Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2013
Everything was very clean. People were very helpful and nice.
Jun 02, 2013
Campground was beautiful, neat, clean. Staff were so friendly and helpful.The kids loved the playground and swimming pool!
Jun 02, 2013
Staff was great,campground very clean and nice. We had grandkids with us and they had charm kids camp and programs that they loved as well as playground and pool. Great stay.
Jun 01, 2013
wonderful people,, clean site, great new playground ! Second trip to this KOA and will be back soon. Quality is in upkeep of grounds, upgrades and the way you are treated at the campground. All 100% excellent at the Townsend KOA ! Joe, Julie and Jake Montgomery
Jun 01, 2013
Awesome place. Cabin was clean, bathrooms were clean, entire campground was well manicured & clean! We will be back!
May 31, 2013
The staff were super nice and very accommodating, thank you for your kindness and willingness to find us a spot on a busy Memorial Day stay.A suggestion for the Management: My husband is a Navy Vet. your prices were "GOUGING" Out of appreciation for his military service, you should offer a discount, NOT a "REDICULOUSLY" High FEE!We were SHOCKED and felt taken advantage of!You should be ashamed!
May 30, 2013
Great time with family. Truly enjoyed the day camp and evening activities at the pavilion. Nice clean facilities and awesome staff. Thanks for the memories.
May 30, 2013
Suggestions for DC 12: screen door on front door, soap for bath sink, bug bomb after each guest, fresh daily linens. Excellent and friendly staff. Great pool and activities. We would stay again but bring a bug bomb prior to entering the cabin and reserve a cabin with a river view. Enjoyable.
May 30, 2013
Cabin was immaculate. Campground is in a great location. We love this KOA.
May 29, 2013
Already booked the same spot for next year. This KOA is awesome. The staff is friendly, the facilities are clean and the atmosphere is perfect.
May 29, 2013
I brought my Girl Scout troop for the weekend and had a blast! The camping cabins were perfect!
May 29, 2013
The staff, the care of the grounds, the support of the staff during a nasty storm, I could go on forever 5 star
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
It was good, although the density of people was too great. I understand people want to stay connected, but having provided wi-fi, ac, and tvs in the room was a bit too much. I would rather stay in a Motel6 if I wanted those amenities.
May 29, 2013
Very relaxing. The staff was always friendly and helpful. It was a crowded weekend, but there was no real rowdiness. I stayed in one of the one room cabins near the river and was very impressed, would definitely recommend The Peaceful Side of the Smokies KOA
May 29, 2013
we enjoyed a quiet night by the river and all of the staff was friendly and smiling.
May 28, 2013
great weekend..... great place for kids.
May 28, 2013
My only concern, is pit bull dogs in campground.
May 28, 2013
I love this campground, camp here about 3-4 times a year. I wish they would put rules as to what kind of dogs were allowed. Came across two different aggressive Pit bulls. With two small children, this worries me.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Great staff. Always friendly. Have been coming there many years. Thank you for a great holiday weekend.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
had a great time
May 28, 2013
it was fantastic, loved the bingo we were the big winners of the free night!
May 28, 2013
This is a nice KOA however don't go during a holiday. It gets really crowded. The campground and cabins are nice. I stayed in a deluxe cabin. The only complaint I have is that on the back side of the cabin was someone elses yard. The do have cabins on the river so I would call them to make sure you get the one on the river.
May 28, 2013
Unbelievably peaceful and friendly!
May 28, 2013
We camp with you guys every year, we always have a wonderful time so much fun things to do. Bathrooms and bathhouse always nice and clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful! We love you guys and would highly recommend you and we do to all our family, friends.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
My family and I are new to camping. We had no clue what we were doing. The employees at KOA are amazing. They are helpful, friendly and very accomadating. They work very hard and they keep a smile on their face the whole time. The campground is very clean and beautiful. We had a great weekend. Jeramiah, Daisy, Melissa, Mark and Samantha... Thanks very much! See ya again soon!!!
May 27, 2013
Clean,comfortable, good service. Hot showers!!! Never have I stayed where we had hot showers all through our baths. Enjoyed thank you
May 26, 2013
the reception was not friendly. Asked if other site was available was told we wouldn't fit but camper our size went in spot. no organized events. If this campground didn't have the river they wouldn't be in business. WIFI never worked. If we return to this area we would camp in the campground next to this one.
May 26, 2013
We were pleased with our large campsite. Restrooms and showers were clean. We would stay here again.
May 26, 2013
Beautiful campground. Only bad thing is the lack of TV Channels. They used to have many more and now they only have 37.
May 25, 2013
Very attractive park and campsites. Easy access to Smokies attractions. Clean BRs and helpful staff. Wish WiFi was stronger.
May 25, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff, well taken care of campground. I would definitely stay here again, it was great to be so close to the NP. The only downside is the size and closeness of many of the sites.
May 24, 2013
Great as always. This is one of our favorite KOA's. Friendly staff and well kept campground.
May 24, 2013
Thanks for the great stay. Traveling by myself, i felt safe at your campground. Luv showers separate from restrooms. Some of the shower exhaust fans weren't working. Luckily i was able to always get a stall that had one working--it makes it sooo much more comfortable. Thx for the clean bath house--some of the koas are slipping on that-sad to see-koa has always been known for clean.Luv landscaping.
May 24, 2013
The place was clean, the staff was extremly friendly, and polite, we will definatly be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
May 24, 2013
This is our favorite camping destination. The grounds are immaculate and landscaping is beautiful. The bathrooms / showers are always clean. The improvements have added to a great campground.
May 23, 2013
May 23, 2013
I lived the campground! Friendly workers. It was very clean. I loved our deluxe cabin, it was clean and comfortable. I lived the outside patio and firepit. It was nice having the camp store nearby. I wish I could have stayed longer.
May 23, 2013
The grounds personel are excellent in helping you park you RV. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.Bathrooms are spacious and very clean. We look forward to returning. The best KOA we have stayed in. Please take good care of your employees as they took very good care of us. Excellent customer service.
May 22, 2013
Great time . Beautiful surroundings . Employees friendly and do a great job !Returning in June.
May 22, 2013
Everyone is really friendly, the bathrooms are clean, and the sites are gorgeous
May 22, 2013
I have come to this campground for several years and stayed in both cabins as well as in my camper. It is always clean, everyone is friendly, and always helpfull. It is the best place to stay in this area and has the best river campsites.
May 21, 2013
Loved it. Always enjoy our stay.
May 21, 2013
May 21, 2013
The cabins and rest rooms were so clean and I loved the family atmosphere.
May 21, 2013
I have already recommended this site to others. I will use this site again when I travel to Townsend, TN. Great folks and so helpful.
May 21, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.