome and the staff there is amazing!
May 31, 2017
Great campground. Very well taken care of. We had storms that blew down some limbs and they were out cleaning up before it stopped raining. Great shower facility's. They need a pool or splash park for little children.
May 31, 2017
May 31, 2017
we stayed on site # 30 liked the improvments but the shrub that was planted next to the pad is in the way you cannot access your outside storage compartment or sit under your awning.
May 31, 2017
As usual great stay,have been here several times, always great. employees are the best.
May 31, 2017
Thanks for being helpful!
May 31, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA in Townsend several times and have enjoyed it every time. We have a grandson that has Downs Syndrome and we don't have to worry about his safety.
May 31, 2017
As usual, the best campground in Townsend. Been staying there since 1983!
May 31, 2017
Enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The Staff were wonderful and a more beautiful area could not be found. We will be back.
May 30, 2017
As always (we have camped here for 27 years) the staff was friendly and helpful, facilities in great shape and the setting on the Little River is fabulous.
May 30, 2017
Nice place, but to expensive when you can't even get on the internet not a good signal rates should be lower
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Beautiful campground, well-maintained, wonderful friendly staff. Planning to book another trip for next year!
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Great location, stayed in one of the deluxe cabins, the bed was very comfortable.
May 30, 2017
I love this campground, but I have my first ever complaint and a suggestion. We've never been charged a fee for a second vehicle in all the years I've camped here. I found out about it when I arrived on Friday. We were charged $3.50 a day to park a 2nd vehicle. Also, there needs to be a net behind the basketball goal to keep balls out of the campsite behind it.
May 28, 2017
Beautiful setting. Nice staff.
May 27, 2017
It was a return trip for us and as usual it was great. The Campground was very clean and in excellent condition. The staff was awesome and very helpful.
May 27, 2017
Beautiful campground! Clean and new bathrooms. The grounds were impeccable and the surroundings unbeatable.
May 27, 2017
Staff was great and very helpful and accommodating with problems we had with our equipment.
May 27, 2017
I like Mike (Shorty), he was very helpful in getting us to our site.
May 27, 2017
This was our first time staying at a KOA Campground and we were absolutely thrilled! Had a Deluxe Cabin - it was so cute!! Everything we needed, spotlessly clean, and the staff were extremely helpful in every way. We'll definitely be back next year. Thanks so much for a job well done, KOA!
May 27, 2017
Great as usual , See you again !
May 27, 2017
We have stayed here every year for at least 8 years. Very family friendly, always willing to help if you need anything. The staff are wonderful. Beautiful campground and excellent location.
May 27, 2017
Loved our site!!! We were right on the river and the site was beautiful! When we arrived everyone was very friendly. Was a little worried about giving my husband directions to back into the site as it was a little odd, but we had a very nice staff member Marshal get him in and it was perfect!! Loved this place!! Definetly recommend staying here!!
May 26, 2017
May 26, 2017
Attentive & helpful staff. Nice dog park and walking areas. Park is kept neat and clean
May 26, 2017
Awesome location on the river and near hiking trails in GSMNP. Good family restaurants within walking distance and bike trail across the road.
May 26, 2017
We have stayed at the Koa twice now and both times have been wonderful. The staff makes sure everything is perfect.
May 26, 2017
May 25, 2017
We really enjoyed the quiet campground. The employees were extremely nice and helpful. We would especially like to thank the helpful, bearded, southern gentleman, who escorted us to our lot, for his wonderful directions on getting to Interstate 40. If we ever get to the Smokey Mt again we will be staying with you!
May 24, 2017
Staff is very friendly and helpful; sites are roomy, level, and landscaped beautifully; loved the showers: facilities are always clean and functional. Grounds are beautiful: plants, flowers, mature trees, decks on some riverfront sites, and some rustic fences.
May 24, 2017
Always amazing. Beautiful place with lots of great people.
May 23, 2017
I like the Townsend KOA for its location and the friendly staff. There is solitude, yet, plenty to do and in a great area for exploring.
May 23, 2017
River front lots are much to close together. People on lot 12 were very noisy after quiet time hours. When we stay again it won't be on a river front lot. The lots on the doggie run side of park were much nicer.
May 23, 2017
I would have given it 5 stars but the wifi was not consistent.
May 23, 2017
Absolutely delightful! The staff and crew were everywhere all the time, greeting, assisting constantly on watch to ensure a superb visit was had by all guests. The care and concern for the comfort and beauty of the grounds were outstanding.
May 23, 2017
Wonderful campground!! Craig showed us to our beautiful riverside site and insisted on helping us to rotate our popup 180 degrees with his four wheeler so that we would wake up to the view of the river. Thanks, Craig and Townsend KOA!!
May 23, 2017
Fantastic campground. Well maintained and everyone was friendly!
May 23, 2017
We had a wonderful experience our 1st time staying in a camping cabin
May 23, 2017
Prettiest park ever. Just difficult roads to destination. Very clean!
May 23, 2017
Our stay was great, staff was super friendly. Cabin was nice and clean
May 23, 2017
The view is cluttered with weeds and bushes cabin 5 so you could it see the river setting on the porch, the coffee pot did not work and the door knob was broken, had to get someone to open it. Check in was a night mare. They offered a discount and I had to ask for it when he over charged me. Campground clean cabin clean workers friendly place next to the hwy so little noice. Over all nice place
May 22, 2017
Great place to stay. The showers, restrooms, and dishwashing station are fabulous!
May 22, 2017
The place was really nice but changing the price on us after we booked and had a receipt, was very unprofessional
May 22, 2017
great campsites & very clean shower houses
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award