Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2015
Love the campground and the staff however prices have been raised quite a bit. Also a suggestion - make sites 14 and 15 into one site. Very difficult to park one vehicle on each site. We were delayed an hour when leaving because the people next to us were gone and we cannot get our camper out. Very frustrating.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time. We were a little disappointed in our site being very muddy with all the rain, but overall things were good. We've already made reservations for next July 4th.
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome accommodations and very friendly staff. We are looking forward to our next camping trip.
Jul 07, 2015
Only complaint is the expense. For the price (160$), our family could have stayed at a much nicer place with more amenities. This KOA is a campground, not a resort.
Jul 07, 2015
The people and the location were great , however the deluxe cabin could use a better cleaning , the floors and mattresses were dirty and ants were a problem.
Jul 07, 2015
Lovely lady at the front desk who was kind enough to take the time to help us extend our stay over the busy holiday weekend (Mickey/daisy) The pool area was clean and the restrooms were very nice. Loved the patios and fire pits. Somewhere we picked up poison ivy but not sure exactly where. Very quiet campground. Loved all the kid activities, the youth group there was fun to work with over the four
Jul 06, 2015
Nice clean place, a bit close together and pricey but lIke the new sewer and fire pits.
Jul 06, 2015
Great sites! Some of the staff is friendly!
Jul 06, 2015
Even with the rain!! We had an awesome time as always!
Jul 06, 2015
we had a perfect weekend the rain didn't ruin it and everybody that work there.were extra nice,also that our favorite camp ground it so peace there
Jul 06, 2015
The friendliness of staff was most appreciated.
Jul 06, 2015
I was impressed with the updates given to some of the spots. There was a storm one of the nights we were there, our awning broke and covered up the door. As we were finally getting out the KOA workers were right there to help us in any way. All through the day they asked if they could help us in any way. Really appreciated the way they took care of us.
Jul 06, 2015
great
Jul 06, 2015
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great amenities. The only negative is the campsites are so close together.
Jul 05, 2015
We look forward to our stay at this campground every year! BEAUTIFULLY maintained and in just the right location to access the Great Smokey Mountains. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly, highly recommend!
Jul 04, 2015
terrible
Jul 03, 2015
DC5 didn't have a burner on grill,family in DC6 let us use their burner when they wasn"t using.cabin is over priced with not having a cooktop of any kind
Jul 03, 2015
We had a great time!!! Thanks for the mirror in the cabin, and TV is helpful for those rainy nights!!
Jul 03, 2015
We've camped here numerous times. While I appreciate the new upgrades, I don't necessarily live them. The fire pits are now too deep to allow adequate oxygen for a good campfire. Also, the sites are much tighter. Our fire pit was 18" from our neighbor's septic hookup.
Jul 03, 2015
We loved the KOA first time ever staying in one ! Will go back,
Jul 03, 2015
Enjoyed everyone was friendly staff and guests. Was clean and sites were attractive.
Jul 02, 2015
Nowhere else as good to stay for the GSM experience!!! Wonderful staff, clean facilities, & natural beauty (yet close enough to the conveniences of restaurants & stores)! Love this place!!
Jul 02, 2015
Nice Kabin by the river but shower facilities were crowded and not very clean
Jul 02, 2015
KOA Townsend is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the Great Smoky Mountains. As usual everyone was nice and the campground was well maintained. The Camping Cabins beside the river are awesome. We stayed in one of the recently remodeled sites and were very pleased. We were also impressed with the church youth group that was offering activities for the kids. It was a great stay. Thanks KOA!
Jul 02, 2015
Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean.
Jul 02, 2015
Very nice sites, and the staff was really attentive. Sites were far enough and wooded enough that it didn't seem crowded at all. We loved it!
Jul 01, 2015
My stay at the KOA was first class I will definitely be back again I would like to thank mark Chipperfield for the great job that he and his staff does.
Jun 30, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
All KOA employees were very friendly and helpful with every question or request that we had.
Jun 30, 2015
We loved it
Jun 29, 2015
Incredible as always,friendly staff and great facilities. We have already booked again.
Jun 29, 2015
As always, great staff and great campground. Always clean and lots to do. Thanks again for a great experience!
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, clean cabin, very close to National Park, kids loved the pool and easy access to river, have stayed here multiple times and will definitely stay again.A head's up, if you stay in Deluxe Cabins 1-6, some campers use these sites as a walking path to take a short cut to other sites, which can be frustrating sometimes.Overall, still a great stay!
Jun 29, 2015
We love camping here, PLEASE make some improvements to the off leash dog area! Water for one, making sure poop bags are always full, better places to sit would be nice and trash empty. Love the new sites!
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful ,friendly staff! Clean park. Lots of fun things to do!
Jun 29, 2015
Great KOA. We really enjoyed our weekend there.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
Great week. Extremely helpful staff.
Jun 29, 2015
My son and I had a great weekend despite challenging weather. The KOA team really do all they can to make our stays highly enjoyable. Thanks!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA! It was our first experience staying at a KOA and we will be back again. I am giving this review 5 stars because overall everything was great. I would recommend to the staff that the portable toilet facilities are cleaned out more often. I don't mind using one, but we had to walk to the bath facilities due to them being so full.
Jun 29, 2015
Enjoyed the easy access to river and pool was great!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Very well run campground. Great staff. ONE SUGGESTION. Same as last year......the garbage truck entered the campground at 5:57 a.m. The noise surely woke up everyone. Having negotiated contracts with waste management companies, I can tell you that they will agree to start later. In my hometown we require pickups to begin no earlier than 7:00.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Our family took advantage of a full hook up on the river, a tent site and a cabin. The experience was great! Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the river and pool most of the day. Great location. Peaceful setting. Cabin was excellent! Bathhouse was clean and comfortable.
Jun 28, 2015
Disappointed that the bathrooms are so far from many campsites. Had to use port-o-johns, especially in the middle of the night. Campsites are close together and there is no central place for dishes. Also, gravel road and gravel campsites are difficult for riding bikes and uncomfortable for walking.
Jun 28, 2015
As always, staff very friendly and grounds in great shape. Pool was cloudy one day but didnt stop kids from a great swim. Thank you for a wonderful week camping with grand kids. Ps..showers look great and bathrooms Always well stocked!!
Jun 28, 2015
We loved it. If we're in the area again, we'll definitely stay again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.