Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 23, 2015
Always impressed with this campground & the regular improvements they make. Our Deluxe Cabin had artwork, a headboard, & a Keurig coffee maker - all new since we last stayed about a year ago. Thank you!
Apr 23, 2015
Apr 23, 2015
Will stay again!!
Apr 23, 2015
I loved it so much. We have made reservations for next year.
Apr 23, 2015
Sites in 30s are really small! Concrete pad was nice. Water spigot is too close to the ground to connect filter there. Reserved a site in the 50s for next year.
Apr 22, 2015
The staff is super, the sites clean and good sized. Don't use the pool bathroom, smells like drain problems. Hopefully they will have the cable problem corrected soon. I will be back again
Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful campground I stayed here 20 years ago and had to stay again. the staff is very friendly the park is very clean.
Apr 22, 2015
This KOA would've gotten 5 stars if the advertised wifi had been accessible from our cabin. It wasn't, & that needs to be posted.
Apr 22, 2015
KOA Towsend,Tn. is our favorite family"GO TO PLACE" The new work and landscaping are beautiful. Every time we go we can see upgrades all over the campground.Every one works hard and so friendly and helpful.Thank you for a great stay!!!!! We love KOA. FRED & JUDY ALLEN
Apr 22, 2015
Top-end KOA. Attentive and helpful office staff. Busy and helpful grounds staff. Cable unavailable for many of the spots due to damage during re-vamp. Internet essentially non-existent--needs more coverage.
Apr 21, 2015
We appreciate all the hard work done by the staff during our fiberglass trailer rally. We were impressed with the new landscaping. Thanks to all who were involved.
Apr 21, 2015
staff very friendly and most helpful ,great sites.
Apr 21, 2015
Great campground. Loved the location and views. Nice clean bathhouse.
Apr 21, 2015
Friendly staff. Very well kept campground. Very nice bathrooms & showers.
Apr 21, 2015
Apr 21, 2015
Recent upgrades to this location were outstanding.
Apr 21, 2015
Great kind personnel very helpful
Apr 20, 2015
The sound of the river is relaxing, the staff is friendly, the bath house is modern and clean.
Apr 20, 2015
It was pleasant with no bad surprises.
Apr 20, 2015
Staff was friendly & attentive. Bathrooms and grounds clean & well maintained. Only negative was "rude and noisy" neighbors on one side of us!
Apr 20, 2015
I was on the water. What more can I say. Slept like a baby. Camp ground was quiet Close to everything. Thank you.
Apr 20, 2015
I didnt like my stay at all. We got there late and could not find our campground so we just pick a site and ask to.move that didnt bother me at all but the man was rude and yelled at us and we didnt understand why we calmly told him our situation but still he was rude. I called the night beofre we stay there if it was alright if we showed up late because we had prom and they said that it was ok
Apr 19, 2015
Great, clean campground w/ nice playground, facilities, store, and river view. Will def. stay here again!
Apr 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful. The sites are spacey. Everyone was SO nice, friendly and helpful. Thank you for making our stay that much better!
Apr 17, 2015
This is by far the best place to stay if you plan on visiting the Smoky's. Great campground, nice people. It's the only place I stay.
Apr 16, 2015
Apr 16, 2015
We had such a great time. Its so quiet and close to cades cove. We stayed in a little cabin by the river it was so relaxing and it was super clean. we will definetely be coming back@
Apr 16, 2015
Had a great campsite by the river. The campground is clean quiet and the staff is great.
Apr 15, 2015
few suggestions: 1. shelving and towel/clothing hooks in showers over seating. No where to put stuff to keep dry other than seat. 2. shelving on shower side for soap, etc (so not on floor) 3. different paper towel dispensers in restrooms. always jammed constantly had to fix the entire 4 days I was there. 4. port a potty way too full 5. need restrooms on tent camping side--RVs don't need the
Apr 15, 2015
The tent site on the river was awesome. Saw a bald eagle, river otters, geese and other of God's creation's.
Apr 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time the staff wasso friendly and helpful it was a truly great weekend
Apr 15, 2015
We loved it! The campgrounds were clean and we had an awesome tent sight. You can't beat sleeping with the sound of the river in the background.
Apr 15, 2015
Was my first camping experience, tho we did stay in a cabin, it was absolutely wonderful, relaxing and great to be able to have our puppies with us. The staff was was fantastic and so friendly...already booked for another stay.
Apr 14, 2015
Canada to Townsend Koa. 800 miles to get there,8 days there,800 miles back at 11.5 mpgs!!Townsend Koa is PRICELESS! Great campground,river,sites,area! Mark, Clint and all my office girls were amazing! BTW I miss u Daisy! Thank You. Metz Family!
Apr 14, 2015
We always in joy our stay! We really wish you had a heated pool!! Or Enclosed heated pool!! And maybe bikes to rent!! Thanks
Apr 14, 2015
The campground is extremely well taken care of and the staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back!
Apr 14, 2015
Like all KOA's I have camped at, a great place where your rv loves to stay and you will too. We love the quiet side of the mountain!
Apr 14, 2015
We love the Great Smoky Mountains. And We love to stay at the Townsend KOA it is by far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. Everything is beautifully landscaped and the Cabins are very nice and clean. The cabins even include a gas grill with a very nice sitting area outside. We will definitely return! Thanks KOA!
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
Friendly,clean and relaxing. Great trip.
Apr 14, 2015
First time on a KOA campground. Loved our stay in the deluxe cabin. Never staying in a hotel again.
Apr 13, 2015
Enjoyed out stay but the only compliant is other guests that do not pay for river sites, seem to think its ok to cut through our river site that we paid for and hang out at it. There is a public access...it needs to be noted & very clear to other campers.
Apr 12, 2015
This is the most wonderful KOA. Our family loves to stay here because it is safe and the employees and owners are friendly, helpful, and a joy to be around. The new remodeling has really made this top notch KOA even better.
Apr 12, 2015
We enjoyed the campground. It was clean, well maintained and employees were helpful.
Apr 12, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful!
Apr 12, 2015
We have stayed at many KOAs all over the USA, and find this one to be one of the cleanest and nicest of all. It is ever improving.
Apr 11, 2015
Once again our family had a great time at the Townsend KOA. Cabins we're comfortable and kids loved the fishing. We will be back again. The Deichelbohrer's
Apr 11, 2015
really nice helpful folks; great place to stay
Apr 10, 2015
Love all the new improvements. Staff excellent. Quiet.
Apr 10, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.