Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 02, 2015
Great place to stay on the quiet side
Apr 02, 2015
It is always a pleasure to stay at this KOA.
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Our stay was great. Our only complaint would be staff not enforcing the no dogs in playground rule and not asking parents to watch their children around office and playground on bikes etc.
Apr 02, 2015
Love this spot, a hidden gem, and will as before be back again
Apr 01, 2015
Very clean and comfortable cabins in a great location. Good for a quick weekend getaway or an extended stay. Hope to be back soon. My only complaint would be that the wi-fi wouldn't pick up in the cabin at all. We didn't spend too much time inside during the day but it would have been nice to have at night before bed as the cable was out during our stay
Apr 01, 2015
First time renting a cabin usually stay in rv, but was a quick trip with grandsons, they had a great time.
Apr 01, 2015
Newly renovated sites..nice people.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Our favorite campground in all of Tennessee! Beautiful sites & ├╝ber friendly staff...I highly recommend a week here!! (Literally right outside the gates of Smoky Mtn. National Park)
Mar 28, 2015
Mar 28, 2015
Beautiful campground in a great setting! Our site backed to the river (with our own little deck). The staff was awesome. The only (extremely minor) downside was that the sites were kind of close. This absolutely didn't affect our stay, though. We had a great time, and may find our way back if we have a few extra days in the summer.
Mar 27, 2015
Love it!!! We had an amazing vacation. The KOA Townsend is awesome. Very clean and well manicured. The employees are friendly and accomdating. Southern hospitality at its best.
Mar 27, 2015
The camp ground was great. The employees were very friendly and helpful. They even helped us back into our site! I gave it 4 stars because the showers were not Cleaned daily.
Mar 26, 2015
The studio cabin was beautiful. Nice location . Will be back when I can stay longer.
Mar 25, 2015
We had a wonderful stay and the entire staff were so helpful and kind! Beautiful improvements being made to the campground too!
Mar 25, 2015
We love Koa in Townsend! We tell everyone about it. We gave our kids the option of the beach for the weekend, or to camp at Koa. They chose camping! There is so much for them to do!
Mar 24, 2015
This was the first time we have stayed at a KOA. It was fantastic. Super clean, and the people we wonderful. We had forgotten some items and they were more than accommodating to us. We couldn't have aske for a better campground. Will recommend to family and friends.
Mar 24, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time and enjoyed the new updates. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Mar 23, 2015
My kids love the playground. Friendly staff. The dog park is a big hit. Safe campground were you feel safe to let kids have some freedom.
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 22, 2015
Our stay for the most part was great! The weather was awesome! We only had a couple of inconveniences that weren't really a problem....the main bath house was being remodeled so the entire camp had to use the small one behind the office and the cable TV was out.
Mar 21, 2015
Helpful, curtious.
Mar 21, 2015
Pour stay at KOA went really well. The campground was very clean and well kept. Staff there was extremely nice and very courteous . They go out of their way to make sure your stay is going well. We stayed in one of the small cabins at the site and it was nice and clean and everything was in working order. Our only complaint is the mattresses in our cabin were not comfortable at all.
Mar 21, 2015
Awesome! Kid friendly,clean, safe, staff extremely nice. Would recommend to everyone.
Mar 21, 2015
This was our 4th time staying at the KOA Townsend and we always love it! After staying in the deluxe cabins, it'll be hard to ever stay in a camping cabin again. :) Thank you all for being a wonderful campground and we always recommend you to our friends and family. Many blessings to you all!
Mar 20, 2015
Loved the friendly, helpful staff. Loved our site right on the river also next to a grassy area. Nice playground and bathhouse.
Mar 19, 2015
stayed in cabin , enjoyed the setup with a patio , grill and fire pit , had my little dog with me and i was very glad i was able to have her with me thanks again and will be staying there again in the future
Mar 19, 2015
The stay was good except that the water was turned off at most of the spigots most of our stay. We also had to walk to the far bathroom because of renovations to the closer bathroom. Really, a bathroom even closer to our sight than the out of service one would be great. It is too far to get little ones to the potty!
Mar 19, 2015
Too expensive, not near enough restrooms and showers!
Mar 18, 2015
Mar 18, 2015
Office hours unusual for KOA. Off season. Wonderful stay.
Mar 18, 2015
It rained all my stay but the kids had a blast. That is all that counts!!!
Mar 18, 2015
Your staff were so accommodating, so helpful and willing to give of their time, and so concerned for the welfare of all of your guests. It seems like you have a very special family at this campsite!
Mar 17, 2015
Awesome scenery.
Mar 17, 2015
The entire KOA staff was wonderful......!
Mar 16, 2015
Wonderful campground! Loved our site right beside the river. Great playground for kids of all ages. Easy to access bike trails. Friendly staff. I highly recommend this KOA!
Mar 16, 2015
Best campground I've stayed at in a long time. The employees were outstanding! They were so friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back
Mar 16, 2015
It was a great stay all but one night when a group of young adults came into the park (possibly for spring break?) and played music so loud next door to us, we couldn't sleep until 2am. It might be best to enforce quiet time.
Mar 15, 2015
Very nice campground. However, the gps tells you the address is someplace other than where it is. The people at the front desk are aware of this, so it should be on the website. Also, there needs to be more lighting by the front koa sign. Very hard to tell where it is at night.
Mar 14, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
all was well
Mar 09, 2015
My husband and I love camping here, we have been there many times and will absolutely continue to do so
Mar 09, 2015
This is worst stay we have experienced at this KOA. We were unfortunate enough to have a loud group next to us in lot 13 that stayed out to the wee hours drinking and partying. Had no respect for those around them. I tried to find a number to contact a KOA associate in which there was none. Only a recording with no after hours contact number. Very disappointed.
Mar 03, 2015
The staff was very friendly. My son and I had a great stay. The cabins were very clean. We would love to return for future visits!
Feb 26, 2015
Feb 24, 2015
We have stayed here many times in our RV. This is the second time we have stayed in a cabin. Must have been a price increase from what we payed last Feb.2014?
Feb 23, 2015
Was a good weekend to get away for Valentines. The only thing I can complain about is the heater in our cabin DID NOT WORK was blowing cold air., I told the lady at the front desk as we were checking out Sunday morning and she told me I should have came told here but it was late when we came back in Saturday night.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.