Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

May 07, 2013
great as always
May 07, 2013
Was just a great weekend even with the rain we had. Great staff look forward to the next time.
May 07, 2013
May 07, 2013
The staff was extremely friendly and personable. The facilities clean and easily accessible. This was tops in my book.
May 06, 2013
THE very best!!!!!! Mark, Samantha and the wonderful staff keep us coming back year after year after year.
May 06, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. We really like the up grade from the last time that we were there.
May 06, 2013
Wonderful time and it was very clean and the play ground was awesome for the kids
May 06, 2013
May 06, 2013
Very clean and well kept, kid and pet friendly...an enjoyable experience all around!
May 06, 2013
KOA staff has always been exceptional, and this time was no different - in spite of a rocky start with one of our camping buddies. Thank you - we'll be back.
May 06, 2013
May 06, 2013
May 05, 2013
Had a great time. Staff was very friendly. Campground was well located right outside Smoky Mountain NP. :-)
May 05, 2013
It was very well kept and the staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone not to miss a chance to stay here. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.
May 05, 2013
May 05, 2013
The staff went out of their way to help me whenever I needed it.
May 04, 2013
Clean great staff Sites are way too close dont enjoy looking at another camper 3 foot away.
May 03, 2013
Everything was fine, except the raccoon ate my food I just brought back to my campsite, you guys need to call my friend Paul back to get some coons!
Apr 30, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Great location in Townsend. Deluxe cabin was excellent and the staff friendly.
Apr 28, 2013
Well, we had a great time but the cabin rental was very expensive! Apx $150/ night. Also we were not able to start the gas grill after spending $$$ on groceries to grill. The shower dispensers were mostly empty but I brought my own supplies for baths.
Apr 26, 2013
It is a beautiful spot and we had a great time. We liked it so much we intend to return as soon as possible. The only issue was the unfriendly guy at the store who closed ten minutes early and would not sell us ice. There were other people working there in the day who were very nice.
Apr 25, 2013
The best place in the world. Home away from Home. We had an incident with our RV electric step not retracting and the KOA general manager came to our site & fixed it to where we could drive home. Now that is CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! Thanks Mark for your help. The Heath Family
Apr 25, 2013
The campground and staff were really great. The only complaint I have is about the shower rooms. They are moldy and dirty. My advice would be to leave the doors open when they are not in use so they can dry out. A good scrubbing with a bleach cleaner would be great. Otherwise everything in the park is great.
Apr 25, 2013
Apr 25, 2013
Love the improvements!
Apr 24, 2013
Five of us stayed in a Cabin Deluxe w/loft where day 1 required A/C & then heat the rest of our stay, & an all were very comfortable. Beds were comfy, provisions were great, the deck/BBQ/outside furnishings were also wonderful. We were on the river, so it was nice to sit on the deck or around the fire in gravel (not mud). A wonderful time, as usual!
Apr 24, 2013
Cabin was nice but heat did not work correctly. Campground very family oriented. Would like to have known some of the amenities advertised on the website were not open before arriving. Playground was also under construction. I'm sure it will be nice when finished. Campground in in a Great location. Love the quiet side of the smokies. Would definitely return. Staff very friendly.
Apr 24, 2013
Excellent staff and location. Only negative was construction. While I understand its for the greater good, it was still distracting
Apr 24, 2013
Apr 23, 2013
Very clean. Really nice bathroom and shower fac. Helpful staff. Great location. Somewhat pricey. Very convenient.
Apr 23, 2013
We enjoyed it.
Apr 23, 2013
We have been coming here for 8 years and have always been pleased with the service and amenities. Keep it up!
Apr 22, 2013
Staff members are friendly and very very helpful. Best KOA I have stayed at.
Apr 22, 2013
We had a wonderful time with family and friends ! We are new to camping and KOA staff has been extremely helpful. Will be back in May and possibly before. Great staff and clean campground. Love the fact there are so many trees !10 stars to Townsend KOA !
Apr 22, 2013
We had a wonderful time - We came with 11 of our college students and had a blast - everyone was friendly and the park was very clean - we will be back!
Apr 22, 2013
Apr 22, 2013
Apr 22, 2013
We love this campground, and our family is often camping there over the 4th of July. This trip, however, was our 2nd time staying in a cabin for a Bronco event & we had 5 staying. It was very comfortable & the staff very helpful.
Apr 22, 2013
This campground has several problems. Some the campground has control of and some not. The advertised WI FI is nearly non existent. We were in a cabin as far away from the office as you could get on the river. With AT&T we had no cell signal most of the time. This is somewhat dangerous in an emergency because there are no phones anywhere. There is limited hot water in the cabins.Employees aregreat
Apr 20, 2013
Beautiful views, peaceful grounds, adequate facilities, helpful, friendly staff
Apr 20, 2013
nice river front sites!
Apr 19, 2013
Great place!!!!! Keep up the good work.
Apr 18, 2013
Apr 17, 2013
The campground on a whole was great and very clean. The restrooms and shower areas were wonderful, clean and private. Our only complainant was that we were not aware it was under construction so therefore half of the area was closed. Also we rented the deck to look out at river but the bushes were to tall so we never really used the deck area we paid for rather we sat at back of campsite to see.
Apr 17, 2013
Please work on the wifi network coverage in the campground!
Apr 17, 2013
Loved It ! People were friendly and helpful. Site on the water was beautiful and loved the little deck by the river.
Apr 16, 2013
Apr 16, 2013
Apr 16, 2013
We loved this campground. The staff was awesome, so helpful!! The campground was very clean, a cut above all others! We will definitely stay again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.