Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
This KOA has become somewhat overpriced. We have friends that we have camped with many years that are planning some 2016 functions at other locations due to some feeling they cannot afford the KOA any longer. With many other options in the area at 30% to 40% less. We stayed on a site without sewer priced at $72.00 a night. Seriously you should consider changing your name to The Marriott. VALUE???
Aug 17, 2015
One rude lady at front desk .i am going to cancel other res. unless she is relocated . If I owned koa she would not work for me .call joe at 865 719 7626
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This campground is beyond awesome. The entire camping areas were extremely clean as was the entire campground. The entire staff went above and beyond to be helpful. It is without a doubt the best KOA campground we have visited. It truly embraces the true spirit you expect to find at a KOA!!!!! Thank you for a terrific visit!!!
Aug 16, 2015
We had a great time. Only recommendation closer bathrooms.
Aug 16, 2015
Incredible campground so close to the park. We have visited many times and will be back. IMO, the best place to camp in the Smokeys. Mark and the crew are top shelf people.
Aug 16, 2015
Gregreat campground. Possibles the best I've been too! Clean, spacious service fast and extremely friendly. Great pool, river and tubing. Awesome!
Aug 16, 2015
Very disappointed in our stay. We had a problem with a local wood seller and thought that KOA handled it poorly. We canceled the remainder of our stay and moved to another local campground. It also changed our minds about a two week stay next year with our son and his family.
Aug 16, 2015
Was very nice there was a little road noise sites were smaller then we're used to but the patio area and fireplace ring were very nice
Aug 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful, and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpfu. Our only complaint was the new stone fire pit ( we were on one of the lots with the new patios and fire pits). The pit was fairly deep and had no holes for ventilation so it was VERY difficult to get a campfire going. I hope this will be corrected before our next stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Absolutely beautiful spot. Close to the mountains if that is what you want to explore.
Aug 15, 2015
Very quiet and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Loved having laundry facilities
Aug 14, 2015
Great stay as usual! This was our 3rd one this year and we have 3 more coming up !
Aug 14, 2015
The grounds are beautiful & the staff nice. Our only disappoint was the stench from the port a potties across from our site. They were cleaned on Monday.. but all weekend in the high heat the smell was awful at our site and tubers from the river kept cutting through our site to use them. They need to be cleaned more often especially at the hottest point on Summer & with campers and tubers using
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Campground was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful as always! Been coming here for over 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better.
Aug 13, 2015
We loved the koa in Townsend we have 3 boys from the age of 13 to 6 there was something to do for every one. Bathrooms were always clean and the customer service was wonderful.
Aug 13, 2015
great will do it again
Aug 12, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin and couldn't have asked for anything else
Aug 12, 2015
The new campsites are great. More like home. Not so close to your neighbor. The only complaint is the water pressure in the evenings. At times it would almost go off. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and really enjoyed it. It was a last minute decision to go and well worth it. Clean.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Would give 5 stars but most of staff are not very pet friendly and say some nasty things about pets even though we clean up after ours. Some were nice but a few were not. Most campers bring their pets, that is why they camp. Need to be more pet friendly to the campers.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed the stay. It is right on the river and great fun for the kids. The only negative was the porta potty next to our campsite. Really smelly. Not Good. Really need to fix the problem.
Aug 11, 2015
Always a great time at KOA Townsend. The campground is clean. The campsites are awesome and the staff is the best in the business. We can't wait to come back in a couple weeks
Aug 11, 2015
we camp here at the koa in townsend at least twice a year and enjoy it greatly. Always clean and nice staff. We recently came over to the campground just for the day to enjoy the river and facilities. We were astonished that we were still charged full nightly rates just for day use. Park was not full and could understand if it was. we paid almost 100 hundred dollars for 6 of us. Wont do it again!!
Aug 10, 2015
The Townsend KOA is a beautiful campground. However the nightly rate is way too high. This trip we were accosted by a female employee because we were not using the KOA rental tubes, we brought our own but apparently she thought we rented them elsewhere. Either way, she could use some soft skills training.
Aug 10, 2015
My wife and our little Silky Terror (lol) love staying at KOA's because they are all AOK! This has to be the best KOA we have stayed at. Thanks for the great time and the friendliest staff we have ever seen. Also thanks to Craig! Great Job Guys! Jeff and Catie "Camping with Vengeance!"
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground next to the Smokies. The kabins were great with a mini fridge and TV. Water outside the kabin was a big plus.
Aug 10, 2015
great camp ground , clean, nice patios the host were outstanding..
Aug 10, 2015
What we liked most was that the campground was mostly families, quiet with just enough activities to keep kids entertained not so much stuff to overload the whole reason why you go camping anyway.
Aug 10, 2015
Lots of shade with a river to play in!
Aug 10, 2015
Restrooms had been renovated since my last stay here....Very....very clean. Camping cabins also as comfortable as ever. All KOA employees very kind....Have been at Townsend many times and will continue to visit them!
Aug 09, 2015
Everything was really very good. We had a problem with an aggressive dog but the staff did everything they could to alleviate the problem.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful people, clean bathroom facility and very accommodating.
Aug 07, 2015
We where only there for one night but really liked the patio. We will be back when we can stay longer.
Aug 07, 2015
best campground ever!!!! will return over and over again. loved our campsite. customer service ok laundry need AC but it was a place that we will go again
Aug 06, 2015
It would be great to have a small bath house near the cabins and tent areas. Like the way you re did the middle section in the 50's area. Enjoyed the kid activities that we get to do while we stay there.
Aug 06, 2015
Family loved it. We are already planning next years trip!! Pleasant and helpful staff.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a wonderful experience and everyone was so helpful. We really appreciated the help backing in our camper since this was our first time using our camper. We liked it so much we booked an extra night.
Aug 06, 2015
We have stayed there twice and will definitely stay there again. Friendly staff with clean acommadations!
Aug 06, 2015
Great campground. The staff are wonderful and are willing to help at any time.
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground with lots to at the site and nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. Camping cabin we stayed in was clean but a little worn. Camp sites near the highway suffered with traffic noise. Only frustration with staff was a leaf blower used to sweep a cabin porch at 9:30 on Sunday morning when a broom would have worked fine. Bathroom was clean and so were the porta-johns.
Aug 05, 2015
Townsend is probably the best KOA we have ever visited. There are activities everyday hosted by the KOA and they offer a great deal on rafting. The deal includes a shuttle back to the top of the river to raft as many times as you wish until 5pm. Saturday night they played a great family movie outside and offered popcorn and drinks for a small fee. A must visit site for sure. We will be back.
Aug 05, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and the kids activities were great. Did not feel comfortable having a campfire due to limited space and being so near parked vehicles. That was a disappointment
Aug 05, 2015
LOVED it! Would definitely stay again

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.