Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
Our trip to KOA was just what we needed. Our children loved the Day Camps and we loved the family gatherings. It is great to go to an establishment that still allows God to be present. Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing trip. The facilities and sites are clean and everyone was nice and welcoming. We will be back!
Jul 23, 2013
We stayed in a deluxe cabin at KOA Townsend, TN. Staff is great, the amenities and cleanliness is second to none. I would recommend anyone stay here. The only complaint is we needed extra towels and since we were only there 2 nights management stated they wouldn't accomodate our request. Outside of that it was a great family weekend!!!
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Everything was great! And clean! Had fun in the pool and the river. The activities where fun going on during the day. All the staff was really nice and helpful.
Jul 23, 2013
Beautiful with great staff but sites are too close together.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We had one of the worst trailer sites and the manager made it right by giving an additional discount. We LOVE this KOA. It's so much fun and a great location for those of us who want the Smokies without the tourist traps!
Jul 23, 2013
Great time, day camp was AWSOME !! Very kid friendly place. Staff all very nice & helpful. Highly recommend to families !
Jul 22, 2013
A great place to camp.Puts Cherokee KOA to shame !
Jul 22, 2013
Everything was good except I have one recommendation. Please encourage people to respect their neighbors and remember the Quiet Time. No one likes being wakened up at 5:30 in the morning. A gentle reminder could be made upon check in. Other than that everything was good.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Everyone was very helpful, we had a great time. Thanks for allowing us to work with CHARM at your camp ground. Everything was kept up nice.
Jul 22, 2013
Everyone was very friendly and made myself and my cub scout pack feel at home. We are currently planning our next camp out and will use KOA again.
Jul 22, 2013
This is one of the most beautiful cqmpgrounds we have stayed at. Clean, easy in and out, river access, miles of bike trails, and very close to the National Park entrance. You can count on us returning! We had a fantastic time.
Jul 22, 2013
Great campground, all employees were awesome. Anytime we needed help they were there. We made reservation before we left to come back.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Great team, take good care of their Visitors!
Jul 22, 2013
We were very pleased with our stay. This was our first camping experience. We were so impressed with how friendly and helpful all of the staff was. It made our first camping experience a very good one. We will recommend this campground to anyone looking to stay in the Townsend area and will be sure and return to this campground whenever we visit Townsend!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Camp sites are very small...feels like a trailer park. Staff very nice and helpful.
Jul 21, 2013
We loved that our campsite was on the river. However, I was disappointed that the KOA staff recommended our family do the rough part of the river to go tubing. They did not even mention that there was a much safer side to do. I also was disappointed that they charged a few for my grandparents to visit for one hour.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
The campground was clean and the workers were helpful and friendly. We especially liked he kid friendly atmosphere and the daily activities for the kids. We plan to be back next year!
Jul 20, 2013
We loved our trip even though I had to run back and forth to the hospital due my husband being sick. I think Daisy needs to work on her kindness skills with children, most of the campers there had children! They are going to run and play and be loud! Other than that we loved it as always!!! See you in August!
Jul 20, 2013
Great location, great service and nice facilities!
Jul 20, 2013
We enjoyed it very much..I would recommend it to my friends, especially those who have kids or grandchildren...a little pricey, but all considered a great campground.
Jul 19, 2013
Mark and staff are always friendly and accommodating. Look forward to many more visits. Considering a trip in the fall.
Jul 19, 2013
Entire stay was great, the staff Mark and the rest were very helpful and always seen working. I'll return again!
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
The most pleasant campground we have ever stayed at!!
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
The campground was very clean! The staff was very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed all the activities they had available for campers! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2013
Go hear every year. Love this campground with so much to do !
Jul 17, 2013
Wonderful campground and even more important, friendly and helpful staff. A1
Jul 17, 2013
We love this campground! The only thing I would recommend is putting in another bath house closer to the tent sites. I just cannot bring myself to use those port-a-johns. Otherwise, we LOVED our experience and cannot wait to come back!
Jul 17, 2013
Campsites are a little close but everything was clean and wonderful!
Jul 16, 2013
This is my third year staying at this KOA facility, and appreciate all the help everyone offered to me related to my trailer tire that had the bearings broken. Especially Jimmy (Jmbo).
Jul 16, 2013
We had a wonderful time and wish we could have stayed longer. Have stayed there many times over the past 20 some years and seen many changes, all of them good. Hope to be able to stay longer next time. Thanks for your help while we were there. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Thanks
Jul 16, 2013
Loved this campground and the wonderful tent sites! The services were awesome and the place was clean! They were responsive to our report of a yellow jacket nest close to our campsite. Would definitely return!
Jul 16, 2013
We camped from 6/29 thru 7/5 I thought your campground was very clean and your staff was very friendly. Besides the rain we really enjoyed are stay and we will be returning in the future.
Jul 16, 2013
The staff here is so helpfull and friendly!!AMAZING FOLKS!!!
Jul 16, 2013
Everyone was very nice and helpful.
Jul 15, 2013
It was another great year at the townsend koa we love it here because of the awesome activities they have forthe kids my girls cant wait till next time there allready makeing plans for next time thanks alot koa st
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
friendly, hardworking staff. we loved tent camping at the townsend KOA!!!
Jul 15, 2013
KOA was an extremely clean, family friendly campground~ however, the price of the DC was pretty high. We were also with a couple of other friends who have their own campers and they told us the cost was extremely high...they felt it should have been closer to the $80 range.
Jul 15, 2013
KOA Townsend is my grandchildren's favorite place to camp.
Jul 15, 2013
Loved the campground. It was not overly crowded and is close enough to get to several area attractions, but still have some privacy. Thanks

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.