Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2014
The activities (tie-dye t-shirts & movies at night)only take place on Saturdays. The website is not clear about this. My grandkids were disappointed that we were not able to do these activities.
Jun 30, 2014
We had a blast! I would def stay there again. Lots of things to do for the kids!
Jun 29, 2014
I didn't like beening questioned when we requested toilet paper and trash bags. Didn't see housekeeping employees but a couple of times during our entire stay and had to go to office when we needed something. Staff/employees were not as friendly as on our previous visits. We have 4 families that have stayed at the same time for the same amount of days, we have all booked again for next year.
Jun 29, 2014
Had a great time at KOA, although the price for the Deluxe Cabin was way to expensive, around 200.00 a day is very high, can rent a whole house or condo for less than that.
Jun 29, 2014
We always enjoy staying at koa in Townsend.the site was great,the bath house was clean and showers were also.my family loves the family time at nite with charm, what a great ministry.
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facility. I thought it was a little on the expensive side for the deluxe cabin.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
The site was too small for my 34 ft fifth wheel and could not run out the slides for the trees. Had to pull rig out into road some to get slides out. Was not offered another site. No place to park truck out of road. Site was too small and they were told size when reserv. was made. The sewer hookup was a foot above ground. Crap does not flow uphill.
Jun 29, 2014
Mowed site while was camping, hit camper with rocks and trimmer got grass all over our towels and clothes that was drying. The river is great tubing. Get season pass from River Rat.
Jun 29, 2014
We had a great stay and we loved the camping cabins. The staff was friendly and campus was clean. Only problem we had was that the mattress was thin and uncomfortable. We will definitely be back.
Jun 29, 2014
We were on space 11. Bad news; On Saturday morning we had a foul septic smell enter our RV: some KOA folks were attempting to clean out a stopped septic feed on space 12. Wow it was a very bad odor as we prepared and ate breakfast. The septic overflow got on our concrete pad Hour later: problem fixed, pad hosed off, odor gone. Good news: welcome staff was 10+ assisting w/ my wife's hair n
Jun 28, 2014
Very clean and nicely landscaped campground. Good people there. We had a really nice stay. We will be back.
Jun 28, 2014
Prime location - on the beat part of he river. Great staff!!! Book early for bigger spaces. Cabins are very efficient and cute. We stayed a week in our RV and met up with friends who booked the cabin. We had no complaints!!
Jun 28, 2014
We had a very nice stay. The site was a little small, but the staff was wonderful. thank you for our great vacation.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
great location to see smokies.well away from the crowds of pigeon forge/gatlinburg. would get five stars except for numerous yapping dogs (little dogs) that owners would place outside while they were in their campers
Jun 27, 2014
Great location. Sites are tight but that's more and more common (unfortunately). Bathroom and showers were dirty whenever I used them. No hand soap available in mens room. NO AC in showers so you break out into a sweat immediately after showering. I expect more from a KOA.
Jun 27, 2014
Here are the comments from the boy scouts and adults. Fun pool, clean and roomy bathroom and showers, nice patio furniture on the electric site we had, a lot of room for the tents on the tent site, quite, and had fun at the evening activity (auction). The staff was very accommodating when I need to use an electric outlet in the office during the day so my battery pack for my CPAP would charge.
Jun 27, 2014
Pure relaxation The grounds were immaculate and the staff was great!!!
Jun 26, 2014
Our family stayed in a deluxe cabin and a campsite. Everything was clean and ready. The pool was nice and well maintained. The KOA staff members were very efficient and friendly. We'll stay here again!
Jun 25, 2014
Loved everything about our stay. We were impressed with how clean the cabins were. Had a lot of fun with the different activities - our son said it was the best vacation ever!
Jun 25, 2014
One of our issues was the pool closing at 8pm and being kicked out at 7:45. There was not a maid service to replace towels and the excuse was they didn't have enough. Not my problem! The staff's presence was lacking and when they were around, they did not take an interest in any of their guests. They acted like we should be grateful for them! Will not stay there again.
Jun 25, 2014
Overall a nice campground. Great location, clean, lots of trees. we have a 30'TT and were in the newer section adjacent to the tent camping. Backing into the site was a bit tricky but leaving was harrowing...between the trees and the rocks and narrow drive. we'd stay again but not in that section.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Great Place
Jun 23, 2014
We had a remarkable time. The camp ground was nice but VERY cramped in the section where we stayed,too close to use the pits. However this closeness made us meet our neighbors as outside privacy was nil. We still had a great time, due to the friends we made due to this closeness. One neighbor was a KOA employee who was a first class employee and became a friend, making the experience memorable.
Jun 23, 2014
Great time. 3-yr old loved the playground. Wish the pool had more shallow area for younger, or a separate baby pool. Otherwise it was great!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Center part of the RV campground was a little more cramped than I like but the spot we had was great with lots of room on either side and that awesome view of the river.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time- nice place, friendly folks. Only complaint is this place really isn't big rig friendly.Had a devil of a time getting out!
Jun 23, 2014
Very family friendly. Nobody wanted to leave.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
I could not have been more pleased with our stay at the campground. The staff were all very friendly and helpful; the facilities were neat and clean; and the prices reasonable. Perfect!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Without a doubt my most favorite camp ground. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I compare all other campgrounds to Townsend KOA and so far none can compare. Mark and Daisey are the best staff members and I actually miss them when we have to leave. See you next year.
Jun 22, 2014
Generally a good experience. KOA needs to upgrade its wi-fi. More than an inconvenience, my wife and I need to keep in contact with both our jobs and our site did not have wifi. Sites are crowded. Movie advertised for an 8pm start, started at 8:45 and was way too kids-oriented for us. Staff is great. River is refreshing.
Jun 22, 2014
Campsite were very nice, not real happy with the porta potties and the wifi was very weak and slow. Otherwise happy with campgrounds.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
My family and I had such a wonderful time in Townsend. We just bought our first camper and had some struggles setting up. The KOA staff jumped right in and helped us. We couldn't thank them enough. Our three children loved the bible school and all the other activities they offer the kids. We plan on returning next month!
Jun 22, 2014
really enjoyed the whole experience staff was very helpful and eager to please
Jun 22, 2014
We love the location of the campground on the river. The staff was great from the first phone call through check out. Thanks!
Jun 21, 2014
2nd year in a row we brought our grand daughters. We all had a great time. Kids camp sponsored By CHARM was great. Campsite and all facilities clean and beautiful.
Jun 21, 2014
it was good
Jun 21, 2014
Thank you Townsend KOA! What a great week of vacation. This was our first KOA stay and you have set a high standard! Looking forward to coming back.
Jun 20, 2014
We stayed at one of the cabins at the campground for only a few days, but it couldn't have been better. The cabin was well-constructed and immaculately kept, and the surroundings were beautiful. Although the campground felt secluded, there were plenty of amenities such as restaurants within a short distance. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would love to visit again.
Jun 20, 2014
This was our 5th year to stay at KOA at Townsend. The staff is always wonderful! They are always very kind and considerate and willing to help and fix any kind of problems very quickly. The campground and all the facilities and pool are always extremely clean and well cared for. I can not say enough good things about this campground and the staff! we hope to be vacationing there every year!
Jun 20, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin. We stayed in dc12 and dc16. We liked having a sink and full length mirror in dc16. All staff were friendly and very helpful . Great place to bring our grandson! Thanks for a nice time!
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Anhelpy and anfrendly stuff.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.