Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2016
Our family loves this campground! We come every year!
Jul 11, 2016
Crowded campground with smelly portapotties and a long hike to the bathroom. You don't even feel like you are in the mountains.
Jul 11, 2016
Maintance staff created a great impression for my nephew from fl and his family. My goal and KOA,s to exceed ecpectations. You did it.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
This place is a gem in the GSM!!
Jul 10, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Happy we were close to the river. I understand that you want as many campers as you can get in but camp sites were small you are absolutely right on top of one another. We had no where to set up games to play and everything was cramped around our camper other than the small site we enjoyed ourselves.
Jul 10, 2016
Wonderful campground the staff are very efficient and the cabin was perfect.
Jul 10, 2016
Have stayed here a few times. Always a great vacation.
Jul 10, 2016
Nice, family-oriented campground in a beautiful and very convenient location. Close to Cades Cove. Great customer service,
Jul 10, 2016
Postive: Location, Plenty of kid's activities. Negative: We had a barking bloodhound in cabin next to us. The dog barked at every person that walked by or if you went out on your porch. It was frustrating. Pool was closed for cleaning on the one sunny day we were there.
Jul 09, 2016
Well kept, helpful courteous staff, lots of activities, awesome camp sites. We truly enjoyed our stay.
Jul 09, 2016
everything was great.but just one thing everyone i talked to stated that you need to install one more bathroom area over by the tint camping area we don't do the port a let thing at all. very nasty.
Jul 09, 2016
We liked our cabin and location. But honestly the people working front desk were not very friendly. We've been to this KOA 3 years in a row. It's usually very friendly when you walk in. But the ladies at front desk made my husband and I feel like an inconvenience more than a customer. I'm sure they are busy and tired...but I think they need to smile, make eye contact and make you feel welcome.
Jul 08, 2016
Stayed in a Deluxe Cabin this time; and, it was clean and wonderful. Wood bench on the porch could use some cushion, but love sitting there for morning coffee.
Jul 08, 2016
Great location. Close to Gatlinburg & other shopping. Had fun tubing down the Little River. Quite at night. Pool a little congested, could be bigger. But overall a great stay.
Jul 08, 2016
Great place very clean and friendly staff. But it's getting over priced !!! A lot of the regular campers that come to this Koa have stopped coming dew to the prices getting way to high for camping !!!!
Jul 08, 2016
I have stayed here before and always enjoy the stay.
Jul 08, 2016
clean, free stuff to do, the people working were nice and helpful
Jul 07, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. Lots of things for the kids. Loved the shade trees and the river, will definitely be back!
Jul 07, 2016
The KOA in Townsend is a perfect family campground. Friendly, helpful staff, and located right next to the Smoky Mountains National Park. I've been coming here since 1997.
Jul 07, 2016
It was great every one that works there were really nice and helpful Great campground !!!!!!!
Jul 07, 2016
Very friendly people. Very nice park. Would definitely go again. Only complaint is the bathrooms could've been cleaner.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
The staff was great, my only complaint is that other guests wouldn't follow the guidelines of the campground. We had multiple guests in our area that were just passing through in route to the wash house. These people were cutting across the landscaping into our area to take a shortcut.
Jul 07, 2016
Wonderful and helpful staff!
Jul 06, 2016
Great time, but I feel prices are too much and we had to ask for grass to be cut at our site, we also smelled sewer from the bath house. Adam , a worker there was so kind and friendly to us. He made our stay worthwhile.we loved having activities from the church each day for our children.it was a great vacation.
Jul 06, 2016
They are like family and everyone is very nice.
Jul 06, 2016
Kamp workers greeted us at check in and helped with parking Motorcycle trailer. Best experience so far. Have already booked for next 4th of July!
Jul 06, 2016
This was our 4th year camping at the KOA in Townsend and we will be back! The campground is clean, the staff is very helpful and we love the groups that come in and host the day camps and family events in the evenings. We love it!
Jul 06, 2016
Dogs,dogs & more dogs just how many dogs do you people let stay on one campsite ?
Jul 06, 2016
We stayed and camping cabin number three and the AC could not handle the heat. We notified the front desk and they could not fix it. Also the bathroom the Philippines is too far away and not enough to accommodate the size of the KOA.
Jul 06, 2016
The staff here was the best. The campground was clean and well taken care of. Most of the sites are well shaded.
Jul 06, 2016
Warm, friendly and HELPFUL staff. They run a very clean and cozy KOA.
Jul 05, 2016
Love this place, everyone is very friendly and restrooms are awesome.
Jul 05, 2016
My husband and I along with our three young children thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay in your deluxe cabin. Everything was clean and neatly kept and the staff was very friendly. We will be back!
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 05, 2016
Staff needs to patrol around 10 pm to make sure radios are turned off and we had some loud neighbors.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
This is one of our all time favorite camp grounds. It is very clean with a lot of activities. Our Granddaughter loved the Vacation Bible school last week. Great playground, trout fishing, kayaking and more. Staff is very helpful and courteous.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Facilities are very nice and clean and cabin was cool great a/c in rustic cabins. Staff was really nice, pretty awesome the deliver firewood. The beer in their store was all reasonably priced. Porta johns were the cleanest I have ever seen anywhere. The only thing I disliked was noticing many unattended campfire. This location obviously is on the river and is a safe place to enter the water
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly staff. Kid friendly and dog friendly.
Jul 04, 2016
One of the best vacations ever! Clean, friendly, staff awesome, grand children loved day camp, pool great, swimming in the creek was absolutely wonderful, site was shaded and spacious...made reservation next year already!!!
Jul 04, 2016
Had a good time children enjoyed themselves hope to return next year
Jul 04, 2016
If you ask anyone in our family they will answer that this is our favorite place to go on vacation. The campground is always clean and neat. The staff is always friendly. Absolutely a great place to stay!!!
Jul 04, 2016
We had a wonderful experience. I cannot think of anything negative. We especially liked the team of youth and adults from Tennessee Valley Community Church who led a day and evening program for campers. It was a great enhancement to our camping experience. Our son really looked forward to "Let's Make a Deal" and Bingo each evening!
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
The facilities are great for the majority of families. We however have a special needs child and the outhouses are nor accessible so the drive back n forth to the bath house was a bit much. We did however love the youth that were there working for Day camp, etc...
Jul 03, 2016
The only thing that I would love more about cabin 15, is a bathroom! Perfect site other than that!!
Jul 02, 2016
Have been staying at this campground long before it was KOA,Will not stay at this KOA nor renew my membership,because i spend over $1300.00 it is not good to charge $24.50 for second car,I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE SECOND CAR CHARGE UNTIL I LOOKED AT MY MAIL RECEIPT! all the years parking has not been a problem ,I can see charging for three cars.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award