Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: (800) 562-3428

Info: (865) 448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Had a great time. Loved the activities for the kids. Safe environment.
Jun 10, 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff was very kind, friendly and it was eviedent that they enjoyed their job. We look forward to repeat visits in the future
Jun 10, 2013
We love this campground. We stay 3 or 4 times a year. It's clean, friendly, and convenient to what we enjoy doing.
Jun 10, 2013
Excellent KOA !!!! We will be back !
Jun 10, 2013
Only one warning--watch for poison ivy around the campground. this place is awesome. shady, staff friendly, convenient to the national park. Having the church there doing activities was a wonderful added bonus. we will stay again.
Jun 10, 2013
The only complaint is the dumping station. It is very difficult to get to with the rental bikes and narrow road. The road is too level with the station and you don't get good drainage.
Jun 10, 2013
Great stay wish your lots were bigger. You are more expensive than others would be nice if you dropped your price some, but overall it is one of the nicer and cleaner places that we have stayed. Very friendly.
Jun 10, 2013
Great location. Sites too close together. Had a lot of rain, and site was muddy, need more gravel
Jun 10, 2013
very nice campground but kinda pricey. I think the per day charge per person is a bit much.
Jun 10, 2013
Very friendly and professional staff. Amazing location. Great first camping trip with our first kiddo!
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
staff was awesome and the place was very well maintained. I probably would warn adult travelers it can be a bit busy with lots of families with children if they are looking for a more relaxed place this might not be what they would have in mind. I would and will return to this location was the perfect place to see all the smokey mountains have to offer.
Jun 10, 2013
We where traveling and only stayed of one night and man do I regret that. Kids still screaming and playing around way after midnight while you need to travel for hours is horrible. Campsite that can hardly fit a 8 x 10 tent didn't help. I will not recommend this KOA to anybody.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
I was truly blessed to be a part of CHARM for the week. It was a great camping experience and learning time. I would recommend this KOA to all far and wide. God Bless all involved in this KOA.
Jun 09, 2013
Have already recommended to others! Fantastic place. Clean and friendly.
Jun 09, 2013
Camp ground is very clean and orderly. Bathhouse is usually clean but that I'm sure is a never ending battle. Since you can't help that it rained a lot I won't complain. In fact, my only complaint is the store. I'll drive down the road before I darken those doors again.
Jun 09, 2013
We always love coming up here to your place. Hate to move, but beingin retired and trying to camp longer, our budget helps plans for longer stays. Gas from Miami is a big factor and price of camping next. Your prices went up and we had to leave. Everyone was great!!Keep up the good work.
Jun 08, 2013
We come and stay every summer :-))) wonderful place
Jun 08, 2013
My family has been coming here for 10 years and we love it however it is a little pricy so we only get to do the free night weekends. Thanks
Jun 08, 2013
Campground was very nice. Entrance to campground is small, hard to get in with a long trailer and hard to get into camping spots if your trailer is long. (36ft). Front desk wasn't very informative, unless asked. Overall the bath house was clean and campground was beautiful, I would use them again.
Jun 08, 2013
Beautiful location right next to clean, wide river where we swam, tubed, fished. Large sites were nice and cool under trees. Helpful staff. Clean bathrooms but could have used a teensy better TLC with soap and tidying. Beautiful pool with lovely landscaping. Healthier alternatives at restaurant would have been great. Awesome staff. Perfect location. Gorgeous vacation.
Jun 07, 2013
Had a wonderful time!! Very clean, very nice campground! Super friendly staff!!!
Jun 07, 2013
Loved the cute deluxe cabin.
Jun 06, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Great staff and facilities!!
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
LOVED this KOA! clean and well maintained alot of little extras that made our stay wonderful!
Jun 05, 2013
We had THE best time!!!! The park is clean, the employees are second to NONE!!!! We will be going back A LOT!!! And this is a seven hour drive for us! They had activities that we knew nothing about...like the out door movies, tie die and crafts!!! We were thrilled with our stay and hated to leave! I wish we could have just stayed FOREVER! I cant say enough good things...we are hooked!
Jun 05, 2013
Nice facilities but a little close to other campers for my liking. I like the christian ministry that is there.
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
Keep rain away and work on camp store! Otherwise, exceptional time. Friendly office staff!
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
We always enjoy our stay. Thanks to your staff for helping us since my husband is handicapped.
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
Everything was wonderful!!! We love coming with our family & friends! The only little thing that we would mention is that I guess there were tons of dogs there this past weekend because the dog park was out of doggies bags 3 different times. No biggie! Just wanted to mention it. Thank you!
Jun 04, 2013
The experience would be better with more space allowance between pull through sites.
Jun 04, 2013
Well pleased with amenities; luxury camping for sure. River was beautiful. Very helpful staff.
Jun 03, 2013
Please pressure wash tables and decks. Been coming for years and is wonderfull to stay here. Clean and great great staff. Love the river and camps sites. Nice improvements every year. Just improve the river fronts sites also.
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Great location and biker friendly!
Jun 03, 2013
We've stayed at this campground long before it was KOA and since then. In EVERY stay..it's been great..especially the staff..and on this trip was no exception ...great staff!! HOWEVER, THE VALUE FOR THE DOLLAR IS SIMPLY NOT THERE ANYMORE and it is very sad...to pay the rates that you are asking combined with the fact that our "restaurant" charges $5.99 for just 2 chicken strips is rediculous!
Jun 03, 2013
We really enjoyed staying in the camping cabins. They were clean and we loved having the AC. Our kids loved the pool and beach area on the river.
Jun 03, 2013
We always enjoy staying with you at KOA Townsend. Sites are a little close together, but we still "love it"! We also appreciate the friendly employees, always cheerful, and courteous. Thank you!!!
Jun 03, 2013
It was quiet and relaxing. We really enjoyed ourselves and would have stayed another few days, but our employers would not have understood. Thank you.
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Beautiful and restful place -the little river is a great place to fish for the guys and tube for the kids as well.very family oriented
Jun 02, 2013
The staff was so friendly!!! They personally assisted us on several things the week we were there. We greatly appreciated the campground improvements: beach area and playground. We love this kampground!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.