Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 07, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin, and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend. The cabin had all the amenities of home but was just a step outside away from all the other great parts of camping - cooking out, campfires, wading in the river, etc. We'll definitely be back!
Oct 07, 2013
Had a great time! Very friendly staff and fun activities. My only complaint is that one morning, the garbage was being picked up (slamming garbage doors) very early in the morning (about 5:30am) and that was followed by leafblowing at 7am. Would be nice if those things didn't start until 8am or later.
Oct 07, 2013
This is our favorite campground. It's quiet and it's nice to get away, but there are lots of things we can do if we want. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
Oct 06, 2013
Had a great time and the campground & showers are clean every year when we make our fall trip.
Oct 06, 2013
Very nice, quiet, and clean.
Oct 06, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Thanks to Mark and Samantha and all the staff at the park. Best KOA in the country! Always made to feel at home.
Oct 04, 2013
everything was great except for the national park being closed.
Oct 04, 2013
We loved our stay. Beautiful facilities, friendly and helpful staff, and great campsites. We especially liked the dog park. Thank you.
Oct 03, 2013
I have always loved this campground even before it became koa but I do not like the way that some of the cabins are set up we stayed in #6 and they were on top of each other not to mention the campsites were in our front yard thank god we had good neighbors or I would have pitched a fit the campsites really need doing away with give that cabin a little privacy I will never stay in 6 again.
Oct 03, 2013
I have stayed in a lot of KOA camp grounds over the years. I always use the Kamping Kabins. I love them. I must say that this KK11 was one of the nicest ones that I have ever stayed in. I loved the fact that it had a small refrigerater and a t.v. Decorated very nice, LOVED IT!! Thank you!
Oct 03, 2013
We loved the campground and everything was convenient and close by. You had a variety of sites by the river, back ins, pull throughs, places to walk, laundry, store, gas, pool, restaurant and I love the pet area. Very close to tour Cades Cove. Always maintenance at work keeping it clean and I basically couldn't find anything wrong with your camp. I would very much recommend it. Everyone friendly
Oct 02, 2013
Cabin was spotless! Great stay!
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
We had a great 2 days away from it all. Will be returning soon.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Staff was fantastic. Always there if we needed them. Definitely went the extra mile. Beautiful campground with many amenities!
Oct 01, 2013
We love the Townsend KOA and always have a great time when we're there. If we could suggest anything to make it better it would be to give a stronger signal to your WIFI. It's a bit slow and hard to get on to sometimes.
Oct 01, 2013
The staff was very friendly & catered to our group of campers. We are very happy with our experience & would highly recommend Townsend KOA!
Oct 01, 2013
It was awesome. Nice staff. There were 4 campers in our homeschooling group and we loved it. Can't wait to setback.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
We had a wonderful time!! Staff very friendly and helpful. We rented camping cabin very nice, roomy and clean. Showers and bathroom very clean and supplies always filled. We can't wait to come again!!
Oct 01, 2013
Sites too close together.
Oct 01, 2013
we always enjoy our stays in townsend.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Quiet hours need enforcing. 2 out of 3 past trips had noise into early AM. This trip had Fri noise to midnight. Sat camper up until 4 AM burning a fire, spot light shining, walking around camp sites, sharpening tools, breaking and chopping branches, and burning leaves. Camp ground is a 5 star, but quiet hours enforcement 0 stars. For price paid expect someone enforcing quite hours.
Oct 01, 2013
Best Staff ever Very clean
Oct 01, 2013
We loved the campground and would definitely go back except for one thing. Two nights in a row we were kept up by neighbors who were noisy as late as 2 a.m. with no one to enforce the quiet hours policy. We came home quite tired and would think twice before coming back.
Sep 30, 2013
Love this campground ...have already reserved our spot for next year...
Sep 30, 2013
We had a great time,put the people work in office need know what going on in Townsend I ask if there a craft show at the nob and she no when we left Sun there a craft show.The people work there need slow down in ther carts
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
The only complaint is that the rv sites need more space between them. Otherwise a great place to stay.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
My stay was great. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. I am already planning a return visit. The only drawback was the WiFi was spotty but that was not why I was camping anyhow so it was not a big factor.
Sep 30, 2013
It was a good stay but the prices are too high for us to stay there very often when there are other choices in the area for less. We thought we'd give KOA a try since we haven't been to that park in a while. Great staff!
Sep 30, 2013
A bit pricey.
Sep 30, 2013
Good stay
Sep 30, 2013
It was pleasant and the staff was very accommodating.
Sep 30, 2013
We had a great stay very nice and clean camp ground. We did let them know at time of booking that we had a 32ft travel trailer plus the truck and 2 motorcycles. We had a campsite that barley fit our trailer and we had to park our vehicle across the park where we were unable to keep an eye on them. They also advertised free WIFI was never able to connect to it.
Sep 30, 2013
The only issue I had was when my husband came to visit for a couple of hours on saturday he was not allowed to drive in, he was made to park accross the street and he was charged nearly $5.00. That would be my only down fall about coming back to your campground for another stay.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
great place for kids and families
Sep 30, 2013
We absolutely loved it!!!! Everyone was extremely helpful and very nice!!!!! We had wood delivered 3 times and always with a smile. We will be back, often !!!!!
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
I love this place. Been going here since 2000. Love the campground love that KOA took it over and love the games and movies for the kids. No Bingo this weekend kids were a little dissaponted but over all great time.
Sep 29, 2013
nice and peaceful, very clean, and very dog freindly my bulldog enjoyed himself,just wish we were closer to bathrooms and showers other than that it was great..
Sep 28, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.