Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 09, 2013
AWESOME! Great staff. Great area. Great Kampground! Will DEFINITELY be back!
Sep 09, 2013
Overall our stay was great, a little pricey for a tent site, but ok we made some new friends also oh the showers there was not hot water.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Excellent stay, friendly crew and fantastic setting....
Sep 07, 2013
We had a great time. Our site was roomy. We have one suggestion, a warning system for bad weather.
Sep 07, 2013
Nice facility especially with the restaurant and store close by. Very nice newer shower & washroom facility. We enjoyed the pool several times during our stay. The fire rings in some sites were in difficult locations for use and parking around.
Sep 06, 2013
Very clean, well-kept grounds. Efficient staff. Good family-fun planning. Thank you for a wonderful family get-together.
Sep 05, 2013
No indoor kitchen, and it rained every day. Slight inconvenience. The shower is tiny too. Everything around this site is breathtaking. Nice and quiet location with great neighbors. Would definitely stay here again.
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
We have been coming to that same campground for around 28 years for Labor Day.You have made several large improvements to the facilities that we really noticed.The sewer system was impressive and some of the other upgrades were also.Thank you for keeping the feeling of the old Little River.We love the family, out in the woods feeling we can get there. We'll be there next year, if not before.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
My family had such a fun relaxing time that I booked our next trip Two months from now from the comfort of my kampig kabin before we left.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
our family had a wonderful time, the KOA is wonderful.
Sep 03, 2013
We are usually state and county park campers. We have a 5th wheel. We could not find anything near Townsend TN that would fit that. So we stayed at the KOA there. It was a great experience and we would go back. A staffer guided me into our spot. The place was very clean and the staff very nice. Our spot was right on the river.
Sep 03, 2013
We were very disappointed with this campground. I stayed there many years ago as a child with my parents and loved it. I was looking toward to taking my children there. The campsites were extremely way to small. Campers were touching each other. I was in my bathroom and could here the people beside of us conversation. They could lean up against our camper while sitting on their picnic table.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great time thank you! The families around us were friendly, our site was beautiful. The service was great. Only draw back was that our wi fi connection never worked and the firewood from the camp store was wet or to green to burn. We loved our visit and will be back if we get the chance.
Sep 03, 2013
As always, stay was excellent. Facilities are clean, staff is friendly, plenty of activities for kids and adults alike.
Sep 03, 2013
Great customer service, friendly, good activities, and location for things to do. Some campsites very small and close to next camper. Bathrooms nice and clean but had to wait even for mens almost every time.
Sep 03, 2013
A great weekend as always at this KOA.
Sep 03, 2013
I believe this was the cleanest and best kept campground I have ever stayed in. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the price, its a little high but worth the extra money.
Sep 03, 2013
Pricy, pricy
Sep 01, 2013
This is my favorite KOA of all of the ones I have stayed in. The scenery is excellent and they are always making improvements to make it even better. They staff is extremely friendly and very helpful.
Aug 31, 2013
From the owner Mark, down to Jeremiah, Adam, Al & the ladies of the office - this is the nicest place. Our home away from home. See you all next month.
Aug 31, 2013
I found the staff to be really friendly and helpful.The bathrooms and showers were always clean. The landscaping of some of the sites was awesome and it was my understanding that the remaining sites would eventually be done as well if this is true and once complete i'm not sure you could find better!
Aug 30, 2013
Beautiful campground and wonderful staff
Aug 30, 2013
We went after the tubing season so it was nice and slow , peaceful. KOA employees were very friendly and helpful , grounds very well maintained. Had a wonderful time will be coming again.
Aug 30, 2013
This was like a parking lot with gravel. We couldn't put out our awning because on how close the campers are. they had No parking area on your site.
Aug 30, 2013
The facilities are clean and well kept. Location is very convenient and staff is very pleasant.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
We love coming here. Everybody is friendly and helpful.
Aug 27, 2013
We enjoy this campground very much but cabins are way to expensive and small. Would come again and stay in a camper but not a cabin. I will recommend campground which I already have but would not the cabins
Aug 27, 2013
everyone was very pleasant an d friendly and also helpful
Aug 27, 2013
Great on river site! Well maintained campground and very helpful staff!!
Aug 26, 2013
We always have a great time at this campground. Mark and Jeremiah always make sure everything is perfect. This is the best campground we have ever stayed at.....
Aug 26, 2013
Clean and very kid friendly
Aug 26, 2013
We had such a wonderful weekend at your KOA in Townsend!! Every staff person is extremely friendly! The campground is so clean with so many activities to choose from! Thank you!!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The staff is always helpful and accomodating. They will go out of their way to amke sure you have a great stay. Full os smiles and waves, you feel like you are around family and friends.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great location!
Aug 25, 2013
Great time. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean & spacious campsites. Loved the little cabin. Already recommended it.
Aug 25, 2013
The 400 character limit is not enough to explain how much we enjoyed this KOA. Beautiful riverfront campsites, super clean bathrooms, separate private (clean) showers, well maintained grounds, friendly staff, and a convenient arrangement for tubing the river. We will stay here again if we return to the Smokies!
Aug 23, 2013
We had a great time, the grounds was beautiful we'll be back !
Aug 23, 2013
Everything was great the tubing, the cabin on the river , and the snakes. We liked the GM he was very nice and friendly, but some of the lady's at the front desk not all but some, acted like we were intruding on there property. Being in the tourist business the idea is to treat each camper as if you are trying to get them to come back. Some of you gals should take the lead from your GM.
Aug 23, 2013
friendly staff, great location and very clean facilitys and campgrounds
Aug 22, 2013
Staff was friendly. We like the fact it has a dog park to allow pets to run w/o a lease. Rates higher than the next door, however we can reserve a site w/o a 7 day reservation. Disappointed in the Wi-Fi. It was very weak and came and went. I rely on it for business.
Aug 21, 2013
We LOVED this campground! The only constructive criticism would be to not bury the firepits. It is so hard to maintain a good cooking fire when you can't get airflow down in the firepit.
Aug 21, 2013
Stayed in Deluxe Cabin. The mattresses were awful. The sheets for the bunk beds were not fitted and it was almost impossible to make the beds. And then, by morning, the sheets were all pulled out and the bed had to be remade. Bad sleeping environment. Cabin could have used a sink, only had a bathroom sink. Not worth the price we paid for the deluxe cabin. Should have stayed in a motel.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.