Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2015
Desperately need another bathhouse, closer to cabins. Two too close together. A bit pricey. Excellent cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Very much on top of things.
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was really clean. And the staff was helpful and answered all of our questions.
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful campground. Had a wonderful stay. Our sons 16,14, and 7 had a blast. So plenty to do for different ages. Our 7 year old really enjoyed the morning children's group activities. Our older boys enjoyed the kayaking, swimming, and fishing. And all of us loved the campground. We will be back.
Jul 09, 2015
Great location! Fast and friendly check in. Extremely clean facilities. We lived our little cabin. Very clean and well appointed for a campground. We wished we could've stayed longer!
Jul 09, 2015
From the time we pulled in until the time we had to depart we felt like we were staying with friends! Great staff!Very clean. Fun kid activities! We made reservations for next summer!
Jul 08, 2015
Your prices are way to high we have been staying at this camp ground over 25 years before u ever bought it but your rates are out rageous and you are forcing our family and five others we camp woth to find another place Our daugheter and hisband and boys; our son and his wife and boy; our fried and his wife ; his son wife and three girls; our cousin and his family Other Koas are half this
Jul 08, 2015
always a fun time. nice and clean. will be back
Jul 08, 2015
Great place, clean, happy, and well managed! Minor issue: Would like to see the WiFi extend out further into the campground for a more stable connection as you can't get a cell signal in the campground.
Jul 08, 2015
Always smiling faces, clean cabins, manicured grounds, and fun activities. Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
Will be back again!!
Jul 07, 2015
Love the campground and the staff however prices have been raised quite a bit. Also a suggestion - make sites 14 and 15 into one site. Very difficult to park one vehicle on each site. We were delayed an hour when leaving because the people next to us were gone and we cannot get our camper out. Very frustrating.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time. We were a little disappointed in our site being very muddy with all the rain, but overall things were good. We've already made reservations for next July 4th.
Jul 07, 2015
Awesome accommodations and very friendly staff. We are looking forward to our next camping trip.
Jul 07, 2015
Only complaint is the expense. For the price (160$), our family could have stayed at a much nicer place with more amenities. This KOA is a campground, not a resort.
Jul 07, 2015
The people and the location were great , however the deluxe cabin could use a better cleaning , the floors and mattresses were dirty and ants were a problem.
Jul 07, 2015
Lovely lady at the front desk who was kind enough to take the time to help us extend our stay over the busy holiday weekend (Mickey/daisy) The pool area was clean and the restrooms were very nice. Loved the patios and fire pits. Somewhere we picked up poison ivy but not sure exactly where. Very quiet campground. Loved all the kid activities, the youth group there was fun to work with over the four
Jul 06, 2015
Nice clean place, a bit close together and pricey but lIke the new sewer and fire pits.
Jul 06, 2015
Great sites! Some of the staff is friendly!
Jul 06, 2015
Even with the rain!! We had an awesome time as always!
Jul 06, 2015
we had a perfect weekend the rain didn't ruin it and everybody that work there.were extra nice,also that our favorite camp ground it so peace there
Jul 06, 2015
The friendliness of staff was most appreciated.
Jul 06, 2015
I was impressed with the updates given to some of the spots. There was a storm one of the nights we were there, our awning broke and covered up the door. As we were finally getting out the KOA workers were right there to help us in any way. All through the day they asked if they could help us in any way. Really appreciated the way they took care of us.
Jul 06, 2015
great
Jul 06, 2015
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great amenities. The only negative is the campsites are so close together.
Jul 05, 2015
We look forward to our stay at this campground every year! BEAUTIFULLY maintained and in just the right location to access the Great Smokey Mountains. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly, highly recommend!
Jul 04, 2015
terrible
Jul 03, 2015
DC5 didn't have a burner on grill,family in DC6 let us use their burner when they wasn"t using.cabin is over priced with not having a cooktop of any kind
Jul 03, 2015
We had a great time!!! Thanks for the mirror in the cabin, and TV is helpful for those rainy nights!!
Jul 03, 2015
We've camped here numerous times. While I appreciate the new upgrades, I don't necessarily live them. The fire pits are now too deep to allow adequate oxygen for a good campfire. Also, the sites are much tighter. Our fire pit was 18" from our neighbor's septic hookup.
Jul 03, 2015
We loved the KOA first time ever staying in one ! Will go back,
Jul 03, 2015
Enjoyed everyone was friendly staff and guests. Was clean and sites were attractive.
Jul 02, 2015
Nowhere else as good to stay for the GSM experience!!! Wonderful staff, clean facilities, & natural beauty (yet close enough to the conveniences of restaurants & stores)! Love this place!!
Jul 02, 2015
Nice Kabin by the river but shower facilities were crowded and not very clean
Jul 02, 2015
KOA Townsend is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the Great Smoky Mountains. As usual everyone was nice and the campground was well maintained. The Camping Cabins beside the river are awesome. We stayed in one of the recently remodeled sites and were very pleased. We were also impressed with the church youth group that was offering activities for the kids. It was a great stay. Thanks KOA!
Jul 02, 2015
Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean.
Jul 02, 2015
Very nice sites, and the staff was really attentive. Sites were far enough and wooded enough that it didn't seem crowded at all. We loved it!
Jul 01, 2015
My stay at the KOA was first class I will definitely be back again I would like to thank mark Chipperfield for the great job that he and his staff does.
Jun 30, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
All KOA employees were very friendly and helpful with every question or request that we had.
Jun 30, 2015
We loved it
Jun 29, 2015
Incredible as always,friendly staff and great facilities. We have already booked again.
Jun 29, 2015
As always, great staff and great campground. Always clean and lots to do. Thanks again for a great experience!
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, clean cabin, very close to National Park, kids loved the pool and easy access to river, have stayed here multiple times and will definitely stay again.A head's up, if you stay in Deluxe Cabins 1-6, some campers use these sites as a walking path to take a short cut to other sites, which can be frustrating sometimes.Overall, still a great stay!
Jun 29, 2015
We love camping here, PLEASE make some improvements to the off leash dog area! Water for one, making sure poop bags are always full, better places to sit would be nice and trash empty. Love the new sites!
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful ,friendly staff! Clean park. Lots of fun things to do!
Jun 29, 2015
Great KOA. We really enjoyed our weekend there.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
Great week. Extremely helpful staff.
Jun 29, 2015
My son and I had a great weekend despite challenging weather. The KOA team really do all they can to make our stays highly enjoyable. Thanks!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps