Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 15, 2016
We loved the camping cabin, it was perfect for our 1 night stay. The staff was so nice and everything was clean and easy accessable.
Nov 14, 2016
Always a great stay with a very caring staff.
Nov 14, 2016
Entire grounds were clean and orderly. Staff always courteous and helpful. They have just about anything you need including propane for large RV refills. Already have 15 days for 2017 reserved.
Nov 14, 2016
Enjoyed it very much. Clean, comfortable cabin. Will come again.
Nov 14, 2016
Perfect fall weekend. The staff makes sure that all details are met for a no-stress visit.
Nov 14, 2016
What an amazing place. The sites are great and the staff is very friendly. One of the workers named Adam is especially helpful and always had a smile on his face when seen around the park. You won't go wrong staying here.
Nov 14, 2016
Nice camp ground
Nov 14, 2016
Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful experience. Great amenities for tent campers. Fire wood cost was extremely high so we could only afford one nights worth ($21 + tax for 3 small bundles that lasted maybe 6 hours) and had to leave the next day due to cold temps, but the one night we stayed was great.
Nov 14, 2016
Love this particular campground, and it has gotten better since it became a KOA property. Camping cabin on the river was clean and ready an hour before check in. Doggy run larger and cleaner ( ! ) than expected. Only critique is TVs... No, we weren't forced to turn it on, but it just seemed out of place !!
Nov 14, 2016
We had a great time.
Nov 14, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Nov 14, 2016
Best KOA we have ever used. Nice campsites, trees trimmed to accommodate our 13'3'toy hauler. Best of all the personnel! They couldn't do enough for us!! This was our first time at this location... we will be back!!
Nov 13, 2016
The sites by the river are awesome. The workers are very friendly and helpful, and always close by. The only negative I find is that these camp sites are VERY close together, and you end up being right up under each other. Proximity will cause you to hear conversations you may wish you hadn't....and sleeping late is OUT.
Nov 13, 2016
Nov 13, 2016
Wonderful staff and the nicest bathrooms of any campground we've ever stayed in.
Nov 12, 2016
Store/gas prices too high. Felt gouged a little bit on prices at store and gas station.
Nov 12, 2016
The personnel was friendly, helpful and efficient. The grounds were well kept and in the process of making improvements. Enjoyed our stay. Will be back.
Nov 11, 2016
Beautiful, peaceful campground during the fall
Nov 09, 2016
Had a river front site. These sites are a little tight but still worth it for the location. Very nice campground and very friendly staff. They have their own gas station with very reasonable prices for both regular and diesel. Well shaded for those who are not too concerned about satellite reception though did see a few dishes. Would definitely stay here again!!
Nov 09, 2016
Love the campsites, concrete stone fire pits, really great time there this past weekend.
Nov 08, 2016
We enjoy it more and more each time we come to visit. Thank's Charlie and Janice
Nov 08, 2016
Perfect!!!!
Nov 08, 2016
We love staying here not only for the campsite and amenities but also because of the proximity to the National Park.
Nov 08, 2016
Loved our stay!!
Nov 07, 2016
Wonderful, well run campground! We really enjoyed the corn hole toss, the trick-or-treating, and beautiful grounds. Also, laundry was well maintained, and fudge at the attached sweet shop was wonderful! Only complaint was smoke from campfires tends to hang in the air due to campgrounds being below street level.
Nov 07, 2016
Staff is caring and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and assist you in any way they can. Loved it enough that we already booked for next year.
Nov 07, 2016
Campground is clean and well kept. It is close to the smokies for a good time.
Nov 07, 2016
Campground was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely worth the the stay and we will stay again!!!
Nov 07, 2016
This place is GREAT. I am trying to think of something not-so-positive and just about coming up dry. I guess I would say that I was disappointed the Fudge Shop Closed for the season the day that we got there. However, that is just policy so not really a complaint. Just be advised if camping off season. Other than that, it is by far the best KOA we have visited.
Nov 07, 2016
I would prefer a less crowded campground, though this one is great for it's location.
Nov 07, 2016
We appreciated the amenities of the park and the help in putting our camper in its parking place.
Nov 07, 2016
The cabin was all you could need. Efficient and pretty clean! Good hot water... The campsite by the river was great. Full water and waste and electricity hook up without having to move the camper. Really a good spot. For kids it has a small arcade and play area, the dogs too have a leash free zone. Pool was closed for the season. Worth coming back!
Nov 07, 2016
Love it here!
Nov 07, 2016
Stayed in a delux cabin.Loved the cabin and the campground staff are always great there.
Nov 07, 2016
Nov 04, 2016
It was so peaceful we were right on the water. The staff kept it very clean, lots of leaves to blow in Oct-Nov. Can't wait to come back. Right by Cades Cove & that loop road,beautiful!!!
Nov 03, 2016
Perfect! Internet slow but very nice place.
Nov 02, 2016
My very first stay at a KOA and it was wonderful! The staff was awesome and the Halloween event was spectacular!
Nov 02, 2016
Love it!
Nov 02, 2016
Very pleased with campground well updated clean showers enjoyed the river very close to Cade's cove we will camp there again well satisfied with the sizes of camping sites all around satisfied 100 percent
Nov 02, 2016
We stayed on Halloween weekend and enjoyed giving out candy to the trick-or-treaters, our teenagers enjoyed the scary hay ride. The showers are roomy and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff escorted us to our site and helped us back in. It's a great family campground ! It's close to Cades Cove and a short drive to Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge.
Nov 01, 2016
always great great people
Nov 01, 2016
Clean facilities, friendly staff, excellent location. Couldn't ask for more!
Nov 01, 2016
Nov 01, 2016
We really enjoyed staying in the cabins and was able to participate in trick or treating. It is very family oriented and all the ladies at the front desk were very friendly. The only complaint we had was the full size bed in the cabins. Mattress defiantly needs an upgrade, other than that it was a very nice stay. We will be back and thank you for your great Smokey Mountain Hospitality :)
Oct 31, 2016
Great campground! Just booked our trip for next year.
Oct 31, 2016
Great Staff!!!
Oct 31, 2016
We love this campground. The Halloween activities were great fun for our kids!
Oct 31, 2016
We stay here often, and will again. Clean facility and pleasant staff. Extremely crowded this stay, so we were in a very tight, noisy space. If wifi is important to you, ask for space near the front, as it is non-existant elsewhere.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award