Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 07, 2015
Jan 07, 2015
We love this quiet hideaway and will continue to visit when we need time away.
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
One of our favorite places to stay! Great campground, friendly helpful staff. Love it there.
Jan 04, 2015
Awesome vacation.
Jan 04, 2015
Great place to stay on the "quiet" side of the Smokies!! Close to Cades Cove and many other attractions. Campground was very clean and staff was super friendly!! Can't wait to go back.
Jan 04, 2015
I stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was beautiful! Love the scenery and the river. Staff was wonderful and very helpful! I will definitely be back!
Jan 03, 2015
No WiFi, poor cell coverage. No events at Christmas holidays. Location great, entrance is very small, sites are average.
Jan 03, 2015
Jan 03, 2015
I absolutely loved my time at KOA! The cabin was so tiny and cute. It was perfect for a getaway with my boyfriend. However, the tv was mounted in a weird spot and we couldn't really see it laying down on the bed. The picture quality looked "negative" so to speak when you were to the side of the TV or below it. But as a whole, our stay was perfect!
Jan 03, 2015
Bathroom keypads were not activated and passersby from the main road stopped to use the facilities frequently. The bathrooms were messy and not clean. Advertised Wi-Fi only available near main office. Sites were muddy and needed more gravel.
Jan 02, 2015
We had a great stay! The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a camping cabin on the river. It would have been nice if there was a bath house close to the cabin. The closest one was an extremely long walk away. Other than that, we had no complaints!! We will definitely stay here again.
Jan 01, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for four nights. It was very clean and comfortable, and a great price. We will be back soon!
Dec 30, 2014
Enjoyed very much!!
Dec 30, 2014
First the people at this KOA were great! The cabin too far from bath house and all water access too far away. After checking on rv prices to camp in summer $80 per nite too much. Dought we will come back.
Dec 30, 2014
I give it 4 instead of 5 stars for two reasons. 1. The bathhouses are located on the complete opposite side of the campground from the cambing cabins and tent sites. 2. The pet cleaning fee in the camping cabins seems a bit unfair at $20 flat fee. That means if you are only staying a night or two, it significantly increases the cost of your stay.
Dec 29, 2014
Great location and nice campground. We can't wait to come back.
Dec 28, 2014
I would stay here again and again. Very nice and friendly host.
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 27, 2014
We were disappointed because our cabin didn't have running water the first night abs the 2nd cabin we rented didn't have tv.
Dec 23, 2014
Friendly staff and great facilities.
Dec 23, 2014
Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Cabin was wonderful.
Dec 18, 2014
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
I love this campground it is very quiet and relaxing.We did have a problem with our gas grill and could not get in touch with anyone.We had to take one from another site.
Dec 05, 2014
Dec 04, 2014
I would have given a 5 star rating except for the rest room facilities. While very clean, the showers had very little pressure and the shower heads were little more than 5 feet high. I am 6-4 and the water was hitting me in at arm height. Pricing for the camp site is pretty pricey as well. $50+ dollars a night is kinda steep. On the plus side the campground is beautiful, river is great, cle
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 02, 2014
we had the best time ever. cant wait until mothers day.< were going back...
Dec 02, 2014
Always a favorite!!!!!!!!!!
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Our number one "go to" campground. For us it's an A+ in every regard. The staff - Adam, Mark, Jeremy, etc - are exceptional.
Dec 01, 2014
love staying at koa cant wait to stay again next year my family stays also we try to stay at the sametime see you in the spring
Dec 01, 2014
The location to the park entrance is great! The park was clean with decent amenities. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout my stay.
Dec 01, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
Loved this KOA! Beautiful sites by the water. Can see why this place won an award. Fudge excellent! Will definitely be back. Excellent staff always willing to go the extra mile.
Nov 28, 2014
Allowed me to reserve site pull in site near big bath house but did not say anything about bath house being closed and did not put us in the area we requested. Over priced for the area and amenities.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
we loved it there. the cabin was very comfortable and the overlook of the river made it really nice.
Nov 23, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since BEFORE it was a KOA. Love the place, the staff is excellent, especially Mickey. See ya next year
Nov 23, 2014
Park and staff were great. Only freezing weather took awayb from stay !
Nov 23, 2014
We enjoyed the cabin, warm and cozy after hiking along the beautiful river and the COOL outdoors. Thanks
Nov 23, 2014
This campground is absolutely beautiful. Our rustic cabin was about two blocks away from the bathroom facilities. Also, the water spigot near the cabin was either turned off or frozen. The nearest water was about one block away. On my way to the bathroom with toiletries, a lantern, and a teapot, I tripped over a fire ring . My legs were hurt, but I did not break anything. Closer bathrooms?
Nov 22, 2014
Nov 21, 2014
Nov 20, 2014
no problems everyone was nice and helpful. thank you.
Nov 20, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.