Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2016
Love the clean facilities and friendly staff!
Jun 18, 2016
Wonderful setting!
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Very nice campground!! The whole place was neat and clean!
Jun 17, 2016
What a great campground! We've stayed at many and use Townsend KOA as a gauge for all the rest. The staff are super friendly and the grounds are well maintained. Mark and crew get an A+ from us.
Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Very active campground. Friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a cabin. Cabin and campground were very clean. Location is nice along the river. Great opportunity for tubing. Cons: Prices high in camp store. (Suggest using IGA). Wifi is not dependable so don't count on getting access.
Jun 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay-everything was clean and perfect for our stay! Thank you very much!
Jun 17, 2016
Friendly staff, clean facilities, and close to the National Park. Our site was pretty narrow, but had a nice concrete patio and a gravel area with fire pit.
Jun 17, 2016
This is one of the greatest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. The service people are extremely knowledgeable and friendly, the sites are clean and well maintained, we have never had to wait more than 10 minutes for a service call of any type. The facilities are extremely clean, the pool is wonderful and the amenities are great. We will be back soon.
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 17, 2016
Best stay ever! Every employee I came in contact with acted like they just won the lottery. So happy and helpful. Can hardly wait to visit again!
Jun 17, 2016
Very nice time. I wish there was shade for the patio.
Jun 16, 2016
The campground is very clean! Access to the creek is very easy and fun for the kids. The night time activities for the kids provides fun entertainment. The pool is very nice as well. Everything is very clean and provided a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The staff is extremely helpful and will go out of their way to assist you...even when your vehicle breaks down off site! Wonderful stay!
Jun 15, 2016
I had a slight disagreement concerning my reservation.It was handled with the most outstanding customer service!
Jun 15, 2016
The staff was very kind, especially Mark. They were attentive to any needs or questions that we had. We'd recommend it to others. We especially loved the TUBING :-)
Jun 15, 2016
The reason I chose your campground was bc you had riverfront tent sites.I thought it was a little pricey but campground was very nice.We only had one night due to a time constraint & did not get to do anything in the campground - perhaps next time. Absolutely loved the showers & the great up-to-date tile including the installation. I even took a picture I was so impressed.
Jun 15, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Excellent as usual!
Jun 14, 2016
Staff was great. Campsites are close together, many people just walk through your campsite if it is a shorter path for them.
Jun 14, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay at Townsend KOA. The staff was wonderful and the facilities were extremely clean. We will absolutely go back soon!
Jun 14, 2016
This was our very first trip in our new pop up. From the moment we pulled in, we were treated like family. Our pull through site was beautiful and we had a great view of the river. We had a "deck" to sit on and enjoy the view. The bathrooms were clean and the showers hot. We will absolutely camp here again!
Jun 14, 2016
Great time. Friendly helpful staff. Only comment / complaint is add a path to get from non creek side site to the creek without having to walk through someone else's camp site.
Jun 13, 2016
Wonderful cabins, very clean. The entire grounds are very clean, kids had a blast!
Jun 13, 2016
LOVE this place! Got a site on the river and enjoyed every minute of our stay! Spectacular showers. Great location. Helpful staff helped make our stay pleasant. Can't wait to return. Thanks Townsend KOA
Jun 13, 2016
We LOVE this KOA!! The people are so friendly the location is perfect!! We enjoyed a deluxe cabin for the first time and it fit our group perfectly!
Jun 13, 2016
Love the camp our kids always have a blast here and its very close to the entrance of the Smoky Mountains. Everything is always clean and the employees are always helpful. The campers are very close together and that's the only thing I do not like about the site.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time in DC7. We missed having a space to wash our dishes though! our shower drain is clogged and didn't drain sufficiently as well. Rest was great thanks.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone is so friendly, helpful and kind. Beautiful campground, tons of fun for kids. Nicely spaced sites. Loved the river
Jun 13, 2016
Loved the cabin
Jun 13, 2016
Great service, friendly and helpful staff. Great campground for families with children. However, the campground is very noisy...partially due to close proximity to main highway with lots of motorcycle traffic. Nice shaded sites but at the expense of lots of dead tree limbs...2 of which fell during a thunder storm hitting our camper and denting the hood of our suburban. Overpriced at $80 per night.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time, the accommodations, activities, and friendly and helpful staff made this a memorable visit! My daughters rated the trip a 10, and that's all I could have asked for!
Jun 13, 2016
While some campgrounds have more amenities, KOA Townsend takes top marks for staff service.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone was so helpful and kind!! Was very convenient with the River Tubing bike riding fishing store showers swimming pool playground anything you could possibly need to have fun was right there and recommend it to everyone
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Wifi and cable did not work
Jun 12, 2016
GREAT! The staff was helpful and friendly; the grounds were well manicured and clean; the bathroom /shower areas well maintained.
Jun 12, 2016
All the staff was very helpful. The park and bathrooms/showers was cleaned. We enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to our future stays.
Jun 12, 2016
Most of the staff was friendly. Then on Thursday a new staff member showed up that would stop and watch small kids. Kind of worried me. Being a parent.
Jun 12, 2016
Great kampground and great staff, we, my wife and I had two girls6&7 year old and the staff had activities for the kids at the pavillion. Almost every day they did face painting a scavenger hunt and tie dye t-shirts all you needed was to purchase the shirt for$10 i think and a group of young adults did the tieing and the dyieing and was spectacular. We have been camping here for over 20 years anv
Jun 12, 2016
Very friendly staff and guests. A little tight getting into and out of spots with 35ft fifth wheel but manageable. Some sites a little too close.
Jun 12, 2016
We stayed in a camping cabin. It was clean and comfortable. It was a spacious site and had a beautiful view. Some of the staff was not particularly helpful or pleasant. A restroom or bathhouse needs to be added to service the camping cabins instead of portable toilets.
Jun 12, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
Always great at this location!!
Jun 12, 2016
Family, friendly atmosphere. Everything was great!
Jun 12, 2016
Wifi dosen't work!😢complicated to logg in and overloaded.
Jun 11, 2016
Good place to stay. Nothing negative to say about the location or the campground. Just wish that some campers were as nice as the place and respected rules.
Jun 11, 2016
quiet campground, unfortunately the NP visitor center recommended the winding road through the park instead of taking the route via Sevierville - the Young lady said we would get stuck in the Gaitlinburg traffic jam - she probably was not aware of the existence of the Gatlinburg bypass
Jun 11, 2016
The Koa was clean the bathrooms for very nice but the Wi-Fi was very poor
Jun 10, 2016
Wonderful site on the river!
Jun 10, 2016
Great week in Smoky Mtns! Thanks for the Sunday church service
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award