Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 17, 2016
On all other visits, we had been very happy to stay here. On the night of the 14th, the cabin next to ours through a party until 2 a.m. with drunken noise, lots of people, and loud music! Quiet hours were not enforced, making our stay far from perfect. Sorry.
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
We love it here. This year we experience some issues with reservations. However we did decided to come back next year.
May 17, 2016
Very poor site. On top of other campers and sewer hook up almost on our pad. I probably would not stay here again
May 17, 2016
We hoped for a quite time, enjoying nature, birds, etc., unfortunately we were next to a basketball goal, and all we heard all day was thump, thump, boinnng and kids screaming. At night (our bedtime), thump, thump, boinnng & kids screaming. That site should only be let to families with basketball kids. We should have been warned. Unfortunately, that will probably be our last KOA visit.
May 16, 2016
Wonderful, staff kind, friendly, always ready to help. Would love to see a bridge built to the little island by the steps between 126 and DC6 as kids all over campground seemed to love exploring there but had to use tent site 126 to get there. Never a problem but I may have gone over myself if there had been a bridge.
May 16, 2016
Loved the children's activities. Office staff not as happy as last year. Changes in management?
May 16, 2016
Our stay was so awful we will not be returning. We paid for our stay nearly a year in advance and had to pay additional fees when we checked in. Very over priced for what you get. Not satisfied at all.
May 16, 2016
Everything was great as usual, except the gentleman that helped us back into our spot was very abrupt and bit hateful. I have always had a pleasant experience up until this time.
May 16, 2016
Great cabins and shower facilities...
May 16, 2016
It was a tough drive, but well worth it. Would come back for longer stays. Not worth the drive from WNC just for the weekend.
May 16, 2016
Great stay. Gary was awesome!
May 16, 2016
The only problem I had staying here is not enough bath houses. The one that is there is closer to the campers that have bathroom already and the cabins that has to use the bath houses has port potties.. They does not help us on the shower situation..
May 16, 2016
This was our first time camping together as a family. We could not be more pleased with our experience from the moment we pulled up. My husband even made the comment that you could tell the employees truly love their jobs. We are going to have a hard time camping other places besides KOA Townsend because they set the bar high!
May 16, 2016
I really enjoyed the camp ground and it was very peaceful.
May 16, 2016
We loved the many activities that were available for our kids! Although the shower rooms appeared to be newly renovated, the water did not drain appropriately, leaving one to stand in a puddle of water while showering. The campground was very busy and loud, but overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were wonderful!
May 16, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful sites. Let's of activities.
May 16, 2016
May 16, 2016
Wouldn't change a thing.
May 13, 2016
We had a wonderful stay we were there a month and it felt like home
May 13, 2016
The staff was very helpful and you could tell they enjoy their job. Will definitely be back!
May 13, 2016
Our cabin was wonderful. It was very clean and taken care of. The bathroom and showers were clean, as well as they had the cleanest porta-potty I have ever seen. I was very impressed. The rates were reasonable as well. The staff was very nice and helpful. My husband and I had a fantastic weekend.
May 12, 2016
Very clean and pleasant and your staff was great.
May 12, 2016
Excellent KOA - probably one of the best in the country.
May 12, 2016
Deluxe cabin, campgrounds clean, staff courteous. Replaced refrigerator that wasn't working.
May 12, 2016
We had a wonderful weekend. Wished you had more of the deluxe cabins by the river ;)
May 11, 2016
Love the renovations to the park and looking forward to what the future holds! Had a wonderful time, and staff was great, as usual!
May 11, 2016
The Best place to stay in the Smokies
May 10, 2016
We have been staying with the Chipperfields for many years now and they are great! The staff is the best I have ever seen and the campground improves every year. The changes to the sites have been well appreciated. We will be coming again next spring and already have our reservations..
May 10, 2016
It was great, weather was a little cool but then it warmed up nicely. Had a very good time.
May 10, 2016
Great place to stay!! Great staff and very helpful when needed and very friendly! Great location on quiet side of the Smokies!! We will be back!!!
May 10, 2016
May 10, 2016
We loved it. The camping cabin was great . the Staff was friendly an helped with what ever we needed. We will definitely be back.
May 10, 2016
Loved it! All staff members were so nice and helpful!
May 10, 2016
!!!!awesome!!!
May 09, 2016
The staff is very helpful and friendly. The campground is beautifully landscaped. The bathhouse is very clean and well maintained.
May 09, 2016
Everything was great. Just please add light near the basketball court so the kids can play later.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Loved Everyone From Debbie greeting us to Gary helping us. Craig, Steve, Dan etc... Everyone had the lovliest Southern charm and even helped with getting air in our tire. Took our trash in the mornings.. The cabin was very nice with pavers patio, full gas grill table and chairs! Thank you all so much and look forward to seeing you again!!!
May 09, 2016
We stayed in Deluxe Cabin 2. Beautiful site by the river. This is the 5th year we've stayed at this site and as usual, we absolutely loved it!
May 09, 2016
This is our 5th year at this KOA and as usual, we loved it! Great location just outside the park. Tranquil setting.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
One of my daughters described her experience as "the best weekend ever"! Always enjoy our time at the Townsend KOA, although it always seems too short. Thanks again.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Love staying at koa
May 09, 2016
We love this KOA. The atmosphere is great. Everything is very clean, and the staff here are extremely helpful and friendly.The restrooms and showers are great. Love the shower set up here.
May 09, 2016
We have a very enjoyable stay. The camping spot was great, the staff was great, bath house was great. Our whole family enjoyed it. We will definitely be back.
May 09, 2016
Nice people, safe, fun, clean bathrooms. Only annoying thing was dirt bees.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award