Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2013
We had a great time,the staff was very friendly and helpful and we loved the cabin it was clean and comfortable and the river view was amazing!
Jun 16, 2013
wonderful experience beautiful campground and a terrific staff
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Beautiful by the river. The kids had a ball and asked to stay an extra night which we did. Would be good if the sites had trees in between for a little privacy as they are so close together
Jun 15, 2013
The Townsend camp ground is one of the cleanest and friendliest camp grou ds we have been to. The service was absolutely fantastic, we especially appreciated the visibility of the staff throughout the day! The grounds were well kept and clean. We are already planning our trip at the Townsend KOA for next year!
Jun 15, 2013
Nice shady spot, helpful staff, all our need met. Will probably vbacation there again.
Jun 15, 2013
Wonderful time, very clean and a friendly staff.
Jun 14, 2013
the only thing I wish is the internet service was better. I finally gave up
Jun 14, 2013
I stayed in 74B it was a little crowded ; I have enjoyed a previous stay, both times it was nice and quiet at night witch is most important to me. thank you
Jun 14, 2013
Great people, great place. Have stayed here before and has been a 5 star stay each time. Will always come back.
Jun 13, 2013
Always a pleasure!
Jun 13, 2013
Super friendly staff, cabin was amazing, it was extremely clean and new,hope it stays that way. Location and scenery was great. Would definately go back.
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
I NEVER GIVE A PERFECT SCORE SO YOU WON'T STOP IMPROVING. ( VERY GOOD STAY )
Jun 11, 2013
All was great had a great location and staff was very friendly. Also very clean. The only problem their WiFi wasn't strong enough to reach our location and cell phone had no signal which is a problem when you need to keep in contact with home
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Had a great time. Loved the activities for the kids. Safe environment.
Jun 10, 2013
We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff was very kind, friendly and it was eviedent that they enjoyed their job. We look forward to repeat visits in the future
Jun 10, 2013
We love this campground. We stay 3 or 4 times a year. It's clean, friendly, and convenient to what we enjoy doing.
Jun 10, 2013
Excellent KOA !!!! We will be back !
Jun 10, 2013
Only one warning--watch for poison ivy around the campground. this place is awesome. shady, staff friendly, convenient to the national park. Having the church there doing activities was a wonderful added bonus. we will stay again.
Jun 10, 2013
The only complaint is the dumping station. It is very difficult to get to with the rental bikes and narrow road. The road is too level with the station and you don't get good drainage.
Jun 10, 2013
Great stay wish your lots were bigger. You are more expensive than others would be nice if you dropped your price some, but overall it is one of the nicer and cleaner places that we have stayed. Very friendly.
Jun 10, 2013
Great location. Sites too close together. Had a lot of rain, and site was muddy, need more gravel
Jun 10, 2013
very nice campground but kinda pricey. I think the per day charge per person is a bit much.
Jun 10, 2013
Very friendly and professional staff. Amazing location. Great first camping trip with our first kiddo!
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
staff was awesome and the place was very well maintained. I probably would warn adult travelers it can be a bit busy with lots of families with children if they are looking for a more relaxed place this might not be what they would have in mind. I would and will return to this location was the perfect place to see all the smokey mountains have to offer.
Jun 10, 2013
We where traveling and only stayed of one night and man do I regret that. Kids still screaming and playing around way after midnight while you need to travel for hours is horrible. Campsite that can hardly fit a 8 x 10 tent didn't help. I will not recommend this KOA to anybody.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
I was truly blessed to be a part of CHARM for the week. It was a great camping experience and learning time. I would recommend this KOA to all far and wide. God Bless all involved in this KOA.
Jun 09, 2013
Have already recommended to others! Fantastic place. Clean and friendly.
Jun 09, 2013
Camp ground is very clean and orderly. Bathhouse is usually clean but that I'm sure is a never ending battle. Since you can't help that it rained a lot I won't complain. In fact, my only complaint is the store. I'll drive down the road before I darken those doors again.
Jun 09, 2013
We always love coming up here to your place. Hate to move, but beingin retired and trying to camp longer, our budget helps plans for longer stays. Gas from Miami is a big factor and price of camping next. Your prices went up and we had to leave. Everyone was great!!Keep up the good work.
Jun 08, 2013
We come and stay every summer :-))) wonderful place
Jun 08, 2013
My family has been coming here for 10 years and we love it however it is a little pricy so we only get to do the free night weekends. Thanks
Jun 08, 2013
Campground was very nice. Entrance to campground is small, hard to get in with a long trailer and hard to get into camping spots if your trailer is long. (36ft). Front desk wasn't very informative, unless asked. Overall the bath house was clean and campground was beautiful, I would use them again.
Jun 08, 2013
Beautiful location right next to clean, wide river where we swam, tubed, fished. Large sites were nice and cool under trees. Helpful staff. Clean bathrooms but could have used a teensy better TLC with soap and tidying. Beautiful pool with lovely landscaping. Healthier alternatives at restaurant would have been great. Awesome staff. Perfect location. Gorgeous vacation.
Jun 07, 2013
Had a wonderful time!! Very clean, very nice campground! Super friendly staff!!!
Jun 07, 2013
Loved the cute deluxe cabin.
Jun 06, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Great staff and facilities!!
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
LOVED this KOA! clean and well maintained alot of little extras that made our stay wonderful!
Jun 05, 2013
We had THE best time!!!! The park is clean, the employees are second to NONE!!!! We will be going back A LOT!!! And this is a seven hour drive for us! They had activities that we knew nothing about...like the out door movies, tie die and crafts!!! We were thrilled with our stay and hated to leave! I wish we could have just stayed FOREVER! I cant say enough good things...we are hooked!
Jun 05, 2013
Nice facilities but a little close to other campers for my liking. I like the christian ministry that is there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.