Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 17, 2017
Facilities were beautiful! Trees peppered among the sites, new middle larger sites had cobblestone patio with raised fire pit and round table with 4 chairs (FANTASTIC), excellent playground area (we had children ages 8-11 that LOVED it), stream running through campsite, clean facilities, great staff!
Jan 17, 2017
This is by far the best KOA that my family has stayed in over the past few years!
Jan 17, 2017
We love this place! We had a tent site on the river and love to hear the water at night. Went hiking and horse-back riding nearby. Staff is always friendly, and the store is great for anything we forgot (we always do!)
Jan 16, 2017
Jan 16, 2017
These cabins are well maintained in a beautiful area. Would highly recommend.
Jan 16, 2017
Had a great site on the river #78. Sites are right on top of each other so don't go into it looking for peace and quite. They need another bathhouse at the back right of the campground. The only one closest to us was closed for renovation and for what you pay to stay here a Porta potty was not ideal for the whole weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jan 14, 2017
Enjoyed the beautiful location and the snow. Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Can't wait for my next adventure.
Jan 10, 2017
Another great vacation! The staff is amazing and the campgrounds are well kept. Great experience - Again!
Jan 07, 2017
For the third year in a row my wife and I enjoyed our deluxe cabin accommodations at the KOA Townsend TN. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly & obliging.
Jan 07, 2017
Except for some loud and rude campers, (AKA: Tail gating crowd) between Christmas and new years we enjoyed our stay for the month. The sites are too close together. When people build giant fires your RV and vehicle are loaded with ash.
Jan 06, 2017
The deluxe cabin was incredible - beyond my expectations. The cabin and the campground were clean, and the staff was very friendly. Definitely recommend this place!
Jan 06, 2017
Nice little cabins right on the creek. Beautiful view.
Jan 06, 2017
Loved your camp ground. Will. E back
Jan 05, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jan 04, 2017
Tight uneven spaces, noisey. The most expensive KOA in the East and not worth it.
Jan 04, 2017
Awesome campsites. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay great. We have stayed three times and plan many more.
Jan 04, 2017
Love this place we come here at least twice a year. We stay in the campground and in the cabins. The staff here is awesome. This is my favorite KOA.
Jan 04, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and it was great. We will be back!
Jan 04, 2017
Nice place. .but THEY had to move us from our original space we had reserved due to their upgrades. And charged us higher fees for site they moved us to.
Jan 04, 2017
First of all the cabin was very cold...it had two small heating strips that were not sufficient for the temperature outside...it had a HORRIBLE bed...I don't know where they got this bed, but it was VERY POOR QUALITY! And, one of the legs was broken...After driving 560 miles, we called the number to speak to someone to ck in and the lady was not friendly at all! We had drove around 11 hours!
Jan 04, 2017
Great stay as always!
Jan 03, 2017
We love the KOA in Townsend, TN We have been staying there for the last 6 years.
Jan 03, 2017
Great staff....friendly and helpful. Thank you for another great vacation.
Jan 03, 2017
Great location, extremely welcoming and helpful staff. We'll definitely return.
Jan 03, 2017
We had a great time
Jan 03, 2017
Only stayed 2 nights and were not at campground much, but the time we were there it was great, clean and very friendly.
Jan 03, 2017
extremely helpful staff.
Jan 03, 2017
Stayed over New Years 2016 and had a great time, really nice campground and wonderful hosts!
Jan 03, 2017
We had a great experience here. It was our 1st time to stay in the Townsend KOA and we will be back. I love hearing the river flowing by while we sat around the fire pit (I know, sounds like an ad for a date or something). The sites were very well kept up and many had a paver-pad and rock fire pit. We will sure be back for another trip to the Great Smokey Mountains and will stay here.
Jan 03, 2017
Quiet and comfortable. We had a 2 room cabin: very clean and almost completely met our needs. Wish the bath house had not been so far away. We were very pleasantly surprised to have a tv and fridge in the cabin! Bonus :)
Jan 03, 2017
We will always return to Townsend KOA. The staff is amazing there and always makes us feel at home. The lady at the front desk always gives us the best deal and the guys take great care of the grounds. I even lost my bill fold and they gladly returned it to me and kept it safe, until I arrived.
Jan 03, 2017
Best koa around love this place
Jan 02, 2017
Although the stay was great. I was extremely disappointed that KOA did not adhere to the winter special discount for my families stay. My family have been frequent campers at the Townsend location for over 20 years. In future circumstances, the staff should adhere to KOA discount policy and not change discount rates due to negligence or at worst an attempt to capitalize on the recent fires
Jan 02, 2017
Jan 02, 2017
It was nice except that the power went out in cabin DC10. Also the K-cup coffee maker didn't work before that. This was my in-laws cabin so they were not impressed by their 1st stay @ KOA. 1st impressions are long lasting. We have stayed before so we accept problems but...
Jan 02, 2017
Everything about our stay was wonderful!
Jan 02, 2017
The staff was very friendly and always ready to help in anyway. Everything was very clean, and a great place for a family.
Jan 02, 2017
We love this KOA. We arrived on Christmas Day and left on New Year's Day. As always, it was quiet and peaceful. The main bath house was closed for the winter season but a smaller bath house was available. The only negative was that they were closed when we arrived and they had not left my info on the door as promised. Thankfully I knew the number of the site we had reserved so it was no problem.
Jan 02, 2017
This was the first time we have visited this KOA we enjoyed ourselves with our two small kids.
Jan 02, 2017
The campgrounds were under construction & had the large bath house closed. Which let only 2 showers for the entire camp ground with no mention on line about the inconvenience. I stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin with no bathroom, which is nice, but I could not lock my door at night, which was unsettling. Also a microwave would be nice. Take down the molded pictures & replace them with a mirror.
Jan 02, 2017
Our stay was great! Caring was awesome! The only thing that we didn't like was having to walk so far to get to the bath house. We had 3 kids for the weekend and it was a little hard to have to go so far. Other then that everything was perfect.
Jan 01, 2017
I realize there was some construction but I have stayed at this KOA on many occasions over the past several years and it has always been clean. this time around the bathrooms were in terrible need of a cleaning and the sites were littered with trash. Sure hope it gets back to the way it use to be??
Dec 31, 2016
Nice campground that is well maintained. Location next to river is a big plus.
Dec 31, 2016
Cabin was clean. Campground was clean. Staff was friendly. Loved sitting outside the cabin by the river. Very nice play to stay.
Dec 30, 2016
The park is beautiful. Perfect for families. We will definitely be back.
Dec 30, 2016
This is our 3rd trip to townsend koa from ontario canada now and stayed in a cabin for 8 days for 2016 xmas this year instead of our travel trailer in past 2 trips. The best vacation we ever had this time. Thank you so much townsend koa and everybody there. Thanks again Metz family
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 29, 2016
Excellent
Dec 27, 2016
Wonderful camp ground staff was very helpful and friendly. Great location, very peaceful. Hope I get to go back in the spring.
Dec 20, 2016
I was a wonderful stay. I had everything I needed and the staff was amazing very friendly and helpful
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps