Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful as always! Been coming here for over 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better.
Aug 13, 2015
We loved the koa in Townsend we have 3 boys from the age of 13 to 6 there was something to do for every one. Bathrooms were always clean and the customer service was wonderful.
Aug 13, 2015
great will do it again
Aug 12, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin and couldn't have asked for anything else
Aug 12, 2015
The new campsites are great. More like home. Not so close to your neighbor. The only complaint is the water pressure in the evenings. At times it would almost go off. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and really enjoyed it. It was a last minute decision to go and well worth it. Clean.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Would give 5 stars but most of staff are not very pet friendly and say some nasty things about pets even though we clean up after ours. Some were nice but a few were not. Most campers bring their pets, that is why they camp. Need to be more pet friendly to the campers.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed the stay. It is right on the river and great fun for the kids. The only negative was the porta potty next to our campsite. Really smelly. Not Good. Really need to fix the problem.
Aug 11, 2015
Always a great time at KOA Townsend. The campground is clean. The campsites are awesome and the staff is the best in the business. We can't wait to come back in a couple weeks
Aug 11, 2015
we camp here at the koa in townsend at least twice a year and enjoy it greatly. Always clean and nice staff. We recently came over to the campground just for the day to enjoy the river and facilities. We were astonished that we were still charged full nightly rates just for day use. Park was not full and could understand if it was. we paid almost 100 hundred dollars for 6 of us. Wont do it again!!
Aug 10, 2015
The Townsend KOA is a beautiful campground. However the nightly rate is way too high. This trip we were accosted by a female employee because we were not using the KOA rental tubes, we brought our own but apparently she thought we rented them elsewhere. Either way, she could use some soft skills training.
Aug 10, 2015
My wife and our little Silky Terror (lol) love staying at KOA's because they are all AOK! This has to be the best KOA we have stayed at. Thanks for the great time and the friendliest staff we have ever seen. Also thanks to Craig! Great Job Guys! Jeff and Catie "Camping with Vengeance!"
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground next to the Smokies. The kabins were great with a mini fridge and TV. Water outside the kabin was a big plus.
Aug 10, 2015
great camp ground , clean, nice patios the host were outstanding..
Aug 10, 2015
What we liked most was that the campground was mostly families, quiet with just enough activities to keep kids entertained not so much stuff to overload the whole reason why you go camping anyway.
Aug 10, 2015
Lots of shade with a river to play in!
Aug 10, 2015
Restrooms had been renovated since my last stay here....Very....very clean. Camping cabins also as comfortable as ever. All KOA employees very kind....Have been at Townsend many times and will continue to visit them!
Aug 09, 2015
Everything was really very good. We had a problem with an aggressive dog but the staff did everything they could to alleviate the problem.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful people, clean bathroom facility and very accommodating.
Aug 07, 2015
We where only there for one night but really liked the patio. We will be back when we can stay longer.
Aug 07, 2015
best campground ever!!!! will return over and over again. loved our campsite. customer service ok laundry need AC but it was a place that we will go again
Aug 06, 2015
It would be great to have a small bath house near the cabins and tent areas. Like the way you re did the middle section in the 50's area. Enjoyed the kid activities that we get to do while we stay there.
Aug 06, 2015
Family loved it. We are already planning next years trip!! Pleasant and helpful staff.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a wonderful experience and everyone was so helpful. We really appreciated the help backing in our camper since this was our first time using our camper. We liked it so much we booked an extra night.
Aug 06, 2015
We have stayed there twice and will definitely stay there again. Friendly staff with clean acommadations!
Aug 06, 2015
Great campground. The staff are wonderful and are willing to help at any time.
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground with lots to at the site and nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. Camping cabin we stayed in was clean but a little worn. Camp sites near the highway suffered with traffic noise. Only frustration with staff was a leaf blower used to sweep a cabin porch at 9:30 on Sunday morning when a broom would have worked fine. Bathroom was clean and so were the porta-johns.
Aug 05, 2015
Townsend is probably the best KOA we have ever visited. There are activities everyday hosted by the KOA and they offer a great deal on rafting. The deal includes a shuttle back to the top of the river to raft as many times as you wish until 5pm. Saturday night they played a great family movie outside and offered popcorn and drinks for a small fee. A must visit site for sure. We will be back.
Aug 05, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and the kids activities were great. Did not feel comfortable having a campfire due to limited space and being so near parked vehicles. That was a disappointment
Aug 05, 2015
LOVED it! Would definitely stay again
Aug 05, 2015
The sites were a little small for my liking.There was no where to hang my lantern.Other sites had hangers on the tables.I had to swap mine for one from another site.The raccoons were destructive. They got into my cooler and destroyed about $100 worth of food. There were two dead trees hanging over my tent.Rolled the dice on that one.Anyway, nice enough, I guess.Poor people can't afford to stay.
Aug 05, 2015
Very friendly staff
Aug 05, 2015
Great stay! Clean showers and restrooms! So much fun tubing!
Aug 04, 2015
Overall problably the best option in Townsend. We stayed on site 14. Site was level. I like the upgrades they are making to some of the sites. Grass needed cutting and bath houses stunk and had no Ac in them. Was also disappointed that I couldn't bring my golf cart. If staying in Townsend will camp here again. To this day Koa Cherokee by far the best and is the benchmark for how I rate.
Aug 04, 2015
Too many sites crowded in. Nice looking area and we had a decent pull through site (probably the best in the park). Love the trees (shade) as well, but the place needs about 1/3 of the sites removed and the rest spaced out. Internal roads are very tight and confusing as well. The folks working here are nice and helpful. Just too many sites for the space. Also WiFi is weak and slow.
Aug 03, 2015
So very angry that you've taken away all but 1 or 2 of the good tent sites along the river. Those of us that love to tent camp are now relegated to the "low rent" areas by the port-a-pottys! THE ALMIGHTY DOLLAR WINS AGAIN!!! You should be ashamed!!! Many we talked to feel the same way...very angry!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Close to creek .... Playground was good... Camping area was updated and clean
Aug 03, 2015
we had a great time
Aug 03, 2015
The campground and bathhouse were kept extremely neat and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. Great campground - family and children friendly yet quite enough for folk camping without children. Just a great place overall - highly approve!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Excellent stay. The only slight issue was the disrespectfulness of a group of other campers. I'd like to see better enforcement of situations like that. I will definitely be returning though!
Aug 03, 2015
This was our first stay at any KOA, and it far exceeded every expectation. We would never stay anywhere else when visiting SMNP.
Aug 03, 2015
We really enjoyed the friendly staff, clean bathrooms, and other amenities provided at the campground. We took advantage of the playground, tube rentals, and the pool. I do wish that there were additional access points to the river. When we asked to be near the river, we did not realize that we would still have to walk to the other end of the campground just to let the kids play in the water.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
couldn't have asked for a better camping experience!The staff was extremely nice & helpful!
Aug 03, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground and showers/restrooms was beautiful and well maintained. Nice setting.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place l, but very expensive
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award