Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

May 13, 2013
We were really impressed with the changes that you have made over the winter. The new grass area by the river side looks great. (Please install the swings) The kids area looks like so much fun my wife wanted to go play on it!! We'll keep coming back!!
May 13, 2013
The only problem was site 32 the waste water connection is too high. Townsend KOA is our choice of campgrounds. We camp here at a minimum of 4 times a year.
May 13, 2013
we have stayed here for many years and really enjoy it each time. It's a great place to ride bikes and we love to visit the antiques shops near by.
May 13, 2013
We stayed right on the river and loved it. It was so peaceful and beautiful. The kids love the tshirt tye dye, the hayride and movie night. I loved the people that work at KOA. Every single interaction we had with staff was great. They are on the ball and courteous.
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
Nice campground. Just very crowded when we stayed.
May 13, 2013
Very well thought out check in for a busy weekend. Pulled up and was taken straight to our spot and the receipt was brought down to us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and great activities for the kids.
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
This was our 1st time staying here. Very nice, clean and friendly camp ground. We had a wonderful lot on the river. We will make sure to come back again. My son loved the banana bike.
May 13, 2013
May 11, 2013
Beautiful quiet place on the river. WiFi was a iffy, but everything else was great. The staff was continually keeping the place clean and neat.
May 11, 2013
Very nice campground and super hosts. Loved our site right on the river. Worth the splurge on price.
May 11, 2013
May 11, 2013
Great facility. Friendly, helpful people. A most enjoyable stay.
May 11, 2013
May 10, 2013
Great campground. Super clean. Staff are so friendly. Only wish tent sites were a little more level.
May 09, 2013
Very friendly staff, lovely sites, Propane and gas station on site. Less than 1 mile from GSM National Park.
May 09, 2013
The best KOA in the country - don't miss it! Wonderful staff, beautiful campground - you couldn't ask for more! Thank you for a great stay.
May 08, 2013
I am the author of a new book on Clingmans Dome, the Highest mountain in Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Would this KOA location consider putting the book on its shelves? The KOA in Cherokee was pleased to receive it. (I stayed at the KOA in Townsend, TN outside the Park entrance because I was attending a naturalist's certification class at the Great Smoky Mountain Institute. Perfect weekend!!
May 07, 2013
Always great!! love the new landscape:)
May 07, 2013
great as always
May 07, 2013
Was just a great weekend even with the rain we had. Great staff look forward to the next time.
May 07, 2013
May 07, 2013
The staff was extremely friendly and personable. The facilities clean and easily accessible. This was tops in my book.
May 06, 2013
THE very best!!!!!! Mark, Samantha and the wonderful staff keep us coming back year after year after year.
May 06, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. We really like the up grade from the last time that we were there.
May 06, 2013
Wonderful time and it was very clean and the play ground was awesome for the kids
May 06, 2013
May 06, 2013
Very clean and well kept, kid and pet friendly...an enjoyable experience all around!
May 06, 2013
KOA staff has always been exceptional, and this time was no different - in spite of a rocky start with one of our camping buddies. Thank you - we'll be back.
May 06, 2013
May 06, 2013
May 05, 2013
Had a great time. Staff was very friendly. Campground was well located right outside Smoky Mountain NP. :-)
May 05, 2013
It was very well kept and the staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone not to miss a chance to stay here. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.
May 05, 2013
May 05, 2013
The staff went out of their way to help me whenever I needed it.
May 04, 2013
Clean great staff Sites are way too close dont enjoy looking at another camper 3 foot away.
May 03, 2013
Everything was fine, except the raccoon ate my food I just brought back to my campsite, you guys need to call my friend Paul back to get some coons!
Apr 30, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Great location in Townsend. Deluxe cabin was excellent and the staff friendly.
Apr 28, 2013
Well, we had a great time but the cabin rental was very expensive! Apx $150/ night. Also we were not able to start the gas grill after spending $$$ on groceries to grill. The shower dispensers were mostly empty but I brought my own supplies for baths.
Apr 26, 2013
It is a beautiful spot and we had a great time. We liked it so much we intend to return as soon as possible. The only issue was the unfriendly guy at the store who closed ten minutes early and would not sell us ice. There were other people working there in the day who were very nice.
Apr 25, 2013
The best place in the world. Home away from Home. We had an incident with our RV electric step not retracting and the KOA general manager came to our site & fixed it to where we could drive home. Now that is CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! Thanks Mark for your help. The Heath Family
Apr 25, 2013
The campground and staff were really great. The only complaint I have is about the shower rooms. They are moldy and dirty. My advice would be to leave the doors open when they are not in use so they can dry out. A good scrubbing with a bleach cleaner would be great. Otherwise everything in the park is great.
Apr 25, 2013
Apr 25, 2013
Love the improvements!
Apr 24, 2013
Five of us stayed in a Cabin Deluxe w/loft where day 1 required A/C & then heat the rest of our stay, & an all were very comfortable. Beds were comfy, provisions were great, the deck/BBQ/outside furnishings were also wonderful. We were on the river, so it was nice to sit on the deck or around the fire in gravel (not mud). A wonderful time, as usual!
Apr 24, 2013
Cabin was nice but heat did not work correctly. Campground very family oriented. Would like to have known some of the amenities advertised on the website were not open before arriving. Playground was also under construction. I'm sure it will be nice when finished. Campground in in a Great location. Love the quiet side of the smokies. Would definitely return. Staff very friendly.
Apr 24, 2013
Excellent staff and location. Only negative was construction. While I understand its for the greater good, it was still distracting
Apr 24, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.