Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Very nice deluxe cabins. The older two room camping cabins that part of our reunion party stayed in were dark and not very comfortable. I would recommend this KOA and the staff was very friendly. The river was beautiful and very fast flowing outside the deluxe cabins (#1-#7). Lots of shade. Campsites a little crowded campsite but typical for most campgrounds. Nice playground & pool. Pretty
Jul 26, 2013
We have stayed at your campground three or four times. The staff is extremely nice and welcoming. The atmosphere is wonderful!!! And the family activities are always a blast. We love the outdoor movies and bingo nights! The campground is clean and the cabins are as well which is appreciated. What we love most is the location of the place. See you again soon!!!
Jul 26, 2013
cabin was very clean a little small but great otherwise. The children loved the banana bikes. Wish they were rented by day instead of hr. Tv signal was not that great.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Very clean, and the property was beautiful.
Jul 26, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the Townsend KOA & loved our cabin with the great riverfront view. The only complaint I had was when I called & made reservations I was not told there was a pet fee. I paid the balance of the cabin over the phone, but when I went to check in was told I needed to pay the $20+tax fee for our puppy. After telling her I wasn't told about the pet fee she waived it. Thank you!
Jul 25, 2013
Great staff. Truly a campers campground. Enjoyed our stay a lot. A full service campground.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Rent a cabin without a bathroom and you are stuck using a portable toilet.Poor wifi and lighting on back portion of the camp.
Jul 24, 2013
Loved the activities that the campground and local churches had for the kids. It's a good thing keep it up.
Jul 24, 2013
We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was spotless and beautiful. Pool was clean and just the right temperature. Park was fun for the kids after the long trip. Service: Southern charm at its best! Loved it!
Jul 23, 2013
First time staying at this koa over July 4th & it was more busy than we prefer. Overall still a great experience! We will just come back @ a different time of year next time. Great facilities, friendly staff & beautiful scenery!
Jul 23, 2013
This was a great KOA, we enjoyed the day camp and evening family camps that this KOA supports. Please continue to allow CHARM to meet in this KOA as they are doing a great a work!
Jul 23, 2013
Our trip to KOA was just what we needed. Our children loved the Day Camps and we loved the family gatherings. It is great to go to an establishment that still allows God to be present. Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing trip. The facilities and sites are clean and everyone was nice and welcoming. We will be back!
Jul 23, 2013
We stayed in a deluxe cabin at KOA Townsend, TN. Staff is great, the amenities and cleanliness is second to none. I would recommend anyone stay here. The only complaint is we needed extra towels and since we were only there 2 nights management stated they wouldn't accomodate our request. Outside of that it was a great family weekend!!!
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Everything was great! And clean! Had fun in the pool and the river. The activities where fun going on during the day. All the staff was really nice and helpful.
Jul 23, 2013
Beautiful with great staff but sites are too close together.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We had one of the worst trailer sites and the manager made it right by giving an additional discount. We LOVE this KOA. It's so much fun and a great location for those of us who want the Smokies without the tourist traps!
Jul 23, 2013
Great time, day camp was AWSOME !! Very kid friendly place. Staff all very nice & helpful. Highly recommend to families !
Jul 22, 2013
A great place to camp.Puts Cherokee KOA to shame !
Jul 22, 2013
Everything was good except I have one recommendation. Please encourage people to respect their neighbors and remember the Quiet Time. No one likes being wakened up at 5:30 in the morning. A gentle reminder could be made upon check in. Other than that everything was good.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Everyone was very helpful, we had a great time. Thanks for allowing us to work with CHARM at your camp ground. Everything was kept up nice.
Jul 22, 2013
Everyone was very friendly and made myself and my cub scout pack feel at home. We are currently planning our next camp out and will use KOA again.
Jul 22, 2013
This is one of the most beautiful cqmpgrounds we have stayed at. Clean, easy in and out, river access, miles of bike trails, and very close to the National Park entrance. You can count on us returning! We had a fantastic time.
Jul 22, 2013
Great campground, all employees were awesome. Anytime we needed help they were there. We made reservation before we left to come back.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Great team, take good care of their Visitors!
Jul 22, 2013
We were very pleased with our stay. This was our first camping experience. We were so impressed with how friendly and helpful all of the staff was. It made our first camping experience a very good one. We will recommend this campground to anyone looking to stay in the Townsend area and will be sure and return to this campground whenever we visit Townsend!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Camp sites are very small...feels like a trailer park. Staff very nice and helpful.
Jul 21, 2013
We loved that our campsite was on the river. However, I was disappointed that the KOA staff recommended our family do the rough part of the river to go tubing. They did not even mention that there was a much safer side to do. I also was disappointed that they charged a few for my grandparents to visit for one hour.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
The campground was clean and the workers were helpful and friendly. We especially liked he kid friendly atmosphere and the daily activities for the kids. We plan to be back next year!
Jul 20, 2013
We loved our trip even though I had to run back and forth to the hospital due my husband being sick. I think Daisy needs to work on her kindness skills with children, most of the campers there had children! They are going to run and play and be loud! Other than that we loved it as always!!! See you in August!
Jul 20, 2013
Great location, great service and nice facilities!
Jul 20, 2013
We enjoyed it very much..I would recommend it to my friends, especially those who have kids or grandchildren...a little pricey, but all considered a great campground.
Jul 19, 2013
Mark and staff are always friendly and accommodating. Look forward to many more visits. Considering a trip in the fall.
Jul 19, 2013
Entire stay was great, the staff Mark and the rest were very helpful and always seen working. I'll return again!
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
The most pleasant campground we have ever stayed at!!
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
The campground was very clean! The staff was very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed all the activities they had available for campers! Thank you!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.