Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
The cabin was fine but the bathroom was dirty with splatters and need to clean so my girlfriend cleaned before we used it the mirror was dirty floors dirty toilet was dirty
Jun 24, 2015
This is the second time my family has been here. We had a wonderful time. Only disappointment was that I booked on line and thought I was getting a river front cabin, but did not. For future reference you need to confirm via phone if you want a river front cabin.
Jun 24, 2015
As always we were not disappointed. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well kept. All of the campground was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful campground. Access to river and Cades Cove, family programs and friendly staff and management are all outstanding!
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Tent site was a great size and showers and bathrooms were always clean.
Jun 24, 2015
Always fun each time we stay. Thanks!
Jun 23, 2015
Was perfect. Rates are a bit high now.
Jun 23, 2015
The KOA in townsend is a great campground to stay at every one there is nice,and would help you with anything that you needed.Been staying at it for many years now,me & my wife love it!!!!!
Jun 23, 2015
The improvements that were made are stunning and really improved the campground. I would suggest better internet (where I was there was no internet) And more comfort stations with showers. Will definitely return to this campground.
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great time. The employees are friendly and helpful and the facilities are top notch. We will definately be staying here again.
Jun 23, 2015
This was our first stay at this campground and couldn't be more pleased. Staff was friendly and helpful, campground was clean and well kept, and there were a lot of amenities. The river was a huge plus also! We will definitely be back.
Jun 22, 2015
Great staff. Very helpful and courteous. Daisy was outstanding.
Jun 22, 2015
The staff snd campsite were amazing!
Jun 22, 2015
Great campground!!!! We WILL be back!!
Jun 22, 2015
We love townsend, the KOA is a perfect location to attractions and nature. The prefer the KOA over anywhere else to stay!
Jun 22, 2015
Nice campground, clean bathrooms and very friendly staff. We stayed in a 2 room cabin and it was nice and clean.
Jun 22, 2015
Love it there!! We live close, it's our weekend getaway!!!
Jun 22, 2015
We love this KOA and we come here often. They are always doing things to improve the campground, so every time we come back they have upgraded something. We enjoy camping there just me and my husband or with all 5 kids. Everyone loves it!
Jun 22, 2015
Was very enjoyable. We will camp again here
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
This is the best campground. The grounds are kept clean and the workers are all very friendly and kind at all times. I highly recommend this campground to everyone I meet. Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to making our stay enjoyable.
Jun 21, 2015
Beautiful campground and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 21, 2015
This KOA was very clean and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Jun 21, 2015
Beautiful area.
Jun 21, 2015
I had a most excellent time. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were clean and well kept. The shower houses were updated and clean. With all of this the stay was quite pricey!
Jun 20, 2015
Stayed 5 nights in a camping cabin...same cabin 2 years in a row. My kids really enjoy the excellent pool and playground. The river adds to a really nice setting. Great access to the park.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
The KOA in Townsend, TN has always been our little piece of Heaven that gives us the escape to go to our "Home Away From Home". Now that our daughter has married and our family is growing and they stayed in a cabin on the river so the memories can continue to live on! Thanks for allowing us to have another great vacation with our family. As always, it was over way too fast! Until next time...€
Jun 19, 2015
as usual all the staff go above and beyond to help extremely friendly !
Jun 19, 2015
First rate campground and great staff. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jun 18, 2015
Awesome
Jun 18, 2015
The tent sites were just too close together. We booked for two nights and only stayed one night. There were little kids in the camp site next to us that were up talking all night and we couldn't get any sleep. We had a cabin 10 feet bhind us, a tent ten feet to our left and another tent 40 feet to our right. It didn't feel like real camping. The bathrooms were so far away so we had to use outhouse
Jun 17, 2015
This was a very family friendly campground. I felt safe letting my kids go to the playground alone. (We were just a short walk away) It was extremely clean and had very nice amenities. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 17, 2015
Our 2nd visit and the wife and I are very comfortable here. We love the area and the sites are nice, we will be back.
Jun 17, 2015
Staff is exceptional,helpful & friendly.Sites are prepared but narrow. Parking space very scare.
Jun 16, 2015
We were not given the site we had reserved last June 2014 adjacent to other family's site. We had 2 vehicles (1 with car seats for 2 grandbabies and 1 for elderly, disabled grandfather). We were threatened with eviction and that authorities would be called if 1 vehicle was not moved. We complied, but our camping experience was ruined by Mr Chipperfield. We will not be back and would not recommend.
Jun 16, 2015
Without a doubt this is my favorite camp ground. The staff if very friendly and easy to work with. The grounds are a 10+ and the updated facilities are as nice if not nicer than my own home. I truly love staying at this campground. They have upgraded many of the sites as well as made the riverside sites full hookup, Mark, you and your staff have knocked it out of the park! Thank you.
Jun 16, 2015
My family had a wonderful stay. Love this KOA-my favorite campground! Only thing I would change is to make wifi stronger near the river sites w/the balconies. (It's good to unplug for a week, but sometimes it's good to be able to connect on a rainy day). This wouldn't prevent me from staying again, but it would be a nice addition. Also, love the upgrades you made over the winter!
Jun 16, 2015
The setting,grounds and cabins were beautiful and the service was exceptional
Jun 16, 2015
We love this campground. Between my family, friends, and I- we rented 4 camper lots and one cabin this week. We also visited last year and intend to visit next year. We all feel, however, that the rates are over priced. Therefor, all amenities offered and advertised should be available, including wifi- which was not available at any of the 5 sites.
Jun 16, 2015
The campsites are too close together. Whene sitting outside at our table we were right at our neighbors sewage connection. We were at a preferred site to. We will request a different site if we return. They have redone a few sites in the middle that were nice. Everything else was ok. People were nice.
Jun 16, 2015
We have stayed here for 6years in a row. The bath house is always clean and that means a lot to us.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
the staff was very nice and helpfull.
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was good except wifi reception at the tent camping area was non-existent.
Jun 15, 2015
Great vacation. Very picturesque campground. Loved our cabin DC1, which was on the riverbank. The cabin and grounds were well maintained.
Jun 15, 2015
They need bathrooms and showers closer to the cabins.
Jun 15, 2015
We found the river front campsites too small, to close to the firepits making us very uncomfortable when someone had a fire. We moved to the lower level deluxe sites and found them more relaxing. Your staff were all very friendly and helpful whenever we needed something. The location was within a half hour drive to most points of interest. The Smokey Mts. was awesome with all the wildlife.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps