Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 25, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Great stay - weather could have been better ! Would give them 10 stars!
Mar 24, 2014
Everyone is friendly and helpful. Thanks for another great time! See you all this summer!
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Enjoyed the campground and enjoyed our neighbors. New lifetime friends.
Mar 24, 2014
I feel that the site we stayed on could use some more gravel. There was quite a bit of exposed soil and it was being track onto the concrete pad and then in the camper. Then it rained and was very muddy
Mar 24, 2014
Enjoyed the stay! My only word of advice is to add more landscape. We stayed at Disney's Fort Wilderness Campground in Orlando last month and it was impressive. The amount of landscape that provided a buffer between sites. Also I liked the small waist cans that were spread through out the camp ground and emptied daily. Pretty convenient. You guys do a great job and thanks for such a nice local KOA
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 23, 2014
We totally enjoyed our stay, as usual. Our only comment would be that we would never rent the deluxe cabins with the lofts. The reason being is there is no sink in the bathroom. The kitchen sink is used for dishes, washing hands, brushing teeth,shaving etc.. We found it unsanitary.
Mar 22, 2014
We enjoyed it. Everything was great. We wished there was an indoor pool but we would come back for sure. We LOVED the awesome kids playground and the horseshoes.
Mar 22, 2014
Great stay. The facilities were clean and well-maintained. Staff was very friendly. About as good as a campground gets.
Mar 22, 2014
My stay was fantastic. Two problems, though. 1st was the terrible loud noise being made while remodeling the pool. The grinding noise was deafening and made me irritable. Plus, draining water from that area ran in front of playground area which caused the small children no way to cross it without stepping into it and soaking their shoes. I probably wouldn't have camped here if I knew in advance.
Mar 22, 2014
Mar 21, 2014
Mar 21, 2014
Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.
Mar 21, 2014
We love it .. Very friendly people. They make you feel like your part of the koa family
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 20, 2014
As always, we had a great time. Fantastic campground. Very clean. Amazing employees. Hospitality at its best. We love the Townsend KOA!!!
Mar 19, 2014
Great camp sites and cabins. Peaceful creek to hike and fish. So many activities for kids. A true family campground!
Mar 18, 2014
Mar 17, 2014
Great hospitality!
Mar 17, 2014
We had a great time, My 11 year old son and my 7 year old daughter loved the playground. The campground was very clean and well maintained. We definitely will be back. This will be our place to stay in Townsend!
Mar 17, 2014
KOA has a lot to offer for the kids. I have a 2 & 7 year old and they LOVE it... from the creek to the playground. And also the dog park is awesome if you travel with your pets!
Mar 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The facility was very clean and maintained.
Mar 17, 2014
Lots to do for the kids. Very clean bathrooms and showers which is nice when camping with kids. Very friendly staff.
Mar 14, 2014
I absolutely love this campground site and we had a wonderful stay! Anyone asking for cabins or campsites I always recommend this place and I've only been twice! Thank you!!!
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
pull through a bit short for our 28' fifth wheel.
Mar 12, 2014
Wonderful stay. Very clean cabins and great staff. Will be returning this summer for sure.
Mar 10, 2014
Very nice campground and friendly staff but would likely stay at a different one in the area next time due to KOA's high cost. $65 for one night off season is too much.
Mar 03, 2014
It's always nicer when the campground is at lower capacity, but what a terrific place. Quiet, we were along the river, biked into the GSMNP, and just loved our stay. Terrific campground that we will absolutely revisit--our new go-to destination.
Mar 03, 2014
Goo
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
First time for winter camping in sleep cabin. It was warm and cozy. Bath house was warm and extemely clean. Loved the campsite and friendly employees. My new favorite place!
Feb 17, 2014
It was great! Thanks! I'll will be back that's for sure It was great! Thanks!!
Feb 17, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin by the river. It was small but perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. It was neat, nice and clean. I love love that it was pet friendly and had a dog play area fenced in. My only negatives are the hot water heater is extremely small, ran out 2 minutes into the shower and the cabin is very close to the river. Which is an A+ for adults and older kids.
Feb 13, 2014
I would give 5 stars if the WIFI were better! We were next to the office and still could not get a good signal!! One more thing during the off season would be nice to have a list of what's open near the campground. Places to eat, shop and sightseeing.We had a GREAT time.
Feb 11, 2014
Stayed in the larger two bedroom cabin for a cold weekend in February on a kayaking trip.. the two small heaters kept the cabin plenty warm and the inside was quaint and clean. Very friendly staff!
Feb 10, 2014
Mark and his staff made our stay very enjoyable. This was our first KOA visit...there will be more!
Feb 03, 2014
Cabin was great, everyone was very friendly. The only thing that was inconvenient was the extremely long distance to the bath house at the office. Other than that and winter storm Leon coming in that week, everything was great.
Jan 25, 2014
Jan 22, 2014
Had a great spot right on the river which was very, very peaceful. The only improvement I would recommend would be to improve the internet reception so it it strong at all campsites.
Jan 21, 2014
Very helpful and friendly
Jan 17, 2014
Loved our stay all the staff was very nice and helpful. Facilities were spotless, can't wa it to return !
Jan 14, 2014
Staff was friendly, as always, and very accomodating.
Jan 11, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
Cabin was perfect.Will be back with my our camper
Jan 07, 2014
One of the most beautiful KOAs we have visited. It had easy access to Cade's Cove and Miss Lilly's resturant down the street was excellent. The campground was clean and taken care of very well. We can't wait to visit again.
Jan 06, 2014
This is the only KOA we've stayed at, usually at State Parks or Army Corp of Engineers. Staff really nice. It was very pretty by the stream, however the sites were very close. Some sites might not allow for awning room. The showers and bathrooms were clean, but some of the shower bldgs were not heated. Cold clothes dryers did not want to dry towels. Have to be close for wifi.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.