Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2017
It was our second stay in two years. So amazing once again we scheduled our third stay before we left. Fantastic staff!
Jul 15, 2017
Our cabin was very clean #9 and was cool when we entered. Everyone was very friendly and we love coming here.
Jul 14, 2017
Great campground, very clean! Some sites are close to highway and can be a bit noisier than back by the river. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the store up the hill. I would stay here again!
Jul 14, 2017
Staff wasn't really friendly at all. Got to the campsite and only to find out they put us between two families with barking dogs that barked all day & night and nothing was done. Than at 2 am a truck came through twice loud as can be still nothing. Only pretty clean restrooms.
Jul 13, 2017
I bring my four grandchildren every summer. It has become one of our fun annual times together. It is such a nice clean place and the kids love it! The pool, the craft time in the mornings, the family time each night, the hayride, and movie night make for happy memories. Of course the clean bathrooms with hot showers is an added bonus as well. We look forward to more happy times here at KOA.
Jul 13, 2017
It was great
Jul 13, 2017
I loved the activites for the kids and family..the cabins are nice. The service excellent
Jul 13, 2017
The campground is always in great shape and the staff is friendly and helpful! This was my fifth year hosting #CAMPGigi and my kids and I love it! Thank you again for the wonderful memories!
Jul 12, 2017
Deluxe cabins over priced
Jul 12, 2017
Great site! Very clean!
Jul 12, 2017
We had tent site 124/125 by the river. It was beautiful. we did have a lot of people go to the water thru our site but u just have to deal with it. The staff was very helpful. We worked with them on these reservations for 6 months to plan this perfect weekend. The bathrooms and showers were nice too. Loved the bingo night And movie night. Deff will recommend and want to stay again in the future.
Jul 12, 2017
everything was great but be warned if you stay at tent site 100...there is NO shade...otherwise it's a great site and a great campground. Best hosts you will evr meet!
Jul 12, 2017
Great camp
Jul 11, 2017
In the opinion of this family, the Townsend KOA sets the standard for a great campground. Exceptional in every regard.
Jul 11, 2017
Good
Jul 11, 2017
The campsite is too crowded. Specifically, site 38 is wedged in between two other sites that provide little privacy when outdoors. I also was surprised to find no charcoal grill and only a shallow fire bowl for amenities. The bathrooms were clean and the private shower stalls were a nice feature. The pool was nice and the river access was good.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
The staff here is very friendly. This is a wonderful campground!
Jul 11, 2017
great people at the location we stayed in clean place and helpful people there. enjoyed staying there
Jul 10, 2017
We have been to this KOA at least 10 times and have loved each and every time! Staff is amazing and so helpful. Location is absolutely gorgeous! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Game room needs to be updated. Everything else great, especially the staff.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a good campground but the staff seems a bit overwhelmed at times. I was billed for someone else's purchase and it took them over 30min to "correct" the error and I still don't see the credit back on my visa (5 days later). On a positive note: bathroom and shower stalls were in great condition.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a great place to stay. We love it. Right on the river it is great. It is clean and the staff are very friendly! We will be going back!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Great location, quiet and feels like camping! Grounds very well kept. Highly recommend going here.
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice campground, clean. very expensive, should not charge for each adult or each vehicle.
Jul 10, 2017
Another great weekend at the Townsend KOA. My camping friends and I agree if we had to commit to one campground, this would be the place. It's clean, the KOA staff is very helpful, the sites are spacious and level, and the kids have a ball at the pool, in the river, playing basketball, and riding bikes.
Jul 10, 2017
Wonderful!! Very clean! Great activities! Helpful staff! Will be back!
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a tent site and had a wonderful time! The campsite was clean and so well kept. Every staff member we saw was friendly and more then ready to help if we needed anything. All in all it was a wonderful stay here!
Jul 10, 2017
wonderfull, thank you
Jul 10, 2017
We like the staff.they help you put your camper in the right spot. They are very friendly. Hay rides,bingo, swimming,bike riding,grilling,tubing. Lots of fun.
Jul 09, 2017
Nicest campground in the smokies. Has everything you need for any type of family. Will definitely be going back to this campground.
Jul 09, 2017
Beautiful campground. Great staff
Jul 09, 2017
Narrow entrance, tight sites. Directions were insufficient when coming from I-40. Plenty to do for kids.
Jul 09, 2017
Clean and fun!!
Jul 09, 2017
This campground is great and we love the location. We like the river sites. For the price, I think the sites are to close.
Jul 09, 2017
This was our first time staying at any KOA and we are extremely happy with the hosts, facilities, ammenities and general maintenance and upkeep of the campgrounds. Thank you for all of your hardworking and friendly staff!
Jul 08, 2017
Had a great stay.Clean camp ground and facilities.Great staff as well.
Jul 08, 2017
Very clean and fun place to stay! It's great for families with small children. So much for them to do without leaving the campground!
Jul 08, 2017
Everything was clean and the staff was wonderful! However, we do prefer a little bit more solitude than the KOA offered. This is a perfect place for families with small children though, something for everyone to do:)
Jul 08, 2017
This is the nicest KOA my family has stayed at! The campground is spotless , the staff is constantly cleaning bathrooms and sites. The location is perfect for a stay in smokies, right on the river for all day tubing fun and minutes from the park entrance. You will not be disappointed at this KOA. The staff is awesome and there was kid activities daily provided by a local church group.
Jul 08, 2017
Amazing location, great amenities, and large,clean showers and bathrooms! We've stayed here twice in the last two years. We will be back!
Jul 08, 2017
Great place an great people
Jul 08, 2017
We stayed in a Deluxe cabin w/bathroom, which was very clean. The staff were courteous and present in and around the site all day. Linens and towels were provided, just make sure you bring utensils with you if you are doing your own cooking. They provide the very nice gas grills and the fire pit was very nice with its own hinged grill top. We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2017
One of the nicest campgrounds and friendliest staff you will find!
Jul 08, 2017
Cabin was very nice and clean. A great place to be.
Jul 07, 2017
Please consider providing HD TV service, at least offer a few channels in HD. I realize this is cost; however, it is time to consider upgrading the signal. Thank you for considering this!
Jul 07, 2017
Clean, friendly, helpful staff, super play spaces for children. Look forward to visiting again!
Jul 07, 2017
We stay here every year and have for almost 20 years even before it was a KOA property.
Jul 06, 2017
Never disappointed at KOA in Townsend. Our granddaughter wouldn't want to go anywhere else and neither would we! Already made next year's reservation!!
Jul 06, 2017
Always fantastic!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award