Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2016
Very nice. Love the bath house. Very friendly staff
Aug 08, 2016
We had a wonderful weekend! Can't wait till Fall Break to come back!
Aug 08, 2016
Very friendly and clean. the sites on the river are incredible.
Aug 07, 2016
Fabulous location right on the Little River. Clean facilitates. Great for kids.
Aug 07, 2016
Great place to stay, the staff is awesome and helps with a smile. One request for next time ( we are coming back!) please improve the wifi in the park. Sometimes we need to stay connected to the home office, even on vacation!
Aug 07, 2016
Very enjoyable stay, will defiantly return.
Aug 07, 2016
GREAT++++. We have stayed in KOA all over the country and Townsend is in the top 10, maybe top 5. Thanks for a great stay. L&L
Aug 07, 2016
It was expensive for camping: $75 per night plus additional fees for cars. The grounds were well maintained put the restroom area needs to be cleaned more than once a day. I would say that they should be cleaned at least 3 times a day considering how busy the grounds are there.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Very nice, tranquil campground. It us full of trees and beautiful shrubs and flowers. Campground was very clean and looked like the employees worked at keeping it that way. We will come back with our family
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
This KOA was beautiful and every KOA worker was beyond helpful and kind!! Loved our stay!
Aug 06, 2016
The view was amazing, the accommodations were great, and I couldn't have asked for a better, more helpful staff!!! Thanks Great Smokies KOA!!!
Aug 05, 2016
What an AMAZING place! Thank you to all the staff (especially Marshall & Marilyn). Great restrooms, level sites, clean and updated. Pool was great, playground was awesome! Cannot say enough good things! One improvement?- Internet was very spotty... but that is nitpicky when you compare this KOA to all others....Kudus to the Manager for his leadership qualities.
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Always the perfect time!
Aug 04, 2016
Great campground in terms of location. You are close to many of the hiking trails in the Great Smokey Mountains, Pigeon Forge, and Sevierville. The campground hosts are extremely nice and helpful.
Aug 04, 2016
Probably the friendliest and most helpful staff we have encountered in our travels.
Aug 03, 2016
Unbelievable!!!! I did not know places like this existed. You have invented Glamping...
Aug 03, 2016
My Husband and I, 21 year old and two grandson loved everything. Plan to return next year. Cant wait.
Aug 03, 2016
Great facilities with the nicest and kindest people
Aug 03, 2016
Rates are way to high!!!!
Aug 03, 2016
Great place to go. the staff was very helpful in every way. "I'll be back".
Aug 03, 2016
Our grandsons had a great time!
Aug 03, 2016
This was our second visit to the Townsend KOA. Extremely clean, nice employees, very quiet, great camp sites. We will be back!
Aug 02, 2016
Great location and very friendly staff. The river and tubing was great. I would definitely recommend this KOA to everyone.
Aug 02, 2016
Enjoyed our stay as usual. The only complaint is that the pool wasn't open till later in the evening on Friday and it was HOT! There had been some pool issues but they were trying to get it cleared up. We were told the pool had to be drained the day before. We did swim in the river but was chilly.
Aug 02, 2016
A bit too dense for our taste. It was clever to put the picnic table and fire pit behind the camper so that the sites can be more narrow but our awning was almost touching the next RV. Noise carries between RV's and we prefer a quieter camp ground.
Aug 02, 2016
We always like to stay at KOA Townsend
Aug 02, 2016
Awesome stay! Had a river view camp site that was great for sleeping at night.
Aug 01, 2016
Stay was great! Lots for kids to do...all ages 6 - 60. Staff was always helpful and happy. Although it was not overly crowded during our stay, I would not want to be there when all sites were filled.
Aug 01, 2016
One of the best KOA campgrounds that we have ever stayed at. We will definitely stay here again.
Aug 01, 2016
We had a wonderful get-a-way! The last time we visited the Townsend KOA, my daughter was a baby. Now she is 8 and she had the best time swimming and meeting new friends. We loved all the kids' activities!
Aug 01, 2016
The only negative was not understanding how I was charged for extra people. I had to call the office. She explained that was how they had to enter the charges. Still was very confusing! All else was great!
Aug 01, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Facility was very clean. The campground was clean. Enjoyed that they offered a gas grill with the cabin. Staff was friendly
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We are very pleased with our stay. We will definitely be back next year to stay longer and in a bigger cabin. We appreciate the hospitality. Family memories made.
Jul 30, 2016
We are return visitors and love how friendly the staff is and how clean and well kept the campground is!
Jul 30, 2016
The younger workers are very nice and friendly, but the older office workers and ground keepers are not friendly at all! Very disappointed with them!
Jul 30, 2016
We brought our granddaughters , one from Fl, one from Ar with us. They had a blast. Your pool area was clean, and the bath house was as nice as we've seen! We will be back. Thank you for your hospitality! The Uzzel's
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Fun events for the kids. Clean facilities. Loved everything about our stay!!!!
Jul 30, 2016
Tons of hornets!! 2 stung my grandbaby and the staff was on top of the problem right away! Thanks!
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice area! Great scenery!maybe add some stepping stones & tiny dim lights for "barefoot" pathway to bathrooms. Everything was Clean and bathrooms / showers were "First Class!" The River and pool were Beautiful! O will be back!
Jul 29, 2016
This a great KOA. I especially like the family-firendly atmosphere, including the activities for children at the pavilion in the mornings and evenings. The manager is on top of everything and makes sure things are working properly. The staff are very freindly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2016
The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Even the younger ones! Quite impressed with the staff. Campground was well taken care of and clean. Sites were a little tight but very nice. Campground is located very close to park. This is a get place to stay when you want to be away from the crowd of Gatlinburg/Pigeon forge but be close to the park. I will definitely be going back.
Jul 29, 2016
We loved our stay in the campgrounds. The grounds are nice and the river is the best! We will be back.
Jul 28, 2016
Clean, spread out, and beautifully placed on the river. Very nice facilities. Great staff. Outstanding location to access the Smokies without dealing with the throngs of people entering the park from Gatlinburg.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great weekend in a cabin on the river! We especially loved watching all the tubes go by. I can definitely say we will be back again soon.
Jul 28, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award