Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The facility was very clean and maintained.
Mar 17, 2014
Lots to do for the kids. Very clean bathrooms and showers which is nice when camping with kids. Very friendly staff.
Mar 14, 2014
I absolutely love this campground site and we had a wonderful stay! Anyone asking for cabins or campsites I always recommend this place and I've only been twice! Thank you!!!
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
pull through a bit short for our 28' fifth wheel.
Mar 12, 2014
Wonderful stay. Very clean cabins and great staff. Will be returning this summer for sure.
Mar 10, 2014
Very nice campground and friendly staff but would likely stay at a different one in the area next time due to KOA's high cost. $65 for one night off season is too much.
Mar 03, 2014
It's always nicer when the campground is at lower capacity, but what a terrific place. Quiet, we were along the river, biked into the GSMNP, and just loved our stay. Terrific campground that we will absolutely revisit--our new go-to destination.
Mar 03, 2014
Goo
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
First time for winter camping in sleep cabin. It was warm and cozy. Bath house was warm and extemely clean. Loved the campsite and friendly employees. My new favorite place!
Feb 17, 2014
It was great! Thanks! I'll will be back that's for sure It was great! Thanks!!
Feb 17, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin by the river. It was small but perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. It was neat, nice and clean. I love love that it was pet friendly and had a dog play area fenced in. My only negatives are the hot water heater is extremely small, ran out 2 minutes into the shower and the cabin is very close to the river. Which is an A+ for adults and older kids.
Feb 13, 2014
I would give 5 stars if the WIFI were better! We were next to the office and still could not get a good signal!! One more thing during the off season would be nice to have a list of what's open near the campground. Places to eat, shop and sightseeing.We had a GREAT time.
Feb 11, 2014
Stayed in the larger two bedroom cabin for a cold weekend in February on a kayaking trip.. the two small heaters kept the cabin plenty warm and the inside was quaint and clean. Very friendly staff!
Feb 10, 2014
Mark and his staff made our stay very enjoyable. This was our first KOA visit...there will be more!
Feb 03, 2014
Cabin was great, everyone was very friendly. The only thing that was inconvenient was the extremely long distance to the bath house at the office. Other than that and winter storm Leon coming in that week, everything was great.
Jan 25, 2014
Jan 22, 2014
Had a great spot right on the river which was very, very peaceful. The only improvement I would recommend would be to improve the internet reception so it it strong at all campsites.
Jan 21, 2014
Very helpful and friendly
Jan 17, 2014
Loved our stay all the staff was very nice and helpful. Facilities were spotless, can't wa it to return !
Jan 14, 2014
Staff was friendly, as always, and very accomodating.
Jan 11, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
Jan 10, 2014
Cabin was perfect.Will be back with my our camper
Jan 07, 2014
One of the most beautiful KOAs we have visited. It had easy access to Cade's Cove and Miss Lilly's resturant down the street was excellent. The campground was clean and taken care of very well. We can't wait to visit again.
Jan 06, 2014
This is the only KOA we've stayed at, usually at State Parks or Army Corp of Engineers. Staff really nice. It was very pretty by the stream, however the sites were very close. Some sites might not allow for awning room. The showers and bathrooms were clean, but some of the shower bldgs were not heated. Cold clothes dryers did not want to dry towels. Have to be close for wifi.
Jan 04, 2014
Already counting days until i go back!!! My permanent winter vacation for many yrs to come.
Jan 04, 2014
Great time at Townsend KOA as always! Even in freezing temps. Our kids love it here and can't wait to come back! Thanks!!
Jan 03, 2014
The sites were great right along the river. The wireless internet did not work and we were given a site we had to share parking space with another camper. Not enough room for the 2 campers and both trucks. Luckily the site next to us was open and we could park there. The staff was not very helpful.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
Wireless internet is way toooo slow. There could not have been 25 campers in the park either. Would hate to see it when park is full. Needs to work better and faster since there is no phone service then either.
Dec 31, 2013
We love staying here every chance we get! The staff is super friendly and helpful and the cabins are always welcoming! We especially appreciated our cabins being warm and cozy since we were late arriving on sat. and it was dreary and wet outside:)Thanks for always taking care of our family!
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 28, 2013
Enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The only complaint is the door needs cleaning or repainting. Also, driving and parking is very difficult due to the number of trees in this campground. Overall though, we enjoyed the cabin, the deck, firepit and grill. Upon checking in everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Dec 28, 2013
The deluxe cabin was great! We loved it! If I had only comment it would be that the bed was unlevel and the mattresses were not very comfortable.... But otherwise the place was awesome!!
Dec 27, 2013
Love this campground. This will be our only location to stay. It's beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Can't wait to camp there again!!!
Dec 24, 2013
Dec 13, 2013
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
Camping cabin was great! Nice and warm and clean. The staff is very friendly. I have to add another comment though. We frequently tent camp in the winter and I think the tent camping sites are priced too high. There is no convenient water and the only bathhouse open is on the other side of the campground. This rate is more than I pay for most campgrounds in the summer.
Dec 09, 2013
Great time. Thanks to our hosts.
Dec 08, 2013
Great time,weather not perfect but hey first week of Dec.Nice site overlooking river.Will be back in spring.
Dec 04, 2013
Always love our time in Townsend and at the KOA. Staff is great! Thanks!
Dec 04, 2013
We were there over Thanksgiving. It snowed and it was beautiful in Townsend. Employees and friendly and very helpful. A little tight for RV's. We stayed with ya'll 2 years ago and it was hard to maneuver our Motorcoach. Clean facility. Love the dog park. Thanks.
Dec 04, 2013
Excellent! Lovely cabin! Our favorite place!
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 03, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.