Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
We always like staying at Townsend KOA
Apr 28, 2014
I thought the campground was clean and well-run. But the 5-star rating shows that they go above and beyond. I had a problem with a noisy neighbor. They offered me an alternate site, which I declined because I was going to be there only one more night, So they gave me a bundle of firewood to make it up to me. They go out of their way to make you love your stay. Thanks all!
Apr 28, 2014
This was our first time staying here. Everything was awesome! Love the private gas grill and firepit! We will definitely be back :)
Apr 28, 2014
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin, and it was Wonderful. Roomy, comfortable, & love having the micro & coffeemaker (as well as all linens).
Apr 27, 2014
Apr 27, 2014
This is my favorite of all the KOA campgrounds I have stayed in. We love the area and the people there are extremely friendly and helpful.
Apr 25, 2014
Showers could be hotter. Nice campground.
Apr 24, 2014
Met our family there and enjoyed the easy access to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Apr 24, 2014
Great staff and clean facilities. My only complaint would be that the sites seemed to be a little too small for my liking. But, we did enjoy our stay.
Apr 24, 2014
Ranks near the top of our all time favorite campgrounds....we will definitely return
Apr 24, 2014
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 23, 2014
Clean, Efficient, Well run. Mark & Samantha Chipperfield and the staff always make us feel comfortable & welcome. Happy,Happy,Happy............. And yes We recommend Highly.
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Very close together and the site next too us had two vehichles and could not get out of our area
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
nice staff. friendly campers. love the mountains. and very peaceful. we will be back thank you.
Apr 21, 2014
our stay was very enjoyable. the staff was very friendly and helpful. we will be back in the near future.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Great fun! Campground was clean and laid out well. The restrooms and showers were sparkly clean too! We'll be back again soon!
Apr 21, 2014
Friendly, clean. Nice playground and pool area for the kids. Loved the river going through the campground.
Apr 20, 2014
They truly try to make your stay the very best! Love the "family" feel you get upon arrival! This is the Best KOA ever!
Apr 20, 2014
What a find! We reserved a spot near the river recommended by the staff. Beautiful, and the staff was so helpful. We will be sure to visit again when we are in the area! Bill & Ann
Apr 20, 2014
Wonderful place to stay. Had a great time fishing and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Our deluxe cabin was just what we needed. They even welcomed our chocolate lab. Great location. It's close to Pigeon Forge but not too close. Had a great time.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Our stay was awesome. The place was perfect! Afterwards, we had a vehicle problem and returned to the KOA for help finding a mechanic. Sherri, at the Office referred us to a place in Marysville that fixed everything. Without her, we would have had to end our trip. Thank you!
Apr 20, 2014
Too far to bathroom. Too few bathrooms. Otherwise great.
Apr 20, 2014
Wonderful fun relaxing campground!!!
Apr 20, 2014
This campground was WAY overpriced. A similar campground right beside here with THE SAME emmenities was $30 cheaper and there campsites were even a little nicer father apart and nice decks with the sites . I'm sure we were just paying for the KOA name but we won't be doing that again. The people who worked there were very nice tho.
Apr 19, 2014
This is the best KOA we have stayed at! We were in a deluxe camping cabin for 5 nights while we were exploring the Smokeys. The cabin was spotless,up-to-date appliances (refrigerator, microwave, tv), clean bedding, air-conditioning, heat, a nice patio in the back with grill and fireplace. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We will definitely come back!
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
We first visited this KOA in 2006 and it has always been a wonderful stay! The cabins are cozy, clean, & have cute kitchens! The staff are very friendly and accommodating! We love sitting around the fire pit and listening to the Little River! This past stay we discovered some new cabins and a cute updated playground for the kids! We did not swim in the pool but it looked inviting!
Apr 17, 2014
Wonderful campround! Very clean! Pool is awesome! Scenery is beautiful! Wonderful employees! We love the koa townsend!!!
Apr 16, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
Our 3 day stay was great. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and comfortable grounds. Will stay again.
Apr 13, 2014
Nice clean well maintained. Beautiful area/location
Apr 12, 2014
Fantastic little gem of a park! Beautiful scenery and great staff - especially Suzanne and Al! General Manager Mark is a great host!
Apr 11, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
Nice facility. We will be staying here a lot in the future.
Apr 09, 2014
Had a wonderful stay. As usual staff is so friendly and helpful.
Apr 09, 2014
Always excellent!
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
We had a wonderful time over the 4 days we stayed. Very clean and very friendly!! We can't wait to go back. We had some bad weather that moved in and the staff was very helpful in communicating where to go if we needed to and since the wi-if was hit or miss they made sure to keep everyone updated! Thankfully the weather didn't do much and we were able to continue our getaway Sonya and Daniel
Apr 07, 2014
Old campground but nice and clean. Workers seemed very nice and helpful.
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
A little pricey for such a minimal need stay....but clean, great staff, friendly and fun!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.