Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
We loved our stay! The fact that you can just drop your tubes in the river and float down the rapids was awesome!!! We will come back to stay!
Aug 08, 2013
The primitive cabin was great... except for the beds. They are extremely uncomfortable. My husband and I woke up prob 20 times each throughout the night. Besides that, the location is great, the activities are great. The kids had a blast.
Aug 07, 2013
Sites are extremely close to each other. Price was higher than Ii have ever paid for a campsite. Due to price and size of sites I will not visit this campground very often. Wifi only works if you sit at the office or pool. Campground was clean and staff was friendly.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
2nd visit there, and will come again. Disappointed in the beach upgrade, but overall a great experience.
Aug 05, 2013
Premium waterfront sites were soggy at best. There was no grass in between sites to wick away the mud. We requested straw which was delivered promptly. The shower rooms are in need of mold removal or tiling again. They were not as clean as previous years. We did not make yearly advance ressies as we have in the past.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Stayed in a Kamping Kabin and it was really nice n cozy but the beds are way to hard! Like sleeping on the floor. Other than that it was a good time. We were almost on the river, which was awesome! We will be going back but will bring air mattresses next time. :)
Aug 05, 2013
Only compliant was the trash service never came by our site. Would recommend creating a community sink near the primitive sites.
Aug 05, 2013
Great place, staff very friendly and helpful. Reserved sites for next year.
Aug 05, 2013
Always like staying at KOA Townsend
Aug 05, 2013
Staff is second to none! Remember me everytime I came in co fact with them asking about my campsite and stay! Very great place to camp will be back soon!
Aug 04, 2013
This location was great! it is very close to alot of the attractions and the area is very beautiful! Everyone was very friendly and helpful with directions ect.. I especially enjoyed all the trees and the river right there. Everything was well kept and clean!!
Aug 04, 2013
Our daughter loved the pool and playground. We stayed at both the majority of our trip! We had a great time!
Aug 04, 2013
Best week of our summer!Reading by the river,falling asleep listening to the rushing waters, feeling the stress leave my body, it doesn't getanybetter!Beautiful Mountains!
Aug 04, 2013
Dcc#8 very clean but needs drapes especially window that faces street light - too bright in room at night to sleep well after long day of traveling. Also it would be beneficial to tell customers at check in that they will now get replacement towels during their stay.
Aug 03, 2013
I always enjoy staying at koa townsend tn. I would highly recommend it and I will be back next year!
Aug 03, 2013
everyone looks nice, and really helpful we enjoyed our stay, then coming there for the past 20 years, Mark and his family really take care the campground.
Aug 03, 2013
We so enjoyed camping by the relaxing sound of the river. Tubing then relaxing in the pool was perfect. The playground was first rate and the staff was very friendly.
Aug 03, 2013
The expense of the campground has gotten to the outragous point. Nightly camping should not be more than a hotel.
Aug 03, 2013
Internet wifi would not work at all on site 40. No excuse for this with the technology available now .
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Did not enjoy my stay,very stressful,been reserving spots next to water with group of friends since 97 ,in advance a year ahead ,this year all could not make it only 2 sites rented, and we had no privacy ,other campers tramping through our campsites constantly sitting in front of our campsite drinking ,ridiculous ,dissatisfied after driving 6 hours an renting a car to come on vacation
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
First time staying here. We will definitely be back. Campground personnel were friendly and knowledgeable and present throughout the day. Other KOA's should be like this one.
Aug 02, 2013
We stayed four nights and had the greatest time. Staff is super friendly. We will be back!
Aug 01, 2013
A bit pricey compared to state parks, but this is a very nice campground with a friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location close to the quiet entrance to the national park (away from all the nonsense of gatlinburg and pigeon forge). Right on the river with fun tubing.
Aug 01, 2013
This was about our 5th time coming here. We had a great time this year as well. Everything is always clean and in great shape. I feel very safe there withmy children. I love all the improvements around the river as well as the new tree house area.
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Loved camping by the river . It was our 3rd time and plan to go back again !
Jul 31, 2013
Second time we have stayed here at Townsend. Only 2 complaints. Campsite needed a little more gravel(muddy when it rained) and the internet reception is terrible. They need to install a booster. Some people still have to work even on vacation. Otherwise we love camping here.
Jul 30, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Will stay there again. Only complaint was from my husband about the men's room not being clean.
Jul 29, 2013
This is a great campground but the cost is very expensive. Was wondering why you do not carry KOA products in the store.
Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful time. Pool was great. Clean family atmosphere.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
we love this koa campground!! we have stayed four years in a row now with a group of friends and we always have the best time! all the staff is always so friendly, the cabins are always very clean as well as the entire campground and pool. we hope to come every year as long as we are living and able! thank you so much for helping to make great memories for us and our families!
Jul 29, 2013
Located just down the road from a entrance to the Smokie's. Very quiet atmosphere. A lot of families with kids. Located a distance from the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Staff were friendly and helpful - circuit break blew on hookup at 10:45 PM, left a message with desk and by 8 AM it was fixed. Sites were a little tight - seen more than one camper struggle but staff helped
Jul 29, 2013
The staff was very kind and helpful, my only complaint was the sites were small.
Jul 29, 2013
I was in site 62, could have been larger. But everyone was very helpful. Thank-you.
Jul 29, 2013
Disappointed with the cleanliness of showers. Grounds in general were not well kept. Loved it when we stayed 9 years ago several times. Disappointed.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We love Townsend KOA
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time and it was the kids first camping trip. They loved tubing. The personal treated us very well.
Jul 28, 2013
We loved this campground will be back!!
Jul 28, 2013
Great people at this KOA has had us coming back year after year. Everything is well maintained and everyone is ready to accommodate your every need no matter how small. I am ready to come back again!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.