Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 20, 2013
It's simple. Clean. Cozy. Tightly managed. But, fun. Our tent site was great @ 129. Next time, 126 right on the river it is! Townsend is our speed. So is this cool, little, well maintained kampground. We will be back & many other KOAs just opened up to this family. Thanks!
Oct 20, 2013
A quick two day stay in a cabin with a bathroom.. Very pleased. The grill was even clean.. The cabin was very clean and was very comfortable...
Oct 20, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
We were so excited about our stay, but sadly didn't get to stay. Our child got very sick and we had to leave that night to go get him from his grandma. The office had already closed so we just dropped off our cabin key and left. Lost $100 and some odd cents on a night we didn't get to have. We will def return to try it again sometime though. It seemed like an amazing place
Oct 19, 2013
Our favorite campground. They are always upgrading! The new playground is awesome! Friendly staff, and everything is always clean. Can't wait for next years visit! Thanks
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Friendly staff and very clean facilities, sites were well maintained
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
My whole family had an awesome time. I've been coming to this campground since I was a kid and I hope to bring my kids for many more!
Oct 18, 2013
It was fantastic, beautiful, clean, quiet,
Oct 18, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Campground and people are nice. Bathhouse is nice. way overpriced. Stay At River Plantation in Seiverville for have the price. People are very nice bathhouse just as nice and more activities for all campers.
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Good time and great staff. Didn't like how cramped sites are. We are used to government sites where there is more room between campers.
Oct 16, 2013
KOA staff at front desk were not friendly at all. Will be looking for other places to stay next year!
Oct 16, 2013
Making the reservation, The lady was hateful & to pushy on the discount card. Loved the new landscaping, but would have preferred the showers updated. They are almost to bad to shower in. And the bathroom was barely cleaned, not like it use to bE. We have always passed on how clean the bathrooms were, we just can't do that now. The trash was heaping over the whole time. Not worth the high charge!
Oct 15, 2013
We LOVE the KOA at Townsend, TN. We especially love the cleanliness, the helpfulness of the employees, and the great memories that we create there!
Oct 15, 2013
Had a great time again !
Oct 15, 2013
In all the campgrounds we've have the privilege of using, none have been better than the Townsend KOA! It's a repeat destination for us without exception.
Oct 15, 2013
We really enjoyed the experience! Perfect location for the entire family, and for all ages. There's something at the camp ground and nearby for everybody. We were welcomed by the staff the second we drove onto the camp grounds. Our cabin was great and like new,...very clean(!). Thank you! We'll be back!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
We had a family reunion and rented in total 2 deluxe cabins, one water/electric camper site and one tent site by the river. All was great but it was very crowded. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great weekend.
Oct 15, 2013
This was my first time renting a cabin. It was so much nicer than I expected. I was impressed.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
It was great. The kids loved the hayride, movie, and the playground. I think it's awesome that the staff plans activities for the kids. It was a nice, relaxing weekend stay.
Oct 15, 2013
The showers were a bit of a walk from the Kamping Cabins and tent sites. Plenty of Portapotties in that area. Pit toilets would have been better. Other than that it was a nice place.
Oct 15, 2013
great time thanks
Oct 15, 2013
There was a very high rate of vehicle traffic and noisy due gravel. Also the parks WiFi was very poor! I was in site 57 and could not receive a signal, had to go to in front of "store" to get a signal and it was weak.
Oct 15, 2013
Very crowded.
Oct 14, 2013
The campground was well run and the weather was perfect. My camp site was level and spacious. The campground is somewhat pricey compared to other, comparable campgrounds in the area and the early check-out (11:00 am) basically eliminates any enjoyable time on the last day.
Oct 14, 2013
Employees need to wear some sort of name tag. I was having a discussion with an employee and would have liked to know who she was but she wasn't wearing a name tag.
Oct 14, 2013
Great trip, again.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
We loved it, Kids loved it, everyone loved it (despite the jerks that wouldn't let us in our national park)
Oct 14, 2013
While there we booked 2 more trips. The staff was very professional & the grounds were clean & manicured. Our kids enjoyed the playground & movie night at the outdoor theater. Wi-Fi was slow at best, but not a big deal for us. We're looking forward to coming back soon.
Oct 14, 2013
The facilities were certainly not bad but the proximity of the tent sites to the cabins and other tents made for much less of a wooded camping experience than I expected. This was my 1st KOA trip and I will give it another shot.
Oct 14, 2013
We had a great time. We took my 4 year old grandson and he loved the playground. The only issue I had was with the bigger kids taking over the playground and running on the equipment. My grandson fell off going up the ladder and bit his tongue. Other than that, everything was great.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Sites are too close and neighbor campers slam doors all night long.
Oct 14, 2013
There needs to be better restroom facilities near the tent sites. A full bathhouse is needed closer to the tent sites to help accommodate families with small children.
Oct 13, 2013
We had an excellent stay there up until 2 nights before we were to leave. A KOA worker (female) came by our campsite & was very rude. We had a visitor and instead of her asking nicely for them to please move their vehicle, she jumped off the golf cart & immediately started yelling for them to move. Also she was very hateful as to how she was talking to us and our children.
Oct 13, 2013
camping cabins are over priced considering there is no bath house near and you have to hunt for the portables in the middle of the night not a happy experience
Oct 13, 2013
We enjoyed our stay!! The people are nice, and the campground is very well maintained!! We will be back. The one thing we would like to see is a place to park our camper so we can enjoy the rest of the day in the river.
Oct 13, 2013
We called ahead and they said they had a 60ft space because I have 40 ft and a jeep. When arrived they had to move cars to get us in space once I had to disconnect jeep and jockey my way into a barley 40 ft space. Place was jammed with people side by side!!!
Oct 13, 2013
We love this campground!! The campground is very neat and clean and the scenery is beautiful. The staff are wonderful! They were knowledgable, go out of their way to help you and really catered to the children. We can't wait to come back!!
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Have stayed at this koa a few times and have enjoyed very much. The only complaint that I have and it wasn't a big deal was that the showers didn't seem to be as clean as I thought they should. Went in to shower immediately after they were cleaned and there was no sign or smell of any cleaner. Wish there were more activities for kids on other days besides Saturdays :)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.