Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2016
It is a beautiful campground but I feel the spaces are a little too close together.
Sep 11, 2016
A little expensive compared to other KOA,s but very well run.
Sep 10, 2016
Always a good time at the KOA can't wait to come back next year thanks 😊
Sep 09, 2016
Nice campground! Will be back!
Sep 09, 2016
The staff is wonderful there as always. My only complaint is that when it was privately owned, the cabins were more affordable. The prices seem to have increased up to 40%.
Sep 08, 2016
Signage could be a little better, but otherwise, loved our stay. Showers/bathrooms were clean, loved that it was dog-friendly.
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is superior!
Sep 07, 2016
Good place. Need to trim trees of dead wood and low branches. Fertilize and reseed grass between sites. Add gravel to graveled areas.
Sep 07, 2016
Beautiful campground, friendly staff. Cabin right on the river! Loved the playground, pool and we'll stocked store! Will be back
Sep 07, 2016
Sites very close together. Should not allow people to burn plastics in fire pits. Playground for kids is terrific!! Very convenient to GSMNP!! Well Equipped store.
Sep 07, 2016
My only complaint is there is not a kitchen sink which makes it hard to wash dishes. And I went to the front desk to ask for a extra garage bag and the woman at the front said "well I suggest you walk to the store next door, they sell them there." But there was a man that worked there that said oh I have plenty I'll give you one. For the price I paid to stay there I did not appreciate that.
Sep 07, 2016
We love this KOA! The only change we would enjoy is a better mattress in the particular cabin we stayed in - have stayed in other cabins and the mattress was fine but this one was in need of replacement.
Sep 07, 2016
Campgrounds were very clean and well kept. Friendly staff and lots of amenities.
Sep 06, 2016
We've come here for over a decade & it remains our favorite campground. This weekend, I discovered a flat on the trailer when preparing to depart. The staff were wonderful to help fix it. Staff are great. The manager Mark is great. Best river sites in Townsend. Always clean grounds and restrooms. After 2 months in the Western U.S. this summer, this KOA tops them all with its beauty and staff.
Sep 06, 2016
Great staff however the cost has gotten to high!
Sep 06, 2016
It was a nice stay. A busy weekend in the campground. Nice facilities. Thought it was a little pricey for a tent site though.
Sep 06, 2016
Staff is superb (especially Debbie😀). Facility is xtremely clean and well maintained.
Sep 06, 2016
Overall a nice KOA with friendly staff but needs improvement for tent campers! There are no restroom/shower facilities near the tent sites (there are porta potties), and these facilities are not up to par. Also, while the RV sites are very nice and well maintained, the tent sites not so much!
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome staff. My kids especially love Adam. Can't wait for our next visit.
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome place, we will return!!!😊
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great stay in Townsend! This was the first time we've stayed at a KOA, but it will not be the last! We knew it was different from the moment we drove into the grounds. Smiling welcome, guidance into our site, asking regularly... How are things going and do we need anything? Thank you
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 03, 2016
Beautiful and well maintained campground. We don't stay at KOA'S often but by far this has been the nicest. The river an added bonus. Keep up the good work!
Sep 01, 2016
Best campground in the Smokies. We have been coming here for 30 years. We love being on the peaceful side of the Smokies with out all the commercialism. Also, you are right near Cade's Cove and you can be in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg in about 25 minutes.
Sep 01, 2016
Very Clean Facilities. In particular Marshall was very helpful and made our stay great.
Aug 30, 2016
We totally enjoyed our 10 days. The staff was attentive to everything. If you purchased firewood or ice, etc..they were eager to deliver. We stayed on site 61. The river was refreshing and the pool, restrooms, showers and grounds were spotless. We were very pleased.
Aug 30, 2016
Great location plus a wonderful and helpful staff makes this KOA an excellent getaway-thanks!
Aug 30, 2016
Wonderful time, awesome staff.
Aug 29, 2016
Every person in a yellow shirt were Wonderfull to deal. They couldn't be more helpful. You provided a wide range of activities, and your amenities were terrific. We will come back in the future. Thanks for hosting us! Kenn & Pat Farrell
Aug 29, 2016
We enjoy our stay every time we come. This is one on my favorite campgrounds!!! I tell everybody about it but wait maybe I shouldn't but I have to!!! It is the most expensive campground we stay in though.
Aug 29, 2016
I have stayed at this KOA many times and will continue to come back and to recommend it to friends and family. Always clean, always friendly staff and always a beautiful, peaceful place to camp.
Aug 29, 2016
This campground is The Best of The Best!
Aug 29, 2016
This campground was AMAZING!!! Everything was perfect. We forgot our hammer and staff quickly brought us one to use and even offered to help set up our tent. Staff made every effort to ensure all of our needs were met and even anticipated our needs. Staff offered to deliver firewood and ice at anytime. My favorite...the showers!! Nice and clean tiled showers. No mold ANYWHERE!!!
Aug 29, 2016
Nice place..well maintained.. sites are very close together.. roads are confusing, pulled into some tent lots by accident thinking they were the road. Overall a great stay.
Aug 28, 2016
Amazing location and clean camp site with great views.
Aug 27, 2016
Beautiful clean campground. We stayed in tent site 124, which was next to the river. My 9 yr old daughter loved the river so much that she played in it for hours. Bathrooms were super clean and staff was very friendly.
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
not so good this time, there were bed bugs in our cabin on the river that we paid over $200 a night.
Aug 24, 2016
This campground is beautiful, on the river and well maintained. However, their rate per night is higher than any campground in the area which is fine except on top of that they have other fees you have to pay. A per person fee and if you have more than one vehicle a few for that too. Just be prepared for that but very nice campground.
Aug 24, 2016
Great place to stay, convenient to Cade's Cove and Dollywood. Nice stream for kids and pets.
Aug 23, 2016
We love coming there, and do it very frequently.
Aug 23, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
four of our youth got bed-bug bites. Cabin 12. if not for this would rate higer.
Aug 22, 2016
This past week was one of the best vacations we have ever had. Everybody there is extremely helpful especially Adam, Jimmy, and Jimmy's wife. We always looked for Adam when we needed anything done.
Aug 22, 2016
The staff Mike and Adam were very nice to us! Thank you for a great stay!
Aug 22, 2016
Great campground. I have been coming for many years and will continue to come. The staff is beyond superb!
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Great campground but more expensive than camping at the beach.
Aug 22, 2016
We had three of our grandsons, ages 3, 4 and 5. There was plenty of things for all us to do, swimming, playing at the river, playground, hayride, tye dying " T " shirts. We had a blast!
Aug 22, 2016
Nice time on the river. I do think the tubers should not be directed to cut through occupied campsites to access the river.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award