Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 16, 2015
It was a great stay all but one night when a group of young adults came into the park (possibly for spring break?) and played music so loud next door to us, we couldn't sleep until 2am. It might be best to enforce quiet time.
Mar 15, 2015
Very nice campground. However, the gps tells you the address is someplace other than where it is. The people at the front desk are aware of this, so it should be on the website. Also, there needs to be more lighting by the front koa sign. Very hard to tell where it is at night.
Mar 14, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
all was well
Mar 09, 2015
My husband and I love camping here, we have been there many times and will absolutely continue to do so
Mar 09, 2015
This is worst stay we have experienced at this KOA. We were unfortunate enough to have a loud group next to us in lot 13 that stayed out to the wee hours drinking and partying. Had no respect for those around them. I tried to find a number to contact a KOA associate in which there was none. Only a recording with no after hours contact number. Very disappointed.
Mar 03, 2015
The staff was very friendly. My son and I had a great stay. The cabins were very clean. We would love to return for future visits!
Feb 26, 2015
Feb 24, 2015
We have stayed here many times in our RV. This is the second time we have stayed in a cabin. Must have been a price increase from what we payed last Feb.2014?
Feb 23, 2015
Was a good weekend to get away for Valentines. The only thing I can complain about is the heater in our cabin DID NOT WORK was blowing cold air., I told the lady at the front desk as we were checking out Sunday morning and she told me I should have came told here but it was late when we came back in Saturday night.
Feb 21, 2015
Stayed at this KOA for over 20 problems at all.
Feb 20, 2015
we had a good time. And the staff was very accommodating.
Feb 17, 2015
The Keurig is awesome. I love everything except the shower curtain had mold on it, and there was hair in the shower. Not as clean as it usually is.
Feb 12, 2015
We loved this campground and have made plans to return. The staff are great and the location of the campground is perfect!
Feb 01, 2015
Had a really great stay, with the campground being very quiet and peaceful for a late January trip. The only wish would be for the wifi to be a little stronger.
Jan 30, 2015
Staff was super friendly. Staff made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. Cabin was spotless and beautiful. We will definitely be returning to this KOA and others in the future!
Jan 25, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
This is a beautiful campsite, well maintained and good facilities. The playground for the kids was fantastic. We stayed on the stream and the sites were beautiful. I rated this campground only 3 stars only because the sites are so close together. We prefer to camp on larger sites that allow us to spread out .
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 17, 2015
Very helpful off season stay
Jan 07, 2015
Stayed Christmas week was great but got a little sloppy Christmas Eve and day when restrooms were not cleaned due to no workers present.
Jan 07, 2015
Jan 07, 2015
We love this quiet hideaway and will continue to visit when we need time away.
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
One of our favorite places to stay! Great campground, friendly helpful staff. Love it there.
Jan 04, 2015
Awesome vacation.
Jan 04, 2015
Great place to stay on the "quiet" side of the Smokies!! Close to Cades Cove and many other attractions. Campground was very clean and staff was super friendly!! Can't wait to go back.
Jan 04, 2015
I stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was beautiful! Love the scenery and the river. Staff was wonderful and very helpful! I will definitely be back!
Jan 03, 2015
No WiFi, poor cell coverage. No events at Christmas holidays. Location great, entrance is very small, sites are average.
Jan 03, 2015
Jan 03, 2015
I absolutely loved my time at KOA! The cabin was so tiny and cute. It was perfect for a getaway with my boyfriend. However, the tv was mounted in a weird spot and we couldn't really see it laying down on the bed. The picture quality looked "negative" so to speak when you were to the side of the TV or below it. But as a whole, our stay was perfect!
Jan 03, 2015
Bathroom keypads were not activated and passersby from the main road stopped to use the facilities frequently. The bathrooms were messy and not clean. Advertised Wi-Fi only available near main office. Sites were muddy and needed more gravel.
Jan 02, 2015
We had a great stay! The facilities were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a camping cabin on the river. It would have been nice if there was a bath house close to the cabin. The closest one was an extremely long walk away. Other than that, we had no complaints!! We will definitely stay here again.
Jan 01, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for four nights. It was very clean and comfortable, and a great price. We will be back soon!
Dec 30, 2014
Enjoyed very much!!
Dec 30, 2014
First the people at this KOA were great! The cabin too far from bath house and all water access too far away. After checking on rv prices to camp in summer $80 per nite too much. Dought we will come back.
Dec 30, 2014
I give it 4 instead of 5 stars for two reasons. 1. The bathhouses are located on the complete opposite side of the campground from the cambing cabins and tent sites. 2. The pet cleaning fee in the camping cabins seems a bit unfair at $20 flat fee. That means if you are only staying a night or two, it significantly increases the cost of your stay.
Dec 29, 2014
Great location and nice campground. We can't wait to come back.
Dec 28, 2014
I would stay here again and again. Very nice and friendly host.
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 27, 2014
We were disappointed because our cabin didn't have running water the first night abs the 2nd cabin we rented didn't have tv.
Dec 23, 2014
Friendly staff and great facilities.
Dec 23, 2014
Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Cabin was wonderful.
Dec 18, 2014
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
I love this campground it is very quiet and relaxing.We did have a problem with our gas grill and could not get in touch with anyone.We had to take one from another site.
Dec 05, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.