Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 14, 2013
We had a great time. We took my 4 year old grandson and he loved the playground. The only issue I had was with the bigger kids taking over the playground and running on the equipment. My grandson fell off going up the ladder and bit his tongue. Other than that, everything was great.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Sites are too close and neighbor campers slam doors all night long.
Oct 14, 2013
There needs to be better restroom facilities near the tent sites. A full bathhouse is needed closer to the tent sites to help accommodate families with small children.
Oct 13, 2013
We had an excellent stay there up until 2 nights before we were to leave. A KOA worker (female) came by our campsite & was very rude. We had a visitor and instead of her asking nicely for them to please move their vehicle, she jumped off the golf cart & immediately started yelling for them to move. Also she was very hateful as to how she was talking to us and our children.
Oct 13, 2013
camping cabins are over priced considering there is no bath house near and you have to hunt for the portables in the middle of the night not a happy experience
Oct 13, 2013
We enjoyed our stay!! The people are nice, and the campground is very well maintained!! We will be back. The one thing we would like to see is a place to park our camper so we can enjoy the rest of the day in the river.
Oct 13, 2013
We called ahead and they said they had a 60ft space because I have 40 ft and a jeep. When arrived they had to move cars to get us in space once I had to disconnect jeep and jockey my way into a barley 40 ft space. Place was jammed with people side by side!!!
Oct 13, 2013
We love this campground!! The campground is very neat and clean and the scenery is beautiful. The staff are wonderful! They were knowledgable, go out of their way to help you and really catered to the children. We can't wait to come back!!
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Have stayed at this koa a few times and have enjoyed very much. The only complaint that I have and it wasn't a big deal was that the showers didn't seem to be as clean as I thought they should. Went in to shower immediately after they were cleaned and there was no sign or smell of any cleaner. Wish there were more activities for kids on other days besides Saturdays :)
Oct 12, 2013
This is a wonderful property; the staff is friendly and caring as well as the grounds being lovingly taken care of throughout. This was our second stay in as many years and I have no doubt, we'll be back next year as well.
Oct 11, 2013
The non sewer sites should not be charged to dump their sewage at the dumping station. This fee should be in the daily charge. You are encouraging dumping gray water out on the ground if your tank will not hold all you have.
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
People alway make the difference! This is our second stay and very happy again, the critical areas of any campground are condition of sites, everything in working order, well kept grounds, quality and clean bathhouses and helpful staff on demand, ALL of these are met here at Townsend KOA and it all starts at the top with the Chipperfield host family's spirit of excellence. A must visit KOA!
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
We LOVE Townsend KOA. We love the people that work there. They are the most hospitable folks ever! We love the sites by the river. It is clean,clean, clean. We think it is possible the best KOA in the word, really!!
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Wonderful!!! Perfect!!!!
Oct 09, 2013
Had a great time. The cabin was very clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
84a is a beautiful site, would highly recommend it.
Oct 08, 2013
We love it here. My family and I have been camping here since the 80's when I was a child and now I bring my own children. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is precious, can't say enough wonderful things about them or our camping experience. We will always be back. Thx for another awesome vaca!!!
Oct 08, 2013
$160.00 is way too high for a cabin with a bathroom. For that price I can go to a very nice hotel room.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Very crowded and noisy. Campsites very close together but the location was beautiful.
Oct 07, 2013
Great facilities....very clean bath house. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. KOA Townsend rocks!!!
Oct 07, 2013
We had a great stay at the KOA!!!
Oct 07, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin, and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend. The cabin had all the amenities of home but was just a step outside away from all the other great parts of camping - cooking out, campfires, wading in the river, etc. We'll definitely be back!
Oct 07, 2013
Had a great time! Very friendly staff and fun activities. My only complaint is that one morning, the garbage was being picked up (slamming garbage doors) very early in the morning (about 5:30am) and that was followed by leafblowing at 7am. Would be nice if those things didn't start until 8am or later.
Oct 07, 2013
This is our favorite campground. It's quiet and it's nice to get away, but there are lots of things we can do if we want. We only wish we could have stayed longer.
Oct 06, 2013
Had a great time and the campground & showers are clean every year when we make our fall trip.
Oct 06, 2013
Very nice, quiet, and clean.
Oct 06, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Thanks to Mark and Samantha and all the staff at the park. Best KOA in the country! Always made to feel at home.
Oct 04, 2013
everything was great except for the national park being closed.
Oct 04, 2013
We loved our stay. Beautiful facilities, friendly and helpful staff, and great campsites. We especially liked the dog park. Thank you.
Oct 03, 2013
I have always loved this campground even before it became koa but I do not like the way that some of the cabins are set up we stayed in #6 and they were on top of each other not to mention the campsites were in our front yard thank god we had good neighbors or I would have pitched a fit the campsites really need doing away with give that cabin a little privacy I will never stay in 6 again.
Oct 03, 2013
I have stayed in a lot of KOA camp grounds over the years. I always use the Kamping Kabins. I love them. I must say that this KK11 was one of the nicest ones that I have ever stayed in. I loved the fact that it had a small refrigerater and a t.v. Decorated very nice, LOVED IT!! Thank you!
Oct 03, 2013
We loved the campground and everything was convenient and close by. You had a variety of sites by the river, back ins, pull throughs, places to walk, laundry, store, gas, pool, restaurant and I love the pet area. Very close to tour Cades Cove. Always maintenance at work keeping it clean and I basically couldn't find anything wrong with your camp. I would very much recommend it. Everyone friendly
Oct 02, 2013
Cabin was spotless! Great stay!
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
We had a great 2 days away from it all. Will be returning soon.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Staff was fantastic. Always there if we needed them. Definitely went the extra mile. Beautiful campground with many amenities!
Oct 01, 2013
We love the Townsend KOA and always have a great time when we're there. If we could suggest anything to make it better it would be to give a stronger signal to your WIFI. It's a bit slow and hard to get on to sometimes.
Oct 01, 2013
The staff was very friendly & catered to our group of campers. We are very happy with our experience & would highly recommend Townsend KOA!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.